See caribbeansignal.com for the latest updates on homicides. A footnote: it has been 29 days Commissioner Richard Boyce promised a probe into the slapping of a citizen on 2024 Kadooment Day with a baton by a police officer. Ironically the Commissioner has promised another probe into a disappearing file involving a 9 year old child reported in today’s (3 September 2024) mediaBlogmaster.

There have been at least 34 homicides in Barbados between January 1 and August 31. My count and subsequent analysis is based exclusively on what is reported by The Media. The numbers and analysis below are not to be treated as official in any form or fashion.

Image 1: Barbados Homicide Map, Jan to Aug 2024.

Read more at caribbeansignal.com.

31 responses to “Homicide update ‘January to August 2024’”

1. Top cop orders probe

Child rights advocates upset after case dismissed

by MARIA BRADSHAW mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

COMMISSIONER OF POLICE Richard Boyce says an investigation has been launched into the failure of the police to produce a file to the court for four years in a serious indecency matter involving a nine-yearold child.

Last Friday, Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes threw out the case against a Guyanese man with one name, Mankad, who was charged with committing an act of serious indecency against the girl on June 24, 2020. Calling the matter “a very serious one”, he said he had given the accused an undertaking of a final adjournment as he lamented that no file had ever been produced to the court. He, however, warned him that police could relodge the case. Boyce said yesterday that the case will be brought back to court.

“The matter was drawn to my attention and I have launched an investigation to ascertain the status of the case file and the reason for the said file not being available to the court prosecutor to have the matter committed for trial. Obviously, this is one of those matters that shouldbe given priority as it relates to justice being carried out for the victim,” the Commissioner told the DAILY NATION.

“That right to justice will be undertaken and the case will be relodged.”

The matter also engaged the attention of two child rights advocates – Shelly Ross and Felicia Dujon – who expressed deep concern about such an occurrence given the onset of new child protection legislation.

“The person or persons responsible for the file should be held accountable for the missing file,” Ross declared. “All we hear about is legislation and those in authority continue to fail when it comes to the abuse of our children. Where is the Child Care Board on this matter?”

She pointed out that just last week Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs Kirk Humphrey said there was major concern that parents and guardians were dropping child abuse cases.

“The minister needs to look at how this Government, police and authorities have treated child abuse cases and he might just see that the public is following the examples of the authorities,” Ross said.

She also queried the status of police investigation into alleged abuse at the Government Industrial School (GIS).

“The Commission of Inquiry into GIS stated that files were handed over to the police since September 2022. What happened to the files? Have any of the girls who were abused in that institution received any justice? Who is asking questions? Who is following up on behalf of the children?”

Dujon, an advocate for women’s and children’s rights, said she too was worried about the matter.

“I am deeply concerned over the handling of the Mankad case, particularly the implications of charges being dropped due to no file being presented in court. The justice system must be held accountable when it fails to deliver timely and fair proceedings,” she said.

She emphasised that delays in justice not only affect the accused but also risk undermining public confidence in the legal institutions.

“Matters relating to sexual offences against children should be treated with the utmost seriousness in the law.”

Dujon stressed that the rights of all children should be protected with the greatest care by the state and those who work under its authority.

“Those involved in this matter should be reprimanded for such levels of neglect. The new Child Protection Act, 2024, ought to provide greater protection for all children, ensuring that such cases are handled with the urgency and gravity they deserve.”

She said sexual offences against children remain a critical issue, with recent statistics indicating a 15 per cent increase in reported cases over the past two years. She pointed out that about 200 cases are documented annually, though many more likely go unreported due to stigma and fear.

“Every child deserves a safe and secure environment and it is the state’s responsibility to enforce robust measures to prevent abuse,” Dujon added.

She called for increased funding for child protection services and comprehensive training for law enforcement to effectively handle these sensitive cases.

“The safety and well-being of our children must be the highest priority and the Government must act decisively to address this growing concern.”

