The ‘believe you me’ refrain uttered in many forms repeatedly by Prime Minister Mia Mottley has loss resonance with an adulating public. Her most recent pronouncement came while debating the Criminal Gangs (Prevention and Control) Bill, 2026 in the House of assembly this week. She asserted that “we are not going to surrender one witness. We are not going to surrender one police officer or one prosecutor. We are not going to surrender a square inch of this country to an insidious culture that has no place in our jurisdiction.”

For a lowly blogmaster who has heard it all before, prime minister Mottley’s utterance can be quickly labeled has hogwash or more euphemistically, balderdash. She further deliberated that gang activity is not as prevalent in Barbados as other countries but action is now warranted. A terrific insight from one of our preeminent politicians. In fact, it reminds of that time a former Attorney General Maurice King assured the country in all his wisdom that the idea of gangs operating in Barbados was abhorrent.

Again the blogmaster in the words of the late learned and legendary Jeff Cumberbatch, there is no need to be prolix with the state of affairs regarding criminality in Barbados. The government along with too many managing households have allowed the horse to bolt and lack the nous to fix the problem. Here is the bleak outlook, as a people we are clueless to solve for the crime situation and are being consumed by the momentum of popular events.

A look at the BU homicide tracker in the sidebar confirmed we are up to 26 reported homicides as we approach mid year. Based on historical ‘performance’ Barbados will exceed 50 in 2026, the highest number since the tracker was implemented with data sourced from barbadoscrimeblog.

Similar to what occurs in Jamaica and other crime ridden countries, it is not unknown for local politicians and prominent citizens to be seen unabashly fraternising with known shady characters. Are our ‘leaders’ too daff to appreciate that social fallout would be a consequence? Does anyone care?

Crime has embedded itself in the fabric of our tiny society, reversing it will demand tough, long term corrective measures. A review of enforcement strategies in the last decade demonstrate we do NOT have the appetite to do what is required. The business as usual approaches will not arrest the problem.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley, Minister Michael Lashley, Commissioner Richard Boyce and the other actors leading the crime fight will fail. Men (and women) are judged by what they do, not what they say. Let us work harder to build local reputations to match those that are growing in the international arena.

76 responses to “‘Believe you me’, we won’t give in to gangs”

1. What about the gang of politicians she’s the leader of?

Is it possible that Mottley will indict herself?

Then there are some who have accused this criminal regime of having close associations with other gangs of criminals.

They have even argued that the political gang has paid what amounts to protection money to other gangs.

“Crappo spoke yuh pipe” if people are still operating under the fiction that a criminal gang of politicians, based entirely on their criminal expertise, could fix all other gangs.

Easier to get the wet out of water!

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

This is merely an SPO, Special Political Operation, since we all have to live together after, they don’t wish to be too harsh…or something like that!!

Each group calling out another, while the lot of them in the same boat called Lawlessness. Some just figure because they’re on the upper decks, the lower ones must be another boat.

The lawlessness is widespread. But looka Amerikka, dem wusser, watch Thrump breaking every rule, then pardoning them all once they’re on his side. We en suh bad? In fact, I feel nuff places wusser den bout hey.

We good. And God is a Bajan. Tings will sort out themselves.

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

It can’t be archives, gets posted every month 😜

Look, it is no use blaming gangs, youth, politrickians, ZR culture, vocal artists or how their product is consumed, elites, bribers or bribe takers, the police or the BDF,…….etc etc

The fault lies within. The collective silence. I too am guilty. Nuhbuddy wishes to raise their voice. People have become numb and reactionless.

And somebody will point out the few who occasionally do raise an issue, most have a lifecycle of 72hrs. They get minimal public support.

And listen…”well effing they had something worthy of support, I would support them”. Until then, I operating in my lane.

4. Employment opportunities for all. 400 acres offshore.

“Mottley said the country “is going to have a conversation as well about the next zone for tourism”, including new offshore islands.

“We’ve paused because money was an issue, but if the revenue can accommodate it, we have to do the environmental, social and impact assessment on the possibility of . . . 400 acres of offshore islands on the southeastern coast of this country because that is what will drive the next 30 years of Barbados within the tourism sector,” she noted.

5. We support the tinting of vehicles and the rigour it is being enforced.

6. Islands off Barbados nice distraction from the realities of crime we are dealing with. As you doing that can we have a fishing pier in St George below the lion at Gun Hill and beach front from St George Church West to Charlesrow Bridge and North to Ruins as well. STUPES!

7. @John A

It is an admission that we do not have any viable alternatives to diversify the economy. There is nothing wrong with doing a tourism refresh but …

8. @ David

If we don’t place this crime and gang issues as our number 1 priority our tourism will be the first to suffer.

