It is a discussion we have every year in Barbados and although it is a couple months earlier than is the norm, it will be a discussion item in traditional media, rum shops, social media, anywhere people congregate.

The ‘wet season’ and the adage learned at primary school “June, too soon; July, stand by; August, come they must; September, remember; October, all over”. Thousands of gallons of rainwater will runoff into the sea followed by the government in office issuing a water prohibition because our reservoirs are critically low.

Every year we are subjected to the mouthings of talking heads from government and the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) promising solutions to alleviate water shortages which never materializes. Instead we continue full steam with concrete development whether private or commercial which add to demand on water resources on an island classified as water scarce.

Have a read of this article from Australia. This is something that we urgently need to implement in Barbados if we’re to make any progress in vegetable farming. We could be capturing water from a simple shed roof and storing in tanks for irrigation. Simple as that.

Bentley – BU family member

An irony is that our farmers are encouraged to grow food but have to cry out about not having access to adequate water supply irrigation – and when there is water complain further about the cost of the water. The biggest irony is that the majority of car valet services, if not all, use potable water to ensure the over one hundred thousand vehicles on the roads are kept clean.

The article shared by Bentley addresses how South Australia – a geography that experiences arid conditions – is working to store water to satisfy agriculture demand.

The Importance of Water Storage and Conservation for Irrigation in Agriculture and Horticulture in South Australia

February 2, 2023

Water is an essential resource for agricultural and horticultural practices around the world. Adelaide, South Australia, is no exception, as it is an area with a dry climate and limited water resources. In recent years, water storage and conservation have become increasingly important in Adelaide’s agricultural and horticultural industries to ensure sustainable irrigation practices.

Irrigation is the artificial application of water to crops or plants to promote their growth and yield. In agriculture and horticulture, irrigation is essential to produce healthy and high-quality crops, particularly in regions with low rainfall or limited water resources. In Adelaide, the Mediterranean climate, which is characterised by hot, dry summers and mild, wet winters, means that water is a scarce resource during the growing season. Therefore, efficient irrigation practices are critical for the agricultural and horticultural sectors to thrive.

Water storage and conservation are key components of sustainable irrigation practices in Adelaide. Water storage involves capturing and storing rainwater or surface water in dams or tanks to be used later for irrigation. Water conservation, on the other hand, involves reducing water usage through measures such as drip irrigation or water-efficient practices.

Read the rest of the article:

https://visswater.com.au/the-importance-of-water-storage-and-conservation-for-irrigation-in-agriculture-and-horticulture-in-south-australia/#:~:text=During%20the%20dry%20season%2C%20farmers,which%20is%20a%20finite%20resource

79 responses to “Water worry”

1. Mulching works beautifully. I use the dry leaves from the mango, sour sop and almond trees. Soil remains moist for days on end, even in this heat.

Composting all vegetable matter provides fresh soil to stave off the effects of soil depletion. It also helps in the retention of water. If I were a commercial farmer, I would collect all the vegetable scraps from the neighbourhood and beyond for composting.

As it is, I have more than enough for me.

We just aren’t serious about agriculture here. There is so much that could be done.

2. Last time this writer recommended a nuclear power plant to provide cheap electricity.

This time we’ll suggest another civilizational project which is outside the consideration of all small island thinkers.

That would be a large reservoir to capture tens of millions of gallons of rain water, directed to it, during the seasonal downpours, to serve as the backbone of supply, especially during the dry season.

Of course, other measures should continue to be taken at conservation, collection, reforestation, repair of aged pipes, etc. However, like a nuclear power or fusión power plant, still in development, this massive catchment area will become the main sources of cheap energy, water.

However, these conservation, desalination, ideas alone have failed, now for decades, in reversing the near desert conditions in a water scare Barbados.

Sooner or later there has to be a recognition that national thinking has to match the orders of magnitude worthy of confronting the problems of the 21st century. Problems which never occurred before.

3. Sooner or later BB is ABSOLUTELY going to have to place a Prime Minister in power whose needs override their own and who puts BARBADOS AND BAJANS FIRST.

END OF STORY.

4. It was reported that the fire was caused by a lightning strike to the roof.

Bushie could blame it on the monument at the Garrison.

5. Just listened to the MP for St. Lucy Peter Phillips forced to explain why many residents from that northern parish have to endure brown water from their taps.

He did a reasonable job to explain why it will take time to replace the 100+ mains. What he neglected to do was take responsibility for the neglect by successive governments not having implemented a ‘fit for purpose’ mains replacement program. If there was one from about the 70s it would have meant the situation would not have gotten to crisis stage.

