The incident of an officer of the Barbados Police Service (BPS) lashing a member of the public with his baton is reported to be under investigation by the BPS. In the past when similar incidents have been investigated by the police the outcome has been as elusive as the one promised by Prime Minister Mia Mottley regarding the HOPE project.

Video shared widely on social media

127 responses to “Policeman beating citizen under investigation”

1. Police Commissioner reports incident-free Kadooment

Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce, reports a generally incident-free Grand Kadooment and Crop Over Festival overall.

Mr. Boyce tells Starcom Network News the behavior of people along the route was good and that there were no major challenges unlike last year’s event which was marred by a shooting at Black Rock, St. Michael.

https://starcomnetwork.net/blog/2024/08/06/police-commissioner-reports-incident-free-kadooment/

Source: Starcom

2. I cannot produce statistics, but as most of the statistics that I have seen here are bogus, this should not be a problem.

One of the signs of a society spiraling out of control is increasing police brutality.

In order to combat the breakdown of society, policemen become more aggressive and abusive. Some see this as being proactive in the fight against crime and ignore the collateral damage – the citizens on the street who receive immediate justice (abuse) at the hands of the police.

You can call me a scaremonger, fearmonger, alarmist or even biased against the administration, but I will urge you to pray and to tell your relatives to be careful. Tell them, if they are confronted they should take the licks and get a lawyer afterwards.

3. “Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce, reports a generally incident-free Grand Kadooment and Crop Over Festival overall.”

Reading test. What is the difference between “incident free”, generally incident free” and a “few incidents”.

It appears that the policemen had their own incident.

4. Aren’t we waiting on the police report regarding witness statements leaked to the public? What about the phone taped under a table in the witness room. There are many others.

What is the status of the Police Complaints Authority?

5. Too many times these videos give partial story instead of the whole story

6. This report is hardly believable!

Everything seems either political or impolitic as systems try to build a series of firewalls between increasing levels of official violence or law breaking and what they pretend not to tolerate.

However, Barbados is no different than most places.

Indeed, it’s difficult to find anywhere where the police consider that they are really the servants of the people. Protect and serve.

In the USA, most policemen, especially in communities of color, consider their desire to get back home alive paramount!

Of course, the rejoinder to be posited is that the people are always doing a lot of shiiiite and that the police should be given increasing authorities to further bend rules, traditions, standards.

Even in China where the regular police could be generally found to not carry guns and who behave in ways which project the impressions of being the servants of the population police violence happens in the fringes.

This pretense about ‘protect and serve’ is certainly not what it once was made out to be. To the extent where populations will more and more be required to assume self protection, self service!

7. @ac

If it was your father, husband, brother or some kind of you wouldn’t be that magnanimous. It is clear from the video a fellow officer attempted to restrain the aggressive officer.

8. David
    August 7, 2024 at 9:55 am

If it was your father, husband, brother or some kind of you wouldn’t be that magnanimous. It is clear from the video a fellow officer attempted to restrain the aggressive officer
    ……

David what kind of emotional rant are you displaying
    How can anyone make a bold statement when there is no time stamp on the video which can give a better clarity as to beginning and end as to what occurred
    Yes there is evidence as to a policeman beaten a civilian with a baton
    However more clarity is needed as to how why and when this all occurred
    To answer your question unfortunately all the names mentioned are RIP amongst God’s angels

9. @ac

Have the last word.

10. So, we’ve watched a video that captured the ‘middle or end’ of a confrontation between an ‘unknown subject’ and a police officer, and, without knowing what occurred prior, immediately concluded ‘police brutality is increasing in Barbados because society is spiraling out of control?’

And, we’re being “urged to pray tell our relatives to be careful” because of that incident, while not offering similar advice for brazen gunmen who open fire on crowds or engage in ‘drive by shootings?

‘Politically biased scaremongering????’

11. de Pedantic Dribbler Avatar
    de Pedantic Dribbler

David, I was unable to view the vid but regardless of context or time stamps and so on the question of police “brutality” is absolutely CRYSTALLY clear: an officer is “brutalizing” a citizen whenever he or she uses excessive force while arresting said citizen/suspect.