Why don’t we take some of the “pipedream” money and try to feed ourselves and our visitors instead? We can’t even clear an average annual occupancy rate of 65% and we want to invest more in hotels and “islands.” Who wunna putting in the rooms when they built? You better look and see what happening to the islands development by Dubai now and come back and talk then. How Sam Lords annual occupancy percentage rate held in 2025? You can’t eat concrete and blocks. We learnt nothing from Covid, nor have we from the Iran disruption when it come to food security. When the visitors come you got to feed them right? Don’t mind the Bajans we apparently can eat concrete blocks and drink salt water.

9. @John A

We have to multitask.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

Canadian Hotel operator Blue Diamond Resorts, with 62 hotels and over 12,900 rooms in Cuba, announced the immediate cessation of operations due to U.S. sanctions against GAESA.
    The properties will now be administered by Gaviota, a company that forms part of Grupo de Administración Empresarial S.A. (GAESA), the Cuban military conglomerate controlled by the Armed Forces.
    Canada remains the leading source of tourists to Cuba. In 2025, approximately 754,000 Canadian visitors traveled to the Island.

11. @Northern

Perfect! It’s time those big guts old generals in GAESA that been bleeding Cuba dry for years ger dealt with. Few know or care why Cuba is in the state it is in, but Rubio being of Cuban decent would know well where the head of the snake lies..

12. TROUBLED MEN

Many ‘suffering in silence, fearing shame and ridicule’

By Natanga Smith natangasmith@nationnews.com

One in every five men seeking help through Men’s Empowerment Network Services (MENS) has reported experiences involving physical violence but advocates say many male victims still suffer in silence because they fear ridicule, shame and disbelief.

Even more alarming, according to MENS founder Fabian Sargeant, is the number of men who reveal troubling sexual experiences from childhood and adolescence that society often refuses to recognise as abuse.

“We have had about a third of the men exposed to early sexual initiation by adults,” Sargeant disclosed.

“A lot of what would truly be considered statutory rape is normalised culturally.”

He explained that in many Caribbean households and communities, older women engaging sexually with under-aged boys is often treated as an achievement for the child rather than abuse.

“People celebrate it as becoming a man but many men later speak about how those experiences negatively impacted their adult relationships, intimacy and emotional development,” he said.

Sargeant also raised concerns about vulnerable boys being preyed upon following the economic fallout from the COVID-19 pandemic.

“We have situations where young boys are struggling with housing because families are under financial pressure and some have been forced out of homes,” he explained. “When these boys are looking for places to stay or financial support, there are instances where older people prey on them.”

While he stopped short of calling the issue widespread, Sargeant admitted the exploitation existed far more than many people realised.

“These are things happening under the radar,” he said.

The comments came as counsellors and men’s advocates warned that abuse against men in Barbados remained significantly under-reported because societal expectations continued to discourage vulnerability among males.

This issue came to the fore after feedback by some who read the news report Walking In Fear in the Weekend Nation which focused on women who were afraid when they ventured out in public – whether day or night.

It was reported that some men also experienced similar traumas even though many were unwilling to talk about their issues.

Sargeant and chief executive officer of Supreme Counselling Services, Shawn Clarke, said many men did not seek help because the social environment often punished openness and emotional honesty.

“The issue of abuse against men in Barbados is a lot more prevalent than we see. Men traditionally, or even culturally, do not ask for help. They are frowned upon and our social environment does not provide the space for men to be vulnerable or for that vulnerability to be accepted,” Sargeant said.

Although physical violence was among the cases being reported, Sargeant said emotional abuse remained the most common issue affecting men.

“A lot of men suffer from belittling, talking down to, emotional manipulation and financial abuse,” he explained.

He said many older men, particularly retirees involved in relationships with younger women, often find themselves emotionally and financially exploited but were too ashamed to speak publicly.

“These men are afraid to let people know what is happening to them because of their age and because of embarrassment,” he added.

According to Sargeant, the roots of male silence begin in childhood where boys are conditioned to suppress emotions rather than communicate them.

That conditioning, he believed, leaves many men unable to articulate trauma even when deeply affected by it.

Clarke said counsellors were seeing increasing signs of unresolved trauma among male clients, though sometimes the abuse itself was often not immediately disclosed.

“Cases involving abused men are more common than many people realise. Male victimisation is often underreported because of stigma, gender norms and fear of judgement.”

He explained that many male survivors did not enter therapy identifying themselves as abuse victims.

“Usually they come presenting with anger issues, aggression, withdrawal, substance abuse or emotional detachment,” Clarke said. “Only after trust is built over time do they begin revealing experiences involving physical, emotional or sexual abuse.”