6. @Hants
    “Bushie could blame it on the monument at the Garrison.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bushie don’t blame the monument for one shiite!….except for being UGLY…

The bushman blames the BB’s for being led by a Froon, to establish such a satanic ALTAR, complete with the traditional black pitchfork… on the damn Garrison.
    …and for what THAT symbol confirms about us as a cuntree.

Check carefully and see if EVERY shiite has gone DOWNHILL eva since…
    Pure coincidence probably…ya think…?

Steupssss

What a curse…
    What a place
    What blindness…

7. “Just listened to the MP for St. Lucy Peter Phillips forced to explain why many residents from that northern parish have to endure brown water from their taps.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    You mean he RECITED the litany of EXCUSES that they have been pushing now as a REACTION, every time a set of brass bowls become too overwhelmed to bend over some more, ….or to apply more vaseline…?

See how fast the Valarie Housing problems have been ‘SOLVED’ – with a lotta shiite talk and reheated PROMISES?
    The BB’s have since retreated to the expensive housing mess – PAID FOR WITH THEIR TAXES, which have gone to make MalMoney even richer….

It must be FUN taking such advantage of brass…

As man David!!
    Tell Bushie of something (any shiite) that we have actually managed to SOLVE, or to successfully implement recently…. even when we had to bring in albino-centric overseers – as we did in Tourism, QEH and in the PMO….

What a place
    What a curse
    What a shame

8. A general comment
    Stop!
    Think!
    Has it started to register with you ‘everything is falling apart’ nnd this is regardless (Mr West) of if it is B or D. By now, some, though they protest, must have realized that the wheels are off the bus and still the bus is going over the cliff.

Cue up your sound track, apologies, excuses, stock phrases … I know that you don’t believe what you say, but it eases your pain. Continue to self medicate.

It must be good to have a guy like the sulfide around. You can ignore the issues that ar choking you and cuss him instead. Sorry guys, I cannot play your game.

9. spin.

10. It rained last night and today.

11. @Bush Tea

It is a hard question to answer, cannot think of any national project, including solving our water woes, that is going well.

12. What if temperature rises to match what is happening in India? Our electric grid seems to have gotten fragile in recent years.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cllle947r9lo

13. Good morning Boss…
    Bushie suspects that, (optimist that you are,) you did not have a good night’s sleep, – as you would have been contemplating our predicament as a country.

To further complicate your day, here are a few questions to chew on….

If you were in charge bout here, and you genuinely CARED about the best interests of brass, would you not, by now, have RECONSIDERED your whole APPROACH and sought a NEW and FRESH plan of action….?
    …given that EVERY SHIITE that you have tried so far have turned into shaving cream?

From the childish ‘we gatherin’ initiative to the current ‘Afro Banking’ thrust (that started off with Mr MalMoney’s record breaking cash withdrawal, and which will probably end up in an international scandal…
    and…
    …including the never-ending Electricity Rates debacle,
    …the south coast sewerage joke, that transferred dumping on the streets to dumping into the sea… (which is what the ORIGINAL objective was conceived to avoid)
    …the water woes which have now been transferred from St John to St George and St Lucy,
    …the Housing mess – typified by MalMoney’s expensive and defective housing projects and by DooShiite’s Steal houses.
    …The transport mess, which has continued to worsen – only now with luxury busses and with licensing confusion…
    …the pothole quagmire – now being expensively PATCHED in order to impress the world for cricket – KNOWING that the work is ‘not going to last…’
    …etc etc

Seriously Boss…
    Would you in such circumstances CONTINUE on the same shiite path – depending on another ‘we gatherin’ fuh cup?
    …or making deals with albino-centric demons such as EMERA and MalMoney?

Or would you seek WISE counsel?

The OTHER question is this…
    If…
    India is hot as shiite…
    North America is hot as shiite…
    Europe is hot as shiite…

Would you not PREPARE now, for the GREAT LIKELIHOOD that Brassbados will be even hotter … given our normally high temperatures…?
    Or would you wait until the Met Office announces that we are boiling…?

Bushie appreciates that many of us are too busy planning for big gatherings of happy visitors – to deal with minor issues like the almost inevitable world war 3, our lack of adequate water, poor sewerage management, and now the likelihood of suffocating temperatures and unpredictable weather….

NOBODY PROMISED THAT LEADERSHIP WAS FOR THE FAINT OF HEART OR FOR BB SHEEP, but shiite, are we to keep doing the same jobby while being promised roses…?

A curse is an awful thing, when wisdom and common sense are taken away…

14. @Bush Tea

Let us focus on the serious matters raised by you after our summer carnival known as crop over.

