The following was posted by BU family member Bush Tea in reply to a comment on the Water worry blog – David, blogmaster

Bushie suspects that, (optimist that you are,) you did not have a good night’s sleep, – as you would have been contemplating our predicament as a country.

To further complicate your day, here are a few questions to chew on….

If you were in charge bout here, and you genuinely CARED about the best interests of brass, would you not, by now, have RECONSIDERED your whole APPROACH and sought a NEW and FRESH plan of action….?
…given that EVERY SHIITE that you have tried so far have turned into shaving cream?

From the childish ‘we gatherin’ initiative to the current ‘Afro Banking’ thrust (that started off with Mr MalMoney’s record breaking cash withdrawal, and which will probably end up in an international scandal…
and…
…including the never-ending Electricity Rates debacle,
…the south coast sewerage joke, that transferred dumping on the streets to dumping into the sea… (which is what the ORIGINAL objective was conceived to avoid)
…the water woes which have now been transferred from St John to St George and St Lucy,
…the Housing mess – typified by MalMoney’s expensive and defective housing projects and by DooShiite’s Steal houses.
…The transport mess, which has continued to worsen – only now with luxury busses and with licensing confusion…
…the pothole quagmire – now being expensively PATCHED in order to impress the world for cricket – KNOWING that the work is ‘not going to last…’
…etc etc

Seriously Boss…
Would you in such circumstances CONTINUE on the same shiite path – depending on another ‘we gatherin’ fuh cup?
…or making deals with albino-centric demons such as EMERA and MalMoney?

Or would you seek WISE counsel?

The OTHER question is this…
If…
India is hot as shiite…
North America is hot as shiite…
Europe is hot as shiite…

Would you not PREPARE now, for the GREAT LIKELIHOOD that Brassbados will be even hotter … given our normally high temperatures…?
Or would you wait until the Met Office announces that we are boiling…?

Bushie appreciates that many of us are too busy planning for big gatherings of happy visitors – to deal with minor issues like the almost inevitable world war 3, our lack of adequate water, poor sewerage management, and now the likelihood of suffocating temperatures and unpredictable weather….

NOBODY PROMISED THAT LEADERSHIP WAS FOR THE FAINT OF HEART OR FOR BB SHEEP, but shiite, are we to keep doing the same jobby while being promised roses…?

A curse is an awful thing, when wisdom and common sense are taken away…

116 responses to “Does Barbados need a ‘purge’?”

1. @ The OG,

Bajans will have more choice of shoes. How much will this store contribute to the economy of Barbados?

2. @Hants

A shoe store is a major boost for the economy? Please enlighten the blog.

3. What major boost what!

Have weeee not have these deadended things before?

And have they not delivered us where we are now?

Foolishness!

Tell us when a real industry, industry, industry, is conjured.

4. Commander Hants,
    I will be positive.
    A greater choice of shoes may lead to a better fit and look this improving the self-confidence of Bajans and may even act as an encouragement to walk more.

This increase exercise could impact on our rates of diabetes and hypertension leading to a healthier nation with an improved disposition.

As Barbadians begin to think more positive, we see a decrease in criminal activity and more folks searching for employment.

This may be the fuel the economy needs. What a boost.

5. de PM lookin nice.

