Former Minister Donville Inniss

The blogmaster couldn’t avoid the noise generated in the local newsfeed covering the return of former member of parliament Donville Inniss. Inniss was incarcerated in the United States for breaking money laundering laws and suffered the embarrassment of being deported last weekend.

Inniss served his time and is free to continue with his endeavours in idyllic Barbados, UNLESS, local authorities intend to prosecute a matter that originated in Barbados. There is a good chance local authorities will allow the Inniss matter to die in the spirit of a few protecting the many which is the mantra of the political directorate.

The blogmaster will not judge the Don except to say many are not as convinced of his innocence as he is.. It would be in the interest of local authorities to give Donville his day in a local court so that he can expose the lies of the ‘pale face people and house niggas’ he referred to in his home coming media orchestrating. 

Barbadians should keep in memory that another local, Alex Tasker has an extradition matter pending – if successful – has the potential to shed additional light on the matter as it relates to how local actors assisted in the crime Inniss was convicted in the USA. The fight against extradition by Alex Tasker a former local employee of ICBL and Ingrid Innes former CEO domiciled in Canada have the potential to keep Inniss in the unfavourable glare of the public for some time. 

Commonsense suggests the political ambition of Donville Inniss has been extinguished. However, the blogmaster joins with concerned Barbadians to fuss against the inability of the political establishment to materially commit to rooting white collar corruption. Do not bother to refer to Barbados’s standing on the Transparency Index, a measure based on a perception shaped by players who are mainly responsible for the current state of affair.

On a related note the blogmaster read about the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) meeting advertised, a joint zonal meeting today (26 March 2023) with former candidates Michael Lashley, David Estwick and Neil Marshall promoted to speak. Sometimes so much more can be conveyed by simply making and observation without commenting.

In God we trust!

323 responses to “Donville Inniss Victim or Criminal?”

1. @BushGriot, other than your whimsical musings where has any national leadership been “… HEAD HUNTED, interviewed (for the desired qualities AND EXPERIENCE), ….AND also REQUIRED to resign if their performance do not meet the requirements set.”????
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Dribbles, it is always difficult to argue with you – mainly because Bushie tends to not get your points….

Are you then ONLY able to assimilate a concept where you can be shown it to be already in existence? Do you understand notions such as CREATIVITY & INNOVATION? Trailblazing?

…too besides, if you check, you will find that a large majority of SUCCESSFUL large (especially multi-national) organizations do EXACTLY that…

Only idiots draw lots (or poll mendicant BBs) to determine the quality of their leadership – and therefore, their future…

2. The local defense of pro Inniss/political directorate is that what Inniss did is embedded in how business is done in Barbados.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Don’t you feel ASHAMED to even repeat that…?

3. David, a complaint from ICBL, not “a member of the public.”

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

Didn’t the DI defence team seek to claim the “bribery was a norm in Barbados”, which was disallowed in a pretrial motion.
    Didn’t DI in his lengthy sentencing address, reinforce that political donations are not subject to any laws in Bdos.
    In other words, whether the funds were a bribe, or a political donation, neither were contrary to ‘Barbadian norms’, hence no crime was committed, the money was clean.

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOLLLL…re “Are you then ONLY able to assimilate a concept where you can be shown it to be already in existence? Do you understand notions such as CREATIVITY & INNOVATION? Trailblazing?”

My brother, I have many smart friends (successfully so) who have raved about some of my “creativity and innovation” idea making … but alas, those ideas went on create diddly-squat! 😎😒🤣

So yes I know lots about that … but I also know that until an idea is birthed, has a life and reaches some degree of success that it signifies NOTHING !

Comparing what happens in the business world with politics is an absolute non-starter, period so I will not entertain that folly!

I suspect YOU know all of that quite well too. 😎 I gone.

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, I said it when this was raised previously and I say it again: what Inniss did is embedded in how business is done in Barbados and around the world PARTICULARLY in the US.

I will not repeat my screed about the US statue (Foreign Corrupt Practices’ Act) but suffice to say that MANY individuals are accused under that law and as the blogger @Northern summarized the same foreign practices are NOT generally criminalized as strongly locally within the US.

This is NOT to excuse our corrupt practices … rather it’s to say ‘how dare you kettle, condemn me the pot about how the heat affects me when you refuse to clean yourself’!