15. LOL @ David
    There you go with your optimistic outlook again….

As Bushie’s antecedents were won’t to ask…

Wait!!!
    You got an ‘after crop over’ put down boozie…???

It is THAT bad boss….

16. Listening to Brasstacks.

Water problems again.

17. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WHERE THER IS NO VISION THE PEOPLE PERISH – WHERE THERE IS NO ACCOUNTABILITY THE PEOPLE ARE PERPETUALLY SCREWED

As far back as 1994, (some 30 years – 10 years shy of a “GENERATION), the “INFAMOUS” Shell Oil Co. has avoided accountability for the #DisastrousPipelineLEAK* that spilled between 300K to 500K gallons of “JET FUEL” into the “BARBADOS WATER TABLE”!!!

Had that happened or occurred “ANYWHERE” in a 1st world country – Shell would’ve had to “DRY COUGH UP MULTI-BILLIONS” 4 (clean-UP* & #Restitution)!!!

Successive GOVs have come & gone with some at the “HELM”, even “DYING IN OFFICE”, with no real amelioration or redress to those who have suffered including those who have since died in the “GIBBON’S BOGGS” & surrounding areas where “AGRICULTURAL LAND” was severely affected!!!

Barbados has never had “WATER WOES” since the 1600s given our coral limestone geology which acts as a “FILTRATION SYSTEM” providing a vast “UNTAPPED WATER-TABLE ECOSYSTEM RESOURCE” that constantly replenishes itself over the last almost 400 years…

What sticks in the “CRAW” is at that time, Shell was making a cool US$3 MILLION/per hour (today, almost $10 MIL/P/H) & in turn offered #45Minutes of “COMPENSATION” to all local farmers – some $2 MILLION to be divided up amongst them!!!

Regrettably, I was at forefront in those battles – as I had been given an “AGENCY CONTRACT” from a US TELECOM Co. to provide “UPLINK” services in Barbados & arrived on the island in 1993 to take up that role, & was not only fighting against “CABLE & WIRELESS” for their lack of “OPEN-MARKET ACCESS” for long distance & “DATA TRANSFERS”, but for “CHEAPER LONG DISTANCE CALLS”, as so many “OFFSHORE” & “MULTINATIONAL” organizations needed ways to cut their telecommunication budgets!!!

I therefore stumbled on to the “SHELL ISSUE” because of a friend who wanted to use my resources to help fight the company (WHAT HAS PROVEN TO BE A DAVID v GOLIATH SITUATION), and I opted for a behind the curtains role, as my other role could have created a “CONFLICT OF INTEREST”, given that I had signed-UP* all these companies including PAHO* & other UN orgs & Cable Wireless/BARTEL was doing the dog, as they knew “COMPETITION” was now in their backyard…

Those were the dayz when the ADVOCATE & NATION newsprints were hot with articles myself & others wrote “SAVAGING” the “MONOPOLIZATION” of TELECOMS” in Barbados and the need for GOV* deregulation of the sector but found no “JOY”!!!

Since the 1990s until today, Barbados has NOT* had an industrial strategy for “SUSTAINABLE” water resource management – neither have the “BUREAUCRAPS” et al done anything with the “BILLIONS” they have borrowed to improve “WASTE MANAGEMENT” & improve infrastructure given the # of hotels & visitors to such a small island – (so just imagine “HALF-A-MILLION” people flushing their toilets at 7 AM), the impact that has on water usage, but moreover, to look at other “RESOURCE ASSETS” like #Desalination, #IsobaricEnergyRecoverySystems & #RainTechnologies that would enhance quality & quantity water management stores!!!

I KEEP TELLING THE “BUSHMAN” HE NEEDS TO RUN THE DAMN PLACE BUT HE AIN’T BUDGING!!!

18. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

THE WATER OF THE WORD IS STILL NOT BEING USED AS MEN WOULD RATHER STAY PARCHED INSTEAD OF DRINKING FROM THE FOUNTAIN OF LIFE

“DESALINATION IS A DROUGHT-PROOF-TECHNOLOGY”!!!

Barbados has endless stores of “SEAWATER” – so where are the #DesalinationPlants on the “TIP” & “BOTTOM” of the country (St Lucy – Christ Church)???

The country has endless days of “SUNSHINE” when harnessed by “SOLAR-CELL TECHNOLOGY” – offsets sufficient amounts of power required to operate commercial-scale desalination plants – power that is often produced by importing oil or natural gas…

Trinidad & Tobago is the rare exception – as it has large natural gas deposits offshore, as well as oil reserves. This island has the largest “REVERSE OSMOSIS” desalination plant in the Western Hemisphere – “DESALCOTT”!!!

