There is a story brewing which involves the ‘abduction’ of an alleged Trinidadian arms dealer from Barbados. The blogmaster has not been following closely to do justice to the matter largely because the BU household decided to retreat to Cattlewash for the long weekend. However, the matter has raised a few times by members of the BU family reflected in messages to BU inbox.
Here are three links to the story for your consumption and discussion.
Firearms dealer granted $800,000 bail for possession of explosives after fleeing to Barbados

A firearms dealer was granted $800,000 bail with surety when he appeared before Magistrate Maureen Baboolal-Gafoor at the Port-of-Spain Magistrates’ Court today (Friday 7th October 2022). The accused was charged with possession of prohibited explosives and firearms.
He is expected to re-appear at the Port-of-Spain Magistrates’ Court on the 3rd November 2022.
“the court is therefore at liberty to infer that ASP Birch and or other unknown members of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service caused the detention of the first claimant in Barbados by enlisting the assistance of the Barbados Police Force to so do.”
Oh, oh…
So all of this took place and is taking place with the unknowing conscription of Barbados into the plot and not a single line of commentary in the Barbados press, print or broadcast? Oh, I forgot. Their purpose is strictly for selling ad space and playing dub music.
“When the people lose everything, they lose it”
Certainly, in these circumstances market forces demand that such operators expand their area of “business”.
But at home, in Barbados, we can never have the interrogation of economic, political and social forces which have normalized the weaponization of certain people from certain races, certain classes, certain economic strata and the like.
That it has been historically acceptable to weaponize a select bunch with the power to take life was always disadvantageous to the majority and pregnant with the possibility that nature would strive for balance🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Sounds like this guy was offering firearm training to citizens in a country which is # 6 in criminal countries in the world and the Government of Trinidad did not want that to happen.
Q. Where do you find the most criminals in a country?
A. In Government!!
It’s like America. Joe Biden wants a ban on “Assault Rifles” (undefined) while raking in tens of millions from China, his country’s adversary and spending his country into oblivion.
Not going to happen, 2nd amendment protects citizens from a criminal Government!!
This is how fascists like you seek to ensure genetic survival.
The Bible and the Gun
Gave honkies Power to rob rape and massacre the human race
then they marketed the concept they were superior and others inferior
Who is this singer and what is the song
Dubbing Jah · King Tubby · Bunny Lee ·
Barbados’ media is very heavily MUZZLED..no FOIA…by design….no freedom of press…
You only need to hear the timid questions asked of politicians by the island’s journalist…that is how they want it…suppression squared.
Blood dunza!
Blood money!
Blood dunza!
Some man a fight, fight, fight, fight, fight:
Fi blood dunza. (dunza)
An’ some man a kill, kill, kill, kill, kill:
Fi blood dunza. (dunza)
All over the world.
Why dunza? Can’t come to the sufferers?
Say some man, can’t stand, sufferation.
Just why some man a fight, fight, fight, fight, fight:
Fi blood dunza? (dunza)
Just why some man a kill, kill, kill, kill, kill:
Fi blood dunza? (dunza)
All over the world.
Yes inna dis ya time,
We want equal rights and justice.
Whoah, whoah, whoah yeah.
Blood, blood, blood dunza.
Blood, blood, blood money.
Inna dis ya time,
We want equal rights, and justice.
And justice.
Yes inna dis ya time,
We want equal rights, and justice.
All over the world.
https://www.gunpolicy.org/firearms/region/barbados
In 2021, Barbados exported $20.6k in Weapons, making it the 115th largest exporter of Weapons in the world. At the same year, Weapons was the 21st most exported product in Barbados. The main destination of Weapons exports from Barbados are: Grenada ($12.2k), United States ($6.23k), and Saint Kitts and Nevis ($2.17k).
The fastest growing export markets for Weapons of Barbados between 2020 and 2021 were Grenada ($11.1k), United States ($6.23k), and Saint Kitts and Nevis ($2.17k).
IMPORTS
In 2021, Barbados imported $761k in Weapons, becoming the 146th largest importer of Weapons in the world. At the same year, Weapons was the 21st most imported product in Barbados. Barbados imports Weapons primarily from: United States ($455k), United Kingdom ($171k), Panama ($68.3k), Czechia ($27.8k), and Germany ($25.8k).
