Some of us continue to be very concerned about the fiscal affairs of Barbados despite feel good statements coming from those in authority. A recent media report (see below) lends credence to the concern.

Why should it require budgeted subventions if it has been well documented SOEs like the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), Barbados Agricultural Development Marketing Inc (BADMC), Transport Authority and a few others are in a constant state of being cash-strapped and described as insolvent?

According to the media report there is a high risk that these entities may require unbudgeted subventions during fiscal year 2024/25. Despite over 11 million dollars being allocated in supplementaries for these entities at the close of the last financial year. The cancelled plan for the House to meet on a Saturday to vote additional monies was required after all? What is the blogmaster missing?

A restructure of SOEs was promised by the previous government but it was too ‘chicken’ to implement recommendations from the Justin Robinson led committee for political reasons. Although the Mottley government has received an unprecedented mandate to govern, it too has no appetite to cutout the fat of funding SOEs. In a recent disclosure former minister in a BLP cabinet Anthony Wood validated what is widely known, SOEs are used by government to provide employment for party supporters. O what a web we weave when we practice to deceive.

The blogmaster is happy economic indicators continue to improve post the pandemic BUT is not convinced the economy is on a good footing. The debt to GDP ratio has improved BUT it has done so because of how well the volatile tourism sector is currently performing. Inflation and employment indicators continue to be a concern. We should keep an eye on the significant increase in interest cost as a result of the many loans negotiated with variable conditions attached which seems to have caught Barbadians unaware that international lenders hardly agree to fix term interest rates. And of late the creep in the price of oil given its high proportion of the domestic import bill.

The recent Estimates confirmed there is a significant deficit in the current fiscal statement that has to be funded and with continuing bailouts for some of the insolvent SOEs expected in the current financial year, it does not help to improve Barbados’ fiscal state.

Recent revelations of squandermania of public finances associated with the Chinese steel houses transaction and the financial dark hole about the little known Clearwater Bay exposes a lack of financial discipline by government despite all the feel good reports from the talking heads. The commentary contained in the Auditor General Reports post 2018 have not changed.

What does it say when government has to vote additional monies for SOEs with a tired financial record of non performance and deemed to be insolvent? Does it inspire confidence? Is this a case of the Prime Minister having to appease a favoured unionist sitting outside the Cabinet BUT operating in the inner sanctum as it relates to government’s sluggish rationalising of SOEs?

HIGH-RISK’ SOEs

Government may have to bail out cash-strapped entities

By Shawn Cumberbatch

shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

Government may have to allocate millions of dollars to continue bailing out some cash-strapped state-owned enterprises (SOEs).

A new Fiscal Risk Statement from the Ministry of Finance says there is evidence that a number of SOEs, including the Barbados Agricultural Development Marketing Inc. (BADMC), the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation ( CBC) and the Transport Board are likely to be short of cash and other liquid resources needed to pay their debts this year.

The authorities say this means that “given the traditional reliance on Government to settle arrears of the SOEs in times where they have been cash-strapped, there is a high risk that these entities may require unbudgeted subventions during fiscal year 2024/25”.

In recent supplementaries approved by Parliament before the last financial year ended on March 31, $4 million was allocated to settle outstanding arrears of the Transport Board, and $2.5 million was voted “to meet the expenditure for the payment of pensions and operations of CBC”.

There was also $4.6 million for the BADMC “to enhance water solutions under the [Farmers’ Empowerment and Enfranchisement Drive] programme by expanding the irrigation networks including pumphouses and distribution piping at Wakefield, Spencers, Bath and Mount Poyer”.

Weak revenue growth

In the 2024 Fiscal Risk Statement, which is a requirement of the Public Finance Management Act of 2019, the Ministry of Finance said “weak revenue growth for most commercial enterprises and a high reliance on Government subventions to meet operating expenses have meant consolidated net losses of commercial public enterprises before subventions”.

“A number of SOEs have been deemed insolvent as current assets are unable to cover liabilities. Additionally, some commercial entities’ revenues have not fully rebounded post peak pandemic,” it reported.

“This had led to an accumulation of short-term liabilities that must be settled to avoid an untenable arrears position for the public sector. The financial performance of public enterprise poses potential risk to Government as financing shortages necessitate increased transfers to these enterprises. This includes the settlement of short- and long-term liabilities.”