SEE: https://desalcott.com/

ALSO: https://science.howstuffworks.com/reverse-osmosis.htm

According to #CaribDA’s website – “The Caribbean Desalination Association is committed to the development and promotion of the appropriate use of desalination, desalination technology and water reuse in the Caribbean region in particular…”

SEE: https://www.caribda.com/

SEE ALSO: https://www.watertechonline.com/wastewater/article/16211602/examining-isobaric-energy-recovery-systems-at-swro-plants

I am not sure what the “POLICYMAKERS” in Barbados are actually doing about this problem that is facing the country – one thing is for sure, complacency is never an option given that water is the crystal life-blood of any nation!!!

Here’s PBD* on the “UPSIDE/DOWNSIDE” of water…

19. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

IN BRITAIN, THE GOV* DIVESTED ITSELF OF THE PUBLICLY-OWNED WATER COMPANIES – NOW SO MUCH CRAP* & POOP* IS IN THE RIVERS & WATER COURSES THAT ONE WONDERS HOW LONG BEFORE SOME WEIRD & WONDERFUL WATER-BORNE DISEASE AFFECTS VAST SWATHES OF THE POPULATION

Just this morning, I conferred with “WIFEY” about (1) Putting in a “WHOLE-HOUSE” water filtration system that I have been looking at for months… (2) Buying a business spring water cooler starter pack with some 60 bottles @15 litres each on a pallet for drinking & (3) looking to “INVEST” in Dominica’s Water, as the country overflows with abundant fresh untapped water!!!

At our current trajectory, Barbados “WATER WOES” will only worsen as the “MOTTLEY-CREW GOV*” wring their hands in desperation, as the taps staring belching out chocolate-colored swill instead of the “PURE PRISTINE” limestone-filtered water we drank growing up – straight from the tap in the 60s, 70s & even 80s…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6wTx4f1lifg

20. Now we are hearing farmers at the Wakefield agriculture project complaining about having no access to water. He apparently has a full crop planted. We are not serious.

21. But David…
    If a fellow go and build a house on some sand… you REALLY think that Bushie will lose a lotta sleep when he come on Brass Tacks crying when the tide comes in…?

It is not only the leaders that have been separated from common sense
    …tired with BBs….

BEFORE investing time and money in a project, would you not need to ensure that the required inputs (water) are available???

What a place..

22. The tanks are suppose to be filled by government. The farmer has a tank which means the farmer had a good expectation of receiving water from the truck. The fact the road makes his plot inaccessible must be addressed by Weir and his team.

23. General comment, my ass! The fact that you felt the need to say that gives the lie to that contention. You shall not escape, as you were trying to do.

You better look to the wheels under the bus you are in! You have a duppy in the driver’s seat, a madman waiting to take the wheel and a country of three hundred and thirty million, nearly half of whom cannot think as clearly as the monkey I saw this morning.

And yet, you remain hopeful and “have faith that we will get it right”! In the meantime, AIPAC has your “leaders” facilitating genocide and ethnic cleansing before our very eyes and your would be leaders sign missiles encouraging the Zionists to “finish them”. A morally bankrupt country! And finally, the world sees it!

Upon what then is your faith based, I ask you!

My statement to you regarding my state of mind was and is that I am as happy in my little “shithole” as you are in yours.

If you could be happy and hopeful in the bosom of “empire”, the empire that is responsible for much of what the ordinary people of the world endure today, then you have no right to criticise self-medication.

You are more medicated than I am. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

24. 5:18 pm yesterday
    “What a curse…
    What a place
    What blindness…”

5:32 pm yesterday
    “What a place
    What a curse
    What a shame”

Leave the cursed place and fly far away

.. the Roots-y zeitgeist
    Zippin’ up my boots goin’ back to my roots. To the place of my birth back down to earth…….

25. We cannot take everything written by others as highly personal. There was no thought of a specific individual when that bit was written.

Things may be falling apart in other places, but BU is focused on Barbados (as am I).
    Direct question to you? I suspect the same must have happened elsewhere, but do you Any thought on the destruction of some of the archive in Barbados?

26. Interesting.
    (Directed) Note that deaths by the police in the US does not soften this young man parents sorrow. Why can’t they see the body?

