Submitted by Kammie Holder

Poor phone service and the whole country is silent- not a whimper from any politician.

On Monday a friend went to visit her sick husband in hospital only to be told he died the morning.

The QEH say they called but did not get through to anyone. All of us can attest to hearing persons saying they have tried calling others without success. What will it take for politicians to really care?

On another note, who are the merchants the GOB allows to import potatoes with dirt on them which is against good phytosanitary protocols and best suited for hog food.

In the absence of Freedom Of Information Act and the silence of a selfish docile Bajan culture, we will all be taken advantage of.

My confidence in party politics in Barbados is completely shaken and the only hope is for Bajans to go back to voting independents as was done in the 60s.

Political parties are owned and controlled by those who fund political campaigns.

We scoffed are remaining stupid under the union jack but in ignorance just to be contented to selfishly survive at the expense of others and an orderly society!

74 responses to “Something wrong”

1. These constant complaints!

But never an interrogation of the forces driving them.

It’s as if Barbados was an island.

Maybe it is, in more ways than one!

2. I said to a friend just few days ago. Why is no one complaining about the horrible internet service there. I can just about hear two words at a time. I have been recording when I would prefer to speak. It has been more than a month now.

3. William Skinner Avatar

@ Kammie Holder.
    “My confidence in party politics in Barbados is completely shaken and the only hope is for Bajans to go back to voting independents as was done in the 60s.” (kammie Holder)

We are in total agreement with that!

4. Got one word for you Starlink. $55 Usd a month and to hell with flow.

5. Any Barbadian who has travelled and took the opportunity to visit a supermarket knows that produce offered by our local supermarkets would be rejected for consumption by animals overseas. How many times have English potatoes been purchased only to discover many rotting in the bag. Or have you had the experience of baking potatoes in the jacket for the required number of people only to discover the center filled with black mold when served? Tomatoes, mushrooms, fruit etc – get a mortgage for the healthy ones or settle for the rejects at an exorbitant price.

I won’t even touched on our phone and internet providers. It’s as if the government couldn’t care less. The only bright spark in this blatant rape of the consumer in Barbados is our savior, in the form of Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados. At least he tries where he can to stop those money sucking vampires from extorting every last cent for the non existent customer service, if you want to call it that, they grudgingly offer.

As a service and saving to the taxpayers of this country, the FTC can be dissolved post haste.

6. Skinner

To so agree means the underestimation of the viciousness of the duopoly.

Answer these

Are not all current members of bourgeois political parties not been acting independently at some point/s along the way?

Are these people, to win, not have independently gamed their chances for success, whether as a d or b?

And have candidates not have histories of independently moving from party to party in their interests?

Do you presume that current blp candidates in Saint John, for example, not independently weighing their chances in case there is a DLP rebound?

In short, there is no credence to the pretense of being independent. Even in the 60s so-called independents were aligned to establishment parties.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    You are correct that they(the independents) may all be tainted in some form or fashion by the BLPDLP.
    However, once in the House of Assembly, they could at the very least , cause some measure of positive disruption. It would certainly be an improvement in what presently obtains.
    The same goes for any third party. The NDP, presented a perfect example of most of the questions you asked.
    We really have a very dormant political culture.

8. Depends on the supermarket. Also, how do you detect black mould on the inside from looking at the outside? And, it is also a seasonal thing.

P.S. If you return the potatoes, you get a refund.

Serve us right, I say. We could grow local and buy local.

9. It irks me to follow in the footsteps of my hero 000.

I dedicate this to the “special” one. Special in a nice way.

