We often hear spokespersons on finance label open economies like Barbados as being vulnerable to exogenous shocks. All agree this economic interdependence translates to what happens in one country will impact others to varying degrees.

During the COVID 19 pandemic which caused interruptions to ‘global supplies’ was an extreme example. Generally delays in manufacturing and delivery of raw materials caused in country A, negatively affected the manufacturing of a commodity in country B. Of recent has been the pivot by the Trump administration to implement aggressive protectionists measures by utilising tariffs and renegotiating trade agreements. There is the OLD saying when the USA has a cold, small states will sneeze.

After several years of countries like Barbados buying into a brand of neoliberal economics, it should be crystal clear that open economies like Barbados, it is not a sustainable model and only serves to feed the political rhetoric of lazy politicians and acolytes. The time has come for a bold thinking by developing countries to stoke an alternative narrative that better serves the interest of small developing states. The willingness of successive governments – including Barbados – to subscribe to political mimicry has created a dependent, non-performance economic and political culture.

Fundamental to why citizens should offer themselves to the public in our system of government is to satisfy a civic and moral desire to want to make the ‘system’ better. There must be a good mix of idealism tempered with being pragmatic and opportunistic because we do not live in a perfect world, we are human beings after all. At the root of what is required to change is good leadership.

Recently while wading through voluminous information stored on the Internet the following quote caught the attention. It encapsulates the core concern of many .

Sharks don’t know that camels exist and they don’t know that they don’t know. Immersing yourself in a single ecosystem ensures that you don’t know what is going on outside it.  That’s whats wrong with most of society. It only knows what it knows.  It does not know what it does not know.  It’s unconsciously incompetent. To solve this you need to open up your world to new content , experiences and people.  Be on a journey to learn , unlearn and relearn.

Internet

The nugget of wisdom forced the blogmaster to question if there is an adequate level of thought leadership circulating in the country. Many have stated that we need less talk(ers) in high places. We need leaders at all levels of society who are not afraid to be transformational and open in outlook by implementing relevant homegrown policies that are designed to unleash the full force of our authentic selves. The blogmaster does not know of a simpler way to express the need for undiscovered leaders to step up.

It must be reiterated that potential leaders walk among us but many are reluctant to step forward. We are back to the chicken and egg position. A citizen interested in public service should in theory not be deterred by the faulty system. However we know this to be an idealistic position. The 64k question therefore – how do we create conditions that change the current space citizens have to operate to produce the best leaders? The current system has allowed ‘bottom feeders’ to flourish.

56 responses to “Transformational leadership in Barbados”

1. Culture of no risk without reward

If you were to witness a senior citizen being robbed in broad daylight, what would you do? I’m getting two main responses. On one hand, I’m hearing a lot of people saying: “I woulda run down the robber with my car.”

I’m also hearing: “I ain gine and get myself stab up foolish.”

So, there are those people who are adamant they would have intervened, using their vehicle as a weapon and a shield and those whose inaction would have been their shield. What strikes me is that both of these options prioritise personal wellbeing and shielding oneself from harm.

Personal well-being, or personal benefit seems to be the supreme value of this era. That is even if it leads to others being harmed. Artistes often get criticised for creating music that may benefit them personally but rob the society of cultural standards and values.

However, some of the critics will also unapologetically tell you that a business’ only responsibility is to its shareholders. They will tell you that to be an entrepreneur is the greatest thing a person can aspire to be. It’s not that entrepreneurship or being an entrepreneur is bad. But should that really be a society’s highest ideal?

An entrepreneur is a person who starts a business taking on most of the risk and reaping most of the rewards and benefits. Nothing in the standard definition of entrepreneurship necessarily speaks to prioritising anything but personal risk and personal reward.

The entrepreneur, the person who is willing to take risks, mainly for the sake of great personal benefit, has become the heroic figure in these times. Some even believe that being an entrepreneur is the best qualification to lead a country. If that is our highest ideal, is it surprising if today people seem less likely to risk themselves when there is not any financial reward after? How many people today will aspire to be the kind of hero who puts themselves at risk without thought of reward?

Some people correctly note that running the assailant over with your vehicle might be viewed as excessive and could even get you in legal problems. It might not be worth the risk. What strikes me here is the tendency to think only in extremes. It seems like we have lost all ability to be nuanced or measured. It’s either run the robber over with your vehicle or do nothing. No getting out and yelling or even staying in your car and beeping the horn.

Obviously, the perpetrator is not afraid of witnesses. But maybe if everyone in the vicinity were to come together to make their presence felt, it might cause him to abort the mission due to the attention. But in an age of all or nothing thinking, where personal benefit and reward is all that matters, why bother? Why take any risk to help someone else if there is little chance of reward?

The kind of entrepreneurial spirit that is so heavily promoted today sees the formula for a rewarding endeavour as, “minimum input for maximum output”. These inputs and outputs are measured primarily in dollars. You spend as little as possible to earn as much as possible.

When this ideology becomes entrenched to the point of a value system, it starts to be seen as common sense. Not only your standard business people, but your artistes, your teachers, your doctors, your lawyers, your politicians, your public servants and the man on the street may have this same mindset.

“I will do what benefits me. I will not take risks unless there is a reward for me. I will shield myself as much as possible. If it doan mek dollars it doan mek sense.”