From that base point there are any number of variables used to determine what is excessive force … at one extreme, shooting a suspect will be justifiable force if s/he is holding a gun in a threatening matter. Shooting the person in the back will very unlikely be seen as justifiable.

Chocking a guy continually who is already down and wobbly can’t be justifiable.

Hitting a fellow with a baton could certainly be justifiable but surely if one officer is reported as trying to restrain or stop those baton strikes then the aggressive PO has gone TOO far!

People are ingrunt often and POs are TRAINED, and refreshed two or three with more training to prevent them from being equally ingrunt when faced with an unruly or demented or intoxicated person who may have just spat gross black gock in your face, for example!

Law enforcement must act sensibly otherwise they MUST pay the price when they go too far … whatever the provocation.

12. @Dee Word

The concern of the blogmaster is that a transparent process will be used to determine what happened. It is important for ensuring public trust.

13. David
    August 7, 2024 at 12:35 pm

@Dee Word

The concern of the blogmaster is that a transparent process will be used to determine what happened. It is important for
    ensuring public trust.
    ..…
    David the most sensible comment you have made concerning this issue

Yeap I had the last word 😆 😆

14. Do you think dancing on a pinhead is impossible? Well, the answer is “No!”
    We are fortunate to have a blogger who can accomplish this feat.

Not content that “brutalizing a citizen” is already difficult to prove, he dances to very edge of the pin head. does a pirouette and heads down “excessive force” alley. Amazed at his artistry, it came as a surprise when he was able to a double back flip and turn the corner at “justifiable’ lane. I watched some of the gymnastics on TV and I can tell you that Simone Biles is an amateur to our friend.

In trying to describe pornography a learned jurist said “I know it when I see it”. And that is how I arrived at my conclusions. Not by dancing, not by looking for wiggle room not by composing treatises but by knowing it and calling it when I see it.

A few think that I often call it wrong.

15. Sometimes one has to suspend heavy cerebral action and go with your gut instinct. As you are analyzing the situation and going through all the stages to make a final decision, if your gut screams ‘stop here’, then obey your gut.

As an example, If you encounter a PO and your gut says ‘enough’, then you shouldn’t stay there and debate the finer points of the law. Don’t stay there drawing flowcharts in your mind or thinking of how the law should work, find a way to exit.

A word to the wise
    -The end-
    Have a great day

16. @ David

One cannot make a definitive statement that ‘police brutality is crystal clear,’ simply because another officer intervened…… and WITHOUT first knowing the totality of circumstances and BPS’ use of force policy.

A few weeks ago, a video was circulating on social media in which a person was seen running off, after forcing a uniformed police officer to the ground.

Was ‘brutality’ against the police officer ‘crystal clear’ in that situation?

Why did BU not express similar outrage or found it necessary to post the video for comment?

Perhaps because it was humorous to the viewing public?

17. de Pedantic Dribbler Avatar
    de Pedantic Dribbler

I wish you and all Bim well with that transparency, David as I have no perspective on how well our policing control mechanisms work.

The desire to hide behind the shield of ‘the officer had to act as he did to subdue this violent suspect’ is all too common a refrain.

And to the blogger with the dance moves … a hearty 😆 lollll.

I am not aware of any difficulty in define ‘police brutality’ or ‘excessive force’. Too much legal precedent is out there to take that as a serious remark.

Surely, it’s true that there is grave difficulty in convicting officers in many cases of alleged brutality/excessive force … but even then any reasonable person accepts that more members of law enforcement HAVE BEEN prosecuted in last 5 10 years for police brutality with the direct link of excessive force, than likely over the combined last 50 years in US, particularly (where stats are more readily available).

So dance on words to your fullest contentment … won’t change the reality.

18. It is interesting the Barbados Bar Association has recorded it reservations about the final report of a cellphone found in a witness room at a police station.

The blogmaster awaits the outcome of the promised to produce another report level at the BPS.

19. @Dee Word

If that video was not an accurate representation of what is thought and the blogmaster were the CoP a press conference would have been held today to explain and clarify for the public. It is that simple.

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax, your post doesn’t flow logically as I read it!