The Great Pretender – Freddie Mercury
    Oh, yes, I’m the great pretender
    Pretending I’m doing well
    My need is such I pretend too much
    I’m lonely but no one can tell

Adrift in a world of my own
    I play the game but to my real shame
    You’ve left me to dream all alone

Too real is this feeling of make believe
    Too real when I feel what my heart can’t conceal

Oh, oh, yes, I’m the great pretender
    Just laughing and gay like a clown
    I seem to be what I’m not, you see
    I’m wearing my heart like a crown
    Pretending that you’re still around

Yeah, oh…
    Too real when I feel what my heart can’t conceal

Just laughing and gay like a clown
    I seem to be what I’m not you see
    I’m wearing my heart like a crown
    Pretending that you’re
    Pretending that you’re still around

10. Wait, like your man John has had an impact. He’s posted the video countless times. You playing 🐰🐰?

11. @OG

If you are going to publish the lyrics please give credit where it is due; that is the songwriter (Buck Ram), Freddie Mercury only covered the song. To me and most of my generation nothing can beat the original by the Platters. Incidentally I saw them perform live in 2004 (one original member).

12. Hahahahaha! Freddy Mercury?????? Hahahaha! The Platters, man! The Platters! Mercy! Freddy Mercury!

My parents used to kill that vinyl on the radiogram long before Freddy Mercury was a Queen.

But who is the Great Pretender, though? Because there are also great pretenders who pretend that they’re NOT doing well!

13. One of the problems with politicians, as leaders supposedly, and especially in Barbados, is the bits and pieces approaches they have, and can do no better than.

Amazingly during a week where political earthquakes are going off. Where the future is being designed in Saint Petersburg at the SPIEF, not a political boy in the region seemed to have anything to say, to do.

A week, where Ralph Thorne gave a press conference, and for a man who pretends to want to lead, confined himself to the inert. Talking shiite which will make no difference, never has. But not a word about the tectonic shifts emanating from the Global Majority.

Even as at the Saint Petersburg International Economic Forum (SPIEF) design radical financial and economic structures, being made readied for the BRICKS Summit later this year, to then have regional political asswipes of the Collective West. Then we will be led by these donkeys running down behind structures the region could have been ahead of, planning how to catch up after spending all their time with foolishness, trivia.

This is the real chance to end financial and economic colonialization which remains with us after the fake independence of the last 70 years or so.

These self made problems with telephones and all else pale in comparison. For the real, no one is at home!

14. LOL @ Pacha.

Don’t you yet appreciate the BLINDNESS that has enveloped this generation of BBs?
    It Bushie a long time to grasp the REALITY that brassbowlery is not self-diagnosable.

The bushman is still trying to work out how the Hell you seem to ‘get’ the precariousness of our current situation – while other BBs fret about BLP / DLP, and the plethora of shiite politicians – who are even less aware than Ninja man.

Well, the shit has already impacted with the big fan, …we are only now awaiting the splatter and the after-shock waves… to shake the blinkers from BB eyes…

…soon come.

What a time to be around!!

15. Theo
    Your weak ass snark has been duly noted.
    Consider this response (with a video shot in Barbados) a holding letter
    They took us away from Africa
    With an intention to kill our culture
    But through the power of the most high
    Our mental capacity get wider
    Coming harder ain’t looking back
    Feeling stronger ready to launch the attack
    Do you remember when we were the cream of the crop
    They stole our bible and the carbon we got
    Emancipate your mind from slavery
    I know one day Jah will set us free
    Some have been brainwashed got tricked easily
    Forget all their friends and their family

16. @Sarge
    Thanks.
    I was googling only for the lyrics, but your post reminds me that the first hit is not always the best hit.
    –xx–
    @Frank
    I must disappoint you. My post was not about ‘Mockley’. Frankly (you like that?), I have lost all interest in Mia Mockley and her motley, manipulative, mismanaging, mistake making mis-administration.

Now I am wondering if Queen were all queens.

17. Nope! Only Freddy.

18. an wen de hurricane come ?

19. The broader discussions are not being held in public. I would hate to think that they are not being held in private.

But where are the lectures from the professors on the Hill? There is plenty on Youtube from other sources.

Are we blind or are we afraid? Are we hedging our bets? Playing both sides? Easing our hands out of the lions mouth, hoping to go unnoticed?

Unlike some, I am not expecting divine intervention. It is people who build empires and it will be people who cause the collapse.

All empires have collapsed to date. And I expect this last one to be no different.