@ David ” the BU household decided to retreat to Cattlewash for the long weekend. ”
I thought only white people does go to Cattlewash. lol
Barbados is a multicultural, multiethnic community.
Onlookers to the matter will reasonably assume former ‘badass’ COP Gary Griffith may have the inside track on what is going on here.
@ David,
enjoy your weekend.
Thanks Hants, finding time for leisure is important.
Catrlewash David?
@FearPlay
You would be surprised how many non Whites own Airbnbs down there?
It is passing strange the two Newsday articles have not attracted a single comment.
Trini problems
https://www.nationnews.com/2023/04/29/trinidads-pm-frowns-bomb-threats-schools/
Well, this writer was never persuaded that Barbados is either multicultural or multi-ethnic.
Neither are we convinced that people who talk about community understand what that means.
Seems that the minorities have community and have always deployed such in their narrow interests. For one, community must be undergird by economy. Minorities continue to dominate economy. Such a domination has always been used to impose their culture norms on the majority.
Of course, a number of lackeys can always be elevated to the plantation beach-house.
Certainly, the elevation of less than 5 percent of the people, who largely exist in enclaves still, are more akin to their historical mentors, neither constitutes multi ethnicity nor multi culturalism.
Maybe the system which existed from the early seventeenth century to let’s say 1838 was both multicultural and multi ethnic as well. That is the logic of the beach monkey!
That he who thinks that being a braggart about going to Cattlewash, as though stating a class affiliation, but feeling a sense of arrival, having entered a place long reserved for his masters, tells us all the pettiness of his ilk.
How shameful!
“Well, this writer was never persuaded that Barbados is either multicultural or multi-ethnic.”
1500 syrians or less
2500 indians or less
7,000 who identify as bajan and foreign whites…definitely less, it’s more like 6,000 or less.
13,000 or less who identify ss belonging to more than one group…
265,000 African descents
Does not a multiculturial multi- ethnic society make..
Trinidad is a multicultural cosmopolitan multi ethic society…the numbers are about even….re population size
Jamaica can also call itself that due to diverse populations in the hundreds of thousands..
Same with Guyana..
Barbados…that is utter nonsense…based on the math..
Pacha…they may get the multi-cultural multi-ethnic designation status they so crave. With the importation of nonblacks. Were they not supposed to bring in 80K or some number close.
who is to say half are not already there, since you wont see them right away…presuming they arent importing from the cousin pool across the Caribbean…wont hold my breath they would though, because these types only like to see and have respect for others…
If BD was not multi-culti there would be no one to hate.
Music to trip to. Music to meditate on. Music to heal the world. Music to upgrade your DNA. Music to get your whole family dancing. Music to teach you. Music to live by. Music to die to. MUSIC TO MULTIPLY YOUR MIND.
The challenges are mounting in the US….it’s a good thing the knowledgeable can fill the breach.
https://www.instagram.com/reel/CrmZkrsg_5R/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link
But Waru
These conceptions have and are causing big problems in so many socalled european countries.
Its amazing that such shiite be approached in such flippant ignorance. And disrespectful of self by denigrating a long history of dominant majoritarian but titularly Black Bajans to such social Whitening.
Waru, these assholes love their “light” people hear. For them it’s most important to be anything other than Black. Recall, how a certain Whitening is relentless here. For they have to have the occasional Indian, the odd White woman, promote that empty headed Koochie Koochie fellow and on and on. This behaviour is, to them, highly desirable, imbues social class pedigree, shows pragmatism.
When seen earlier this morn. It was shocking! These are the types of people who would pretend to associate with Afrikans if they can mek a dollar but all the time, dey love their “light” people.
We remember well when a manager of a hotel which tried to bring in Afrikan-Americans during the summer all hell brek loose.
That rasssoul man is a fervent conservator of the status quo. And this issue is determinative of innate intent. This is why the mushroom-headed deckie is indispensable.
“This behaviour is, to them, highly desirable, imbues social class pedigree, shows pragmatism.”
Punishable by LAUGHTER and could only come from the limited intellect of wannabes…they are indeed useless breathers..
.the same system of pretending the majority African population dont exist will deal with them….selfhaters have an expiration date.
Waru
Such is the mentality of the majority of Bajans.
