An Open Letter to Barbadian Voters

Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, president of Solutions Barbados

Dear Barbadian Voters:

First, let me state the obvious. The chances of a third-party candidate getting elected in Barbados at this time, is somewhere between extremely unlikely and non-existent. We are fully aware of this. Yet, we persist.

After each election, we receive the same three types of responses. They are: (i) encouragement from those who support our message, (ii) disappointment from supporters of the established parties, and (iii) ridicule from the media and political consultants, and those whom they influence.

WHY KEEP GOING?

Have you ever asked yourselves why? What would cause persons with over 20 years of professional experience, and who are at the peak of their careers, to risk it all with an impossible mission? Why do we expose our personal and professional reputations to the scrutiny of a General Election campaign? What can we possibly hope to gain through this stubborn persistence?

Do you really want to know the answers to those questions? I have yet to hear any person ask them during the seven years of Solutions Barbados’ existence. I have given the answer several times, but unless people are curious enough to ask the ‘why’ question, they are less inclined to be receptive to our answer.

DO YOU REALLY WANT TO KNOW?

Each time we throw ourselves against this impenetrable wall during an Election campaign, we leave a bit of ourselves there. Is it worth it? No. It is not worth the disappointment in the eyes of our families, friends, clients, or employers. It is not worth the public ridicule, the baseless accusations of political operatives, or the derision of the media and social commentators.

So, if it is not worth it, then why continue to do it? If you genuinely want to know, then with all of the sincerity in my heart, l write, ‘thank you’. I cannot speak for the other so-called third parties. I can only speak for Solutions Barbados. We do it because we must. Perhaps a parable may help me explain that response better.

THE PARABLE OF THE TERMITES AND PAINTER.

There was once a termite infested house that sheltered several families. Every five years, the families elected a painter to maintain the house. But the painter only did what he knew, which was to paint over the rotten timbers.

One day, a Structural Engineer visited the house, and warned the families that the timbers were severely and extensively rotten. He then provided a solution of replacing rotten timbers, and strengthening the building to prevent its collapse, and offered to do so free of cost.

On hearing this warning, the painter quickly painted the rotten timbers with another coat of paint, and then declared the structure to be sound. The occupants unquestioningly trusted the painter, and never believed the Engineer’s warnings – until the building collapsed shortly thereafter.

THE PARABLE EXPLAINED.

The timber structure is the economy of Barbados – which shelters us all. The termites are inflated no-bid contracts that are given to political donors. The damage is the high debt created by borrowing to pay for these inflated contracts. We are taxed much more than we should, to repay debts we should never have been in, to pay for inflated costs we should never have been charged.

The building’s occupants are Barbadian voters. The painters are successive BLP and the DLP administrations, who allowed their donors to corrupt our national economy, so that it is no longer sustainable. The Structural Engineer is Solutions Barbados, who keeps warning Barbadians about the foreseen collapse of the economy.

THE FORESEEN COLLAPSE.

Based on the amount of damage political donors have done to our national economy, it can no longer take a major financial shock. However, major shocks are expected this year. The IMF are insisting that the rot in the economy must cease, but with the just concluded General Election, the political donors will insist on their right to feed.

A worse shock is that by removing God’s providential care in the new Charter of Barbados, we are, for the first time since our Independence, unprotected from major hurricanes. We are all terribly exposed.

AN OBLIGATION TO WARN.

Tragically, it is also foreseen that you will only believe us once you experience the unbearable austerity – that could have been avoided by addressing the corruption. The Government’s many public relations departments, that persuaded you that the economy was sound, will likely claim that the collapse was an Act of God. The foreseen collapse is due to corruption by political donors.

You have a right to be warned, and we have a moral obligation to warn you. Solutions Barbados mainly runs highly qualified and experienced persons for two reasons. The first is they are credible voices whom you know that you will ignore at your peril. The second is that they are capable of properly managing the economy if elected.

Grenville Phillips II is the President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

76 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Barbadian Voters

1. What we can say Grenville is that you did it your way. There is no denying. For a third party to have a ghost of a chance it must be pluralistic in philosophy/outlook.

