Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams

The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) is standing at the edge of a precipice—weighed down by financial turmoil, mismanagement, and a glaring lack of vision. Once a pillar of public broadcasting, this state-owned enterprise is now spiraling into dysfunction, with staff, contractors, and the very future of the corporation hanging in uncertainty.

A Corporation in Crisis

At the heart of CBC’s decline is deepening financial distress. While the CEO sleeps, employees lie awake worrying about when their salaries will finally arrive—concerns that stretch to cover their children’s school fees, mounting bills, looming mortgage payments, and even their ability to secure credit. The corporation is failing to meet its most basic obligations: salaries are paid late, contractors languish in limbo, and long-serving employees are met with silence instead of security. Restructuring efforts, far from instilling hope, have become little more than a smokescreen, leaving staff anxious and uncertain about their future.

But beyond the financial woes, one must ask: When last has there been a board meeting? When last has there been a management meeting? When last has there been a staff meeting? In an organization built on the very foundation of communication, there is none within its own walls. Silence has replaced leadership, and uncertainty now governs daily operations. The result is a staff left adrift—a corporation operating without strategy, where speculation fills the void left by an absent decision-maker who sits pretty in his office, cut off from employees who, despite their tireless efforts, remain demotivated. The CEO’s glaring lack of hands-on management has rendered CBC rudderless, stifling its potential with leadership that prefers isolation over accountability. Change is desperately needed, yet none is in sight.

A Failure to Evolve

As traditional broadcasting faces an existential crisis worldwide, adaptation is essential. Yet CBC is failing to evolve with the changing media landscape. Digital transformation has been sluggish, content strategies remain uninspired, and the corporation clings to outdated models instead of embracing innovation. While competitors harness new technologies and platforms to engage audiences, CBC is falling further behind—unable to capture or retain viewership in a world dominated by streaming and social media.

Compounding this failure is an ongoing struggle with talent retention. A number of well-known television personalities have walked away, in search of better prospects—a mass exodus that should have been a wake up call that spurred urgent reform. Meanwhile, the opportunity to nurture fresh talent has been largely overlooked. Rather than proactively training new, dynamic faces to take over the flagship Newsnight program and several other shows, the current anchor chairs seemed conjoined to the old guard. This lack of mentorship and succession planning denies CBC the innovative energy and contemporary perspective that are essential for evolving with the times.

Leadership Without Vision—And With Vindictiveness

In a stunning display of misplaced priorities, the CEO has managed to secure an additional $3,000 per month on top of his already generous $15,000 salary—all because he no longer has access to the designated ML company vehicle, now used to transport news teams on assignments. One must ask: if the CEO truly cared about the financial well-being of the corporation, could he not have refused this extra $3,000—perhaps remarking, “I can easily cover my petrol expenses on my already sufficient $15,000 cheque”? Yet that is highly unlikely. It raises the question of whether he himself requested this extra money, stooping so low as to find new ways to cut into the monthly earnings of those who depend on CBC.

Perhaps even more damning is the CEO’s penchant for vindictiveness. In an act that defies both logic and fairness, he dismissed two young men whose fresh energy and dedication had begun to reinvigorate CBC’s local content. Their dismissals were not the result of incompetence or failure, but appeared driven purely by personal spite. And when one considers that this very CEO once served as a senior editor at another media house—responsible for thrusting a sex scandal involving two minors on a school compound onto the front page of a daily publication—one is left to question his judgment. Imagine a man convinced that salacious content was newsworthy enough to dominate headlines; with that track record, his current mismanagement and vindictive behaviour hardly come as a surprise.

The Road to Nowhere

CBC, once an institution that informed, educated, and entertained Barbadians, is now crumbling under the weight of mismanagement and neglect. Financial instability, a draining of talent, an inability to adapt, and leadership utterly devoid of visionary management have left the corporation gasping for relevance. The staff, left in the dark, are losing faith. The audience, with better options elsewhere, is turning away. And those entrusted with steering CBC toward a brighter future are instead watching it flounder—if not actively pushing it toward the edge.

But who will stand up for change at our island’s lone TV station—our CBC—a vital institution that must endure? Will it be the government, the unions, the staff or even the viewers and listeners.Under the current leadership, one is left to ask: how long can CBC continue to fight on?

Sincerely,

An Avid Viewer & Associate of CBC’s CEO

67 responses to “The Sad State of CBC at 60”

1. Absolutely nothing appears to work on that dead-end island called Little England. The mother country is doing better by a small margin.

Here we have another media house about to fold. The long running Advocat newspaper went under without barely a mumur a few years ago.This government has had a free run for a long time; and boy does it not show.