2. Coroner knocks inquest delay

Finding into baby’s death forwarded to DPP

by HEATHER-LYNN EVANSON

heatherlynevanson@nationnews.com

THE CORONER has expressed dissatisfaction with a more than decade-long delay in an inquest into a baby’s 2011 death.

Magistrate Graveney Bannister said the matter first came to his attention in 2020 before the file went missing a few times in the subsequent years.

“I inherited this matter when it was almost ten years old and I was seeing this matter for the first time,” he said.

The magistrate was speaking as he suggested police further investigate the death of one-monthold Tre Hinds, which he found was “unnatural and accidental with a high degree of negligence”.

“This matter first came to my attention as coroner mid-year in 2020,” he said as the baby’s parents Lisa Peters and Cleveland Hinds were present.

“The death of Tre occurred on November 21, 2011, and it came to my attention when I came over here to this court. And then the file went missing a couple times in between when I took over because we moved from courts or changed courts,” Magistrate Bannister said.

“I think it is a good idea that these matters are being placed online but then even with the placement of files online, there is still need for that manner or aspect. So I hope there is no recurrence of this matter or matters like these where there are delays. This court frowns on delay.”

He said after reviewing the evidence, the court found that both parents “were economical with the truth”.

Tre was discovered with a plastic bag, which was being used as a mattress cover on the bed, over his head. He was half of a twin and one of eight children the couple had.

“Cleveland Hinds or Lisa Peters or someone else, probably one of the other children, was responsible for the act or omission that caused the death of Tre,” Magistrate Bannister said.

‘Boyfriend at home’

“The boyfriend was at home at the time of discovery of the dead child. The matter should be further investigated by the police as, in my view, the parents were economical with the truth and callous,” he said.

“This matter is of some vintage before I assumed the role of coroner. Some time had passed but I daresay that matters such as these will be with you your entire life and on your conscience. You have to live with this,” he told the parents.

“I recommend that greater care be taken to ensure there is no repeat of these kinds of deaths either by yourself or other persons in Barbados. There are prenatal courses that are given as how care should be given to children, especially young babies.

“I accept the death of Tre Hinds to be due to asphyxia. It may be concluded that asphyxia was caused by accidental smothering if the history is to be taken at face value.”

However, the coroner lamented that the autopsy could not determine if the plastic was over the child’s face, or the time or duration it took for the child to die.

He added that Sudden Infant Death Syndrome was not a consideration since a cause of death was ascertained and was consistent with the history provided.

His finding will now be forwarded to the Registrar and the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) for consideration.

“The process is one where this verdict goes on to the registrar and then the DPP. I don’t make any determination as to innocence or guilt so the Act says the file is forwarded for determination,” Magistrate Bannister explained.

3. The average murder has significantly increased in the last 3 months. On current trend we will hit over 50 murders this year.

Back to business as usual.

4. Yes indeed! Back to business as usual.

5. Business as usual is frightening.

Don’t we have a Commissioner, 2 Deputy Commissioners, a consultant on crime, an attorney general AND a Minister responsible for crime??

Not saying they can solve everything but cuddear, with so many “resources” business as usual can’t be the accepted status quo. Even an admission of the shortcomings and failings would be a starting point .

Just observing

6. These retaliatory attacks and killings are seasonal like changes in the weather.
    I’ve been watching a TV series called Sherwood about crime in Nottingham.
    Perhaps the best way to understand what’s going on is to treat it like drama.
    The characters in the violent crime story are gangs, police, community leaders, the public and traumatised families who have lost someone.

7. Anytime we see the police, the government, the opposition, anybody within Westminster derived systems asking for probes, into to anything. It is just they way of kicking the issue into the tall grass.

These kicks give politicians talking points, saying they did something, a fake assumption of responsibility, all devices to lull gullible publics into the resumption of their perpetual slumber, keep them there.

