The blogmaster strongly advocates for the implementation of more pertinent and aggressive crime policing strategies by the authorities. Last week, there was a brazen attack on a senior citizen in broad daylight on Belmont Road. Yesterday (May 18, 2026), on a sunny Sunday, there was an armed incident at Shopsmart in Six Roads, St. Philip.

The adage that the definition of insanity is repeating the same actions while expecting different outcomes holds true in this context. For many years, the incidence of violent crime has been trending in the wrong direction. Moreover, the authorities have implemented ineffective and ineffectual crime-deterrent strategies.

Over the years, we have listened to crime reports from Commissioners of Police, which can be described as mediocre public relations exercises. More mediocre has been the public buy-in while at the same time expressing surprise at the trending incidents of serious crime in Barbados. 

Incident at Shopsmart

The blogmaster urges the relevant authorities to intensify their efforts. It is evident that the prevailing culture is inadequate to serve as a deterrent to crime. New factors must be introduced to alter the public’s perception about the seriousness of the Barbados Police Service (BPS) and the government’s commitment to crime deterrence. The criminal element in Barbados and those on the fringes of criminal activities must be held more accountable.

Ironically, we are nearing the climax of a by-election campaign in St. James North, yet the issue of crime will not be a pivotal factor. It seems illogical that there should be grave public concern about violent crime in the country and it will not be reflected in the vote on May 21, 2025.

Senior Citizen robbed on Belmont Road

The blogmaster is perplexed by the public outcry regarding an elderly man being abused by a young hooligan on Belmont Road last week, yet there is no similar uproar about the number of elderly citizens being abandoned at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) by family members. Is this a manifestation of the public’s apprehension about becoming involved in a system perceived as unjust? Perhaps Barbadians have transitioned from being personable to impersonal.

The fundamental ground rules are that:

– We will ALWAYS get the leadership that we DESERVE
– We can ONLY reap what we have sown

So your idea of ‘potential leaders within’ riding to our rescue ..needs to be reviewed – given the ground rules of the game. 

To cut a long story: There is nothing really ‘wrong’ with our leaders. The fact is that they ACCURATELY represent our overall society…. AND ALWAYS WILL.
True ‘leadership within’ therefore MUST be represented by those who take on the CRITICAL role of bringing TRUTH, HONESTY, TRANSPARENCY and WISDOM to the lotta brass bowls – with the hope of getting the WHOLE SOCIETY to wake up and put themselves in a position to DESERVE the kind of leadership of which you speak.

Note that FOUR fingers are pointing at BU….
Bushie’s favorite Prophet, Jonah, is a classic case in point – of how (EXTREMELY RELUCTANT) internal leaders were able to influence the kind of change required to save a whole society of Nineveh from doom…

Bush Tea (edited)

Where do we proceed from here?

102 responses to “Violent CRIME takes deep root”

1. It going to get worse as robot plumbers are coming for your job https://youtu.be/wNJJ9QUabkA?si=Fq-J5E8oEDm9543W

2. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David or Bush Tea or whoever “The blogmaster is perplexed by the public outcry regarding an elderly man being abused by a young hooligan on Belmont Road last week, yet there is no similar uproar about the number of elderly citizens being abandoned at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) by family members.”

Because to outcry is easy enough.

Looking after even beloved elders is hard, hard, labor, which can go on for a decade or more. And since I am a truth speaker in my case my elder care responsibilities lasted for 14 1/2 years. Three elders who all lived past the age of 85, two of them with significant years long disabilities. And this began when my older child was 9, the younger unborn, and while I held down a full time job for a demanding employer.

So people can talk about “abandoning elders” but as the mauby woman used to say “who taste it know it”

The long term care of elders is socially, economically and emotionally life altering. And this care-work in Barbados’ case is mostly done by daughters, and granddaughters. In my case I am not sure that I have recovered yet.

Now I will leave it to the bright boys of BU to make excellent elder care policy.

3. Police like Lion Man et al, are needed again. None of this softy approach on crime and letting criminals do as they like.

I wonder what the reaction will be when good citizens fight back and deal with some of these criminals.

Unfortunately, I bet the reaction to THAT will be swift.

