Submitted by FFed Up

There is a famous saying emanating from the late Australian-born, British judge, Lord Atkin (1867-1944) that: “Justice is not a cloistered virtue: she must be allowed to suffer the scrutiny and respectful comments of ordinary men”, like Tom, Dick, Harry and myself.

A case heard recently in the Supreme Court involved two police officers and an attorney, Lani Daisley. The latter was awarded $373,904. I’m not interested in the facts of the incident, per se, as those were dealt with by the judge. My concern is with the peculiar behaviour of the state in the case. For those who are really following, alarm bells should have sounded.

It is now a matter of public record that for a case/accusation so alarming, so vexatious, so grievous, so incendiary, so critical of the Barbados Police Service and by extension the state, the office of the Attorney General, and by extension the Government, had no legal representative at the hearing. Let me repeat that. An accusation of a most heinous nature was made against the state, but the state did not represent/defend itself.

But it gets even more curious. Having not defended itself – whether it had a viable defence or not – I am now reading today that the Attorney General’s office is appealing the quantum of damages. I have been checking other jurisdictions to see if the populace of other places is subjected to this type of cloistered virtue and it seems that Barbadians, often accused of frequently being in a state of somnolence, mainly entertain this type of assault on their intelligence. If the Government did not see it necessary to defend itself, why seek to reduce the quantum of damages – which is subject to increase at appeal by the way. 

What the hell is going on behind closed doors that is not suffering scrutiny and more respectful comments from ordinary Barbadians?

Mind you, this Government that is now seeking to reduce the quantum of damages awarded Daisley, is the same Government that awarded an estimated seven-figure sum to about 13 police officers, collectively, who actually LOST a case brought against the state related to promotions. The separation of powers did not simply go through the window; it was kicked over a cliff. 

But wonders never cease. Ms. Daisley has an appeal pending before the Court of Appeal. Would anyone be alarmed if her appeal, and that of the Attorney General’s office against the quantum of her damages, be heard together before the same panel? 

The Barbados Bar Association is within its rights to speak out for its members and for justice in general. Hopefully, it will apply equal fervour to addressing the rule of law in this country and what many view as its precarious perch at the edge of Hackleton’s Cliff.

27 responses to “The law is a big RH ass”

1. The headline is misleading. In this case it is not the “Law”, it is the people who control the various levers of power in the Atty. General’s office up to and including the Atty General.

2. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

ANOTHER DAY – ANOTHER STINKING ROTTING PILE OF JOBBY*

The inextricable link between what is construed as the damnable link of common “LAWFARE” & the “FEBRILE MASS PSYCHOSIS” satiating the cerebral cortex of men/women who are visibly impaired & impacted by the “METASTATIC LESION OF MONETARY GAIN” which is nothing more than the 2 BURNING OUTSTRETCHED WINGS on the same ‘ole “nasty “ALL-CONSUMING DRAGON”!!!

The “SO-CALLED” masters of this “DIMLY LIT” universe or better yet – “LIVING-DEAD UNDERVERSE”, somehow believe that they control the “LEVERS OF ESOTERIC POWER” – when in reality, they are just a “BUNCH OF PAWNS & PUPPETS” being manipulated by “DARKFORCES” – whose work is fashioned in the “CRUCIBLE OF HELLISH CONCUPISCENCE” – lurking in the miasmic shadows of a world about 2 “IMPLODE SPECTACULARLY”!!!

The law has always been a “overburdened JACKASS” & to some extent – a “MULE” that carries the burdensome load of “UNENLIGHTENED” men/women up the smooth side of a dangerous mountain – when seen in the cold, harsh light of the “god” of “MAMMON” (who has no equal or remonstrates with lesser mortals), swiftly sweeps aside all contestation with the stroke of a hand!!!

Barbadian “JURISPRUDENCE” is a “DAMP SQUID”!!! It remains a nation that continues to “SWEAT THE SMALL STUFF” – refusing 90+ percent of the time 2 deal with the “WEIGHTIER MATTERS”, as the length, breadth & height of the country & its populace can “RISE NO HIGHER” than “MOUNT HILLABY” which stands at a precariously 1,115 feet (343 meters) for some who cannot ascend the “HEIGHTS” of “TRANSCEDENCE” – while the “TIN-FOIL HAT “gods” “WHO CLAIM MOUNT OLYMPUS” as their dwelling place, are nothing more than “SQUATTERS” claiming the best “ROUGE” in their man-made “SHANTY-TOWNS”!!!

