Yesterday Prime Minister Mia Mottley made two important statements with the objective of tackling the worrying crime situation in Barbados. Wire tapping and lie detector testing are measures Government intends to introduce in short order. It is no surprise the government has always had the means to engage in wire tapping activities, how many recall mention was made of it during the Waterman Commission dealing with the Alexandra School matter – See Jeff Broomes to Hal Gollop, Hello?

We have procrastinated and politicised the crime issue in Barbados through the years, both political parties, and have no choice but to introduce draconian measures that cross a line which seriously impinges individual freedoms we have been accustomed. We have no-one to blame exempt the person in the mirror.

The other important statement was the Prime Minister’s support of legislation to regulate tint. There has been significant pushback from the public against government’s decision to regulate tint on vehicles. If the Barbados Police Force (BPS) believes vehicles with ‘dark’ tint pose a threat to crime fighting activity who are we (members of the public) to contradict? The huge public outcry against it exposes the deep lack of trust by the public in the BPS and government.

Discuss for 20 marks.

86 responses to “Govt to legalize eavesdropping”

1. I remember Inniss WhatsApp messages getting made public. Every tom dick and harry know of the drug dealers in Barbados. What is stopping the police from going after cook food bounty and Rossi.

2. The elephant in the room is a lack of trust towards the police, court system and politicians. It was bad before but have gotten worse thanks to how the PM and her colleagues have embraced and emboldened drug dealers. You have gangsters appearing in the media vex about not getting paid to stop the shooting and killing. Public no longer have respect for police and authorities which is evident with no one snitching on the escaped prisoner.

3. OH LARD, DISCUSS 4 #TwentyMarks

Where 2 start???

#Welcome2TheEmergingPoliceState

Back in the 90s, the 1033 Program was initiated in the US – seems like BIMSHIRE* is taking it up a “NOTCH” to the #ChineseSurveillanceState level!!!

Let the sociology class speak on this one…

#Its2LateGUYS*

4. TROUBLE ON EVERY HAND & SIDE: BABYLON IS FALLEN – IS FALLEN & HAS BECOME THE HABITATION OF DEVILS; A CAULDRON FOR EVERY FOUL, NASTY & UNCLEAN SPIRIT!!! PRECURSORS THAT LET’S US KNOW THAT EVERYTHING IS ABOUT TO COLLAPSE – GOING DOWN 2 HELL IN A 3-WHEEL PANCART

#WhatMore2Say

5. The tint issue is definately a problem, after all I saw on social media some guys sitting down liming with some tinted cars around them park and wapax just so some fellows walk up and rob dem. I feel if the cars did not tint the fellows could of see dem coming and get up and run hard as RH! LOL

6. First time on tint? ‘I WANT MONEY”
    Now? “POLICE SAY THEY’RE IN FEAR OF THEIR LIVES” Choopse! Which is it??

https://is.gd/246WhatsApp

7. @John A

It is important not to generalized. The government advised that the BPS submitted the request for the Tint legislation. It is unfortunate that matter is being politicized.

8. On a serious point now I can only believe the AG catching at straws here. Study the activity that going on with the shootings and ask yourself if tint could of made a difference. All of these shootings are from close range and do not even involve a vehicle far less tint! If you want to do something act on the following first.

Get the scrambler motorcycles that on the road doing shite without insurance and license to the metal recyclers.

Open an impound yard and take the PSVS that are doing as they like off the road when pending trial. Not only fine them but charge a storage fee for each day the PSV is parked in the yard. Same for the idiots doing foolishness with cars and other vehicles.

Make ALL offenders where a gun is present a charge that bail does not apply to. This would also appy to possessions of firearms where no other crime has been commited.

Increase all gun offenses to a minimum charge of $100,000 or 5 years in jail. This is for possesion of an unlicensed gun and or ammunition not the actual crime, that would be another charge.

As for the drug men everybody know who the big dons are start there. I never see them get charge just the little man that easy to hold. Cuh dear Barbados is 21×14 em cant be that hard to find them.