Clarke also noted that many male victims feared being mocked if they report abuse, especially in domestic violence or sexual assault cases.

“Some men go to police stations and are literally laughed at,” he said. “There is fear of humiliation and fear of not being believed.”

Trust issues are also common among survivors, he said.

“They don’t necessarily trust people who are overly kind because they feel those people may have ulterior motives,” Clarke explained.

He said counselling provided an important safe space where men could begin processing trauma and rebuilding self-worth.

13. @John A

Do you have a similar view as it relates to USA foreign policy towards China?

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

This Blue Diamond is another in long line of compounded mistakes by Onyx. When they bought WestJet in 2019, I called a friend who worked at Onyx and said WTF? They owned an aircraft leasing company, but didn’t know airlines as an operator. The next WTF moment, came when WestJet acquired Sunwing, which had a huge footprint in Cuba, beyond your typical “airline”. The final blow was last Fall, when struggling, WJ sold 25% to Delta. If they hadn’t faced the brunt of the US gov head on, with Sunwing, it would almost certainly get them caught in the cross hairs now.

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    With airlift and hotels in Cuba reeling, Jamaica capacity still restricted due to the hurricane, Trump chasing away many…a perfect storm for a bumper tourist season in Bim. And Mexico and DR.
    Albeit appealing to slightly different niches.
    Possibly instead of constructing new islands, a grab of some existing ones makes more sense.

16. @ John A

To add to David’s question, how about North Korea?

It seems as though you’re a Trump supporter who believes he has the right to initiate regime changes in whichever country he pleases, is the answer to solving all worldwide problems.

That kidnapping Muduro and claiming Venezuela’s oil immediately solves that country’s problem.

Or the US and Israeli military bombing and destroying a girl’s primary school in Minab, southern Iran, wounding almost 100 persons and killing 150, many of whom are believed to be students, which UNESCO described as constituting a grave violation of humanitarian law……

…… is acceptable because, in your opinion, the Islamic Republic of Iran regime needs to be changed.

I ‘write’ under correction, but I cannot remember reading any of your contributions in which you condemned Trump for ordering the extra judicial killings of Caribbean nationals, as a result of the lethal strikes on FIFTEEN (15) alleged drug-trafficking vessels across the Caribbean Sea.

As it relates to Cuba, you mentioned that “few know or care why Cuba is in the state it is in.”
    You either purposely or conveniently ignored the fact that America has to accept some responsibility for the role it played in the state Cuba ‘is in,’ especially when one considers the maintaining a comprehensive economic embargo on the Island.

17. My comments were directed solely at the Cuba situation as people always say “poor Cuba” without every learning why Cuba is poor. This handful of old army big ups from the Castro days have raped the economy of Cuba by using GAESA to cream off the revenue and leave the country with barely enough to exist on for decades. They control all major business in Cuba and DELIBERATELY ENSURE that the people of Cuba live as close to poverty as possible. I agree 103% with Rubio who says the USA will ensure that the rebuilding of the Cuban economy will not be filtered through GAESA.

18. Building islands to cater to tourists off Barbados looks better on the resume, plus- it satisfies the west coast expat (some locals) elites.

19. @John A

To single out Cuba is a double standard considering that China is allowed to invest heavily in the USA and is considered a favoured trading partner despite said USA accusing them of similar human rights violations,

20. @ David

I understand your view on China and one could also say Singapore too as they are both dictatorships. What makes them different is no one can say both countries have not done much for their citizens. Cuba on the other hand under GAESA, has been nothing but a case of financial rape, with the people of Cuba all being the victims. The Cuban influence in the USA also confirms where their loyalties lie in relation to that country. Maduro if you research it, was also a student of GAESA. He moved from a bus driver to being worth $600 million USD at the time of his capture. Maduro publicly stated weeks before his arrest, that his monthly salary was $300 USD a month. Either he was the best investor ever since the death of Jesus, or the money came from somewhere else, once again at the expense of his people.

So yes Both Cuba and Venezuela needed addressing in my view. Others who hold a different view have the freedom to agree or disagree with me without fear of death or jail as well. This because none of us live in either Cuba or Venezuela, so our freedom to speak is safe. That folks is my final comment on this matter and the day Venezuela does hold free and fair elections, only then could we finally put to rest the feelings of the people there.

21. The USA embargo on Cuba has also “DELIBERATELY ENSURED that the people of Cuba live as close to poverty as possible” as well.

Anyone who believes the USA will rebuild the Cuban economy in the BEST INTEREST of Cubans is NAIVE.

22. Artax,

John A said the same about Venezuela. He speaks of Venezuelan fat cats and Cuban fat cats… but he forgets to mention the crippling, illegal embargos and sanctions imposed on these countries by America for over a decade in Venezuela’s case, and over six decades in the case of Cuba. Now, assuming that what he says about the non-American fat cats is true, and assuming that there is a Satan — how can Satan drive out Satan?