2. @TLSN

The Advocate and the Bryans became political too political and when old man Bryan died the inevitable occurred.

The CBC has been abused by successive governments at the expense of taxpayers.

3. Prime Minister Mia Mottley promised to restructure CBC with a focus on digital transformation. One of many promises. What is the update on her promise?

4. In a few weeks when the anti American affiliated globalist NGO money dries up after over 30 years, I believe that could well be the end of CBC.

5. @ David
    “Prime Minister Mia Mottley promised to restructure CBC with a focus on digital transformation. One of many promises. What is the update on her promise?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Obviously you are being rhetorical…!

Can you tell us of ANY promise,about anything, that has been fulfilled – or that has even had rational excuses made..?
    CBC, like EVERY OTHER ‘big works’ has suffered the inevitable fate of having been micro-management by incompetents, and has ONLY been able to survive so far on the taxpayers’ backs – and with borrowed IMF funds.

Fortunately for government – and for CBC so far, promises are sufficient for brass bowls…

6. Who is the CEO? I don’t even know, but his MO sounds familiar.

7. And by the way, how well is the BBC working, enabling child sexual abuse for sixty years, unwilling in 2025 to call out genocide, most of your citizens no longer trusting it and railing against paying license fees?

If anything, we are following in Big England’s footsteps. We’ve got that white man’s disease, caught during slavery and colonisation!

8. Bushie

Why would you choose one woman to blame?

Is the population of ‘brassbowls’ who elected her twice with dictatorial mandates not more at fault?

Would the decadence, across the board, besieging Barbados not existed before Mottley and will long after?

What would it take for the country to accept that this culture must come to a destructive end sooner or later and that radical, and weee say radical, because Bajans generally hate anything so called, alternatives must come from top to bottom?

That there must be no sacred cows?

Or has someone, from somewhere else, to say this?

The unavoidable truth is that the governance culture is at a dead end and we’re just flogging the dead.

9. @Pacha
    You just HAVE to cuss Bushie’s dark donke, ..don’t you..?
    You then turn around and say the SAME shiite as the bushman
    – only using fancy words …
    SBH….
    ..and LOL

10. The CBC employees should not have to work under these conditions. The emotional stress must be intense although some insensitive individuals will ask why not leave? There was a problem with the employee pension scheme, was it resolved?

11. The management structure at the CBC should have been changed. It needs a person with a track record of being a good manager. Especially given its financial challenges.

12. Yes Bushie

That Pacha’s likes to cuss yuh is not new.

However, what are you prepared to give up to help your country even as it would most likely be to no avail.

Are you prepared to give up the root cause of our problems, your religion?

Are you prepared to jettison the English language?

Are you prepared to die in such a revolutionary cause?

Or do intend to rest on ‘ that rock solid rock I stand’ because all else is sinking sand?

13. The CBC cannot be saved. No matter how talented the manager or how dedicated the employees, the organization is unsustainable because technological change has rendered its business model completely untenable.

Local advertising cannot come anywhere close to providing enough revenue to run a TV station in Barbados. That market has been disrupted so completely by digital technology, specifically Google, Facebook, Instagram, and Tiktok, over the past 20 years that the overwhelming majority of Barbadian businesses advertising spend is through these new channels.

The Advocate died not because of mismanagement, but because digital media ate their lunch. The Nation newspaper is worth about 12% of its value a couple of decades ago… it survives because of corporate diversification into non media assets and because radio (Starcom) is the only broadcast media left with local economic viability.

If CBC completely abandoned being a TV station then the radio assets might be able to survive in a slimmed down highly automated state. However even radio probably has only another decade before it too is obsolete and extinct.

14. ” Documents the Treasury Board of Canada released on Feb. 29 showed CBC would get an estimated $1.38-billion budget in 2024-25, up from an estimated $1.29 billion for 2023-24.”

15. In essence @Peter Thompson you have rubbished Mottley’s promise to taxpayers.

16. When TV is crap people turn it off.
    People nowadays prefer streaming services so they can watch what they want when they want and can binge watch entire series one episode after another all the way though and can pause have a break and press restart. Netflix and Amazon etc have bigger budgets to make their content.

17. PLT

Brillant! However, you are in great danger of falling fowl to the numerical majority here whose minds are imbred with the notion that every local issue can be made subject to memes such as governance, one Caribbean-ness or some other shiiiite which is entirely locally bound.

There has never, are not, and will never be any issues on this island which are not influenced ti some degree by a number of forces beyond 166 miles squared. This has to be the basis of all analysis.

