Who is not familiar with the fairly tale The Emperor’s New Clothes by Hans Christian Anderson. For those who are not, it is “a classic fairy tale where an emperor, obsessed with fine clothing, is tricked by two con artists who claim to weave a magnificent suit that is invisible to anyone who is incompetent or foolish; everyone in the court pretends to see the clothes out of fear of appearing unfit, until a young child finally shouts out that the emperor is naked, exposing the deception“. 

Recently a story popped into the blogmaster’s newsfeed about a painting with a minimalist design that was sold for millions. The explanation given for the exorbitant price paid was the concept of the painting could be interpreted in many ways which added to the intrigue for aficionados.

The blogmaster would not have paid BBD$10 dollars for the painting.

We live in times when it is fashionable to go with the ‘flow’ of popular opinion. Some of us were raised to always demonstrate “the courage of one’s conviction”. The blogmaster has always upheld the principle that right is right and wrong is wrong based on immutable truths. In the case of the painting portrayed in the video, it is wrong for intelligent to engage in that level of ostentatious behaviour with so much suffering in the world. A few months ago a banana stuck to canvas with duck tape sold for USD$6.2 million.

Another recent what the hell moment was President Donald Trump’s decision to pardon 1500 individuals – on his return to the presidency last month – who ‘attacked’ the Capitol in Washington on January 6, 2021. There can be no debate his decision to pardon individuals from the Proud Boys and Oath Keepers is wrong.

We are seeing more and more a blurring of the lines of what is right and wrong in Barbados as well. An example, justification by some Barbadians of Donville Inniss decision to accept money from Insurance Corporation of Barbados (ICBL).

The following article succinctly sums up the blogmaster’s perspective on the matter of The Emperor has New Clothes.

Trump’s Second Term Might Have Already Peaked

As far as policy accomplishments are concerned, it could very well turn out to be as underwhelming as the first.

By Jonathan Chait

https://cdn.theatlantic.com/thumbor/aGwRDru6hBLblMkbj4mVUvzDQlg=/0x3:2008×1133/1952×1098/media/img/mt/2025/01/trump_inaug/original.jpg

Ever since donald trump emerged as a credible threat to return to the White House, the guardrails that seemed to restrain him in his first term—political, legal, psychic—have collapsed with astonishing speed. His nominees are sailing through their confirmation hearings, including some who are underqualified and ideologically extreme. Titans of business and media are throwing themselves at his feet as supplicants. He has obliterated long-standing norms, unashamedly soliciting payoffs from corporations with business before the government. (The Wall Street Journal reports that Paramount, whose parent company needs Trump’s approval for a merger, is mulling a settlement of one of his groundless lawsuits.) Steps that even his allies once dismissed as unthinkable, such as freeing the most violent, cop-beating January 6 insurrectionists, have again reset the bar of normalcy.

54 responses to “Right is right, wrong is wrong”

1. Well cited!

These two points are conjoined.

The first relates the inordinate excesses within the consolidation of wealth into fewer and fewer hands under the international liberal order, over the last 40 years.

The second, points to the backlash or deconstruction of that international liberal order by Donald Trump as argued persausively by Professors Doctrove and Todd.

They separately contend that the international liberal order has given us 30 years of useless wars. That Trump’s seemingly beligerant interventions represent some type of 128 dimensional chess.

Emmanuel Todd argues that Trump’s assignment is to end the international liberal order by attacking the CIA, USAID, bringing rapprochement with Iran, Russia and China – a new Yalta – as examples.

It was CIA lies which gave us the Iraq war.

Indeed, the mad man Trump seems intent on the ambitious goals of condtructing what the British had long designed as a world with three spheres of influence.

That idea, as originally cedded, would see the Western Hemisphere, as under Monoe, as the backyard of the Americans. The Eurasian sphere controlled by Russia and the Asían regions as the domain of the Chinese.

Doctrove reads more than we could even into the behaviour of Trump with Netanyahu at a recent press conference. He contends that the annoucement for the development of Gaza was a surprised to Netanyahu and was made to prevent Netanyahu from restarting the genocide even as back channel negotiations to set up an America embassy in Tehran proceeded at pace.

On the brink of social disorder in Europe, Doctrove sees a Trumpian demand for NATO members to raise defence spending to 5 percent of GDP as a way of dismataling NATO.

None of these conversations seem to, even on the margins, intersect with the basis needs of people everywhere, crushed by galloping costs of living and so on. Moreover, the techno-fuedalists even more intrenched than before in Washington town may emerge as trillionaires, born naked, once the dust settles.