Consolidated net loss

The report said “the consolidated net loss of commercial public enterprises before subventions totalled $49.9 million for fiscal year 2023/24, compared to $226.4 million for fiscal year 2022/23”.

It added: “Non-commercial entities registered losses of approximately $164.7 million for fiscal year 2023/24 compared to $139.8 million for fiscal year 2022/23. Overall, liquidity ratios generated for the current financial year reflect medium and low risks for the commercial and non-commercial SOEs, respectively.”

The BADMC, CBC and Transport Board were listed among the statutory entities with negative debt-to-equity ratios, indicating they were insolvent. The challenge facing CBC, the Transport Board and other SOEs is short-, medium- and longterm in nature in several instances.

“Solvency ratios generally indicate whether the entities have sufficient cash flow to meet their long-term liabilities and thus measure the financial health of the entity,” the Fiscal Risk Statement explained.

Nation Newspaper

55 responses to “Stop it!”

1. If we add up our subsidies it may tell a story. The blogmaster understands there is the cost benefit to having an industry that generates foreign exchange but it does not mean we should not be told the full story around subsidies to that sector. Especially given our heavy dependence.

Concern over empty seats on Cayman Airways flight

A SEEMINGLY UNDERSUBSCRIBED FLIGHT between Cayman Islands and Barbados is raising questions in the British Overseas Territory.

An article in yesterday’s online publication Cayman Compass under the headline Barbados Route Questioned As Low Passenger Counts Revealed has former Cayman Islands tourism minister and opposition Member of Parliament Moses Kirkconnell calling for another look at the viability of the twiceweekly flight.

It stated that the flight, inaugurated last October, had averaged just 34 passengers per trip on the 160-seat aircraft. It added that a total of 1 912 paying passengers made use of the route across 56 flights during the past six months.

Economic value

“Is there some place that you can fly that plane that will bring more economic value to the Cayman Islands than flying to Barbados?” Kirkconnell asked.

In response, Cayman Airways chief executive officer and president Fabian Whorms said the flights kept his people and planes busy during downtime, adding that the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc (BTMI) was subsidising it.

“The operation has so far been viable for the airline and has helped with making the airline efficient from an operational perspective, as it keeps our crews and aircraft occupied on days of the week when we have available operational capacity that would otherwise not be used.

“[These operations] do not displace any of our other activities at this time. [The minimum revenue being received by Cayman Airways] is contractually guaranteed by Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. This revenue from BTMI ensures that Cayman Airways does not incur any losses on the service being provided,” he said.

Whorms said Barbados’ Government was guaranteeing minimum revenues to Cayman Airways for the route, an agreement made by BTMI for a year. However, the article said there had neither been any revelation on what the minimum revenue was nor had there been any official word on whether any payments had already been made.

When contacted for a response, new BTMI chief executive officer Andrea Franklin said: “At the BTMI, our foremost mission is to enhance accessibility to our destination, ensuring it remains a beacon of hospitality and opportunity.

“As part of our ongoing commitment, we diligently assess all new business ventures coming to Barbados to ascertain their efficacy and alignment with our strategic objectives.

“We continue to assess all airlift to the destination on a continuous basis and as we approach the end of the winter season, our board will assess current airlift performance and determine next steps,” she added.

Investment

During the launch ceremony in Barbados last year following the first flight, BTMI director (Caribbean and Latin America) Corey Garrett explained why they had invested so heavily in the flight. The ceremony was also attended by Shelly Williams, Hinds, Whorms and other officials from both territories.

“Cayman offers opportunities for Barbadians and Barbados offers opportunities for Caymanians and the Caribbean. There are several teachers, bankers, auditors and an entire Barbadian fraternity who live on the island. “That interaction and back-and-forth will spawn and span to other persons and create that interest. At some point in time, the flight will have its domestic roots in terms of persons travelling for secular reasons and opening opportunities.”

Garrett added: “In terms of pricing, we will do our part to try to keep it as competitive as possible but at the same time, the airline and the service have to remain relevant to its competition. Both teams are in bed together and continually monitoring the pricing strategy in the Caribbean.”