The flip side of this mindset is that if it makes dollars, it makes sense. More people may be willing to take the risk of harming others, with their business, their art, their politics, their medicine, for the sake of reward. They may even be more willing to risk robbing senior citizens in broad daylight. Is that the mindset we are championing as a culture as the ideal?

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email Adriangreen14@gmail.com

2. BTMI:Exit survey by tourists reveals poor customer service

SERVICE SLIDE

By Sherrylyn Clarke

sherrylyntoppin@nationnews.com

Poor customer service by some Barbadians is among the areas flagged by visitors in an exit survey, says chief executive officer of the Barbados Tourism and Marketing Inc. (BTMI) Andrea Franklin.

“We are hearing concerns about just general service and I think locals are even seeing it as well. I think we’ve gone on record before that we have to address our service because Barbados is not a cheap destination and persons are paying good money to come to the destination,” Franklin said.

“And they expect if they pay that amount of money that the quality of the service and the product and the experience that they expect is what would be delivered. We are seeing some niggling issues as it relates to service standards and the comments that we see in the exit surveys.”

Franklin said exit surveys also had comments about garbage on the beaches and at the side of the road. She said these could be fixed, but they had to be monitored. The BTMI also shared this information with agencies responsible for these areas, including experiences at the air and sea ports.

“The service standards is something that continues to bother me and I know that throughout the industry, as I talk to our partners, that’s one of the things that is a source of concern. Now that we’ve gone into the slow season, this is a time that we use for training and retraining and helping people to understand not only customer service, but understanding the overall impact, importance of tourism.

“It’s not only for the workers directly within the tourism industry, but for us to really educate Barbadians of the importance of tourism to our economy and that everybody has a part to play because people will come and interact. They’re interacting at these gas stations, they’re interacting in the minimarts, and those are not people that we consider direct tourism employees, but they certainly leave an impression if they don’t deliver good service to our visitors; but as I said, it’s not only about our visitors, but it’s to our own people as well.”

In 2004, the Government introduced the National Initiative for Service Excellence (NISE) with an aim “to help Barbados consistently deliver service excellence in all fields of work”, but it has since been disbanded.

Reflecting on calendar year 2024, Franklin said there was a ten per cent growth on 2023, but it did not take into consideration the overall winter season which ended April 15, 2025. She declined to give “in-house” figures, directing the Sunday Sun to the Barbados Statistical Service (BSS).

The BSS figures were up in all of the major source markets except the United Kingdom, which fell from 243 857 to 239 045. The biggest area of growth was the United States (US), which jumped from 176 614 arrivals to 228 128.

Franklin said this was driven by increased airlift by carriers Delta, American Airlines and JetBlue from Boston, New York, Atlanta and Philadelphia. Marketing efforts are expanding from the traditional north-east corridor to the Mid-Atlantic region and also to the West Coast.

“We had in excess of 50 000 additional seats out of the US market. Hence, the US market in terms of their growth, had a really good season, and that was primarily led because of the increase in airlift, but also in terms of the increased marketing that we have been doing in preparation and in support of the additional airlift.”

Arrivals from CARICOM increased from 88 524 to 92 706, mainly in the summer time. Efforts in Europe are being ramped up with Condor from Germany and the return of KLM airlines to boost the 27 821 in 2024, down from 28 306 in 2023.

The Canadian market also grew from 77 140 to 87 142 in 2024, through “faithful” partner Air Canada, which introduced a wide body aircraft, and West Jet.

Franklin said the BTMI was continuing marketing efforts in Latin America, in the Gulf region of the Middle East and Africa. Increased efforts are also under way to target countries with reverse seasons – those which have winter while Barbados is in the hotter months, and in the Gulf Coast where summer temperatures are even hotter than here.

The BSS is still updating its 2025 figures, but according to the report from the Governor of the Central Bank for January to March, all of the major markets grew, with the exception of the United Kingdom. (See table) Franklin said they were looking forward to the opening of new hotels as well as revamped attractions like the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary, adding that they were keeping an eye on external factors such as the US and conditions which might dampen consumer spending.

3. People look at the political system and try to fit in with it.

They should look at the people to try and create a movement
    and when they have a sizeable following they can think about entering politics.

Individuals won’t change politics or the duopoly
    Movements will

4. “The 64k question therefore – how do we create conditions that change the current space citizens have to operate to produce the best leaders? The current system has allowed ‘bottom feeders’ to flourish.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss, this is actually a $1 question about horses and carts… and which comes first.

The fundamental ground rules are that –
    – We will ALWAYS get the leadership that we DESERVE
    – We can ONLY reap what we have sown

So your idea of ‘potential leaders within’ riding to our rescue ..needs to be reviewed – given the ground rules of the game.

To cut a long story…
    There is nothing really ‘wrong’ with our leaders. The fact is that they ACCURATELY represent our overall society…. AND ALWAYS WILL.

True ‘leadership within’ therefore MUST be represented by those who take on the CRITICAL role of bringing TRUTH, HONESTY, TRANSPARENCY and WISDOM to the lotta brass bowls – with the hope of getting the WHOLE SOCIETY to wake up and put themselves in a position to DESERVE the kind of leadership of which you speak.

Note that FOUR fingers are pointing at BU….

Bushie’s favorite Prophet, Jonah, is a classic case in point – of how (EXTREMELY RELUCTANT) internal leaders were able to influence the kind of change required to save a whole society of Nineveh from doom.

The “potential leaders who walk among us” are just there on standby – in the unlikely event that our society turns away from albino-centric brassbowlery, and towards the God that created everything.