Needless to say, this writer is not as hopeful as either Todd or Doctrove, we’ll soon see.

2. There is no difference to the racism today than the racism of 50 to 60 years ago.

Whites in America and UK are now saying that they feel that they are prejudiced against due to Civil Rights Laws and Equal Rights for Diversity Laws which is the same narrative that National Front used when I was at school.

Trump is claiming that South Africa is Racist to Whites and is Anti-American and Anti-Israel for speaking out against Israel in International Courts.

In the half-between Worlds. Dwell they : The Sound Scientists In Notes and Tone.
    They Speak of many things…

Intergalactic music is of the Outer Darkness
    Therefore it is of the greater Blackness
    And from that point of view
    It is Black Infinity…
    (Sun Ra)

3. Any (even a casual) student of history recognises that there are moments in time, when it is clear that supernatural forces are at play in the determination of human outcomes.
    The last Century’s major wars have been classic examples – where critical – but inexplicably illogical decision-making have significantly altered global outcomes.

Bushie’s favorite example however remains that of Moses and Pharaoh, where after being punched with plague after plague, Pharaoh finally took the decision to kill every firstborn – only to have this backfire on HIS tail.
    Bushie would have ‘dun wid dat shiite’ – right after the frogs…

These intelligent and highly eddykated ‘Emperors’ MUST know that their donkeys are naked and exposed….
    They MUST know that they are being fed BS by their ‘yes-minions’…. AND YET THEY PERSIST with their brassbowlery.

Bushie don’t really mind the banana art scam. The bushman would not even have wasted urine to wet that ‘art’ down if it was afire, but some BBs clearly have much more dollars than they have sense, and thus need such outlets to show this…

What REALLY irks the bushman is when LEADERS cannot seem to see that the BS being pushed at them by their minions is really just transparent shiite, that should be flushed…

– when NOTHING has worked for the past six years, how do you keep on listening to those at the Ministry of Health? …Transport & Works? ….Eddykashun? ….Agriculture? …Energy? …..

Wuh Cuh shiite!!
    The RESULTS speak as clearly and as loudly, as the small child in Hans Christian Anderson’s story.
    It is not as though the lack of clothes reveals a sexy young body to show off…

At WHICH point will the Emperor say ‘Enuff is Enuff’, and find dressmakers that ACTUALLY make clothes that will enhance their style and fashion…?

Steupsss…
    Even the lotta BB minions who daily sing praises to the ‘most beautiful gown and scarf’ go home and dead wid laughter at the situation…. but NOT A BOY has the balls to speak the truth…

It makes NO sense….
    WAIT!!!
    ….unless of course, it is the Emperor who made the damn dress…..!!!???

…meanwhile, the meek and mild BB sheeple await green pastures and safe harbour….

What a place..
    What a curse..
    What a price to pay…

4. Another ‘emperor has new clothes’ moment – PM Mottley telling us she needs nearly 30 ministers to do taxpayers work.

5. Do you mean to NOT do taxpayers work..?

What work has been ‘done’ by the lotta ministers…?

Oh Wait!!
    Light work?…
    as in..
    ‘many hands do light work’….

What a place!!

6. Minister working lightly.

“A surge in gun violence recently may be linked to a new set of feuding gangs, says Minister of State in the Office of the Attorney General with responsibility for Crime Prevention, Corey Lane.”

https://nationnews.com/2025/02/09/lane-recent-gun-violence-by-gangs-not-in-peace-deal/

7. the Afro-Future Underground
    Negro American Literature re-titled Black American Literature Forum
    Performing the Past to Claim the Future:
    — While much of Afro-Futurism is generally conceived as a project of African American liberation, Sun Ra’s art was articulated in terms of a pan-racial, Utopian
    combination of music and theatrics, metaphysical poetics and communal living, opening a new and visionary dimension of significant musical and philosophical innovations ….

8. There is a joke about an elephant with a splint in its toe and the ant. Reading your comments about President Trump, brings back the laughter i enjoyed when recalling the elephant and the ant joke.

9. @ Hants
    “A surge in gun violence recently may be linked to a new set of feuding gangs, says Minister of State in the Office of the Attorney General with responsibility for Crime Prevention, Corey Lane.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~

Brother Hants…
    This is an EXTREMELY complex issue – as it requires a little bit of common sense…..
    So see if you can follow Bushie for a moment…. Hantsie..

1- Two bad boys start fighting in class – pelting bout chairs, fists, cuss words etc. So the teacher decides to ‘solve the problem’ by letting them play football during class, giving them free lunch, and lots of hugs.