We should be preparing to take advantage of this moment in time, filling up on knowledge, freeing our minds, thinking outside of the neo-colonial Western box!

But alas….I hear only the sound of silence.

20. I have been on corruption patrol for the past few weeks and nothing seem to be coming to my desk. Two possibilities exist (1) The BLP has stopped it corrupt practices or (2) The BLP got smarter and now keeps its dastardly deeds under the covers.

What do you think? Is it (1) or is it (2). I think i(2) and I will tell you why.
    Why?
    (a) Air Cayman fiasco.
    That deal was so stupid and secret that it could only have been crooked. The airline made money, someone in Barbados made money but our public coffers lost money.
    (b) Oval fiasco. Nuff money spent but no one really knows where it went
    (c)Savvy fiasco. Was hot news with information overload. Now we cnaanot hear a squeak out of anyone
    (d) Joes river. Well that river dried up. Not a drip of informationas to where thing are.

Yes! (2) has it.

Blogmaster…. nothing falling of a truck? Your sources have dried up? Oops, look as if they played you like a fiddle.

21. The case had baffled me for quite some time so I turned to my friend Holmes to see if he could provide a solution.

“Elementary, my dear Theo! The subject has two pairs of spectacles. Rose colored ones which are worn most of the time and then ‘plain’ spectacles. When the subject wears the plaim spectacles, the truth becomes overwhelming and forces her to speak out. Case solved. Cased closed”

“Brilliant! Holmes, your deductive powers cannot be questioned. However, I find your cased closed to be slightly disconcerting as there is no envelope with money involved.”

22. Typos Saturday.

23. “the truth becomes overwhelming and forces her to speak out. ”
    I failed. All pronouns were to be removed. Then I would have been able to duck, dodge and deny even though “the A guy” would have seen through my little game.
    “My dear Theo, the game is up”

Have a great day all. Have a great Barbados

24. OG
    Post had nuttin to do with Mottley. Rather John, your buddy, keeps posting the version by Queen. While most are aware it is a cover. You seemed influenced by John? Bare 🥕🥕 for the 🐰🐰? 😃

25. Astrologically

We have just gone through a new moon in Gemini

Do you know where your moon is?
    Do you like social media, love random bits of information, feeling part of, within a community, do you love networking, not noisy or gossiping, but ear to the ground?
    Do you know what’s going on?

It can get a bit much, we are primal people living in a very very modern world and that is stressful and particularly at the moment as Pluto is going through Aquarius.
    So Pluto will bring things up from the depths and Aquarius is all about transparency and honesty. Aquarius hasn’t got much of a filter and so it is very confronting.
    Every time you pick up your phone there it is, in your face and it is interesting as we have this real issue, who would have thought in the Dawn of Aquarius we would be dealing with so much misinformation. Ultimately people will believe, absolutely, it doesn’t matter what is presented to them, they will believe what they want to believe.

But we yogis we deal with experience, and the beautiful thing about Aquarius is Aquarius is about humanity, the human. So we are being called, this is not new it will be going on for about 20 years, it’s the background theme to everything that we are doing. I don’t want to get too political because this is for you not for me, but the reason why people feel so mad, is because of the massive amount of gaslighting that is going on with our politicians. People in ‘wellbeing’ as yoga practitioners we meditate on the Sat Nam which means our truth, we are here self reflecting, doing the work, looking within, calling out what’s our truth, looking at ourselves, everything comes up from the depths, we’re working with it, we’are processing it, and yet we’re surrounded, the country is being run by a load of people who will continually chop and change, they’ll pull, you don’t know what they really believe in, no idea. So we are being gaslit to such an extraordinary degree, which is why I also believe it is really important to come back into the body, because the body doesn’t lie, it is too old a machine, it is too primal, it’s beyond the mind. We can think we can fool ourseleves with our mind but it always shows up in the body

Heavy Load, Gwaan Chant

26. OG

Nothing but sulphuric gas as usual.

27. You know, I am tempted to cuss your rasshole, but I will resist the urge and break….things….down….to….a….level….that….you….can…understand….