There is never a comparison with a citizen’s resistance or initial violence towards an officer and brutality.

That’s is almost always a stupid action that will result in a resisting arrest charge minimally and possibly more serious indictable changes of assaulting a peace officer.

In simple terms it’s Bajan (or US) ass-backwards foolishness … not brutality in any context of how police brutality is defined or understood.

And, if you are going to argue that two officers are allegedly arresting a suspect and officer #1 is reported as attempting to restrain his partner officer #2 from further physical action on the suspect and those blows are NOT excessive force by #2, then go with that!

#1 seems to be saying “enough already” but #2’s continued lashes is not seen as EXCESSIVE ???!

Policing is TOUGH and dealing with some idiuts out there makes it super dangerous to an officer’s life … yet no excuse for extra lashes when an idiut refuses to heed your commands.

Dem days dun wid all de cameras bout de place.

Peace out.

21. Today in Berlin a Palestinian was found guilty of the crime for saying ‘’from the river to the sea, Palestine will be free’’.

Having lived in Germany for a while, the severe damage to that people’s national psychology, as a byproduct of national socialism, from the era of the Nazis, even currently permits the country to commit a national economic, self-imposed, self destruction at the urgings of America.

Indeed, almost all of Europe has permitted the Americans and their factotums in Brussels to destroy nearly all of Europe base on economic self immolation, woke-ism and professional yardfowlism.

One data point. Their refusal to buy cheap Russian gas and opting to buy more expensive American LPG for four or five times the price.

Also allowing the Americans to tempt leading German companies with the cheap fuel it gives its own corporates at home.

Result, the deindustrialization of Germany. NATO was formed to keep Germany down, America in and Russia out, of Europe.

Talk about crime. This is it!

22. @Dee Word and Artax

Barbados has reached a critical point in our history as far as police public relations go.

There was a time not too long ago a policeman would not dare to hit a citizen in public even if he was provoked and an aggressive response understandable.

Although the public is vested in maintaining law and order the police must lead to win the trust of its public.

23. David
    August 7, 2024 at 2:58 pm
    1 Vote

@Dee Word

If that video was not an accurate representation of what is thought and the blogmaster were the CoP a press conference would have been held today to explain and clarify for the public. It is that simple
    ….

No it is not that simple
    People of your ilk would support the Bail Act and all it’s full blown disrespect for all of the people’s rights in the Constitution
    Here you are making conclusions not knowing the full details
    David u can have the last word

24. What caused the confrontation ?

25. @Hants

The country awaits the police report on the matter.

26. Steupsss!!

How Dribbler, who did not even see the clip – far less UNDERSTAND the situation faced by the police, can know so much about what the police should or should not do?

Dribbler previously admitted here – that in HIS Albino-land, he behaves like a little pet poodle whenever he confronts his local police. CAUSE if he so much as look at them directly to their pale faces, he KNOWS that they will taze his donkey, and probably choke it afterwards too…

YET, somehow, brass bowls bout here – who themselves will piss their underwear if confronted by Ninja man at midday in an alley – expect that OUR POLICE should allow themselves to be bullied, defied, disrespected and laughed at …by half-drunk, parro-like hooligans….

ANY BB who chooses to defy a team of heavily armed POLICE OFFICERS on crowd control duties, FULLY DESERVE to have their asses dented with batons – and worse if they or their fellow hooligans persists with the lotta shiite.

What the Hell wunna think the batons are issued for? ..style?
    Perhaps the cop should have handed the baton to the hooligan and himself taken some blows – so that the armchair BBs could ROTFLTBAO…

Steupsss.
    Tired with BBs who keep wanting to plant shiite …and to somehow reap sweets.

What a place…

27. @Bush Tea

Be careful not to be deemed as inciting violence!

(Police)

28. Boss
    If you want to see ‘violence’ just wait a bit for Karma to swing into full gear…

The MOST PERVASIVE LAW IN NATURE says that what a fellow SOWS, THAT ALSO will he REAP.
    WE have listened to to soft-hearted shiite-talkers and gone EASY on murderers, thieves, bribe-takers, rapists, and EVEN though we have been REAPING THE FRUIT of such idiocy, we PERSIST with the folly….