At the time, Whorms said the flight was a milestone as it was one of the longest nonstop scheduled intra-Caribbean flights ever undertaken. He urged Barbadians to capitalise on the service. “I encourage all of Barbados to embrace, support and utilise this new service. For the route to be successful, for it to be viable, like any new airline route, it inherently depends on the level of demand that’s there for the service,” he said then.

According to the article, the Cayman Airways Barbados flight departs Grand Cayman on Tuesdays at 5:10 p.m. and arrives here at 9:35 p.m. The plane and crew overnight for a return Wednesday from Barbados at 11:45 a.m., arriving in Grand Cayman at 2:25 p.m.

On Thursdays, the flight departs Grand Cayman at 4:30 p.m. and arrives in Barbados at 8:55 p.m. It leaves at 9:20 a.m. the next day, arriving in Grand Cayman at noon. (CA)

2. William Skinner Avatar

We have fallen for cliches and “feel good” pie-in-the – sky Mumbo jumbo. Tautology is the order of the day . It is now firmly accepted that the contribution of tourism to our economy should not be based on numbers only. Harry Russell and Dr. Clyde Mascoll , along with others have been making this point for years.
    All of these political public relations polytricks will come to naught when objectivity replaces blind pathetic party loyalty , regardless of which family member is running things.
    The old saying: if you can’t dazzle them with brilliance baffle them with bullshit , is more than appropriate.

3. Who exactly has fallen for it? Ask the average Bajan and you will get a big long steupse.

4. @ William
    Bullshit baffles brains, but to a brass bowl, it represents meaningful satisfaction.

We actually pay foreign airlines for empty seats – after WE shut LIAT down.

We actually allow foreign owners to collect local business receipts in their overseas accounts while sending only the bare minimum here to cover expenses.

We allow LOCAL albino-centric demons to import products such as pork and other agricultural products, that compete DIRECTLY with local producers, under the false guise as ‘manufacturers’. This can ONLY be explained by political and public officers being complicit.
    In ANY other SANE country, such ‘manufacturers’ would have to FIRST exhaust the capacity of local producers BEFORE getting ANY permission to import.

We pride ourselves in our ability to BEG and BORROW money from the same demons that exploited our fore parents for centuries… obviously condemning our children to a similar fate as that suffered by our grandparents.

What a damned place!
    What a curse!
    What a turn-around after the Barrow / Adams period.!!

5. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bushie
    The gem: lost 23 million on project; now spending 50 million to revive it. In the end 73 million more to get the steal houses up and running. A 4 month project now a four year project. We are indeed a very rich country with an economy firing on all cylinders.
    Remember CAHILL ……
    We don’t have workmen to deal with steal.
    PS: taxpayers now underwriting empty aircraft seats

6. At the center of all this is a fundamental confusion.

First, the most successful economies in the world accept that there are simply some human activities which must be supported by government.

The United States knew this well in its better days.

We’ve long gotten this part right. However, we continue to fail to generate a sufficiency of value in all other facets of the system to justify what the Mexicans call ‘bienestar’.

For there are simply social infrastructures which everybody uses and for which cannot be properly borne except by a central government, not individuals, not corporates.

Those who consistently complain about such spending should tell us why China continues, with its hybrid of Soviet communism and Western styled capitalism, to enjoy growth rates two and three times of the best in the West.

Of course, the infantile predisposition that the fallings of Western styled capitalism is to be entirely located on the backs of the functionaries in Bridgetown ……..

And the failure to connect the Bajan social and political conditions to this deeper malady will never mek sense, of any kind.

This is the kind of ignorance informing local discourses. For it’s impossible to properly indict the regime in Bridgetown, all the regimes in fact, unless we venture beyond the mundane.

7. @ David,

“Stop it”. I don’t think so! Not when there is so much money to be made by the few and not the many.

https://www.theguardian.com/global-development/2024/apr/10/caribbean-leaders-need-to-stop-taking-it-on-the-chin-and-unite-to-defy-condescending-west

8. Governments prop up SOEs* because they own them

(*) Defining state-owned enterprises
    government-owned companies (as a wholly or a majority (50%+1 share)) engaged in extractive activities on behalf of the government

Governments invested in the war industry love war
    that’s why there is always war in Babylon

Babylose Burning
    Not even the dog that pisseth against the walls of Babylon shall escape I wrath.
    Jah strong and mighty in battle cramp weakheart.