BTW
    With respect to the old man who was beaten and robbed…

Did ANY of those interviewed say that THEY would have responded to the situation in EXACTLY the same way that THEY would have wished a passing stranger to respond – if THEY had been the victim?

Case rested!!

Every SINGLE day, Bushie understands better, why Jonah got on that boat and sailed outta town….

5. @Bush Tea

Have you noticed the obvious with these kinds of topics?

6. @David
    Unfortunately transformational leaders are crucified and instead mediocrity is celebrated. Leadership requires courage but no one wants to be martyred. Don’t forget they chose Barabas.

We are fully in a transactional cycle where tangible benefits and short term material gain trump ideas, ideals and long term sustainable progress.

Look at the $300 giveaway that I am certain will be spent by most within 48 hours.

Look at crime and the prevailing sub culture.

Look at the ages of the males being charged.

Look at the vulgar videos of the females who are mothers to these males.

Look at the new Bajan Code. Caw bleh ya RH.

Like it or lump it. We are in a new norm. Created and encouraged by those “called” to lead. Nature abhors a vacuum and unfortunately the vacuum in Barbados is being quickly filled….we can see clearly with what.

Bushie is right, we get what we deserve and we reap what we sow. The chickens have come home to roost and are laying lots of addle eggs.

I asked over a decade ago and will ask again. “Will the real leaders please stand up?”

Just observing

BTW David, Gladwell has a new one out. Have a look. Walk good.

7. @Observing

Another observation is the emergence and ‘acceptance’ of every ‘idiot’ with a social media account calling themselves‘influencers’ who are being either manipulated or lack the intelligence to swim against a mindset of cognitive dissonance.

8. Yup. That’s the world we are in

I have come to accept that we are simply in a phase of quick devolution and have made peace where it needs to be made.

We will see how the next cycle of this thing we call life works out.

Namaste.

9. Just a few things – the garbage situation. I have had to clean up Browne’s beach, Enterprise/ Miami Beach, Farley Hill National Park, King George V Park and many other places before I could sit and enjoy the view. If I were a tourist, I would not come to Barbados. Just last week I had to clean up the vacant lots next to and in front of my house again. We have lost the war against littering. That is, if it ever truly began. Maybe now that the tourists are speaking out, this tourism-oriented government will get serious about addressing the problem.

Next – I admit to being surprised that no-one went to assist the elderly man being robbed, since it seems as though there was no weapon in sight. But at the same time, I think the elderly man should have just handed over the money. He was probably banking on back up. Certainly, I would not have tried to tackle that young, strong man as a passer by either. However, I would definitely have made some noise. Using the car to run the mugger over would definitely have been questioned by the court. Adrian does make a point about our mindset though and possible connections.

Still, I do believe that there are people among us who would desire to do well by the people and have that capacity. I also believe that there is plenty to discourage such a person from offering him or herself. More often than not, it takes a huge ego to believe that you should be the one to lead a country, even a 2×3 rock like ours. A reluctant leader is often the better leader because the huge ego is absent.

Dub is right. A true leader would start by building a grassroots movement. It should be along the lines of the Black Panther Party, aimed at empowering the people in their daily lives. If that effort is successful, then you would have the credibility and the platform to transition into political office. If you are that good, the people will ask you to do so. “Ever suh welcome wait fuh de call.” In such circumstances, with a track record of empowering people, you will have the ability to weather the storm of bad talk that will come your way to damage your reputation, which for persons of integrity, is considered by them to be their most valuable asset.

Just some random musings.

10. “Have you noticed the obvious with these kinds of topics?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    No surprise Boss…
    No one wants to do self-analysis.
    The topic is really about US – collectively…
    and it is quite obvious that we are in a bad place … and getting worse daily.

Observing is right about our ‘DEVOLVING’, and that too should be no surprise.

The term ‘Leadership’ has now come to be defined as the one who is able to most accurately guess the collective mood – and who can then rush to the front of the sheep bleating loudly what the shiite sheep are thinking….

It is called ‘democracy’.

So people like Petra and the ‘political scientists’ go around taking sample polls of what the ‘dumb’ sheep wants, inevitably it is (green grass and water – with minimum effort expended, and nuff partying and sex) …
    ..so that our ‘political leaders’ can jump in front of the flock promising nuff green grass, free flowing water (except in some rural areas) and unlimited access to fetes and sex.

Unsurprisingly, we see regular 30-0s…..

But then we end us with dumb sheep, being led by other dumb sheep – whose ‘wisdom’ comes from polling the collective dumb sheep…
    Result – Lotta sheep shiite.

Do you understand where we are now…?

What do you think would happen if some smart-alec BB sheep gets up talking shiite about ‘hard work’, productivity, community spirit, and love for God…?
    You looking to see the BBs start back crucifixions or wuh?

True leadership STARTS with the wisdom that can ONLY come from the source that CREATED life as we know it….

We are therefore headed for some abattoir somewhere – and a good roasting.

11. ” when the USA has a cold, small states will sneeze.”
    Correction
    “Whe the USA sneezes, the whole world catches a cold”

This was probably true once, but no longer applies. In addition what Trump did with his blustering and bluffing exposed how weak the USA is China called the bully’s bluff.

12. Want to piggyback on Observing influencer comment and link it to cuhdear’s attack on men …

This is not an attack on women

As I peruse the Internet I see comments about providers, 50/50 and a host of other silly catch phrases being made by young women. The truth is the young black men are just as ridiculous.

