Barbadians have understandably been distracted by the badness unravelling within the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in recent months. The internal strife means the DLP has reneged on its responsibility of being an effective political opposition. Despite several political parties registered to operate in Barbados the DLP is the only mass-based political party and an entrenched member of the duopoly. Regrettably there is no credible third solution on the political horizon although Solutions Barbados merits a footnote.

parliamentary opposition (in a multi-party system) with an official leader of the opposition, which generally takes on an adversarial role,[12] presenting arguments against the government’s policies. In certain countries, the leader of the opposition is expected to be ready to form a government if the office of head of government becomes vacant.

Wikipedia

The point to emphasise is the criticality of a functioning opposition in the system of government practiced by Barbados. It is with good reason therefore Barbadians of the non yard fowl breed continue to be dispirited by the protracted drama playing out within the DLP. The text posted on the highjacked DLP’s website states – “We have been fighting since 1955 for a just society for all Barbadians“. It should be restated to read – we have been fighting since 2018 to perpetuate an unjust society.

A consequence of the DLP breaking its promise to the electorate has given the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) a ‘free ride’. It is no secret the BLP won ALL the seats in the last two general elections. Shutout from the Lower House a beleaguered DLP has been unable to advocate and agitate on behalf of Barbadians. Thankfully the much maligned social media has had to fill the void notwithstanding the constraints.

The Mottley led government on November 30, 2021 moved the country kicking and screaming to a republic. Three years later after the Constitutional Reform Commission (CRC) was established to submit a Draft Constitution Bill the effort remains outstanding. Save the excuses!

After announcing in 2022 that Barbados has not had parliamentary reform since 1971, the Cheltenham Commission on Parliamentary Reform was established. As far as the blogmaster is aware recommendations from the report have not been socialised with the public or changes introduced arising from the report. The importance of the reform becomes urgent given the near parliamentary crisis that occurred when the BLP won all the seats in 2018.

After dragging its feet to enact the Integrity in Public Life Act last year one is left to speculate how long will it take to operationalise the Integrity Commission to oversee the process. The Attorney General has been busy with the crime situation and our moribund judicial system but the Prime Minister explained the reason for a large Cabinet, many hands make light work eh?

There were several promises made by the government that are outstanding BUT the three initiatives mentioned challenge the foundation to efficiently governing ourselves. Despite a large public relations support team the public is left to speculate about the status of these and other government initiatives. Who is the ‘master, who is the servant’ in the current arrangement.

The rise of citizen journalism in Barbados has been a godsend BUT it cannot replace an effective political opposition in the House of Assembly, it can only complement.

67 responses to “BLP ‘unchallenged’”

1. There is no opposition
    The so called Leader of Opposition was a BLP cadre who went on a sulk
    In his gabby meandering rambling speeches he digresses about BLP corruption but he has no facts to back it up

2. perhaps the constitution could be updated as follows
    29 seats are contested in an election for Parliament
    1 seat is reserved for Best Losers

3. The title should read “Mia Unchallenged” rather than “BLP ‘unchallenged’ “.

From the infancy of the BLP’s mal administration. I stated that the two most important portfolios in government: Prime Minister and Finance Minister should not rest in the hands of one person.

The reasons for this are so painfully evident that even a blind man would be able to see the logic in this statement. That this has gone unnoticed with no coverage in either the media or on BU is profoundly shocking.

This oversight or some would say level of ignorance displayed in a so called “Democratic” country remains shocking.

Yes, the DLP is a shambles and remains unelectable. The BLP appears to be governed in a despotic manner whilst the DLP remains out of power and impotent. The opposition rests with the BLP elected MPs. Will they start to act in the interests of the country or will they continue to look away whilst tort is being practised on a grand scale against the sovereignty of the nation’s population.

What ever happened to the much publicised constitution?

4. Citizen journalism cannot be depended upon if one is watching how governments in Western countries are seeking to criminalize such activities on the internet.

Even in Barbados as well!

In France, just a couple of days ago, an attempt was made by the modern day Napoleon-like dictator there to arrest the owner of Telegam. This is a man who previously had similar troubles in Russia too.