Dey even produced a king dyal. A radical marching on the GG residence but turning to see that the crowd he was leading had disappeared.
Bajans are and have always been good slaves.
You would even see Black men talking Black power but married to “red” women. Or men seeking to change the economic relationships but as soon as possible becomes sell outs.
Waru, these people aint no rassssoul good yeh.
“Waru, these people aint no rassssoul good yeh.”
Long established.
Not only long established, but much worse than you could ever imagine. Wait until their fans realize how horribly and maliciously they have been deliberately deceived and misled, that too will be revealed….
They did it all to promote an anti-Black agenda….to promote themselves, the wicked, cursed minds of wannabes. They too are the talk of the island, in their egotistical arrogance and yesrs of pretense, they thought everyone was blind, wrong, people have had their number for years, knew, saw and was told all about them.
Dear ATT Secretariat,
BARBADOS
The following is a statement on behalf of the Government of Barbados on the captioned subject.
Transparency and Reporting
First let me thank you for the enormous work that has been done by this working group and for giving me the opportunity to present on behalf of the Government of Barbados.
I am happy that in these preparatory meetings, much emphasis has been placed on Diversion and Transparency & Reporting with transparency being the key word. I firmly believe that if there is no transparency in our reporting there will be an avenue for diversion. This diversion can be as a result of negligence where no proper systems are in place or it can be deliberate. The insistence on having end user certificates is critical in our efforts on ensuring transparency and also in the prevention of diversion.
Barbados is a small Island of 166 square miles and has a population of 280,000 people. We are part of the Caribbean and we are strategically located between firearm manufactures in North America and those in South America.
Barbados is not a producer of Arms or Ammunition and all firearms are restricted in Barbados. We do however, import on a limited basis for domestic use for the Police, Military and for citizens who have been issued permits to carry small arms for personal protection. In addition we do export on a very small scale to neighbouring islands where permits have been issued by their Governments for citizens to possess these firearms.
If in my annual report for a given year I am saying that I imported for example- 100 firearms and exported 20 of those firearms, the report of the country from which I imported, should reflect in their exports the 100 hundred firearms that I received. Similarly, the country to whom I exported those 20 firearms, their report should reflect that they imported 20 firearms from me. Any discreprencies in these figures could be an indication of possible diversion.
The issue of firearms tracing is another critical area that could assist in identifying diversion. States that encourage and mandate that all recovered firearms are traced are in a better position to identify those that have been diverted and who may be responsible for the diversion. I therefore encourage all states to make use of ATF ETrace and the Interpol IArms to facilitate the tracing of firearms and that all parties including the working group on diversion do everything within their power to make the tracing of firearms a priority and have the reporting of firearm traces included in the annual report template.
My question to all of this is- Who verifies these reports and what systems if any, have been put in place to ensure the veracity of these reports?
Finally on the issue of ammunition, I believe that some consideration should be given to reporting on ammunition imports and exports. We all know that firearms are of no use to anyone without the availability of ammunition.
It is our experience in the Caribbean that when there is a scarcity of ammunition, criminals use their weapons sparingly and with the abundance of ammunition they use them indiscriminately. The evidence of which is reflected in the number of cartridge cases recovered at scenes of crime and the frequency at which they use these firearm. This does not only apply to small arms and light weapons but to all forms of artillery.
I therefore urge that consideration be given to reporting on ammunition https://thearmstradetreaty.org/hyper-images/file/BARABDOS/BARABDOS.pdf
Waru
The stories are endless.
During the 1938 Rebellion, the father of Husbands, the former GG and high Court Judge, ran with his children to the plantation house and told the White people “dey coming to get us”.
Of course, he was a house nigger!
We assure you that the retelling of such a tale evoked much laughter, even in the presence of Husband’s, the younger.
Seriously, that Husbands might have been the most cruel SoB to sit on the bench. An innate hatred of self which he saw in the poor, Black, accused receiving his judgements characterised his tenure.
But he was made GG.
“During the 1938 Rebellion, the father of Husbands,”
Niga to the end, a nasty piece of work that one was…heard the stories, the wannabes reproduced themselves.
Heard the police who guarded that trash could not use the bathroom, claimed he wanted no nigas, his words, using the toilet..go somewhere else he told them…… they had to go to nearby residences and asked to use theirs..
