All right thinking Barbadians are vested in an improving economy, we live here. In has been a challenging last 15 years for Barbados and it is no secret we are losing some of our best young minds to the global market because as a result. This exodus comes at a time government is concerned about an ageing population which has negative implications for our tax base and the threat caused to the National Insurance Fund. As a consequence, government has been essaying thoughts about importing labour to increase the labour force to be able to sustain a standard of living Barbadians have become addicted – see Draft Barbados Population Policy Available for FEEDBACK.

This week the blogmaster listened to Minister of the Environment Adrian Forde heaping praise on the Prime Minister for the splash she has been making in the international area. He cited concomitant benefits, one being able to access low concessionary interest rates on loans for development purposes. While government continues to pat itself on the back, the average Barbadian is very concerned about the debt burden. Government will counter to say we can afford to service the debt but they often neglect to add – ceteris paribus. (All things being equal). It is fashionable for today’s unimaginative governments to engage in deficit financing with successive Barbados governments gleefully joining the party.

A recent reference to Barbados’ Medium Term Fiscal Framework – 202472025 to 202672027 was made on the blog by a contributor. The document contained the usual lofty financial targets governments resort to based on questionable assumptions. Of interest to the blogmaster was the following:

Under the previous government a promise was made by then Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler to rationalise SOEs. A similar promise was made by the incumbent government, five years into its second term it remains a broken promise. The Barbados’ Medium Term Fiscal Framework was signed off by Minister in the ministry of finance Ryan Straughn and Director of Finance Ian Carrington. It is noteworthy Carington is a former Director of National Insurance and in the document highlighted cursory mention is made of pension reform and government’s plan to address NIS backlog. One has to speculate given the poor state of public pensions in Barbados what will be the contingent liabilities arising. A similar concern is being expressed about the cost of the education reform currently being canvassed.

The blogmaster has to reluctantly admit to being disappointed at government’s slow progress addressing structural issues both economic and social in the country.

81 responses to “Under Mottley has the country progressed?”

1. @Frank

Seriously?

2. AI generating at its best

3. @ David

That statement you trying to translate is like a bajan weather report. Lol

Tomorrow will be MAINLY fair EXCEPT for a FEW isolated showers.

Basically it rain dem right, if it dont rain dem right. If it rain by you and not me dem right.

They got run away debt and have not seen a surplus for Ions. Between 2018 and 2022 their average GDP is Zero. In the meanwhile inflation has been in excesss of 3 % on average over the same period.

So what dem going do between now and 2035 to change their current projectory? Our debt service will eat out a large part of our revenue over the next ten years and nothing I have seen so far has showed me that we will diversify our one leg economy away from toursim dependancy.

Fluff and long talk. Stupes

4. These politicians not getting it John A. People are tired being baffled with bullshit.

5. These politicians not getting it John A.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss, it is the people who are not getting it.
    The politicians don’t even realize that there is something to ‘get’ … beyond winning the voting favors of a bunch of BB jokers….and some bribes..

The politicians are all about making a dollar, while maintaining their place at the parliament nipples.

The few who have some idea of the mess we are in, are just hoping that they can get their fill before the inevitable comes, …OR that some clear calamity comes along that can take the overall blame for our demise…

You have NO IDEA of how disappointed many were, that Covid turned out to be so tame…
    Did you NOT note the GLEAM in some political eyes when everything could be blamed on COVID, …and when spending had no limits – provided that it was ‘fuh Covid’.

Eventually, some hurricane, earthquake, supply chain shock, or war – will come along and provide us with a ‘reason’ for our misfortune …other than our own brassbowlery.

BTW
    What did you think of the Senior ‘tyre slasher’ Minister’s performance today on Brass Tacks..?
    What a BS generator…!!

6. @David “It is fashionable for today’s unimaginative governments to engage in deficit financing with successive Barbados governments gleefully joining the party.”

And we the people gleefully party with the political parties.

7. Bush Tea on November 19, 2023 at 2:04 PM said: “The politicians are all about making a dollar, while maintaining their place at the parliament nipples.”

Nobody over the age of 2 has any business getting their nourishment from a nipple. Those who continue to do so should be ashamed of themselves.

8. David,

Ralphie is a man I used to love. Right now, the only politician I still love is Maurice Bishop.

No chance he could ever be corrupted.

9. @Bush Tea

His confrontational style was a turnoff. He has to exercise some emotional intelligence especially as a senior minister.