Look its not that the AG dont know what he got to do, its that there would be a price of public outcry if he was to do it. We all know what got to do and if I put it simply it would be LEFT OUT THE TALK AND POSING AND ACT, STOP WORRYING BOUT THE VOTE.

9. Corruption and political interference has destroyed the police force. I joined during Mr Durant’s time and left during Watson time. You get rewarded for unprofessionalism and your political allegiance. Barbados would be in a better place if Erwin Boyce was Commissioner. Mr Marshall and Prime Minister Mottley is counting on a demoralized police service to ignore issues by promising the moon. A colleague said to me he no longer trust his workmates due to the climate of corruption and the dog eat culture. Darwin Dottin and Dale Marshall with the support of Mia Mottley have destroyed the TBPS. Guys are hoping that Barry Hunte would not allow his conscience to be compromised in putting country first on becoming Commissioner. Too many in zone getting overlooked for promotions. Men like Super Phillips missing.

10. @ David

On the tint issue there is some very dark tint I have seen where you cant even see if there is a driver in the car i agree. This is a concern I understand, however if that car was done PRIOR to the law being introduced how is that viewed?

I had to drive a friends car a couple weeks back at night and found it very hard to see out the left or right front glasses. His tint is in fact darker than the one I am accustom to. There is an arguement for this but it was handled badly from day one.

For example if you went to license a car at MTW with heavey tint over the last few weeks they were telling you to take it off and come back or strip it there. Now at this time there is no actual law or standard in place so one could refuse to remove it. At the same time if you did refuse then MTW was not going to license it. So what happens there then?

11. @John A

We should not conflate implementation and operational issues with an urgent need for the BPS to be able to do their best crime detecting.

12. It is possible to see how many people are spitting behind your hedge at 0101hrs on any given Saturday morning, but the police didn’t beg the ag for some of that tech.

Are panel vans next on the restriction list?

13. LOL
    You mean that government is now ADMITTING PUBLICLY about its eavesdropping capabilities and activities.
    Our problem is not about KNOWING who the criminals are…
    It is about how to get one set of criminals to control a different set…

Clearest case of the wheels coming off the bus than we can imagine…

….or in Bushman terms, ..of asses in the grass.

…it ain’t no use
    nobody can stop them now…
    Robert Nesta

14. Wire tapping?
    I thought Whatsapp was encrypted.

So the law that allows the police to tek weh people computers and phones ain’t working as expected?

Ban on iphones next?

15. The wheels have not only fallen off the bus. The bus have gone over the cliff and we are in free fall.

Leadership have rightly decided that we cannot maintain a democracy and be a corrupt nation at the same time and have made the decision that the corrupt state is the way to go. Necessary laws which can target both the criminals and the lawful are being formulated.

We have already seen that this corrupt administrations will not go after the corrupted/corruptors and is working hand-in-hand with some. This fool here knows that things can not continue as they are and will will assume that Mia knows it also.

Buckle up boys and girls, it is not getting any better and the worst is yet to come. It is coming.

16. For years, it has been my sincere belief that there will be/is no recovery for the island.
    The one thing that we have become good at is making excuses, talking of new initiatives, and giving silly explanations.

There will be no recovery. Burn that phrase into your mind and your eyeballs.

17. Those unfortunate situations are NOT confined to one specific political party, but span successive BLP and DLP administrations.

18. I got a question is the dark tint made in BiM, imported or coming in through the same channel as the guns , if imported can it be stop at the import level

19. Retired

I wholeheartedly agree that, “corruption and political interference has destroyed the police force,” and some police officers are “rewarded for unprofessionalism and (their) political allegiance.”

You mentioned, “too many in zone getting overlooked for promotions.” Surely you can’t be seriously suggesting corruption in the RBPF/TBS is confined to the current BLP administration.

If you worked under the tenures of both Durant and Watson, then I’m sure you would’ve probably worked with former DLP general secretary and chairman of the Police Services Commission, R. Guyson Mayers.

Perhaps you’ve forgotten some time during 2012 when, as Chairman of PSC, Mayers rescinded the appointments of at least 15 officers, including B. Hunte, who were recommended for promotions, and promoted officers of his choice instead.

