Submitted by Political Watcher

In the Nation newspaper of November 12, 2012 the sobriquet Mavis Beckles wrote of how the government buildings were looking poorrakey. Owen Arthur in about 2018/2019 while speaking publicly spoke of how poorrakey parliament has become. Now prayer tells me that the recent Tyra Trotman beach chair rant is indeed of poor taste and unbecoming of a potential politician. Tell me I may not believe you but show me and I have unrefutable evidence of your character.

Political Failures and the Cost of Unfit Leadership: A Global and Local Perspective

Around the world, the quality of political leadership has consistently proven to be one of the most decisive factors shaping a nation’s prosperity, social cohesion, and democratic resilience. When leaders act with integrity, competence, and a genuine commitment to public service, countries can flourish. But when those entrusted with governance fail to uphold these standards — whether through incompetence, self-interest, or ethical lapses — the consequences can be severe, enduring, and costly. Barbados, like all nations, is not immune to this universal truth.

One of the clearest lessons from global politics is that poor leadership leads to eroded trust in institutions. In countries where corruption scandals have erupted, parliaments and executive offices often suffer lasting damage to their legitimacy. For instance, several Latin American nations in the last decade — including Brazil with the Lava Jato investigation — have seen political turmoil as leaders and legislators were implicated in sprawling corruption schemes. These scandals did not merely tarnish reputations; they undermined economic confidence, slowed investment, and heightened polarization. Citizens’ sense of shared purpose gave way to cynicism and disillusionment.

Similarly, across parts of Europe, political fragmentation and the rise of populist figures have tested democratic norms. In Italy, frequent government turnovers and a series of short-lived administrations have made coherent policymaking difficult. When leaders lack the credibility or coalition strength to govern effectively, policy stagnation replaces progress, and public faith in democratic processes dwindles. The lesson here is stark: competence matters as much as character. Leaders must not only be elected; they must be equipped to steer the ship of state.

In Sub-Saharan Africa, nations like Zimbabwe have provided cautionary tales about governance without accountability. Under long-time rule by leaders with unconstrained power, economic collapse and institutional decay followed. While contexts differ across countries, the underlying theme remains consistent: when leaders prioritize personal power over public good, citizens pay the price in lost freedoms, reduced opportunities, and deepening inequality.

These international examples illustrate the hazards of poor governance, but the principle applies equally at home in Barbados. The concerns you mention public figures commenting or acting in ways perceived as unbecoming or disconnected from the gravitas of leadership reflect broader anxieties about the standards we expect from those who seek our trust.

Leaders in parliament are not merely popular personalities or opinion holders; they are stewards of public interest. Their decisions influence national budgets,international relationships, social policies, and the very moral compass of the nation. When individuals lacking maturity, judgment, or respect for institutional norms gain political office, the fabric of governance can weaken. This does not necessarily stem from malicious intent; sometimes it is a matter of *inexperience, *poor temperament, or an inability to cope with the heightened responsibility that public office demands.

A parliament that operates at high ethical and professional standards becomes a beacon of stability and a mechanism for constructive debate. It encourages citizen engagement, attracts investment, and ensures that policy decisions are made with careful deliberation rather than impulsive rhetoric. On the other hand, when representatives behave in ways perceived as “poor taste” or unprofessional, public discourse shifts from substantive policy debates to personality scandals. The result? A distracted electorate, weakened governance, and diminished international standing.

Good governance also requires accountability. Healthy democracies hold their leaders to account when they fall short through free press, transparent parliamentary processes, and active civil society engagement. But accountability cannot function if the electorate is disengaged or if political competition rewards spectacle over substance.

For Barbados, sustaining its hard-won reputation for democratic stability means choosing leaders who embody not just political ambition, but integrity, competence, and a genuine commitment to national progress. Leadership should be measured not only by the ability to win votes, but by the demonstrated capacity to govern with wisdom, empathy, and strategic vision.

In the end, the cost of sending the wrong persons to parliament is not abstract — it manifests in weakened institutions, eroded trust, and lost opportunities for the people. To safeguard the future of Barbados, citizens and political parties alike must prioritize quality over theatrics**, substance over sensationalism, and service over self-interest.