10. David,

Memories of more hopeful times, whether through youthful ignorance or based in reality, I lived them.

The days when I believed in, “Happy Independence, Barbados!”

https://youtu.be/QLNVYjfymZk?si=V29ZRZER5XrPvHdC

And “Happy Interdependence, Caribbean!”

11. Please let me know why my last comment was removed. It was not abusive, illogical or grammatically flawed.

12. @Roslyn

No comment was deleted.

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

Hants
    I was reminded last week by a former CIDA employee, that in the 70’s and 80’s the largest recipients, by far, of CIDA monies were….can u guess?….China and India. What a change in a few years?

14. The learning is not getting the money but what you do with it? Clearly it must be undergirded by a relevant strategy/vision.

15. Mia castigated those cynical Barbadians upset with her unprecedented accumulation of air miles.

An African president whose country shares similar problems as Barbados believes that such trips are costly and should be banned.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2023/11/16/malawis-president-suspends-foreign-travel-for-himself-and-cabinet-members

16. An African president whose country shares similar problems as Barbados believes that such trips are costly and should be banned.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Similar problems…?
    Is he lobbying for the UN job too…?

17. Montserrat v Barbados Avatar
    Montserrat v Barbados

Montserrat v Barbados tonight
    betting odds* are
    Montserrat 1/2
    Draw 3/1
    Barbados 4/1
    (*) betting could change if Montserrat odds are lowered and Barbados odds raised if markets bet on a probable Montserrat win
    Underage gambling is an offense.
    Bu is committed to helping you gamble safely.

18. Game starts at 2:00 p.m.

I seem to recall that Montserrat beat us the last time that the two teams played each other. However, I expect Barbados to emerge victorious. This should not be a gamble.

19. @ The Blogmaster,

How bad are things in Barbados ? I hear there has been an increase in homelessness and an increase in suicides.

20. @Hants

Barbados s a high cost of living place to live therefore the vulnerable or those living on the margins will struggle. In a post covid economy you can imagine it has worsened.

21. @ David,

This is a glorious opportunity for MAM to be the greatest Prime Minister ever.

Eradicate poverty and homelessness in Barbados.

22. @Hants

That is a lofty goal. The more realistic approach is what some describe as poverty alleviation.

23. If you are interested … we lost again 4-2.
    I thought we had a very good chance at winning. I made myself comfortable, but after the first two goals I had to change the channel. Of course, I would check-in to see if we had stage a comeback but Montserrat didn’t stick to my script; they kept on scoring.

Not going to rant or cry but it is true “Love hurts”

24. The great Hal Austin would often say that Mia does not do detail. He was referring to Mia’s incredible energy and her capacity to generate ideas. Mia is always on the cusp to proclaim forthcoming projects in the same manner that one simply turns on a tap to extract water.

To paraphrase Hal, he implied that Mia constituted 50% bluster and 50% cluelessness in her knowledge as to how to execute an idea or a project. Who can remember that she boasted of not only rebuilding our joke of a national stadium (let’s be honest do we have sports men and women who deserve more than that ramshackle of a stadium); she further added that Barbados was going to build several stadiums.

When Mia first gained the “pouvoir”. I stated in BU that she should remember that Barbados was a broken, impoverish and an indebted developing country. I implored her to concentrate on the bountiful of low hanging fruit within the country that could be capitalised on immediately at practically no cost.

Legislation should have been passed to commit all landowners and homeowners to set aside 35% of their land in the planting of fruit bearing trees. A further 30% of the land should be reserved for crop production. The owner may not have the capacity to work the land. No problem. There are literally thousands of Bajans/foreigners who would work that land and generate a business for themselves in the domestic market. The more ambitious ones would probably find an international market.

There is a big shot Middle Eastern man who is involved in the “restaurant” industry. When I last passed by his place to attend a funeral, I could not but notice the size of his land and how much of it was covered by lawn!

Barbados, is too small to allow landholders and homeowners to squat on land that is not in production. Yes, these people may have bought or inherited the land. However, that land needs to be worked for the good of our country.

There is so much low hanging fruit on the island that can be exploited if there was the will from our government which is obscenely over committed to a non-profitable ever expanding tourism industry.

@ William Skinner and Miller,

Many decades ago we had in Barbados a pot pourri of vital cottage industries which provided employment (secondary employment); which defined and reinforced our culture and history. They were localised and indigenous. And a source of pride to the community. Where did they go?