2. The plot is fundamentally flawed.

It is not our honourable businessmen who are the termites, but the numerous welfare recipients, blue civil servants and other recipients of state transfers who live at the expense of the hard-working employees in the tourism industry, the equally hard-working cabinet ministers and government advisers, and our honourable businessmen, of course.

3. Grenville is in his blaming stage not accepting responsibility for another pathetic attempt (Solutions Barbados 699 votes 0.61%).
    When wannabe politicians come up with wackie nonsense no one listens to any of their reasoning after that.
    Religion is for Church not Government running
    Anti-China rhetoric is repugnant racist propaganda from white scum

4. @GP2
    “A worse shock is that by removing God’s providential care in the new Charter of Barbados, we are, for the first time since our Independence, unprotected from major hurricanes. We are all terribly exposed.”

Thanks for your valiant effort.
    Your post was a very good read. It is clear that your belief in God is at your very core. Whatever makes you strong stick to it.

I must add that my core belief is different from yours, but I wish you well and that you have the strength to keep fighting.

• What is the sense using an approach that will not penetrate? It is akin to striking your head into a brick wall over and over. Politics is a game of moves and counter moves. At the center of it is the ability of aspiring politicians to promise x knowing they will have to modify the offer to deliver y. It is not a playground for the idealistic and naïve.

5. Right up until RA takes all those FAKE MOVES and permanently SHATTER THEM…

6. You called my name:
    Some are salivating at the thought of RA running. In fact, it was on his return to Barbados that we heard the word pedigree being tossed around. The great BLP divide may be ahead.

I am surprised at his slow entry into the starting blocks. Could it be that like Barrow’s progenies, competitive
    politics may not be his thing.

Wishful thinking.

• What does that have to do with running a successful polical party of a secular socieity?

Why all the so-called Christians didn’t vote SB?

7. Good post right up until the removal of God’s protection from major hurricanes bit. Just as silly as the bringing back the yo-yo queen insurance policy routine. AS IF SHE WOULD EVEN CONTEMPLATE SUCH A THING.

But back to the hurricane insurance policy – are we the only nation who recognised God in the Constitution? Ain’t nobody else deserving of that protection?

Grenville invites ridicule and then wonders why he gets it.

P.S. God is not a name. Creator is also a recognition of God. The change is immaterial.

8. @ David Bu at 7 : 28 AM ‘

You are contributing to the confusion again.
    Is politics a game or a serious human contrivance to create an orderly society. If it is a game , Grenville ‘s approach is just as valid as your yet unclear perception of politics.If the competing models do not speak to who we are and what we want to become, the irrelevant perspectives of politics will continue to fail to get the Electorates attention.
    Politics was made for man not man for politics. If it does not advance our purpose ,we will continue to ignore it.
    A high parentage of those who were eligible to vote and did not vote decided not to take part in what they perceive to be a silly game.

9. @ David BU
    Grenville , like you ,is playing a political game. He is quite aware of the consequences . He even catalogued some of them. My only concern is the collateral damage they may cause to unaware bye-standers.

10. “Some are salivating at the thought of RA running.”

some have been running everything into the ground for upwards of 3,000 years, and people have vowed that it must be brought to an end…it’s a long term affair, RA could never do any worse…..lol…

this is absolutely the worst make-believe civilization that ever existed, built on pretenders, frauds and thieves among other even more unsavory characters…the only route left is A DOWNWARD TRAJECTORY…..that’s the swath of path they cut themselves..

those are the conclusions based on historical information attributed to our ancestors who built the best civilizations ever found on earth…….hundreds of thousands of years old…no one has, nor can they ever come close to matching that…

forget the Caribbean small timers, they are not even in the running.

11. It is not complicated. If these third parties do not take themselves seriously then they will attract very little of the electorate A political party is perpetual institution. You cannot have a supposed political party being dormant for 4 years and then at the call of a election, with a mostly a 4 to 8 week campaign try to bring together a hodge- podge collection of people and call it an alternative government. In my opinion, with the DLP at its lowest ebb, this is the best time a third party can have an impact.