8. “It is just they way of kicking the issue into the tall grass.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    …and of course they HAVE to do this, because the ‘issues’ stink like jobby, to high heaven, and MUST be hidden.

Even if that was not OBVIOUS from the very start, then our actual EXPERIENCE in Barbados would have by now driven ANY RATIONAL human beings to serious protests.

Brass Bowls however, are different.
    They are designed to accumulate load after load of ‘night soil’ without so much as a whimper…

So we ALWAYS get EXACTLY what we deserve…. It is a ‘Karma’ thing.

The politicians (and Lawyers and Police leadership, and courts, and Public Servants, and Banks and…) are therefore NOT really to blame. …
    They just do what we ALLOW them to do..

…. and it is natural that if they have brass bowl, they will jobby in it…”

9. Barbados is a ‘react only to crisis’ society. It is a pity all the paid influencers on social media are allowing their platforms to be manipulated for ‘30 pieces of silver’.

10. @Bush Tea

From where the blogmaster is perched the government, NGOs et al are clueless how to arrest the crime problem. This explains our business as usual mode.

11. “failure of the police to produce a file to the court for FOUR YEARS.”

” decade-long delay in an inquest into a baby’s 2011 death.”
    …. attention in 2020 before the file went missing a few times in the subsequent years.”

““The Commission of Inquiry into GIS stated that files were handed over to the police since September 2022. ”

Can any of the BU bloggers explain why these cases take so long ?

12. The positive out of this mess is the extent the Barbados Police Service social media content has transformed to zr stylie.

13. The blogmaster listened to snippets from former minister Michael Lashley and the head of the Bar committee responsible for crime and had to reach for some water. These are long standing court officers largely responsible for our moribund court system partly to blame for the current morass.

14. @ David
    To be fair, government, NGOs et al are clueless how to arrest ANY DAMN PROBLEM.
    They are not being biased with the spiraling crime.

These jokers cannot even resolve POLITICAL problems AMONG THEMSELVES… far less increasingly complex economic and technological quagmires – often surreptitiously IMPOSED by the same albino-centric demons who terrorized our grand parents for CENTURIES on end…

The REALLY SAD situation is that they are ONLY now beginning to recognize their dilemma. In that when the inevitable collapse comes, THEY WILL BE THE NATURAL targets of the discontented masses of brass….

It is going to be ‘dread inna Babylon’ according to prophet Nesta…

the Bible predicted that things will become SO BAD, that persons will be BEGGED to take up leadership – just on the basis that they have some clothes to look the part…
    BUT that person will say “WHO? NOT ME bozie, I can’t even feed my family… I aint leading a shiite”
    (Bushie’s translation of Isaiah 3:6 – apologies to any Christians)

15. Bushie

Might there be any other sources pre-dating that which you mentioned dealing with these matters al?

And would you never have want to quote them?

16. Here comes The OG, crying like John the Baptist in the wilderness. However, unlike John the Baptist and the Bushmaster, I do not call on Barbadians to repent.

Countrymen, lend me your ears. Abandon your notions of an ordered society with justice, and laws. See everything in your country as it is, a scheme, a con or a scam. A place where justice is denied, delayed or purchased; a place which preys on the poor, the hungry, the weak and its children; a place which takes what is good and subverts it to a mockery of itself.

You pride yourself on your education and degrees and do not realize that your professionals have reduced you to nothing more than a laughingstock or victims for others. You listen to seductive voices with catch phrases and will not admit to yourself that your contribution to global warming is less than that of a teapot on a stove. Admit your weight class and make no claim of punching above your weight.

What is your mirror image? Try to see the man in the mirror looking back at you. Remove your blinders and rose colored glasses and see what you are and not what you think you are.

Feed your hungry and poor, protect your children and the elderly. That is the beginning of a society with compassion and with love for it fellow citizens.

Today I cried again.

Have a great day Barbados.
    Enjoy the day.

17. “Might there be any other sources pre-dating that which you mentioned dealing with these matters al?”