And, I’m also guessing you were not aware when the previous DLP administration changed the qualifying prerequisite for Deputy CoP, sent Erwin Boyce to the UK to complete the course, and shortly after his return to Barbados, promoted him to Dep CoP, ahead of then Acting Dep CoP, Oral Williams, who already possessed the qualification.

Such unfortunate situations are NOT confined to one specific political party, but span successive BLP and DLP administrations.

20. Also as we on tint what we doing about those full face helmets with the dark tinted visor that dont allow you to see the riders face, we outlawing them too?

What about the ski masks that i see people wearing on bikes and even walking around with on, we outlawing them too?

The cars that the MPS and Judges driving with the dark tint that outlawing too? After all how i know the car aint get steal, or a judge kidnap if I cant see the driver?

And on and on I could go addressing not the cause and concern, but everything else. Its like having a leaky window and changing the curtains inside to address the leak. Its simple the criminal no longer respects or fears the system becuase it takes too long to work. Even when it does work the criminal sees the reward worth the punishment, as the punishments deliver no fear. Go back to the basics and come forward fresh, as we in 2025 and not 1960 anymore!

21. “The huge public outcry against (legislation to regulate tint) exposes the deep lack of trust by the public in the BPS and government?”

David, I disagree simply because ‘government’ enact laws and regulations, Barbadians would complain, comply….. and subsequently violate without suffering the consequences thereof.

Police would enforce the law for a few months only.

Motorists violate road traffic regulations on a DAILY BASIS….. from drivers of private motor vehicles, PSVs, Chefette and KFC delivery vehicles to riders of motor cycles and bicycles.

I’ll provide BU with a few simple examples.

(1). Section 89B (3) states, “For the purposes of this regulation, (b) “stunt” includes any activity where one or more persons are engaged in any one of the following:
    (i). Driving a vehicle in a manner that indicates an intention to lift some or all of the vehicle’s tyres from the surface of the road or highway, INCLUDING DRIVING A MOTORCYCLE OR BICYCLE WITH ONLY ONE WHEEL IN CONTACT WITH THE GROUND;”

EVERYDAY, persons can be seen riding motor cycles, some of which are not licensed or insured, ‘wheelieing’ and performing stunts through traffic on minor roads and highways…… even in the presence of police officers.
    A clear violation of Section 89B 3 (i).

(2). There was much ‘hue and cry’ on the ‘call-in-programmes’ and conversations in general relative to Regulations 148 1 & 2, re “prohibition on driving or operating a vehicle while holding and using a cellular telephone.”
    Anyone contravening paragraph (1), was guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to a fine of $2,000, or 18 months imprisonment, or both.
    Initially the law was enforced….. nowadays people use their mobile phones, without fear, while driving.

Similarly, the new window tint regulations will become another “nine (9) day wonder.”
    Barbadians will complain, comply, and subsequently violate them, while police look the other way, as is the norm with every other law and regulation previously enacted.

I see these situations as Barbadians DISRESPECTING law and order, more so than ‘exposing the deep lack of trust by the public in the BPS and government.’

22. @Artax

We will see if you are correct especially against the background we have been told the BPS asked for the law change.

23. @ Artax

I agree with you 100% on some Bajans totally disrespectful of law and order. Its a case of “let we try a ting” and if we get away with it lets continue doing it on a regular basis. When on a Sunday evening in excess of 20 scrambler motorcycles and a few quads, can ride the highway from the airport to St Peter with no respect for the law or other road users, what does that tell you? Same road every Sunday evening and nothing is done about it. Over the rally these same persons were all over the event with no consequences. No numbers on the bikes, no lights and no indicators with no problem.

When the older gneration go to the great beyond, this country will be a “brek fuh urself” gun ruled island if these matters are not addressed. For a tourism dependent island with a one foot economy that is not a formula for survival.

24. John A

Another thing that annoys me is the PSV sector and how they’re allowed ‘to do as they like.’