Stupse.

4. Acting DPP gives reason for Kadooment shooting case dismissal

by MARIA BRADSHAW mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

ACTING DIRECTOR OF PUBLIC PROSECUTIONS (DPP) Alliston Seale, SC, has responded to the call for a public explanation on why the case against seven men accused of firing a gun on Spring Garden Highway on Kadooment Day in 2017 was dropped.

He made it clear that while he did not appear for the prosecution when the matter was discontinued, the case was “fraught with prosecutorial challenges”.

On Sunday night during a political meeting in Weston, St James, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley said while she could not interfere with the judiciary, Barbadians deserved to know why the men were allowed to walk free.

Eighteen people were injured in what was described as the “bloodiest Kadooment Day” when gunshots rang out on the Spring Garden Highway – since renamed the Mighty Grynner Highway – around 6 p.m.

Police quickly arrested and charged seven men with discharging a firearm on the highway which placed 18 people in danger of death or serious bodily harm.

Discontinuation

Earlier this month, Senior State Counsel Neville Watson submitted in court that the State was discontinuing the matter against the men.

“Something happened this week of which I am not happy at all,” Mottley told those at the Barbados Labour Party meeting. “I understand the difference between my position constitutionally and other constitutional posts in this country. But I feel strongly that while I have no power whatsoever to direct the Attorney General, the Director of Public Prosecutions, any judge, that I have a duty to comment when I see things that are wrong.

“Those people who had their cases dropped, six or seven of them, I don’t know the facts. Related to the same incident on Spring Garden, I don’t know the facts, but what I do know is that a country deserves an explanation, and to explain to the people why you would come now to drop the case against those six or seven young men as they were. I pray that the DPP will understand his duty to the people who he serves in that constitutional post,” the Prime Minister said.

When contacted yesterday, Seale told the DAILY NATION: “Notwithstanding the authority and autonomy vested in the office by virtue of Section 79 of the Constitution of Barbados and the long-standing convention that restrains the Office of the [DPP] from making public statements, I feel compelled to respond to a recent news item printed in the May 10 [ SATURDAY SUN] and repeated in the Editorial of the Thursday, May 15 [ DAILY NATION].

“On Tuesday, May 6, 2025, Indictment No. 136 of 2023, commonly referred to as the 2017 Kadooment Day shooting, came up for hearing Continued on Page 4.

Acting DPP: Rights of every citizen must be respected

in the No. 3 Supreme Court . . . and contrary to what appeared in the media, I never appeared or addressed the court. The State was represented by a principal state counsel who informed the court that a warrant of discontinuance was issued and the [DPP’s Office] would no longer be pursuing prosecution of the matter.”

Seale said the decision to prosecute a criminal matter was governed by the Code for Public Prosecutors of Barbados and was based on two important criteria.

“Firstly, the evidential test, which refers to the standard of proof or sufficiency of evidence necessary to satisfy the realistic possibility of a conviction. Secondly, the public interest test, which considers, amongst other things, the seriousness of the offence and to what degree would a matter of this nature be reasonably expected to cause consternation amongst the general public. Unfortunately, if the matter does not satisfy the evidential test, it should not be prosecuted irrespective of how serious a matter it may be.”

He added: “The instant case was fraught with prosecutorial challenges. After indictment, one of the accused died. In addition, some of the complainants attended court and indicated their unwillingness to testify. Thereafter, the evidence against the other accused was reviewed and found to be inadequate and could not satisfy the evidential test. Many members of the public who were present at the scene declined to give the necessary witness statements to the police concerning what they saw. Those that did give witness statements refused to attend identification parades which, in this case, is mandatory pursuant to Section 100 of the Evidence Act. Cap. 121 of the Laws of Barbados.”

Seale noted that if the requirements of this provision are not strictly adhered to and the case relies “wholly or substantially on identification evidence, as this one did, then the trial judge is compelled to invoke the provisions of Section 102 and direct the jury to acquit the accused”.

He pointed out that evidence “cannot be conjured up by the prosecution. It must come from the persons who witnessed the incident, when they testify during the trial”.

