The next general election is constitutionally due in 2027. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) won all 30 seats in 2018 and 2022. If the build up to the next general election follows the script, a third term government should be hearing the voice of a restless electorate getting louder, which should translate to winning the next government or making significant gains.

The dissenting voice of the people has been getting louder, BUT, unlike what transpired in the past, we have no political opposition that stands ready as the government in waiting. The other member of the political duopoly continues to busy itself with self destruct behaviour.

Since the 2018 general election civic minded Barbadians have become concerned at what represents democracy in Barbados. It has been awkward to observe members of the Lower House engaged in meaningless debate on one side of the divide.

The party loyalists and talking heads have been promoting an illogical argument that the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is destined to be returned to the House by the electorate. What is being ignored is the probability of an unprecedented event occurring. There is a possibility the DLP has entered terminal decline mode. The next general election will validate the thought.

When all the talking is done, that is all that shall be done. Personal ambition is what motivates these people. Nothing will change until the people of Barbados demand change. And for the people of Barbados to forcefully demand change requires that they themselves change.

Donna

In the BLP’s first term there there was an effort to ‘try ah ting’ with Bishop Joseph Atherley crossing of the floor. It checked a box, however, a political opposition without an affiliation with an established political party was doomed to be rejected by the electorate. Added to which Atherley – through no fault of his own – lacked a winning political personality.

In this second term, we are witnessing a variant of what occurred in 2018. This time around the M.P. crossing the floor has an association with an established political party BUT there are some re-entry pains to overcome with minimal collateral damage. One could surmise Thorne and his supporters did not anticipate energetic push back from Yearwood and his team. At a time parties on both sides should be hunkered down behind closed doors negotiating a win win – we are having mouthings from party supporters that serve to suck the little political capital left at George Street by Barbadians.

Without meaning to be rude, one is left to ponder the character of actors involved considering what is at stake at the national level. It should not be that difficult for decision-makers within the two main factions to do a pulse check of the level of support for Yearwood and Thorne. Why is there the need to continue to bleed the DLP reputation and in the process compromise its standing in the eyes of an electorate searching for a credible alternative?

The next days and weeks will be critical for the actors at George Street to get it right in order to erase any thought that the D in DLP stands for DEAD.

101 responses to “Thorne versus Yearwood and our hobbled democracy”

1. William Skinner Avatar

We strongly believe that the main reason is that those entering politics today are devoid of any ideological or philosophical moorings . They and their supporters are similar. Public meetings are now nothing more than extensions of Crop Over. They and their supporters on both sides see the masses as nothing more than a vote .
    The BLPDLP are both at different stages of impending extinction. They will survive as nothing more than political zombies.
    We clamored for bloodsport and political carnival and figured that was the way to carry our country forward.
    The sickening crocodile tears can only fool those who are stunningly blind to both these two wretched parties and their die hard supporters.
    We reap what we sow.

2. America has political corruption, party in-fighting for power and police corruption like all the other countries, but they make movies and TV programs to expose it.

Reality can be more unbelievable than fiction sometimes.

3. @William

That maybe so but what about the recruitment process by political parties? If there is an overarching vision for the party then a certain calibre of representative should be integral to achieving party objectives.

4. A fly on de wall Avatar
    A fly on de wall

Sorry, but RT and RY are merely playah pawns in a larger game.
    Remember when the Bs were in Opposition the big stink and constant reminders about Clearwater? Or the information revealed the D’s were redirecting funds bound for the NIS? Or how once in office the B’s had Donville arrested? Or how one financial architect of the ‘lost decade’ was shunned and prevented from getting a big job at the World Bank.
    Of course you don’t remember. This tag team Tweedle Bee and Tweedle Dum protect each other.
    And even if party C arises, it will be a wash of lawyers with a non-lawyering friend or three. Examine the legal system, and imagine the same folks WHO run that, should be trusted with the more complex task of running a country.

5. “No Way José”

“The Lost Decade” is a powerful political slogan, and reality is Barbados is still recovering from the damage inflicted with the slow process of managing consolidated national debt that has been extended by foreign creditors into a repayment plan similar to a full term mortgage limiting options for investments in projects for improvements.

The Last 2 Elections reflect the DLP sicknesses to the nation and a turnaround from 0 to a majority will not happen in the next 2 elections. People don’t vote for losers.

