We have a few rich people who are able to facilitate large local transactions and receive offset offshore requires attention from local authorities.

In recent days the blogmaster has had the irresistible urge to ‘mumble’ in words a concern. It is a concern many Barbadians are unaware. It centres around how ‘players’ in Barbados operate to influence decision making by decision makers.

In BU’s early years the late Denis Lowe featured in many blogs when evidence surfaced he was an errand boy for Peter Allard of Graeme Hall Sanctuary fame. The plan was for Allard to fund his campaign, in return he would have no choice but to be compliant. Too many are ignorant to the fact it isn’t elected politicians who call the shots, it is the faceless others that contribute to finance campaigns and hold keys to important gateways.

It is a puzzlement why the previous government – then Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler – redirected funds from the Industrial Credit Fund to ensure Mark Maloney was paid for an obviously overpriced Grotto project. It was a project that attracted unfavourable comment in the Auditor General’s 2016 Special Audit report with predictably no repercussions. This was at a time government owed too many small black business persons. To be compliant the government had to ignore a protrusion at the entrance of Coverley Gardens, a prefab construction next to the flour mill on the renamed Mighty Gryner among two that come to mind.

What about members of the merchant class who from all reports continue to establish companies/storefronts in foreign lands with the purpose of managing the invoicing? If people on the streets are aware why have we never heard about anyone being identified and arrested for the practice? Barbados is a company always on the hunt for foreign exchange, we borrow at a price to future generations. The fact we have a few rich people who are able to facilitate large local transactions and receive offset offshore requires attention from local authorities.

Is this a case of local authorities lacking resources to investigate in order to minimize this level of white collar crime? Is it a case of endemic corruption which is a challenge for all countries in varying degrees? One gets the sense that in Barbados there is no attempt to arrest this type of criminal activity, the result is that we have a band of players who game the system. The result is that millions of dollars in foreign exchange are redirected and secreted away in offshore accounts in Miami, Cayman and elsewhere. It is naive for Barbadians to believe those among us with the ability to earn significant revenue are unprepared to look for opportunities to convert from soft to hard currency. There are also Barbadians who earn foreign exchange overseas who look for ways to keep the funds offshore. The fear of putting all the eggs in one basket is real. The disloyalty to country is real. Greed being a deadly sin will be everlasting.

Isn’t it ironic the government at one level is engaged on an aggressive campaign of borrowing to bolster our foreign reserves, BUT, we have crime being committed by individuals of respectability and high social standing that is undermining the process? Unfortunately given this level of collusion that is bought and paid for, it is unlikely we will ever see any of the players taken down by local authorities in the same way Donville Inniss was successfully snared by US authorities with the help by a foreign corporate citizen.

Unfortunately through the lens of a lowly blogmaster, it is unlikely our weak governance framework, combined with a poor appetite from authorities to pursue the rich and powerful will we have progress to take out players. Instead, the minions will continue to protest against this that and the other while the players continue to laugh all the way to overseas banks.

135 responses to “‘Players’ laughing at we”

1. One must remember that some of the same politicians are themselves very wealthy and practice the very same dirty games.

The truth is more and more people are doing this now because they have no confidence in Barbados. They have no confidence of their finances being here. They are encouraging local and foreign investors to invest so they can move their eggs from a basket that they know they are not safe in.

2. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved..

They, the politicians, are the facilitators, fir their cut, or so many billions could never be missing from the economy over so many decades and no one held accountable…

.Keltruth Blog out of Miami and Barbados Free Press ..exposed this level of in your face thievery from the treasury over 20 years ago….time for those who believe they are untouchable and use world corporations as a cover hiding behind to face the music, they and their wannabe Empire friends…

..the embarrassment and black eye to people and country is now worse than ever….with so much more to expose, these need to turn themselves in, cause no one have a problem exposing them all even more….they are coming down one way or the next…

The rats believe they can jump ship and assign blame to the known crooked minorities SOLELY, their business partners when knowing they are the facilitators….that’s why they were told when they had their fowl called 2 of the local families names on a blog, and claimed that these minorites have extorted and blackmailed the local politicians…. these families who have engaged in this diabolical practice of seizing and sabotaging any of the African descended progress in the last hundred years, so the PM was asked on air, since you went into the environs of the corporations since 1994, why did you not complain to your employers who fund the island that you were over your heads in corruption, a group of minorities were out of control and need to be brought to heel…instead nearly 30 years later…these crimes are still committed and you do nothing still as someone being allegedly blackmailed and extorted according to your offshore domiciled fowl…

More to come on that topic on air.