The Acting DPP continued: “Our experience has been that witnesses to crimes are generally reluctant to give witness statements to the police at the time of the crime, and even more reluctant to come to court and confront the alleged perpetrators at trial. Some come to court and recant their original version of the events whilst others indicate that they no longer wish to give evidence and in the absence of a procedure that permits witness anonymity, fear is exacerbated. The slogan ‘If you see something, say something’ is most apt in today’s society as it is the duty of every citizen to play his or her part to ensure that justice is done. In the absence of such willingness and in the resultant inevitable absence of evidence, cases will fail.”

He stressed that the constitutional rights of every citizen must be respected.

“The DPP’s Office considers this to be paramount notwithstanding that a person may be accused of and charged with a criminal offence. To put any citizen through a trial based on tenuous and inadequate evidence, which the prosecutor knows from the outset is destined to fail, would be a travesty of justice. Apart from the unnecessary anxiety and financial hardship that it may cause to the accused, it would also be a breach of the fundamental and ethical principle which requires a prosecutor to always act as a minister of justice.”

Seale noted that his office was cognisant of the present climate in the country in relation to crime and the interests of victims, their families and the general public, but “the need to hold perpetrators of crimes accountable must be balanced against the prosecutor’s evidential test and the duty not to subject any person to a trial on evidence where there is no reasonable prospect of a conviction. The prosecutor conducts the same exercise in every case without fear or favour, affection or ill will, regardless of the nature of the offence, the identity of the person accused or the victim or their stations in life”.

5. Barbadians are worried,

Barbadians are numb to crime.

Barbadians do not have confidence in the authoroties – their capability and will to implement DUTERTE like measures.

6. ”some of the complainants attended court and indicated their unwillingness to testify. Thereafter, the evidence against the other accused was reviewed and found to be inadequate and could not satisfy the evidential test. Many members of the public who were present at the scene declined to give the necessary witness statements to the police concerning what they saw. Those that did give witness statements refused to attend identification parades which, in this case, is mandatory pursuant to Section 100 of the Evidence Act. Cap. 121 of the Laws of Barbados.”

That says it all. When witnesses are scared, in a small community, of retribution.

Skippa, I gine tell yuh what we need. Y’all aint going like it. But we need it to deal with the criminals, onetime.

It seems that a certain previous minister was right about cracking some heads.

It seems that is now the onliest solution.

Either that, or continue to live cowering in terror from these despicables.

7. @Horsemeat

The statement quoted contradicts political rhetoric from Gregory Nicholls about citizens being fearful about the crime situation. What is he smoking?

#jokes

8. Duterte like measures, David?????? Are you kidding me?????? Next you will be saying Bukele-like measures! Hell no! No, no, NO!

These measures don’t make us safer.

9. Obviously Donna the reference to Duterte has to be contextualized. Focus on an urgent need in Barbados to implement measures especially targeting the drug trade designed to be disruptive.

10. There is an element of copy cat behaviour to crime as a phenomenon
    such as:
    mass shootings in schools
    throwing acid in faces attacks
    driving cars into crowds..
    ..have all become more regular

11. @Donna, @David,

Donna seems to be working on principles designed to govern in a situation of relatively normal criminal activity and societal standards are being maintained to a decent level. Usually such principles should be the default.

But David is right to propose that enhanced measures need to be implemented to urgently deal with the breakdown in law and order, before it is too late (at this point, Monsieur De Bushman will probably interject and point out that it is already, too late).

The problem does lie in the balance between protection of the legal framework in actions and yet ensuring that the measures are strong enough to deal with offenders properly and without needless hurdles.

People need to remember, that with freedoms, come responsibility. Abuse the freedoms and they may be lost.

12. @ David
    Boss, there is a REASON why the Bible (NOT BUSHIE!!) DIRECTS that women are not suited for organizational / National leadership roles…. nuff said!!

WRT the case…
    Can someone explain why it takes ten YEARS to bring such a case to trial in Brassbados. OBVIOUSLY they are just waiting for things to ‘die down’.
    No one can be THAT incompetent!!
    …and how did the Rowe ‘rape trial’ get expedited in such circumstances?