6. William Skinner Avatar

Political parties that have no objectives other than winning seats, do not spend time on ideology and philosophy, they invite and attract , people of similar ambitions.
    We note the false starts with the efforts to reform education. The reason we are fumbling arises from the lack of any philosophy within the party / parties in regards to education.
    We could ask any MP : what is the real philosophy behind his or her actions and the answer would probably reflect baby bubble.
    We could then ask any die hard supporter what is your party’s philosophy and the mumbo jumbo would fly out their mouths.
    We then want to blame the people but leadership is the main ingredient in developing a people.
    There is a reason why with all their faults, Sir. Grantley Adams and Errol Barrow are still revered to this day.
    The ability to lead and inspire a nation goes way beyond winning elections .
    We have already been told that corruption and mal governance mean nothing to die hard supporters. That sums up how we see ourselves. We have been fed on that type of thinking for the last forty years.

7. The fact remains that we the people will get the leaders that we tolerate. It is not a matter of blame. It is a matter of fact.

8. William regrettably the type of politician we attract these days is about an individual working for a salary and the notoriety it brings with it. In some countries it is about power. We seem to be failing to attract quality citizens to public service.

The question remains- how can we attract quality citizens to be the driver of relevant change.

9. “The question remains- how can we attract quality citizens to be the driver of relevant change.”

Bajans are said to be academics, students could gain qualifications in the discipline.

Studying Politics involves looking at how that power is handled and where the power lies.

Studying politics also involves skills like critical thinking and analysis, and an interest in social justice, morals, and ethics.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

@dub
    It’s a sad day when you become a political apologist “limiting options for investments in projects for improvements”.
    When you have $100M for success fees, can confirm a $124M write off without batting an eye, and then blow ???? on steal houses, that will severely limit your options?
    The DLP is continually confirming they are monumental fuck-ups, so there is no fear of the BLP losing an election anytime soon. As Bajans have been historically averse to third parties.
    Yet, the current level of governance, is nothing to be proud of?

11. William Skinner Avatar

@ David ,
    ” The question remains- how can we attract quality citizens to be the driver of relevant change.”(David)
    Many of our problems are within our culture and politics is no different. It’s therefore a political culture that we are going to have to change in order to attract
    those who may see public service differently from those we now have.

12. Well William we have to continue to search for that elusive trigger event.

13. Citizens cannot win!

Thorne the last hurdle

Constitution Commission: We won’t wait forever

THE REPORT OF the Constitutional Reform Commission is waiting on input from Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne.

However, according to its chairman retired judge Christopher Blackman, they will not be waiting forever.

He told the MIDWEEK NATION

they had been given extensions to present the report to President The Most Honourable Dame Sandra Mason, but one of the last hurdles was the Leader of the Opposition.

The report was initially due last November, and back in January, Blackman said the document and accompanying draft Constitution Bill would be presented to the President in mid-April. He added it would contain more than 200 recommendations from residents of Barbados and Barbadians living abroad.

“We had been given an extension where we were supposed to report by this weekend, but because of certain events, the commission has now been extended until June 30. One of the reasons for that was to give us the opportunity to meet with the Leader of the Opposition,” he said.

However, Blackman said they had been unsuccessful in locking down a time to meet with Thorne.

“We have scheduled some appointments with him but so far, he has not given us a time when he will meet with us. Since March 6 we wrote to him and said, ‘We are available to meet and are awaiting your response’ but to this day, we have not received a reply.”

When asked if this was going to be a wrench in the works, the chairman replied: “Not necessarily.”

Tidying up

He added: “If he doesn’t give us a time at some point, well, to God be the glory. We have some tidying up to do but we will go on with what we have to do; we are not waiting indefinitely.”

The former Justice of Appeal said the commission was currently sifting through the draft bill received from retired Justice Sherman Moore and this weekend they will be going through it “almost line by line”.

“We will go through it, perfect it and within the timelines given by Her Excellency, we will get it in by the extended date of June 30, [with or without input from the Opposition Leader],” he said.

Attempts to contact Thorne for a response were unsuccessful.