This ingrained inability to see your deeper point must mean the continued production of irrelevant ideas.

18. 27,556

19. Kiki there is a reason why many many countries have publicly funded radio and tv stations. The challenge for Barbados is to create a relevant model to ensure its editorial independence and financial stability.

20. Public funded radio and TV is for communication of Government and national messages and local orientated services as well as local entertainment drama news and sport

Private local business could also provide local services
    Content is bought and sold nationally and internationally
    so you can watch old US and UK programs etc

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

“this state-owned enterprise is now spiraling into dysfunction”…not now, but for many years. They have been technically bankrupt for the past decade.
    The CBC has a reported unfunded pension liability >50M$.They operate in the red every year.
    The question you need to ask is why hasn’t it been shut down?

22. William Skinner Avatar

” What then , is the future of the Caribbean can only be meaningfully discussed in terms of the of the possibilities for the emergence of an identity for the region and its peoples . The whole history of the Caribbean so far can be viewed as a conspiracy to block the emergence of a Caribbean identity-in politics , in institutions, in economics , in culture and in values. Viewed in historical perspective, the future way forward for the peoples of the Caribbean must be one which would impel them to start making their own history , to be subjects rather than objects of history , to stop being the playthings of other people. In this respect, the Caribbean has so far been the ” outsider “in the New World. ”
    Eric Williams , From Columbus to Castro. The history of the Caribbean.

Those among the vigilant have always seen the importance of what Williams said. It was true then and it is even more profound today.

23. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

I cannot find audited financials for the CBC that are more recent than 2012. Even back then the organization was technically bankrupt, with liabilities in excess of assets to the tune of over $30 million.

There are three operating arms of the corporation: TV, radio, and MCTV. Back then in 2012, radio made modest profit of over $2 million, MCTV made a substantial profit of over $16 million, TV made a substantial loss of almost $10 million, and everything was swamped by an administrative cost of over $12 million. I’m sure that TV losses have escalated sharply since then because of the failing viability of television advertising while MCTV profits have fallen sharply because in 2025 nobody needs cable television.

There is no viable way to reverse this financial catastrophe. Even if we shut down the TV channel completely and fired everyone associated with local TV production as well as the majority of the administrators at CBC, we still would have little chance of getting the corporation to profitability.

What is it that we want the CBC to accomplish? In its current form, it will always be sucking many many millions of dollars out of the public purse. Do we think that as a public we receive value for this investment?

How much are we prepared to invest year after year in the CBC knowing that it will never break even? What do we wish the CBC would accomplish with such an investment?

24. CBC is no different to many SOEs as the Auditor General’s reports will confirm. NHC is another good example.

25. Be reminded we have two issues being discussed which need to be addressed. If the CBC as a state agency should be abandoned? Certainly its current business model. The second issue is the inability of government to pay workers their emoluments.

26. @David February 7, 2025 at 2:08 pm “…editorial independence and financial stability.”

Does the DLP value editorial independence?

Does the BLP value editorial independence?

Aren’t the taxpayers pockets endlessly deep?

27. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

@ Cuhdear Bajan February 7, 2025 at 6:25 pm

1. No
    2. No
    3. No
    Therefore we should probably shut down CBC, sell the Radio stations to the private sector, sell MCTV to the private sector, and sell the land in the Pine.

Expand GIS to be more digitally literate and make it responsible for all government communications without the pretense that it is editorially independent or financially self sufficient.

Leave all cultural development to the NCF and make them more digitally literate as well.

28. He is a yard fowl who sings for his supper and is the king of incompetence. Moral is so damn flipping low.

29. Amateurs talk tactics ………

While professionals study logistics

30. A reminder of the most recent 2022 Auditor General’s comment on the CBC,

Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation

5.39 The principal activity of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (the
    Corporation) is the provision of broadcasting services through radio and
    television. The Corporation reported that the audit of the accounts for the
    financial year ended 31st March, 2021 was completed; an unqualified
    audit opinion was issued. The audit of the accounts for the financial year
    ended 31st March, 2022 has been delayed due to challenges with the
    previous auditors.
    https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/document/e9dba2bc11b11ea1f738c8f85083af63.pdf

31. In The Prince, Machiavelli wrote …. ‘ men see things as they want them to be ……… and they are ruined for that’.

There’s no doubt that Eric Williams was one of the greatest humans ever to have existed, anywhere!

However, our present circumstances were never seen or could have been seen or considered by Williams and still are not being seen by a William!