What a mess….
    Isaiah 3 speaks with UNCANNY accuracy about the consequences of GOD’s chosen people FORSAKING his way of LOVE and Community-centricity
    – in favor of our current ALBINO-CENTRIC ‘money and GREED’.
    We are living that reality as we speak…..

@ Cuhdear Bajan
    – Don’t you think that – with a COMMUNITY CENTRIC government in place, this country would have by now built a MODEL RETIREMENT COMMUNITY for elders and those needing special care?
    – Don’t you think that this COULD be almost like ‘heaven on earth’ for such special Bajans?
    – Don’t you think that the $60 MILLION missing from the HOPELESS shiite, and the countless MILLIONS that Sutherland says was ‘well spent’ on STEAL from China – COULD have been much better invested – by COMPETENT leaders, in this or a similar COMMUNITY – CENTRIC project?

Wunna like the lotta pretty shiite talk – and wunna vote based on false promises, so who is to blame when our national resources keep disappearing into greedy private hands instead of developing the damn place…?

Bushie…???!!!
    What a place!!

13. All uh wunnuh want heads cracked until wunnuh one get crack by mistake.

All uh wunnuh want people rounded up indiscriminately until wunnuh get rounded up by mistake.

All uh wunnuh want disregard of due process until due process is disregarded for you.

One would think that you supposedly educated lot would learn, not only from the recent history of Duterte-like measures in the Philippines, but also from the present goings on in the United States of America and El Salvador.

What happens when flawed law enforcers are given free rein?

You lot are looking for quick fixes when there are none.

Lazy, lazy, LAZY thinking!

14. Agreed Horsemeat.

Giving the current trend normal measures will not be successful. Then you had a level of incompetence, mismanagement and incestuous culture and we can predict the outcome.

15. Bringing Sanity to the discussion
    I am quite certain that most will agree that our BPS is not a company of Sherlock Holmes. Add to this, the unwillingness of witnesses and victims to speak out and crime will flourish.

The answer is not to give the police more power as this will only increase the number of broken heads. We are already aware that our Police Service can be respond with brutality when it is not needed.

The answer is not an overnight or one-time fix as some are suggesting.

Here is a part of the answer (but it will take time to restore confidence in the system)
    1. Speedier trials. The ruse of delaying trial must be abandoned
    2. Equal/uniform/ fair justice
    3. No more confession beaten from prisoners
    4. Policemen respecting lawyer/client confidentiality
    5. Policemen respecting citizens as they walk the streets
    6. Holding policemen responsible for misdeeds
    7. Jailing/punishing lawyers who steal from clients

As you have seen, I have touched on the courts, what happens in prisons, the action of our police officers and lawyers. This short note could be expanded on and refined by others, but I have set you on the right path.

Our tendency to look at items one at a time though we are faced with a multidimensional problem is hurting us.

16. Both Bushie and the Bible are full of bullshit.

17. Bring on Duterte and extrajudicial killings! Bring on Bukele and the destruction of due process! Bring on the hammer to ram nails in rotten wood! That’ll surely fix it! That is the manly approach.

There is a reason why men should not put the blame on women in leadership roles. And that reason is not to be found in an unprovable collection of books written by men, but rather in the obvious results when men are and have been in power.

How long has that been again? For as long as history has been recorded! Thanks for nothing, superior beings of the balls and stick kind!

Something is dreadfully illogical in the mind of a misogynist! It starts with believing the Bible lock, stock and barrel!

18. The OG,

Your response appears to put the blame on the police mostly.

You have got to be joking. Problem is that the criminals have no respect for anything.

They need dealing with and yes, we want some hard police for it.

Donna,

As I said, in a time of peace, laws rule. In a time of anarchy, which this is almost, action is needed.

Hardcore action.

Time to put the bible down and pick up the gun.

Like it or lump it.

19. Donna,

And most young men now are brought up by single mothers.

You are going to blame men for that too?

As n’usual, we gine read the mudda say, ”but he did a gud boy, he really wouldnta shoot at de police juss so”.

Stupse.

20. Donna,

Really, I have always found your comments balanced and fair.

However, in this situation, we are past such an approach, sorry to say.

If it is left to fester even more, it will be irrecoverable.