Yesterday, at approximately 5 pm, I saw Pine and Silver Hill mini buses; route 3D, 8, 10, 11 & 19 ZRs, WITHOUT ANY REGARD for other road users……

……impede the free flow of traffic on Fairchild Street, by setting down passengers in front Jordan’s Supermarket, and either reversing into Jessemy Lane or turning across the road into the bus terminal to park at its exit….. thereby preventing Transport Board buses from entering and exiting the terminal.

This nonsense happens EVERY EVENING.

Two police constables were standing directly in front Jordan’s Supermarket, WATCHING the CHAOS. Within 45 minutes, five (5) other constables accompanied them, including two (2) females, and a Sergeant a few minutes later.

I’m wondering WHO gave those PSV drivers PERMISSION to leave the Constitution River Terminal and park along a BUSY Fairchild Street to set down and pick up passengers, while blocking the normal flow of traffic in the process?

Or, did they decide on their own to go there…… and Transport Authority and Police Service ‘fell in line’ afterwards?

And, why do we have to deploy police officers to ‘BABYSIT’ PSV drivers, supposedly maintain law, order and facilitate the free flow of traffic…..

…… a WASTE of valuable, scarce police resources that could’ve been otherwise allocated to address specific concerns, such as crime hotspots or high-risk areas?

25. It is law abiding citizens that have to make the sacrifice. Then again, we contribute to it also.

26. Aimless, clueless, hopeless!
    These terms best describe Barbados Today. We are discussing a wide range of the SYMPTOMS of this, …BUT we steadfastly avoid looking at the ROOT of our demise.

How can it be worthwhile discussing shiite laws passed by this government – when it is difficult to find ANY OF THE MYRIAD of previous ‘laws’ that they passed, that had ANY impact, …made ANY positive difference, …Or even can now be recalled…?

These jokers seem to think that once ‘cabinet’ (AKA the PM) decides some shiite, that all should be well, and we should then pretend that the Emperor’s robe is beautiful – especially the scarf.

BUT HERE IS THE PROBLEM…
    The Laws seem NOT to apply to everyone equally.

— While some get their family lands sold off by BRA because of ridiculous land taxes imposed on their family’s BIRTHRIGHTS… these ‘law-makers’ are able to GIVE AWAY PRIME PUBLIC PROPERTIES to Canadians, Africans, and apparently to ANY albino-centric ‘investor’ who meets THEIR fancy…. and who ‘politically contribute’.

–While ‘gun laws’ effectively ensure that honest, simple, hardworking Bajans CANNOT get permission to own a firearm, practically EVERY SINGLE one of the privileged classes gets to be ‘locked and loaded’…. meanwhile the CRIMINALS seem to have very few hassles in acquiring all kinds of guns…
    GUESS WHO WILL BE THE CONSEQUENTIAL TARGET OF THE CRIMINALS…??!!

–While ‘LAWS’ exists that REQUIRE these politicians to provide REGULAR REPORTS of their activities done on OUR BEHALF… practically NO SUCH REPORTS are provided. So the SAME people responsible for the laws, BREAK THEM BLATANTLY … over and over!

–While the LAWS REQUIRE that Judges do their damn work – Practically ALL of the JUDGES are in breach – AND SHOULD BE SANCTIONED – except that this is at the discretion of the CHIEF JUDGE – who is most likely ALSO guilty…

So when the PM says that SHE will UN-tint her car, Bushie nearly dead wid laugh… Cause SHE ALSO said that;
    – a report from HOPE was coming OVER a year ago
    – reports from NIS were completed are ready to be published … AS REQUIRED by Law
    – the DLP’s cabinet was TOO LARGE for such a small country

Steupsss
    EVERYBODY who is anybody – MUST have read Animal Farm.
    So for the Barbados Government to now come to RE-ENACT this story in 2025 is more than comical.

Having overthrown the DLP losers, it seems that Squealer and Napoleon have morphed into one in Brassbados… with a lotta pretty emotional talk…
    But JUSTICE ONLY works where there is ONE law for BOTH the Medes, AND ALSO for the BB Persians…

27. @ Bush Tea who wrote,

“the PM says that SHE will UN-tint her car,”

Did she really say that ?

