The General Election date has been announced, but if Barbadian voters are not yet ready to support a third party, the results are foreseen. They will continue to: (i) load us with unsustainable debts, (ii) increase taxes to pay for those debts, (iii) poorly manage our public services and (iv) strip our freedoms until we are enslaved with chains of intimidation.

Barbadian voters may be ready for a better party when they can no longer afford to: (i) pay their mortgages, (ii) maintain their houses or (iii) repair their cars. To maintain our support, we are taught that for a small country, our public services and national economy are being managed as well as they can be.

When Barbadian voters are brought to the edge of poverty they may finally recognise that: (i) public services can be managed much better and (ii) it takes no special competence to spend borrowed money.

WE CAN DO BETTER.

Most voters understand that both parties are the same and stopped voting. They observed beneficiaries of past elections being supporters of the winning party who loitered around the trough expecting spillage as their political masters fed.

For the avoidance of doubt, the basic international standard of management for our public services is the International Standard Organisation’s ISO 9001 Quality Management Standard. The management of our public services are sub-standard. We do not need any more resources – we just need to manage the existing resources much better. The additional cost to manage them to the ISO 9001 standard is $0.00 – it just requires will.

Also, for the avoidance of doubt, it has been independently verified that if public services were better managed, Barbados’ economy can be run with a surplus without VAT and land taxes. Both of those taxes contribute to the unnecessarily high cost of living in Barbados and both major parties have been given multiple opportunities to do better, but have not.

The majority of voters seem ready to force their family, friends and neighbours to endure another 5-year term of poorly managed public services and high taxes. We can survive this period while eating affordable meals. My healthy protein-heavy meals are exceptionally tasty and cost $1.60 each, including VAT – which gives you more disposable income. You may give it a try and give me some feedback since I am continually improving my recipe.

INGREDIENTS.

One 400g pack of Lentil Peas ($2.55). One 12oz pack of Quinoa ($12.00). One 9 oz of Bajan Seasoning ($6.00). One Broccoli ($3.00). Two Carrots ($1.30). One can of Corn ($3.00). Two medium Onions ($1.00). Salt ($3.00). One 6 oz bottle of Pepper Sauce ($3.00). The total cost is $35.89.

For each pot of food, use all the lentils, broccoli, carrots, corn and onions, but only one third of the Quinoa ($4.00), one tablespoon of seasoning ($0.75), one-half tablespoon of salt ($0.10) and pepper sauce to taste ($0.25). This results in a total cost of $15.95 per pot and it makes 10 plates. That is $1.60 per plate.

The kitchen equipment is a: large pot, cutting board, measuring cup, large fine strainer, knife, large spoon and tablespoon.

RECIPE.

Put the lentil peas in a measuring cup and note the volume. Then put the peas in a strainer, wash them with flowing water and put them in the pot.

Put: (i) the same volume of water (as the peas you noted in the measuring cup), (ii) one flat table spoon of salt and (iii) one heaping tablespoon of seasoning in the pot. Wash and cut the two onions in small pieces and put them in the pot. Put the pot on a high heat until the water boils.

While waiting for the water to boil, pour one third (4 oz) of the Quinoa into the measuring cup and note the volume. Then put the Quinoa in a strainer, wash them with flowing water and put them in the pot of now boiling water.

Put the same volume of water (as the Quinoa you noted in the measuring cup) in the pot, mix everything together using the large spoon and cover the pot. Once the water is boiling, lower the heat to as low as possible (simmer) for 15 minutes and set a timer to check.

During the 15 minutes of simmering, wash and cut up the two carrots and broccoli (including the stalk) into small pieces.

The cooking times depend on the type of cooker; therefore, every 5 minutes check if the lentils are still nutty. When the lentils become soft (normally between 15 to 20 minutes), place the cut-up carrots and broccoli on top of the lentils and quinoa mixture and let them steam for 2 minutes. If the water is gone, then add one large spoonful of water.

During the two minutes of steaming, open the can of corn, pour the corn into the strainer and wash the corn. Then put them in the pot, mix everything together and turn off the heat. Put two heaping large spoons of food on a plate, add pepper sauce to taste and let your tastebuds sing.

Once the pot has cooled, place two large spoons of the food in one zip-loc bag or other container and freeze them. You should have nine remaining portions. When you are ready for another meal, take the frozen food out of one container and microwave or heat it in a pot. Never microwave it in a plastic container.

HELP IS ON THE WAY.