BarbadosToday
    ‘DEATH PROBE’
    LAWYER CALLS FOR INVESTIGATION INTO DEATH OF MAN IN POLICE CELL
    By Jenique Belgrave
    Prominent criminal defence lawyer Michael Lashley has called for an “independent investigation” into the death of a 29-year-old man in a police cell earlier this month, and for the whereabouts of his body to be made known.
    The King’s Counsel has also urged the introduction of new legislation to safeguard the rights of individuals held in police custody.
    The action and suggestion follow the discovery of Kemo Grant unresponsive in a cell at Bridgetown’s Central Police Station on June 9.
    A police statement said officers conducting regulation cell checks around 7:35 a.m. found Grant motionless. An ambulance was called but not available, so a doctor attended and pronounced him dead.
    His family has since demanded answers and to view his body.
    Lashley, representing relatives, said he wrote to the police commissioner on Monday requesting the location of Grant’s body and calling for a probe.
    “I have sent a letter on behalf of the family requesting that the family be shown the body immediately and that a full and independent investigation be carried out in relation to the facts and the circumstances surrounding the cause of death of Kemo Grant and further that they be informed immediately about the whereabouts of the body,” he told Barbados TODAY.
    The senior attorney added that it was time for “a new legislative regime that protects the rights of citizens whilst held in police custody, similar to the Police and Criminal Evidence Act in England”.
    He also proposed that the State should appoint duty counsels through legal aid to represent suspects during police interrogations if they do not have their own lawyer, mirroring systems in Trinidad and other jurisdictions.
    A landmark piece of legislation in force for the last 40 years, the Police and Criminal Evidence Act is a comprehensive statutory framework governing every aspect of police custody powers in England that enshrines key legal protections against abuse of rights that had previously been lacking. At its core are several codes that outline strict procedures and protections that officers have to follow.
    One of the most significant is Code C. This code mandates that upon detention, suspects must be informed of their rights – crucially, their entitlement to free legal advice and to have someone notified of their arrest. It prohibits oppressive questioning techniques and requires interviews to be recorded.
    The Act also imposes strict time limits on how long someone could be held without charge. After 24 hours, detention could only continue after reviews by senior officers scrutinising the grounds for continued custody.
    A key legal protection is the right for detainees to consult a solicitor in private at any time. The police have a duty to facilitate access to legal advice without delay. For those who don’t speak English, the codes ensure they must be made aware of their entitlement to an interpreter.
    The procedures extend to areas like searches, taking samples like DNA and fingerprints, and protocols around identificationparades – all designed to uphold detainees’ rights. Additional safeguards are applied for those detained under anti-terrorism laws, such as access to legal consultation within 48 hours.
    The law also established an independent custody visitor scheme where volunteers could turn up unannounced to check on detainee treatment and the condition of cells – an external oversight mechanism.
    jeniquebelgrave@barbadostoday.bb

27. From BarbadosToday
    Prosecutor: Escapee ‘walked out’ of cell ‘just so’
    It is the State’s case that after being arrested and placed in a cell at a police station, Akeem Ricardo Griffith unlocked it and walked out.
    Principal State Counsel Joyann Catwell told this to a nine member jury in the No. 4A Supreme Court as the trial of the alleged escapee got underway.
    Griffith, of Montrose, Silver Hill, Christ Church, has denied that on December 4, 2022, being a person in lawful custody having been arrested for the offence of robbery, he did escape without the use of force.
    In her opening statement, Catwell said the accused had been arrested and taken into custody as a result of a robbery investigation.
    “He was held in custody at District ‘B’ Police Station in Boarded Hall and was placed in a cell awaiting investigations into the robbery matter. While there, he unlocked the cell and walked out. Just so. There was no force and he escaped from police custody.
    “He may say that police told him to ‘guh long’. He may say that the door wasn’t locked. He may say that he wasn’t placed in a cell. He may say that he was placed on a bench and not into a cell. Look out for excuses, but ladies and gentlemen of the jury, I implore you to listen to the facts and pay attention to the evidence in this court and at the end of your deliberations you will find the accused guilty of the offence for which he stands indicted,” the prosecutor stated.
    She further advised the jurors to make their decision without bias or prejudice and warned them to stay away from gossip.
    “We live in a small society, and we hear and read many things. When you sit as jurors, you must leave all of the gossip and all other extraneous matters out of your deliberations . .
    . . You are reminded that all of you have taken an oath and duty requires that you return a verdict in accordance with the oath which you have taken. Integrity is the hallmark of your service,” she stressed.
    Griffith is self-represented. Madam Justice Wanda Blair presides.

28. “It is a hard question to answer, cannot think of any national project, including solving our water woes, that is going well.”