Or, at least anyone not determined to misunderstand SHOULD be able to understand!

1)Barbados has serious problems – this NOBODY can deny.

2) The USA has SERIOUS PROBLEMS, that NOBODY SHOULD deny. The same goes for the UK and the West on the whole. Indeed, the whole world is in a mess.

3) Many of our problems originated with the UK and persist due to the US.

4) Despite these external forces, I see the potential for Barbados to do much better.

5) This calls, not for us to look to the West for solutions, because after all, they are the originators of our problems. The solutions lie trapped within our own minds, unable to get out.

Why are they trapped? Because we have been trained to look to the white man for our identity and our ideas. This is quite understandable, considering our history.

But if ever there was a time to break free it is now! Your beloved empire, even looking through YOUR rose-coloured spectacles, is undeniably vulnerable. Its allies are falling apart. West Africa is waking up and flexing. Indeed, the non-Western world is flexing!

The ground is shifting. And our leaders are taking timid steps, afraid to go for it, while yet mired in petty politics and self-interest.

We may not fall into the abyss in 2025. But if we don’t do something drastic, we will be back where we were in 2018. And if we wait until it is too late to free our minds and unlock our potential, we’ll be left on the outside looking in, AGAIN!

SO…..Donna has but one pair of spectacles! They darken and lighten as needed. Through them she sees the problems and she sees the potential in the people. What we lack is leadership.

You are one who can see nothing good in Barbados. You look at us through blinkers.

But when I step out among my people, I see plenty to recommend them. If only…..

28. Apart from different eyewear and perception (glass half full, glass half empty) I think we are in agreement. A little daylight but not enough to cuss over.

29. “she sees the potential in the people. What we lack is leadership.”

We agree up to that point, but I take it a step further. Now I am going to get cussed and emphasized the daylight.

The leadership that you desire is not emerging through any election; all is a mere exchange of Duracell for Eveready batteries. The people have potential, but many are walking mindlessly, reciting cute phrases from PR pieces and are boasting well above their weight.

I am fully convinced, that until we can look into the mirror and see our true selves …. There will be no recovery.

30. (((((( HEAVY LOAD ))))))

Continuing with the same theme as before

People and Politicians are selfish pretending they want to do what is best for the next generation and others, but the problems they create aren’t even their problems, it’s only their legacy, the fucked up World they leave behind will be the Children’s Inheritance.

There is more to judging than looking at some body in the worst way.
    Synonyms: admonish, reprehend, chide, upbraid, reprimand, scold.

Holding firm
    Every man deserves to earn
    Jah Jah come and plant with success
    Holding firm
    Every man deserves to earn
    Every man has his turn
    You won’t sink I in the mess

You say I’m rude, it’s an attitude yeah
    I don’t choose, I don’t lose, so go on your way
    Money is the order of your day
    Choosing your wealth, that won’t stay
    What I come to prove I don’t choose, an den
    Dis me and a love me include
    Heavy obstacles I a move, cyah eat I food
    Jah alone a earn the reprove

Yes
    Oh whoa
    Hail Jah

Holding Firm, Raid The Barn, Coming Harder

31. I see us very clearly. You see, I have a habit of walking and talking to strangers. Bajans may talk big about punching above our weight, but they don’t really believe it.

Most Bajans still look to Whitemanland.

That does not mean that Barbados is a hellhole. Indeed, it is not. It does not mean that nothing is good here. There is plenty that’s good. And there is the potential for better. I believe in
    painting the full picture!

You seem to think that seeing clearly means seeing only the bad.

No, sir! That is seeing with blinkers!

32. @ David

Although ‘off topic,’ regional travel and air fares is an issue we’ve not discussed recently.

Was perusing Caribbean Airlines’ website for a flight to St. Vincent, leaving Barbados on Thursday 4th and returning Wednesday 10th, July 2024.

After selecting the desired departure dates, times and flights, the following information was displayed:

Depart BGI Thursday, July 4 @ 7:15 am BW200, direct flight, arrive SVD 8:00 am (45 mins) = US$528.50/BD$1,057.