The fattest cats in the world are running the White House! Oligarchs! Thirteen billionaires in the cabinet alone with ALL the parasitic tech billionaires hovering around.

Man, every day the American people are getting more desperate! They complain they cannot afford housing. They complain they cannot afford mefical care. They complain they cannot afford food. And every day it is a new grift for Donald Trump and his minions. What do you think they will do in Cuba and Venezuela? Trump is already seizing Venezuela’s oil and gold, and depositing the proceeds in a private bank account in Qatar! As for Cuba, it will probably be run like a mafia state, as it was before the revolution!

And I wonder, every day we come here complaining about our government, and corruption, and the cost of living and all manner of things — would John A be happy to have Trump takeover and run our government? We are just a little bigger than Gaza. How about Trump Barbados, as those Palestinians are refusing to leave… or die out? Still close to two million of them! Only two hundred thousand of us niggers here! How about we replace Trump Gaza with Trump Barbados? We could get rid of our Bajan fat cats!

23. David,

Regarding the old men in “relationships” with younger women — I had a hearty laugh. It is as I said a few days ago– the problem of manly male genital instinctive reactions displacing rational brain activity. I mean, what do they think the young girls want them for? Well, perhaps “think” is the wrong word to use. It’s all about feeling! And yet, we are supposed to believe that only men have the ability to think straight because they have the same silly stick and two swibbly balls that get them into so much trouble and part the old fools from their money.

However, the rest of the article is worthy of discussion. I will let the men of BU have a go at it first. I am sure they will have plenty to say about the suffering of boys and men at the hands of the daughters of Eve (or evil).

👀

24. @Donna

In the same way the young girls are prepared to do transactional business with older men, the older men are doing the same. Do fuh do …

25. “Reuters has confirmed that the USA has transferred to The Venezuela Government just over $500million USD since the arrest of Maduro as of May 2026.”

If you read their local publications you will also learn that “food items not seen for a while are starting to return to the shelves of local Bodegas.” A bodega is like our mini marts or small supermarkets

Fact versus fiction once again.

26. I’m not ‘saying’ what Maduro did was ‘right.’

However, hypocrisy comes to the fore when people are conveniently overlooking the fact that ‘a man like Donald Trump’s’ net worth increased from approximately US$3.9B just before taking office in 2024, to approximately US$6.5B, an increase of about US$2.6B, and who created a US$1.776M slush fund to pay his ‘J6’ supporters, at the expense of American taxpayers.

Additionally, his son Donald Jr’s net worth increased from US$50M to approximately US$300M, as a result of government and Pentagon contracts authorised by Trump.

Perhaps both Don and Don Jr are “the best investors ever since the death of Jesus?”

The ‘orange idiot’ by passes Congress to illegally implement his personal policies, and weaponised the DOJ to investigate his perceived enemies.

A dictator?

The only fundamental difference between Trump and Maduro is, whereas Trump was already a millionaire, Maduro was poor.

But we come to BU, foolishly advocating for the ‘fox to guard the henhouse.’

27. I searched for articles for information pertaining to ‘Reuters confirmed that the USA has transferred to The Venezuela Government just over $500million USD since the arrest of Maduro as of May 2026.’

The only Reuters article I found was dated February 3, 2026, entitled:

“US says it has returned to Venezuela all $500 million of initial oil sale.”
    By Steve Holland
    February 3, 20269:32 PM AST Updated February 3, 2026

“WASHINGTON, Feb 3 (Reuters) – The United States has now returned to the Venezuelan government all $500 million from the initial sale of oil that was part of a deal reached between Caracas and Washington last month, a U.S. official said on Tuesday.”

“The last $200 million from the sale has been sent to Venezuela, the official said, speaking on condition of anonymity. The deal came about after Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro was captured in a U.S. military operation on January 3.”

https://www.reuters.com/business/energy/us-has-returned-remaining-200-million-initial-500-million-oil-sale-venezuela-us-2026-02-04/

28. @ Artax

A good article was also written in The New York Times on May 16th 2026 entitled who controls Cuba’s economy. it breaks down how GAESA has operated for years and how it is structured. Basically it clearly shows why it was structured and what it’s sole purpose was.

There was also one written showing the link between Maduro and GEISA as well but I can’t remember the date it was published. Will have to check on that one and get back to you. It was also a well detailed article based on facts and worth a read.

29. Give it up @ John A
    You are squarely on the WRONG side of this argument.

New York Times shiite!!
    What would you expect the Devil to say about church?