6. Why the secrecy?

“‘MIXED’ MESSAGE
    MIXED 11-PLUS PERFORMANCE; PRIVATE SCHOOLS DOMINATE HIGH ACHIEVERS
    The Barbados Secondary Schools Entrance Examinations (BSSEE) has revealed a mixed bag of results this year, with slight declines in national mean scores but an increase in public school allocations.
    The figures found ministry officials scrambling to pick positive highlights at a press briefing on Monday but declining to disclose more of the top performers, deviating from the custom.
    Minister of Education Kay McConney announced that 96.1 per cent of students who sat the exam, commonly known as the 11-plus or Common Entrance Exam, were allocated to public secondary schools – up one percentage point from 95.4 per cent in 2023.
    But the national mean scores slumped, with Mathematics falling to 54.62 per cent from 59.2 per cent last year, and English decreasing to 65.2 per cent from 69.5 per cent.
    The exam, which returned to its original May administration period, was held on May 7 across 21 public secondary schools. Students from 68 public primary schools and 26 private primary schools were registered, although the total number of examinees was 252 fewer than in 2023.
    McConney addressed the performance statistics: “On in-depth analysis, the performance of students in Mathematics and English demonstrates the important need for us to look at how we teach the basics and how children relate to what they are learning.”
    She announced plans to support students’ learning, including a free summer school programme for identified Class Four students with deficiencies in basic numeracy and literacy skills.
    The minister also emphasised the need for ongoing support in secondary schools: “We want our principals to really double down on meeting regularly with their management teams to effectively plan instruction and to assess the skills and competencies of their students, so that plans and programmes can be designed with those students’ needs in mind.”
    McConney stressed the importance of tailored instruction.
    “It cannot just be a case of continuing, and what a child gets, [he or she gets] from the regular programmes,” she said. “It has to be that we are paying attention, that we are vigilant, and that we are being intentional in how we design instruction to suit their needs.”
    Despite the overall decline, there were notable individual achievements, dominated by two of the nation’s private schools.
    Aryanna Bascombe from Providence School and Finn Graham from St Winifred’s School emerged as the top performers, each scoring 99 per cent in Mathematics and 96 per cent in English, with an A in Composition, resulting in overall scores of 246.81 A.
    Other high achievers included Zamara Dottin from The Rock Christian Primary School (246.61 A), Chanel Lewis from the public Good Shepherd Primary School (245.53 A), and Jayesh Whitehead from Bridgetown Seventh Day Adventist School (244.59 A).
    In Mathematics, nine students scored full marks, down from 35 in 2023 but up from two in 2022. Five students scored zero, compared to four last year.
    The minister highlighted a decrease in requests for special assistance during the exam, with 138 requests this year compared to 180 in 2023. She attributed this to proactive measures.
    “Increasing the frequency and availability of appropriate testing for our students and continuing the diagnostic testing of students for hearing and sight, which we did over the last several years, is an attempt for us to identify and provide early intervention for these students,”she said.
    (RG)”

Source: BT

7. The private schools do ‘better’ because they are relatively IMMUNE from the jokers at the Ministry of Eddykashun.

Same shiite speech every year – with the numbers changed to protect the incompetent, and with the same warmed over promises of ‘reform’….

But with cursed BBs, such promises and such meaningless rhetoric are par for the course.

In a NORMAL society, with NORMAL people, that top layer of eddykashun jokers would have been AT LEAST fired loooong ago – if not ALSO charged with some shiite…..

Now it is time to fire the people who are responsible for KEEPING such incompetents in place…

8. It’s all kicking off in Kenya, particularly, after their government attempts to pass tax legislation that is regressive in nature aimed at suffocating Kenya’s poor.

The people have taken to the streets and have set fire to a small section of their house of parliament. Ten of the protesters were shot and killed by their police force.

From what I read, last week, there was a BU contributor who appeared disinterested in protesting. She gave a whole list of reasons why she was unwillingly to do so. Perhaps one of the strangest reasons she gave for not wanting to protest was that she did not want her shoes to become sullied in mud.

This is the “Brass bowl” mindset that Bush Tea frequently refers to.

9. @Bush Tea

Thought that it was private schools so better generally because intake comes from households with a more supportive environment/support.

10. I hope that Mia is watching the developments from Kenya. I fear that her government under her leadership and her right-hand woman, Santia, would be prepared to commit the same genocide against their own black people should they take to the streets. Barbados and Kenya are led by conservative and authoritarian governments.

The same problems that inflicts Kenya we share in Barbados.

People are currently being abducted by the Kenyan state as they have high profile social media platforms. Imagine, these goons are due to arrive in Haiti sometime this weekend.

The governor’s office and the Senate have been attacked by the protestors.

Whilst here in Barbados one of our ministers is humiliating black businessmen on public radio whilst been fully aware that Barbados’ minorities are the gross beneficiaries of government contracts. Some of our black leaders fled the ranch a long time ago and have no intention to reverse the status quo when it comes to protecting certain groups.

One only needs to delve into our plantation history and what went on in the plantation house to understand the dynamics of what is been played out by some of our politicians.