Depart SVD Wednesday, July 10 @ 1:30pm BW553, with one (1) stop in POS, arrive BGI 10:55 pm = US$994.70/BD$1,989.40.

Total airfare = US$1,529.60 or BD$3,059.20.

$3,059.20 to St. Vincent.

‘SOMETHING IS (DEFINITELY) WRONG.’

33. @Artax

Unfortunately. Recently the blogmaster had reason to visit one of the other islands a hop, skip and a jump from Barbados and the cost of the ticket was north of a grand.

34. ‘Generous’ Joe’s River proposal

The developer who was taken to court by residents of St Joseph over the construction work at Joe’s River, a public attraction with a natural watercourse, says he has made a generous proposal which should solve the vexing issue of access to Joe’s River gully.

However, it seems the proposal has led to a fall-out between one of the vocal residents who was at the forefront of the objection to the controversial development and a senior member of his legal team.

Victor Lewis, whose name is one of two residents which appear on an injunction filed a year ago, told the Sunday Sun he had been “kicked off” the team by attorney-at-law Gregory Nicholls, for voicing his concerns about the proposal on a social media talk show.

“I got a letter from Gregory saying he’ll be kicking me off. I think the truth must be told and any forum where the truth must be told, it will be told,” 67-year-old Lewis insisted.

On the show, which was held back in March, Lewis voiced disapproval over the proposal made by the developer and questioned the actions of both Nicholls and Attorney General Dale Marshall, the constituency representative for St Joseph, who is assisting with the legal matter.

In a press release, Ullswater Investment Ltd, the company behind the transformation of the old Edgewater Hotel into a beach house and villa, explained that they had made the proposal since last December, which provided adequate access to the Joe’s River gully and that they had also agreed not to construct a wellness centre on their land.

Proposed agreement

“Specifically, the existing proposed settlement agreement gives the public permanent access over Tenby’s private property to both the “Teacup and Saucer” and Joe’s River on the Atlantic side of the railway trace and Joe’s River Bridge. This access is via the footpath from the railway trace which leads down to the riverside on the eastern (Atlantic) side of Joe’s River Bridge and also up to the Teacup and Saucer lookout over the east coast.

“An opening through the rocks to the Joe’s River area will be created to provide direct access to the river (which does not currently exist). Furthermore, the owners of Tenby have agreed not to build a wellness centre on this part of their land – for which they have full planning permission – as a part of this settlement. This will ensure an uninterrupted view of the Joe’s River mouth and the Atlantic Ocean looking east and north from the Joe’s River Bridge.”

Calling it a win-win situation, they added: “The garden wall on the western side of the railway trace at this southern end of the bridge will be completed as planned, enclosing the area around Tenby villa and a wooden garden fence will be erected directly underneath the Joe’s River Bridge, so as to provide privacy and security for the rest of the private Tenby property. The wooden garden fence will not be visible from the bridge.

However, Lewis, 67, reiterated that the proposal was not acceptable and contained safety factors.

“Mr Marshall met with us. He really had his concerns relative to the safety of individuals travelling towards the Joe’s River Gully. The proposals that were made were totally counter to what he’s against. So I don’t think that, in my opinion, looking at all the proposals that were made thus far, it doesn’t appear as though Mr Marshall has any say as to what will be done and what will not be done.”

Lewis added: “So looking at it on its face value, it looks as if they are offering the public a number of things that would kind of solve the issue. Now, there’s a lot of matters there that [are] of concern.”

He questioned who owned the land associated with the train line and said if Government previously owned the land, who gave them the right to sell what was part of a historical park.

In terms of the access to Teacup and Saucer, Lewis said the proposed access could pose a danger to the public.

“That, technically speaking, is an insult to Bajans asking us to accept teacup and saucer from the area below that we know is a very dangerous area. The water comes straight up to the bank . . . .”.

In terms of his fall-out with Nicholls, Lewis said he invited the lawyer to the area to see the flaws in the proposal, but he never turned up.

