Based on recent statements uttered by Minister Ryan Straughn the government is insensitive to the plight of senior citizens in Barbados.

The blogmaster accepts a widely held view that how a government treats its most vulnerable can be used as a good measure of our sense of humanity. Too many of our elderly died as a result of the Covid 19 pandemic and the event has quickly faded from national memory.

In May 2018 a Mia Mottley government was swept into government in unprecedented manner, the following month Prime Minister Mottley announced the decision to enter a selected default with domestic and foreign bondholders. As the saying goes -the rest is history.

Of concern to the blogmaster has been the negative effect the debt restructure has been having on bondholders who one suspects are mainly senior citizens; retirees or approaching that time. It is obvious senior citizens purchased bonds to help plan for retirement. In an act of desperation to right the debt to GDP ratio, senior citizens who had toiled for decades in the service of country and sensibly prepared for the golden years were made to feel tradeconfirmeresk by a Mia Mottley government.

Barbadians are being told by talking heads to prepare for retirement by registering in private pension plans, invest in BOSS government paper and other investment products because the National Insurance Fund is under ‘financial stress’ – however, a group of senior citizens who did plan for retirement by buying government bonds had a lifetime of financial discipline undermined by a bunch of unimaginative political opportunists.

It is worth mentioning that a boutique financial company going by the name of White Oak was paid 54 million dollars to negotiate with foreign and local bondholders. Recently the name White Oak was mentioned by President of the Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) Condé Riley, he lamented at the millions owed to the BCA and he was hopeful of reaching an agreement with White Oak so that his association can get on with efficiently managing its affairs.

I do not accept that there is double taxation in the way that people are suggesting that it is,” he said on Wednesday as he responded to criticism that the Government was hitting retired persons twice by taxing their pensions, given that those individuals would have paid tax on their earnings while in the workforce.

Not that hard Barbados Today

It is against the foregoing elderly investors affected by the 2018 haircut must be asking Minister Ryan Straughn in the Finance Ministry – what them do he.

Straughn was responding to several calls to stop taxing pensions in light of concerns about the viability and sustainability of the National Insurance Scheme (NIS). It seems a disingenuous approach by government if it wants to encourage prudent financial management by citizens to be self sufficient in the golden years. One suspects the government will not be bullish about tweaking pensions the plan of members of parliament.

Related link: Pensioners relief in debt exchange program

An attack on homeless elderly city dwellers by a gang of young people just over a week ago is reflective of how we have progressed as a society to the point of marginalizing senior citizens. The government continues to do it, our young people are doing it. It is ironic a failed attempted robbery of a ZR driver who defied commonsense by resisting by two young boys has evoked tremendous favorable national response, BUT, elderly persons attacked in Bridgetown is barely noticed.

Signs of the times we are living.

115 responses to “Do Mottley and Straughn Care?”

1. Echoes of the Mind, What About the Half Avatar
    Echoes of the Mind, What About the Half

Caveat Emptor Buyer Be Aware
    If the Government agrees to make good on the shortfall in national insurance pension funds then this money will be taken away from other Government services such as the spend on Children’s education and/or Healthcare.
    I dare say that if one looked at the finer details, the would find that the Government spending on Barbados’ pensions and Healthcare for it’s top heavy elderly pop. is already greater than the total spend on the younger generations education.

Courts and Legal Remedy
    People get excited about pending court cases, but defendants are innocent until proven guilty, in theory but that is not always the case in practice as often defendants are treated as guilty until proven innocent due to subjective prejudice and bias.

Rico
    Rico cases are primarily about fraud and racketeering, focusing on financial matters, restricted to US jurisdiction, similar to proceeds of crime financial laws in other jurisdictions, but are only pursued if the assets that can be recovered are large enough to justify court action.

Actions against Government
    Government has inherent jurisdiction to stay Court Actions that fail, namely cases against the State.

Echoes
    Everybody’s talking at me.
    I don’t hear a word they’re saying,
    Only the echoes of their voice.
    People stopping staring,
    I can’t see their faces,
    Only the shadows of their eyes.

The Half
    What about the half that’s never been told?
    Look how long it’s been kept a big secret
    Look how long it’s been hided away

The half, the half, the half that’s never been told
    What is hidden from the wise and good
    It shall reveal to babe and suckling
    The half, the half, the half that’s never been told

2. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Patting each other on the backs for basic nonsense will never fix this, just saying…

This calls for real legal minds..unencumbered by corruption..and connections to the corrupt…..with real knowledge of various laws…including international..