Greek Gods were dysfunctional

Watch KAOS | Netflix
    As discord reigns on Mount Olympus and almighty Zeus spirals into paranoia, three mortals are destined to reshape the future of humankind. The story revolves around three humans as they discover their connection to each other and to a long-standing ancient prophecy while they deal with corrupt and arrogant gods of Classical mythology. The all-powerful yet insecure god Zeus starts to fear his end of reign once he notices a wrinkle on his forehead, possibly indicating the end of the world. He becomes paranoid and vengeful towards his devotees

18. Steupse!

19. Hi Amit,
    Once again, an excellent job.

20. Deliverance
    Although it is difficult to prove that God(s) exist(s)
    It is easier to prove that evil / Devil exists
    Demonic powers want to takeover youths
    (evil smiles crossed their faces)

21. Youth unemployment rate in Barbados is 24%
    When unemployment is high, the crime rate will be high
    Idle hands do the devils work

Jacob Miller, Big Youth and U Roy had records called “It Dread Inna Babylon”

22. The murders are a symptom of a larger problem. Inflation coupled with a bigger push towards a consumer driven economy and a disbelief in delayed gratification have basically made entry level jobs for a young man who isn’t academically inclined impossible to accept.
    A labourer on a construction site gets $80/day and work is not guaranteed. He has to jump through hoops to open a bank account, cannot get a credit card, cannot get hire purchase, everythig for him is cash, he goes where the money is. We are lucky we don’t have more murders, thank God for highway vending, never ending parties an other harmless underground economy activities, without those there would be way more hungry young men ready to do whatever for money

23. “We are lucky we don’t have more murders, thank God for highway vending, never ending parties an other harmless underground economy activities, without those there would be way more hungry young men ready to do whatever for money”.

I am not disagreeing with Redguard. However, in his summary of our unfortunate high homicide levels. I could not help but think that our independance has been completely wasted.

24. ‘NO EXCUSE’

Case files must be done, says senior officer

By Carlos Atwell carlosatwell@nationnews.com

There are a few circumstances which are hindering prosecuting officers from producing case files on time or at all, says Acting Superintendent Anthony Warner.

However, the Criminal Investigations Department officer and attorney said there was still no excuse for sloppy work.

Earlier this week, Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce ordered an investigation into the failure of the police to produce a file to the court for four years in a serious indecency matter involving a nine-year-old child.

This was after Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes threw out last week Friday the case against a Guyanese man with one name, Mankad, as he lamented that no file had ever been produced to the court. Boyce promised that the case would be brought back to court.

The dismissal brought outrage from some child rights advocates and calls for those responsible for the missing file to be held accountable.

Embarrassment

Warner, speaking to the Saturday Sun yesterday after a closing ceremony for a five-week court prosecutors’ course and a four-week enhanced constables’ development course at the Regional Police Training Centre in Seawell, Christ Church, said every time a case was dismissed because of the lack of files, it was an embarrassment to the Barbados Police Service and eroded public trust.

“The issue of resources is a broad one and, yes, we are very short on personnel. So the shortness of personnel might contribute to it, but the police still have a duty that if they catch the case, they must complete the file and have it before the court,” he said.

He added the best course of action was continued training sessions such as those done at the training centre and at the station level. However, he also urged greater commitment by officers and more participation from superior officers.

“I think part of the issue is the demand on the officers, not only to have the files completed but to do so while performing their other duties, though that is not an excuse for them not producing the files.

“It is distressing because as a police officer, you’ve got a duty to the people, to the victims and even to the accused persons. And you should do everything within your power to ensure that the files are in place so that justice can be served. It’s hard to know that you’re a victim of a crime and hear that the case gets dismissed because of the unavailability of the files being at court. You can’t be pleased with that,” he said.

The senior lawman also addressed the issue during his feature address.