Now you and Bushie aint no ‘real real’ Bad Boys … but shiite Hantsie ..
    What do you think we will arrange tomorrow during class…? discuss for 10 points.

2 – But then again, 100 BB fishermen put together some kinda boats – without insurance, security, and with nowhere to store them safely – and when de storm (inevitably) came and lick them up, captain Forde paid them a monthly stipend and seed monies to the tune of $7M.
    Now you and Bushie does fish on the rocks off Paynes Bay – cause we done know that the sea aint got no back door… But we now looking for an old moses to lease by June this year?

3 – You remember dat a bunch of houses that were mostly put together with twigs, dat get blow down with a freak storm some time ago?
    Was this not the reason that the minister of buildings bring in the chinese houses for multiple millions of dollars?
    Did those ‘victms’ not also get free materials, free rent, free houses as a result?

For 25 points… discuss why you feel that Bushie will NOT put together a raggedy shiite house in anticipation of a freak storm – or even just a big rain come July…

Somebody needs to tell Corey that you get what you encourage and reward…
    In this case, low standards and mendicancy.

Bout hey too sweet doh!!
    …and wunna laughing at Trump..?

10. Dear David:

Why have you put a crown, underpants and shoes on the emperor?

He is supposed to be naked you know.

Please correct. Thanks.

11. About the multi million banana art.

Yesterday I brought a bunch [not a hand] of bananas from in de ground. I have some duct tape left over from a project.

Once the bananas ripen up about next week this time I will be a billionaire.

If you want to go on a world cruise on a luxury liner please let me know.

12. @Simple Simon

The blog is rated G.

Thanks

13. Will the mother country cave into paying out reparations?

The British media and the British are against paying out reparations. They argue that it was only a tiny minority of their population who gained economically from the slave trade and that the trade ended almost 200 years ago.

I applaud Mia and most Caribbean governments for taking a stand. The British media, who are a pack of hounddogs, will investigate why these Caribbean regions appear to be financially broke. They will investigate all Caricom leaders past and present with the sole aim of exposing the extraordinary high levels of corruption that have hindered the development of these small islands.

Barbados will be judged harshly. Unlike the other islands whom are more exposed to the region’s spiteful hurricanes – it always escapes the worse. They will point to Barbados long term popularity as a tourist destination; the country’s high literacy levels; the country’s homogeneous population; and that the country has never had a history of civil wars to stall their development.

If the mother country pays out reparations to Barbados, it would do so by taking out a number of prominent Bajan politicians past and present.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/politics/2025/02/09/lord-hermer-advised-caribbean-nations-on-slavery-reparation/

14. Terence Blackett Avatar

“THERE IS NOTHING SPECIAL ABOUT WHITE PEOPLE” – #JuliusMalema (LEADER OF SOUTH AFRICA EFF)

15. Terence Blackett Avatar

HUMANS ARE OVER-RATED – NO WONDER SOME OF US HAVE WITHDRAWN OFF-GRID* & ARE MORE COMFORTABLE AROUND OUR HORSES, COWS, SHEEP, DOGS & CATS INSTEAD OF THE PRETENSIVE WORLD OF FAKE HUMANOIDS*

HERE’S GREAT ADVICE FROM BRO. BOWIE: (CLASS IS CLASS – FEW PEOPLE HAVE IT)!!!

16. Terence Blackett Avatar

POPULISTS-NATIONALISM IS AN EPIPHENOMENON OF LATE EARTH FRAGMENTAION & DISINTEGRATION MASKED AS A GOLDEN AGE OF ATLANTEAN TRANSMORGRIFICATION

AT THIS MOMENT, ONLY FOOLS CAN BE FOOLED

East v West & #WestVEast in a #MexicanStandoff in the #DyingDayz of late stage #PastModernity – a world on the brink of “MASS MORAL SUBSIDENCE” & the infectious aetiological of “POLIETICAL VACUITY” given the prevalence of “RABID SPIRITUAL APOPTOSIS” due in part to blinding metastasis in every fabric of human existence – on a scorched-earth planet, pass-it-sell-by-date!!!

LET’S FACE IT: THE FINAL SANDS IN THE HOURGLASS ARE JUST A HANDFULL OF MEAGRE GRAINS

I am not the only “ONE” prophesying from the “WILDERNESS OF DESPAIR” – for the other #ModernDayPoLIEticalPROFITS* are spewing their subterfuge everyday & everywhere as the “MASSES” are lapping it up like dogs slobbering over their vomit!!!