The latest news from Kenya: the government has announced that it will be sending in the army. Sadly, Israel, the USA and the mother country have close relations with the Kenyan army and have trained them how to supress their own black people.

11. Excellent comparison of situations @TLSN.
    Except that in Brassbados, we actually EXPECT to be disadvantaged, and we LIKE being able to complain – but taking ACTION against governmental shiite??!!!! Not ‘bout here!!

RU4Real?
    When children from dirt-poor environments are sent to private schools (at great sacrifice) they do better than they do in the public schools.
    When children from well-to-do environments go to public schools, they do the same shiite as all the others in the public schools….

How children perform academically is PRIMARILY a function of their school environment – in terms of discipline, standards, respect for authority, and rewards.

Not everything is about economic status….

12. @Bush Tea

How are children from dirt poor environments able to attend private schools in Barbados? In any case the blogmaster is unable to apply your generalization. An opportunity for your friend Wickham to be commissioned for some evidence based feedback?

13. Black Bajans you are being played, as always, but you are too dumb to notice. Please employ the tiny grey matter between your ears.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/06/20/rude-boy-brand-makes-waves/

https://www.caribjournal.com/2020/07/17/rum-journal-rude-bwoy-and-the-spirit-of-the-caribbean/

14. “Our story begins on the Caribbean island of Jamaica, in the West Indies, back in the 1600’s with the Wright family. ……………………………………………………. The Wrights were serial entrepreneurs selling cattle and grew peanuts, onions, melons and scallion and of course sugar.”

The white washing of the Caribbean’s slave plantocracy system staggers me. Here we have a set of whites whose family was involved in the slave trade. They have created a brand that crudely rides on the back of black Caribbeans and have used the Indian supermarket, Massy’s, to sell their products to the hordes of gullible blacks. Is this the new triangle trade.

15. They will not be selling it to me.

16. @ Bush Tea,

I hope that your good self, the English rose – Donna, and the formidable Mia, your esteemed leader are following the events from Kenya.

Hardman President Ruto of Kenya has spoken to his nation and announced that he will withdraw the bill that has caused so many problems to Kenya. Let this be a lesson to all your fellow brass bowls. If they are committed to bring change to their society they have to prepare themselves to forfeit their lives. These youths from Kenya had the balls to march on their own parliament and attempted to burn it down to the ground.

The power base in Barbados is in effect a hollowed husk. Do you know how olives are harvested? A machine is brought in to shake, with minimum effort, the trunk of the olive tree which causes the olives to drop to the floor. It’s the same with this mock government. It’s not indelible as it would like to believe. Our friends from Kenya have set the template.

Let us see if you slow learners will learn the lessons from these fine young Kenyans. Mia and her right-hand woman are a little too comfortable and complacent for my liking. May the games commence.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/liveblog/2024/6/26/kenya-protests-live-news-more-protests-expected-after-finance-bill-passed

17. @TLSN
    “At least five people were shot dead and around 31 injured after Kenyan police fired live rounds at demonstrators in the capital of Nairobi. A CNN team witnessed Kenyan police beating and later arresting some paramedics who were helping injured protesters.”

I have long cautioned against sending Barbadian soldiers to Haiti, but the possible outcome is even worse than I can imagine. Here we have Kenyan police killing Kenyan citizens. Is it difficult to imagine the operation in Haiti going wrong and we have the loss of Haitian lives by the foreign saviors? Sometimes, the universe gently whispers ‘don’t do it. Can you see what will happen when you go there’.

The Barbadian government seem hell bent on following this path of folly. American presidents try to appear tough by going to war. Name the OS president and you can name the military action that was initiated/supported? Are we seeing this bit of American presidential madness being copied by our fearless leader?

We cannot fight anyone, but we will act tough; we will be the John Wayne of the Caribbean’; we will send our young boys to Haiti.

Pray for our boys. Pray that they stay at home. They are not a military uniform for anyone; they are not expendable. If the Barbados military chicken hawks want military action, let all 30 go to Haiti.

18. Barbados definitely needs a purge. The business environment needs to be revamped to support foreign direct investment. The real estate specifically needs to become more transparent. The tourist dollars generated from the rental market has so many obstacles to an investor trying to own a property on the island that indiduals like myself have decided to look elsewhere.