When contacted, Nicholls said the matter was still being negotiated.

“I am still engaged in this matter representing the public interest through the clients who came to me in relation to the construction of these walls at the end of the footbridge at Tenby which will restrict access to the river basin, Joe’s River and to the installation called Teacup and Saucer. As far as it stands, I can confirm that we have been in receipt of an offer of settlement.

“I am not sure why the other side is making this public. We are in discussions in relation to the matter and those settlement discussions are without prejudice. My clients have to accept the terms of the settlement and the owner has to accept any counters that my clients have put in relation to that matter.”

Applied to court

He said the defendant (Ullswater Ltd) had since applied to the court to strike out the entire claim of the claimants because the witness statements were not filed on time and the matter was set to be heard on Thursday.

“So, while they are purporting that they want to be magnanimous and settle, they are still at the same time going to the court to ask the court to strike out the claim and that behaviour is not consistent with anybody who wants to generally settle and resolve the matter.”

In terms of his relationship with Lewis, the attorney stated: “I have written to Mr Victor Lewis in connection with an issue that we have had. I have not heard from him since I have written to him in April. As far as I am aware, Mr Lewis is still involved in the matter but he indicated that I had a challenge with something that has occurred. I wrote to him about that challenge.

“I am not at liberty to speak about the specifics about it because you don’t get into your client’s business in a public forum, but I am prepared for court.”

35. SETTLED!

Rastafarians living at Fort George Heights now legal owners of 8.8 acres of land

The Rastafarian family who rejected an offer of $1.6 million to vacate prime land at Fort George Heights, St Michael, which they were occupying for decades, have finally been given possession of 8.8 acres of that land following a 30-year legal battle.

Last Monday, a High Court judge awarded the family ownership of the land and ordered Sagicor Life Inc., the owners of the vast property, to hand over the title deed to Julie “Mother” Phillips, who has been living on the land for 41 years with her 11 children, grand-children and great grandchildren.

Back in 2013 when the Nation newspaper first broke this story, 23 members of the family were living in five shanties on the land. That number is said to have expanded considerably.

An attorney for the family confirmed the development but said they were awaiting the written judgement.

However, when a Sunday Sun team visited the family last Tuesday, matriarch Phillips also confirmed they were now in possession of the land, which is opposite Government’s Lower Burney housing development.

“I feel wonderful and I give thanks,” was all the soft-spoken Phillips said as she stood with her son Junior Phillips and her “daughter” Amy Goulding at her side.

Junior said he always knew they would have emerged successful.

“I always know that it was adverse possession from ever since,” he said.

The family took up residence on the property in 1983, when Phillips’ partner and the father of her children took her there to live with him with permission from the then plantation owner who subsequently passed away. The plantation was known as Hanson Plantation.

Back in 2013, Phillips told this newspaper: “There were no houses at Fort George and no houses at Lower Burney – just canes,” adding that she gave birth to her 11 children – six girls and five boys – on the land. The family also indicated that they did not consider themselves squatters since they had been occupying the land for decades.

In 2013, Sagicor’s then attorney Barry Gale told this newspaper that the insurance company bought the land in 1998 and “inherited the family”, as the company was not aware that they were living on the land.

He confirmed at the time that there were several interventions and offers made to the family but they refused to accept them.

“They were in the wooded area and when Sagicor discovered they were there, they were only occupying about one acre. Then they started to farm outside of what they were occupying,” Gale revealed.

He said Sagicor drew up a plan and offered the family four acres of the land as well as title to the land but they countered with eight acres as well as a cash settlement.

“Clearly they do not own all of that land in my view. They said they wanted money on top of it and that is when the negotiations broke down,” Gale said at the time.

A letter, which was written to the family in 2003 by one of Sagicor’s attorneys, offered the family a relocation package which comprised $600 000 for provision of land; $420 000 for housing; a lump sum cash payment of $356 000 and a single premium immediate annuity for the amount of $225 000 each for Julie and her common law husband.