TIME’S UP

#Time2RingTheBell
    #CallAFast
    #MemorializeD_Day
    #WeAreDone

17. There are more books or codices not included in the orthodoxy of the Bible such as the Nag Hammadi Library

– which contain scriptures such as the Gospel of Thomas, the Gospel of Philip, and the Gospel of Truth.

http://www.gnosis.org/naghamm/nhl.html

18. Terence Blackett Avatar

#Today, FEBRUARY 10, 2025 IS A BIG DAY FOR ZIMBABWE & FOR A YOUNG MAN CALLED #MaxwellChikumbutso – WHOSE RADIO FREQUENCY (MICROSONIC) TECHNOLOGY THAT HE HAS DEVELOPED WILL RUN THE NEXT STAGE OF EVs, HOMES & EVEN AIRPLANES et al

The time has come to develop our young people…

THE BULLCRAP MUST END!!!

CONGRATULATIONS ZIMBABWE!!!

19. I tend to believe and read only the conspiracy theories that I create.

What if no transaction took place and this story is only to lure the gullible into buying other expensive junk. We know a banana changes with time and in a few days that bit of art may be useless.

I have seen art being done on the internet and most of it requires no talent; buckets falling over, paint being splashed around and the creator of this art being treat as if heshe was a genius.

This is my favorite.

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/sU8E1Sn6ai8

Barbados has enough sand for more than 1,000 artists. We are far past the stage of the emperor and no clothes, the audience is naked.

20. Our Prime Minister is only listed in third place on this salary table.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2QInCyqwsIc

21. Murdaaaaaah! A fool like me just had to click on that bucket and sand video!

And now what I was going to comment has gone clean out of my mind.

What’s the point? If human beings can be that stupid….

Wuhlaus!

22. Bushie

These are the levels perfection to be sought.

Every great inventor, artist, scientist, has always spoken about the power of the spiritual to their work.

Chikumbutso is the no exception, exceptional!

https://youtu.be/C6ajXITvqCc?si=1KMDSeYo9jasOOW7

23. Workmanship would be a part of the discussion but the house had to stand on its own. Are all of the below due to workmanship?

Here is the litany of woes
    Falling/caving ceilings; creaking floors; broken fixtures;
    gotta catch a bucket of water to flush the toilet, the handle to turn on the shower off, the shower head off, in the kitchen the faucet is not working properly;
    a mosquito infestation caused by water settling inside the houses, under the steps and near the foundation;
    the lock sticking, getting lock out of your house and can’t get in, everything sticking; moss in the bathroom, growth of mildew;
    when the people upstairs walk, your light blowing;
    toilet not flushing properly; the two bedroom doors right now off;

24. My friends, this has nothing to do with shoddy workmanship! It is a continuation of the lack of respect that is shown to the poor. “Yuh gun tek wah we gi yah and keep wunnah mouth shut”

Sometimes the disrespect is so blatant and so great that someone has to squeal. And in rush the apologists; instead of saying these houses suck, they will tell you of poor workmanship.

The poor cannot catch a break. No support from those who have their bread buttered on both sides and no support from their brothers who are too afraid to speak out. One part of the story that really hurt me was that there was a person with complaints who did not want to be named. What would need to happen to have this person give their name… The fear is real. The disrespect is real.

I am fully convinced that these housing exercises have nothing to do with houses or housing. The transfer of money to some is even more real.
    Roads, housing and food are the three ducks that remain **uckable (pluckable)

25. @ Goeth,

Storm carpenters / builders.

26. Trump says Palestinians will have no right of return to Gaza under his plan
    Trump tells Fox News that Canada ‘would be much better off being a 51st state’
    We are witnessing the rise of a new Republican ‘Southern Strategy’
    Outrage after JD Vance claims judges are not allowed to check executive power
    Trump’s anti-diversity executive orders threaten Americans’ health, experts say

Those that want to vent about 47.Trump can do so right here

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2025/feb/10/people-in-the-us-share-your-thoughts-on-trumps-second-term-in-office-so-far

27. z r s

28. Terence Blackett Avatar

WRONG IS RIGHT & RIGHT IS WRONG: AN UPSIDED-DOWN WORLD WHERE 99%+ OF THE WORLD’S INHABITANTS HAVE BEEN SO DUMED-DOWN THAT ALL HOPE IS LOST

War is a “CAPITALIST-ENTERPRISE” where “DEATH MONETIZATION” is the largest “MONEY SPINNER” that there is – bigger than “FOOD”, “DRINK” or any other form “BUYING & SELLING” that mankind has ever concocted!!!