3. Please put all the information like directly after the default and before the IMF agreement pensions were raised ( a cushion to the restructure hit)

Ohh the may show that they care. My bad

4. What Straughn care what?
    Ryan Straughn cannot even wipe his own ass without getting permission from the boss.
    You know this very well.

Do not worry. All will be sorted in good time and we will be suitably impressed once again by the ability to remain “Head and Shoulders” above all others.

5. @John 2

We do all these things to continue to support consumption behaviour by Barbadians? The elders of society being penalized exercised the recommended qualities and work ethic like the ants in Bible verse. All we are doing is going for quick wins by kicking the can down the road.

6. Sir, this is a very good attempt at highlighting the issues confronting the elderly.

Yes, a physical attack on the elderly homeless is easy to identify and condemn, but interfering with the financial well being if the elderly is just as horrible and act.

A physical cut may heal over time, but many may not recover from the financial cut.
    -x-
    There is one word in your text that causes me some difficulty. Autocorrect/suggest may be at work.

7. Yes, a physical attack on the elderly homeless is easy to identify and condemn, but interfering with the financial well being of the elderly is just as horrible an act.

8. William Skinner Avatar

Amazing. This is a classical case of us deluding ourselves that a beggar can be a chooser. We failed to comprehend what a simple word like borrowing means. We were lavish in praise of a new economic era based primarily on one industry and the ability to negotiate a loan ; it was never going to be easy but by failing to understand that debt must be repaid and it is the lender who dominates the entire transaction, we find ourselves now questioning the harsh realities of what is now prominent in most Caribbean islands. Jamaica is the classical example of dealing with international loan sharks.
    We cannot continue to rely on an economic system that hopes for development; we cannot hope for growth and when all the fancy political public relations is removed , we are still facing struggles that could have been made somewhat easier by serious economic restructuring of our economies rather than tired political posturing.This is really a Caribbean inefficiency of productive leadership and vision and certainly not unique to our current circumstance.

9. Anyone with common sense knew that post 2018 some debt restructure had to be undertaken, the country’s financial state was in the toilet, junk to be exact. The discussion has moved on to now having stabilized what was the plan to chart a more sustainable path.

10. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Even worse, just saw a post where the BRICS currency is reported as being out, with the 4 or 5 dominant countries emblazoned on the coin.. $55 = 1 BRICS coin.

So where does that leave the pretenders, at the very bottom of the pile again of course, with some knowing it’s totally deserving…

.the only problem, the people who got RoB-ed got left at the very bottom too, they better climb their way out and leave the corrupt to dangle and swing.

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

I note that while the NIS has been the focus, current legislative proposals, also involve a separate pension scheme for public officers.
    Retired actuary, whose name shall not be spoken, made a rather interesting suggestion.

12. @NO

The suggestion from Herbert seems well thought out, sensible. PO pension plan still to be managed by NIS. However you swing it, NIS governance issues must be fixed.

Why do we tax poor so heavily?

THE AMENDMENT to the Pension Act which has been passed in the House and now before the Senate, introduces employee pension contributions to public officers who are hired on or after January 1, 2024. While I realise that it will be many years before this affects a significant portion of public officers, it is important that we get it right.
    The pension for public officers is “abated” by the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) pension, in that, the NIS pension is deducted from the “Government” pension. For the vast majority of officers, this means that they will receive a gratuity at retirement followed by a Government pension until their NIS pension commences and then only the NIS pension. This will not be true for higher earners as much of their salary would not have been covered by NIS, and the NIS pension will be less than the Government pension leaving a balance payable by Government.
    Crudely, both high and low earners will receive the same portion of their salary as pension when you add both the NIS and Government pensions.
    Let’s look at the contributions being introduced. These
    are two per cent of pay on which contributions to NIS are also made and five per cent pay to which NIS contributions are not paid. Officers pay approximately seven per cent of pay for their NIS pension (the balance provides other benefits) and this means that they will be paying seven per cent plus two percent which equals nine per cent for their pension while higher earners will only pay five per cent.
    From general observations over the past 20 years, the gaps between the “haves and have nots” seem to be widening and those on lower incomes will be under increasing pressure. It puzzles me that with both of our political parties being “labour” parties we still enact legislation that encourages this trend.
    I would suggest that the rate of two per cent and five per cent be replaced with zero per cent and seven per cent.