30. So, Trump takes a huge chunk and gives them back SOME of their money, and that somehow is seen as doing good. What do you think would happen if he took it all? His control would be unsustainable. He’d have to send his already stretched military back in again to seize control.

Let me put this in terms that even a fool could understand! When a man wants to secure a woman, he is on her like a panty. He will rub her back. He will rub her feet. He will appear as a gift from God himself, the one she has been waiting for all her life. She can call him and have him promptly show up. And not empty-handed either. “Wuh yuh want me bring to eat?” Six months later …

Man, as he done lock yuh into the relationship, it is back to boys’ nights at de bar!

Now, why were the shelves bare in the first place? Was that because of Maduro, or was it because of the AMERICAN EMBARGO AND SANCTIONS?

So, you create a problem, then partially solve it, and this is worthy of praise?

I do not understand how a human being could think that Trump will do right by non-Americans when he is not even doing right by the dumb ass people who voted him back into power!

The FACTS are that the man has shown himself to be evil incarnate! Some former Magats who voted for him now call him the Anti-Christ! And that is no fiction.

You mean, we got rid of one jackass Johnnie only for an undercover Johnny to finally blow his cover and take over the torture?????

Man, it hurts me to see such stupidity in a (black?) Bajan that does not walk on all fours! Not even a green monkey would be fooled by Trump!

31. Well, I never thought that I would write this..

I find it passingly strange that we would trust any statistics from the Trump government. I place the Statistics produce by the Trump government and about Barbados in the same camp, absurdly false. The corporate corrupt cronies in Barbados could learn a thing or two from Trump

Trump goes for billions not millions
    “Donald Trump’s official “Board of Peace” fund, administered by the World Bank, sits completely empty despite billions in international pledges. Instead, smaller donations have bypassed oversight and gone directly into a JPMorgan account managed by the board.”

Stick to Barbados politics, I can follow you there.

32. Oh shite! I did not read the article because I knew that Trump would never let go of all the proceeds of the piracy that he actually boasted is a “very profitable business”.

But something told me that I should read it. And here’s what I read :

‘”A US official said…”

Wuhlaus! It is worse than I even thought.

33. David,

Regarding the old men in “relationships” with younger women — if it was do fuh do the old farts would not be claiming “emotional and financial abuse”.

You cannot have it both ways.

34. @Donna

Those claiming such must be outliers.

35. Well then, I must live in the land of the outliers, because I am aware of quite a few who got cleaned out and are complaining.

And too besides, the crux of the article is that abuse of men is much more of a problem than the public is aware of, since men are reluctant to share for fear of people (like me in these old men cases only) slapping our knees and laughing hard, hard, hard in their faces.

I remember decades ago, my mother took a lift home from a recent retiree, a former public servant, who moaned that he had left his wife for some young girl, and quick so, the gratuity was gone, and she with it. My mother had to fight back her laughter inside the man’s car.

The poor fool had to pay rent out of his pension and was struggling to make ends meet.

I know you would like to believe otherwise, but many of these old men get taken for a very short ride and are left stranded.

36. @Donna

The article is not evidence based, looks anecdotal in the main.

37. Confirm you are not a Robot Avatar
    Confirm you are not a Robot

“John A” is consistently wrong on most matters when it comes to understanding and reasoning and is a sucker for US propaganda and lies which have become the same as Israel’s MO regarding Breaking Laws, Racial Warmongering and Murder.

Perhaps he should confirm he is not a robot 🤖 .

38. @ Donna

Are you referring to the Reuters article I posted?

If so, then you’re “spot on.” You actually understood the reason why I posted the article.

The words “Reuters CONFIRMED” in John A’s comments prompted me to ‘search’ for the article.
    I did not find it, only one by the same news agency, dated February 3, 2026.

When I read it and saw the sentence “……the OFFICIAL said, speaking on CONDITION of ANONYMITY,” which, in my opinion, questioned the report.

39. I don’t want to prolong the US/Venezuela discussion to distract from the substantive topic of this thread.

However, what I found interesting was, according to another Reuters’ article dated February 12, 2026, “Oil sales from Venezuela controlled by the U.S. have totaled over $1 billion since the capture of President Nicolas Maduro in January and in the next few months will bring in another $5 billion, U.S. Secretary of Energy Chris Wright told NBC News on Thursday.”

Over US$1B in oil revenue, and US$500M transferred to Venezuela.

They are yet to reveal for what the other US$500M will be used.

Proceeds from Venezuelan oil sales were initially routed through a trust account in Qatar starting in January 2026.
    However, other reports indicated that, ‘by mid-February 2026, U.S. Energy Secretary Chris Wright confirmed Venezuelan oil revenue would no longer flow through Qatar but redirected to be handled directly by accounts overseen by the U.S. Treasury Department.’