Not only are we PLANTING shiite, but openly supporting and encouraging it… and THEN playing that we complaining about ZR indiscipline, school children in chaos etc…

It is only obvious the Mother Nature will have to step in to maintain the spiritual BALANCE…
    That is the role of Karma….
    …coming soon to a donkey VERY near to all brass bowls….

29. “If you want to see ‘violence’ just wait a bit for Karma to swing into full gear…”

if the world is truly ending as touted on Bu x amount of times to the max
    then partying and debauchery must the best way to spend the end days

30. de Pedantic Dribbler Avatar
    de Pedantic Dribbler

@Bushie, cut the crowd pleasing song and dance…

It’s IRRELEVANT what the paro crazed idiut did to provoke. .. the hullabaloo is always about what the officer did after he REASONABLY had any paro person or whomever under control.

Good grief man, police officers MUST have better control of their emotions and actions than we who they police … otherwise its two lawless fools – one wirh a badge of power – causing a ruckus.

Again I say policing is TOUGH work … you must expect to get lambasted, cussed, shot at and spat upon … and you have to deal with the fool properly.

If you are going to give extra hits let the adrenaline settle, then freaking well wait until the cameras are off and don’t leave any bruises, either.

No mambo pamby emotional BS allowed. Period.

Cut the crap, brother. Any cop who gets caught egregiously manhandling a suspect is a careless fool … we should not suffer fools gladly.

Come on, man.

31. “@Artax, your post doesn’t flow logically as I read it!”

@ dpD

Which post are you referring to?

If it’s my August 7, 2024 at 2:28 pm contribution, then surely you should’ve noticed I did not make any definitive comments, but merely ASKED three simple QUESTIONS.

32. The problems with Barbados are displayed on Bu
    (1) everyone knows everyone in a small population the size of a London Borough
    (2) discussions on Bu are like the phrase “How many angels can dance on the head of a pin?” which can be used as a metaphor for wasting time debating topics of no practical value, or on questions whose answers hold no intellectual consequence, while more urgent concerns accumulate.

The piggy clearly was using excessive force against someone he probably knew
    which will be up for review

If you go by the book he will probably get off as Richard Prior explains the Police Academy which says on page 8 of the training manual that is OK to break a n1993r

Barbados small population size is like Iceland and affects their sex lives as sex is no big deal as everyone knows everyone already

33. Bannister: I did not pull a gun

MAGISTRATE GRAVENEY BANNISTER is refuting claims that he “pulled a gun” on a member of the public after his car door sustained damaged last month.

In a statement to the media, Bannister, who is also an Anglican priest, said there was an amicable settlement in the repairs to the vehicle, and he made an official complaint to police about an account of the incident shared widely on social media.

It occurred at Lavada Laundry in the Lears Business Complex, St Michael, on July 24.

The eyewitness said it started after the door of a truck touched the magistrate’s Mercedes Benz.

Bannister said while stationary, he was checking messages and felt the impact, realising “the one parked next to mine had struck my vehicle”.

“I got out to inspect the damage and approached the driver. He said I would have to wait until he came back out. We came to high words, but at no point did I have a firearm on me, nor did I ‘pull a gun’ on the driver of the other vehicle. I entered the business and insisted the driver give me his details, which he did after some delay,” the statement said.

Bannister said the matter was settled amicably because the other driver worked at a “well-established car sales and auto body repair shop”. They went to the shop that same evening and, by agreement, a damage assessment was done and repairs conducted during the week, he added.

“I have made an official complaint about the erroneous and defamatory report which circulated on social media, and I await the police’s determination as to whether any offence was committed under the Computer Misuse Act,” he concluded. (PR/SAT)

34. Global youth revolt unfolds

WHEN IN THE 1980S/1990S the integration of all nations into conformity to norms of global capitalism was proceeding at full pace, backed by advances in communications and transportation technology, everyone was drunkenly celebrating the so-called inevitability of “globalisation”.

Most of its defenders failed to consider, however, that built into globalisation itself were the seeds of its destruction since, for the first time, national politics could be transcended and the conditions for “workers of the world [to] unite” had been created, even beyond the ways envisaged by Marx or the other early critics of nascent capitalism.