– CHARLES HERBERT, retired actuary

13. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reservedm Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reservedm

And whatever they do…DO NOT invest in any pension scam run by minorities.

There are thousands and thousands of offshore ones/options/private with better safeguards, anti-corruption policies and competency..

14. David

What were our choices with the restructuring?
    Leave out the local component and only restructure the foreign component (was that possible)?

15. @John2

There are always options, the government took a decision to include all bondholders, the point is that seniors/retirees holding bonds should have been exempted, by the government’s admission this group holding bonds was not significant in the scheme of things. We must treat our senior citizens as special. They have done the time and must be protected.

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

you cannot separate owners within a specific CLASS/ISSUE of Bonds. You can separate how you choose to treat one issue vs another.
    Don’t forget….they grabbed all TBills, and converted them to Bonds. While not many older citizens likely didn’t hold that class individually, any of the funds they invested in would have. It was an open secret to avoid Bonds. Ya think that large quantity of TBills was a statistical anomaly.
    Restructurings are not kind and you can only protect so many, especially when so much of the Debt was local.
    What you need to ask is how the leader who was required to execute the restructuring, could subsequently recommend the architect of her nightmare. for a financial job at an Int’l organization?
    And why they needed to pay White Oaks a success fee when success was guaranteed? That BDD$100M should have gone to the NIS?

17. @NO

Technically you are obviously correct BUT the substantive point remains, a solution should have been provided for older citizens holding bonds/debentures etc.

18. This article was published on October 16, 2019!

“Accountants want legislation in place”

Ryan Straughn was the Minister of Finance during this period and has held on to this portfolio over the last four years without making any positive impact on the financial integrity of the country. Under his regime, it has been business as usual! If our Prime Minister was genuinely interested in combatting graft and corruption she should have ditched this minister many years ago, and plugged the gaping hole in the NIS pot.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/10/16/accountants-want-legislation-in-place/

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

You pulling a Ryan? Because persons are without an earning capacity, they should be favoured over those whose life expectancy is longer. Double tax logic repeated.

It may also be argued, the older set, were old enough to take action when the home grown financing and lack of governance rose to a crescendo. Hence, they are the group who should pay.

20. @NO

That was low.

21. An wen de hurricane come !

” NOAA’s update to the 2023 outlook — which covers the entire six-month hurricane season that ends on Nov. 30 — calls for 14-21 named storms (winds of 39 mph or greater), of which 6-11 could become hurricanes (winds of 74 mph or greater). Of those, 2-5 could become major hurricanes (winds of 111 mph or greater)”

22. Gramsci – ‘the old is dying and the new cannot be born’

23. I do believe that Mia Mottley cares. I believe she’s earnest and sincere in her leadership and wants nothing but the best for her people. I do see her fighting the ‘good’ fight and is desperate to see her island rid itself of all shackles. I do think she has the intellect, drive and fortitude for this battle.

She harps on climate change which is a tool used by the ‘developed’ economies to prevent other developing economies from advancing and most likely surpassing them. Not sure if she’s using it as some sort of financial hedge for the island, but she must be certain to keep it within its parameters and not be tooled by these western stooges against smaller upcoming economies. International waters are infested with ‘sharks’ so thread segaciously. Mia must also be aware that the ranks of these economic giants are filled with ‘scientific criminals.’ These brutes have developed the capacities to start fires, flood cities and blame such events on climate change. All in an effort to destroy humanity and the planet. Then the religious chorus will all be on key about the ‘end of the world.’ Meanwhile the earth is being terraformed for other agendas.

Since Barbados constantly touts it high education level, I think the government should seriously elicit solutions from the population and not just listening to these call in programs, but seriously provide a space for the public to be engaged. I’m sure that out of a population of 250k at least 5% can offer viable solutions. Otherwise shut down the damn schools.

I think the island can start some sort of fund to assist the poor. Simply ask those who have, if they would be willing to put aside as little as $5 every 6months into an investing fund to aid the poor. Obviously this fund would be Fort Knoxed and all monkey business persons will be gifted a lovely pair of silver bracelets and a proper extended vacation.

Barbados is not richly resourced like the DRC, but some way some how she must quit living on borrowed money, money which in all TRUTH and FACT belongs to the borrower and not the lender, for it was the labour of all enslaved Black persons that got this ‘economic’ wheel as we know it today, rolling.