82 responses to “Tyra Trotman: From D to B”

1. Keep trying 😔

Gatekeepers with selective morals, cherry picking sinners for ridicule and public condemnation will not even be trusted to recommend a spot in a canefield after a pork chop and a few rounds of beer.

We know what you’re really doing 🙄

2. Our political system tells us a lot of an individual can be president of the youth arm of the other main party and be a candidate in the other two years later. Same observation for Michael Lashley.

And we the people see nothing wrong. Where is there record of public service canvassing their views that are aligned philosophically with a particularly party? @artax we know your position.

3. If six is half of a dozen, then twelve would have to be dozen and not two half dozens. 🙄
    What philosophically aligned what!

I would be more concerned about the number of females in leadership positions and Barbados is still as blighted (some say even moreso) as when the incompetent men where in charge, and the yet the choir still singing put a woman in front while the men smoking weed and drinking rude boys and broad shoulders.

Flummoxed greatly am I. 🤔

4. Unsurprising!
    You only have to look at the kind of people that Trump selects.
    Are they not the types that REFLECT his tainted character?

Any country where the MEN are retreating into the background, and allowing immature, irrational, emotional mock men, women, and girls to make their leadership decisions for them will deserve the inevitable outcomes.

The Trimming of the Senate continues to be Bushie’s limit though…
    What self inflicted injuries…

What a place!

5. Examining St. Michael Central’s DLP candidate, Andre Worrell, suggests there is the opportunity to benefit from a potential ‘swing’ vote. To capitalize, he must become more dynamic in his delivery. Currently, he appears somewhat passive. Unfortunately there are no rich alternatives in the race.

6. Don’t forget, back bench one day front bench next day and then political leader the next week.
    Easier than changing channels on a firestick.

Any ZR conductor will tell you that passengers will run to the van that “got seats and moving”.

7. @David, you are so correct. @Keeptrying , you seem like a partisan apologist who will sing for your supper due to cognitive bias through no fault of your own. Michael Lashley cannot be taken seriously as a politician as he rolled with Bounty and acted as AG, now like Tyra his philosophical grounding has changed. What Tyra has shown is her utmost immaturity and not a sincere desire to serve for persons have a right to discern what is a bashment persona from genuine empathy. The more things change in Brassbados the more things remain the same.

8. Let us read what a couple political talking heads are saying? Of interest is that another, Dr. George Belle refused to offer comment. Obviously in the case of the City Corey Layne is being punished for missteps which caused his resignation. As usual hushed up but discussed widely on social media.

Two pundits on elections

Wickham says the nomination opening in Bridgetown was unexpected and potentially more politically significant, while Marshall identifies four of the ‘more vulnerable’ seats held by the Barbados Labour Party

With two Barbados Labour Party (BLP) nomination days set for later this month, political analysts say the developments signal a clear acceleration toward a General Election, even as regional instability and domestic financial pressures threaten to complicate the political landscape.

Political consultant and director of Caribbean Development Research Services (CADRES), Peter Wickham, said while the opening of nominations in St Michael Central was expected, the decision to do the same in The City of Bridgetown caught many observers off guard and pointed to a deliberate strategy by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley to refresh the party’s slate ahead of a likely early poll.

“I think that the St Michael Central nomination was certainly not a huge surprise. When the decision was made in respect of Arthur Holder . . . there was always the possibility of the Speaker not making a return, so we now have a nomination open and the candidate who was formerly a Democratic Labour Party candidate . . . it appears as though she is the front-runner,” Wickham said. “I haven’t heard any suggestion of any other candidate, so we look forward to seeing what will happen.” By contrast, Wickham said the nomination opening in Bridgetown was unexpected and potentially more politically significant. “And in short order we’ve also heard about a second nomination being opened in respect [of] Bridgetown. It came as a bigger surprise to some and in The City of Bridgetown, there is no front-runner,” he explained.

“I have heard mention of Henderson Williams. I’ve also heard mention of another notable Democratic Labour Party defector. That one is a bit of a surprise because . . . no obvious front-runner means that you will have a nomination that may very well be contested. That may be very interesting.”

Wickham said the twin announcements strongly suggested election preparations were now well advanced.