I also read another article by ‘Global Witness,’ entitled, “US oil grab puts $150 billion of Venezuelan people’s money in jeopardy.
    Published: 28 January 2026.

“Trump’s move to seize Venezuela’s oil is quite simply RESOURCE THEFT writ large. Not only does it add further to the US’s climate debt burden, but it FUNNELS VAST WEALTH to Trump’s billionaire cronies, OFF the BACKS of MILLIONS of IMPOVERISHED Venezuelans,” says Patrick Galey, head of Fossil Fuels investigations at Global Witness.”

https://globalwitness.org/en/campaigns/fossil-fuels/us-oil-grab-puts-150-billion-of-venezuelan-peoples-money-in-jeopardy/

We could argue, similarly to John A, that “food items not seen for a while are starting to return to the shelves of local Bodegas” in Venezuela, which is good.

However, at what price?

40. If the sanctions/ embargo are lifted it’s obvious certain item will return to the shelves.
    It like the oil embargo on Cuba is lifted oil will be supplied to Cuba and the lights will be on a little longer.

Had this conversation which A before and he will never admit what part the sanctions played in the suffering of the people in Venezuela and Russia

41. HAVING BEEN AWAY FOR A WHILE, IT’S GOOD SEE ACTUAL COMMENTARY FROM THE BU GLITTERATI THIS MORNING! ABOUT TIME & ALL

In the maddening scramble to posit positions on a sleuth of issues – “ONE ISSUE” raises its “UGLY HEAD” with me this morning, having taken some time to read a few of the comments…

My learned & esteemed “BRETHREN” (for the record, “I AM NOT A *FREEMASON*, OR A MAN OF THE CLOTH – FOR NEVER THE TWAIN SHALL MEET), at least in the “STRICTER” sense of its exegetical understanding!!!

I say my brethren, because something happened in France recently that made we wonder about Barbados & the openness of that society given the nature of “SECRET SOCIETY CULTISM”!!!

Allow me to explain

Major “BLACK SLAVE CODES” (like the 1661 & 1688 Acts for the “GOVERNING OF NEGROES*) have long been “SUPPOSEDLY” repealed!!!

Scholars suggest that certain “ANTIQUATED” laws “ROOTED” in the #ColonialEra may still linger in the statute books – even if they are no longer enforced!!!

MY QUESTION IS A SIMPLE ONE TO THE MOTTLEY-CREW GOV*

“Why have they NOT* been ‘REPEALED’???”

I have to be upfront with the commentariat, that despite “EXTENSIVE” research & searching in places most do not know exist, I couldn’t find a “CURRENT”, definitive list published by the MOTTLEY-CREW GOV* or even by so-called “LEGAL” scholars in BIM*, specifying exactly how many of these “RESIDUAL LAWS” remain on the statue books!!!

It appears no such official “AUDIT” has been made public to those who are embarking on graduate & postgrad education and/or “OTHERS”!!!

THIS IS ALARMING* TO SAY THE LEAST

Here is what the evidence tells me about the state of these “SLAVE LAWS” & the ongoing efforts to address the “LEGACY” of that era – “SOMETHING I AM SURE HILARY BECKS* WOULD BE KEEN TO UNRAVEL FOR US”!!!

The foundational laws that established & regulated “CHATTEL SLAVERY” in Barbados were enacted between the 17th & 19th centuries…

The most significant were the 1661 & 1688 “ACTS FOR THE GOVERNING OF NEGROES”, which treated enslaved people as “PROPERTY” & focused heavily on “SOCIAL CONTROL”!!!

These “MAJOR SLAVE CODES” were formally “REPEALED” with the passage of the “SLAVE CONSOLIDATION ACT” of 1826 & the () “ABOLITION OF SLAVERY” in 1834!!!

MAKE OF THAT WHAT YOU WILL

So, we can deduce that the most “NOTORIOUS” laws are no longer on the books – OR ARE THEY???

The issue of “UNREPEALED SLAVE LAWS” usually points to a different, more subtle problem, “COLONIAL-ERA LAWS” that were not explicitly about slavery, but were “DESIGNED” to “UPHOLD” a “SOCIOECONOMIC ORDER” based on it!!!

These laws often governed labor, vagrancy, master-servant relations, & public behavior…

LET THOSE [4] SINK IN

Decolonization is still an ongoing process…

While Barbados became a Republic in 2021, breaking all legal ties to the British CROWN*, reviewing & purging the entire statute book of centuries-old legislation is a monumental task!!!