We can talk about Assange, Medhurst. The list is long.

Indeed, there is a mountain of incontrovertible evidence that with the collapse of the Western powers and the deployment of all kinds of warfare to extend dominance, that propaganda has become the indispensable means of so doing.

So even as these wars, on all fronts, are being lost, the West retains the most potent misinformation, disinformation structures ever known to man. And they are not alone in insisting that backdoors be set up for the free entry of their intelligence agencies.

Evidence how some people right here on BU have been made to believe untruths, time and time again, about the NATO War in Ukraine, the Zionist Genocide in Palestine, the possibility that either the BLP or DLP or any combination thereof could solve any of our real problems this country faces.

Within this schema there is no future for citizen journalists, independent journalists, bloggers and the like.

More pertinently, though the DLP has done some additional short and médium term damage to itself, the BLP continues to at least underperform.

Indeed, the damage the BLP is currently doing to Barbados, nascently, may at some time in the future amount to another lost decade as characterized by others.

When one considers where the country is currently, or is likely to go within a médium to long term horizon, only a vision which goes beyond this wider political culture is worthy of national consideration.

5. Pavel Durov

6. @TLSN

There is some merit to your suggestion to ‘legislate’ the separation of the finance portfolio but if all minsters serve at the pleasure of the PM what is the point?

7. Racism is the best example of memes on the internet and in news
    social media pushes them out at industrial levels
    news media pushes them out ‘for balance’

Times News is still moaning about 2020 / George Floyd / #BlackLivesMatter / Slavery Reparations / #Wokeness etc on several pages in several articles every day

The same racist memes are pushed out every year before during and after #NottingHillCarnival

8. Kiki 5:20

Now you are clearly the quintessential BLP pimp!

Did the president not swear him in?

Has he been the first person under Westminster to have so arrived as LoO?

9. William Skinner Avatar

@TLSN
    We provide the following :
    Mia Mottley : Prime Minister , Minster of Finance
    Ryan Straughn : Minister in the Ministry of Finance
    Shantal Munro-Knight :Minister of Culture in the Prime Minister’s Office
    William Duguid : Senior Minister in the Prime Minister’s office , responsible for Town Planning
    Additionally , the Prime Minister has a number of people within her office with some dubious titles. We seldom hear of or from them.
    Many people even in the press mistakenly refer to Straughn as the Minister of Finance. Note recently how the PM literally marginalised the Minister of Sport and was fully in charge of the T20 World Cup. She now has a so-called “semi professional “football league playing for the “Prime Minister’s Cup”
    Mia is the Maximum Leader …………………….

10. The REAL challenge that we face is our continued belief that we can elect two similar sets of dishonest, egotistical, bribe-taking political brass bowls – based on their ability to talk pretty and tell lies with a straight face…
    ..AND expect them to hold each other accountable and to collectively move our country forward.

Every SENSIBLE organization that we know of invest serious resources in head-hunting the very best available leadership, in succession planning, and in performance management and accountability AS A MINIMUM…. and even so, many struggle to succeed.

WE on the other hand, somehow expect that two packs of jackasses, who, outside of the political sphere (where bribes and free rides are provided,} cannot even support their own damn families, to lead us to success.

Our current position and path to bankruptcy should have been OBVIOUS for decades now… if we were not as blind as bats..

Unfortunately – having planted shiite seeds at planting time, it is not possible, at harvest time, to change the fruit that will result.

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

“The Mottley led government on November 30, 2021 moved the country kicking and screaming to a republic.”
    Really? I thought punting the Queen was rather unanimous. I was one of the few idiots who questioned the change, only as it related to not having an altered Constitution ‘ready to go’.
    Most Commissions are a waste of time. Very little traditionally comes from them. They ‘buy time’.
    Last Sunday, was exactly a year, the PM told us NIS Reports from ’10-16 had been completed. WHERE the RH are those Reports? Why haven’t they been laid in the House?

12. “Now you are clearly the quintessential BLP pimp!”