32. Just sell the damn thing to the Trinis

33. The issue is not as straight forward to say sell it. Any potential buyer will not want to pick up the liability on the books, in which case taxpayers will have to be the ‘sop’ of last resort.

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

“The Corporation reported that the audit of the accounts for the
    financial year ended 31st March, 2021 was completed; an unqualified
    audit opinion was issued.”

I have frequently reminded BU, this GoB has no intention of sharing Reports with voters. They HAVE a Report from 2021, but steadfastly refuse to share it. Instead one is told ‘we got this, buy the BOSS Bonds nuh’.

Since @David mentioned the Auditor General, where is the Annual Report for 2023? Now 5 months later than it’s previous latest report date (Sept ’22)
    Where are the NIS Reports from ’10-16, the PM said on August 23, 2023 had been completed?
    Anyone wish to bet on two largest Accounts Receivable held by CBC?

35. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    Question: Is the Caribbean currently seen as a true insider of the global political game ?
    Can you seriously question what Williams and other Caribbean thinkers have been really saying about our unique historical journey and the need to firmly establish that Caribbean civilization/identity, as we must adapt to ever changing global realities ?
    You have every right to be dismissive but in one breath you claim to be an admirer of Lamming etc and in another you violently oppose everything he stands for.
    Your dexterity in analyzing global trends is not questioned by any one on BU but you seem to have some fascination with the machinations of the global players, who don’t give a damn about your race or the Caribbean.
    We are simply saying to you and others that we cannot be so dismissive of the Caribbean that we see it as some lap dog region that is incapable of anything other than being some “ plaything “as Williams asserted.
    While we will continue to give you credit where it is due , in terms of your firmly established ability to dissect global trends, we will continue to respond , when you blatantly try to nullify those who happen to see the Caribbean in a more positive and realistic manner.

36. @NO

The under resourced AG Office must be overwhelmed doing the special audit on HOPE?

37. “Just sell the damn thing to the Trinis”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The typical response of a people without self value, vision, leadership or even pride.

…and let’s use the sale money to pay salaries to our public officials so that they can ‘eat a food’…?
    …then, when that money is gone, we can sell our homes to rich ‘welcome stampers’ in time to have some quick cash for Christmas… while renting the house at bwhatever they choose to charge us…??
    …too bad our children won’t have any shiite left to sell – or even to use as a base to build on.

After all, we started with nothing ourselves.
    Why the Hell should our children be left with any inheritance that WE have to sacrifice for…?

IS THAT THE THINKING ???

What a LOST set of Brass Bowls…

@ PLT
    “The CBC cannot be saved. No matter how talented the manager or how dedicated the employees, the organization is unsustainable because technological change has rendered its business model completely untenable.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Wrong….
    OBVIOUSLY, …It cannot be saved with the CURRENT level of thinking that created the present chaos that exists in the FIRST place.
    Why does CBC have to allow technological change to be a challenge to its sustainability … RATHER THAN be the means of its success????

Is it that even YOUR vision is limited to ‘what has been’ – rather than what COULD be..?

What a place!!!

CBC (and everything else bout here) is DOOMED because our politicians INSIST on appointing their family, friends, political lackies and minions to MANAGE CRITICAL NATIONAL INFRASTRUCTURE…. and IGNORE REAL TALENT.

Ouff’s clip @7:34 speaks volumes…..
    and CBC’s management exemplifies the problem of incompetence and nepotism…

We are doomed by our own folly.

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

As @plt suggested you sell the various assets unencumbered. The liabilities remain with the Corporation.
    When the various sales are complete, and the receiver has collected all monies owing, they transfer the unfunded pension liability to the NISSS, along with a slew of Series XX Bonds to cover the costs.

39. @NO

Should have seen that one coming.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

Did you also see the write off of monies owed from elections by the two major political parties.

41. William Skinner Avatar

““Globalisation, the buzzword of the age, started in the Caribbean. Its population is drawn from every branch of the human family. The Americas, in terms of its indigenous people, Africa; Europe; and Asia, with respect to our Indian, Chinese and Indonesian populations. We have produced a new kind of global family in this region over the course of the past five centuries through the process of conquest, slavery and colonialism. In a nutshell, Europe erected its institutions on a base of African and Asian labour in this region. That has given us a particular kind of sensibility. You throw a West Indian or Caribbean person into any social situation (in Europe, America, or Africa for instance) and he or she will operate as if they have always inhabited the place. There is no sense of estrangement.”
    George Lamming

42. “You throw a West Indian or Caribbean person into any social situation (in Europe, America, or Africa for instance) and he or she will operate as if they have always inhabited the place. There is no sense of estrangement.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    @ William
    That is no compliment.