Today, this ignored revolutionary underside of globalisation can be clearly observed in the Gen-z uprising which began in Kenya in June and has now spread throughout Africa and has reached its, thus far, fullest expression, in Bangladesh.

Much has already been said on the Kenyan Gen-z revolt. What has not been fully discussed, however, is how the Kenyan youth example of mass occupation and Internet-based organising has influenced other youth movements which are having significant impacts on other states.

Since June, there have been other youth movements on the African continent, such as in Cameroon, Ghana and Uganda, but these had limited impact. However, a Gen-z protest in Nigeria in early August has received the most hostile response from any African state, thus far, with over 20 people killed by the second day of the protest.

However, the most disruptive youth protest thus far has occurred in Bangladesh, resulting in the ousting of long-standing Prime Minister Sheikh Hasini, who is currently in India, seeking asylum in the United Kingdom, following the looting of her official residence by protesters.

While a fuller analysis will be provided in a later article, the following analytical observations can be made of these uprisings.

They are not political party- or trade unionled. Their demands all revolve around issues of better governance. (In Bangladesh, the protesters have sought the end of the practice of reserving government jobs for the relatives of independence patriots. In Africa, protesters have railed against corruption, incompetence and overt opulence of persons in high office.)

In every instance, the governments have responded with naked brutality, with killings, beatings, abductions and unlawful arrests being common practice, only to implement the demands following the mayhem. In every instance, the youth have shown bravery, fearlessness, political astuteness and unwavering commitment to their struggles.

These Gen-z protests represent a new stage in the relationship between citizens and states, particularly in post-colonial states. They signal a new generation’s unwillingness to continue in the old way.

Caribbean governments will do well to pay close attention to these global uprisings, to understand their origins and dynamics, and to commit to responding more wisely and sincerely than has been witnessed thus far, to any future youth uprisings on Caribbean soil.

Tennyson Joseph is Associate Professor of political science at North Carolina Central University. Email tjoe2008@live.com

35. It surprises me that the some of us would end up in the same place as the white supremacist John Knox, calling for the beginning of a video to perhaps excuse an obvious case of excessive force as per the rules of engagement of police officers with citizens both “ruly” and unruly.

This is exactly how John Knox arrives at a place where unarmed black men being shot in the back is acceptable.

The concept of excessive force does not depend on what came before, but what was reasonable in the moment.

This does not change according to the colour of the police officer or the country in which he operates.

If there was offence enough for a baton to be used, then there was offence enough for an arrest to be made.

Was an arrest made?

36. Here is a case where police brutality is involved as evidence in the court leading to the aquittle of a man charged with murder
    ….

ACQUITTED
    JURY FINDS ST ANDREW MAN NOT GUILTY OF MURDER
    By Fernella Wedderburn
    Hugs and tears were abundant among the family of Kevin Andrew Haynes in Supreme Court No.5A on Wednesday afternoon after a jury found him not guilty of murder.
    After Justice Christopher Birch summed up the trial in which Haynes was accused of murdering Rahim Ward between August 23 and 30, 2019, the jury went to deliberate around 3:23 p.m.
    An hour later, they returned and the foreman informed the judge they had reached a unanimous not-guilty verdict.
    Haynes, of Jordan’s Road, Belleplaine, St Andrew, represented by attorney-at-law Ajamu Boardi had maintained his innocence.
    During the trial, the court heard that Ward was last seen on August 23 that year and was subsequently discovered in ashallow grave seven days later.
    The autopsy conducted on his decomposing body concluded that he died from a gunshot wound.
    Speaking in his defence last Wednesday, Haynes said: “I wasn’t involved in any shooting or no killing or nothing.” He insisted that he had been “intimidated” by the police who “beat” him while he was in custody. He alleged that he was also choked and suffocated with insect spray.
    After the verdict was delivered, Haynes who was sitting in the dock turned to his defence lawyer and they nodded at each other and smiled. He then turned to his family, sitting at the back of the courtroom who by then were sobbing.
    “Mr Haynes . . . you are free to go,” Justice Birch announced after Acting Principal State Counsel Romario Straker thanked the jury for their service.
    Haynes then embraced his mother, father and sister before exiting the court.
    “I feel good, man. I feel good to be free,” the young man told Barbados TODAY on the steps of the Supreme Court on Whitepark Road with his family surrounding him.
    His lawyer said: “It feels great. It’s good to see him go home after five years on remand; the evidence was always poor.” fernellawedderburn@barbadostoday.bb