The 11-member commission, which was sworn into office in June 2022 to advise Government on the formulation of a new Constitution, had originally been given a 15-month period to undertake its tasks. (CA)

14. Attempts to contact Thorne for a response were unsuccessful.

Since March 6 we wrote to him and said, ‘We are available to meet and are awaiting your response’ but to this day, we have not received a reply.”

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THORNE THE FAKE LEADER OF FRAUDULENT CHECKS OR CHEQUES.

THIS MAN IS LIKE THE FORMER POLICEMAN HARTLEY REID TRYING A THING AT THE MOMENT.

THESE PEOPLE ARE SUCH A FARCE AND LOW IQ IT DOESN’T TAKE MUCH TO EXPOSE THEM.

WHEN WILL ALL BLACKS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND WAKE UP AND STARE REALITY IN THEIR FACES.

15. @ David

The truth is most politicians have the ” brek fuh yuself” attitude. Few put state first and hence we have the steal houses, the Hope housing, the NIS scandle, the greenland dump, the mercedes for the invisible hotel etc etc.

The last DLP member in my view that put state before party was Mr. Sandiford. He made the decision to protect the dollar knowing it would cost him the elections. Who here going do the same for the NIS fund and the run away deficit? Answer is not a fella from either party in 2024.

Enuf said.

16. “When you have $100M for success fees, can confirm a $124M write off without batting an eye, and then blow ???? on steal houses, that will severely limit your options?”

I’m kind of bored with the ‘steal houses’ record played over and over again.

That is an example of a project for improvement that went pear shaped.
    If BLP had more to spend there may have been more project fails to moan about.
    The thinking behind steel houses is they are hurricane proof.
    Perhaps the project was granted because China was helping fund debt problems.

17. @John A

Didn’t Sandiford contribute to his demise by approving that massive regrading exercise for the public service that added to public sector debt?

What we have playing out within the DLP is a lack of intelligence where some actors cannot see the trees in the forest.

18. @ David.

Basically he had a choice, face that and the wage cut or a devaluation. He had few choices then with low reserves and other issues.

Now we have high reserves made up mainly of borrowed money as opposed to earned. So we can brag about our reserves but forget to mention the debt service as a result of it. Add to that and a deficit this year that will run around 1.4 billion with the SOE support included and you got music to face going forward.

Dont worry though Cropover soon here and we going party hard!

19. @ John A The debt services ratios not a problem with the economy expanding post COVID and tourism doing well. Don’t worry, be happy.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

@dub
    The steel houses is pure implementation deficit. I was building them in quantity since the early 90’s. And I didn’t have “packages”.
    It is basic you require a foundation, land, services and whatever components (electrical, plumbing, finishes etc) are not included in the house-package purchased.
    The politicians mouths and ignorance is what got them in trouble.
    It is clear from the duplex(semi)/quads ordered, there was minimal intent to rebuild on existing affected lots?
    This was about speed of construction. And that was a big fail. This BS about finding people was just that. For one I know the Cubans have the skills. We could find nurses and doctors but not construction folk? Nor is there any reason locals cannot learn quickly, as I gather they eventually did.

So you could be tired hearing about it, like how Bush Tea is tired hearing from you. But it doesn’t change, that with ‘all hands on deck’ a mess was made of it. Much of which was avoidable. And the cost overages aren’t finished yet.

21. “So you could be tired hearing about it, like how Bush Tea is tired hearing from you”

seems like you were engaging / having a dig / i.e. the bajan way

if you want to argue about steel houses argue with the wind, it ain’t my fucking problem.

The Bush used to be the Man before he became a big girls blose

22. @ David

I posted the below comments on another thread:

‘At the end of the day,’ issues such as ‘scams, Savvy (a DLP made problem), steel houses, bungled slogans,’ etc., do not mean anything to ‘die hard supporters.’

In response, someone asked, “Is he serious? Is he saying that some Barbadians will ride and die with a party even if they know it is corrupt?

I noticed a sly reference was made on this thread.
    “We have already been told that corruption and mal governance mean nothing to die hard supporters. That sums up how we see ourselves. We have been fed on that type of thinking for the last forty years.”

I’m sure you remember being attacked by BU’s resident DLP supporters, when this forum presented documents relating to Claire Cowan and the ‘CAHILL scam.’
    Kammie Holder also ‘got a few lashes.’