Maybe the projects/problems to be solved are that huge and as such appear to not be going well. Look at public transport, the age and size of the stock was in such a state in 2018 (no replenishment in 10 years) that even after buying 59 electric buses there’s still a shortage of buses as the fleet is even older. More on order as reported in the press Same for garbage trucks. On water alone, go research how many reservoirs have been repaired/rebuilt, new storage tanks, new water trucks, new mains. Is road repair/reconstruction not going well? Whitehill? The refurbishment of Kensington? Bridgetown Sewage Plant isn’t on the way to being a tertiary plant, with the Southcoast to follow? Geriatric Hospital? Fish markets? Fire stations? Has the expanded AE led to any successes? Does sourcing the finance form part of the “national project” KPIs? Did covid eat nearly 3 years out of the last 4 years? I’ll stay silent and come back in 18-24 months. By the way there is policy in Bdos about water harvesting, water saving devices etc and a big able new Stomwater Management Bill is on parliament’s Order Paper. Read more!

29. @Enuff

What does building/repairing reservoirs got to do with a farmer unable to have a water barrel filled to be able to irrigate his agriculture plot?

30. @Enuff

What does ordering new buses and garbage trucks have to do with anything because government waiting for parts for too many that are ‘parkup’?

31. “It is a hard question to answer, cannot think of any national project….. that is going well.”

Maybe I lack reading and comprehension skills. If you can’t even understand what you wrote, you get up good.

32. Bushie has to sympathize with Enuff, who seems to think that the criticism is related to the EFFORTS being extended by his political allies, or to the GOOD INTENTIONS on their part…
    Even those NOT enamored with Auntie have to admire her work ethic, her inspired oratory, and her convincing (even if pretense) representation of her constituents’ interests.

HOWEVER… IT IS RESULTS that count.
    The ability to convert promises and sweet talk into RESULTS, and to resolve PROBLEMS is even more important than monotonous sweet-sounding promises and excuses.

The RESULTS have been dismal.
    EVEN worse, rather than IDENTIFY and PROMOTE those who DO GET THINGS DONE, the jokers who have been MOST incompetent, have been PROMOTED to do even more expensive damage.

Take DooShiite as an example…
    -Mess up MTW with stupid stickers..
    -Mess up highway repairs
    -Mess up Steal houses
    So now he gets to $%#& up Town Planning as a SENIOR minister.
    Same result with the nasty-mouth tyre-slasher….who left energy in a mess… for the mandatory ‘promotion’..

Another mistake by Enuff is this suggestion that throwing millions of dollars at issues is a sign of ‘progress’.
    It is NOT!!
    This just becomes an opportunity to facilitate underhanded activities – often related to sourcing questionable funds for political activities and even for unknown ‘East West’ type entities.

Enuff needs to do some research on MERITOCRACIES.
    Check how they operate, how there are regulated, how standards are set, and how PERFORMANCE (and NON-performance) is rewarded….

This lotta shiite of promoting family, friends and associates – most of whom are mendicant CLOWNS, is the VERY OPPOSITE of meritocracy, and is indeed the very ROOT of brassbowlery.

33. @Enuff

Poor old you.

34. You have been dropping remarks at me for a while now about rose-coloured spectacles etc. Now you speak of self-medicating and didn’t have anyone in mind. 🤔

But again your comprehension skills fail you. You cautioned against self-medicating while being even more strongly medicated yourself. That is my point.

You cannot expect it to go unremarked.

You believe that a morally depraved country bursting with one hundred million white supremacists or complete imbeciles or both can get it right. You believe that a country in which capitalism is a religion can get it right. When even Bernie Sanders finds it necessary to parrot the “Israel has a right to defend itself” bullshit, you believe that country can get it right.

You believe that a country in the throes of obvious madness can get it right.

But the real reason why I persist with you is because you have constantly misrepresented my position, even recently, with your “asking questions” dig on the Under Fire blog.

And I will keep on you until you stop!

On another matter, you don’t have to toss up balls for me to hit! I, unlike you, can pick my balls and my shot selection is good. I do not cut canes on a cricket field!

Do remember that it was I who directed you to the real question that needed to be asked:

Why did the young man need an ambulance in the first place?

I gathered from the interview with the young man’s father that he may have had substance abuse issues. I see that family members have retained counsel, as is warranted in this situation and they are demanding a toxicology report.

They are asking the right QUESTIONS. You will notice that they have reached no conclusion, at least, not publicly. This is how smart people proceed!

Here’s another question for you:

Why was he in police custody?

This could shed some light as to whether there was an incentive to abuse the young man.

I notice that Carlisle Greaves has raised the issue of “coerced” confessions and the fact that convictions based on these confessions alone is not to be tolerated. The issue has been raised in court by a member of the judiciary. That alone is progress.

I will watch how this matter proceeds and comment or ask questions when necessary.