19. Why don’t you do us a BIG favor …and PLEASE look elsewhere @Eric Thomas?

The main purge needed by Brassbados is to be rid of albino-centric such as yourself, whose ONLY interest is to exploit the semi-idiots we currently have as ‘leaders’ by acquiring our national assets and reasserting a new period of chattel slavery.

Only brass bowls sell off their engines of productivity to greedy foreigners

‘Foreign Direct Investment’ is just a fancy name for selling off our family silver to greedy foreigners. While many locals can’t find a basic home – far less invest in the so-called ‘national business’.

Furthermore, the tourism business is a colossal joke – where persons like you hoard the profits in overseas accounts – except for the crumbs used for wages, and for the bribes for the various Judas impersonators, …while locals revert to slavery-like working conditions.

The difference however, is that our fore parents did not have access to serious means of effective revolt when the shiite became overbearing…. THAT has changed….

20. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

THE GLABBA-SALTS NEEDED TO PURGE THIS NATION OF THE WICKED, NASTY ELDERS WHO HAVE PAVED NO FOUNDATION FOR THE CURRENT YOUTH WAS SEEN IN BLACK KENYA THIS WEEK WHERE MARK RUTO HAD TO RENEGE ON HIS DRACONIAN TAX PLANS

If the “YOUTHS” in Barbados are not “AWAKENED” to their “CIVIC & NATIONAL” responsibilities to change the country – then what is the reason for having “CAVE HILL CAMPUS” & the other institutions of “SUPPOSED ADVANCEMENT”…

REVOLUTION BEGINS WITH THE YOUNG PEOPLE WHO HAVE “VISION” & THE INTESTINAL GRANITE TO PUSHBACK AGAINST THE MADNESS* SO ENDEMIC WITHIN THE SOCIETY!!!

In the below VT*, clearly the #AfriKanYouth are seriously “WAKING-UP” & this brings such “JOY”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

21. Fighting back

Plan for Pine community to combat crime

by CARLOS ATWELL

carlosatwell@nationnews.com

THE COMMUNITY of Regent Hill in The Pine, St Michael, is gearing up to push back against crime.

They are planning to fight crime and violence with peace, love and family with a Community Family Day on Saturday.

Yesterday, community “godfather” Ivan “Speed” Forde told the DAILY NATION it was all be about coming together.

“We are trying to kill the violence from the great community we call Pinelands. Regent Hill is the capital and we plan to have a family reunion day on Saturday. As you know, five people w ere shot [nearby] so we are trying to lead from the front,” he said.

Forde was referring to the incident which occurred on Tuesday night at Shepton Lane, The Pine, where five men aged 26 to 42 received gunshot injuries. Police reported the men were liming when two men on a motorcycle approached and opened fire.

Forde said The Pine had produced some of the greatest Barbadians and he planned to fight for it.

Out of trouble

“When you got something like a shooting, it will scare people. We don’t want anything so anywhere in The Pine or Barbados on the whole. We are trying to keep youth out of trouble,” he said.

He said for the event on Saturday, they were asking families to invite those who once lived in The Pine and moved away to return and reacquaint with their roots. He said there would be food, games, skating, steel pan, karaoke, a deejay and a scheduled appearance from Member of Parliament Santia Bradshaw. In addition, there would be an awards ceremony honouring the outstanding members of the community as well as the eldest member.

“These are the kinds of things which need to be done. Things like this are the solution to crime and we want every community to do something like this; don’t be afraid,” he said.

A passionate Forde said not enough was being done for the youth while guns kept coming in unabated.

“How the guns getting into Barbados? The police lock up people for a little weed yet can’t hold anybody at the ports or anywhere else for bringing in these guns. Plus, we have to go beyond just organising football matches because afterwards there is nothing for the youth beyond 15 years old,” he said.

Two youths, who gave their names as ‘Ari Dan’ and ‘Haitian Blood’, part of the group Music Inc., offered ways to avoid violence.

“The key to a better way of life is to go to school, take your time and learn,” ‘Ari Dan’ said, with ‘Haitian Blood’ adding: “Then find something you love to do and do it.”