7. @ David,

I hope you will give us regular updates on the persecution of Tasker and Ingrid

8. @Bush Tea

It is important to state the idiotic claim to expose the idiocy confronting the nation.

9. @Artax

Given the gravity of the matter would it be so difficult so to do?

10. There was reference to a 1928 law whatever that means.

11. @Hants

IF the matter goes to trial BUT do they have Inniss’ local profile?

12. Three people were accused of committing a crime in Barbados while working in Barbados.

One went to jail for two years.

13. @Hants

The one that went to jail made a stupid mistake in the US jurisdiction. We wait on the extradition process to be determined.

14. Bush Tea on April 5, 2023 at 10:47 AM said:

The local defense of pro Inniss/political directorate is that what Inniss did is embedded in how business is done in Barbados.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Don’t you feel ASHAMED to even repeat that…?

Who would permit Donville’s defense attorneys to make that submission other than Donville himself?

… and in so making that submission weren’t they and by extension Donville admitting guilt?

Sometimes people get too complicated.

Reminds me of the story an owner of a stolen bobcat told me after the Police located the stolen property working on a construction site next door to a Police Station.

When the case was called in the Magistrate’s court the thief decided to represent himself and cross examined the owner. Since the thief knew he had taken the bobcat in the dead of night and there was no way he could have been identified by the owner he asked him ” Were you able to see me well enough to identify me when I took the bobcat”

The Magistrate looked at the owner and the owner looked at the Magistrate.

The Magistrate brought down the gavel and said “Guilty” and told the owner go home.

15. “The local defense of pro Inniss/political directorate is that what Inniss did is embedded in how business is done in Barbados.”

Can anyone see the similarities between the 2 Dons who were banged up to rights when they both thought they were above the law and had big head egos

Sounds like a new BU thread should be made on this theme

16. The difference is that to date, one Don is yet to be proven guilty of any crime and this recent indictment filed yesterday looks like i will be summarily dismissed in short order.

Another one bites the dust!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rY0WxgSXdEE

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, and isn’t it beyond the imagination that in that same jurisdiction another fellow also created a false invoice for services not provided and although his payee (just like Inniss) has been convicted … the payer like Tasker and the CEO have avoided any conviction!

Note that the company CFO (and Comp) was not convicted for THIS matter re Daniels.

In sum, it’s business as usual all bout de place and any indictments are always determined by a prosecutor who has an eye to political patronage.

18. @Hants

The prime minister’s plea was interesting. It suggests roadblocks from some quarters in the public service hierarchy maybe blocking the process?

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, why do you perceive the delays are coming from within the ‘army of occupying’ civil servants!

There are legitimate reasons why criminal cases will be delayed as in particular the investigatory process to validate the evidence, affirm witnesses and such can be lengthy.

But despite all the realities facing a under-manned, under-equipped police and forensics teams there is still every reason to expect a small jurisdiction like ours to move MOST criminal cases quickly through the system.

Some processes I believe have already been done or are being done like providing more resources in court to facilitate less “long-hand recording” by magistrates/judges and sanctions on delays from the judge.

And more can always be done to reduce the ridiculous high frequency adjournments nonsense which can be due to lawyers schedules (often BS feigned) and issues with the accused or witnesses.

So in my little corner it seems to me that a focused and determined effort by any sitting government to crack the whip and too offer the carrot by assigning a Criminal Justice Efficiency Officer and team to police the process and remove road blocks would clear a lot of those occupying forces big time!

Just saying.

20. @Dee Word

The PM mentioned the need for the Registrar to implement better case management.

21. My mother and now her estate has 22 outstanding cases dating from 2002 contributing to the backlog!!

They are not delayed because of case management or too few judges or inefficient or insufficient staff.

They have been willfully delayed by the powers that be because there is an inconvenient truth which won’t go away.

This simple truth will set all free but the problem is real people may end up in jail!!

Too many crooks spoil the broth.

22. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

But as we saw recently the US is there to give salvation … so as with Donville’s comeuppance in Miami so too your 22 case backlog was suitably ‘trumped’ by that impressive $260 million plus judgement!