3. @Sarah

Some politicians are wealthy because they do the bidding of the ‘players’ because of greed/avarice. It is a deadly sin do not forget.

4. It is all about and active citizenry supported by a professional fourth estate working to ensure the best governance framework is maintained.

5. Everyday the blogmaster reads about corruption in developed countries as well, the difference is that there is a better chance of holding transgressors in those countries accountable.

6. Here is an interesting submission from 2016 by the ten very visible Ambassador David Commisiong. Fast forward to today. We recall Bizzy made PIP abbreviation popular.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2016/06/01/bizzy-williams-and-the-old-colonial-system/

7. The other big one BU has posted many blogs is media practitioners open to facilitate having stories planted by players and their minions for some form of bribery. Why is this important? Information disseminated by traditional and so called respected media plays a big part in opinion shaping; conditioning of the masses.

8. When Michael Lashley and Denis Lowe were caught out leasing luxury vehicles from Lloyd Brathwaite owner of Trans-Tech was it considered a conflict of interest by the citizenry? Did anyone care? It doesn’t mean there was bobble going on, it was more about demanding transparency. Trans-Tech at the time was a major supplier of services to government and ministries the 2 gentlemen represented. As a people we have t do better.

9. It is interesting to note the audit by the PAC headed by former leader of the opposition Bishop Atherley went nowhere and died with the last parliament.

10. @ David

Miami is a place not many Bajans will touch now since the issue with the Don. Plus with them being part of the USA they are subject to the US judicial system.

Cayman has been the choice of these activities for years, as it is very difficult and practically impossible for the USA to touch anyone there. Do you know some Cayman institutions do not take deposits from US citizens for that very reason?

Thing is there is really no reason to siphon off profits overseas now through invoicing companies as the tax rate here is only 5%. Those still doing it are doing so simply to blead this island of its FX.

FInally check and see what we upstamp sterling to here for customs purposes. It is a currency that floats, but do a little checking here and see what happens with the costing of UK imports done in sterling when they land in Bim. Many have set up companies overseas just to handle the UK imports as a result when all that is required is for customs to use the daily rate for sterling when calculating duties as opposed to the fixed rate they use at over $3 barbados.

But wunns don’t take my word for it check for wunna self.

11. Will not make any accusations, but I am watching the quick pivot to Africa.

12. @John A

Some of the transactions will pass the smell test because of how they are manufactured.

13. Ahhhh, the blogmaster is highlighting the crux of what has dominated the news recently.

@John A – you have touched on a jurisdiction that is very much in play. Interesting if not curious that Sarah Taylor was the first responder to this post The UK passport seems to also come back into the fore

14. All will agree Kinch is/was a player, he is not the only one.

The real issue is that the vast majority of Barbadians are clueless to this reality. That is, how players are able to influence policy and at the same time game the system to make money of the backs of regular people. All the while facilitated by sweet sounding politicians.

A big F for a moribund and supine fourth estate.

15. We also have a large upper middle class whose only objective it seems is to funds ways to deposit monies to foreign accounts. It is a tough situation.

16. @ Wizard

Lord this reminds me of when I was young and did the dot to dot games. Lol

You know if Maddox had operated in Cayman and not the USA he would never have been jailed, as long as he did not accept a USD from a US citizen or resident.

They say the world is a small place and it truly seems to be getting smaller by the day.

17. We should all examine ourselves and our roles in facilitating these infelicities. Do the politicians vote themselves into office?Do we see any objections / exposures in the press? They look for breaking news. Not the education of citizens about the immoralities.Gossip not Enlightenment.

18. @John A. Think it is Madoff
    The master of the Ponzi scheme.

@David. I tend to agree that Kinch is and continues to be a player. Not everyone is as greedy and the timing of it all is what let him down.

The question remains, where did his funds come from. Follow the money trail

19. David, ‘players WILL ALWAYS influence policy,’ especially if they’re ‘holding you by the balls.’ Case in point, tourism. Sandy Lane Hotel has been operating in Barbados for several years. And, despite the fact a hotel school existed in Barbados perhaps since the 1970s, as well as UWI for 60 years, Sandy Lane claimed it did not received suitable applications for two recently advertised posts of ‘Executive Sous Chef’ and ‘Chef de Cuisine.’ And intends to apply for work permits for non-nationals.

20. Yuh mean there hasn’t been a minister of tourism, labour or home affairs, from successive BLP & DLP administrations that ‘was NOT BRAVE ENOUGH’ to tell Sandy Lane, ‘stop the shiite??’