It has been said right here on the Bu by the King, that I don’t understand the nuance of Bajan political fighting and backstabbing ways..

.. which may well be true as it all seems so basic and primitive to me, like Millwall and West Ham’s football hooliganism rivalry and their notorious factions, namely West Ham’s Inter City Firm and Millwall’s Bushwackers. This feud has been marred by violence on various occasions whenever they play close to each other.

For the record I have never ever voted for a BLP or a DLP or a Solutions Barbados fellow in all my born days.. Promises are a comfort to a fool and reducing crime and unemployment in election manifestos is like offering free food for votes

13. @NO

There was general support but there were segments who dissented for different reasons.

14. “Last Sunday, was exactly a year, the PM told us NIS Reports from ’10-16 had been completed.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    @NO
    Can you recall if this was said with a straight face and with smooth verbosity?

If so, that is all the comfort that Bajan BBs require.

15. Kiki

The absence of a vote does the characteristics of a political pimp avoid.

Further, you were also a liar.

For there is clear evidence that this BLP is deeply corrupted in many ways. The Hope housing business for one. Why then would they stymie its investigation into the spending of over 60M?

Recently, there were even echoes of the cheque scandal the ‘great’ Tom Adams acted out or feigned in parliament.

Of course, the DLP has never answered for its past acts of corruption either, neither will future DLP or BLP administrations, even past ones.

But to argue that the LoO does not exit or is a nullity is foolishness.

The truth is that the systems both in England and Barbados are both deeply corrupted. But unfortunately they do exist!

16. Additionally , the Prime Minister has a number of people within her office with some dubious titles. We seldom hear of or from them

The weather woman is Cabinet Secretary responsible for We Gatherin’ 2020 and We Gatherin’ 2025. After that I guess she will be responsible for climate change since she used to read weather reports

17. Exist

18. @ David
    “The Hope Housing shows a project that has not gone to plan but it does not show corruption and it ain’t my problem”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Do Kiki a BIG favor – and ban his donkey for a while nuh man!!
    Yuh gwine let ‘e drown ‘eself in jobby?

He getting on like he is having a weed shortage or something…
    ..or perhaps he has a thorn stuck in his little burro…

19. @Bush Tea

He has been warned to avoid discussing matters he is ignorant but his head is as hard as AC.

20. Indeed!

This blp regime may be on the cusp of challenges unseen for over a hundred years.

Articles are starting to appear supportive of the idea that the leading European countries could face drastic economic declines, political upheavals, within the coming year.

Take your pick – Germany, UK, France

For example in the case of Germany we tender an anecdote.

It was the head of VW when being leaned upon to distance the company from China, he responded thusly.

China is the only place in the world where VW makes a profit, and if you deny us that, VW will go belly up in months.

They’re stories similar everywhere in so called Europe. And all these issues have their genesis with the absence of cheap Russian fuel.

When that shite hits the fan, plus contagion, is when the party in powah must again meet another real challenge.

21. “He has been warned to avoid discussing matters he is ignorant but his head is as hard as AC.”

Bajans are not half as bright as they think they are

I was more correct about Ralph being a bum than you were protecting him and his nasty ways

22. challenge.

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

“China is the only place in the world where VW makes a profit, and if you deny us that, VW will go belly up in months”

Where did you get this from? According to their Annual Report about 50% of VW profit comes from China, where they have 3 major JVs. Albeit, on only 30% of sales. Hence, China is likely VWs most profitable market.

24. Well!

Maybe you are becoming as if William Shakespeare (WS)

First, anecdote means unreliable or hearsay.

Second, we trust the quotation marks were attributed to Pacha and not Blume.

Third, would you expect that if the chair of VW was being pressured by the American and German politicians about sanctions and he’s said to have so responded that it would be quoted somewhere and so attributed?

Fourth, must all types of evidence, not proof, satisfactory to you meet a single standard.

Fifth, there are around 200 countries in the world. That one country is responsible for over 50 percent of VW’s sales or profits and given the meaning of the statement, is that not a reasonable, even if imprecise, statement.