WHAT A WORLD – WHERE THE SOULS OF THE MASSES SLEEP-WALK INTO A GLOBAL APOCALYPTIC 3000-DEGREE OVEN – WITH MOST EATING, DRINKING, PARTYING IN A DRUNKEN, INEBRIATED STATE OF DISTANCIATION; BLINDINGLY COMATOZED BY AN AEROSOLIZED ATMOSPHERE OF MADDENING PSYCHOSIS & SELF-INFLICTED, CURSED DAMNATION

How much longer can this “QUANTUM CREEP OF ROT” continue without everything & everyone going 2 “HELL IN A PANACART”???

#WhatWillBeTheTriggerPoint???
    #WhatElseNeeds2Happen???
    #WhatLunacy

29. Terence Blackett Avatar

THE AEROSOLIZED TRUMPIAN EFFECT PERMEATES ACROSS TIME & SPACE BORDERS

30. ‘Shattered’ dreams

Owners say Chinese-built homes ‘falling apart’

by SHERRYLYN A. TOPPIN

sherrylynclarke@nationnews.com

THE DREAM OF HOME OWNERSHIP is fast becoming a nightmare for three women who live in two separate apartment blocks at Barker Road, Haggatt Hall, St Michael.

The occupants of the light-gauge steel homes built for the Government by Chinese contractors under the East-West Project are complaining of falling ceilings, creaking floors, broken fixtures and a mosquito infestation caused by water settling near the foundation.

Twelve homes across three buildings were built at Haggatt Hall under the East-West Project. Other units were completed or are under construction at Bullens, St James; Sargeant’s Village, Christ Church and River Crescent, St Philip.

An upset Judine Gittens, who was relocated to Haggatt Hall from St Philip via Christ Church after Hurricane Beryl destroyed her home, reached out to the

DAILY NATION yesterday after a piece of the ceiling fell.

“The ceiling start caving in on Friday,” she said. “It had a big gape upstairs on Friday afternoon and the officer said she would pay me a visit tomorrow [today]. Then the ceiling start to drop in further this [yesterday] morning.”

She quickly called her mother to get help moving her possessions out of the bedroom, pointing to the piece that she said hit her in the head.

“And you see the lock, it sticking; everything sticking. These are no good for no one to live in. These Chinese buildings, Government needs to do something about it. I would not advise nobody to live in it.”

Gittens, who lives in Building No. 3, complained of moss in the bathroom, and one of her neighbours, who did not want to give her name, said there was an issue with the growth of mildew.

“You getting lock out of your house and can’t get in. The boards creaking. When the people upstairs walk, your light blowing. Yuh got a lot of mildew in your house. Right now, I have a sick daughter because of the mildew,” she said.

The child has since been diagnosed with bronchitis and is on medication, the mother added.

She said there was water inside the house and under the step and raised foundation, leading to the breeding of mosquitoes.

When they reach out to the National Housing Corporation (NHC), she charged, they were getting a lot of promises and being told of restrictions on what they could do.

“I am fed up. I am really fed up,” the neighbour said. “I do not owe NHC

Continued on Page 4.

JUDINE GITTENS said she was lying in bed when this portion of the ceiling fell and hit her on the head. (Nation News)

‘Ceiling fell out, toilet not flushing properly’

nothing. I pay them every month so I should have a proper environment for me and my kids.

“It’s overbearing; very much so.” She said it was not good enough and something needed to be done to address their concerns.

Another woman who lives at Building 1 said the ceiling fell out in one of her bedrooms and the toilet was not flushing properly.

“I don’t know because the things like them join on, join on; everything falling apart. The two bedroom doors right now off. I gotta catch a bucket of water to flush the toilet, the handle to turn on the shower off, the shower head off.”

She surmised that with the heat generated when the house was closed, the plastic fittings were breaking off.

In the kitchen, the faucet is not working properly.

“These houses ain’t no good experience for right now, to be honest,” she added.

One of the doors was damaged when the wind blew it in and, according to her, “lick the power out of the lights”.

“I can’t do no better so I have to bear with it, but I was trying to call the people at the NHC . . . customer service. Up to now I can’t get a call back so I don’t know what else to do.”

Minister of Housing Dwight Sutherland made an emergency visit to the area yesterday and promised to deploy a team this morning. He said the falling ceiling at Gittens’ home was a minor repair because the clips were not in properly. “It will take an hour or so. It’s not anything major,” he said via telephone. “I’m not sure about the other tenants.

I think there was a lock that needs changing. One of the tenants downstairs mentioned a lock. These doors have security features with the lock so people can’t break in like that. So I think they are having difficulty with the locks in terms of learning how to operate the locks, so that will be dealt with.”

On the other issues like the mildew and water settling near the foundation, he said there would be a full walk-through today by a technical team.