21. Even the accounting firms and private primary schools, claiming not to receive suitable applications.

22. @ David

Listen all this moving of large amounts of currency could not be going through no central bank either and this is why I say so.

I went to send 250 sterling a little while back to a relative in the UK. When I went in the bank I was told I had to go to the Central Bank Forex site and fill out an application. So I did and it ask who I was, where I live what I want the money for, who it going to etc. Well I did and within minutes of sending in the form I got back an email from the bank saying my application was received and 2 days later I got another email saying it was approved and check with my bank. The whole process was all very professional I have to say.

Now my point is if I had to go through all that for 250 pds, nobody could not move bout millions in foreign exchange through no central bank for shady reasons. So if it didn’t go through no central bank, a Big Up over and away who got access to foreign money would have to do it, preferably from a country outside the USA. Cause since Don nuff Bajans frighten to even fly over the USA farless go there.

When I think of what I had to do for 250pds my blood does boil when I read what the ” connected” get away with!

23. @Artax

It is well known former MoT Barney Lynch enjoyed his privileges at the property. Like @John A wrote ‘connect the dots’.

24. William Skinner Avatar

A country claiming to be a leader in tourism , after 60 plus years in the business, boasting of a hotel school, could not find one national to head its Tourism office.
    A country with highly acclaimed musicians; has produced world class writers and poets. with dozens of local creative artistes , could not create a jingle for its own tourist industry.

25. @Skinner
    A country claiming to be a leader in tourism , after 60 plus years in the business, boasting of a hotel school, could not find one national to head its Tourism office
    +++++
    According to the PM at her last Press Conference, some qualified Bajans don’t want to work for what they consider the “Government” and that’s how they view BTMI.

26. William Skinner Avatar

@ Sargeant
    Perhaps they don’t want to be told by political blow hards how to do their jobs.
    We can find locals to do everything else. Just check the “ pedigrees “ of those getting some top jobs in the same industry.
    Question: How’s it that a national who started as a construction laborer at a world
    class hotel could end up in a top position but we can’t find one single national for some positions.

27. A UWI hotel school trains persons for the top BTMI job? What is the job description?

https://www.mona.uwi.edu/socsci/programmes/bsc-hotel-management

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

But Sarge you are usually the master of reading the tea leaves.
    In the same address, didn’t the reason of being able to pay more to employees one reason for a new, more independent NIS ( like the Central Bank it was said 😆😆).
    This will be a reason to privatize anything. If you create ‘task forces’ (or whatever they are called) and stock them with private sector folks to examine BWA, TB etc, the solution is likely to encompass structural changes?

29. @ Northern

You can not be discussing the New National Insurance State Fund?

30. This is merely another symptom of the dead ended system which the writer believes is the best money can buy.

Democracy?

What we really have here is the rent-seeking mentality innate to neoliberalism.

Rent seekers always aim at making a higher than normal profit. And will move heaven and earth to so do.

Therefore ‘corporate structuring” will always be an obvious port of entry, pun intended.

This is nothing new or unique to the current violators to the writer’s irrational expectations.

Maybe, tal vez, consideration should be given to deeply help notions about the lionization of socalled successful business people.

For it has always been impossible to be uber successful in business without the consolidation of surplus value generated by others.

Or teifing from the state to achieve an abnormal profit.

What is being described centrally is the financialization of everything. An issue we’ve written about since neoliberalism started.

A time when Cave Shepherd had a company in Miami to consolidate and re-invoice everything they bought. This was 30 years or more ago.

And what of the always present philosophical contradictions.

Of loving neo-liberal capitalism but when the constant ills present then seeking succour in a misconceived and nonexistent morality which has never been a characteristic of the rent-seeker.

Weeeee suggest the big deckie. Not de small one. De big one. Has to be driven into dey pooookertz.

31. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

“A time when Cave Shepherd had a company in Miami to consolidate and re-invoice everything they bought. This was 30 years or more ago.”

Remember a company in NY supplied them at knock down prices….when those same items reached here, the markup to sell the local people was pure criminal…they can never get my money…too greedy..

32. The rent seekers are making a killing in Ukraine toooooo!

Dey laughing all the way to a rent seeking halcyon over the bodies of 400,000 of their Nazis lying dead. Over one million injured.

As their sponsors in the West lose the nerve to continue, are unable in terms of industrial production to feed the maw of this, an artillery war.

But the money changers at the centre of corporate greed have gorged themselves with the flesh of the dead, the injured.

Just like the local culprits need to be disgorged of the flesh of Bajans.

A sameness of a sameness.

33. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Speaking of being laughed at, am sure everyone remembers when I posted the OAS document detailing the indigenous in the Americas…and was attacked on BU because fowls did not know Barbados was in the Americas or that they were born in the Americas..

….one year later…indigenous became the new buzzword in the parliament where it was NEVER used before or the people told about their INDIGENOUS status…well wont you know it….a UK presenter said the PM came out with her news that 40% of the people on the island are indigenous….PURE NONSENSE… if they had done proper research would understand exactly what that entails and why their announcement cant make sense..

..but when ya got neferious plans ya make up anything and only the sheep would go baaa..cause they know no better…..evabody else already knows what time it is…weee had a good laugh…

Let them wait for politicians who themselves know nothing to educate them….

It just keeps getting worse..

34. The economic players in the USA are laughing.

They have so brought their own “democracy” to its knees that there is a total vacuum at the centre.

What was is now in complete meltdown as money, graft, buying off of everybody, being as disconnected from the people and serving vested interests, even supreme court justices are in on the illegal money runnings.

Everything has been torn down! Thrown asunder!

We are likely to have Trump, who this writer called a fascist long before it was popular, reelected even from prison. Of the 90 odd charges at least one will stick. Look to Georgia in this regard.

This speaks to an ignorant population still looking for an asshole like Trump to solve problems, above his pay grade and not even approached last time he was there.

The president of the USA was always a mere figurehead. Powerless!

And Biden as head of the other wing of the crime family, even as his handlers try to shield him, owning to dementia, being impeached or brought before the criminal courts for racketeering in Ukraine, even under Obama.

The pantomime of other players in the Dems, GOP and third parties, though a few are making good noises, are unlikely to move to the centre of perceived power. And even if one, other than the two above did, as Biden claimed last time “nothing much will change”.

The power within the USA never resided in any of the branches of government.

The march towards oblivion shall continue, at pace, ineluctibly towards imperial decline. These forces can no more be averted than can gravity.

This is not just about money. It’s certainly not limited to the local mindless fools.

The only question which remains is whether the survivalist instincts of the Bajans will kick in before the Titanic, finally brought down by wokeism and bulling, disappears under the tectonic shifts.

Writers should dispense with their inclinations to tinker. With determinations that quick fixes are possible.They should engage radical systems analyses and go to underlying causation.

The hard decisions, the big deckie!

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, you are a funny guy truly. You really, really, really expect sensible people to miss your sleight of hand joke that: “Too many are ignorant to the fact it isn’t elected politicians who call the shots …”

That is a ROFLOLLL. Do you know it’s now well over 40 years since like maestro magician David Copperfield someone made (my favorite model for infelicities) Mark Stokes go ‘poof’ and disappear in broad day-light! POOF. Seriously David !

The only Bajans who don’t over-stand how things really work and who does really call de shots are those like Stokes who surely no longer breath, those lost way in Jenkins and can’t get their meds … and jackasses!

Oh and we need to get a grip pon dis belief that in the so called “developed countries […] that there is a better chance of holding transgressors in those countries accountable.”

It often seems so because from time to time there is a very public case in the courts … but if we consider the plurality of the egregious cases that eventually leak it’s clear that MANY more companies and politicians are getting away with wanton corruption.

So “better chance” sounds pretty and all that but it does not stop massive corruption!

We actually see only the tip of the freaking problem – in Bim we only see the tip of the tip – but the simple point is that corruption between pols and private enterprise is MASSIVE, period … and WE ALL know that!

36. @Dee Word

You admit some transgressors are held responsible?

You admit Barbados isn’t the only spot on earth where corruption is endemic? The blogmaster would never have guess.

37. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

What is fascinating, is the Auditor General and his report…he religiously publishes them annually, even though state entities refuse to give up financials so he can complete his audit..

….both corrupt governments laugh at him and the clowns impacted by all the thefts, NIS, Vat, treasury…laugh at him too with their it happens everywhere mentality…so it could happen here too…”wuh we int nuhbody”

Just like the dummy telling their employers, as begging borrowing, dependants, wuh you corrupt so i could be corrupt too….problem is, that is all they will ever be….beggars….cause they cant tief anything else to be anyone else…stopped in their tracks..

…..the ignorance is palatable a living and breathing thing, no wonder the corrupt got so full of themselves they crossed a line and now stuck….the supporters are stuck too, not knowing what will happen to them next….

38. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

See…that’s the 50 ton elephant in the room that no one can see…so blinded by… it happens everywhere…but cant see or say what will happen to them next since they have NO CONTROL over their destiny…trapped…dependant on the wiles and fanciful DELUSIONS of dangerous politicians..