“Cahill Energy Agreements EXPOSE Prime Minister Stuart as Withholding the Truth from Barbadians.” [Barbados Underground – May 18, 2016]

ALL Barbadians became AWARE of CAHILL and Stuart’s involvement in that ‘SCAM.’

My argument is, if ‘corruption and mal governance meant (SOMETHING) to die hard DLP supporters, Freundel Stuart WOULD NOT HAVE RECEIVED 1,083 votes in the 2018 general elections.

In other words, the ‘SCAM’ was NOT ENOUGH to PREVENT 1,083 people in the constituency of St. Michael South FROM VOTING FOR HIM.
    Thereby proving “some Barbadians will ride and die with a party even if they know it is corrupt.”

But, as I mentioned in previous contributions, on BU, “it is not about WHAT is said, it is WHO said it.”

23. @Artax

Agree that diehard supporters of a political party will defend by any and all means necessary.

24. @ David

I’ll give you another example.

I’m sure you remember when Trans-Tech Inc. was contracted to repair Transport Board buses and SSA garage trucks.

At that time, Michael Lashley, who was Minister of Transport, was responsible for Transport Board, while SSA fell under Denis Lowe’s portfolio as Minister of the Environment and Drainage.

It was alleged (and subsequently substantiated), that BOTH Lashley and Lowe were driving SUVs OWNED by Trans-Tech Inc.

Surely a ‘conflict of interest.’

Yet, the DLP supporters who frequented BU and the ‘call-in programmes,’ SUPPORTED and DEFENDED the actions of BOTH ministers.

‘If CORRUPTION MEANT something to die-hard DLP supporters’ in the constituencies of St. Philip North and Christ Church East, they WOULD NOT have voted for Michael Lashley and Denis Lowe respectively.

In the 2018 general elections, 2,015 people voted for Lashley and 1,350 for Lowe….. clearly indicating a collective total of 3,365 “diehards did not experienced a Damascene moment, a prick of their conscience, a moment of patriotism or a bout of honesty,” ‘becausan they voted for both uh DEM men.’

I CAN’T understand how, in the abundance of such INFORMATION, someone could say, it “sums up how we SEE ourselves. We have been FED on that type of thinking for the last forty years,”……

…… WHEN the EVIDENCE, which ‘speaks for itself,’ CLEARLY INDICATES OTHERWISE?

25. William Skinner

Weee beg to disagree. For it’s not obvious to us that there is any deeper dearth in philosophy or ideology than at most times in the past.

Even at the height of machinations these items were best understood by those who never shared them with the masses except for minor elements like workers’ rights without following through with the foundations from which such an idea sprung.

And we may go on and on.

However, we fast forward to 2024 at a time when almost all like countries, countries like Barbados, so-called ‘democracies’, are facing a range of crises of this said system.

And since you tend to agree that the center cannot hold, across the board, how could it then be possible to presume that the absence of ideology or philosophy is causal when in truth and in fact the failures, as seen in the case of Barbados, precisely represent the central collapse of ideology and philosophy themselves.

In other words, it is the collapse of the ideology and philosophy as represented by what some call democracy which can go no further.

26. @ David

Despite accusations of corruption, Crab Hill Station, EducTech, kola syrup etc, Mottley has been member of Parliament for the constituency of St. Michael North East, since 1994.

What about Donville Inniss?

Remember, on his return to Barbados from after completing a two-year prison term in the USA for money laundering, he was met the airport and surrounded by placard bearing and cheerful supporters, some of whom carried a ‘Welcome Home Donville’ sign?

Isn’t he currently a member of the DLP’s Executive Council?

27. @Artax

There is the saying of which you are aware a people get the government it deserves.

28. Barbados need a new radical militant political party to shake things up.. along the lines of The Pachamama Party…

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

@dub
    Aw right den. Aint my problem either.

30. The problem with speaking out against your preferred choice of party is it gives ammunition to your lesser preferred party/parties.

It is better to put out your own personal agendas and let either/any party pick it up and run with it.

31. @ David

Heard Pedro Shepherd has also filed a no-confidence motion against Ronnie Yearwood as well.

There’s supposed to be a meeting with DLP members scheduled for Sunday at 4:30 pm, at their George Street headquarters.