Shawn Jones said the issues revolved around guns, unemployment and the lack of opportunities.

“Violence is beyond these 166 square miles. We have to look at how these guns getting on the streets. It’s only when it comes home that people start to feel it.

Employment opportunities

“A lot of youths calling out for employment and opportunities. If you can keep them occupied doing something worthwhile, I think crime would decrease,” he said.

Anderson “Bridgie” Hinds said crime began at home.

“No child should be wearing things more expensive than me. If you don’t get guidance from the inception, how will you have it from after a certain age? Now, children have more opportunities but they are not taking advantage of them. It is up to the individual to make it happen,” he said.

Garvin Jones said discipline was lacking, adding children could call the police on their parents for hitting them. He added the dynamic between parents was also a cause as men and women had to be on the same page when it came to discipline.

A woman, who requested anonymity, said returning to Barbados made her appreciate New York more. She said she never saw a gun overseas but it was a different story here.

“Soon after I came back I was at my door when I heard 12 shots. I was frozen. When I finally looked out I saw a youngster with a big gun. Children aren’t working anywhere so [they] cannot have a gun unless someone in authority is [providing them],” she said.

The upset resident said she had heard about the recent gunplay and criticised the community police outpost, saying it served no purpose. She suggested the Barbados Defence Force be called in to help.

22. @Bush Tea

WE sell national assets to support OUR addiction to consumption?

23. @ David
    WE sell national assets to support OUR addiction to consumption?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    We DO!!
    Brass Bowl PARROS!!!

…and you are talking about such addicts ‘joining together’ to solve the addiction?

DON’T try and look for THE CURE for the curse…

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

You are incorrect, they want the bribes in Fx too 😁

25. So according to YOUR logic, Saffrey should be able to convene a meeting of his tenants tonight, and with their collective efforts, we should expect homelessness to be significantly reduced by next month…?
    LOL.

By Bushie’s logic, Saffrey’s efforts have become the CATALYSTS for even more marginal brass bowls to join the PARRO parade….

What these VICTIMS of misguided education, of spiritual corruption, and of physical and mental disruption REQUIRE – is HEALING…

A BUSH BATH would be a good start – followed by ‘sack cloth and ashes’ and a new enlightened outlook on life…

This is the same prescription needed for Brassbados.
    Question is…. who is COMPETENT to apply such healing… ?

26. Thanks for the correction NO.

Bushie was thinking that since the Don’s incarceration, the bribe takers were turning away from FX – until the Afro banks became better established that is…