35. David

Poor old me? Wuh even some of muh posts ain’t even showing up.🤣🤣🤣

36. David

You clearly said “national projects”, including water, and when I highlight other “national projects” you behaved like you were only speaking about the water project or Wakefield farmers. But waaait isn’t stormwater management (bill) apart from flood risk mitigation, focused on water harvesting via sustainable drainage systems such as rain gardens, greenroofs, geocellular and above storage etc? I am not so sure you’re sure about what your lead story is talking about yuh. Don’t blame me for your oft times lack of information and clarity. My contributions are for the most part are evidence-based, not emotion/malice driven. By now I also know when I pinch a nerve. I repeat, I can take on all of the BUI…ALL.🤣

37. 1/1
    Two comment
    (1) “And I will keep on you until you stop!”
    ** I doubt you can top me from doing anything, especially with my comprehension problems.

(2) “They are asking the right QUESTIONS. You will notice that they have reached no conclusion, at least, not publicly. This is how smart people proceed!”

** To believe that I have to follow the same paths of loved ones is folly. Their interest is quite different from my own. The algorithm is simple ” I put my thoughts here, the reader can take them, leave them alone, ignore them or feel the need to correct them. My journey will continue, regardless.

38. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

IF 70% OF THE WATER ON THE PLANET IS USED FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION – THEN WHAT IS THE WAY FORWARD FOR SMALL NATION STATES LIKE BARBADOS??? DO THE POLIETICIANS HAVE A HANDLE ON THIS GROWING ISSUE & WILL WATER BECOME SUCH A PRECIOUS COMMODITY THAT FEW WILL BE ABLE TO AFFORD A DRINK???

#WhoLives & #WhoDies??? #HowMuchWillBeDailyRations??? Will your “BEACHES” become a “GATED COMMODITY” reserved for the “FILTHY* RICH”???

I’ll “PARK” right there!!!

39. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

THE EXISTENTIAL THREAT OF WATER WARS* IS AN INCREASINGLY OMINOUS PHENOMENA GIVEN THAT SINCE 1995 – THERE HAVE BEEN 6 DUCUMENTARIES & MOVIES THAT HAS NO MOVED THE #Dial ONE INCH

Here’s a summary:

(1) The Water War (1995): A Mozambican drama film directed by Licínio Azevedo, written by Licínio Azevedo and Brigitte Bagnol, and produced by Ebano Multimedia. The film explores the struggles of a Mozambican family during the Mozambican Civil War…

(2) Blue Gold: World Water Wars (2008): A documentary film directed by Sam Bozzo, written by Sam Bozzo, Maude Barlow, and Tony Clarke, and produced by Mark Achbar, Si Litvinoff, and Sam Bozzo. The film examines the global water crisis and its impact on humanity…

(3) Water Wars (2009): A documentary film directed by Jim Burroughs, featuring Martin Sheen, Hafiz Uddin Ahmed, Earl Blumenauer, and Eelco H. Dykstra. The film explores the global water crisis, highlighting issues in Bangladesh, India, the Netherlands, and the United States…

(4) Water Wars (2010): A documentary film directed by Jim Burroughs, focusing on the water crises in Bangladesh and other countries facing floods and droughts…

(5) Water Wars (2014): A science fiction film directed by unknown, featuring catastrophic war, destroyed ecosystems, and a fight for water resources. The film received mixed reviews, with some critics calling it a “sheer waste of time and money…”

(6) WATER WARS (2014) Official Trailer: A trailer for the 2014 film, showcasing the movie’s action-packed and dramatic scenes.

These movies and documentaries explore the theme of water scarcity, conflict, & the importance of water resources…

40. Diagnosing it as a comprehension problem is my generous nature at work. Otherwise, I would have to conclude that it is deliberate.

41. @Enuff

Will check spam. It seems the WordPress spam filter is failing you LOL.

42. @Enuff

We are discussing meritocracy at the national level BUT it does not preclude getting simple tasks right to support small business owners and entrepreneurs.