If I had to date again I wouldn’t and I would never marry again.

13. Quantum Loop

One cup of tea at a time: Healing together ›
    A selection of prose and poetry that looks through the hurting, the fixing and the healing.

Could a Bush T religious cult movement save the land, one Tea at a time?

14. Why you don’t leave Bushie out of your tea time healing nuh?

Bushie has already been adopted into a ‘movement’.
    One that is aligned to the big boss – who created every shiite that exists..

Bushie’s main objective currently is to try to secure a little pick – probably running a big whacker or perhaps driving a ZR – when the time comes…

..besides, a wise man once advised that we should sometimes ‘let the dead bury their dead’ – and we ourselves concentrate on matters of life….

15. Go big ?

16. Give me some motion, show me a motion

What is the quantum loop theory?
    As a theory, LQG postulates that the structure of space and time is composed of finite loops woven into an extremely fine fabric or network. These networks of loops are called spin networks.

What is the loop universe theory?
    Our universe is on an infinite time-loop, with every ending it is re-born, and everything happens exactly the same; this offers theoretical weight to ancient, religious and Nietzschean ideas of the eternal return, with massive consequences for science, philosophy, and the way we live our lives.

Nietzsche questioned the basis of good and evil. He believed that heaven was an unreal place or “the world of ideas”. His ideas of atheism were demonstrated in works such as “God is dead”. He argued that the development of science and emergence of a secular world were leading to the death of Christianity.

Motion Dub..
    Fun And Games

17. Always a heavy focus on economics by the talking heads while the social fabric is going to crap. Shouldn’t both be discussed together? What is the point of boasting of economic success when non economic factors continue to decline and will ultimately (negatively) impact the economy?

Barbados’ remarkable economic recovery

by KIMAR HINDS FROM 23 CREDIT DOWNGRADES, 177 per cent debt to Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and four weeks import coverage to placing the economy back on track.

Prior to the General Election of May 2018, Barbados was gripped by economic anxiety. Downgrade after downgrade by international credit agencies such as Standard & Poor’s and Moody’s decimated investor confidence and signalled the growing likelihood of a debt default. The ever-looming threat of devaluation of the Barbadian dollar dominated national discourse, as the island’s financial credibility eroded in both public and private sectors.

In a bold and unprecedented move, the Barbadian electorate placed full confidence in the Mia Amor Mottley-led administration to reverse the nation’s economic freefall. On May 24, 2018, voters delivered a historic mandate, awarding all 30 parliamentary seats to the Barbados Labour Party. This sweeping victory was a resounding statement of dissatisfaction with the island’s economic performance.

Over the preceding decade, Barbados received more than 20 credit downgrades, severely impairing its access to international financing. With debt levels soaring above 150 per cent of GDP, the country ranked among the most indebted globally. At the same time, foreign reserves had plummeted to nearly $400 million, barely enough to cover a month’s worth of imports.

Faced with the nation’s startling reality, newly elected Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley, Barbados’ first female leader was left with no choice but to turn to the International Monetary Fund (IMF). The IMF is often viewed with great skepticism by Caribbean nations due to its reputation for imposing harsh austerity measures and conditionalities, which have historically and conversely yielded devastating economic results for other CARICOM nations including Jamaica and Guyana.

In her first national address, Prime Minister Mottley made it clear that the government’s immediate priority was economic stabilisation. This necessitated swift entry into an IMF-supported programme. One week later after assuming office, the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) plan was launched with a four-year extended facility fund (EFF) arrangement of US$289.41 million.

The BERT programme outlined a comprehensive approach, focused on fiscal consolidation to achieve a higher primary surplus; debt restructuring to reduce high interest payments; and structural reforms to improve public financial management. In just two years, the debt to GDP ratio fell from a staggering 177 per cent to 109.9 per cent, while foreign reserves surged to $1.5 billion. This was not only clear evidence to Barbadians of the plan’s early success, but an early illustration that government can deliver on its commitments.

While Barbados was and remains not entirely out of the woods, what makes this “Septennium of Economic Transformation” so remarkable is how the country has not only stabilised but repositioned itself as a global leader among small island states.

This recovery came despite an array of compounding external shocks: the COVID-19 pandemic, the La Soufrière volcanic eruption, Hurricane Elsa, Hurricane Beryl, a freak storm, and persistent climate and geopolitical disruptions. Yet, the Barbadian economy has regained investor confidence with increased airlift, record tourism arrivals and several major hotel projects including Hyatt slated to commence. Once again Barbados has positioned itself as a destination for major investment and economic activity Barbadians can now breathe a sigh of relief, having begun to witness one of the most highly anticipated and significant paradigm shifts in small state economic governance. On May 7, 2025, the Central Bank of Barbados announced that the IMF had completed its fifth review of the BERT programme.

According to the Central Bank report, it affirmed that “Barbados had met all quantitative performance targets except one, transfers and grants to state-owned enterprises which was impacted by emergency COVID-19 response measures”.

Successfully completing an IMF programme is no small feat. Although Barbados has successfully completed IMF programmes in the past, the Caribbean has seen multiple countries enter such programmes only to emerge with devalued currencies, defaulted loans, and stunted economies. Barbados’ performance under extraordinary circumstances and being able to successfully negotiate IMF surcharges stands as a regional anomaly and triumph.