..the stinkest most treacherous Slaves were given the system to bring to this point.. they are still the same way today….these are the types you cannot give keys, titles or power over each other….dont want any of them near my life or that of my family…
His cruelty was legendary, just like those who came before and after him…but they all have to scatter….and face their Karma.
See the problem for some, they convinced themselves, in their arrogance, that they would succeed with their evil agendas, but weren’t they the SHOCKED ones, when things unfolded and left them scambling.
..the longest day has an end…and time will ALWAYS be longer than twine…tick tock.
Pacha…the downside?
“US Lawmakers Fear AI-Instigated Nuclear Attack
US House and Senate lawmakers have raised alarm bells about the potential use of artificial intelligence in America’s nuclear arsenal, arguing that the technology must not be put in a position to fire off warheads on its own.
A group of three Democrats and one Republican introduced a bill that calls for banning AI from being used in a way that could lead to it launching nuclear weapons. If enacted, the legislation would codify a current Pentagon policy requiring a human to be “in the loop” on launch decisions.
“We want to make sure there’s a human in the process of launching a nuclear weapon if, at any point, we need to launch a nuclear weapon,” US Representative Ken Buck, a Colorado Republican, said on Friday in a Fox News interview. “So you see sci-fi movies, and the world is out of control because AI has taken over – we’re going to have humans in this process.”
Good ole Uncle Sam!
https://insightcrime.org/news/caribbean-nations-us-gun-crackdown-murder-rates/
Editorial!
https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/editorials/a-shameful-blot/article_4f5f7370-e6f1-11ed-8603-939091aa8bf4.html
The OECS Bar Association has strongly condemned recent statements made by Prime Ministers Mia Motley and Dr. Ralph Gonsalves. — Read on stluciatimes.com/153976/2023/04/oecs-bar-association-condemns-attacks-on-the-judiciary-by-gonsalves-mottley/
Is it unreasonable to demand a statement from COP Richard Boyce, one of our more silent Commissioners of recent ?
There is a connection between the Nato-Ukraine war and gun proliferation in Barbados, the region. Find it!
That all means are sought to ignore the most consequential issue of these times with the results of a google as friend will not be deterrent, nor mind bending.
What about the war Caricom is suborning in Haiti as a vassal of America greater militarism. Might that warmongering by Mia Mottley not causal in gun violence as a function of market forces enabled?
Yes Pacha…saw an article yesterday about the profileration of guns in the region and how it gets in.
…..similarly, there is a voice note going around from credible sources that the pretending wannabes, KNEW and had prior written documentation that the vaccines were going to injure and cause deaths, but the showoffs not only did it anyway, but were disturbingly boastful to their close circle that they are the “purveyor of death.”
….that was within the last 2 years it took some investgating to make absolutely sure and confirm. But it is true. Remember the stinking bullies “go and tske the rassoul vaccine.” Frauds acting like they are doctors and scientists WHILE KNOWING…notice their silence on that topic these days…and the removal of any comments.
When their:
Comeuppance comes it will be absolute…one death is definitely not sufficient for them…there should be total wipeout..of traitor bloodlines..
The dummies are only interested in googling what each other say to oneup and call people liars, wasted a decade or more doing so, they are not interested in researching what can not only impact their and their families lives, but injure and kill them, their ignorance is now historical..things are happening they know nothing about…things have LEAPT FORWARD…and look where they are…ah glad fuh dem..i done sharing …shared more than enuff already…
There is so much here to digest. Wondering if we are having a honest debate when the gun issue is reduced to just flow of guns (illegal) from the US.
Oh….and it was also CONFIRMED beyibnond a doubt that you have NO CONSTITUTION.
..so stop listening to the barefaced LIARS perpetrating that other fraud….
.yall may want to catch up on the numbers of fraud in play though….none of my business, not my place to itemize them since they wont impact me…i dont do politics or politicians..
“Oh….and it was also CONFIRMED beyibnond a doubt that you have NO CONSTITUTION.”
You say slave laws are still in effect and there’s no constitution to be found
Don’t worry yourself or fret
If you listen to the rhythm of the universe
There is only one way
Spiritual laws runs things
In these times
Hotter than a Sauna
“You say slave laws are still in effect and there’s no constitution to be found
Don’t worry yourself or fret.”