Sixth, this writer cannot state here who told this anecdote because of a confidence. And you are not in any position to so demand.

The last words are yours.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Pacha
    Why would the western world leaders be pressuring VW to distance itself from China?
    Haven’t they (several Western nations) already placed large extra duties on Chinese made EV’s. And VW was losing share in China largely because it’s EV offerings were not competitive.
    Further, how many non-China based workers, in the Western countries would be sent packing if they distanced themselves.
    Or is this purely the western pols don’t like China?
    We already know the pols are not necessarily good business persons.
    Who is to buy VWs JV position?
    Seems VW might be lobbying the west to rescind their recent penalties on Chinese made EVs, for VW is one of the primary, even if not competitive in China, manufacturers.

26. Have you not been hearing Trump promising a slew of added sanctions or tariffs on China.

Can’t you see these sanctions as part of the hybrid warfare on China, even as Janet Yellen begs China not to be so productive.

So the West, as usual, are on the one hand begging and on the other preparing for war on China as the means to assert a waning dominance.

For the same reason they got the Europeans to stop buying cheap Russian gas – to buy their expensive gas, to strip Germany of its industrial capacities, and with a promise of cheap gas if they relocate to America.

You are not seeing the whole picture. In Mexico, which a member of the NAFTA, the leading Chinese auto companies are here. Yes, the tariffs will apply for exports next door. But Americans are coming to the border to buy and avoid paying the tariffs, double the price. Other markets in Central and South America.

Car sales are not the only competitive factor VW has. The Chinese are attracted to their technologies, would imagine.

The West care not about workers. They care about their corporate donors. Have you not witnessed how Europe has been de-industrialized to win a war.

If you presume that relations with China are not heading for war, you are wrong.

This is using tariffs and sanctions as the prelude to war and for war in and of themselves.

This is not about liking or hating anybody. This is about war. Why do you fail to see this after 20,000 sanctions on Russia.

Could it be that you have no ability to see the wickedness of Western countries led by America.

27. Dub,

All Bajans though?

28. @ D
    SomBUnall
    which means
    SOMe BUt Not ALL
    BU Bajans*

many Bajans do not BU

29. @ Pacha
    Interesting interview on Cuba.

How do you assess the current madness by Israel as they alienate the ENTIRE world with their barbaric attacks on Gaza and the West Bank?

Can you not see the work of spiritual forces at hand, driving such OBVIOUS madness?
    Is it not reminiscent of historical examples of CLEAR madness that led to global chaos?

The stage is being set for Israel and their allies to suffer EXACTLY the kind of barbarism THEMSELVES, that they are currently inflicting on those descendants of the architects of the Trans-Sahara-Slave travesty.
    Another set of butchers will soon be USED by Mother Karma to balance the outstanding reparations that are due for the Atlantic Slave Trade…

The ULTIMATE LAW of Nature is the one that says, that we will reap what we sow.
    …or as Prophet Bob put it “whosoever diggeth a well shall fall in it”.

That this applies down to the individual level should send shivers up the spines of brass bowls…. KNOWING that our greed, spite, vindictiveness and general brass bowlery AWAITS us and our children…

The ONLY good news (gospel) is the one that you have dispelled as ‘nonsense’…
    ie…
    That the CREATOR himself has made a personal sacrifice – that provides us with an escape route from the inevitability of Karma….

What an opportunity!
    What a plan

30. Bushie

There can be no doubt that these times are highly likely to end in a global cataclysm. The thing is that the vast majority of people are walking around in blissful ignorance of the orders of magnitude which could show themselves any day, any minute.

At times it’s difficult to follow these developments in circumstances where there is no popular imagination about where we have arrived.

On Palestine, we are still not convinced or lack the evidence to locate the horror of the Trans-Sahara Slave Trade specifically to the Palestinians. However, there is an abundance of incontrovertible evidence which condemns the Arabs generally.

In any event, and unlike you, just like weee would have been wrongly on the side of the Jews against Hitler, it’s difficult for us to cite possible past crimes in mitigation of current ones.

In any event, you yourself have rightly conceded that karma is not a zero sum game. We agree here.