The DLP i consider virtually a strong third party right now in terms of popular support. However as a political party with a long history it will always have the ability to recover with the passage of time and the with the right strategy. My small advice right now is to not go after the BLP frontally but to appeal to the masses directly as a proper alternative govt in waiting.

12. @ GP No.2

Your ‘unfounded’ fears over the re-elected administration leaving your Jewish-invented God out of the Bajan Constitution- thereby inviting perdition and destruction of your Bajan Christian way of life- could soon be realised when the recently announced members of a still fat Cabinet (for a Lilliputian country with a significantly reduced GDP) are required to take the following Oath of Office as stipulated in the still relevant and not yet amended Constitution:

I will be a true and faithful Prime Minister/Minister/ Parliamentary Secretary.
    So help me God.

(Unquote).

PS: Did you see any reference to any “Creator”?

So what’s your fear other than the same you still carry about Bajans watching Porn in their own bedroom with you ‘creating’ your own bogeyman called the Bedroom Police instead of a ‘bullying’ politician.

13. I heard of a man who heads a political party and there is no evidence of a constituency branch after more than one trip to the polls
    I heard of another man who formed a party three years ago he was actually a LOO but no evidence of one constituency branch
    I heard of a woman who has a party and has contested two elections and there is no evidence of a constituency branch
    Incredible

14. It seems to me that Grenville’s god deserted him during this past election. He did not even win one seat. Heck, I don’t think he even came second in a riding.

15. Grenville a quick look at the estimates from any year will show that the Ministries of Health and Education are responsible for more than 50% of government expenditure. Inflated contracts are an issue but the truth is Barbados runs a massive welfare state, to maintain it requires us to be perpetually in debt. The blank cheque government has given to UWI and the cash injection the QEH needs every year are way more responsible for our state of debt than inflated contracts.
    Social sciences (management, political science, economics, public policy) dominate enrolment at UWI. These degrees represent more than 50% of all graduates. The minimum cost of a 4 year undergraduate degree is 100k, UWI enrolls 3000 SoSci per year, that is a potential 300 million dollar investment (I don’t have the graduation numbers). For such a massive gift of welfare by the state, graduates in these degrees should be the leaders in innovation, entrepreneurship and progress if the ROI is to be realised. Instead what do we get, they gravitate towards bureaucratic jobs in the government where they sit and wait their turn to move up the civil service ladder, while they oversee wanton waste due to poor management and inflated contracts.
    Focusing of inflated contracts is like chasing squirrels, a new one appears before you catch the current one and you end up with nothing

16. Miller…a long, long road to nowhere, while others already mapped out well placed routes…

how do they manage within all those hallucinations…

17. “…..It comes after fears were raised that Russia would deploy military to Cuba and Venezuela if tensions with the US over Ukraine escalated”.

What will Barbados and the wider Caribbean do in their support of Cuba should she choose this path to self destruction? What will Barbados’ position be should China make a move on Taiwan and China seeks our support at the UN? We may be small, but we may be drawn into a geopolitical quagmire.

18. Government may change but we are poor at business. Would you believe customs at the airport have no relief cashier for when the cashier there goes to lunch. Is this brek island not in need of money to run on? What a dam joke we are.

19. I am sure this ww3 ukraine thing is important , and barbados election means a lot to many islanders but does anyone realize that canada is continuing racist past by currently picking and choosing one people over another. Today is Rabbie Burns day and the bars are shut in ontario, but will be open on st paddys day what do you think of that discrimination.

20. @David, re “What is the sense using an approach that will not penetrate? It is akin to striking your head into a brick wall over and over. Politics is a game of moves and counter moves. At the center of it is the ability of aspiring politicians to promise x knowing they will have to modify the offer to deliver y. It is not a playground for the idealistic and naïve.”

Of course true. You also know that in Maslow’s psychological theories he placed folks like Phillips at his apex of self actualization.