28. Protesting.

29. Minnesota lawmaker Melissa Hortman killed, State Sen. John Hoffman in grave condition in ‘targeted political violence’ – ABC News

https://abcnews.go.com/US/2-minnesota-lawmakers-shot-targeted-incident-officials/story

30. So much concern @Hants and can’t muster 50 citizens?

31. But it could be a clip from the movie version of the dystopian masterpiece referenced earlier

32. You don’t need a surveillance state state, collecting information on everyone, as a Government solution to their ‘complex social issues’, such as fighting crime.

hegelian dialectic ➡️ problem ➡️ reaction ➡️ solution ➡️ suckers

📱No mobile phone
    I don’t use a tracking device, mobile phone, I hadn’t used mine for about 6 months and they terminated my number. It blows the damn Government’s Agencies minds when you tell them you haven’t got a dog and bone (cockney rhyming slang for phone), as they don’t have a record of you in their shitstems, they cannot spy on you 247365, collect data, run their AI apps on you or call you.

666 is the mark of the beast

33. Tint policy is standard across the world.

In the BU-loved Singapore:

“Front windscreens and the two front side windows must allow at least 70% of visible light to pass through. Rear windscreens and the two rear side windows must allow at least 25% of visible light to pass through.”

Bushie all bluster as usual. #BUApathy

34. @ Enuff
    Stop with the deflections do!
    Steupsss…
    Who is against the NEED for clear and realistic guidelines for tint?
    NOBODY IS!!

In fact, such laws ALREADY EXISTS on the law books.
    However, like EVERYTHING ELSE that your legal and political CLOWNS do, it VAGUE, subjective, UNENFORCEABLE and misleading…
    HENCE IT HAS BEEN IGNORED.

This new KNEE-JERK version, clearly conceived in one of the Empress’s dreams, is likely just as arbitrary and ill-conceived.

Where was the PUBLIC consultation that EXPLAINS the intent, process, exceptions, costs, implementation program, and benefits?

Wunna ever heard of PROPER PLANNING AND PREPARATION?
    Bushie HAS to ‘bluster’ in the face of such INCOMPETENCE and mediocrity.

Wunna just lucky that the Bushman has no serious designs on this shiite world and the associated brass bowlery thereof….
    …else it would by REAL cat piss and pepper bout here hear…!!

It is just UNBELIEVABLE that BBs can be so BLIND…..
    What a place!!

35. For example Enuff…

Is this about TINT? …or visibility?
    What if Bushie installs curtains? … is that lawful?
    What if Bushie CHOOSES not to wash his car windows? and cannot be seen?
    What about paneled vehicles?
    Will motorcycle helmets be tnit-tested too?

Is every cop going to have a meter to measure tint percentage?

Will these be calibrated for consistency? what will be the reference standard?

Is EVERY vehicle that is suspected going to line up at MTW – along with the HOARDS awaiting licenses, registrations etc – to get their vehicle tint-checked?

What happens in the interim when the NORMAL 10-year long COURT process proceeds where someone challenges the results? The car is impounded? or continues in use?

How long would you estimate before the police realize that they are WASTING THEIR BB TIME …and done wid de shiite? (like last time.. and like with ZR uniforms..)

If police are not even able to attend traffic ACCIDENTS, where growing number of persons are UN licensed and UN insured, … where will they find time to go around peeping into cars for no damn good reason?
    Steupsss…

Wunna REALLY need to ask for HELP from those who have eyes to see… (past the damn curse).
    Steupsss…
    It would be FAR BETTER to leave the damn law as it is – and just REQUIRE the police to PROFILE dark tinted vehicles for routine stop-checks….
    …see how fast tints would come off…

What a place!!

36. @Bush Tea

“But JUSTICE ONLY works where there is ONE law for BOTH the Medes, AND ALSO for the BB Persians…”

#TheMedesAndPersians have already #OpenedTheGatesOfHell

#ItsBiggerThanALilIsland who for all intents & purposes has “COMPLETELY” lost it way!!!