43. 1/2 From BarbadosToday
    AUTOPSY CALL
    SISTERS DEMAND POST-MORTEM AFTER BROTHER DIES IN LOCKUP
    By Jenique Belgrave
    The sisters of Kemo Grant, the 29-year-old man who died in a Central Police Station holding cell nearly two weeks ago, have called for a forensic pathologist to conduct the post-mortem examination on their brother’s body as soon as possible.
    Their attorney, Martie Garnes, said a letter had been sent to the Coroner’s Office requesting that the island’s lone forensic pathologist perform the autopsy, as relatives seek clear answers into the circumstances surrounding Grant’s death on June 9. He was discovered unresponsive by officers conducting regulation cell checks and was later pronounced dead.
    “We do not want evidence to be lost, because obviously as time goes on, the likelihood of contamination, the likelihood of decomposition – those are real issues that we would likely face and have,” the lawyer said.
    “Yes, the law doesn’t say that it has to be a forensic pathologist, but we are saying look at the circumstances, and when you have these types of situations, it is always best to have the expert and the expert is the forensic pathologist.”
    Speaking to reporters on Wednesday at the office of Pilgrim and Associates, Garnes, who along with Tyra Trotman is representing Grant’s sisters Tricia and Kim, said they would be asking for a full investigation into the matter.
    Garnes also argued that the time had come for station orderlies and custodians to be outfitted with body cameras to ensure full transparency. “We saw recently that Guyana is training officers in respect of using their body cams. Why is it that we are behind? We should be at the forefront of this, not just simply looking at it from criminal justice reform, but looking at it in terms of how best can we ensure that the police operate in a manner that is totally transparent.”
    While insisting they were not implying foul play, Trotman added: “I would like for this to establish a standard going forward that The Barbados Police Service conducts itself in a way of excellence and no less than that.”
    Kim insisted her brother was not suffering from any ailment before being taken into police custody.
    “My brother was not sick. If there is one thing I can say is that he was not unhealthy,” she said, adding that she had last seen Kemo the day before he died, after he completed 100 push-ups.
    Tricia added: “We would just like to get clarity, we just need the facts, we just need the truth. We need to know what happened before we lay our brother to rest.”
    On Tuesday, King’s Counsel Michael Lashley called not only for a full investigation into Grant’s death but for the introduction of new legislation to safeguard the rights of individuals held in police custody, similar to the United Kingdom’s Police and Criminal Evidence Act.
    He also proposed that the State appoint duty counsels through legal aid to represent suspects during police interrogations if they do not have their own lawyer, mirroring systems in Trinidad and other jurisdictions.
    jeniquebelgrave@barbadostoday.bb

44. The Old Gorilla is in the China Shop Avatar
    The Old Gorilla is in the China Shop

2/2 (TheO’s analysis – the gloves are off)

It pains me that in their search for justice, these relative must step gingerly so as not to muddy the waters. First, they must try to maintain public interest and seek public sympathy for their cause. Next, they must be cautious in their description of the actions of the police as one wrong statement could weaken their case and cause others to doubt their motives.

One wrong word and they could be accuse of being money hungry, playing politics or of attacking law officers. Theirs must be a sequence of cautious, determined and calculated steps as they strive to move their cause forward. But what about me?

I will be the bull in the China shop. I will pull no punches and to hell with who is offended or find my behavior brazen. Let’s go; let’s rock and roll.

Here we have a young man who did 100 push-ups the day before he died. In my very best days, doing 10 push-ups was my goal. Here we have a young healthy man (1) taken into police custody about two weeks ago, (2) who died shortly after being taken into custody (3) and whose body his relatives are still unable to view after two weeks.

This family does not need a next person coloring within the restrictive box. This family does not need softer question being posed about this young man’s death. Let’s get that bull loose in the China shop.

Questions must be asked
    How did this young man die?
    Why did this young man die?
    Was it due to natural causes or was it due to his interaction with the police?
    Was he beaten?
    Why can’t his family view his body?
    What is being hidden? Is it a battered, bruised and beaten body?
    Is it mutilated?
    Does holding the body increase the chance of relevant information disappearing?

I would suggest that the family ask for a forensic pathologist not based in Barbados. This is a case where the public should help the family with the cost of getting an independent expert.

First they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out—because I was not a socialist.
    Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out—because I was not a trade unionist.
    Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—because I was not a Jew.
    Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.
    —Martin Niemöller

45. The REALLY amazing thing is that the family needs to hire a lawyer, and to hold a press conference – in order to BEG for a post mortem and an investigation…

YOU MEAN THIS IS NOT AUTOMATIC and MANDATORY and transparent?

A citizen is taken into custody by officials of the STATE
    ..is at their mercy WRT all the requirements of good health
    ..ends up dead in a cell…
    AND A FULL, TRANSPARENT INVESTIGATION IS NOT MANDATORY….??!!

Three MUST be a requirement fo such an investigation…

Shiite!!! EVEN a decent Banana Republic would have such a requirement in its constitution….

…But then again….we don’t even HAVE a constitution…

What a place!!

46. @Bush Tea

Nothing wrong with asking reasonable questions if what is known does not pass a smell test. Which is different from forming conclusions.