For those of you who are a little bit slow. Or for those who have never been to Turkey or Iran. Do some research on carpet rugs. These people have been manufacturing such items since the year dot. They don’t seem in a hurry to close down this industry. I wonder why.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2023/oct/28/antigua-and-barbuda-caribbean-seed-work

25. This question, as titled, about Mottley and progress.

Reminds this writer of what Deng Xiaoping told a reporter when asked, on the 200 year anniversary of socalled Anerican independence, what he thought of it.

Deng simple replied that it was too early to tell – 200 years in!

We are faitly sure that the same question considered about OSA, or any other at the apogee of their power, the answer to which would most likely be in their favor.

Arthur is likely less favoured now than 20 years ago, we consider.

So yes Deng was right. It was tooooooo early to make such a judgement especially given how power within a one-party stateism would inordinately skew perceptions.

And no statistician worthy her salt would rely on the meaning of such a study.

26. I hear a big celebrity wedding is to be soon kept at Sandy Lane.

It is alleged that the CJ getting married.

27. The country will always be confused.

Economy ‘still at risk’

by SHAWN CUMBERBATCH

shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

BARBADOS’ ECONOMY HAS PROGRESSED but remains vulnerable to some major international risks.

These include geopolitical conflicts and tightening global financial conditions, says International Monetary Fund (IMF) resident representative for Barbados Patrick Blagrave.

Other challenges the economist highlighted were a possible slower than expected expansion in key source markets affecting the tourism sector, and climate change-related events.

Second review

Blagrave was speaking in the context of the November 13 conclusion of the IMF’s staff team for Barbados’ 2023 Article IV Consultation mission, and the staff-level agreement for the second review of the Extended Fund Facility (EFF) and Resilience and Sustainability Facility (RSF) programme engagement with Barbados.

The team led by Pablo Morra said in its recent statement: “Barbados has weathered the COVID-19 pandemic and other recent shocks well and has preserved macroeconomic stability. The economy has recovered strongly, with ten consecutive quarters of growth, driven by a rebound in tourism.”

Blagrave subsequently said that economic risks to Barbados “remain broadly as characterised in the staff report following the first review”, which was concluded in June by the IMF executive board following staff level agreement a month earlier.

The IMF staff report capturing information on the first review, which was published in July, said risks to Barbados’ economic outlook “are elevated and tilted to the downside”.

“The medium-term economic outlook is vulnerable to a slower than expected recovery in the tourism sector, which depends on developments in key source markets – United States, United Kingdom and Canada,” it stated.

“An intensification of Russia’s war in Ukraine could further increase global commodity prices and fuel inflationary pressures, reducing real incomes in both the main tourism source markets and Barbados. With the peg to the US dollar, further US dollar appreciation could dent Barbados’ competitiveness.

External financing

“Tighter global financial conditions and a rise in global risk aversion would increase the cost of external financing, affecting the fiscal and external accounts. The economy is exposed to climate change risks, which could have a dampening impact on economic activity, increase the fiscal deficit and public debt, and pose financial stability risks,” the report added.

Blagrave said the third IMF review mission under the EFF/RSF engagement is expected to take place in May.

“The authorities continue to make good progress towards objectives outlined in their [Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation] 2022 programme, including relating to building resilience to climate change. The IMF continues to offer support to the authorities in the achievement of their objectives,” he stated.

The resident representative added that “no existing benchmarks for future reviews are expected to require extended time to complete, and all measures under the second review have been met”.

There are a number of major structural benchmarks Barbados has to achieve under the EFF before the third review in May.

These include Cabinet’s approval of plans “for the amalgamation of the operations of the Rural Development Commission and Urban Development Commission, and the reform of the National Housing Corporation to reduce overlap and achieve greater financial and operating efficiencies”.

Approvals are also required “for the reform of the Barbados Agricultural Management Company (BAMC) and shift BAMC’s operations away from subsidising the traditional sugar industry”. Both are to be completed by the end of December.

28. How many decades have we been reading these types of assessments from economists – local and foreign?

Indeed, if you were a Marsian or did not know the date you’ll have to wonder why the same people have spoken in these same, not similar, ways over and over again.

Maybe, this answers the question about Mottley, using history as the guide, while dispensing with future considerations as previously suggested.

That judgement leads one to failing in rejected the null, in statistical terms. Meaning that there are no differences, real or imagined, between MAM and the rest.