“Recently, you’ve heard of the many instances of cases either being dismissed or accused persons being discharged for want of prosecution because the files were not available. This is most unfortunate [because] although it is available to us to go on and relodge a case, it is embarrassing to the organisation to have to go through that.

“Section 18 of Chapter 3 [of the Constitution] provides that persons charged are to be afforded a fair hearing within a reasonable time. As a consequence, there are instances when the files are not available, so the case is adjourned or dismissed, where persons can pursue legal action for the breach of their constitutional rights.

“You, all of you, have the opportunity to change this narrative and make a significant impact from this training,” he told the participants.

Heartened

The topic was also touched on by course coordinator, Deputy Commandant Lawrence Collymore, who said he was heartened by the work done during the training.

“There is a situation internally in the organisation where we know, we cannot deny it – it is published – that we have problems with files. We know the stories that have gone before us and probably some that will come afterwards, but I want to commend these constables. They were given the scenarios, I think it was on a Thursday the first week, and by the Friday, one of the constables was able to produce a completed file.

“It tells me that if something like this, albeit in training, where a constable can produce a file in less than 24 hours, fully completed, immaculately done, then it is a standard that we ought to seek to reach.

“I implore the others to follow his example and to be diligent because if that is the case, then we will not have the issues that we are having currently before the court,” he said.

The two courses featured not only police officers from Barbados, St Kitts and Nevis and St Lucia, but also personnel from the Barbados Licensing Authority, Labour Department, Immigration Department, Barbados Prison Service, the Court Process Office, Barbados Defence Force, The Bahamas Defence Force and the St Kitts and Nevis Customs and Excise Department.

Constable Ricardo Blackman was the Best Student in the enhanced constables’ development course, while Constable Keann Garnes was awarded Best At Giving Evidence. The Best Prosecuting Team in the court prosecutors’ course was Constable Shawn Brathwaite of Barbados and Able Seaman Donald Neely of The Bahamas Defence Force.

25. Dear God, give me an inexhaustible well from which I can draw my tears. You have punished me unceasingly Avatar
    Dear God, give me an inexhaustible well from which I can draw my tears. You have punished me unceasingly

From above:
    “It tells me that if something like this, albeit in training, where a constable can produce a file in less than 24 hours, fully completed, immaculately done, then it is a standard that we ought to seek to reach.”

I am at loss for words. These guys screw-up for years. They not only lose files, the lose people within the system; people who are alive that they must feed every day. They lose files and people for more than a decade and now talk of producing a file within 24 hours.

They have these training sessions, pat themselves on the back, share out a few awards, take a victory lap and then go back to business as usual —- missing files and cases dismissed.

They need to stop. It is painful to read this gibberish. I am crying again.

Don’t buy into the nonsense.

26. @Hants
    A country with all the bells and whistles but here you have four systems that do no work
    (1) The courts
    (2) The police
    (3) Immigration department, and
    (4) Parents. I am amazed that a parent did not take the law into their own hand. Corrupted systems work best when the common folks are afraid and do no nothing.

Fight the system. Bypass the corrupted system and distribute your own justice.

27. @Hants
    The new concern now is wildfires.
    I think that with thousand of Bajan acres or hundred of square miles being burnt, this is a valid concern. Instead of drones, we need planes that carry water to fight fires. With planes taking off from GIA and the airport in St Lucy we would have the entire island covered.

Tell me this is not a nightmare. Tell me this is not some bizarre dream or some ridiculous fantasy being played out. I does pinch myself so as to confirm that this is not just in my head. What next? A planned skyscraper?

28. I saw where a guy with 20 convictions for “serious crimes dating back to 2005′ was given a clean certificate of character. It was only after the new hire was charged with murder that the employer discover that the man was not squeaky clean.

I am crying.

God, how come that you are a Bajan and allow things to get so bad in this country. Nothing works; everything is corrupted. Why are you punishing us instead of blessing us? I will have to search for your navel string and cast it into the sea.