CENTURIES OF BAKED-IN TRANSGRESSIONS CANNOT BE EASILY SCRUBBED FROM THE DNA-PSYCHE OF BLACK FOLKS – REGARDLESS OF WHO YOUR SUPPOSED LEADERS PURPORT TO BE

It’s common for newly independent nations to have “GHOST LAWS”, statutes that are obsolete or inconsistent with a modern constitution, but have never been formally repealed!!!

The fact that I can NOT* find a neat number suggests this work has NOT* been fully completed and/or comprehensively published…

I HATE (which I seldom do) TO HAVE TO DO PEOPLE’S WORK FOR THEM

My question gains urgency from the fact that Barbados is a global leader in the “REPARATIONS” movement!!!

The MOTTLEY-CREW GOV* is actively working to quantify the historical & ongoing economic harm of slavery & the colonial system – however, in this context, the question of “UNREPEALED LAWS” isn’t just about legal housekeeping – it’s about the following issues:

(1) Acknowledging continuity, by identifying if any pre-Emancipation laws are still technically in force, even if ignored by courts

(2) Completing “EMANCIPATION”, so that the belief that true “DELIVERANCE” requires “ERAZING” all legal vestiges of the slave system from the national books

(3) Providing a framework where these historical laws form part of the “EVIDENCE BASE FOR REPARATIONS CLAIMS”, as they demonstrate the structured nature of the historical injustice

SURELY, BECKS & THE BOYZ ON THE HILL DON’T NEED ME TO WRITE, READ & MARK THEIR HOMEWORK

I may be “OLDER”, “WISER” & “DEFINITELY MORE ANOINTED” – BUT C’MON FELLAS

For anyone in GOV*, who has interest in this eye-opening subject – take the leap that the French GOV* did…

This is the most direct route – contact the Barbados Bar Association, as some legal historian or a librarian at the Association would be best equipped to tell you if such an audit exists or how to find these dormant statutes…

An FOIA* request inquiry with the Attorney General’s Office, will put the Chief Legal Advisor to the GOV* on notice, whose office would oversee the “REVISION” of laws & could clarify if a “REVISED EDITION” of the laws has removed all pre-1834 statutes…

Last, but definitely not least, “Becks & the BOYZ” @University of the West Indies (Cave Hill) Law Library – where such a prestigious academic law library should have excellent resources for navigating historical statutes & understanding legal decolonization processes…

This should not be the endeavour of a “PRIVATE CITIZEN IN EXILE” or a besmirched “PROPHET IN THE WILDERNESS”, howling about travesties that ought to have been addressed 200+ years into the past, but 401 years on, we don’t seem to have moved the needle – an inch!!!

On that jarring note

#IMDUN*

42. Artax,

Indeed. That is what I noticed about the “confirmation”. There was none. Reuters simply published the mouthings of an anonymous official of the Lying King’s administration. ANONYMOUS!

Now, why would an official of the Lying King’s administration not wish to attach his name to the good news of ethical behaviour, I wonder.

John A actually thought he was slapping me down with his “fact, not fiction” play. But then, he listened to Charlie Kirk and thought he was reasonable rather than racist. He thought that nationalising Venezuela’s oil industry was unfair to the oil companies. Apparently, he cares nothing for context or history, or righting the wrongs of history. He cares not about how these investors made their money in the first place. I wonder what he thinks about Ibrahim Traoré nationalisation of Burkina Faso’s assets.

I have always believed that “A tief from a tief does mek God laugh.” Not that nationalising assets after the investors have recovered their investment plus a more than tidy profit is actual theft. It is breaking a contract signed under duress. At the point of a gun, LITERALLY! It may have been hidden under a cloak. But the gun was there, poking through.

43. @Donna et Al.

let me first say all wunna are entitled to your opinion as I am mine. It however does not mean you are right, sadly it simply means that’s your personal opinion and that’s all. None of us have been granted the divine right to claim anyone to be right or wrong, as much as some here would like their view forced down the throats of all. Cuhdear if that was the case we would be no better than dictators like Maduro or Hitler.

So lets start with the facts about Maduro. Was it not Biden and Obama who put a multi million dollar bounty on the head of Maduro under their rule? From memory the bounty was even increased prior to Trump actually going and taking him alive to face court, as was done before with Noriega as well by another president at the time. For the record both Republicans and Democrats agreed with the bounty placed on Maduro as well. The difference here is some wanted Maduro brought to them to whom they would then pay the millions in bounty, whereas Trump decided to go and take him as was done with Bin Laden by another president. Difference of course being Maduro was taken alive to stand trial, as opposed to being executed on site like Bin Laden was.

Iran. Both Republicans and Democrats along with NATO and others, have all agreed that Iran can not have a nuclear weapon. Obama’s approach was to send them planeloads of cash to try and buy favour. The Ayatollah took the money and spent it expanding finance for Hezbollah and other terrorist organisations, along with expanding his nuclear weapons program. This has been confirmed by NATO and may others besides Trump’s administration. The above issues with Iran have gone back decades that encompassed both the Republican and Democratic Party.