Clear indications

“So, again, clear indications that the Prime Minister is moving steadily towards having an election imminent. I think that’s probably the most important observation that we can make and that the Barbados Labour Party is refreshing with refreshing candidates. I think what we can say is that we have two new candidates.”

However, Professor Dr Don Marshal, director and senior research fellow at the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies, University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, cautioned that regional developments could overshadow any immediate election campaign.

“With the nature of what’s going on in our region, it is so profound that right now elections in the Caribbean, particularly in circumstances where the opposition parties are not really ready to engage in a serious contest, could be put on the back burner in terms of people’s attention,” Marshall said.

He added that while the BLP continued to enjoy broad public support, some policy decisions were prompting reflection among voters.

“Of course, the Barbados Labour Party continues to enjoy considerable support across the country even though there are some issues . . . but I think apart from those . . . I don’t know if these are regime-changing issues really,” he said.

“I think Barbadians are having a rethink about some of the measures that the Barbados Labour Party is undertaking, but I don’t think we should get carried away to believe that that is any indication of a loss of significant popularity.”

Marshall said the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) may have limited opportunities to make gains, depending on candidate strength and local issues.

“On the part of the Democratic Labour Party, there may be one or two seats, St John, St Michael North West, St Philip East and St Lucy, four of those would be some of the more vulnerable of the seats held by the Barbados Labour Party,” he said.

“All to do with who were contesting them on the part of the Democratic Labour Party . . . and there may also be other factors that are in the area of personality contests that may see those seats fall.”

He cautioned, however, that significant hurdles remained.

“But a lot has to happen between now and then and campaign financing is going to be very critical going forward.”

Marshall also suggested that fiscal realities could influence election timing more than regional geopolitics.

Regional events

“As for the dates the Prime Minister would have in mind, I don’t think regional events would affect that that much. We keep our eyes on the capacity of the Government to meet its expenditures,” he said.

He pointed to recent public sector hiring and legislative changes as areas of concern.

“Given the current financial year and the kinds of developments which have occurred, for example, we’ve had 2 000 workers being appointed and while that’s a good thing, Government has to find financing to meet that.

“It also passed an Act in the closing stages of 2025 to enable assisting the foreign direct investment use in the Consolidated Fund and, again, I don’t know where the bounty of extra cash will come from outside of the corporate tax state that it speaks about.”

Marshall said hard fiscal decisions may be unavoidable.

“But there are so many issues crying out for greater resources that I do believe unless there is a return to IMF financing or a return to Parliament for a mini budget, Government has to make some serious decisions about its own expenditures. And they will probably want to do so just before the end of the financial year or just after.”

He added: “So, I think within the next 12 weeks or so we would see definite signs of an election, but it is still a sad day and the reverberations of the takeover in Venezuela and the way in which it was done will continue to be felt and experienced in days to come.”

When contacted, political scientist Dr George Belle declined to comment. (SG)

Source. Nation

9. @gatecrasher, misogynistic behavior has no place in Barbados. Men in Barbados are boys in suits especially the ones in suits. A little pose,sex and a whiskey causes them to loose all sense of rationality. Tyra comes over are irrational, immature, rambunctious, intelligent, well spoken but lacking a strong philosophical grounding. Perhaps, if she does not get her way she will jump ship to another party. Sadly, voter literacy and the ignorance of the electorate sees those who crack jokes on platforms during #kirkhumphrey, #charlesgriffith and #peterphillips who is a case study in who not to vote for. Do continue to sing for your supper with your eyes closed while walk towards the cliff of blind loyalty

10. David,

Why do you say that we see nothing wrong?????? I think that most Bajans see plenty wrong but have no idea what to do about it. In their minds it is either six of one or half a dozen of the next batch of rotten eggs. How many of us think we can change the system, or at least form a rival political party, then win an election and run a country?

This woman is of very poor quality. Look at the fool talking about high office! There is no high office in a powerless, broke, 2×3 country! For those of good intentions, there is only the unenviable task of navigating perilous waters, trying to stay afloat under the radar of the powers that be.