21. Respect.

22. @Horsemeat,
    You made my point. There I was trying to show that we have is a multidimensional problem with attention being paid to the police, our courts, lawyers and prison and you focused on my comments about the police. I did not assign any weight to make one group worse than the other.

I will agree with you that our ‘criminals have no respect for anything’ but using your one point attack I will tell you “our policemen cannot treat everyone as if he/she is a criminal’. The police must also show respect to citizens.

I suspect the BPS have already “put the down” and has ‘taken up the gun ‘ but ‘hardcore action’ may not be the solution. Don’t wait until you or a relative get their head busted to see the light.

Instead of calling for police brutality, let’s try to get the other kinks out of the system

Word of the day … multidimensional

23. @ Donna 6:07 p.m
    I am shocked. I thought you did some work at Codrington College.
    Am I mistaken?
    However, in this discussion, I think you are correct. Police brutality is not something that you can turn on and off as if it was a pipe. Let’s fight crime, but let’s be sensible.

24. The OG.

No, I have not made your point. I have rebutted it. We have already discussed all of the factors ad nauseum. For years. All of those factors now lie in the realm of shop talk.

Listen, it is now past all of the rest. You actually think criminals give a hoot about the rest?

All of the rest i.e. discipline in schools, improved trial times etc, will improve the future…to an extent.

But it will not deal with the current problem. Nor will it deal with the scale of the criminal element. Do you actually understand what you are dealing with? International crime gangs? You know wha dem is? Yuh feel dem easy so?

And no. It is not police brutality. It is policing to address the level of crime and who is involved.

The police get castigated for trying to do their job. Yet they shoot back at some uncouth and vicious individual and the first thing you hear is brutality.

Stupse.

They need more power, not less. They need more powers to act and deal with criminals.

You can talk about police respecting public when the public do not even respect each other? Really?

Get real, skippa.

25. OG, also, you say that you did not assign any more weight to one group.

Oh…you did. Four of your seven points directly stated police. One more referred to courts.

If you were actually balanced, you would have referred to education reform, family planning, religious input, poverty etc.

That would be ‘multi-dimensional.

But no, you referred heavily to the police.

26. @Horsemeat
    Well said.
    Any idiot is a ‘good captain’ when the sun is shining and the seas are calm.
    …or when they can run to the IMF and follow their ship (instructions)..
    BUT…
    When the winds and waves pick up, and the sun goes down, it is time for intestinal fortitude in the form of BALLS.
    Some of us are lacking in that department and need to retreat to the galley at such times… where they can have their epistemological debates and their back slapping sessions.
    When a war, or famine, or natural disaster with colossal casualties strike us – do we need bleeding hearts? …or do we need LOGICAL, WISE, RESOLUTE and DECISIVE leadership?
    By the time such mafia jokers realize where we are with crime, the OTHER set on mobsters will be ruling the roost.
    What a place!!

27. Ahem, Horsemeat,

Most mothers don’t choose to raise their children alone. Also, I believe that the absence of decent men in the homes also plays a role in the number of young MEN bringing about the “ANARCHY” you claim is present in Barbados. Being a balanced person, as you have noted, I assert that both men and women bear some responsibility in whatever transpires. But CLEARLY men, being large and in charge, dominant and domineering in most societies, making the decisions, treating women like the children Bush Tea compares us to, must bear the brunt of blame, as the buck must stop at the top! How can one blame the powerless for the situations controlled by the powerful?

Being, again as you have noted, a balanced person, my comment was made only in response to Bush Tea’s asinine assertion that women have no place in national leadership. It behooves a rational person to remind that men in national leadership have brought us to this point.

Strange that his comment escaped your notice. You don’t find it necessary to defend us on that, as I have only recently defended men. Who then is unbalanced here?

As a black woman, I get a double dose of degradation. One from the white fool who thinks my skin colour determines my brain capacity, and one from the black fool who thinks that the absence of testicles and penis determines my brain capacity.

It is my strong opinion that the balls and stick are more of a liability in decision-making than an asset. Many a man uses them to do what he should be doing with his brain. So much so that there is a saying about men using their little head instead of their big one.