24. Every member of the last DLP that thought they were Barack Obama while pilfering the nation’s coffers should be imprisoned.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

Not at all. You keep reminding of the need for citizen involvement beyond Bacchanal?
    Several of the current issues, are not unreasonable proposals. The challenge is the series of events which led to them.
    And $$ are $$? If you piss away millions on success fees, CBL, piss poor governance etc, when crunch time comes your reserves are dry.
    And they #care, you just need to ask about whom or what.

26. Let’s pray, perform rituals for the damnation and destruction of all foreign invaders, be they europains or otherwise into the lands of Niger, Burkina Faso, Mali, Guinea and the DRC. May these brutes and bytches fall on their swords and be humbled at the feet of the Natives and that they meet their maker in that land……….

Let Alkebulan Rise and bury the Bloodsuckers!

Let It Be!

27. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishibg Copyright (c) 2023. All RightsReserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishibg Copyright (c) 2023. All RightsReserved.

They are all too corrupt and only care about enriching themselves and pretending they are elites and slave masters…look at the first names as defendants in the Florida RICO rackeetering list of 90 plus again, see the names leading as top crooks..what care what, dont fool yaself.

Even worse their supporters are just like them, mislead the people, suport corrupt racists at every opportunity…. and have no clue how to WALK all that legal TALK they love to bombard people with…it’s a total disaster ….unfixable….they are all the talk of the town and far beyond…shameful…..

It’s all ending just as it should.

28. BU, WI need spinners Avatar
    BU, WI need spinners

‘the old is dying and the new cannot be born’

I like that phrase.

Our bloggers are lying and the truth is stillborn .

The many pundits I see here reminds me of the three blind men and the elephant. Each touched a different part of the elephant and came to a different conclusion.

But our bloggers are not blind. Their closed minds makes it impossible for them to see what is in front of them. They suffer a myopia that cannot be corrected with spectacles. Their poor vision allows them to look at our current situation and describe it honestly.

Damn you all! Stop the old talk. Why do you use 100 words when you say exactly what I said in a few words.

It’s a sham, scam, deception and sheer flimflam. Why do you refuse to use these words?

Hear me describe White Oaks “White Hoax was a scam”.

Perhaps these bloggers believe that you are unable to handle the plain truth, and like a lover, they whisper sweet nothings in your ear.

Well I am not going to whisper in your ears. I am shouting with my loudest voice “All the amendments, guidances, new initiatives, discussion … are nothing more than the set up to a big scam”.

One reason why the West Indies cannot win is because as all the good spinners are here.

29. BU, WI needs spinners Avatar
    BU, WI needs spinners

Their poor vision allows them to look at our current situation and describe it without full honesty.

30. @NO

Having listened to some of the debate in the upper house this week, specifically to Senator Nurse a trained accountant, it forced a thought re missing audited NIS statements since 2016 is it? He echoed our concern about the inability of the NIS to produce audited statements and cited many reasons for the delay. One was interesting i.e. source information\primary documents may be stored in the archives in rat infested surroundings and those charged with validating may not be enthused to locate said information. It is also interesting to note Michael Edghill a trained account and retired partner of an accounting house, like Nurse, sits on the NIS Board.

31. Truth is the restructuring was a shot gun approach and not a sniper rifle one. Yes we had to do something after the printorama of sinkyuh, but having decimated the fund the goverment failed to make any provision for the refinancing of the fund.

Add to this the over priced real estate and under performing investments and you have a fund that can not rebuild it’s reserves out of its own operations. The bandaid approach being suggested will simply buy time. Government however MUST come up with a refinance package from the consolidated fund to inject $80 million yearly in cash, not their paper into the fund for the next 10 to 12 years. This must be done whether the fund is privatised, kept or farmed out in some other form.

In other words the liability of repayment must be undertaken by government regardless of the future plans for the fund fullstop!

32. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved

Hopi… there is audio on 789 whatsapp naming many of the crooks and thieves in Barbados in the last hundred years and showing how the whole thing started with corruption and selloutism…cannot be any better…unfixable…the trash has to be taken out, everyone of them and a clean slate started…this can go no further…only fools and fowls believes it could…..party is over..

The wider diaspora…UK, US, etc are now learning everything..

Angela Cole is the last speaker..