But the bushman may be wrong here…. 🙂

27. 1/2
    From BarbadosToday (the author/journalist was not given)
    The population challenge continues
    Barbados has a serious population problem which the current administration says cannot be solved by having more children. The solution which appears to be the quickest fix is also fraught with problems if not carefully undertaken.
    This issue of low birth rates and an ageing population has been known for some time. Former Minister of Education Ronald Jones will feel vindicated after he was berated more than a decade ago for suggesting that Barbadians needed to have more children. He, too, was pointing to a population crisis that seemed to be getting worse each year. As usual, people were consumed with the form and not the substance.
    The number of people who are of working age and are available to be employed and support our current social security and safety net system is too low.
    Furthermore, the country is currently on a trajectory of significant capital infrastructural expansion and investment projects that require workers.
    However, the talent pool of various skills among the local population appears shallow.
    The situation has resulted in workers being sought from other parts of the Caribbean and Latin America to fill the void. It is being represented in the large number of published applications for work permits for foreign nationals.
    Outlining just how challenging the situation has become especially among persons of working age, Minister of Industry, Innovation, Science and Technology Marsha Caddle told the House of Assembly on Tuesday that the country needs to boost its workforce urgently.
    Introducing the government’s National Population Policy, the MP said: “We knew the issue of population was important. It’s a question about development, about the ways in which we want to live. We need to bring in other minds, talent and other ideas. We can’t believe we have all the answers.”
    Aware that the matter of managed migration is likely to be a controversial one given the rhetoric that has surrounded the issue of “foreigners” integrating into the society, the minister outlined that the solutions will not be simple.
    Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has been priming Barbadians that the government was prepared to utilise some approaches that citizens will have to adjust to, due to the seriousness of the issue confronting the country.
    “This population policy sets the plan for development. It’s not just about having more children. That is not the call, or the policy solution being put forward by this government. That’s a gross oversimplification of the issue,”Caddle insisted.
    She cautioned Barbadians: “This is a demographic issue. We are aiming to affect the size of the population and the composition.”
    Over the past four decades, the island’s birth rate has been on the decline, and the number of persons over the age of 50 on the rise. In fact, the last population census revealed that the 55-59 age group now represents the largest group in the population.
    This does not sound like a platform on which to plan and build a thriving society. At the same time, we know that pursuing mass migration brings with it several challenges. We are aware that Barbadians exhibit extremely strong nationalistic sentiments which some regard as bordering on xenophobia. That label also causes consternation among Barbadians who believe it is unfair to those who are simply showing national pride.
    The issue of resentment by the population of large numbers of people coming into a country cannot be discounted. One only has to examine what is happening in other countries that, despite their labour shortage, are still suspicious of foreign workers.
    Barbadians have raised issues about the carrying capacity of the island in relation to water resources, housing, health care and other social services which are already strained.
    On the other hand, there are positives to managed migration if executed properly. There will be an increased skills pool and in some cases, knowledge transfer to the local population.
    More persons of working age who are contributing to the National Insurance and Social Security Service will naturally take some of the pressure off the social safety net and place it in a stronger financial footing over the long term.
    It is also expected that with a properly managed migration process with people who are prepared to fit into the Barbadian society, economic activity is expected to increase.

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

Turning away? You are smarter than that. A $BDD cannot buy a shite beyond our coastline. Sorry, you can use your CC to get some, but unless you have a friend in the CBB, that is limited.
    What you need to assess, is exactly why the $BDD, continues to exist. You see the GoB borrowing from anybody but the NIS(SS) in $BDD.
    Shite man all the loans for CBL to guarantee, all the ‘success fees’ for getting the NIS/CBB to agree to restructuring were paid in $US.

29. 2/2
    It would appear that there is a need to move the screaming test off of the front burner and so the new issue of the week, the new hot topic and the ‘new’ problem placed on the front burner is now that of our aging/declining population.

There is much within the article that alarms me;
    “Barbados has a serious population problem which the current administration says cannot be solved by having more children”
    “The situation has resulted in workers being sought from other parts of the Caribbean and Latin America to fill the void. It is being represented in the large number of published applications for work permits for foreign nationals.”
    “This is a demographic issue. We are aiming to affect the size of the population and the COMPOSITION.”
    “Barbadians have raised issues about the carrying capacity of the island in relation to water resources, housing, health care and other social services which are already strained.”

Barbadians, the question are clear and simple?
    How many are coming?
    When are they coming, how soon?
    Who will they be bringing in and where are they coming from?
    How are they coming in? What mechanism will be used? Will it be first positioned as a crooked CBI plan or some crooked/magic tweaking of the work-stamp initiative or will the floodgates be opened to everyone?

I suspect that whatever happens our crooked politicians will make money off the initiative,

Do you remember how quickly White Hoax was hired? Do you realize that plans to employ White Hoax were probably started before the elections? Why am I telling you this?

I suspect that plans to change the demographics of Barbados are more advance than what we are hearing. This drip of information will soon stop and the floodgate of migrants/immigrants opened .
    Brace yourself.

30. https://www.worldometers.info/world-population/barbados-population/

What is the population of Barbados? You would think it is a number but it is not. The correct answer is “It depends, it depends on what you want to prove”

Declining population so as to import people – 269,000
    Worldometer – “The current population of Barbados is 282,306 as of Thursday, June 27, 2024, based on Worldometer elaboration of the latest United Nations data 1”. Also look at the graph.

The best thing you can do is believe nothing that is said. Keep you mind, ears and eyes open. In one ear and out the next. The numbers given to you are imaginary, not real.

Correct me, if I am wrong.

31. @NO

There is a thriving US dollar black market in Barbados.