Over the next five-year term, you may have to tolerate terribly managed public services and difficult-to-pay taxes. But you may do so while eating affordable, nutritious and delicious meals.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering and Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

13 responses to “$1.60 Meals While You Wait”

1. […] Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering and Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com […]

2. Grenville is right about the poor management and its cost. He is indeed right that better can be done. He is probably right about most of what he wrote here.

But what he was wrong about was the deal breaker for me.

I have plenty packs of lentils here as I’ve been meaning to try new recipes. I’ll buy the quinoa and try the recipe.

I hope Grenville has taken my advice, researched and discontinued his coconut water regimen. Only recently, a taximan told me what drinking too much of it did to his health. Fortunately, he caught it in time.

3. I am so afraid of what is coming down the pipe, that I will copy Grenville’s suggested shopping list.

Those who put their money in real estate may have been smarter that those who invested in the stock market as stock market money can vanish in an instant. I cannot see the USA surviving this Manchurian candidate of a president. May the Good Lord help us.

Here is how I see it … paper rich, paper loss, realized loss, poor. May the Good Lord help us.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

“But what he was wrong about was the deal breaker for me.”
    Wha dat?

5. Hi Donna:

Since the price went up and there was clearly collusion, I reduced my intake to two bottles each week.

I just checked and found that replacing tap water with coconut water is harmful for those with diabetes and kidney disease. I do not suffer from those ailments. Nevertheless, I will reduce my intake to one bottle per week.

Thanks.

6. NO

His naiveté about the Wicked West.

7. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

A GREAT PIECE BY DR G* ON THE PRACTICALITIES OF DAY 2 DAY EXISTENCE IN BIM

I wish you good folks all the best in the “DOWN”-coming (s)ELECTIONS!!!

I have stopped “PRAYING” 4 my “CUNTRY” because “the people like it so”!!! (Jer 5:31)

WIFEY* & I will NOT* be coming home in FEB* to cast our vote, although the “BALLOTS” reminders will be there by post!!!

Instead, I am off to the “BAHAMAS” where I can walk around in a speedo swimming trunks & take long breaks in the ocean & enjoy the lovely sunshine while I take some time 2 do some work!!!

If you lot want 2 keep “JEZEBEL” on her throne – “GOOD ON YA’”!!!

As I have always said, “WHEN THE SHYTE* HIT THE FAN” & you lot begin 2 groan under the weight & strain, then “MAYBE”, y’all will have the “BALLZ” to do the “UNTHINKABLKE”!!!

WIFEY* & I later in the year (#GodWilling) will be in Latin America & for her sake (ONLY), will pass thru’ Brassbados 2 see the lurid machinations on the ground!!!

We have already deduced that we’re gonna’ have 2 cough up several barrels this year to support her clan – be that as it may, other than “SEA”, “SUN” & “SOUL, SAVING SANCTITY” needed – there ain’t mush else goin’ on pun tha’ rock!!!

Scripture opines that we “MUST NOT JUDGE A MATTER BEFORE THE TIME”, however, in this case, for a person who has “SUPREME CONFIDENCE” – my hope is almost gone when I see the conditions of the people on that “LIL ROCK”!!!

#AllowMe2Finish “WITH THE UNIMPEACHABLE WORD”:

“THE MOST HIGH YAH” told Moses to “GET UP” off his knees (“STOP CRYING OUT”) & “TAKE ACTION” in Exodus 14:15!!!

The context here is that the “YISRAELITES* were trapped between the “WALL” of the “DEEP RED SEAS” & the “DIABOLICAL WALL OF THE EGYPTIAN ARMY”!!!

#MosesWasPraying, but “THE MOST HIGH” told him: “WHY ARE YOU CRYING OUT TO ME? TELL THE YISRAELITES TO KEEP MOVING ON” (Exodus 14:15)!!!

#PostiveAction was what “YAH” instructed Moses to do & 2 “STOP PRAYING”, “RAISE HIS STAFF”, & “STRETCH FORTH HIS HAND OVER THE SEA 2 DIVIDE IT”, which required “ACTIVE, PRACTICAL SUPERNATURAL FAITH” – something “BLACKS NO LONGER POSSESS” – #AtAll, BECAUSE WE FORGOT WHO WE ARE & ARE BLINDED BY THE DEVIL INTO BELIEVING A WHOLE LOTTA’ CRAP!!!

Similarly, Joshua was “LYING FACE DOWN IN PRAYER AFTER THE DEFEAT @AI, YAH* TOLD HIM: #StandUP*!!! “WHY ARE YOU LYING ON YOUR FACE???” (Joshua 7:10)

ELIJAH*, while NOT* told to stop praying, He was told by YAH* 2 “GO SHOW YOURSELF 2 AHAB” after he had been in a posture of deep prayer!!!