Exactly, been trying to tell them for the past year they are FREE….but…they can wait until one goes into effect.complete with old or new Slave codes….as the local rats are fond of using…..no skin off my nose..
Slave codes are still on STATUTE BOOKS…that is still in use in the judiciary etc……and remain in effect unless removed…..easily transferred, done before in 1966.
I so miss Jeff’s extensive knowledge on the topic..
We have to thank the Patrick King defamation case for certain reveals.
It is once again said that the Judges at the Supreme Court KNOW there is no constitution and DONT KNOW what to do about it….heard that before,..further information says the Barbados constitution was SUSPENDED since 2005…i heard that before as well..
even WORSE the island NEVER received the original constitition that they do know about, it’s still in White Hall, never reached the island.
…while am.sure the REAL ONE, constitution, which am equally sure your Jackass for parliament pretenders NEVER SAW and have NO CLUE what’s in it…is still at Whitehall.
..wuh if i was a Slave master dah is wuh i would do…i wont give the traitor Slaves the real anything….. lol
So in essence, you have a fraudulent, illegitimate government in place, as John and others have said all along.
Pacha…it so serves these right, they believe they own an island, to keep SO CORRUPT it cannot function anymore unless there is a complete overhaul….while their stupid little enablers help them destroy the people and island..
What a mess….for the loyal Slaves to wallow in..
Weeee did warn that these types of things are quite possible given historical events…imagine how foolish they all must feel now, if they are capable of feeling anything at all…we can only laugh.
Waru
As a technical matter – there is no republican constitution. Agreed.
But has the regime, as said by Caswell Franklyn, not had the definitive word on this, via an amendment, which he voted against?
The absence of a writen constitution has never proved problematic for the UK even if Franklyn, and this writer trust his judgemrnt, is wrong.
Our problem rests entirely with the manner in which the cart was put before the horse, for no apparent gain but for the spurious intent of the dictator.
Pacha…it gets much worse, but what i will tell you is, they spoke about some wishy washy document but no one can produce it since it does not exist….Caswell got set up to distract from what’s going on.
Dont know if you go on 789 Moving Forward i think it’s now called, a whatsapp group…there is a voice note circulatibg that is shedding light on certain things regarding traitor bloodlines, pretenders, liars who rush to the front in politics even though lacking commonsense and dumb as rocks..
….i have long questioned certain things, particularly since recent reveals including attempts on my life….it all has to come out in the wash.
Tiu Pacha..
Once you listen to that voice note, certain things fall into place…..more to come.
They could hate until they drop dead, they are the ones going down.
Talking bout guns.
Indeed today is the anniversary of the end of WW2.
The historical events at the Reichstag by the Soviets saw the end of the Third Reich, as a formal consideration.
Of course, nearly 30 million Soviets, mainly Russians, lay dead, of nearly 100 million killed, on all sides, as fascism was given a glasing blow.
As compared. Less than 500 thousand American and British soldiers died. Many of the British were colonials. Many of the Americans were Afrikans living under fascism at home.
Since then, especially now, cancel culture attempts a rewriting of history.
It’s with amazement, that such a signal event is allowed to pass without even a mention as we talk trivia about guns.
That the country which shouldered an inordinate burden in the destruction of the Third Reich is today, again, being called upon to do the same again.
And we ignore the truth about the Western powers which have always supplied the fascist guns.
It’s a day when Russian guns, flame thrower missiles, drones, hyperbaric bombs, laser guided missiles and a preponderance of artillery shells are destroying another fascist regime in Ukraine.
Indeed, today alone the Russians have killed over 1000 fascists Ukrainians, NATO, mercenaries and others as if the above events of 1945 never happened.
This resurrection of familiar guns of war is not history repeating itself. That would be far too simplictic a rendering.
The truth is that the fascist guns were never silenced. Indeed, the Western powers, primarily the American and the British, continues supporting the fascist immediately after the Reichstag event as an anvil against the USSR.
Recall, that between 1945 and the early 1960s Ukrainian fascists were supported by the West in the conduct of terrorist operations within the former USSR. They killed ten of thousands of Soviet citizens.