SOME OF THE LIGHT-GAUGE steel frame homes at Haggatt Hall, St Michael. (Pictures by Jameel Springer.)

WHEN THE WIND blew in one of the doors at her home and it was damaged, the tenant was shocked to realise it did not have a solid core.

31. Revisit the reserves policy

by ANTHONY WOOD IN AN ARTICLE ENTITLED Excessive Reserves Costing Taxpayers published in the SUNDAY SUN of February 2, 2025, Senator Ryan Walters placed the Government’s policy of accumulating excessive foreign reserves under the microscope.

He suggests that such a policy inflicts undue financial strain on the taxpayers. He also sought answers to the questions: “What is the justification for maintaining reserves amounting to close to double the required benchmark given that it is borrowed money?” and “Could a balance of 15 or 18 weeks (of import cover) suffice?”

Though Senator Walters might be seeking a response from one of the three ministers with responsibility for finance and economic affairs or a senior official of the Central Bank of Barbados, I would like to make a contribution to the public discourse on the reserves policy of the Central Bank.

The strategy of holding such high levels of foreign reserves is an insurance policy against external shocks to the economy and the recognition by the policymakers of their struggle to generate adequate levels of foreign exchange on a consistent basis.

The international benchmark for foreign reserves is 12 weeks of import cover. This amount is deemed adequate when (1) there is stability in the international economy, (2) access to foreign loans is unfettered, (3) a successful fixed exchange rate regime exists, and (4) the country is earning adequate levels of foreign exchange to pay for imports.

It is non-productive and very costly to hold almost $3.2 billion in international reserves, which is 31.2 weeks of import cover, while simultaneously borrowing excessively at high interest rates to keep the reserves at such high levels.

Apart from the interest cost of holding such high levels of foreign reserves, there is the opportunity cost of not using some of the reserves for social and economic development purposes.

The administration should revisit its reserves policy with a view to reducing the level. Such a move will require increasing the national capacity to import, which is the ability of a country to pay for imports from its current export earnings.

There must be a more focused economic diversification effort in order to generate higher levels of foreign exchange on a sustained basis and reduce the reliance on expensive foreign borrowing.

The diversification programme should also take cognisance of the need to increase the production of local goods that are substitutes for imported commodities. In this regard, enlightened agricultural development and industrial policies are required, and renewable energy projects should be accelerated. Also, policymakers and businesses must embrace innovation, competitiveness and productivity enhancement as necessary drivers of sustainable development in the economy.

Expanding activity in the tourism, construction, wholesale and retail sectors will stimulate the economy and drive economic growth. However, these sectors rely heavily on foreign exchange to sustain their activities. This reality reinforces the imperative to boost other foreign exchangegenerating activities besides tourism and otherwise reduce the country’s over-reliance on imported goods.

Anthony P. Wood is an economist and former lecturer in economics, banking and finance at the Cave Hill Campus of the University of the West Indies. He was also a Cabinet minister in a previous Barbados Labour Party administration. The above article was submitted as a letter to the Editor.

32. @TLSN February 9, 2025 at 4:55 pm “Barbados will be judged harshly. Unlike the other islands whom are more exposed to the region’s spiteful hurricanes – it always escapes the worse.”

My response: Not really

The Great Hurricane of 1780 was the deadliest tropical cyclone in the Western Hemisphere. An estimated 22,000 people died throughout the Lesser Antilles when the storm passed through the islands from October 10 to October 16. Specifics on the hurricane’s track and strength are unknown, as the official Atlantic hurricane database only goes back to 1851. The hurricane struck Barbados likely as a Category 5 hurricane, with at least one estimate of wind gusts as high as 200 mph.

Great Barbados hurricane. On August 10, 1831, an extremely severe hurricane struck the island of Barbados. Its high winds and 17-foot storm surge collapsed buildings, sank ships, and killed about 1500 people.

Called the 1898 Georgia hurricane was a major hurricane that hit the U.S. state of Georgia, as well as the strongest on record in the state. It was first observed on September 29, although modern researchers estimated that it developed four days earlier to the east of the Lesser Antilles. This one struck Barbados as well.
    This one killed my great grandfather, leaving his young wife, a widow with 14 children, including my 12 year old grandmother. After this the widow’s young adult children were scattered to the USA, Panama, and Brazil struggling to make a living wherever and however they could.

Tropical storm Janet when it hit Barbados in September 1955. It eventually became a category 5 hurricane. I was a young child during this one which killed 38 people and caused enormous property damage. Tens of thousands of Bajans older than 74 still remember this one.