I would annoint him (based definitively on his essay above) as a self actualizer who wants to be able to say: I told you so!

The politically real ‘move-counter move’ is NOT his focus and never was.

Isn’t he the one who said he would NOT have a lawyer in his setup… SMH. How serious could his other remedies be if he refused to accept that remedial need also to fix his termite infestation!

So @Condrington, it is indeed all a game … a deadly serious one surely but move-counter move game nonetheless…

Let’s see how the Ukraine moves play out on our Caribbean playground just now.

• @Dee Word

If your analysis of Grenville is not psycho-babble then it does not make sense to a pragmatist.

21. Donna (January 25, 2022 9:27 AM)
    “P.S. God is not a name. Creator is also a recognition of God. The change is immaterial.”

The issue of using Creator instead of God was a shiny object that was used to distract the public from the actual removal of providential care in the Charter of Barbados. Whether you call God “God” or Creator is immaterial. We both agree on that. But it was the method the media used to create pubic confusion on the most critical issue since our Independence.

22. Redguard (January 25, 2022 12:04 PM)
    “Grenville a quick look at the estimates from any year will show that the Ministries of Health and Education are responsible for more than 50% of government expenditure.”

That response perfectly explains why persons sincerely believe that a fresh coat of paint on a rotten timber structure magically makes it structurally sound.

23. I thought I was quite clear @David, so if my remarks still appeared as “If your analysis of Grenville is not psycho-babble then it does not make sense to a pragmatist.” …. then I am unclear how to clarify other than this quick add on:

The gentleman is simply seeking to fulfill (actualize) his God-given talents with this meaningless political display.

The blogger @DLP and too @Skinner reiterated the painfully obvious: that a so called political party over two election cycles does. NOT have year round active constituency offices in the areas they purport to represent.

To say bluntly that this is meaningless political pompesetting is NOT to insult Mr Phillips … rather to pretend that there is any useful political benefit derived from this self gratification/self ascendancy is INSULTING to us possible voters. Thus to continue to see him or the Solutions as a political party is deeply ABSURD.

Hope that was clear enough.

24. @John 1:22pm Customs needs a lot more than a cashier at the airport. A package arrived in the island on 22 December and I am still awaiting clearance. Mind you, not a box with numerous articles but a package with a single item that is non-dutiable. Ease of doing business I suppose.

25. “Today is Rabbie Burns day and the bars are shut in ontario, but will be open on st paddys day what do you think of that discrimination.”

i thought you were both, even i can claim both;…

26. @ David
    Clear as mud, Grenville made wrong moves and he is experiencing the consequences. The end.

Boss, Who has made the ‘wrong moves’ will be determined by the final results achieved. Bushie would not rush to condemn Grenville’s intervention or methodology. Patience is a great virtue.
    The thing is that BBE seem to have this habit of warning people before the jobby hits the fan… something about us not being able to say that ‘we were not warned’… and somebody has to be the messenger…
    As to why such political outliers should persists…. despite his great reluctance to engage with the brass bowls in Nineveh, did Jonah not eventually come to see that whole city saved, and the lotta brass bowl converted to silverware?
    We here are likely too far gone for such redemption, but let us at least wait until after the Hurricane season to dismiss Grenville’s concerns about insurance….

• @Bush Tea

Not condemning Grenville. On record supporting his courage to take on the establishment. However, like the DLP with all the obvious blunders last campaign, it seems Grenville made a few as well. He has made Grenville a household name unable to convert it to a mass based support. How is the public expected to take SB seriously if there is Grenville as lone spokesman and no roots in the constituency? Then the ridiculous situation of advertising for candidates weeks before a general election.

27. “That response perfectly explains why persons sincerely believe that a fresh coat of paint on a rotten timber structure magically makes it structurally sound.”

Borate Boron-based wood treatment products protect wood from termites and other wood boring insects. These products can be used on unfinished wood before construction as a preventative measure or on wood after an infestation has occurred to eliminate pests.