Babylose burning, but there’s no water.
    Fire fire, fire fire, but there’s no water.

9. Well here we go again. Passing a budget then before the ink dry good coming for more money for the SOE’S. So here are a few questions.

What is the total value of the funds required to “stabalise” the SOEs for another year?

How many of these SOEs have suplied up to date audited flnancials to central government? If not what is the value needed based on?

Do the funds being given to them come with conditions? Things like targets for a reduction in financial aid for the following year?

My point is if we leave the SOEs and entities like HOPE to do in the future what has taken place in the past, next year the assistance given to them may well be even more than this year!

10. @John A

If the NIS can function without audited financials why must SOEs supply same?

11. John A

Your questions could be asked of any institution.

However, there are operations in which governments are engaged which are not, could not be or will be always impossible to deal with, given accounting practices.

For example research and development, which present several imponderables.

Or social spending by a government in times of Covid.

And even those which could be subject to a vast range of variables.

While we could agree on the HOPE issue and would prefer a coop construction model there has to enough ‘fiscal space’ in the public sector to operate on the margin.

12. Black Girl Liguistic Play, The Reup*
    (*) watch the video (or youtube for the transcript script (Mr Man didn’t like it))

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    Stop it.
    The SOEs are here to provide essential services, and hopefully employ as many of the party faithful who deserve good paying jobs.
    Annual reports are outdated albino centric methods of accountability which cannot capture the vital societal benefit these SOEs provide. To besides producing such reports are costly, and require record keeping which is similarly costly. Our well trained managers understand the cost-benefit, which can never be reflected in any report. And they report to Boards who are acutely aware of the need to manage public funds, if by any chance, management has forgotten.
    We are simply not budgeting enough money to begin with, largely because we need to show the IMF we are trying. It is their fault.
    After all, we are entitled to spend these monies. In time, the bi and multi lateral lenders will realise repayment is not required. All will be good.

14. 11,111,111 is a number.. it is just an estimate / guesstimate perhaps it should have been overstated stated as 22,222,222 or 33,333,333 to account for mission creep and delivery within budget

it’s just a budget and not a fudge it

15. @ Pacha

Yes there will always be unusual expenses that cant be planned for like Covid. The problem for me though is that every year for the last 10 years the same SOE’S have proven to be money pits and we just cant support this going forward.

This year looking at some rough numbers and including the SOEs support, we could be looking at a real term deficit of 1.4 billion!

Something has to give as we just are not as a country generating enough economic activity to feed this animal, nor do we have the buyers for more government paper, no matter what letter of the alphabet you give them.

16. @ Northern

Listen you too bad. Dont get me started on the NIS. That like a badly run company with us the share holders financing the foolishness and shortfalls yearly. Wait when will they present up to date financials? I sure i heard the boss lady say it was a matter of urgency and should be made availbale soon.

Well its just another day in paradise.

17. John A, I understand your comments, but in reality, SEOs such as Transport Board will always require supplementary funding, whether or not audited financial statements are current and available. We cannot expect TB to be self sufficient with bus fares at $3.50. Bear in mind, in May 1976, then PM Barrow replaced ‘stage fares’ with an island wide rate of 25¢. Goverment took over the operations of Elite and Rocklyn in 1978, thereby increasing the route base. Existing routes were extended because of additional communities. Although bus fares progressively increased from 25¢ in 1976 to $3.50 in 2018, the fare levels were not consistent with increases in operating costs. Therefore, the subsidy requirement would obviously increase. Without supplementary funding, TB would be forced to reduce expenditure, resulting in a reduction of bus repairs and maintenance. The unavailibility of buses would ultimately affect service efficiency and reliability. This presently the case. Buses are ‘cannibalised’ to keep other buses operational and road worthy. If we believe TB is provding an essential social service, then surely we should understand the need for a ‘bail out.’

18. @ Artax

I agree with you as a social conscience must exist. My concern is that the state must arrive at a support amount it can afford to say is for social services and then bring the SOEs to where they can operate within that point.

Also the governmnet can not give a ministry say 100M to run for a year when it knows it took 150M to run last year. If this is not done then the whole estimate and budget is a waste of blasted time. Clearly no one is basing the ministries and SOEs on factual numbers or if not these supplimentaries would not be so present or so large.