At this time, when the wolf is undisguised, loud and proud at our door, openly claiming our little palm tree leaf hut is his to blow down as he pleases, this woman has clearly stated her priorities — partying and private jets! This is the “mission dat [she] pon”! How exactly would she acquire a private jet on what we would be paying her???? And her idea of how this goes is that she is to serve only those who vote for her. And the way that she serves is not by advancing the nation as a whole, but by handing out little goodies to individuals. If this does not disqualify her or prompt the leader to use her influence against her nomination, then it would be all out in the open. We would need no further evidence as to the mission of the entire BLP. Indeed, not even Northern Observer could convince me to vote next time!

It is my nature to take all unsubstantiated claims with a whole teaspoonful of salt, but judging from the words that came out of this woman’s mouth, Naked Departure is gaining credibility. I won’t tell you what was said about her. If I have to stomach Naked Departure. So will you, if you want to know.

11. “Our political system tells us a lot of an individual can be president of the youth arm of the other main party and be a candidate in the other two years later. Same observation for Michael Lashley.

And we the people see nothing wrong. Where is there record of public service canvassing their views that are aligned philosophically with a particularly party?”

the simple answer is the ralph and ronnie saga of 2024

ralph left blp to become loo and later dlp
    and then went on to become leader of dlp

dlp youth arm supported ronnie
    and was banned from annual meeting

ronnie and steve were also banned from dlp

12. @Donna

You maybe correct but the blogmaster is guided by that line in the bible that has been popularized- we shall know them by their fruit. It leads us back to another popular political saying – a people get what they deserve.

13. I’m here practicing a song for later.
    Not sure if you have ever heard it before.

” Live your religion everyday…”
    I think Sister M sang that but I could be wrong and it may have been RiRi.🤔

If not for the elephant in the room, one might have been tempted to take you hypocrites seriously.
    Keep trying though.

14. The political parties namely the DLP and BLP have zero respect for Bajans and behave as if all are all locorish , easily bought, naive, ignorant about civics, willing to turn a blind eye and just drink the cool aid to be rewarded with crumbs.

15. “Our political system tells us a lot of an individual can be president of the youth arm of the other main party and be a candidate in the other two years later. Same observation for Michael Lashley.”

These political discussions, never cease to amaze me.

Do you have similar thoughts about Ralph Thorne going from being a BLP back-bencher, to subsequently becoming DLP president and Opposition Leader, while creating turmoil in that political party?

That members of both BLP and DLP can move with EASE within the two parties, EMBRACE and DEFEND the political ideas, beliefs, concepts and opinions they PREVIOUSLY OPPOSED, is perhaps indicative of the fact that there aren’t any SIGNIFICANT political, ideological and philosophical DIFFERENCES between the ‘BEES and DEES.’

Their LOYAL SUPPORTERS who THOUGHTLESSLY, UNQUESTIONINGLY and MINDLESSLY follow them, clearly indicate an ALLEGIANCE to the preferred political party and personalities…… rather than Barbados, and Barbadians by extension.

Let’s not forget the HYPOCRISY in politics.

The ‘political watchers’ are reminding us about “the recent Tyra Trotman beach chair rant is indeed of poor taste and unbecoming of a potential politician,” while emphasising the attributes of leadership.

Attributes they probably IGNORED when Trotman was a member of the DLP, and when they SUPPORTED Natalee ‘Natlee’ Harewood when she declared her interest to contest the City seat in the 2018 general elections. 🤣🤣

16. Yes she is immature but she is net even yet “selected” to be a candidate and she is already being attacked.

Ronnie0 a defeated b, at the candidate selection level, crossed the floor and went on to become president of DLP until he was kicked out.
    He had plenty of support on BU including that of the blog master who now find it convenient to question the young lady path

17. Another law to deal with lawless young men @Gatecrasher, can tell how the passing of a domestic terrorism law will help combat crime. Did a picture not appear online with Kirk Humphrey with the same guy who thought his friend as PM could influence the police. Who invited the know drug dealers to parliament. May god help us after another senseless law is passed by an incompetent government https://barbadostoday.bb/2026/01/03/government-to-introduce-domestic-terrorism-law-after-shooting-leaves-10-injured/

18. Yes @artax, our political history is replete with examples. As Nesta sang so sweetly on one the blogmaster’s favorite albums- Real Situation- seems like total destruction, the only solution.

19. @John 2

Isn’t she unopposed at the moment for the nomination? And isn’t this the best time to ‘attack’ to avoid more of the same? Even IF that is possible within the system?