Under operation “paperclip” ten of thousands of Nazis were brought to America under several guises. These were easily deployed within an “exceptionalist” state apparatus well known to them.
That these same gunmen are at it again should be unsurprising. Professor Horne, in his book which outlines the fundamental nature of an American fascist state, eloquently constructs a nexus which locates the United States of America as the fountainhead of fascism worldwide.
Finally it’s with deep regret, humility, that this writer bows to the heroic sacrifices of Russisn peoples. A re-ordered world should have others shouldering the heaviest burdens. Wishing that in the chattle slavery epoch a country like Russia had come to the aid of Afrikan peoples.
Glancing
History holds the key to everything, unfortunately weee dont pay as much attention as we should….
Most lost the art of deep thought, now their heads are filled with shit….and political rubbish.
“Who is this singer and what is the song
Dubbing Jah · King Tubby · Bunny Lee ·”
It’s Ok I found it
thanks for the help
The government of Trinidad plans to appeal this matter.
https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/letters/more-to-brent-thomas-issue-than-meets-the-eye/article_23491306-e87f-11ed-bae2-17d61779a369.html
#nationnew finally caught up with this story. Front page news.
They had to wait and see how our local government was responding
@Frank
If as reported a RSS plane was used maybe we need to hear from its head.
The explainable screw-up:
They believe they can explain away anything. Apologists take turns at throwing stuff on the wall.
Would not be surprise if the final outcome in Trinidad is in conflict with what is stated in Barbados.
It is distressing and painful to see how we lurch from situation to situation without having a clue of what is happening. PR stunts and speeches cannot hide the fact that we are failing on several fronts. Our ministries/officials seem to be constantly making missteps and then using ” was unaware” as an explanation.
We then have apologists rushing out with the sole intent of confusing the audience. Their explanations can be beautifully worded, but their words mean nothing or lack the truth. John Public must stop falling for these useless utterances.
It appears that some of us should keep silent in the interest of the nation. The veiled hint of being unpatriotic or of not wishing the best for the nation is one of the instruments used to enforce this silence.
We are supposed to be awed by speeches and press release with pictures. But where they use the caption “the PM and the President” all I see is “the borrower and the lender”.
Our mathematics is a simple one and does not utilize fractions, thus we see Barbados and France as nations; we see Mia and the French Prime Minister as leaders. We seem unable to assign different weights to two elements in the same category or with similar titles. We often explain this shortcoming by claiming that “we punch above our weight”. That phrase should be retired (permanently).
We are reluctant to give credit to some people. We would close our eyes and pretend to be asleep until our knights in shing armor comes charging up the hill. Don’t you get it? Can’t you see that our knights in borrowed armor are even more clueless than we are? Can’t you see that there is no one charging to the rescue? Our knights are stumbling and fumbling worse than a drunkard.
The Good Lord Knows they cannot help themselves; it is time for us to admit “they cannot help us”.
@David how many Bajan politicians current and former who on a watch list. https://www.stabroeknews.com/2023/04/25/news/guyana/ministry-ps-had-been-on-us-watch-list-source/
@Concerned Citizen
How would persons on a US watchlist be known?
How many of you knew of ” something called the CARICOM Arrest Warrant and the CARICOM Arrest Treaty” ?
It is a matter of record.
https://caricom.org/treaties/caricom-arrest-warrant-treaty/
@ David,
good to know in case I decide to become a criminal. lol
@Commander Hants
By now you should have your Canadian passport.
When arrested in Barbados, the only phrases you should know are
(1) Je ne parle pas Anglais. Je parle Francais.
(2) Je veut parler à l’ambassade ou le consulat canadien.
I want to talk to the Canadian embassy
@ King David,
Antigua is in the news – yet again!
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2023/may/06/businessman-mehul-choksi-who-alleges-indian-kidnap-plot-wins-antiguan-court-ruling
TLSN
All countries deep into the news from time to time, sone more that others, even your adopted lands?
Despite AG’s protestation it seems this was an abduction. There is the related observation regarding Caricom Ambassador’s intervention when he mentioned th existence of a Caricom Extradition Treaty.