“We here are likely too far gone for such redemption, but let us at least wait until after the Hurricane season to dismiss Grenville’s concerns about insurance….”

Hurricanes are not related to Constitutional preamble jargon

28. David (January 25, 2022 6:53 PM)
    “Then the ridiculous situation of advertising for candidates weeks before a general election.”

Why not ask why we did this before prejudging the matter? I have always been available to respond to your and others’ queries.

We ran 30 Candidates in 2018, but 2 dropped out before Nomination Day. Despite having 28 Candidates nominated, we were only given one 15-minute broadcast to communicate to the public unfiltered.

The strategy was for three parties to form a coalition and run 10 Candidates each. In that way, we would get three 15-minuite broadcasts across all media in Barbados. When it seemed that some of the others were lacking, I made an invitation to my friends on my personal Facebook page. For whatever reason, you promoted that as an advertisement – which attracted the expected ridicule.

Thank you for adding our Election Broadcast. Unfortunately, it was added to BU after the General Election. If you do not mind, I can ask the Electoral and Boundaries Commission to add you to the list of public Broadcasters – since all media are supposed to carry the broadcast of every party with at least 10 Candidates in Barbados.

Our broadcast follows.

• @Grenville

Your explanation does not address the concerns raised. It does not matter the reason you had to advertised for candidates, even the optics of doing it anyway wouldn’t have added value for the public among the other reasons stated.

29. “Lotta shite”, Bushie! Lotta shite! God’s protection SHITE! Whether a major hurricane hits Barbados or not has nothing to do with God, our Constitution or some trident at the Garrison!

Barbados has been hit before. It shall be hit again.

IT HAPPENS!

And while we’re at it, HAITI lies on a serious fault. It isn’t God’s anger at the practice of “voodoo” that causes the earthquakes.

Steupse!

30. @ Donna, peace to you.
    Bushie DOES NOT argue with women, children, fools…. or politicians.
    How many categories do you want to fill…?
    Anyone who can be so adamant on a subject about which they are so clueless needs help that is beyond the bushman…

LOL @ David
    Boss, what makes you think that Grenville’s role is to be Barbados’ saviour? ..and even if he was, why would HE owe us the duty of gaining our vote ..so that the could ‘save’ us…?

Check the analogy used…. Jonah did not give two shits about Nineveh. First he tried going on a Cruise… to ignore them, then when forcefully intercepted by fish, he grumbled throughout the process… His ONLY role was to deliver the message.
    He was actually shocked that they listened…..

Trust Bushie on this one. In the fullness of time, we will remember many of Grenville’s interventions……
    LOL Not all….. many.

31. Not to get into any extensive debate here David, but are you aware of how successful multi billion dollar operations go about recruiting talent? Do they invite interested and qualified talent and then review and select the best…?
    Why are you married to the traditional myopic political idiocy that has led us into our current position of unretrievable debt and hopelessness – where our ‘leaders’ HAND PICK their minions in their own incompetent image.?

With Grenville’s approach, Neither Bushie NOR YOU, CAN now say that no one invited us to lend our talents to the cause.
    When Mia handpicks KK, how do you know that there is not a ‘LL’ out there somewhere, who would be a MUCH better fit for national leadership IF GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY?

Grenville’s problem may well be that he is out of his league here…. Promoting pearls to swine…. so to speak.
    He has the same ‘problem’ with his Quality message….

Anyway…. de whacker get trek way long ago,,, Bushie out.

• @Bush Tea

Nothing wrong with recruiting talent using non traditional and creative ways. In the case of Grenville-or should we say Solutions Barbados- context is important. He tried to recruit literally days before a general election where best practice demands a ground game is required to build a relationship with residents in the constituency being courted AND with the party of the aspiring MP member.