Even in our own islands we tend to be subservient, outward-looking, and mendicant. It is NOT difficult to fit in ANYWHERE with such characteristics.
    Jamaicans are of course in some ways, the unmistakable exception (as there always is)

One finds difficulty ‘fitting in’ when one is SELF-CONFIDENT, INDEPENDENT, SELF-ASSURED and ASSERTIVE.
    So we will tend to fit nicely ANYWHERE… like meek sheep.

BTW @William
    Your focus on Caribbean unity is outdated by at least 50 years.
    Those days are LONG gone, when there was some strength in numbers.
    Modern strenth resides in CHARACTER, VISION, CREATIVITY and FLEXIBILITY.
    Size is now TOTALLY meaningless.

The smallest discreet unit now has the capacity to make seismic GLOBAL impacts via technology, knowledge, vision and creativity.

At the same time, MANY large entities – some hundreds of times LARGER than the combined Caribbean, are in a piss poor state – many even worse than ours…

Look carefully and you will see that what actually matters is QUALITY LEADERSHIP.

Owen Arthur was similarly misguided, and mis-led Brassbados badly with his CARICOM nonsense.
    Those who followed him have been even more clueless….

43. @NO

“Did you also see the write off of monies owed from elections by the two major political parties”

Missed that memo.

44. BT has been quite correct in his recent pronouncement. To expand on one of his arguments … our fitting in is merely our ability to meekly accept whatever situation we are placed in.

Let me raise the volumes. At times, I have felt that the introduction of SOME West Indians to the mix is to take a step backward; they arrived uninformed, feel themselves superior to the oppressed and become a new set of Uncle Toms. I accept that Toms from every region, so there is n need to point this out.

45. William Skinner

Our response will be rooted in Afrikan-ness!

What is so positive or realistic about the last 60 years of independence?

On reflection, did we not miss your best opportunity to create a one-Caribbean ethos?

This writer’s Afrikan-ness requires every succeeding generation to be better than the last. Of course, there are many times contradictions, especially when the last 150,000 years are duly considered. Neither, Eric Williams nor Lamming nor you, ever considers this as the basis for the future.

And as much respect as this writer will always have for those Ancestors, and weee claim them ALL, they were not perfect, on reflection they did not always do what they could have been or what was required.

So unlike you, this writer prefers a longer, deeper, berth. However, and unlike your predeterminations, being positive and realistic requires this and following generations of Afrikan peoples to do better, to seek perfection. A perfection more deeply rooted than your mindset allows.

You have serially conplained about our postings of YouTube videos but now you unearth quotes from Lamming and Williams to make points which are undeniable but which cannot possible still explain all the forces which bedevil Afrikan peoples everywhere.

And unlike you, Lamming and Williams this writer fails to see a successful developmental regional project for the Caribbean, as presently constructed, unconnected to the peoples of Afrika as located in our world.

One stark weakness within the thinking of Williams, Lamming and yourself lies within the logic of the uncomfortable amalgamations of peoples from other places, sometimes ignoring the people who were already here 150,000 years before, but arguing that the last 500 years is enough to construct an independent civilizational project.

This writer’s Afrikan grounding has always been the difference between us – you, Lamming and Williams. And unlike you, we see no perfection within either of these two great and revered Ancestors or any other.

Must there not be a point when everything, everyone, is questioned?

Are Lamming and Williams to be eternally deified?

Can we still, interminable, continue to believe that a 500 year project should be compared to that which gave birth to all that there is?

And if Afrikan peoples gave birth to all that is, is this grander design not worthy of assumption?

46. @ Bush Tea
    Your response is typical of those who are not grounded in where the Caribbean future lies. Yes we can write about inferior leadership and lack of vision forever however nobody has ever denied these shortcomings but the more progressive thinking is where do we go from here.
    BTW, you are one of the main proponents of a book that has been around for a few thousand years and others on BU and elsewhere question that book and even your faith/religion. Some say the book is not only outdated but it’s a fantasy.
    Does that stop you from believing in your faith and what it promises ? Certainly not !
    Well, my Brother , that’s the same way I feel about the creation of a New Caribbean Nation; our civilisation and identity.
    You would note that we never get into religious argument/discussion. We respect peoples right to believe in their faith/religion. Quite frankly, we respect people of all faiths.
    However, we will continue to believe in the future of the Caribbean. Slavery was abolished in 1838 , that represents a period of less than 200 years. If where we are today, is not one of the greatest feats in modern civilisation kindly tell me , what is.

47. Sell the damn thing to Bushie and appoint John A as CEO