Within the Arab world the Yemenis and the Palestinians were always amongst the lower classes. Should you be able to provide such evidence weee are willing to state this with the certainty possessed by you.

You talk about ‘good news’. Well, the same forces conducting this genocide in Palestine, in their Torah, Talmud and Bible strongly believe that their good news, not only purports that their god is a real estate agent, but that he gave them an exclusive and divine right to do anything to any other people because they have more misvahs or blessings than anybody else.

This represents a fundamental weakness of your general leanings. And weee know that you will agree that these so-called Jews are imposters. But that agreement does not move the needle one iota within the scenarios postulated.

We are not merely talking about those who call themselves Jews but Zionist-Christians as well. Btw, twenty percent of Palestinians are Christians. However, this factoid is never included within popular narratives.

In the end, we must agree that forces of wickedness unleashed within our world cannot be assuaged unless they are permitted to continue the wickedness characteristic.

And the forces in opposition thereto have been put into a position from which weeee will have to choose between the continuation of total submission and death.

This writer, when faced with these options, chooses death!

Lastly, it may therefore be an impossibility to convince us that your book, your schema, which lacks validity, which was authored by these same demonic Jews, which is central to all the wickedness in the world, could have anything to tell us to move the needle even an inch except on the wickedness scale.

31. What kind of god visits the sins of the father upon the son and generations yet unborn.

It happens because it happens. What we do affects our offspring in natural ways and unnatural ways. Flawed human beings take revenge. Society is flawed in its outlook etc.

But for a god to decree that my offspring be brutally murdered because I murdered somebody would be the opposite of justice.

Just as it would be unjust for me to be under some man’s foot because of one woman called Eve.

NONSENSE!

32. LOL @ Pacha
    You are a BB after Bushie’s own heart.

So let the bushman get this right…

If some shiite blogger comes on BU and claims the SHE is actually Pachamama, and goes on to highlight, IN ALL CAPS, that up is really down, and that what you Pacha, have been calling ‘left’ is really ‘right’…

Would this then give Bushie the academic right to dismiss all of your previous positions simply because the bushman can show that this NEW imposter ‘Pachamama’ is a demonic brass bowl?

The good news (GOSPEL) is the ORIGINAL concept initiated by the original bushman. While false news MOST OFTEN seek to mimic reality, and then to add their own demonic twists… Misleading many..

It should only be obvious that ‘many would come IN HIS NAME, saying that the IS THE CHRIST… and shall deceive many BBs.

Don’t be misled by imposters Pacha…There is only one original.

33. Israel was formed in 1948, 14 May
    South Africa was formed in 1948, 26 May

Whites who are a minority people misinterpreted their old and new Bibles to believe both of these formed nations were ordained by God and they were the master race who were blessed with God’s grace

34. Bushie

You are Indeed the task máster for the logical fallacy.

Uh gine line yuh tail wid licks once uh get a chance.

35. Perhaps the title could be updated to ‘Ralph Unchallenged’ as all the DLP voices of dissent in variance to his official decisions have been targeted mercilessly.

36. He acted for a long time.

BWA boss quits

The acting CEO of the Barbados Water Authority, Keith Roy-Halliday has quit.

In a memo to BWA staff today, Mr. Halliday, who has been the General Manager of the BWA for several years before being appointed to act as CEO announced that he had made what he called the difficult decision to resign from the Water Authority.

He says the decision was made after careful reflection as he wants to pursue a new opportunity that presented itself.

Mr. Halliday expressed his appreciation to staff for what he stated was their unwavering dedication, relentless effort and support throughout his time at the authority.

He added that he feels honored that they have been able to achieve what he believes to be notable and distinct progress in the past eight years.

Mr. Halliday states that the authority is now on the cusp of a welcomed transformation phase and that in coming months he will work with all teams, management, union and the board of directors to facilitate a seamless transition towards supporting appointment of a new CEO.

Source: Starcom

37. The Barbados Underground – the place where people push incorrect views and will never learn when they are pointed out, they just ignore those comments, and double down on them and get angry when challenged like little Ralph Thorne.