19. @Artax

Are we discussing supplementary funding or being able to accurately allocate subventions/transfers in the annual budget. These are for the most part known cost I.e. level of subsidy required based on historicals.

20. John A

Very well.

However, we tend to make these judgements without considering the value the government sector brings to individuals and corporations.

The Chinese government, for examples, swallows the cost of public transportation to promote national competitiveness.

It builds out entire cities in anticipation of population growth and relocations, industrial expansion, development.

Some in the West refer to such developments as real estate bubbles.

In Barbados, successive government have offered a miseducation system.

More deeply, within financialized neoliberalism countries like, in Barbados, nobody is really worried about what concerns you.

They do not expect to ever have to repay any of these debts beyond the occasional rescheduling, borrowing anew to repay those coming due, defaults which will become more of a regular happening.

Indeed, the USA has a national debt of about 35 trillion, measured by the sum of annual deficits since 1776. Will be 50 trillion by 2030. The annual interest alone is currently reaching 1 trillion. Considering all other debts or unfunded liabilities, this figure goes to about 300 trillion.

Nobody is losing any sleep about this. That is not the game being played. Barbados is playing this same game, until it can’t be played anymore.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    Living the dream, living the dream 😊😊
    The tombstone in Westbury reads “NIS may it rest in eternal peace”. It gone. The autopsy claimed ‘natural causes’ possibly due to age and infirmity. It has been admitted to the ICU multiple times.
    Now you can manage the NISSS. You seen the opening balance sheet yet?
    The QEH is more important. Now under the Englishman, who doesn’t seem to stick around too long, anywhere. What in Canada we call ‘skating fast over thin ice’.

22. @NO

The expat at the QEH is what is called a turnaround CEO. Length of tenure is not a consideration to recommend him.

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

Yep. I heard similar when they changed from CEO to Executive Chair. As Sandi said, “how we get back here?”.

24. @ John A April 10, 2024 at 4:21 pm
    (Quote).
    Also the governmnet can not give a ministry say 100M to run for a year when it knows it took 150M to run last year. If this is not done then the whole estimate and budget is a waste of blasted time. Clearly no one is basing the ministries and SOEs on factual numbers or if not these supplimentaries would not be so present or so large.”
    (Unquote).

The IMF has that SOE called the Transport Board (TB)at the top of the list for imminent Privatization and possibly ahead of the BWA.

Even in an environment of continuing subsidies from the public purse (and political interference in its operations) how could the TB survive when the majority of the money-making routes are dominated by the other players like ZRs?

But which private sector investor would want to take over a business providing a public/social good unless there are guaranteed returns in its revenue base?

The current dog-eat-dog arrangement as displayed by the ZR players just cannot continue.

The existing players must come together and form some form of Cooperative in order to own and manage the business now undertaken by the GoB via its SOE.

It is happening with the sugar industry. Why not in the realm of mass transit?

How would people be enticed to use public transport on a heavily congested road network unless they are dissuaded to use private vehicles by switching to a better managed and attractively priced mass transit system?

25. @ Miller

Exactly. What you are saying is at the core of the problem.

So why dont we decide on what subsidy we can afford to pay say the transport board, then privatise it and offer the buyer the same annual subsidy to cover the social aspect?

If we are serious about offloading these money pits, then a way must be found to make it viable for the buyer. We already have a situation where the money the SOEs need, could take the deficit to 1.4 billion this year. How much more confirmation you need that we cant continue like this, a deficit of 2 billion instead?

26. Transport is a public good. We need to manage efficiently, privatization is not a solution for mismanagement.

27. @David April 10, 2024 at 8:58 pm

“Transport is a public good. We need to manage efficiently, privatization is not a solution for mismanagement.”

We would agree with you if ‘you’ were discussing the current state of the police service, judicial system, or even the NISSS.

But how do you explain the current hybrid system in which the ZR and the other ‘privately-owned operators’ take the bulk of the revenues and profits with NO regard to the same public health and safety?

What is the Solution to the ZR culture other than by way of the Cooperative approach to this ‘brand’ of Public good?

28. @Miller

What you described is mismanagement. Why are the permits given willynilly to some without being informed by a traffic plan?