For how many men have reached great heights only to be brought down by the inability to control his balls and stick? 😊

Regarding the “anarchy, I must say that you are an emotional lot to label what we are experiencing here as anarchy. And yet, your testosterone levels are still high enough to rush straight into hammertime!

But I, realising that it is juveniles who are increasingly committing these violent acts, as pointed out by the authorities, believe that perhaps it is parenting that they lacked.

Now…is it too late for that? Should we abandon our approach to minors? Shall we just crack the minors’ heads?

28. TheO,

Indeed! I went up to Codrington College to find out if the bullshit parts of the Bible were there recognised as bullshit.

And they were.

P.S. I taught Sunday school too. Teenagers. I taught them that it was okay to question that which made no sense. As teenagers, they had already started to question. They had already heard all the Bible stories hundreds of times. Sunday school for teenagers must be different.

29. @Horsemeat
    “OG, also, you say that you did not assign any more weight to one group.

Oh…you did. Four of your seven points directly stated police. One more referred to courts.”

Purely mathematical
    I should have let it pass but it dawned on me that though I may be unable to correct your politics, I may be unable to help you with some mathematics. What you have done is assigned your own weights and assign those weights equally. My weighting scheme is quite different.

I have continuously railed against our crooked lawyers and our injustice justice system. These deserves much more than a single point.
    If I have to assign weights to these two items, then these two items get three point and the prison system one point, we have a 7 points to 4 points 🤣.

Please stick to use of a thermometer. You do not have a TheOmometer.

30. ““A bone in the bottom of my eye socket is fractured or broken, along with [some] other few fine bones.”

https://nationnews.com/2025/05/21/victim-heartened-by-well-wishes/

31. Since you made it about the police …
    I do not like the idea of police busting heads and tossing people in jail.

Does it bother me? Yes! It amazes and even alarms me when I see folks asking for the emergence of a police state?

1. Do they consider themselves as untouchables?
    2. Doesn’t the video “Commissioner Boyce Reneges on a PROMISE to BARBADIANS” tells them of the possible harm and disrespect arising from a chance encounter with the police? Do they want to make things worse?
    3. Are they aware our politicians are writing laws threatening heavy fines and lengthy jail terms for a person who uses the computer for the purpose of causing annoyance, inconvenience, danger, obstruction, embarrassment, insult, injury, humiliation, intimidation, hatred, anxiety or causes substantial emotional distress to others? Who would want to add busted heads and broken bones to lengthy sentences and heavy fines?
    4. Do you remember the young man who died in police custody?
    5. Do you remember the guy who was in prison without a trial for over a decade and then was awarded a measly BDS $100,000 for what I consider as kidnapping and wrongful imprisonment?
    6. Do the names Duterte Duvalier, Marcos or even or own Eric Gairy mean anything to you? I have gone back in the past but we have a current crop of dictators.
    7. Do you think it wise to give Mia more power?
    8. Have you quickly forgotten the words of Owen Arthur?

My God! Man, what are you? Who are you? Are you one of those devils the Bushie dreams about? You are scaring the hell out of me.

32. Psst.. Did you notice I threw in Mia, dictators, CMA and injustice by wrongful imprisonment.

33. Culture eats strategy for breakfast everytime. No amount of leadership can change a company or a country if the culture stinks.
    Bajan culture stinks at all levels.
    Ask a Bajan, what is our culture and you will get a lot of mumble jumble rubbish about pride, free education and punching above our weight and whatever nonsense they been fed over the eyars
    Social culture has been corrputed by feminism and consumerism.
    Work culture has been corrupted by nepotism and incompetence
    Politicial culture has been corrupted by nepotism and elitism
    Put it all together what you get. Crime of all types, Debt, State sponsored Land “giveaways” and asset selloff.
    The culture stinks and no demigouge can fix culture that she is a creature of and is the poster child for so many of the issues.
    Things will change when we decide to fix the damn culture

34. Do not let this be a comprehension matter. The suggestion about the urgent need to devise disruptive strategies is the point. Obviously we have to then determine which policies would achieve the objective based on our peculiar landscape.

35. “Violent Crime Takes Roots” has been a recurring theme for 2-3 years on the Bu.

The biggest thing to note is the fight or flight response (also called hyperarousal or the acute stress response) a physiological reaction that occurs in response to a perceived harmful event, attack, or threat to survival.