32. Conspiracy Theory Alert
    Age distribution of Barbados (real numbers)
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demographics_of_Barbados
    –14 years 16.78% (male 25,456/female 25,465) total 50,921
    15–64 years 67.56% (male 100,884/female 104,114) total 204998
    65 and over 15.66% (male 19,967/female 27,545) (2023 est.) total 47212.

Talk about 90-0 is just shortsighted. The real talk should be 120-0, 150-0, 180-0 …

When Mia imports 70,000 immigrants in the voting age group and grant them full citizenship, then their sense of entitlement to her would automatically make them BLP supporters. Strategically, place these voters in different constituencies in Barbados and the DLP will be unable to overcome that 70,000 addition.

The question facing the voters during the next election is “who do you want to bring in 70,000 new voters (the BLP or the DLP)?” This will be done by the winner of the next early election.

33. Doesn’t it make sense to focus also on the fact our tax base is dwindling, our population is aging? Have a holistic discuss we want to make it make sense.

34. How can you have a holistic discussion or make sense of madness?
    These folks do what they want at all times.
    Information is not shared and when it is, the information is often wrong.
    You call it making sense but not all of us are willing to follow that bouncing ball.

35. ” Formation chance through 7 days…high…70 percent.”

36. @ Theo,

It’s worth checking out what is happening in Nouvelle Caledonia where mainland France is trying to gerry mander the demographics and by extension the political aspirations of its predominately African dark(er) skin population by flooding their territory with white skinned people from mainland France.

Mia is firmly embedded within the capitalist tradition. She does not see race; she believes that money and power trumps all. Sadly, for Bajans she views them as barriers to the development of the progress of a greater Barbados. Therefore, they have become disposable and in her eyes are merely viewed as potential collateral damage objects.

She wants Barbados to become the Monaco of the Caribbean. In short she is sending out a message that Barbados will become a safe haven for those seeking refuge to launder their money in plain sight. She’s rolling out the red carpet to these individuals. So long as she removes the state from everyday services that all governments should be responsible for and opens up the country to imports and liberal policies then Uncle Sam will turn a blind eye to corruption.

To be fair, on winning her first election she said watch muh. Well we are watching and none of us should be surprise with the outcomes of her time in office.

https://edition.cnn.com/2024/05/15/asia/new-caledonia-violence-france-vote-intl-hnk/index.html

37. @TLSN

If your view had currency wouldn’t Mia be advocating for a citizen by investment program the likes of St. Kitts, Dominica, Grenada etc?

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

Of course there is. In fact, any hard’ish currency is in demand.
    Even some ‘local’ properties for sale, want payment in Fx, esp if the heirs (current owners) live abroad.

39. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

MEN WANT TO MAKE YOU BELIEVE THAT THERE IS LOGIC IN FUTILITY! THE PHILOSOPHICAL PENCHANT OF FUTILITY CAN HAVE NO SOUND RESONANCE WITHIN THE PARADIGMATIC CURVE OF LOGIC GIVEN THAT ONE IS ANTITHETICAL TO THE OTHER!

To cite the “BUSHMAN”, we are selling off the “CROWN JEWELS” in order to satisfy our “RAVENOUS FETISH” for “CONSUMPTION” without the glaringly “OBVIOUS CONNUNDRUM” of not knowing what it means to be “NATIONAL PRODUCERS”!!!

MY QUESTION TO THE MOTTLEY-CREW GOV* IS SIMPLE: “HOW LONG WILL YOU FOOLS CONTINUE TO CHOKE THE VALVE OF PRODUCTIVITY AMONGST THE MOST EDUCATED PEOPLE ON EARTH? WHAT HAPPEN TO RATIONALITY & COMMONSENSE??? IS THE CURRENT GENERATION GONNA’ BE A LOST ONE BECAUSE YOU HAVE NO JOBS, IDEAS OR POLICIES TO SUPPORT THOSE WHOSE LIFE-CHANCES ARE PRACTICALLY ZERO???

The “PHILOSOPHY OF FUTILITY” was “COINED” by Columbia University Marketing Professor #PaulNystrom in 1928. He believed that the “GROWTH OF INDUSTRIALIZATION” had led to a “NARROWING” of “INTERESTS”, “CONTACTS”, & “ACHIEVEMENTS” for many people in the Western world!!!