Oftentimes, you “GOTTA” stop “PRAYING” & face “DOWN” the “ENEMY” – for the assurance of “VICTORY” is sure but what can you expect from a “FAITHLESS, LOST GENERATION” who have forgotten their “CREATOR” both in the “DAYZ OF THEIR YOUTH” & now they are hard-back men & women!!!

#FinalThought

HAS THE TIME COME 2 REWRITE THIS MADNESS*:

I
    In plenty and in time of need
    When this fair land was young
    Our brave forefathers sowed the seed
    From which our pride is sprung
    A pride that makes no wanton boast
    Of what it has withstood
    That binds our hearts from coast to coast
    The pride of nationhood

Chorus:
    We loyal sons and daughters all
    Do hereby make it known
    These fields and hills beyond recall
    Are now our very own
    We write our names on history’s page
    With expectations great
    Strict guardians of our heritage
    Firm craftsmen of our fate

II
    The “LORD” has been the people’s guide
    For past three hundred years.
    With “HIM” still on the people’s side
    We have no doubts or fears.
    Upward and onward we shall go,
    Inspired, exulting, free,
    And greater will our nation grow
    In strength and unity.

#OnThatSombreSacriligiousNote

#ImDUN*

8. Fuh tru?

“President of Solutions Barbados Grenville Phillips II is through with elective politics.”

9. @Hants

Breaking the duopoly is hard work. It requires significant resources of money and time.

10. “Breaking the duopoly is hard work. It requires significant resources of money and time.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    This is a MYTH that is perpetrated by politicians and yardfowls in order to continue in the quagmire that suits their VERY vision of what a ‘successful future’ looks like…FOR THEM.
    This myth is build on an eddykashun system that is centered on mendicancy and a historical legacy of imposed inferiority.
    The solution is re-education.
    Unfortunately, those who have the CAPACITY to facilitate such re-education are largely THEMSELVES captives of the eddykashunal mendicancy and inferiority complex syndrome.

The local Press are at the vanguard of this failure and are closely followed by the people who define themselves as ‘teachers’ – but are really just instruments of the perpetuation of the shitstem.

Who in the local press has shown the balls to question the BLATANTLY OBVIOUS criminal activities of authorities?
    The PM stands up in public, recorded on Hansard and on You Tube, and LIES repeatedly – and no one calls her out on it.
    She lied about HOPE reports
    She Lied about NIS accountability
    She promised SPECIFIC solutions at ‘Parish speaks’…
    NO RESULTS!
    …then she solemnly ‘promised’ that the new Solidarity Slush Fund hurriedly passed before calling elections will be ‘strictly accounted for’…. and nobody questioned this…?

Caswell has been pointing out the lotta shiite now for EONS… largely to be castigated and dismissed.

Trisha Watson and other intervenors have been calling out the FTC / BL&P and government on the mismanagement of energy policy now for YEARS…
    Have you seen ANY attempt by the press to EDUCATE the public on the TRUE status?

Shiite Boss…
    Were it not for BU carrying statements such as that above from CoopEnergy and other intervenors, even Bushie would have thought that everything was kosher…

Breaking the Duopoly ONLY calls for a commitment to doing the RIGHT THING – on the part of a few key holders of position in Brassbados.
    With proper EDUCATION, you will see VALUE coming out from the woodwork and making a positive difference.

BU has made a difference – but it requires a wider awakening.
    Besides, you have now gone from optimistic to pessimistic….

11. @Bush Tea

You have simplified the matter, there is a reason why a duopoly system is prevalent in most democratic systems.

12. @Grenville Phillips “Barbados’ economy can be run with a surplus without VAT and land taxes.”

I hate paying taxes as much as the other fellow [but I do pay my taxes] but were in the world are economies run without property taxes and VAT or sales taxes.

Specific places please.

Name names.

13. Recipe seems fine. Except for those of us on the far, far side of 70 I would reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp, instead of 1/2 tbsp.

I think that sometimes we spend too much money on “fancy” food. For example when I make cheese paste sandwiches, already a cheapie, I use less cheese and stretch with finely grated carrots. Tasty, nutritious and cheaper.

Instead of steak, I use ground beef, and add a couple of tomatoes, onions, a sweet pepper or two, some garlic and a lovely, tasty mixture for hamburgers, or meat sauce, or add some cooked or canned red or black beans for a sauce good over rice, breadfruit, sweet or white potato etc. Cheap and sweet.