32. Well even if i was thinking of voting D, this internal power struggle and waring would leave me to believe the party can not be seen as a serious, stable alternative.

For those with short memories on the D bench, do you remember the outcome when Owen Arthur pushed Mia aside close to an election, to then bull rush himself as leader? I am convinced that cost the BLP the elections shortly after. Of Course the boss lady came back and won two 30 to 0 after that putting Owen in his place. lol

33. @Artax

The old guard is not happy with Yearwood’s stewardship and it is their right to use the organs of the party to register dissatisfaction. Yearwood has a big decision to make. The blogmaster recommends he does a David Thompson, sit this one out, he has time on his side.

34. @John A

A third defeat for the DLP next time will precipitate the purge that the DLP requires. Sometimes the only way to learn is the hard way. Especially where old heads are in play.

35. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    It all comes back to if you believe in nothing, nothing matters. We are of the opinion
    that it is terribly impossible to even suspect what our current politicians and those
    aspiring for political office are grounded in. Perhaps, we are existing in a state of
    nothingness ; a sophisticated anarchy.
    We suggest that’s why the center cannot hold. If we have nothing in ourselves, how can we possibly save others.

36. “Sometimes the only way to learn is the hard way.”

A Fools Mission
    whoever wins the leadership will lose the election

It’s a Catch-22 situation here or a bit of a windup

37. @David
    “Well William we have to continue to search for that elusive trigger event.”
    Don’t hold your breath

@Artax
    Solid points. Knowledge of corruption even with evidence and facts doesn’t sway people. Just look at Trump. Sad reality but true and real nonetheless. You can also mention Owen’s CCB check that Thompy displayed in Haggat Hall. Owen still won his seat comfortably. The question is, who should be holding “them” accountable if not the electorate?????

@JohnA
    I have to agree with ya about 2013. Owen’s “return” cost the BLP that election.

@DAvid
    Is it “only” the old guard that’s not happy with Ronnie O???

Just observing

38. @Observing Wasn’t Yearwood just reelected for two years a few months ago?

39. @David

Results then were

Dr Ronnie Yearwood 422 (48.7%)
    Dr David Estwick 227 (26.2%)
    Ryan Walters 188 (21.7%)
    Richard Sealy 29 (3.3%)

Support for Ronnie – 48.7%
    Support for anybody except Ronnie – 51.3%

Methinks that there may have been a challenge to resolve from Day One. I’m not sure if any attempts, olive branches or overtures were made to do so. Then again, based on what we are reading clearly not!

Just observing

40. @Observing

It seems the discontent with Yearwood has been given life by Thorne’s crossing because of what is possible. If there was no crossing Yearwood would probably be doing his best to rebuild the party.

41. Agreed!

42. William Skinner Avatar

The electorate of our country has determined that they prefer two parties and since 1961, predating independence ,this has been the case.
    Until quite recently , the die hard support for these two parties was almost 50/50 and we could have scarcely recognize any undecided voters.
    It can therefore be easily be concluded that even if we say that each party controls 20/20 die hard votes , that at least 40% of our electorate , are complicit and duplicit in supporting mal governance and corruption. That is in itself is a profound indictment of us as as people.
    Furthermore, while we can suspect corruption, not one politician has gone to Glendairy or Dodds. As far as we know the one politician that landed in jail , was arrested , tried and convicted in the USA on charges pertaining to money laundering.
    Since independence there have been two Commissions of Enquiry that we can recall, the Duffus and the St.Joseph Hospital. As far as memory serves nobody ended up in prison.
    The sad truth is that if a considerable portion of our electorate is turning a blind eye or don’t care about corruption and mal governance , we could as well shut shop regardless of which party wins.
    Unfortunately , the glaring evidence of this complicity and duplicity , can be found in both the traditional media and the new/ social media including blogs.

43. @William

We are in a tough position. We are not getting quality citizens coming forward to represent. The public is left with playing musical chairs with twiddledee and twiddledum. There was so much hope when Mottley was given an unprecedented mandate in 2018. Before that the blogmaster again was hopeful the late Thompson would have been a difference maker. We have sen too many 3rd parties present themselves to the public with little success. What are we to do?