Cuba. This country is not made up of the people who live in Cuba alone, they are thousands of Cubans who left the homeland either by force or choice to build a life otherwhere. While they live outside of Cuba that does not mean they do not look at Cuba as there home. Many of these were forced to leave after their businesses were seized by GAESA following the revolution. Cuba has expanded its tourism market over the last few decades without any of those gains being felt by its workers, or country by extension. Do you know a Cuban hotel worker is paid the equivalent of $15 to $20 USD a month? Even when Maduro was supplying them with oil they could not keep the power on 24 hours a day due to lack of maintenance of the generators and other hardware at the plant. So anyone who knows will tell you the Cuban economy was crashing long before Trumps recent intervention.

What is obvious then is that in all these cases something needed to be done, that all have agreed on. Based therefore on the comments here, the problem seems to be the fact that it was done by Trump. So let me ask wunna a question, if it was done by Biden or Obama would it of been acceptable then? If that is the case then there in lies
    the truth.

This is my final comment on this issue but feel free to share your opinions, but remember that is all they are.

44. @ John A

Your contribution of June 2, 2026, 1:20 pm, can be simply defined as a collection of passive aggressive comments aimed at FORCING YOUR OPINIONS down the throats of BU contributors as TRUTH.

Remember, YOU’RE the individual who ATTEMPTED to present an UNSUBSTANTIATED confirmation by Reuters to this forum as “Fact versus fiction once again.”

However, I don’t care how many times you mention GAESA in Cuba, I remain steadfast in MY OPINION that a leader of any country, whether it is Obama, Biden, Trump or even T’Challa of Wakanda,

…… DOES NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO INVADE ANOTHER SOVEREIGN NATION to INITIATE a CHANGE of REGIME or GOVERNMENT……

…… or CONTROL its resources.

I’m of the opinion that such matters should be left to that country’s citizens, because ‘at the end of the day,’ if ‘Country A’ initiates a regime change in ‘Country B,’ for example, the incoming regime will always be a ‘puppet’ of ‘Country B,’ and its resources would be used to ‘prop up’ the former’s economy, similarly to how France was exploiting the of certain African countries.

What I’ll suggest is that, rather than coming to this forum ‘talking’ shiite about GAESA, and CONVENIENTLY ignoring the role the US sanctions and embargo played in affecting the Cuban economy as well……

……perhaps you should avail yourself of Cuban history, including the leadership of dictator Fulgencio Batista y Zaldívar, who received financial, military and logistical support from the USA, his period of dictatorship from 1952 – 1959, and how ‘he aligned with the wealthiest landowners who owned the largest sugar plantations, and presided over a stagnating economy that widened the gap between rich and poor Cubans,’ which eventually led to the ‘Cuban Revolution.’

Marco Rubio is perhaps Batista reincarnate?

As the saying goes, ‘history has a way of repeating itself.’

That’s MY opinion.

45. @JOHN A

YOU SPEAK FACTUAL INFORMATION.

I ALWAYS FIND IT HYPOCRITICAL THAT THE ONES DEFENDING VENEZUELA AND CUBA HAS NOT RELOCATED AND LIVE IN THESE FAILED ENTITIES.

WHERE PEOPLE WORKED AND IN MILLIONS OF CASES ARE PAID US$20 TO US$40 PER MONTH BEARLY LIVING WHILST THEIR GOVERNMENTS OFFICIALS AND BENEFACTORS LIVE IN LUXURY AND SUPPRESSION OF THE MASSES.

CONTINUE SPEAKING TRUTH AND LET THE ARMCHAIR QUARTERBACKS KEEP BLOWING SMOKE.

46. @ Artax

As I said its your opinion feel free to voice it. This is not Venezuela or Iran where you could be shot or jailed for it.

47. @ Baje

I could send them 10 different articles from 10 different international publications that Venezuela has been paid for the oil and some here would say “dat ain’t true dem lying for Trump.” But guess what, they can not present 1 article from an international publication saying they have NOT been paid. Their hatred for Trump blinds them, so even if Jesus Christ himself came down and confirmed it he would be a liar too. LOL

I ain’t no lover of Trump but I have to agree with him on much he has done, NOT ALL but much of. When he was addressing the illegal immigrants issue plenty here said he don’t like coloured people. So all of Europe and the UK now addressing the same issue of illegal immigration now. Wait dem doing it to support Trump too then?Everyone has their view and are free to share it in SOME countries. Just don’t expect me to play sheep and agree with you cause “you say so.” After all I ain’t no sheep lol