As a result, people began to hold onto something that could be called a #PhilosophyOfFutility, which involves questioning the “VALUE OF MOTIVES” & “PURPOSES” of main human activities (WORK, ADVANCEMENT, FAMILY & FAITH). As a result, in the case of “BLACK FOLKS”, most have simply given up because “ECONOMIC INCENTIVES” & other distributional areas of “GROWTH” are as small as the island that most live upon – (ALL THIS) within the mainstream world where there are no “UPWARD MOBILITY TRENDS” – so many look outside to the “BLACK ECONOMY” (#NoPlayOnWords)!!!

SADLY, MOST HAVE STOPPED THE ELEVATOR SO THEY CAN GET OUT

40. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna June 26, 2024 at 9:36 am “They will not be selling it to me.”

Me neither.

41. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Since Gabriela Barrera, is a marketing manager what else do we expect her to say?

I just had a mango, banana and spinach smoothie. All products grown by my own hands. Delicious. Keeps my arteries clean, so that I can continue doing my Rude Girl thingy.

Remembering TLSN’s Shakespeare’s comment about alcohol “provokes the desire, but it takes away the performance.”

42. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Hants June 26, 2024 at 6:42 pm “pay attention.”

Thanks Hants.

We paying attention.

43. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@The OG June 27, 2024 at 8:33 am “Former Minister of Education Ronald Jones will feel vindicated after he was berated more than a decade ago for suggesting that Barbadians needed to have more children. He, too, was pointing to a population crisis that seemed to be getting worse each year. As usual, people were consumed with the form and not the substance.”

Perhaps he was berated because he said that people need to breed some more. Breed an offensive term which was used in the slavery period. Women and women in Barbados are NOT sow pigs. We are NOT breeders.

In the 1990 census I surveyed 2 districts, more than 500 households. I was evident to me [and it should have been evident to the policy makers who ought to have interrogated the data] that Barbados’ population was aging and already in significant decline. But even then we were hearing foolish talk ’bout dem young girls having tummuch children. And even while I agree that girls should NEVER have children, I certainly thing that young WOMEN should be encouraged to give birth. Because if young women do not give birth who then will do it? Certainly not the miserable old men of BU.

Somebody needs to tell the middle aged policy makers and the old men of BU, that they are all demographic “has-beens.” Then do all that is necessary to ensure women of prime child bearing age, that is YOUNG women are facilitated to bear and rear children, and provided with the supports needed to raise those children well.

I wonder if many are not jealous/envious of youthful fecundity.

44. I’m not member of the ‘BU intelligentsia,’ but I would ask myself WHAT METHODS United Nations USED to compile Barbados’ population statistics to ‘determine precisely’ 282,306…… that, in the absence of any defined methodology……
    …… would influence any rational person (i.e. has the ability to think clearly and make decisions based on reason rather than emotion) to imply the data is accurate?

Perhaps we may also want to peruse the Barbados Statistical Service’s 2021 Population & Housing Census Report as well, which also outlines the legal basis and methodology for conducting the census, in addition to the limitations and difficulties that were encountered.

According to page 21 of that report, this island’s population was estimated to be 269,090.
    It was also reported the island’s estimated resident population was 277,821 in 2010 and decreased to 269,090 in 2021.

Anyone could reasonably argue that ‘government’ is relying on numbers from the 2021 census, while Worldometer elaborated on the ‘UN’s data as of Thursday, June 27, 2024.’

Interestingly, however, the UN stated, “the population of Barbados in 2021 was 281,200.”

The UN’s stats indicated that Barbados’ population has been increasing for the years 2021 – 2024. A comparison with BSS 2021 stats indicated it increased by 13,216 within 2 years (2021 – 2024).

This information would essentially raise questions about whether or not the Barbadian population is actually declining and the credibility of such claims.

Which source is accurate?

If the antagonists are arguing the population of 269,000 ‘is imaginary, not real,’ and was presented ‘so as to justify importing people,’……

…… the protagonists could likewise argue that Worldometer’s elaboration of 282, 306 is questionable as well, but has only been accepted to justify ‘anti government sentiments.’