This has mellowed out a tad over the last couple of years, similar to the reactions in Western nations with decades of history of violent crime.

There is little civilians can do, apart from social living consciousness, rather than ranting and raving about collapse of society and talking about the fantasy of violent responses.

36. @Redguard

“Culture eats strategy for breakfast everytime. No amount of leadership can change a company or a country if the culture stinks”

“Bajan culture stinks at all levels”

“Ask a Bajan, what is our culture and you will get a lot of mumble jumble rubbish about pride, free education and punching above our weight and whatever nonsense they been fed over the years…”

“Social culture has been corrupted by feminism and consumerism”

“Work culture has been corrupted by nepotism and incompetence”

“Political culture has been corrupted by nepotism and elitism”

“Put it all together what you get. Crime of all types, Debt, State sponsored Land “giveaways” and asset selloff”

“The culture stinks and no demagogue can fix culture that she is a creature of and is the poster child for so many of the issues”

“Things will change when we decide to fix the damn culture”

I HAVE NO WORDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

37. VIOLENT CRIME TAKES DEEP ROOT???

#PrezCyrilRamaphosa of S.A. got “AMBUSHED” in the “ALBINO-CENTRIC MADHOUSE” by the #OrangeMan over “SUPPOSED GENOCIDE OF PALESKIN FARMER”!!!

#SouthAfricca had 23,000 “MURDERS” in 2023 (10 amongst them were “PALESKINS”)!!!

THE QUESTION IS: “When will ‘Black so-called leaders’ (ESPECIALLY AFRIKAN) stop running to the “ALBINOS HOUSE”???

38. And out comes the other midogynist blaming the mess on women and feminism! Were things better when a man could come home and bus’ he wife tail without fear of the law? Were things better when the woman had to stay because she had no means of support?

For whom were things better? Certainly not for women, who had more to fear inside of the home than they did outside!

My two grandmothers were victims of such at the hands of their husbands. One grandmother’s sister was beaten to death by her husband. Her sister, my grandmother, was hit with a hammer on her ear, rendering her deaf in that ear, as she fought for her sister’s life. My three year old mother was a witness. The brute walked free!

My grandmother told the story of another cousin who shocked passers by as he sat comfortably on his wife’s head as he greeted them with a smile.

And no, they were not uneducated yokels. They were all relatively well off by the standards of the day.

Yes, those were the good old days before feminism ruined society!

39. following up on Terrance’s thread

The White House is claiming proof of persecution
    due to tribal war songs lyrics in a Sharpeville rally

Whites semantics about definition of genocide by Israel, shows us why reversing slavery apartheid and colonialisation and allowng basic civil rights to x-slaves in USA was dragged on for 100s of years even though everyone knew it was wrong from day one

the definition of racism should be upgraded to any contact with white people in all areas of people activity

40. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna May 21, 2025 at 7:37 pm “And out comes the other misogynist blaming the mess on women and feminism! Were things better when a man could come home and bus’ he wife tail without fear of the law?”

Occasionally a woman “got a few lashes in.” It is alleged that my father’s father was murdered by a woman, and nobody got a day for that. Once asked my father disowned even knowing him. As I was told by a cousin about 20 years my elder he apparently died early at the hands of a woman because he used to “unfair women” and one day a woman put a permanent end to that. All of this was before 1920.

So “no” women did not always take their lashes in silence. Sometime they hit back.

41. @Redguard ”Culture eats strategy for breakfast everytime. No amount of leadership can change a company or a country if the culture stinks.
    Bajan culture stinks at all levels.”

True dat!

42. The OG

”Since you made it about the police …”

No, YOU made it about the police by putting them four out of seven in a list.

It is right there above in plain text. Cannot deny it now.

Blame the police for evvyting.

Stupse.

People need to let the police do their job and not this softy-softy ‘cuh dear’ but he is a gud boy follishness that comes out everytime some JA gets dealt with by them doing their job.

Want to end up like Haiti where the gangs rule?

43. OG ‘Purely mathematical’

Oh, stop being obtuse. YOU placed seven points and four were clearly stated ‘police’.