44. Meeting called as Shepherd has ‘no confidence in Yearwood’ DLP ‘divide’

by MARIA BRADSHAW

mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

MEMBERS OF THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY (DLP) have been summoned to a meeting on Sunday to thrash out their differences.

The meeting has been called following another scathing criticism against president Dr Ronnie Yearwood. This time from assistant general secretary, Pedro Shepherd, the second party member to express no confidence in Yearwood in just over a week.

Shepherd, in a strongly worded email to general secretary Steve Blackett, accused Yearwood of creating “fractures” in the party and stated: “I therefore have no option but to inform you that I no longer have any confidence in Dr Ronnie Yearwood continuing as president of this great party.”

Last week, veteran DLP member Hartley Reid failed in his attempt to bring a no-confidence motion against Yearwood but vowed to continue fighting for his removal.

The DAILY NATION was unable to reach Shepherd, a teacher, as well as Yearwood but Blackett confirmed receipt of the email.

While refusing to comment on its details, he said: “We have invited the entire membership to a meeting on Sunday and we will deal with all matters then.”

A senior member, however, reiterated the support for Yearwood despite the attacks from some corners.

“Mr Yearwood was elected in August last year by 422 members of the party out of 1 600 so he ain’t going anywhere soon. Mr Yearwood is going to be president of this party until August 2025,” he said.

In the widely circulated email, Shepherd accused the president of engaging in “actions which continue to stagnate the political agenda of the Democratic Labour Party.”

He added: “Over the last eight months in particular, his actions, words and deeds have placed the Democratic Labour Party in a position where existing fractures have widened and new fractures created … It is my view that presently he does not possess the political acumen to show that he can advance the party politically.”

He charged that as a member of the party since 1989, he never experienced “the level of divisiveness through alienation and lack of respect

Continued on Page 4.

ASSISTANT GENERAL SECRETARY of the Democratic Labour Party, Pedro Shepherd, says he has no confidence in Dr Ronnie Yearwood continuing as president of the party.

(FP)

PRESIDENT of the Democratic Labour Party, Dr Ronnie Yearwood.

(FP)

Assistant general secretary outlines his concerns

for persons as is evident since Dr Yearwood became president,” as he also outlined personal grouses.

“Personally for me, when the decision was taken to have a public meeting in Collymore Rock late 2022 in the constituency for which I held caretaker responsibility without any communication with me or with the branch of St Michael South East, that was my cue to take note,” he said, as he also spoke about being “unceremoniously replaced” from shadowing the education portfolio.

Shepherd also referred to “two failed attempts to cite me for breaches of confidentiality as the assistant general secretary without any real basis, using any other business section of the agenda at executive meetings . . . to cause embarrassment must not be forgotten.

The assistant general secretary also referred to Ralph Thorne’s crossing of the floor to become Opposition Leader.

“I cite the reluctance of the president to insist that members of his shadow Cabinet put their instruments of appointment at the disposal of the political leader. Recently the General Council passed a motion asking for what should have been the obvious. To have one of the six coopted members of the executive be relieved of the seat to make way for the political leader to join the executive.

Shepherd added: “There are many other instances where Dr Yearwood has displayed behaviours which highlight that he is not capable of elevating the Democratic Labour Party. I think there is enough evidence in the public’s sphere for Dr Yearwood to be notified. His initial application for membership of the party remains questionable, his day to day activities and association with senior members of the ruling Barbados Labour Party remains unclear . . . by several members. These are matters which should be put before the membership.

“Dr Yearwood has been demonstrating the highest degree of disrespect and disregard for senior members of the Democratic Labour Party almost on a daily basis and it does not augur well for the healing required in rebuilding a fractured party.”

45. Thorne: Delay not my fault

OPPOSITION LEADER Ralph Thorne is refuting any notion that he is culpable for the delay in Barbados having a constitution.

His comments come in the wake of a story carried in yesterday’s

MIDWEEK NATION where chairman of the Constitutional Reform Commission (CRC), retired justice Christopher Blackman said they had not yet been able to set a time to meet with Thorne despite already announcing their availability, adding they would not be waiting forever.

Thorne said he was disappointed with Blackman’s statements noting: “I must now reject any suggestion that I am in some way responsible for Barbados not having an entirely new republican constitution some two and one-half years after this country claimed republican status [and] it is with some considerable regret that I read the comments attributed to Mr Blackman.