29. She denied canvassing in the constituency, now it is coming out. Thorne knew what he was talking about then?

————

Two frontrunners emerge in pundit’s view of BLP contest
    by Emmanuel Joseph
    With the next general election due in three years, the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) may be facing a two-person battle to determine who contests the Christ Church South constituency, according to political scientist Dr Kristina Hinds. And name recognition and past service to the party have emerged as likely key indicators of the winning candidate’s success.
    Four prospective candidates have put their names forward: Senator Dr Shantal Munro- Knight, Kurt Haynes, Janal Browne and Rommel Parris.
    But Dr Hinds, the head of University of the West Indies Cave Hill’s Department of Government, sees Senator Munro-Knight, a minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, and Haynes, a top party official, as the frontrunners for the nomination.
    She acknowledged that she is unfamiliar with Browne and Parris, despite accepting they may be hard workers with useful and worthwhile histories within the BLP.
    “Within the branch, I do not know of the internal dynamics. I don’t know of Jamal Browne or Rommel Parris,” she said.
    Dr Hinds, a former independent senator, recalled reports that Senator Munro-Knight had been canvassing in the constituency which she strongly denied. “Be that as it may, she is known, and she has some experience. So, the question is whether the branch finds favour with him. This is a decision that needs to be taken at the branch level,” Dr Hinds told Barbados TODAY.
    “For Kurt Haynes, he also has some experience. He was assistant to the Opposition Leader when the Barbados Labour Party was in opposition, and he has functioned as Minister [of Health] Jerome Walcott’s assistant, to my knowledge, since 2018, first, in [the Ministry of] Foreign Affairs and subsequently or at present in the Ministry of Health.”
    The political scientist added that both Senator Munro-Knight and Haynes appear to have strong party support, making the constituency’s decision a tough one.
    “It would really then be up to the constituency to decide since both of these are quite strong, and the fact that Minister of State Senator Shantal Munro-Knight has been selected to that position shows that she has the support of the party behind her,” the political scientist said.
    Haynes, a BLP vice chairman, seemed to be “a strong prospect” who has climbed the ranks and worked “quite hard” with the party, having won that post by beating Minister Marsha Caddle in 2022, Dr Hinds noted.
    “The roles that Kurt Haynes has played shows also he has quite a bit of party support behind him. So, it is to be seen.”
    emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb

30. @Enuff

World Bank: Barbados growth projections dip below 4.0 per cent
    The World Bank slightly lowered its 2024 growth forecast for Barbados to 3.7 per cent in its regional economic outlook released on Wednesday, compared to 4.0 per cent outlined in its Global Economic Prospects report published in January.
    The global financial institution further outlined prospects of 2.8 per cent for 2025 and 2.3 per cent a year later for the island.
    The economic predictions come as the World Bank warned Latin America and the Caribbean to take serious stock of what it described as “persistent low growth that remains a barrier for development”, against the backdrop of predictions that regional Gross Domestic Product (GDP) will expand by 1.6 per cent in 2024, 2.7 per cent in 2025 and 2.6 per cent in 2026.
    “These rates are the lowest compared to all other regions in the world, and insufficient to drive prosperity. With social transfers declining and wages not yet rebounding to prepandemic figures, many households are under pressure,” the Bank said in its latest report titled Competition: The Missing Ingredient for Growth? It said the region has reached a critical juncture where growth has stalled, undermining progress.
    At Wednesday’s press conference, Chief Economist for Latin America and the Caribbean William Maloney told journalists: “Whether it’s two per cent or 2.5. per cent or 1. 5 per cent, these rates of growth are just way too low to make a meaningful dent in poverty reduction or facilitate social mobility. We have to be thinking of a 10-year horizon of what reforms we need to undertake as a region to get us to be talking about growth rates of perhaps five per cent.”
    The World Bank report said factors driving these growth numbers include low levels of investment and domestic consumption, elevated interest rates and high fiscal deficits, declining commodity prices, and uncertainty in the prospects of important partners such as the US, China, Europe and other G7 countries.
    It also pointed out that an adverse global scenario, marked by geopolitical tensions, disruptions of shipments through the Suez Canal, and the El Niño phenomenon could further dampen prospects.
    Maloney expressed concern that even as the shock of the COVID-19 pandemic dissipates, growth rates in Latin America and the Caribean mirror those of the 2010s and this reveals that the region has failed to address persistent obstacles that have blocked its potential, including low education levels, poor infrastructure, and high investment costs, which also fuel social discontent.
    “An agenda that drives growth forward is one that addresses these gaps seriously,” the World Bank economist said. “Otherwise, the region will remain stuck and won’t be able to attract investments or seize new opportunities, such as nearshoring or the low-carbon economy. Improving competition systems should be part of these strategies, leading to improvements for consumers and businesses.”
    The report highlights potential areas for action, emphasising that leveraging competition policies and institutions is key to any impactful growth strategy.
    The World Bank said that fostering competition is central to reviving the economy and winning back investor confidence.
    When competition is underpinned by sound policies, institutions and frameworks, companies innovate, become more efficient and provide technological breakthroughs, it added. (SD)