Now, knowing that you are wrong, trying to sidestep by making up some weighting rubbish. Which you did not even mention in your original post.

Fact is, you are squarely putting the blame on the police, while claiming balance. Now trying to get out of what you wrote in plain text.

You are being deceitful.

As Redguard stated, it is widespread culture. Only urgent action will deal with miscreants.

Like it or lump it.

As for Gairy et al, we know all about them, but you know what, better that than Haiti.

Because that is where it is going.

Remember the idiot who stood by Chefette years ago and mouthed off ‘tell me whuh de police cud do”.

He get learnt then, and others need to get learnt now.

44. Thankfully, Horsemeat is not in a position to determine what we must like or lump. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

All he can do is speak to arguments never made by anyone in this forum about “good boys” and the right to hamstring the police in the LAWFUL execution of their duties. We ask only that the law enforcers do not become the lawbreakers. Reasonable force in the circumstances has never been condemned here. But YES, questions must always be asked as to whether the force was reasonable. All incidents using lethal or injurious force should be fairly examined for reasonableness. And by fairly I mean that the police should not be allowed to investigate themselves and inevitably find no wrongdoing.

I am the only person here to refer to anyone who had an interaction with the police as a good boy. And that was because the boy, my son, is actually, and irrefutably just that! I will again remind this forum of the threat to “beat him to a pulp” for defending himself against a group of stone throwers. Now that was a lawless law enforcer! And this is what you can expect from them! Another officer tactfully intervened.

I repeat, everybody want heads to be cracked until his head gets cracked by mistake. (Not me though, I have a habit of thinking ahead.)

Of course, the one who advocates for such is invariably one who thinks himself above it. “That could never happen to me! I doan put myself in Crack Head Road!”

My thinking has always been, “Wuh en catch yuh en pass yuh.”

45. Cuhdear,

I personally know two women who “en get a day” for killing their male partners while being beaten in the kitchen. (The fools forgot about the knives.) One woman I worked with and the other lived in my neighbourhood.

But my point was this – white people, when they speak fondly of the good old days speak only from their point of view. Old black men, when they speak of the good old days, speak only from their point of view.

Racism and sexism both dismiss the experience of the other. I’d be willing to bet that one violent crime that has decreased since feminism is femicide!

46. @Donna, ”Thankfully, Horsemeat is not in a position to determine what we must like or lump”

I am not. But the reality is that it is true. Either the bullet is bitten now, or the bullet will bite everyone, aka Haiti.

So, undoubtedly, like it or lump it.

Either you let the police do their job, or watch as the country descends further into criminal rule.

Your choice.

And if you think this is not serious, think again. Go check crime statistics. In 2024, five of the top ten countries by homicide rates per 100,000 were Caribbean nations. That is not counting the Bahamas.

You actually understand the issue?

Neither do I ‘think myself above it’.

I do know that I will not cross the law. And I do know that I do not want to walk around terrified of getting shot as a bystander in some gas station during a robbery.

Or when someone holds me up to steal a car.

I choose the police.

You can choose what wunna want.

47. Violent crime is not always physical.

It’s is surprising (or perhaps not), the media sources who are claiming that Trump’s claims about South African genocide against Afrikaners are correct.

They are the same media sources that put out these same tropes 10 years ago and are linked to Murdoch’s news empire, like Sky News Australia, The Times News etc.

Racist media for racist people.

48. Social culture has been corrputed by feminism and consumerism.
    Work culture has been corrupted by nepotism and incompetence
    Politicial culture has been corrupted by nepotism and elitism

You do understand that feminism is an ideology, it is not exclusive to women.
    You clearly understand how feminism has affected how our young people see each other. Why you think that boy of yours had to go get a nun.

Also if a marriageable thirty something employable female called me a misogynist, I would take her seriously and then ask for her number………….you now just female prattle, background noise.

49. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Redguard May 22, 2025 at 2:49 pm “Also if a marriageable thirty something employable female called me a misogynist, I would take her seriously and then ask for her number…you now just female prattle, background noise.

And she would very likely refuse you her number, because it is unlikely that a loving lifelong marriage is on your mind.

Oh and by the way, do men prattle too?