“THIS IS “ARTIFICIAL* INTELLIGENCE*” (emphasis on “ARTIFICIAL”) – where synonymistic allusion to “ARTIFICIAL” inclusive of “MAN-MADE”, SYNTHETIC” & FABRICATED” concoctions – conveying the idea of something created & produced by human “FRAGILITY” – rather than occurring within a “NATURAL ENVIRON”!!!

For just as everything today is “PLASTIC BASED” – including your money & even what you “EAT & INGEST” – so are the “CHAKRAS” within the neuroplasticity pathways of the neural networks within the “QUANTUM MAINFRAME” that is the “BRAIN”; where the “ORIGINAL” is replaced by some “ARTIFICAL ARTIFICE” & “MOSS-PIT” is to see who can grab the “USELESS SPOILS”!!!

IT’S ALL PLASTIC DEMONOLOGY!!!

Time 2 “GET REAL” folks!!!

Everything you hold dear is about to go 2 “HELL IN A PAN_CART” & folks are being “LULLED” back 2 sleep, as invisible hands pull the moth-eaten blanket over your damn heads!!!

3. @TB

How is money plastic based?

4. @Terence M Blackett December 23, 2024 at 9:16 am “For just as everything today is “PLASTIC BASED” – including your money & even what you “EAT & INGEST” – so are the “CHAKRAS” within the neuroplasticity pathways of the neural networks within the “QUANTUM MAINFRAME” that is the “BRAIN”; where the “ORIGINAL” is replaced by some “ARTIFICAL ARTIFICE” & “MOSS-PIT” is to see who can grab the “USELESS SPOILS”!!!”

Dear Terence: Can you please explain what this means in Bajan or in English? Thanks

5. We all know, right, that the fuel which runs cruise ships is petroleum/plastic based, right?

6. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WHEN THE LAW MAKES ZERO COMMONSENSE – WHO CAN EVEN TRUST SUCH A SYSTEM: UNBEWEAVABLE!!!

7. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

@David & CB

WHEN I CITE THE PLASTIC AKA FAKE NATURE OF EVERYTHING – THE REASONS ARE CITED BELOW WITH ONLY THE TIP OF THE ICEBERG BEING ADDRESSED

For example, POLYMER BANKNOTES” AKA #PlasticMoney are banknotes made from a “SYNTHETIC” polymer such as “BIAXIALLY ORIENTED POLYPROPYLENE” (BOPP – NOT THE INSECT KILLER)!!!

Such “BANK NOTES” or “FAKE PAPER MONEY” incorporate many security features not “SUPPOSEDLY” available in paper banknotes, including the use of “METAMERIC” inks given the issue is NOT* about “PAPER” but about the ability to “CLONE”, “FALSIFY”, “DUPLICATE”, “COPY” & “COUNTERFEIT”!!!

In regards to food products, research suggests that many foods contain “MICROPLASTICS” & “NANOPLASTICS”, often due to packaging materials & the inclusion into the actual product!!!

For example:

*Tea bags releasing billions of microplastic particles
    *Rice containing 3-13 milligrams of plastic per serving
    *Bottled water containing up to 240,000 plastic particles per litre
    *Many foods packaged in plastic containers shedding tiny plastic fragments

“DODGY EYED CHINESE” peddle plastic food products rampant across many sectors, especially “FAKE RICE” or “PLASTIC RICE” have been a subject of concern & debate for years. While there have been reports of plastic rice being sold in China & other countries, notably, Africa & Southeast Asia, the extent & authenticity of these foods are disputed by the “CHINESE FOOD MAFIA”!!!

In 2011, rumours emerged about “PLASTIC RICE” being produced in China, allegedly made from “IRISH POTATOES”, “SWEET POTATOES”, & “INDUSTRIAL SYNTHETIC RESIN”(AKA – PLASTIC***)!!!

The Chinese Restaurant Association (CRA) reportedly warned that eating (3) bowls of this “FAKE RICE” would be equivalent to eating “ONE PLASTIC BAG” ( #Yummy)!!!

However, subsequent investigations by Chinese authorities & international organizations failed to confirm widespread production or sale of plastic rice!!!

In 2016, viral videos & social media posts claimed to show “BOUNCING RICE BALLS” & “PLASTIC RICE” being manufactured & sold in Afrika. While these videos may have been authentic, some Chinese argued that they were often misinterpreted or exaggerated, fuelling widespread panic & misinformation!!!