#lottashite

32. The mistake that you (and perhaps even Grenville) are making, is the assumption that the end game here was for someone (Solutions Barbados?) to come riding over the hill with a posse to our political rescue.
    Now THAT is a lottashiite! …too little & too late for that…
    If you listen again to the broadcast that he was able to do – try to understand the MESSAGE being given – one that would otherwise not have been ANY part of any political discussion bout here… BBE works in mysterious ways…
    Some of us have ears to hear and eyes to see…

As to the final political situation, Bajans (like everyone else) will get EXACTLY what we deserve… nothing more, nothing less.
    But now NONE of us will be able to say that we were unaware of the alternative options for national administration… or of the possible SPIRITUAL consequences of our decisions.

• Time longer than twine Bush Tea. We may not witness what you suggest in our life time. All the blogmaster is saying- Grenville’s message did not penetrate. Why would BBE co-opt a vessel that he knew would have been ineffective?

33. You can’t fit me into any category, Bushie. You are a human being just like I am.

A man who thinks he knows more than he does.

I only recently read your 10 point plan. And then I read the comments.

More holes than rh swiss cheese!

Lotta shite!

34. We all.in this together
    Put that in yuh pipe and smoke it
    If yuh don’t like things here go else where
    Barbados system of governance is in shambles
    Mia got this

35. A bit late
    “The strategy was for three parties to form a coalition and run 10 Candidates each.”

This is in line with the grand coalition that I was thinking of and of having 30 vs 30. Then I realized that besides having to decide who will run in each constituency, the egos of men, women and parties would get in the way.

Can you imagine the DLP settling for less than 30 places. They would decide to be a ‘national party’s and run a whole dead dog, than be a part of any coalition.

36. I admire any man/woman who breaks from the herd and tries to make a different.

I realized that if he/she was my mirror image, then the comfort of remaining at home would be too seductive and would trump trying to make a difference. Also, he/she being perfect is no longer a requirement.

Hoping GP2 get the strength, courage and encouragement to keep on fighting.

37. Preamble
    Grenville is not getting on board on the Republic train
    and is seeking legal advice and representing himself in Courts of Laws

Current Situation in the Mind of Solutions Barbados
    Not swearing allegiance to Massa Crown and white God is bad Juju Voodoo

38. @ David
    While time IS longer than twine, they BOTH come to an end at some point….
    “Why would BBE co-opt a vessel that he knew would have been ineffective?” you ask…

Boss…
    “effectiveness” is a function of intent.
    If YOU do not grasp the INTENT, then YOUR measure of ‘effectiveness’ cannot be relevant – no matter how committed YOU are to that ‘measure’.
    There is a way that seems ‘right’ to humans, but the end thereof is the path to death.

For example…
    Why do you think that Reggae Music is so UNIVERSALLY popular?
    Do you REALLY think it is a result of the marketing effectiveness of the Jamaican Rastas?
    Have you ever REALLY listened to Big Youth, Luciano or Bush man?
    There is a particular MESSAGE being spread across the WHOLE WORLD – a message which is taken to be nonsense by 99.9% of the ‘bright’ people among us – such as Donna…. and apparently by yourself.
    But if fishermen, Jonah, Luciano, and Bush Man (The artist, NOT Bushie), can be used to promote the most important message ever brought to mankind … WHY NOT Grenville….?
    …is it because he is not promising free food for us and all our family – while reducing taxes?
    …or because he is a ordinary black fellow from among us?

Remember that “BBE chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise, the weak things to shame the strong….”

• @Bush Tea

As one of the foundation members of BU you know full well the blogmaster struggles with parabolic and the allegorical. If BBE is all powerful; omnipotent, omnipresent and omniscient as you suggest – let this power remove the stress from people’s life man.

39. “… WHY NOT Grenville….?”

it may be a red herring
    Grenville doesn’t know about reggae already
    and does not sit down and reason with rasta brethren
    passing the chalice in a Buckingham Palace to dash away the malice
    but I say what about Keith Hudson, Prince Far I, Daddy U Roy, Super Cat, Little Johnny Wonder, Billy Boyo Boyo Billy, Sugar Minott, Fred Locks, I Kong, Lee Scratch, Peter Tosh, Bunny Wailer, Burning Spear, Jah Shaka, Keithy Roots, and some more

40. LOL @ David
    “As one of the foundation members of BU you know full well the blogmaster struggles with parabolic and the allegorical. If BBE is all powerful; omnipotent, omnipresent and omniscient as you suggest – let this power remove the stress from people’s life man”
    ~~~~
    Ha ha …. we ALL struggle with the ‘parabolic and the allegorical.’ Perhaps you may recall Bushie explaining that such language was used by Jesus to ENSURE that his BASIC message eluded the brilliant among us….