20. This low class creature has stated her intentions. Her primary intention is to enrich herself. The job she seeks is service to the people. Though I may speculate that many others have the same intention, I have no proof. Here, I have the proof from the horse’s mouth.

Absolutely noone lives his or her religion perfectly every day. People are imperfect creatures. But to fall short or lose control temporarily and be sorry after is different from intentional, proud wrongdoing.

And that separates the manslayer from the murderer! We generally agree that one is worse than the other. Likewise, there is a difference between a hypocrite, who professes principles they have no intention of following, and a person who fails to live up to their principles.

P.S. Due to common sense and formal study of the subject matter, I am not a dogmatic person, or a literal interpreter of the Bible, therefore living my religion looks different from the typical understanding. Today, my religion is mainly about justice for all of humanity. I do not concern myself with trivia such as, for example, whether one should or should not eat pork.

21. David,

I interpret that saying to mean that if we don’t fight hard enough to get a government we want, then we must take what we get. That’s all.

22. Look like if the Bs get in next elections dem might have 32 ministers to keep everybody happy!😅

23. Oh rass I just realise the woman in the video is who wunna got running for the seat! Well well look at my crosses. Definately got to mek up a new ministry for her. Will discuss with Bushie and come back with a suitable title for it!

24. @John A

In the video Tyra looks ‘sleepy’?

25. Kind a like square dancing ya just switch partners mid dance

26. @ David

Well sleepy is one word that comes to mind. Lol

I ain’t hear from Bushie on a ministry title but I feel MIINISTRY OF RUDE BOYS AND GANGSTER RELATIONS is one worth considering. A new ministry like that could over see the implementation of the new domestic terrorist laws Mia bringing to control the shootings!

Lord if you don’t laugh you would cry for poor little Bim.

27. @John A

You are saying in code that Tyra should assume the ministry that Corey Layne was fired?

28. @ David,

That video must have been AI generated. lol

29. TTHE 2X3 ISLAND OF SWEETNESS AND BACK DOOR DEALS.

30. Dr.Don Marshall was highly critical today of the Ralph Thorne DLP for not making public a broad stroke policy plan as an option to be considered.

31. @ David

I might be speaking tongue in cheek! But we got to find posts for the faithfuls and floor crossers.

32. In light of the bad publicity surrounding Tyra’s nomination it will be interesting to see if the BLP Executive allows this nomination to be uncontested.

33. @ David,

The photo of Tee Tee and M A M is open for interpretation.

34. Sleepy, tipsy or dopey, her condition could only have loosened her tongue, not put words into her mouth!

That attitude did not ever reside in me or any of my friends. Not at thirty, not at twenty, not at ten! This has nothing to do with immaturity. This has to do with a deeply flawed character.

John 2,
    According to a woman my grandmother told me about — wuh you en seh soun’ mo’ better.

35. I will make one final comment on this individual. She has made it clear to all that listen what her expectations are in terms of a “reward” for her serving as a politician. She has no intention of serving the people UNLESS they can make it worth her while. There will be no inpartial representation from her either unless you “support” her. She is not based on her own words, a person worthy of appointment and if she does get the nod from the party, then we will all clearly see the moral and political fibre the BLP as a party are now made of as well.

All at wunna now.

36. @John A

Tyra is no different to the majority of the others, it is just that she was recorded.

37. Take a break.

38. Things hotting up. Bear in mind Arthur Holder tossed his support behind Tyra.

Holder joins St Michael Central race

by SHERRYLYN A. TOPPIN sherrylynclarke@nationnews.com

DR LYNETTE HOLDER has thrown her hat into the ring as a nominee for the Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP) St Michael Central riding.

She told the DAILY NATION yesterday she has received a number of calls from constituents who knew of her previous interest in St Michael Central and they also wanted to feel they were playing a part in the selection process, scheduled for January 15 at Combermere School.

Holder, who served as president of the St Michael North East branch for more than a decade, said this brought her into contact with the full St Michael zone, but it was St Michael Central where a number of relationships were formed and they knew of her interest, even before incumbent, Speaker of the House of Assembly Arthur Holder, got the nod 13 years ago.