Evidence of strong economic recovery, guided by the BERT programme is reflected in Barbados’ most recent credit rating. Moody’s Ratings upgraded Barbados’ credit rating from B3 to B2, an encouraging sign of fiscal discipline and improved debt sustainability. The continued achievement of a primary surplus and a narrowing fiscal deficit has placed the country on a more secure economic path. Importantly, this strengthens Barbados’ capacity to weather future external shocks given the global uncertainty, including global trade disruptions and geopolitical instability.

This momentum presents a timely opportunity for government to expand its support for micro and small enterprises. Initiatives such as the Barbados Trust Loan Fund and Export Barbados play a pivotal role in catalysing private sector development and building a more dynamic market economy. On the other hand, entrepreneurs must demonstrate greater appetite for collaboration, export engagement, and scaling operations. By leveraging public financing mechanisms and agency support, businesses can access more competitive markets while managing costs and increasing long-term viability. Barbados’ journey from economic brinkmanship to recovery is a testament to strategic leadership, disciplined policy execution, and national resilience. Despite multiple global and environmental shocks, the country has restored macroeconomic stability and redefined what is possible for small island states in the current economic climate.

The success of the BERT programme not only reinstates confidence in the Barbadian economy but establishes a model for fiscal recovery in similarly vulnerable nations. While criticism and challenges remain inevitable, the government, its consultants and citizens must be commended for remaining steadfast in steering the economy back on track. Thankfully, Barbados is now poised for a future of sustainable growth, innovation, and inclusive development.

Kimar Hinds is an international business professional. This article was submitted as a Letter to the Editor.

18. Boasting of economic success???
    You REALLY mean boasting of the money we have accumulated by begging, borrowing and taking away from citizens WHO ACTUALLY SAVED, via taxes and write off of NIS insurance investments.
    This sounds like just another political talking head – probably looking for a party pick by bringing ‘good news’ before the bye election.

‘Economic success’ looks like the following:
    – Enuff productivity to fund your present lifestyle and to save for a rainy day
    – The ability to maintain your assets (hospitals. schools, roads, utilities, ports, national infrastructure) in good, working condition.
    – Good control of crime, clean environment, working sewerage systems etc
    – A working judicial system that is not a regional laughing stock
    – Regular and transparent financial reporting and accountability -like the LAW requires
    – An education system that prepares both children AND ADULTS for continued success
    – etc

How can someone claim ‘economic success’ when NONE OF THE ABOVE is true, but instead you have managed to travel the world imposing on the good (and not so good) graces of those who have money to lend…?
    ….AND EVEN THEN, we are UNABLE to do anything substantial – except pay salaries, pay debt interest, waste millions on nonsense projects, and brag about the remainder in the bank…?
    Clearly Kimar is a Cave Hill graduate – likely in management or economics (whatever the Hell THAT is…)

SMH!!!
    To their credit, this BLP lot has only been following up on the abject idiocy set by previous governments ever since Tom Adams.
    How they manage to find jokers willing to praise such mismanagement has to be admired…

What a place…

19. Happy B’day Malcolm X (X100)

One bad movement spreading in USA UK and Europe is ism schism of populism which goes back to pure white racism

What drives them, probably a fear of brown and black people taking their jobs, race mixing and paranoia about their children competing on a level playing field

20. @Bush Tea

Contextually the writer is referring to prior to 2018. She is using the word economic success must be swallowed in that context.

21. David
    “She”…???

The writer is conflating ‘economic success’ with available cash flow, and in the process missing the CRITICAL fact that our problems BEFORE and AFTER 2018, have been IDENTICAL – PISS POOR MANAGEMENT.

….just that the perps were changed from D to B – to confuse the clueless.

Look Boss…
    Let us suppose that Bushie was broke as shiite, and still owed Courts for the whacker dat get tek way…. Bailiff parked out in front the Bushman’s shack, and calling every day about payments…

Are you telling Bushie – that simply by going to a Credit Union, crying crocodile tears, and winking at the loans officer – the Bushman can become an instant economic success via a $20,000 loan?

Cause after the bushman pays off the outstanding $210.95, that leaves $15,000 to put on the foreign-owned bank account ….so that Bushie can show off to the naive and clueless how ‘economically successful’ he suddenly became. (some $$$ went to ‘contingencies and consultancies’). LOL

When Credit union A realizes that Bushie is just using the bank account to make monthly loan payments and to buy food and bling – Bushie will just get a new loan from credit union B … to pay off credit union A, and to buy some time till elections done…

That is ‘Economic success’ – brass bowl stylee..

What a place nuh!!

22. @Bush Tea

Prior to 2018 you were printing money like crazy and foreign reserves was down to a few weeks. Post 2018 you have months in foreign reserves and the printing press has significantly slowed.

23. Friends of all.

24. @ David

The printing press has slowed because we been borrowing nuff. The great economist Sinkyuh could not borrow from anyone after 22 down grades, so he had to print so as to get to elections without rocking the boat. Not that it mattered when the votes were counted!

Truth is whether you print or borrow you are not addressing the issue. You spending more than you earning and neither B nor D want to bell the cat. You talking about the reserves, but what are your net reserves after repayment of debt owed on them? What value in reserves have you EARNED NET OF COST OF GENERATION IN 2024? We don’t want to discuss these issues because we are focusing on the fluff as opposed to our reality. Truth is it makes better politics so to do.