Again you err by ASSUMING that the INTENT of life is for us to enjoy a “long, happy, and stress-free existence…”
    It is NOT… in fact, the OPPOSITE is the case.
    Diamonds are NOT created by enjoyable stress-free processes, but by extensive heat, pressure and stress.

Bushie sees that you have not quite grasped the FACT that life on Earth is really just a transient CRUCIBLE to facilitate a spiritual DIAMOND-CREATION process whose value is WAYYYY beyond our puny comprehension.
    Perhaps a quiet word with the original David may be in order…. LOL

• @Bush Tea

Some of us are familiar with your hypothesis. “Time will tell, time alone will tell…”. If you are a winner good for you.

41. Hello.Bush Tea
    Glad to see u finally got up and moving around
    Some even.said u were buried six feet under
    So u back and having the last laugh
    Anyhow yuh weed Wacker needs sharpening

42. Mr Phillips presentation style has improved. Significantly.
    Being agnostic, I tend to ‘turn off’ whenever any speaker goes down that road. But appreciate it has appeal and relevance to many.
    Those ‘older proposals’ and accompanying story lines need a serious make over. They were not tractable then (results), and are less so now. Although the basic tenets are well directed.
    The financial while ultra important, is not tractable. One need only review BU to appreciate this? After many failed promises in this area, the electorate are ‘gun shy’. Plus, several have benefited from the largesse which have contributed to these failures, whether direct or indirect.
    And the analogies? Mr.Phillips you know as well as I do, the first thing you need is land?
    Your continued passion is appreciated, though I don’t always share the topics you elect to focus on.

43. angela coxJanuary 26, 2022 12:07 PM

Hello.Bush Tea
    Glad to see u finally got up and moving around
    Some even.said u were buried six feet under
    Xxx
    DavidJanuary 26, 2022 12:35 PM

You were the one who said
    Xxxxx
    Steupse
    Mind yuh own business
    Who asked for your comment anyway

44. What took me so long
    I just realised my Stumbling Blocks
    Were Stepping Stones
    Now I realise what took me so long

45. DavidJanuary 26, 2022 2:50 PM

Your hignorance knows no bounds. No wonder you have been relegated to posting nonsense to the blog
    Xxxxxx
    Another distraction
    Carry on smartly
    I sense frustration is attacking yuh brain

46. @ NorthernObserver
    It must take a special effort to be as intelligent as you obviously are, AND to be agnostic.
    Perhaps you meant to say that you are ‘ambivalent’ or ‘disinterested’ about BBE?
    But then again you seem to have been heavily influences by the ‘North’….so perhaps….

Now angela c is definitely a possible candidate for ‘agnostic’. LOL
    Stay strong Angela, ..and try to loosen the braids.

• @Hants

An interesting one. Then there was the talk about Duguid making a last minute decision to run after another candidate was canvassing the constituency.

47. @BT
    I haven’t a clue exactly what BBE is. When I first discovered BU circa 2016, you used the term with great frequency. Memory says Big Boss Engineer.
    You may call it ambivalence, ignorance, or any other term. Note I postfaced my comment, appreciating its value to what elsewhere you refer to as sheep or brass bowls. Followers.
    And yes, in the north, surrounded by many faiths, and in abundance, this strategy of invoking a common third party is used by many. Especially when agreement or concensus is desired. And they too, can quote ‘sound bites’ from the relevant ‘written word’.
    And no, it takes no special effort. Turning off is automatic, the challenge is, when to ‘tune back in’. 😉

Leave a comment, join the discussion.