“Persons who knew this contacted me when they realised that a nomination was being held, but they weren’t given options . . . ,” said the chief executive officer of the Small Business Association, adding it was something she pondered for some time before stepping forward.

“I recognised that we have to protect democracy and therefore that is what it’s about for me. Irrespective of the outcome – it has nothing to do with the outcome – it is that democracy must prevail.

“We cannot have a situation where in a party over 80 years and in 2026 when democracy is being talked about and good governance and all that, that we don’t have a forum where persons feel as if their voice, their vote matters. So that led me to make a decision that there must be an option given to the constituents.”

Holder, who is in her mid-50s, is a former senator who served in various capacities in the BLP, including the National Council, where she rose to the position of assistant general secretary. She is the current president of the City of Bridgetown Cooperative Credit Union.

“You talk to your family and all that, but making the decision wasn’t that difficult because I want to see that democracy prevails in the party and persons felt . . . ‘We don’t want a situation where someone is being thrust upon us. We want to have a say in who we vote for, to represent us going forward’, and so that is it really. It is really about democracy.”

Last Saturday, during the annual children’s party hosted in conjunction with Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley (St Michael North East) in the National Botanical Gardens, the incumbent, Arthur Holder, said he would not be returning.

“I have represented them for the past 13 years but I became involved with the constituency from 2007 when former representative Ishmael Roett introduced me to the party’s executive when he decided he was not running again. He was always a pillar of support to me and it was an honour to follow in his footsteps,” he said.

Holder said he wrote all of the relevant people in the party and also threw his support behind newcomer Tyra Trotman, who joined the BLP in 2024 after leaving the Democratic Labour Party.

“I also informed them that I would support the person who wins the nomination and I personally fully support Tyra Trotman, who is another Combermerian,” he added.

Lynette Holder did not say anything about Trotman.

“It would have been good if there were even more people who came forward, that is the truth. As you know, I mean, I ain’t come off the streets. I’ve been in the party, now as a member for more than 20 years, more than two decades.

“I carry the scars of being a member of this Barbados Labour Party. I know what it is to have been called all kind of stuff, to go through all kinds of valley experiences, triumphs, yes, but some challenges,” she said.

Mottley has indicated elections are not far away, and in recent months the BLP ratified attorney Gregory Nicholls in St Thomas and engineer Ryan Brathwaite in St Joseph to replace backbencher Cynthia Forde and Attorney General Dale Marshall, respectively.

39. Am I the only person who will question the authenticity of the video?

I think I have established myself as having a pessimistic outlook on how and what things are done in Barbados, but the video beggars belief and must have been produced by AI.

Are we scraping the underside of the bottom of the barrel for candidates?

40. And yet, it is clear that this lady want to continue B vs D politics.
    Please bear in mind that when we look at the numbers voting for B and D and those not voting, it was the latter category that was the winner followed by the BLP. Therefore. taking such a bold and open stance may be reassuring to some party faithful and may very well lead to her success in an election.

41. With Dr. Lynette entering the race the blogmaster has been reading what appear to be farmed responses on Starcom’s website in support of Tara.

Things that make you go hmmm.

42. Tyra is free to issue a statement that the video is fake.

43. The hypocrisy out the blocks early in 2026. Happy new year all yuh.

44. Who you supporting @enuff?

#tyra #lynette

45. “Tyra is no different to the majority of the others, it is just that she was recorded.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    She’s a BIT different.

She is a ‘baby’ compared to most of the others.
    It is just that she is stupid Enuff to think that it is OK to be open about it.

Are you REALLY playing that you don’t know why Dwight had to be made to resign…?
    …And that they CANNOT touch him because bigger fish are doing the same shiite?
    …And that many of the recent BLP ‘run-away MPs’ sailed in similar boats…?
    …Or are you just too afraid to say…?

Sometimes Bushie wonders if ANY of us in Brassbados truly values HONESTY and RIGHTNESS.

What a place…?
    We seem to be even more crooked that the USA.

46. @ John A
    Bushie is too fed up wid the brassbowlery to suggest a suitable ministry…

She said that she went to Cawmere…?
    Was it not a Cawmere girl that designed the demonic monument at the Garrison..?
    Pick sense from dat…

47. David
    Bim!! So #NotdeDems

48. Your position is clearly understood in this space @enuff.