Hurricane Beryl, being a rare June major hurricane, the earliest Category 5 Atlantic hurricane on record, and only the second recorded in July. Even though this was not a category 5 when it passed close to the south of Barbados, its storm surge caused major damage to Barbados’ commercial fishing fleet, which has not yet entirely recovered from the hurricane.

So it is a grave misunderstanding to say that Barbados always escapes he worse. Every year before the hurricane season comes I have to pay up my property insurance even if I do not eat. And not only me, but tens of thousands of other Bajans have to bear these costs whether we can afford it or not.

We must never forget.

33. Re: Chinese houses

I only know what I have read here…but landlords also have stories to tell, like the tenants who during domestic disputes forced and broke all of the locks on the bedroom doors within a year of moving in, like the tenants who refused to open the windows in this hot and humid place and then complained about mold, if you don’t ventilate in the tropics you WILL get mold like the tenant whose water bed ruptured and damaged the wooden floors downstairs, like the tenants who clearly threw chicken/fish whatever in the pot of hot oil on the stove, so that the kitchen ceiling was covered in grease, like the tenants who opened an illegal cook-shop, didn’t clean up and which resulted in a massive infestation, like the tenants whose kid set fire to the cushions in the living room, which fire reached the ceiling and the landlord was not informed and only discovered during the annual inspection and saw the burned hole in the ceiling, like the tenants who won’t pay utility bills and then skip leaving the landlord to clear the bills because the landlord needs to make the place rentable as soon as possible, like the tenants who place large wet plant pots on wooden floors, like the tenants who pay late, late, like the tenants who are just such poor housekeepers, just one step up from hoarding really, like the tenant who in spite of agreeing to “no pets” moves in two large aggressive pit bulls, one on the right and one on the left of the entrance. Sigh! I guess large agressive pit bulls are not pets.

Respect has to be MUTUAL or in int respect.

34. Back in the day a tenant who had signed a lease saying tenant would pay for the water. When tenant moved in the bill was ZERO, when tenant was forced out left an unpaid water bill of over $3,000, tenant had not paid the water bill for years, but when the water was cut off by the water authority called to say “we have no water” Landlord and plumber rushed to the scene because there were young children in the house, no problems with the plumbing, tenant said “when the water bills come we don’t open them, just throw them there” thing is tenant and landlord were close relatives, in this case blood was not thicker than unpaid water bills. Tenant had to go. Another tenant, different landlord. without permission opened a high water use business on the property, had to be forced out because of an unpaid water bill of over $3,000. Tenants were “Christians”

Goeth you may have lived a very sheltered life.

35. Ah yes! And tenant who disposessed a sibling of a $400,000 property by not paying the rent for more than 10 years, then put in a claim for adverse possession. Who would have thought that one had to have a signed and witnessed lease with a person believed to be a loving sibling?

If it is not mutual it is not love.

36. Simple mindedness exemplified….

37. Another WTH moment. A sector government has allowed to fuel a subculture more than any other now protesting against rising crime. You couldn’t make this up even if you tried your hardest.

“END OF LINE
    PSV OPERATORS HALT NIGHT SERVICES AMID RISING CRIME CONCERNS
    By Emmanuel Joseph
    Several privately owned public service vehicle (PSV) operators have suspended evening services due to safety fears, potentially leaving commuters stranded as the state-owned Transport Board said it could not increase capacity to meet the shortfall.
    Chairman of the Association of Public Transport Operators (APTO) Anwar Nana confirmed that his members have decided to stop plying the various routes between 4:40 p.m. and 5 p.m. every day, citing the surge in criminal activity, particularly in light of Saturday night’s robbery of two motorists in separate incidents in St Philip and the theft of their vehicles.
    “It is a natural instinct of the workers. Obviously, if there is a safety issue…for their safety, they are going to start doing that. So, there is no directive to pull the vans off the road. Even my workers, they made 4:30, 5 o’clock the latest, and then go off the road. So, when outside gets dark, they don’t want to be on the road; and my guys work in St Philip, and that is a hot spot at the moment,” Nana told Barbados TODAY.
    “There is no directive for anyone to do it, it’s just natural for what is going to happen because of the crime situation. There will be a substantial number that told me they will be doing it. When outside starts to get dark, those fellows that used to work nine or ten o’clock, they are not going to really do that trip anymore.”
    Asked how long the action will last Nana replied: “Until things change, until we see a difference in the behaviour…the crime wave. I don’t know what is the reason for this upsurge right now.”
    The state-owned Transport Board said it would not be in a position to pick up the slack.
    “The Transport Board presently supplies services up to midnight daily. That will continue. We will not be able to add any additional services, but we will transport commuters as we always do on our existing routes,” Chief Operations Officer Yvette Holder told Barbados TODAY.
    Police are continuing their investigations into the two car robberies in which one of the vehicles was recovered.
    The first case occurred at Marchfield, St Philip, where a man was robbed at gunpoint of his vehicle by an unknown attacker around 7:30 p.m.
    The second incident reportedly happened at the Kirtons Service Station in St Philip, in which a couple was also robbed at gunpoint by an unknown assailant while in the car park of the business place.
    (EJ)”