Date was inconvenient

“I was appointed into the office of Opposition Leader around mid-February and went into the Estimates and Budget debates that extended over four weeks ending on March 20. I was in touch with the [commission’s] secretariat and the first date we fixed for consultation was April 12. Unfortunately, that date turned out to be inconvenient for us – maybe Mr Blackman does not know this. We have now received further correspondence from the secretariat stating that April 26 and May 2 may be the days best suited to the CRC,” he said.

Thorne said all correspondence thus far between him and the secretariat was “very cordial and business-like” which was why he was “rather surprised at the tenor of Mr Blackman’s intervention, seeming to suggest that I am delaying a process that began with his commission some two years ago.”

In addition, the Opposition Leader also expressed disappointment there was still no draft copy of the revamped constitution which could be shared with him.

“But I sympathise, knowing that drafting a constitution is fundamentally different from drafting a conveyance as while a conveyance is a legal document that defines title to private and public lands, a constitution defines the supreme law in this land called Barbados.” (CA

46. End the DLP fiasco

WHAT SHOULD HAVE been a smooth remaking of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has now become a “poisoned” chalice, which can further sink any hopes of that party’s short-term re-emergence.

On the surface, Ralph Thorne’s elevation to leader of the Opposition and his re-entry to the DLP should not have been the “destabilising” force that it has become. That it has become a source of negativity, has everything to do with the failure of the current leadership to adjust to the new reality of Thorne’s elevation and, more importantly, to appreciate the opportunity which it presents for a DLP recovery.

Thorne’s entry into the DLP represented an immediate shift in fortunes from zero representation to a parliamentary presence, from a competing fringe party to the official opposition, from a financially challenged grouping to one entitled to a state subvention, from an officially voiceless party to being a party with a voice in the Senate. It is clear that the forces opposing Thorne’s full integration into the DLP commensurate with his political worth, cannot boast of assets of equal value. (It would be interesting to find out who decides on the spending of the subvention: the unelected party leader or the official leader of the Opposition?). Indeed, so aware are the anti-Thorne elements of the inferiority of their political resistance, that their political challenge is based on formal institutionalism, rather than substance; on office rather than fact. Hence, every challenge to Thorne’s elevation has been met with technicalities: a press release declaring that his appointed Senators do not speak for the DLP; a locked door on the day of his application submission; an announcement of a double-headed leadership of Opposition Leader on one neck, and political leader on the other.

Even a recent motion of no-confidence in the nominal leader was defeated by a “technicality”, leaving the real political issue unresolved, as if the elephant in the room can be wished away by the stroke of a pen. The legal bent of the formal DLP leadership may fail to realise that a technicality is not an actual “resolution”. A word to the wise might suffice: politics is not a court of law.

When all is said and done, however, the question remains: why resist Thorne’s emergence as the formal anchor around which the rebuilding of the DLP can occur? Had Yearwood represented a genuine political force around which an excited base was coalescing, then the resistance to Thorne might have been justified. However, this is clearly not the case. Is the formal title of the “political leader” so important to Yearwood that he would enjoy the title for its own sake, and prolong the public image of the party as “not yet ready” for government?

Tennyson Joseph is Associate Professor of Political Science at North Carolina Central University. Email tjoe2008@live.com

47. “Thorne’s entry into the DLP represented an immediate shift in fortunes from zero representation to a parliamentary presence, from a competing fringe party to the official opposition, from a financially challenged grouping to one entitled to a state subvention, from an officially voiceless party to being a party with a voice in the Senate.”

DLP must think Thorne Is Jesus as they are so fucked up on God*

MAR 11:8 And many spread their garments in the way: and others cut down branches off the trees, and strawed them in the way.

MAR 11:9 And they that went before, and they that followed, cried, saying, Hosanna; Blessed is he that cometh in the name of the Lord:

MAR 11:10 Blessed be the kingdom of our father David, that cometh in the name of the Lord: Hosanna in the highest.

MAR 11:11 And Jesus entered into Jerusalem, and into the temple: and when he had looked round about upon all things, and now the eventide was come, he went out unto Bethany with the twelve.

MAR 11:12 And on the morrow, when they were come from Bethany, he was hungry:

(*) But God is not a DLP supporter imho