The #EchoChamber of #BarbadosUnderground has also lost its way & is like a stick in the mud – #Unable2Move with any serious efficacy and/or efficiency regarding the miserable, nagging, niggling questions that plague Barbadian society – where frankly, there isn’t a “SINGLE HUMAN” on that precious island who has a “SINGLE ANSWER” to the multiplicity of “CURSES” facing the nation!!!

The #BarbariansAreAtTheGate, Bushie!!!

What is it gonna’ take for “BAJANS” 2 WAKE-2-HELL-UP, INSTEAD OF WUKKING-UP OVER MINDLESS TRIVIALITIES THEY ARE POWERLESS 2 CHANGE???

#TheNarrativeIsUnchanged in almost 50 years – what does anyone think will be the “ULTIMATE OUTCOME???

#ChangeTheBloodyRudderlessLeadership???

#ThenWhat???

From the frying pan to the cow dung???

C’mon GUYS* – root & branch change call 4 “REVOLUTION” – so “PRAY TELL”: #WhoHasTheBALLS*???

We lost our AFRIKANNESS!!!

So you tell me that there is “ONLY ONE IBRAHIM TRAORE ON THE PLANET”???

As I said before, #TheBarbarians are at the “DAMN GATES”!!!

#AskIsraHELL*

It’s only a matter of time before the Tradewinds “BLOW”!!!

#StayTuned

#ImDone

37. All and sundry know they do not agree but do they know how to arrest the issue of violent crime? We have procrastinated for decades on the matter of deviance in the society, now we are here. The blogmaster has been calling out like John the Baptist for more concerted efforts to tackle crime. We will have to live with the consequences of doing almost nothing now.

Concern over citizens’ right to privacy

By Josué Ramiréz Nelson

josuenelson@nationnews.com

Government’s move to introduce wire-tapping as a crime-fighting method has drawn concerns from some attorneys.

Proposed by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley during a press conference on Thursday as one of the broader set of crime-fighting measures, the wireless intercept legislation would permit the use of intercepted communications as evidence in court.

Speaking with the Sunday Sun yesterday, attorney Angella Mitchell-Gittens voiced opposition to the use of wire-tapping, believing it to be a far more complicated matter that could run the risk of invading the privacy of individuals who are not involved in criminal activity.

“I am not a big fan of invading people’s privacy and, yes, the wiretapping is something that you will do privately but where will it end? Whose phone will get tapped, mine or yours? I don’t know. What would form the basis for you tapping somebody’s phone?

Warrant

“I wouldn’t like to know that someone is listening now to our conversation and if you get a warrant to tap my phone I would never know because it’s not something you are going to advertise. Who is listening to my private conversation and what are they going to use it for?” she asked.

The attorney also believed that other methods of criminal investigation should be explored before embracing what could be considered to be a violation of a citizen’s privacy.

“I believe that there are investigating techniques that are not being used and utilised that will probably be more effective and give us better outcomes in terms of having definitive solutions.

“For example, DNA testing. This is not something that we just see on CSI – it’s a reality. We have the police saying, ‘I saw this person run and throw the gun . . .’ Just test it for DNA. That is not being done.

“I think that before we rush to tapping people’s phones and possibly violating people’s rights to privacy, get the lab up and working. Get the police proper training. There are so many other definitive ways we can use before we get to tapping people’s phones,” she said.

Attorney Shadia Simpson expressed concern over the potential misuse of the wiretaps and questioned if there would be any independent oversight to prevent abuse of information.

“I understand where we are with crime in this country right now and we appreciate that Government has to find different means and ways of tackling crime, but my concern about introducing interception equipment and measures is the potential for misuse in a small society like Barbados.

“People have a right to privacy. There is the concern that innocent individuals may sometimes be targeted for information. It could be misused in so many different ways; that’s my main concern. The other concern I have is whether we will have any independent oversight as it relates to the mechanisms that are going to be used,” she said.

Simpson also said that to avoid complications with the law courts, a framework would be needed to explain how information would be shared, who would have access to it and the perimeters of use for the intel.