The land is said to have been valued at $7 million.

Attorneys Senior Counsel, Michael Yearwood and Stephen Alleyne represented Phillips.

36. Kammie Holder Avatar

@David, the humble rastas stood their ground while many well educated would have disenfranchised their offspring by accepting the money. A lesson in many forms and to many

37. @Kammie

It has taken a decade but it seems ‘justice’ will be served.

38. Well, well, well. What a tale! I know that Artax will be choking on his cornflakes this morning as he reads this story. Right or wrong – possession appears to be nine tenths of the law.

This rasta family should be invited to sit alongside MIa’s 30 strong cabinet. They know how to drive a hard bargain. These people do not sound or act like domestic brass bowls.

We will see a backlash to this story. Many landlords will review their policies towards tenants. Squatters and those who live on lands without adequate paperwork will be evicted.

What is Mia’s policy for ensuring that Barbadians have a roof over their heads?

@ William Skinner, it would appear that Mia is comfortable to allow for the mass development of housing for foreigners with money. The link below paints a sad picture of what is happening in plain sight to all but blind brass bowls. Please read the accompanying text.

https://www.barbadospropertysearch.com/for-sale/estates-st-george-2

39. OG, after complaining about not hearing anything on Joe’s River a few days ago, will put another spin on this. I will continue to sit back and watch the self-immolation.🤐

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TLSN
    Wait for @ John to comment. Hanson was a Deane plantation.

41. Kammie Holder Avatar

@TSLN, et al the obese lie pushed by the political class that building 10,000 houses for the descendants of slaves is economic enfranchisement belongs in a dump. The model of the colonist inspired education system of getting well educated, acquire a mortgage, get married and suck salt during the mortgage period until age 70 then to die by 76 if you are a man and by 78 if a woman, eludes many bajans.

Unfortunately most people do not think beyond what is before them and those who have situational awareness and social intelligence are impossible to be used as slaves or proxies thus are branded public enemies.

Our society has become one where nepotism has replaced competency and misfits could care less about consequences now or the future once the have one up on others

42. “@ William Skinner, it would appear that Mia is comfortable to allow for the mass development of housing for foreigners with money. The link below paints a sad picture of what is happening in plain sight to all but blind brass bowls. Please read the accompanying text.”

Why do some on BU continue to spout foolishness? The one marooned in the UK, where houses are advertised in Asia etc before the UK, is aware that retired Bajans are downsizing and moving to the Estates? Is he aware that the persons offering services like medical, dental etc at the Estates (a privately owned development by an indigenous Barbadian company) are Bajans? But what about the completed and ongoing government housing projects, including the ones BU pong? Or the vast parcels of land acquired and or vested in NHC for housing. For example just over the last 12 months: Castle Grant 1.7 acres, Workhall 2 acres, Dodds 48 acres and Hanson 19 acres. How big is the Estates–19 acres. A little bit of reading goes a long way when one is interested in making sense.

43. A simple case of adverse possession.

Adverse possession is simply a common rule of law facilitating people occupying land they do not own, to obtain ownership, if they can prove exclusive, continuous and uninterrupted possession for a specific period of time and that they have maintained, cultivated or developed that land as though it was actually theirs.

Under the Laws of Barbados, specifically the Land (Title Proceedings) Act 2011-7, any person who occupies land for which he/she does not have a legal title, for a period of ten (10) years, without action from the legal owner during that period, can seek to claim that land by adverse possession.

According to the article, the family took up residence on the property in 1983, with permission from the then plantation owner. If true, then they cannot be reasonably considered as squatters.
    Sagicor subsequently purchased the land in 1998, and would’ve taken legal action to remove them, FIFTEEN (15) after Phillips initially occupied the property.

The Phillips family ‘stood their ground and drove a hard bargain,’ simply because they were aware of their rights…… and used such knowledge to their advantage.