31. How has privitisation worked out for the English? Last thing I heard, it was a right ruddy mess!

This whole world system of things is broken. I see little hope for change until after it all collapses.

32. @ David

We have a ZR culture because the authorities ALLOW it . This could be easily changed if the court system was working and an inpound and instant fine system was implimented, with both owner and driver being charged.

All governments have done nothing about reigning in this bunch and hence they thrive. If they had to pay a substantial fine in 48 hours and have the vehicle impounded you would then see. They claim they hustle for money. Well try hustling with an inpounded van!

We are great talkers but piss poor doers!

33. @John A

We allow it as well. We are in it together. Parental delinquency is a part of the problem as well. We have to push back against the chaos.

34. One name missing from the list of presumptive candidates for the CCS constituency is Lisa Cummins, did anything change in the interim?

35. “Are we discussing supplementary funding or being able to accurately allocate subventions/transfers in the annual budget. These are for the most part known cost I.e. level of subsidy required based on historicals.”

The operations and organizational culture of Transport Board would present some difficultly in reasonably estimating annual revenue and expenditure, especially “based on historicals.”

Management cannot “accurately allocate subventions/transfers in the annual budget” because, for example, it is impossible to determine how many buses will ‘breakdown per day, week, month or year,’ as those totals will obviously fluctuate.

The average repair turnaround time for some buses, from component failure to capability restoration……. isolating or correcting defects and their causes, meeting new requirements and making future maintenance easier, would obviously vary per bus.

We have a situation in Barbados where the demand for public transport is high, in some cases due to rural and urban migration, i.e. new or expanded communities, but there is a shortfall in supply.
    Hence, the gap between supply and demand widens, which is filled by mini-buses, ZRs and illegal operators.
    They provide a ‘better service’ than TB, in that they are ‘reliable’ and do not operate on a schedule or within the law.
    For example, they do not stop at designated bus stops, allowing passengers to disembark anywhere.
    Additionally, they often go ‘off route’ or illegally service other routes where there is a shortfall in service.

Perhaps the reason why they are tolerated by the public.

36. @ David April 10, 2024 at 9:18 pm
    “@Miller What you described is mismanagement. Why are the permits given willynilly to some without being informed by a traffic plan?”

Yes Avatar, “MISMANAGEMENT”, indeed!

But is it the result of a dearth of the relevant management skills or it is caused by downright direct interference at the political management level?

Maybe you are too young to remember the days of that same SOE under CPT. Hill.

The Transport Board is one of those ‘top-ranking’ SOE’s earmarked by the IMF for privatization; or should we say, to be ‘contracted-out’ by the GoB as an integral part of the agreement for continuing balance of payments financing and loans repayment arrangement.

Wouldn’t be too surprised if the same Transport Board
    Divestment plan appears also at the top of Dr. Justin Robinson’s ‘must-do-list’ under the previous DLP Administration going back to 2013.

The other Statutory agency for Public Transport in Barbados was established to circumscribe the role of the GoB to that of a mere regulatory one and not as any commercial operator or player.

37. @Miller

It probably has more to do with a decadent and irrelevant culture of doing business.

38. Brasstacks was hot today. Walter Blackman vs Kirk Humphrey.

39. @Hants

Politician looking for brownie points. Let him go and fix the NISS.