AG: No abduction in Thomas arrest
https://www.nationnews.com/2023/05/09/ag-no-abduction-thomas-arrest/
TT Opposition Leader writes PM Mottley urging a full public inquiry into Brent Thomas matter:
https://barbadostoday.bb/2023/05/10/tt-opposition-leader-writes-pm-mottley-urging-a-full-public-inquiry-into-brent-thomas-matter/
In case it is not clear to some of you, i will send some phrase through the TheOsaurus
A) the Barbados Police Service fell “somewhat short of applicable legal norms”
**TheOsaurus: We may have broken the law as we did not follow the processes that are in place
B) To the extent that there may be any legal liability attaching to the actions of the Barbados Police Service officers, I can assure you that the Government of Barbados will abide by the law and fully respect any decisions of the law courts
***TheOsaurus: We might have to make a big payout because of our big screw-up. we are ready to make the big pay out
C) Marshall disagreed with the arrest of Thomas being described as an abduction or kidnapping.
***TheOsaurus; please call it something else
The mother of all conspiracies
Have you been following the Brent Thomas affair? Even when the AG admits that his return to Trinidad outside of the law, we see some still trying to spin the rendition/’extradition’.
The AG folded like a cheap lawn chair when you sit in it, but some smart guy touting some UWI credentials out there saying “Barbados did nothing wrong”.
Either this spinner is an idiot or he thinks our beloved AG is one. Commissiong tried to give the AG a little help by mentioning some charter that Barbados signed on to, but this guy is better than that and contradicts the AG (and Mia also). When the wicket tekking pace don’s bring on spin bowlers, they make an ass of everyone including themselves/
Usually, I will provide you with a link to the story, but to do so is do you a great wrong.
But I do not focus on B. Thomas or his
abduction/kidnapping/rendition/illegal rendition/extraordinary rendition/tek up,
For me Mr Thomas is the canary that keels over in the mine. It is a dead bird. Forget about it. Let us focus on some of the gases that killed the canary.
Gas 1: RSS
The RSS will allow regional governments to skirt the law. The time between arrest and ‘deportation’ appears to have been reduced to the time for travel between the arrest point and the local airport. The RSS will then bundled a person on tan airplane and take them elsewhere.
Do we know the parameters for the scope of operation of the RSS?
Can the RSS jus grab Caribbean citizens and send them all over the globe?
Are we just following the CIA manual? Please note that liberties that we would take with our citizens in the Caribbean cannot be done to US citizens in the US.
Surely you recognize that this type of extradition is the first step of disappearances and possible torture. I am all for being tough on crimes and criminals, but when it looks as if I or any ordinary citizens will be caught in the trap I am opposed to it. What if I am walking aroung in T&T and someone stamps the word criminal on my picture? Just so, I am off the street and on my way elsewhere.
Gas 2: CARICOM Arrest Warrant Treaty of 2017
It amuses me that we have extradition treaties, but a group sat down and came up with this so call treaty.
This sentence in the treaty scares me
“3. Where an applicable offence is listed in Annex II, the double criminality of such an offence need not be verified by the Executing Participating Member in order to give rise to surrender pursuant to the Treaty.”
Now I am no lawyer, but I know a dog catcher cannot just grab every dog off of the street and whisk it away? We already had extradition treaties, but here they come with this watered down mash that, in effect, allows them to slap a label on you, tell it to next government, whisk you off the street and send you anywhere. Such things are essential components of disappearances and torture
It puzzles me how these folks who are mostly inept at drafting legislation could expertly come up with treaties that erodes the rights of their citizens. I am all for being tough on crimes and criminals, but when it looks as if I or any ordinary citizens will be caught in a trap I am opposed to it.
Like hell, get tough on crime but don’t get tough on me.
What nonsense!!
The ONLY interest here is to ensure that there is some money to be made by parasite lawyers.
If a citizen of a country runs into conflict with the legal authorities of his own country, how the Hell does it make sense for Barbados to get into that family affair?
Unless this was an enemy country – or at least one known to infringe human rights of its citizens, what actually happened makes the most sense of all the other proposed scenarios.
The ONLY damn problem has been the initial petty and unprofessional reaction of the Trini Judge – whose impartiality seems questionable, given that he as yet have no evidence of all the facts.
Even stinking Bushy on the damn Blocks can see that if we encourage this kind of inter-island evasion from the LEGAL arms of the law of various countries, it will only encourage the various gang retribution methodologies to follow and extract their own ILLEGAL ‘justice’ here in brassbados.