Unfortunately, however, it seems as though TLSN has foreseen “a backlash to this story” from landlords and landowners as a result.
    I’m SURPRISED he did not anticipate any similar ‘backlash’ when, in September 2022, squatters at Bellevue, Station Hill, St. Michael, were evicted and ordered to remove every trace of their illegal structures and restore the land to the condition in which they found it.
    Or on any of the several previous occasions issues relating to squatting were discussed on BU.

However, my UK friend should be aware, similarly to how there are adverse possession laws and ‘squatters’ rights,’ which people exploit and use to their advantage……

…… landlords and landowners have rights as well, which they are also entitled to invoke, so as not to be taken advantage of by unscrupulous tenants or lose their land to squatters.

But…… we all know TLSN can be a bit facetious and mischievous when it’s convenient for his particular agenda.

Perhaps he purposely chose to ignore the fact that the legal owners of properties, many of whom are honest, hardworking individuals, also have to pay exorbitant land taxes and maintenance fees, while supporting unscrupulous tenants and squatters who want to ‘live rent free.’

Therefore, a resounding YES!!! “Landlords HAVE A RIGHT to review their policies towards tenants and squatters and those who live on lands without adequate paperwork SHOULD BE evicted.”

I believe he would’ve learnt a valuable lesson from the Phillips family’s scenario, and should ENCOURAGE “domestic, blind brass bowls” NOT TO SELL their properties to “foreigners with money.”

44. We would not want to assert that there has been any justice served yet.

For justice could only be so served if indeed this family could keep “their” land for at least as long as Sagicor was a body corporate – 200 years.

Meaning, that absent a means of paying taxes, maybe back taxes, and annually, these people may yet lose this land at some time in the future.

In addition, they are likely to have a heavy legal fees bill. Which will immediately put them under severe monetary pressures.

In these circumstances, it maybe the tiefing lawyers who maybe the new landowners. We sincerely hope not.

It’s the economic forces stupid!

A justice may so determine in Whitepark Road. However, there are no legal protections for such a family in the rest of Barbados.

We’ve seen no economic culture which protects such people, outside momentary successes.

45. “….the Estates (a privately owned development by an indigenous Barbadian company) “
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    WAIT!!
    Is Enuff referring to SAGICOR?

The ‘indigenous Barbados company’ now SOLD OFF to a bunch of FOREIGN, albino-centric descendants of the Slave Plantation era…

Sagicor that now pays their “Bajan hero” (who sold out the result of HUNDREDS of years of MUTUAL investments by ordinary Bajans), a pension of $6Million per year?
    …that is a lotta pieces of silver Boss…

Bushie is FORCED to wonder about Enuff’s MIRROR image for Bajans. It clearly is not the same as a stinking bushman from “de village”, who has come to know himself as a descendent of ROYALTY…. and who is destined to be reinstated…

Sounds MUCH more like a petty-minded, entitled minion, raised under an albino-centric roof – and who sees Bajans as being LUCKY to find wuk in the Villages, or at Sam Lords, or selling trinkets and fish cakes at Kensington….

Well!!!
    Count stinking Bushie out of such mendicancy Boss….

What a place
    What a curse …that such INFLUENTIAL persons as Enuff would think SO LOWLY of BBs.

46. Bushie

My bad, thanks for reminding me that Sagicor was sold off to “foreign albinocentric” persons. This is the same grouping you want to be the reference point or managers of our education system though, no?

47. Bushie

I missed the influential thing. Influential I’m not, just like to rattle you and the BU intelligentsia.

48. “This is the same grouping you want to be the reference point or managers of our education system though, no?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    YES!! – Enuff.

If you mean wanting CXC to teach our children how to NOT kowtow to foreign capitalist influences, and to STOP being helpless brass bowls….

If wunna INSIST on mimicking the albino-centric money worshipers, then the STANDARD of competence CANNOT be set and managed by a set of CXC brass bowl jokers… Can it?

Bushie KNOWS that you ‘ge it’…
    …and stop trying to deny your clout do!!

Some things are obvious.

49. ” An ambulance was summoned but none was available at that time, police say ”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/06/09/police-prisoner-found-dead-in-cell-at-central-police-station/