40. @Artax

Understand the point you made BUT successive governments have a poor track record managing SOEs especially the CBC and TB. There are many unknown expenses stemming from mismanagement.

41. “Transport is a public good.”

In economics, a public good is described as non-excludable (there isn’t any feasible method to prevent persons from utilizing a particular service once it is available)……

…… and non-rivalrous, goods that can be consumed by one person without diminishing the consumption possibilities for others.
    In other words, when an individual or a group of individuals use a particular good, the supply left for use by other people remains unchanged.

Public transportation does not meet the established definition in economics and therefore is not considered to be a public good.

It is excludable, because passengers cannot travel on the bus if they don’t pay bus fare, and rivalrous, because during busy periods, buses leave passengers due to space limitations.

42. @ David April 11, 2024 at 12:53 pm
    Politician looking for brownie points. Let him go and fix the NISS.
    Unquote).

Shouldn’t this minister be a bit more concerned over the failure of the “NISS” to produce financial reports (as required by Law) on the viability of the very Institution on which a large majority of his aging clients depend?

There was absolutely no need for the Social Services minister to make those personal attacks at W B.

Clearly indicative of a person possessed with a most shallow intellect!

We admire his passion as can be heard in his energized political deliveries but he falls woefully short on implementation of grandiose sounding policies.

He is clearly proving that those with weak arguments will always resort to personal attacks (ad hominem fallacies); just like our BU ‘friend’ Mr. Enuff.

Shouldn’t the enthusiastic minister be more concerned about his administration’s move to put aging (black) Barbadians in the PreConco fabricated concrete cells posing as wards or living quarters being constructed on the highway?

What does he think would happen to those senior citizens when global warming becomes an ever-increasing reality as can be seen from the unusually hot dry days occurring so early in the year?

Shouldn’t people in their golden years be entitled to breathe fresh air and be insulated as much as possible from the noise and pollution from passing vehicles?

Maybe he is considering proposing a Bill in Parliament which would give aging Bajans an alternative to living in Hell.

What about introducing the Assisted Suicide Bill for consideration?

Maybe a Bajan chapter of Dignitas (Dying in Dignity) is worthy of consideration to add to the country’s tourism repertoire of services provided.

43. @Artax

The blogmaster is aware of the theoriecal definition but in practical terms transportation is a public good. We can discuss for 5 marks.

44. @ David April 11, 2024 at 2:36 pm

A more appropriate categorization of public transportation is that it should be considered as an “Externality”.
    That’s why Senator Weatherhead proposal should NOT be dismissed out of hand even if the question of funding has not been addressed.

But the question still prevails:

Who would provide the service?

Should it be a State-owned and politically-dictated enterprise or should it be left to the private sector driven by profit but regulated by some State agency to award routes, set fares, etc.?

The IMF has already laid down the agenda the GoB must follow WEF 2024.

Don’t be surprised if bus fares are increased (as an addendum to the MoF’s 2024-25 budget presentation) to a minimum of Bds$ 4.00 per person with no free rides for the young or old.

Just remember that old adage:
    ‘He who pays the piper (pay for the imported goods to sustain the Bajan habit of conspicuous consumption) calls the tune!’

45. @Miller It is politics. There is increasing criticism of the government, of late HOPE and Chinese Steel houses. It is time for the PM to unleash her dogs. Picking on WB is easy because he has been the most vociferous of talk show hosts with anti government comments.

46. Yes, public transport is often considered a public good. Public transport provides benefits to the entire community, not just to individual users. It helps reduce traffic congestion, lower pollution, and provide accessibility to people who may not have access to private transportation. Additionally, public transport can contribute to economic development and social equity. However, the extent to which public transport is considered a public good may vary based on local policies and perspectives.

Source:AI

47. @ David

‘Reducing traffic congestion and lowering pollution,’ is not applicable to Barbados.
    While it “provides accessibility to people who may not have access to private transportation,” passengers are required to pay bus fare.

Theoretically, public transport has to be available free to all users for it be reasonably considered a ‘public good.’

Hence, “the extent to which public transport is considered a public good may vary based on local policies and perspectives.”

However, we’re essentially engaging in a ‘circular argument.’

Let’s ‘agree to disagree.’

48. @Artax

Could this be why Senator Andrew Mallallieu recommended same?