Source: BT

38. @ David
    It that more WTH than what is happening inour schools?
    One can at least understand the concerns of genuine ZR workers. But the school nonsense is unbelievable…

This is where the ROT is being generated, while those in charge continue with their mindless incompetence – and those that appointed them in their blissful lack of concern…rehashing shiite talk about the 11+ whenever questions are raised..

When any school ‘student’ could be allowed to carry themself like we see those who are constantly paraded in the newspapers with charges , then the problem is NOT the student themselves, but the idiots running the system.

Whoever it is that came up with our school dress code should be required to come and PUBLICLY justify the decision.
    It only makes sense if the deciding panel was dominated with gang leaders.
    …or if Simple Simon was the paid cuntsultant….

What a clownish place!!

39. @Bush Tea

Do not disagree, the unkept manner of the youngest student makes some of us cringe. Then again, it can be explained away, everything these days can be explained away. There is a blur between what is right and wrong. Common sense is no longer common. People move around naked and are not cited for indecent exposure.

40. What you reap, you sow.

ZR men have shown lack of discipline on the roads for years, commandeering them at will.

But now, they are running, as others are even more commandeering.

Well, if you plant cow itch you cannot expect okras.

Same with the school children. No discipline.

Same with the criminals, letting out murder accused on bail, really?

But we discussed this already, surely?

Stupse.

41. Not a suck-up to any party, so never any paid consultancies. Be off do.

I remember the 60’s when old foolish conservatives, like some on this blog now thought that the wearing of Afro’s would cause the world to come to an end. The world did not end. Then it was dread locks. The world did not end. Then it was women pressing their hair. The world did not end. The Afro’s are gone replaced by shiny bald heads. The world is still here. The world will still be here when those of us alive now are all dead and gone.

42. @Simple Simon

Sensible societies have this kind of ongoing discussion to ensure there is relevant change implemented. Cherry-picking an issue or two does not negate the need for these kinds of discussions. Maybe you prefer a free for all approach?

43. LOL
    If only life was so simple…
    We could all hop on ZRs, grow okras, and cook stingy conkies for the grands to hog…

Unfortunate life is MUCH more complex… existing in a complex spiritual battlefield where two great foe are at war…

..and a little learning is REALLY a dangerous thing…

44. “Sensible societies have this kind of ongoing discussion to ensure there is relevant change implemented.”

Exactly!
    But there is a MOST critical role that is ALSO needed in sensible societies – that of lovingly raising children from babyhood to adolescence.
    This is NOT a job for shiite men – who are almost always focused on logic, fight or flight, and day to day survival.

It requires sensitive, emotional, long suffering individuals to perform this role naturally and consistently….. Thus women!

But bring these specialised characteristics to the spiritual battlefield of daily life and death, and you are almost GURANTEED defeat, since ‘sensitive, emotional and long-suffering’ are not effective battlefield strengths.

Of course the unenlightened will think that we are all ‘equal’… despite all the contrary evidence…

Perhaps you better grasp some ‘Bible positions’ better now..??
    …and why stinking Bushie don’t engage in losing emotional arguments…

45. My dear cuhdear
    I am struggling to understand what your long list of misdeeds by tenants was to prove.
    We are all aware of bad tenants and bad landlords, even of squatters and slumlords.

Repeat 10 times “Good and bad comes in every group”

46. Goeht a landlord is not for the faint hearted.

In sales they say “the customer is always right”

In landlord/tenant disputes the tenant is not always right.

47. @Bush Tea

When last have you fought a battle? “Spiritual” of physical?

Did you win?

Did you lose?

48. @David February 11, 2025 at 11:48 am “Sensible societies have this kind of ongoing discussion to ensure there is relevant change implemented”

Always happy to discuss.

Never happy to concede to foolishness.

Anyway off to my sweet afternoon nap now. Then will make a yam pie for the grands. Made with yam and herbs grown with my own hands.

49. @Bush Tea
    When last have you fought a battle? “Spiritual” of physical?
    Did you win?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    ..Just recently…
    ..made a play for some free conkies..
    ..lost badly to some licorish grands….