She drew an example from current disputes that relate to instances where police confiscate communication devices such as cell phones and tablets for investigation purposes. This, she said, could also affect family members or people on the outskirts of the investigation.

While this forms part of the wider powers afforded to lawmen, she said there were several instances where people were deprived of their property for several years

Creating confusion

“They may have been acquitted of whatever the offence is, only to get back their cell phone at the end of three years. And that’s not fair to people because that’s their property.

“That in itself is creating so much confusion because people every single day call me about trying to get back a device from the police and these are things now that people will start to litigate. People will start to go to court to enforce their rights to their property,” she added.

Simpson underscored that without the adequate framework, these policies might only serve to overload the courts, which were already occupied with matters waiting to be adjudicated.

“When we try to introduce things like these, we have to have the necessary support. We have to put scopes and limits as to what the use can be in terms of what people can expect when these things happen and I don’t think that we always consider and contemplate those other things that need to be considered.”

(JRN)

38. History Teacher Avatar
    History Teacher

When tyranny becomes law, revolution becomes duty. When people fear the government we end up with tyrants, when government fears the people we get liberty. Thomas Jefferson

39. @ David

For years police had specialised technology to monitor mobile phone calls.

There are various methods available to law enforcement for intercepting or accessing mobile communications, such as social media intelligence (SOCMINT) or an IMSI catcher, a device deployed to track all mobile phones switched on and connected to a network in a specific area.

This is a highly regulated activity with strict legal requirements, basically requiring authorisation from the Court….. to wit, a warrant targeting the suspect and specific service provider.

However, such information received could not be used as evidence in Court. The proposed ‘wireless intercept legislation would NOW permit the use of intercepted communications as evidence in court.’

In South Africa, for example, under the Regulation of Interception of Communications and Provision of Communication-related Information Act (RICA) the South African Police Service (SAPS) was given the authority to intercept cellular communications for mass-surveillance purposes.

I’ll provide BU with another example. Due to security and privacy concerns, flight passenger lists at the airport are not accessible by the general public.
    However, such information is available to a certain branch within the police service and immigration investigators.

I understand the concerns being raised, but remain doubtful the technology will be used to monitor communications of every Barbadian ‘willy nilly.’

40. @Artax

Agree with you. We live in regulated societies that depend on citizens trusting authorities. It is an obvious choice for citizens because the alternative says you are defeated.

41. @artax, sadly the technology was misused for reasons best known to the political class. Every Tom, Dick and Harry know the drug dealers, see the civil servants in key position with questionable assets. There is honor among the criminal element when everyone is compromised. That is the issue my friend for PEPs are also watched and monitored by external agencies. Dark hands are at play my friend do not be fooled.

42. @David, sadly the force allows the Prime Minister Minister to meddle to much. Morale is low, men overworked and expertise is leaving. Sadly our boss a decent man was thrown into a position he is not suited. Darwin has too much influence in the running of the force. The RBO programme is missed and was our way of bridging the gap with a hostile public. I am fed up.

43. @ Retired

I agree with you that “every Tom, Dick and Harry know the drug dealers,” as well as those individuals who participate in the ‘underground economy.’

However, I’m NOT fooled, nor do I believe “EVERYONE is compromised.”

You mentioned, “civil servants in key position with questionable assets.”

Several years ago, a police officer was dismissed from the then RBPF for ‘socialising’ with known criminals.
    A special constable was charged for creating and issuing false certificates of character.
    An immigration officer was charged for offenses involving the issuance of work permits.
    Customs officers allow their relatives and friends to ‘bring in things’ without paying the appropriate duties and taxes…… or waive them for a ‘small fee.’

One of the stipulations to facilitate the renewal of B, H, HL, Z, ZM, and ZR permits, is a tax clearance certificate from the BRA, which requires the applicant to file an income tax return.
    How many taxi and hired car operators file income tax returns, when it’s much easier for them to pay a clerk in the BRA for a tax clearance?