That’s a win — so the backlogs tho important are ideally less frustratingly as daunting – assuming your attorney was ready to ‘lien’ on the assets of your opponents to pay that big damages award.

There are others of us who either never got our cases to court or still waiting for a lil berry from judgements long done.

23. I was mocked by several members of the BU family whilst, recently, referencing the ICIJ report from several years ago. I registered my surprise and disgust at the disproportionate high number of Barbados entities listed under the ICIJ findings.

I pointed out my suspicions of Guyana’s proposal to twin with Barbados to establish a “Gold Hub” via Barbados with its capacity to draw tourists – especially via the cruise route.

Here is part 3 of the Aljazeera expose of the Zimbabwe gold mafia. There are clear parallels to be drawn both actual and potentially should Barbados go down the “Gold Hub” route.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2023/4/6/merchantingthe-code-word-for-the-gold-mafias-plunder

24. @ David

Perhaps the ICBL heirachy believe Donville’s conviction was enough to permanently close the issue.
    And, I’m sure you’re aware that many financial institutions prefer to deal with matters relating fraud, internally, rather than involving the police.

I’ve read a contribution on another thread, in which its author seemed to have attributed certain comments to the AG he apparently did not make.
    That Marshall said, “the police don’t practice law that can lead the to arrest of a the corrupt, they only practice theory.”

Although I disagree with most of what Marshall said relative to the investigation of fraud, if he actually made the comment attributed to him, he is essentially correct that police officers do not practice law.

25. @Artax

A valid observation.

26. Looks like the Democrats are in for a surprise!!

What goes around comes around!!

27. TLSN on April 6, 2023 at 6:22 PM said:

I was mocked by several members of the BU family whilst, recently, referencing the ICIJ report from several years ago. I registered my surprise and disgust at the disproportionate high number of Barbados entities listed under the ICIJ findings.

I did not mock you, I gave you the numbers, you ask HA.

How can one man direct 40,000 companies?

Yet, last time I heard that was the number given for the top dawg here..

I also told you having been to the Privy Council that the rot goes all the way up to there because alot of the companies are British!!

You will have nothing and be happy!!

Globalists’ mantra.

28. @ John,
    I was not referring to you. I had read your post from earlier. The question we should be asking ourselves is why are/were there so many companies (majority foreign owned) attracted to registering their companies in Little England?

29. @ David

Allow me to explain.

Six (6) months training at RPTC does not qualify police officers to practice law.
    Recruits are taught self defense, but they do not earn a ‘black belt’ designation upon ‘passing out’ (graduating) from training school.

Although police prosecutors prosecute minor cases in Court, they are not ‘practicing lawyers.’ They have not been admitted to the Bar, but received the requisite legal training, thereby qualifying them to adequately perform those functions.
    Similarly, an EMT/paramedic can provide initial healthcare, he is not a doctor and therefore cannot practice medicine.

‘Ranks’ may have law degrees and even been admitted to the Bar. However, they cannot practice law within the scope of their authority as police officers.
    Former policemen Allison Seale and Elswood Watts, for example, were police prosecutors before becoming lawyers and joining the DPP’s Office.
    Former Inspector of Police, George Bennett and Sgt. Andrew Willoughby went into private practice after becoming lawyers.
    Former COP Orville Durant and Darwin Dottin are qualified lawyers, having obtained their LLCs.

Remember, there is a reason why the DPP’s Office exists.

30. @ David

Additionally, it is true Barbadian law enforcement officers have, over the years, benefitted from training or courses facilitated by international law enforcement agencies.

As you may be aware, criminals are becoming more innovative and their ‘modus operandi,’ sophisticated.
    Training is provided to keep officers abreast of the changing dynamics of crime, criminal behaviour etc.
    As such, courses, for example, may focus on investigation techniques, forensic science, computer forensics, firearms, dealing with gangs, domestic violence, hostage negotiation, fraud investigations, narcotics etc.

The SSU may undergo anti-terrorism training.

These are just a few examples.

31. Six (6) months training at RPTC does not qualify police officers to practice law.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Artax
    Are you not falling for the hype?
    What practice what Law what?!!?

Any jackass who can read and understand language can “practice law”.
    So what stops a police officer from reading legislation and following the dictates – with some basic guidance that can be honed with training and support?