CLASSIC

Chinese authorities have conducted several investigations into “FOOD FRAUD”, including a 2012 crackdown on 350 cases of counterfeit liquor & a 2016 discovery of 500,000 food-safety inspection violations in (9) months. While these efforts have led to some convictions & closures of illegal factories, the widespread production or sale of plastic rice remains guarded!!!

Food Safety standards within the China’s food industry has faced numerous scandals, including:

*Contaminated wheat protein
    *Sewage used in tofu manufacturing
    *Honey diluted with beetroot or rice syrup
    *Poisonous foods
    *Industrial salt used in food production
    *Contaminated baby formula (2004 & 2008)

To reduce exposure to plastic contamination in food, Western experts recommend:

*Avoiding foods stored in plastic containers
    * Choosing glass, enamel, or foil packaging
    *Wearing natural fabrics & buying products made from natural materials
    *Avoiding microwaving in plastic containers
    *Eating fresh foods & limiting processed foods wrapped in plastic

Now that “BIO-DEGRADABLE PLASTICS” have become increasingly mainstream, the “PLASTICS REVOLUTION” will continue to feed an increasingly growing human population given that from “FAKE MEATS – FAKE EVERYTHING ELSE” will be part of the “BUFFET TABLE” of hungry “HUMANS” whose bellies are their #god!!!

LET THE VIDEO SPEAK 4 ITSELF

8. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

MAKE SURE YOU KNOW WHAT IS ON YOUR BUFFET TABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

9. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

IT’S THE HOLIDAYZ – EAT, DRINK, BE MERRY 4 TOMORROW YOUR GUTS WILL TELL YOU THAT YOU CONSUMED POISONS

10. When the law is an ass it’s long been interpreted as having something wrong with it, in whole or part.

We daré say that the prime reason for law has always been to protect the elites. For this reason Barrow had asked us to stay away from Coleridge Street, and he is still right!

That the government did not enter this case was Indeed a good thing. For maybe they reasoned that this case would have made the law less than an ass. Maybe the AG was asleep at the wheel, maybe!

True, that they have now determined to make the law more of an ass by seeking to interfere with a judge’s verdict means a further reversal of the perception about judicial independence even when these notions historically never really existed.

This writer has no care for either the government’s current politically inspired position or the people of Barbados who themselves have never opposed the hundreds of years of legal criminality.

Indeed, that judgements for higher and higher payments was always going to be the natural consequences of the lawfare system as practices in Barbados was clear.

What judges should now seek to do is to impose higher and higher money judgements on the crown and the Bajan people, by extention, as is the normalcy in the Mother Country. America. Such a tactical response could be seen as a deterrence and in anticipation of government’s lawfare attemps.

Maybe the people will finally wake up!

11. @TB

Interesting perspective. Unclear how the average person can protect against the plastic pollution?

12. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

“Unclear how the average person can protect against the plastic pollution?”

Eat “ORGANIC” plant-based from trust sources…

“GROW YOUR OWN FOOD”…

#GetOutOfTheCities

THAT’S A START!!!

13. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

IS IT NOT TIME 2 LOBBY YOUR GOV* REGARDING THE SCIENCE OF MICROPLASTICS & THE DAMAGING EFFECTS IT IS HAVING ON THE BODIES OF OUR CHILDREN & LOVED ONES???

Are they also part of the process of trying 2 “KILL US”???

THIS IS WAR

Things have to change!!!

#YouDecide

14. @TB

One, this would present a demand supply problem for Barbados, two, it is an expensive type of food in a market already high price and last but by no means least, the convenient ‘fast food’ lifestyle is ubiquitous.

We have to suffer the consequences of this choices we make.

15. “We have to suffer the consequences of the choices we make.”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    And we do, and will!

That has been the point that Bushie has been trying to make all along.
    Thanks for making it so clearly Boss.

16. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

“One, this would present a demand supply problem for Barbados, two, it is an expensive type of food in a market already high price and last but by no means least, the convenient ‘fast food’ lifestyle is ubiquitous… We have to suffer the consequences of the choices we make…”

SORRY BRUH – UNACCEPTABLE!!!

“WHERE THERE IS NO VISION* – THE PEOPLE PERISH…”

My “LOVELY QUEEN” & I decided 2 start our Nov – Dec Caribbean leg of our vacation sabbatical in Grenada, because we were looking to explore where would be a good fit 4 a second home & possibly a third down the road – (given the fractious nature of world #PoLIEtics) & at our age, all we want 2 do is “TRAVEL THE WORLD” & make whatever small difference we can make in people’s lives!!!