Millions of people in bigger countries have been making preparations for YEARS…some even went off grid and wont be impacted cause they knew what to do……..yet these are still looking at those who are proactive..

Pacha…wuh if they cant see the big able picture in front of them…no use saying anymore….i see you trying but…

39. RE: “Speaking of being laughed at, am sure everyone remembers when I posted the OAS document detailing the indigenous in the Americas…”

If by OAS you mean Organisation of American States, then you’re misleading the forum.

How I remember the issue, which could be substantiated by BU’s archives, was you criticised the judicial process (and, rightfully so), of a case involving a white UK visitor who assaulted a Barbadian female.
    And, presented excerpts from the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, specifically ‘Article XXII. Indigenous law and jurisdiction 1’ to justify your argument. [July 9, 2020 4:52 AM]

You further went on to argue that Africans brought to the Caribbean as slaves were indigenous to Caribbean and the Rights are therefore applicable to their descendant.

A contributor indicated that perhaps you may be incorrect and further stated:
    “The UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous People is a non-legally-binding resolution passed by the United Nations in 2007. Among the indigenous peoples are those of the Americas (for example, the Lakota in the USA, the Mayas in Guatemala or the Aymaras in Bolivia), the Inuit and Aleutians of the circumpolar region, the Saami of northern Europe, the Aborigines and Torres Strait Islanders of Australia and the Maori of New Zealand.” [July 9, 2020 7:30 AM].

You became aggressive and abusive as is the norm when you’re either challenged or proven to be incorrect.

40. RE: “…and was attacked on BU because fowls did not know Barbados was in the Americas or that they were born in the Americas..”

You responded as follows:

WURA-War-on-U on July 9, 2020 at 9:34 AM said: “ya see the ni*ger Robert telling ya straight up that black people are not indigenous to the the Caribbean or anywhere else and neither do they have any international human rights…i dare him to bring any Articles that says so…”

The contributor never indicated in any of his contributions that he did not know Barbados is in the Americas.

You introduced that argument in a desperate act to ‘save face.’

41. You’ve got to feel sorry for Mia. She has to balance the conflict of governing a ponzi economy whilst at the same time try to serve the interests of the populace.

I’m looking forward to hearing from her, shortly, with her address on the NSI.

I wish her luck. Looking from the outside. It would appear that organised criminals have had a profound effect on our economy. They have been aided and abetted by our local lawyers.

I have just seen Mia giving a lecture in South Africa this year. She was extraordinary and lauded by those in attendance. Her words were poignant.

She’s a rock star on the international stage. But a failure in her own country. Is she man enough to break the ponzi chains and at the same time willing to dismantle the lawyer fraternity class who have ruined the reputation of our economy.

42. David, UWI, St. Augustine offers MSc Tourism Development.

43. Thanks Artax, when was this program started?

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, it’s all about a good laff seems to me! You know full well that the point is NOT about an admission that some “transgressors are held responsible” NOR that “Barbados isn’t the only spot on earth where corruption is endemic”. No brother!

The point you made is that Bajans and people generally “…are ignorant to the fact [that] it isn’t elected politicians who call the shots” and THAT is the joke!

Politicians can only get their jobs if they get lots of money to market themselves; most of them do not have that money themselves and even if they do they still seek more from wealthy donors first … thus it’s quite obvious that he who pays the piper determines the tunes to be performed!

And we KNOW this … ALL (sensible people) do!

Nothing to quibble about … it’s as basic as 1.2.3!

45. Actually, David, it’s MSc or PG Dip Tourism Development & Management. I do not know when the program started, but remember referring to it on BU some time ago.

46. David, according to Transparency International’s 2022 Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) Report, Barbados is the least corrupt Caribbean island.

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

Seems a lot of folks have been “laughing at we” recently?
    I thought a foreign passport and bank account were honour badges, a status symbol.
    Seems at least 2 from the current elected slate were famous for establishing offshore entities, particularly related to local real estate, while lawyering. Though memory is the BVI was a preferred jurisdiction.
    Cost avoidance, because they are not all taxes, is basic to many. Why pay into a system, where the decision makers will piss it away anyways? National pride?

48. Prigozhin is dead.
    Denis Lowe id dead.
    COW is dead.
    Steve Jobs is dead.
    Unlike the ancient pharaohs they did not get to take their chariots their gold their wives nor their slaves with them. And none of us will even build a pyramid to memorialize them for ever. Because in truth we never cared anything about them.
    Other people now rightfully enjoying their sweets. Such is life.
    All of the current “players” and their political minions will be dead, dead as well before 25 years have passed.