25. What must be done to avoid the IMF

by ANTHONY P. WOOD IT WAS RECENTLY announced by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley that Barbados will be exiting the relationship with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) at the expiration of the second Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) programme in June, though the IMF will be kept on speed dial.

It is unquestionable that the two BERT programmes spanning seven years have brought economic benefits to the country, notwithstanding the austerity measures in the programmes.

The main benefits include rebuilding the international reserves, growth in the economy, access to loans at reasonable base rates from multilateral financial agencies, marginally improved public debt situation, slight improvement in the country’s credit rating, and a strengthened framework for monitoring and reporting on the management of public finances.

Entering an economic adjustment programme with the IMF was derided by the public prior to the current administration taking the country to the IMF shortly after the resounding victory in the election on May 24, 2018.

Indeed, a confident former Prime Minister Owen Arthur removed the IMF adviser from the country shortly after his Barbados Labour Party took office in 1994. Arthur reposed tremendous confidence in the local expertise to chart a successful course for the economy. Also, the Freundel Stuart Democratic Labour Party resisted calls to enter a relationship with the IMF during the very challenging economic period between 2013 and 2018.

From a political perspective, it is understandable that the Mottley administration will be ending the relationship with the IMF after two consecutive programmes. Entering a third consecutive IMF programme will send the wrong signal to the electorate and may have some political cost despite the unsettled state of the opposition.

Speed dial

However, keeping the IMF on speed dial may be interpreted as the Prime Minister’s lack of confidence in the health of the economy and its ability to withstand imminent external shocks.

A careful examination of the implications of the country exiting the relationship with the IMF is warranted given the state of the economy and society and the uncertainties in the international economy occasioned by economic and geo-political developments.

Exiting the formal relationship with the IMF next month and returning to the private capital market may be problematic for the economy for a few reasons. First, despite the upward movement in the country’s credit rating, the status remains within the speculative (junk bond) range. This means that lending to Barbados is still considered very risky.

This unfortunate situation after two consecutive economic programmes with the IMF results mainly from the excessive borrowing policy of the Government to support persistently high expenditure, and the unstructured growth process with over-reliance on the tourism sector which renders the economy susceptible to unfavourable international developments that may disrupt international travel.

Government expenditure increased from $3.18 billion in the financial year 2019-2020 to a projected $5.13 billion for the financial year 2025-2026, an increase of just under a staggering $2 billion over the life of the BERT programmes. The escalating annual Government expenditure was not matched by taxation revenue, resulting in large fiscal deficits which were in excess of $1 billion annually for the past few years. Thus, the Government was forced to rely heavily on borrowing to finance its operations.

Borrowing increased

Between June 2018 and February 2025, gross borrowing was $7.3 billion (and net borrowing $3.3 billion). Borrowing increased from $427.96 million in the financial year 2018/2019 to $1.64 billion in 20242025. It is informative to note that the increase in borrowing continued during the post-pandemic period when gross domestic product (GDP) and taxation revenue reached record levels.

The astronomical increase in borrowing during the BERT programmes was matched by similar increases in debt service obligations. Debt repayments between financial years 2018-2019 and 2024-2025 increased from $484 million to a record $2.2 billion. For the financial years 2025-2026 through to 20292030, debt service is projected conservatively to be $8.45 billion, an annual average of $1.69 billion.

The appetite for borrowing ensures that the country is still highly indebted with a debt-to-GDP ratio of 103 per cent, which is the highest in the Caribbean.

Since the debt default of just over $4 billion of the country’s $15.84 billion of public debt in 2018, the current administration has relied exclusively on increases in GDP to achieve a reduction in the debtto-GDP ratio. This is a risky debt management strategy, since a contraction in the economy may cause debt sustainability issues manifested through high absolute debt levels and increasing debt-to-GDP ratios.

The cost of borrowing will be another problem as the country returns to the capital market to source funds. The level of financial (in)discipline displayed by the administration during the BERT programmes and the state of the macroeconomy will be important considerations in the pricing of loans to Barbados.

It is expected that the cost of borrowing will be higher than within the BERT programmes when the Government leveraged its relationship with the IMF to source funds from other multilateral financial institutions. Creditors in the capital market will secure themselves by charging higher interest rates to reflect the riskiness of lending to Barbados given the credit rating status and the debt situation.

Wishful thinking

The view that the Prime Minister can leverage her international credibility for the benefit of the country in the private capital market is self-congratulatory and wishful thinking. The determination of market outcomes relating to the structure of loan agreements with countries depends crucially on the state of the country’s economy as determined by key macroeconomic variables.

The Mottley administration has the unenviable record of the longest relationship with the IMF in the country’s history. Barbados’ experience under the two BERT programmes has been atypical for a small developing country. The persistently high expenditure and excessive borrowing during the BERT programmes are not expected with IMF programmes, which typically have a stabilisation focus.

The speculative credit rating status, high debt, and imperative for economic diversification will militate against the attainment of favourable outcomes from a cost perspective in the private capital market.

With fiscal deficits in excess of $1 billion in recent years despite increasing levels of taxation revenue, and high debt repayment levels, the country will be stuck with extremely high borrowing unless the administration changes its expenditure policy and achieves meaningful diversification in the economy.

Getting off the dangerous debt trajectory is urgent, especially since the challenge in managing the debt will be magnified with the anticipated increase in interest cost of funds sourced from the private capital market.

If desirable changes are not made in the management of the economy, we can anticipate a return to the IMF in the not too distant future.