37. Donna
    August 8, 2024 at 7:31 am

It surprises me that the some of us would end up in the same place as the white supremacist John Knox, calling for the beginning of a video to perhaps excuse an obvious case of excessive force as per the rules of engagement of police officers with citizens both “ruly” and unruly
    Xxxxxx

Lol give me frigging break
    Guess your obvious biases gives you a special right to placed others in a racist bracket seeking absolute truth

38. It is three days since the CoP Boyce promised to ask for a report to determine what occurred with the beating incident captured.

39. David
    August 8, 2024 at 8:23 am

It is three days since the CoP Boyce promised to ask for a report to determine what occurred with the beating incident captured

Xxxxx
    A concerned citizen would use the same technology to communicate with COP by email if such haste is required by an individual
    But no rather belly ache and judge and condemn absent of all facts

40. Huh??????? I need a translator for that mess!

WTH was Angela Cox trying to say??????

41. Donna
    August 8, 2024 at 1:00 pm

Huh??????? I need a translator for that mess!

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

To offer a suggestion, clearly what the blogger indicates is that English COMPREHENSION Is beyond their grasp!

No where in your remarks did you say nor imply that others were racist like John Fellow…. NO WHERE!

It’s like saying that AC and Enuff get to their positions with the same flawed logic/behavior … which OBVIOUSLY does not mean they are both biased Dees!

That AC could not grasp that is a sad reflection of that educational system David rails about …and it’s becoming an unfortunate universal problem: too many want to say something but can’t take the time to properly and carefully understand what was written …. so we do have to ask: ‘Eh, WTF’.

43. AC was defending Babylon
    Donna was calling out Dirty Babylon

Don’t Bother Me – Terrors

[Chorus]
    No bother me, mister Babylon
    No come, come trouble me mister wicked man
    You say you must bother me, mister Babylon
    No come, come threaten me, mi seh with your gun

[Verse 1]
    For it’s not rob I am robbing
    It’s not kill I am killing
    It is just my irie iley
    That I might have been selling
    It is just a little collie
    And it’s a hustlings

Don’t you, don’t bother me Babylon
    Don’t you

[Verse 2]
    For I have been a trodding
    Ovеr hills and across the valley
    I’ve been-a working inna di gully
    And planting up-a some collie
    Now you want to come charge me
    For what? I don’t know
    But you want to bring I in guilty
    For the plant I cannot grow

[Chorus]
    So, no bother me, mister Babylon
    No come, come trouble me mister wicked man
    You say you must bother me, mister Babylon

44. Why even connect a civil matter to the racist rants of any one when individuals dares to ask or have differing opinion on the ongoing subject matter and for what purpose
    The race card which Donna opened her hand and emptied on the table was insulting and unnecessary
    A difference of opinion means that not all agree with those taking another approach
    But having a race card place on the table to make a point completely dumbfounding

45. 555dubstreet
    August 8, 2024 at 2:42 pm

AC was defending Babylon
    Donna was calling out Dirty Babylon

Xxxx
    Cannot defend or prosecute anything dealing with justice of the law unless one has all the facts or evidence
    Most all can do is give emotional rants and raves while pushing forward with a ting of insults to prove that they know all about nothing

46. “Cannot defend or prosecute anything dealing with justice of the law unless one has all the facts or evidence”

The problem is the “misjustice” of “the law”

The police are not “the law” and do not act “the law way”

The problem with police inquiries and court cases are:

the police lie and make up accusations and incrimination when accused of heavy handedness being bloody mindedness covering their backsides

and follow a script that they used force to protect themselves and were scared they were in danger

and inquiries and courts will often (99.9%) take the police word and give them the benefit of doubt