Corruption is widespread within several government agencies including NIS and BRA, where you could get your benefits and tax refunds by knowing the ‘right people’ and for a ‘small fee.’
    People apply for passports, certificates of character or work permits in the morning and receive them by closing time.

I could go on, and on, and on.

44. Bushie

Is tint policy standard or not? Singapore, USA, Canada, UK, Jamaica, Trinidad, Bahamas and I can go on. Just keep bumping your gums. The police asked for tint for their safety and you protesting. Go and do some research again on countries where intercepted evidence is admissible and the process for being granted authority to “eavesdrop”. You’re just like Marching Marcia who is in the newspaper referencing Jamaica as a model for B’dos to follow while opposing tint and intercepted communications. Yet Jamaica got tint laws and allows intercepted communications can be admitted as evidence in court. Exactly what the PM says the government is looking to introduce. People getting shoot left, right and centre and all we get is the reductive. then again you said that fixing the roads in the Scotland District was a waste of money.

45. “Ontario window tint laws overview:
    Windshield: No tint recommended. 30% VLT strip on top 7.5 centimeters may be allowed.
    Front side windows: No tint recommended. 30% VLT may be permitted.
    Back side windows: Any tint darkness can be used.
    Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used.”

46. @ Enuff
    YOU do some research and tell us if, in the countries you listed, “all big works must be micromanaged by their respective PMs…”
    …or if qualified, independent professionals are tasked with, and accountable for, these responsibilities..
    Thanks in advance.

Don’t pretend to be dense… (assuming that you are pretending…)
    WRT the roads in Scotland District, what Bushie said was that wunna must be ASHAMED as shiite – to be spending so much money in FREE EDDYKASHUN – and then have to borrow and beg – to get CHINESE to fix our roads … after learning Bajan ‘gabion’ technology from locals.

Wunna know what wunna doing doh…?

47. BTW @ Enuff
    Bushie like that term you used ‘bumping your gums’…
    Dat sweet as shiite Boss…
    Bushie will be using that going forward – FOR SURE !!

If any royalties will be involved, speak now …or forever hold your pee

48. I WAS ACCUSED OF BEING AN ARMCHAIR REVOLUTIONARY WITH TOO MUCH TIME ON MY HANDS!!! I MAY HAVE REACHED SATELLITE STATUS BUT I AM FAR FROM DONE WHEN IT COMES TO MY PREDESTINED ORBITAL TRAJECTORY & THE CYCLICAL NATURE THAT SUCH FUTURE CHANGES SHALL BRING TO THIS PLANET – NOT LONG FROM NOW! THOSE ALIVE 2 WITNESS IT WILL BE AMONGST THE MOST GLORIOUS OF ALL HUMANITY

As G. Edward Griffin opined: The “CABAL” may be doing their darndest to bring about “TOTAL SYSTEM CONTROL”, but they will fail – “MISERABLY”!!!

Western predatory, feudal, capitalism technocracy is the “HILL” upon which the “AGENTS OF WATERLOO” shall perish ( ONCE & FOR ALL )!!!

In the mindz of many out here, there is this notion that we have 2 stake our own flag upon some other hill in defiance, but that is a “DECEPTION”!!!

Exodus 14:14 is “DAMNABLY CLEAR”: “The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still…”

I know its hard 4 some folks but the “WEAPONS OF OUR WARFARE” is not like theirs!!!

Let the “SUCKERS” ease-DROP*, “SLITHER” & “SLIDE” like “SERPENTS” – in the end, they will “LOSE THEIR HEADS” – “CRUSHED BY A FORCE FAR MIGHTIER THAN ANY OF US”!!!

These #PoLIEticians & “OTHERS” would do well 2 #StudyMachiavelli & #CarlJung to see that their efforts are “PATENTLY USELESS” & will end in abject futility & misery!!!

NO ONE WINS – BUT YESHUA MESSIAH: ALL ELSE FAILS

49. Tell muh bout these 300 stolen cars now. Who import them was it 1 importer or several?

I hope it ain’t no “favoured one” cause we would never hear and it will die a natural death.

50. It is already a dead story.