One of the reasons we wanted to explore “THE SPICE ISLAND” was because of the “GLARING REPORTS” & so said – “SO DONE”!!!

An article in 2018 spurred on this “GREEN DRIVE AGENDA” – as cited in the below piece:

https://travelweekly.co.uk/articles/311492/grenada-bans-single-use-plastics

In every supermarket across, Grenada, Carriacou et al, “PLASTICS” are discouraged & a type of “COTTON-MESH-LIKE” shopping bag is sold 4 cents “WITH THE ADDED OPTION OF BUYING A BAG 4 LIFE”…

I brought back a dozen or so to the UK, to see if we can explore “POTENTIAL” business opportunities with “SUPERMARKET GIANTS” like Tesco et al, to see how we can completely phase out “PLASTIC BAGS” in Britain – #Period!!!

The “ELLEN MACARTHUR FOUNDATION” in concert with the Grenadian GOV* proposed the following in 2021 – (DURING THE PLAN*DEMIC) – something, our Foundation would have proffered likewise in BIM* (but the “CURRENT MOTTLEY CREW GOV”) leaves a bad taste in the mouth, & maybe other parts of the anatomy as well!!!

However, this is what EMF earmarked for Grenada:

“Incentivising the use of reusable, recyclable, or compostable plastic packaging
    Progress made over the reporting period…”

Activities and progress made on incentivising reusable, recyclable or compostable plastic packaging…”

“Delivery of awareness raising and education campaigns”:

“An updated fact sheet was prepared and shared in March 2021 for use in online virtual “clinics” offered to all but targeting importers, brokers and supermarket chains on the regulation and on compliant alternatives and the steps to ensure compliance; Updated public educational material was prepared and circulated to businesses electronically (due to COVID in person visits were not well supported); A capacity building booklet was updated for use in training customs officers on the legislation…”

“Promotion of collaboration with the private sector, including small and medium-sized enterprises, and civil society organisations: A Waste Characterization study was undertaken and is being shared in a participatory manner via focus group discussion and capacity building validation workshops on island…”

Almost (4) years on, changes have been made on the ground!!!

I saw it 1st hand!!!

So while “EXCUSES” maybe a crocus bag a dozen – “SOLUTIONS” must be “AVANT GARDE” & REAR GUARD”, – all at the same time, in order for “MEANINGFUL CHANGE” 2 come!!!

17. @ Terence
    Grenada is owned and controlled by Grenadians largely. It is only obvious that they will make decisions that are in the interest of their people and especially their children as best that they can.
    Brassbados is owned by foreigners and albino-centric ‘Plantation types’, whose ONLY interest is quarterly profits.

Why would someone from Massy / Sagicor / Parkland / Sandy Lane / Banks / CIBC / BL&P / etc etc, give a jobby if microplastics are bad for Bajan children?
    Why would an EMERA executive give a poop what Bajans have to pay for electricity or fuel charges – once their profits are steady?

Have you noted how quickly Grenade DUMPED Emera from THEIR island? THEY are not BLIND!

Brassbados is the land of ‘Want-to-be-Slaves’.
    So we borrow, and borrow and borrow – because EVERYONE (especially the LENDER) knows that ‘the borrower is the slave to the lender’…

What a place…
    What blindness..

It is what happens whenever we turn our backs on our Creator.

18. @TB

Understanding the challenges faced by a majority of the population through your prism simplifies the problem. The vast majority of people are ‘controlled’ due to many factors. Why do people smoke? Why do people commit murder and other crimes? Why do drivers operate bat crazy on our roads?

19. @Bush Tea

You have to see Grenada as part of the sub region and how they have operated through the years.

#OECS

20. @ Bush Tea,
    You are a domestic Bajan. You are of a certain age that remembers what life was like in the Barbados of yesterday. We have evolved from the era of the dreaded Watchman to a new one; where the design of our built infrastructure has limited,severely, access to our public beaches.

Your typical Bajan has for 400 years simmered in a cast iron pot placed on a wood oven stove. They are incapable of freeing themselves by jumping out of that pot.

How can you compare the children of Maurice Bishop to the Mottley clan.

https://nationnews.com/2010/06/11/guard-at-the-top-of-the-gap/

21. @ David
    “You have to see Grenada….”
    ~~~~~~~~
    No…!
    YOU have to see Bajans as actual brass bowls – who, as TLSN says, are the REMNANTS of 500 years of TOTAL DEGRADATION, resulting in a level of SELF-DEGRADATION that is unmatched ANYWHERE else.