Steupsss…
ANY legally wanted CARICOM national located ANYWHERE in a member country, should be subject to immediate arrest and repatriation.
Extradition Bushy’s donkey!!… wuh he is a Bajan?
Lotta shiite!!
@Bush Tea
Should Ambassador Coomisiong apologize for introducing the red herring Caricom Extradition Treaty into the conversation?
Oh dear!
I am surprise that Bushie does not see that we are already sliding on a slippery slope. I am all for extraditing criminals, but some legal process must be followed.
Citizen rights cannot be assigned based on criminality. You cannot have one set of rules for ‘criminals or ‘alleged criminals’ and a next set of rules for the good guys.
Labels should not be a criteria for the rights an individual has. If applied incorrectly/mischievously/maliciously, then a ‘good guy’ could find himself being transported (as a criminal) to a next location.
What make this even worse, is that these regional governments have the RSS involved in the mix. This opens more dimensions to a simple extradition.
To lighten things
Rodney Dangerfield
Once I was kidnapped and they sent a piece of my finger to my father.
He said he wanted more proof 🙂
Who cares what Comissiong said?
Or even what the shiite LAW actually says?
COMMON sense dictates that where a citizen of a CARICOM country is LEGALLY wanted by authorities of HIS country, it would be FOOLISH for us to initiate a set of stupid legal procedures, whose ONLY benefit would be to allow shiite lawyers to extract some fat fees.
Can you not see how all kinds of crime figures would ‘arrive’ here to benefit from the ten-year period it would take to get through our ‘mock’ courts… while evading their due meeting with justice at HOME?
Can you not foresee that various ‘hitmen’ would then seek to come here to extract their own brand of ‘justice’ on our new residents?
Obviously if we were talking about Tdad seeking to extradite a BAJAN citizen, (…or perhaps even a T&T citizen who was RESIDENT in Bim) it may be an issue, But this is a Trini family affair, and his donkey is best packed off to POS ASAP.
The idea of this ‘protecting personal rights’ is laughable… especially coming from shiite lawyers who even refuse to have their Clients Accounts audited.
…perhaps personal rights for lawyers to extract some T&T dollars
@Bush Tea
All involved seem to have willingly accepted some blame in the matter. That being the case we should expect someone to be held accountable in Barbados?
David, you MUST have worked it out by now…
These people are all a bunch of clueless jokers who are operating by hunches and guesses.
Their ONLY guidance is the expected PR impact as indicated by public sentiment. This is why they need Petra and his polls…
Their RESPONSES are therefore determined by ‘what causes the least kickback?’ – NOT BY WISDOM AND COMMONSENSE.
A bunch of NAKED Emperors dressed in ‘most honorable’ robes ..that are made of nothingness…
You only need to replay video of those many shiite meetings held during the COVID idiocy to see how ‘convincingly IGNORANT’ our leaders really are…at ALL levels, and this applies way BEYOND Brassbados.
Can we on BU at least try to ensure a degree of COMMON SENSE when assessing the various issues?
This will REQUIRE ignoring ALL official speak, as well as those many others who ‘know not, and know not that they know not…’
How could it POSSIBLY be useful to encourage fugitives to come to Barbados to evade LAWFUL apprehension in their HOME country?
…no matter what ANY shiite treaty may say…
@Bush Tea
For too long we have the Bar, Police force and others that operate under a law to itself? Does the Police Complaints Authority work for example? There is a structural problem to do with our governance system.
For too long we have ….
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Have you considered that the common denominator in all this has been a general adherence to a set of shiite laws written by our known-to-be-dishonest lawyers?
Have you noted that the COMMON tread in ALL our Laws is that the lawyers benefit ….whatever the outcome?
Have you ever considered what the result COULD be if these laws were conceived with the BEST RESULTS for the general society instead?
Do you REALLY think it is hard to solve the ZR ‘problem’? …or is it ‘hard’ to address this WITHOUT taking bread from hungry lawyers mouths…?
If we allow lawyers to keep on planting their selfish crops, how the sow-and-sow can WE seriously expect to reap anything other than the jobby we have been getting ‘for far too long…’?
In the race to the bottom, T&T leads in corruption.