Anthony P. Wood is an economist, and former lecturer in economics, banking and finance at the Cave Hill Campus of the University of the West Indies. He was also a Cabinet Minister in a previous Barbados Labour Party administration.

26. @John A

As we have discussed many times in this space, we lack the will to do what is required. In other words our leaders are not leaders, they are followers.

27. Mr. Wood has said the same shiite that Bushie said in 200 words yesterday.

Our problem is the VERY SIMPLE one of MISMANAGEMENT by incompetent, non-transparent, partisan, and inept jokers – EVER since Tom Adams.

It will NOT be solved by Bees, Dees, or FODs, …but by HONEST, TRANSPARENT, WISE leadership and management.

And since we DO NOT seem to possess such resources, …or perhaps since Bajan BBs are predisposed to vote for ‘Barabbas’ instead of such outliers, we should accept that;
    – We will continue to see foreigners overrun our birthrights – even our beaches
    – We will have to learn to live with crime and violence daily
    – Our Courts will continue to be the judicial joke of the Caribbean
    – Most will be unable to buy basic necessities as we get poorer and poorer..
    – Our water will be brown, the sea will be sewerage, our roads will be pot holes, and our hospital will be tragedy.
    – Our housing will continue to be HOPELESS…
    …in short – our ass will be grass.

…and WHY? (as some of us are wont to repeat…)

Because wisdom comes from only one source, and “unless the Lord build the house, they labor in vain who build. Unless the Lord guard the city, in vain does the guard keep watch.”

What a place!!
    What a waste of a BLESSED resourceful little island…
    What a time

28. But,but,but bushie
    Woods said in paragraphs 2 and 3 the we had economic benefits since 2018 – something by Kimar but different angles / ways. Yet u tried to politically degrade kimar but praising urself for saying what woods said in fewer words

Selective reading ?
    Or is is ur opinion the woods is now looking for a blp handout etc etc

29. @ David

We spend more than we earn and cover the shortfall by borrowing.

The above is a simple sentence that undeniably describes our economic plan for the last few years and up to yesterday. Forget the politics now and answer one simple question.

Would you be willing to adopt the same plan at a personal level in your home? Would you continue to live larger than your salary could support and bank on the 3 credit cards you have that are all maxed out, to support your monthly shortfall? At what point would you say ok got to stop eating at Chefette every day and take a sandwich to work? My point is if it cant work for you personally how can the same approach work for a country?

30. @ John2
    So what the Hell is an ‘economic benefit’?
    …not just some borrowed credit union money deposited in a foreign-owned bank?

What s to disagree with?

Thank you John A….
    SMH….

31. @ John2 – who asked Bushie…
    “…Or is it ur opinion the woods is now looking for a blp handout etc etc”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    That is not Bushie’s instinct or opinion.
    After himself being part of the political mismanagement of Barbados in recent decades, one gets the impression that Wood has seen a ‘light’ in his senior years and is trying to sound an alarm.
    No doubt he is also a bit pissed by the dictatorial and dismissive attitudes that prevail in the BLP too…

Mr Wood is like an economic version of our epistemological blogger – Terence.
    He has seen that we are living UNSUSTAINABLY on credit cards, and well above our means, but rather than just say so in plain English – like John A, …or in plain brass bowl Bajan – like Bushie, he seeks to present a well researched, academic paper, compete with literary reviews, data analyses and statistical references… that BBs have to read along with a dictionary…

BTW …
    The ‘light’ that Mr Wood is seeing is really a train coming down our tunnel…not the way out…

Murduh!!!

32. @ Bushie

Anytime sir. The truth is a hard pill for some to swallow. Some may say the tablet is too big, others the water too cold so I can’t get the pill swallow, others may not like the colour of the pill. Point here is take the RH pill or failing that a big tail injection in you rear. If you can’t manage that call the funeral home.

Which stage you think we at?

33. “At what point would you say ok got to stop eating at Chefette every day and take a sandwich to work?”

some sharks suffocate without forward motion or a strong current flowing through their mouths

income (and borrowing) is about keeping the money momentum going
    you can eat the sandwich when you are out of work

The worst case scenario for the nation (bankruptcy) was not witnessed

34. So we continue spending more than we earn and borrowing to cover the shortfall indefinitely then? Sounds perfect let’s do it! How many billion in a trillion again just so when we hit that debt level I will know. Lol

And here in lies our problem.

35. You keep making the same point with the same flawed reasoning
    National Debt and Household Debt are not the same

On the plus(+) side
    Barbados has learned to live without much money as a valuable life lesson

36. But but but bushie.,,,,, I ain’t say any thing about disagree ( I said degrade). Why u tried to degrade kimar and not wood when in paragraph two and three Woods and Kimar is in agreement?

I other word u can say in the first part woods I saying the same thing as Kimar ( even though he seen the light) and in the second part he is agreeing with Bushie

37. Tek two points there @ John2.

But Bushie has been known to say the same thing as Satan himself – on occasion.
    LOL…
    Even worse, the bushman has even said the same thing as Petra at least once…

But that does not belie FUNDAMENTAL disagreement, and sometimes contempt, for the flawed principles being spouted by them.

38. My grandfather rode a donkey
    My father rode a donkey
    I drive a Mercedes
    My son drives a Land Rover
    and my grandson drives a Land Rover
    but my great-grandson will ride a donkey

Why is that?
    Tough times create strong people
    Strong people create good times
    Good times create weak people
    Weak people create hard times

Many will not understand
    but we must educate warriors
    not parasites

39. The point is, all of the talk of debt is valid, but cannot be addressed without addressing first the discipline and lawlessness in society.