NO WHERE ELSE do you have a leader actually travelling the world SELLING OUT their own country to the highest bidder.
    No WHERE ELSE do you have a situation where FOREIGNERS OWN the fields and hills, and beaches, and banks, and utilities, and supermarkets, and insurance companies, and even the damn Cave.
    Shiite, Boss, where we have not yet managed to sell critical assets to some rich money grabbing stranger, we have HIRED them to come and manage such entities as the damn hospital, Hilton, Airport … a little shiite cave…

We are so stupid and hopeless -it seems, that we have hapilly ADOPTED the IMF to come and manage the damn government and country… and tell us what we can and cannot do.

Tell Bushie how such IDIOCY is even contemplatable – UNLESS someone placed a BIG BIG CURSE on our donkeys…. and built a monument to that fact…

What a place…!!!

22. @Bush Tea there isn’t a scintilla of hope?

23. “…..isn’t a scintilla of hope?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    HOPE?
    Are you SERIOUS Boss?
    The whole point is that this current clear atmosphere of hopelessness is the greatest blessing of all – except that we INSIST on being blind.

For ALL of history there was always only ONE meaningful HOPE.
    – that of realizing the PURPOSE for which the CREATOR of everything intended for humanity. Everything else is bullshit…. good only to make a fire when dried.

We have always been distracted from the truth about our potential by trivia dangled before our eyes by jealous spiritual forces who are envious of the POTENTIALITIES allocated for brass bowls – as compared to other spiritual entities.

Distractions like…
    – Power over other mortal BBs
    – Sex, reveling, gluttony, envy etc have been used to distract us from the ONLY prize of any lasting value.
    – But material posessions have, by far become the driving force that blinded us from the truth.

When we are going after ‘first world status’ (aiming to become top class albino-centric exponents) all we wanted to know was about GDP growth, free education, and a car in every garage. We became as FAR AWAY from the REAL PURPOSE of life as it is possible to become.
    ….we ended up with CLICO, Eddykashun, Froon and Stinkliar, and now Mama Baba and her almost forty captains…. and in the hands of the IMF, and of the foreign blood suckers called ‘investors’.

So you would think that now that the bottom has fallen out of our materialistic dreams, people would take a step back and consider other possibilities – such as the ONLY REAL HOPE that there is, as determined by the Creator.

To offset this possibility, the demons have concocted a major diversion in the name of ‘Global warming’ or ‘Climate Change’ – suggesting that the current OBVIOUS death throes we are seeing, are just reversible trends that can get us back to the ‘good old days’ – if only we can stop using fossil fuels and go solar….
    Much like when a certain Pastor proclaimed that David Thompson would not die..

But..
    There IS HOPE Boss….
    Serious hope ..of a positive long-term future as prescribed by the actual CREATOR of project Life on Earth.
    The challenge is being able to see past the brassbowlery and the blindness…

24. @Bush Tea

According to your perspective we are in a right pickle.

25. Worse than a pickle then, it seems – Boss…

So are you telling Bushie that now that it has become clear to EVERYONE that, (as the recent prophets have been saying over and over,) “Babylon MUST fall”, …‘we’ are in a pickle because the ONLY VIABLE alternative option now left, is to choose the path that was ordained by the super-intelligent beings who created us and everything that we are able to experience?
    …a path of righteousness, love and community-centric living?

THAT is the pickle?

Did the REAL pickle not exist when the illusion of material prosperity clouded our judgement and led us to turn AWAY from the Creator’s prescribed path …and towards one of greed, selfishness and pride?

A great Bushman once reflected – ‘Blessed are the poor, spiritually, for THEY shall not be distracted from their rightful inheritance.’ (or words to that effect).
    The coming hard times are therefore intended to refocus, restore and return real HOPE to the misguided among us.
    But 500 years of albino-centric brainwashing and genocidal self-esteem assault are NOT easy challenges to overcome…. so we DO have a pickle indeed…

26. BTW Boss
    BU is ominously silent on the massive ‘drone’ / UFO phenomenon currently based in NJ but also around the world (even here in BB)..

What?!
    Cat got yuh tongue ?

What a time!

27. @Bush Tea

At this point what can we say? We are left to speculate.

https://youtu.be/waRix_q8QUU?si=CBYZtcUXDkXu3bxZ