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

I listened to part of Sen Nurse contribution.
    Don’t get too soft yet. Crimes were committed against the people.
    For years the NIS bought GoB Bonds. They were excessive. So finally someone said NO MORE. The response was F U, we’ll withhold the contributions from “our” employees. One way or another we are using NIS money. Many years later, the NIS ends up with Bonds (J series) anyway.
    This reckless and illegal behaviour cannot be given a pass.
    But they (Cabal) are trying to sweep it under the rug.

34. @John A

The defense from government talking heads is that taxpayers have to underwrite the cost of a recapitalization anyway.

35. @NO

Will we live to see the day the political directorate initiates Operation Cannibalization?

36. David

There were negotiations with the foreign debt holders. I don’t know what was or wasn’t placed on the table.
    I think it would be foolish to think the the foreign debt holders (minority) would have accepted conditions that were less favourable to them that didn’t entend to the local / majority debt holders ( mostly held by NIS and elderly )

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    Government money = taxpayer money?
    The new entity BURIES the NIS. All the deals of the past 15+ yrs go underground at the burial.
    Imagine. The restructuring wiped out $1.3B in NIS “assets” AND then shortly after, $320M(?) in Bonds were issued to the NIS to replace the A/P (IOU) created by GoB redirecting contributions.
    The NIS is dependent on the GoB honouring it’s Debt. So what was supposedly a segregated fund, is all a one pot anyway.

38. David, Senator Nurse talked shiite. Am I to believe the NIS building has a rat infestation problem, especially considering offices of the Health Ministry are located therein? After reading the 2019 Transport Board special audit report, which revealed former TB chairman Wiltshire used his personal credit card to pay for travelling abroad, sourcing and purchasing bus parts for TB buses…… something he verbally admitted to doing during questioning at a PAC hearing. That the Board approved outsourcing bus repairs from ‘in house’ UCAL…. to Trans Tech Inc., that charged 4 times the amount UCAL charged. And, eventually had to repair the same reoccurring defects Trans Tech was paid on 3 different occasions to repair. ACCOUNTABILITY died when the Audit Report was shelved and PAC ‘shut shop.’ The former Transport Minister, under whose watch those events occurred, is representing a Parliamentarian of the current administration, in a criminal matter.

39. @Artax

Are you referring to that Special Audit which died with the PAC when the House was prorogued?

Are you aware whether NIS Archives physical plant is well maintained?

40. YES, to both questions, David. No one will be held accountable under the ‘duopoly.’ It is sad that politicians take us into their confidence ONLY during the election campaign, when they disclose ‘bits and pieces’ of information, enough for us to interpret according to our particular biases, and for scoring political points, political expediency and grandstanding.

41. Thanks David for posting the above speaches by Caswell and Lynette

42. @ Northern

Yes in the end it is one pocket the funds must come from, but we cant operate the fund like the village rum shop. The loss to the fund from the right off needs to be put back into the fund by government. Once this is done the fund then needs to be made into an entity free from politcal dipping. Any entity be it old or new, that runs the fund will need the written off repaid so as to plan that the payables of the fund can be met. We therefore want a formal legislated loan agreement that is binding between the state and the fund. This agreement must speak to both a duration of the repayment and an annual guaranteed amount. So we don’t want no willy nilly commitment where you pay in $80M in 2024 but then ” money did tight” in 2025 so nothing was paid in.

I can only see the fund being safe it is turned over to a recognised pension fund management company that is totally free from state interference. As long as government can access the NIS account as it has done for 20 years, it is not a secure pension fund in my view.

In closing we therefore must all understand that the MONEY IN THE FUND IS NOT THE STATES MONEY BUT THE INVESTORS.

43. @John A

Both main political parties are committed to using the NIF for developmental purposes, therefore what you are asking will not happen.

44. Further it has been stated the 1.3 billion burnt from NIS adds 3 years to the number, same decisions would have been required regardless.

45. @ David

A pension plan can not be used for development purposes unless the ventures can yield a net annual return to the fund in the area of 6 to 7%. In other words the funds has to look for higher yielding returns to counter the returns being obtained since the restructuring, where yields were cut from roughly 6% to I% on government paper.

46. @John A

We know this if viewed in an economic context BUT both governments subscribe to a different view ie. a percentage of the NIF should be used to help develop the country that is responsible for creating opportunities. Given the unimaginative way successive governments have operated, one must assume the NIF will continue to be significantly invested in local projects with less that apropos considerations.

47. *****Yolande******
    Can you kindly post that 789 Whatsapp!