There was no such thing as the white race until 1600s when the term was invented to justify British new world slavery as their Kings did not want to admit they were evil.

An assignment question for the Karma man*

(*) What was the Karma for the African people for the 400 years of slavery racism and poverty caused by pirates

Many of the African slaves were Muslims, not Christians

Were the white people compensating for the inferiority complex about their skin complexion, due to when they were forced out of African villages due to their albino skin and had to leave the sunshine to head for colder climates

A karmic relationship is a tumultuous relationship where two people connect from past lives to resolve unfinished issues.

38. Good morning,
    Before I begin, allow me to offer some good advice that you may not heed.
    I noticed that your early morning contributions tend to lack clarity. I suggest using one of the following regimens
    (1) smoke, sleep and then post or
    (2) post, smoke, sleep
    Give yourself time to get ‘it’ out of the system. Sleep after smoking
    Good morning to all

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

Pacha
    China has given the world a master class of how to grow. The primary requisite was labour much cheaper than its competitors. But the focus was on technology, knowing manufacturers keep r&d close to such facilities. Today, they OWN that.
    So of course they wanted VW technology. And others. Today a myriad of US owned entities all produce in China, whether their own facility, by JV or by others.
    Trumps plan of attacking all verbally, while giving tax cuts to USA producers didn’t work very well in Round 1. He got some repatriation, yet their labour rates remain high. And the flow towards lower production costs has continued. Biden’s is give money to key industries to locate there, That jury is still out, but it rarely works well. The Canadian copycat move, they selected EV and battery technology has already hit serious headwinds.
    So their sanctions and tariffs will continue, for they have no other answer. As Xi always has the currency manipulation tool, which he has used often. As China grew, so now other low costs producers want entry. Mexico, Vietnam, Cambodia, India etc And China remains their #1 source for equipment and technology.

40. NO

You were almost right about every statement made, except a few.

One, China has transformed capitalism. Theirs is industrial capitalism, with socialist characteristics, which offers businesses all the infrastructures needed etc. Plus labour is cheaper because they have a universal medical socialist framework which avoids corporations from bearing these costs.

In addition, they have long willfully abandon most of the low end manufactured goods and have gone higher end.

Two, this talk about currency manipulation has long been a canard. Of this were true they would have lost the game long time ago. Do you know of a single country ever to win this game with the West. This argument rests on the notion that the underlying value metrics you mentioned above are artificial. Certainly, if this were true by now companies would have discovered the fiction. In addition, the Saudis would not be selling oil in renimbi, their currency could not be as critical to BRICS, and on and on

Three, you are refusing to consider the general cultural development in China and on every developmental metric the decline of America. For example, China invests more in its people than the USA. Look, at NYC and you’ll see a train system, housing, etc largely built over 100 years ago.

In the end, yours was way more critical than previous

41. Our democracy is stable and secures our path to wealth. The power chains are unbroken.

We should look forward together to the big anniversary of 400 years of Barbados in three years’ time. I urge our government to restore all the signalling stations by then and finally get Drax Hall in shape. The latter mansion looks really dilapidated.

Tron, Her Majesty’s Jester

42. Wunna should have been listening to Down to Brasstacks.

Overseas Bajan woman complaining about a Lawyer.

43. “Good morning,
    Before I begin, allow me to offer some good advice that you may not heed.”

I don’t like you
    not one bit

44. We see the téte-a-tete around Thorne and fired senator is still with us.

With the press wanting front pagers

Thorne wanting to move on and

She, stating her being absent from the meeting for his speech and that Thorne wanted to fire her publicly.

Well, she publicly took an appointment from one party knowing that her divided loyalties would not allow her to work with another puigilist even for the party’s sake.

And whereas his could be so understood, for that one occasion, Watson’s however was a months long and continuing embarassment.

All within the nature of politricks.

Thorne made a mistake. He’s now corrected it.

45. A famous Caribbean politician once said…

Sometimes it’s necessary to shoot a general in a public place to send a message through to the rank and file.