Because to progress in agriculture, for people to plant, for people to progress, it is necessary for their fruits, whether yams, chickens, eggs, carrots, furniture, clothes, to not be stolen by some parasites.

For people to progress, they need to feel safe in their yard, their kitchen garden, their shop, in the early hours and late at night.

Lawfulness is a cornerstone of progress.

This is why the other thread links with this one.

Address that as a mater of urgency. Without this, there can be no progress. Understand that.

Then people can plant yams, eat breadfruit for lunch, without fear of theft.

Rather than spend money at the fast-bad food places.

Barbados has to get frugal. To do that, local production and usage has to ramp up.

Need to plant two thousand breadfruit trees, one thousand mango trees, one thousand golden apple trees, one thousand guava trees, one thousand tamarind trees and hundreds of acres of yams and sweet potatoes.

That last bit is not a joke.

Trees take time, but one has to start somewhere.

40. @Horsemeat

There was talk when Covid hit to plant short term crops. What has been the progress?

41. David,

The problem is that we easily forget. The other problem is that existential risks exists.

The first, a geopolitical storm, which could easily result in a serious supply shortage, should it escalate. As it is, the ‘conflict’ has put inflationary pressures on imports, which impact debt and cost of living.

The second, the potential for a weather catastrophe.

Obviously the Caribbean is prone, but the Eastern seaboard of the USA is very prone to such. With the Republican’s government’s stance of reducing support to FEMA, a serious weather event to Florida or New York will severely impact both supply of imports and prices.

So change in local production and consumption is not just a choice, but an existential decision.

Such policy should be a road and not just guidance offered lightly.

When one considers that the world can change on a whim and three days of bad weather, it is sobering.

And make no mistake, both Florida, especially the South East, and New York are very prone to storm surge and floods.

This year has started hot, so one may consider that this hurricane season will be fierce.

The keys and lower Florida could easily be wiped out by a CAT5.

How will Barbados get imports then?

We talk environment and climate change, but supply policies are not reflecting a full understanding of the implications.

42. GO BIG OR GO HOME

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

Go to 1.32 of the St.J N BLP rally, and listen to the maffematics provided.

44. LOL @ NO
    Cuhdear, he was never known to be independently bright.
    He is clearly reading provided data – that is written with the expectation that typical BBs are listening … (ie yuh cud tell dem any shiite and dey will clap LOL)

As man…
    When you hear such of our ‘leaders’ pontificate …
    can you cuss Bushie for predicting disaster?

No wonder the Empress does all the talking….
    What a place!

45. @ David

As I have said here many times. We learnt nothing from Covid. Five years later we are standing on the same 1 legged economy as we were then, if anything more dependent now on tourism than ever before. Every project you hear our divine leaders speak of is basically toursim base. We have done nothing of any worth to diversify this economy and if that virus didn’t force us to do so nothing will!

The crime situation is another example of playing the ” let we see what happen next” card. I mean we even met with the gang leaders and tried to broker a deal, while at the same time praying for them to stop. Didnt hear much about enforcement being part of the plan then though! As for enforcing the law we are a dismal failure anyway. From ZRS to motor cycles, to illegal racing and food delivery Swifts, we have thrown our hands in the air and said ” what to do.”

When you have a government that has failed to diversify an economy given the covid experience, while at the same time proving they are incapable of enforcing the laws on our roads and by extension in the island, what do you expect from the waywards in our society? And before a fowl fly up to defend this party, let me say both D and B have proven to be dismal failures. My point is these waywards see it as a free for all now and have no fear of the law. They will continue to get worst if we don’t move on it now. We have graduated to robbing armored vehicles already what will be next?

46. @John A

The St. James North by election provided the opportunity for deep, intelligent discussions about how the government and the one in waiting want to lead Barbados on these kinds of challenges/issues. Instead we were treated to the usual irrelevant theatrics which given our dire state confirmed a lack of seriousness on the part of our leaders.

Some of us have been hoodwinked into believing our economy is in good health.

47. @ David

The truth is if you look at a few figures in isolation things don’t look so bad. Thing is our leaders ONLY want to look at a few numbers without looking at ALL the numbers.

For example all dem braying is reserves high! Well you been borrowing like there is no tomorrow so reserves of BORROWED MONEY should be high you don’t think! What are the net reserves though with all borrowed deducted inclusive of interest over the full loan period? Never discussed.

Debt to GDP falling everybody braying! Well after righting off 1.4 billion of the NIS debt and trimming nuff else, you don’t feel it should of come down? Nobody don’t want to talk bout dat either!

Economic growth is 3% or whatever em was said to be. Everybody braying we is bosses! Are you really, what part of that is inflation? You can’t see what happening in the USA, you think we isolated and don’t live in the same world?

Debt payments been eased through our smart refinancing at lower rates! All hail the king sorry queen! What is the total debt we owe now at the refinanced rate over the extended period of years inclusive of interest as compared with before? If you owe me $100 over 5 years at 5% and I ease you and say pay me the $100 over 9 years at 4%, you monthly payment gone down but you total debt gone up, due to the lower interest over a way longer period.

As I said focus on the fluff and not the whole issue and things look OK. It’s only when you dig into the why, that the truth is seen.