The BEST ‘practitioner of law around is very possibly Caswell – and he ain’t no damn lawyer. (The second best is known to all of us, and she ain’t have no LEC 🙂 )
    Meanwhile, the lotta ‘qualified’ lawyers bout here are more interested in practicing how to keep their donkeys out of Dodds, than in following the (generally) clear dictates of the damn legislation…

One of the BIG problems with brassbados is this deference to shiite lawyers and assuming that they know best… Bunch of damn crooks!!

Steupsss…
    Bushie dreams EVERY DAY of an introduction of MANDATORY audits of ALL client accounts – so that we can hustle their collective legal donkeys up to Dodds….

32. TLSN on April 6, 2023 at 8:16 PM said:

@ John,
    I was not referring to you. I had read your post from earlier. The question we should be asking ourselves is why are/were there so many companies (majority foreign owned) attracted to registering their companies in Little England?

Go to CAIPO website and “Search our Databse”

https://caipo.gov.bb/search-our-database/#db-list-div

Down at the bottom start the search by just putting in Gold to find how many companies have Gold in their names.

Put your business eye on the names and then got to ICIJ to find out who is involved in the companies and when they were started.

Here is a printscreen.

https://files.catbox.moe/wdm93m.jpg

33. TLSN

I was just getting a little sport.

34. I looked at some of those companies and seem to remember reading in one or two that the purpose seemed iffy.

I remember thinking what gold does Barbados have?

It is the names in the ICIJ database that will give pause for reflection.

35. Bush Tea, I am aware of what you ‘said’…… and even Court cases of some ‘career criminals’ during which they either successfully or unsuccessfully defended themselves. They’ve also offered legal advice to other inmates. However, that is irrelevant. My comments were influenced by a particular discussion, the ‘historical context’ of which you purposely ignored, to pounce upon them, ‘Bushie style-lee, a-lee, a-lee.’

36. But, Bush Tea, after all, you done know I ‘have a propensity to talk runny shiite.’ Perhaps if I decide to peruse ‘The Guardian’ or ‘Ajazeera’ to juxtapose corruption in other countries to any occurrences in Barbados, may change your perspective.

37. DLP ‘in crisis’

Political scientists warn of leadership issues
    by COLVILLE MOUNSEY
    colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY (DLP) is going through another crisis of leadership and it is manifested in the latest public spat between the old guard and the new.
    This is the view of political scientist Peter Wickham, who is also predicting that the party’s president, Dr Ronnie Yearwood is in for several leadership fights in the coming months.
    However, fellow academic in the field, Dr George Belle, told the Daily Nation that the development was yet another wake-up call for the party to be honest about its reasons for its failings in the last two General Elections as well as the need to properly rebuild.
    Wickham said that until the leadership issue is settled, the party is going to continue to struggle.
    “The DLP is still in a situation where they are looking for the messiah. No one has presented themselves as such and therefore anyone that emerges and does not appear to be the messiah will be cannibalised. This is what would have
    happened to [former president] Verla De Peiza, to [former Prime Minister] Freundel Stuart and that is what is going to happen to Dr Yearwood now. This is going to continue until the DLP identifies the messiah, the party will continue to spin wheels and the internal wrangling will continue until someone is identified that could lead them to the promise land,” Wickham said.
    He added: “Dr Yearwood needs to ready himself for several leadership challenges. Unless a leader is able to put you in Government, he is going to face challenges. He is going to face challenges until the party identifies the person they believe can return them to power.”
    Last Sunday, during a DLP zonal meeting of the St Lucy and St Peter constituencies at Big Don Bar, Benthams, St Lucy, general secretary Steve Blackett spoke about a small “cabal” within the DLP which he said was sowing indiscipline in the party. He added that senior members were presenting themselves as “mischiefs in chief”. The comment prompted a response from fomer DLP president Verla De Peiza, who expressed disappointment that the party is airing its dirty laundry in public.
    Level of preparedness
    However, Belle contended that the issue had less
    to do with leadership and more about the party being honest about their level of preparedness ahead of the 2022 General Election, during which they lost all 30 seats for a second successive general election.
    “The DLP has not spoken to the issue of not being prepared. They did not say in an honest way that they were not ready. If this was understood, there would have been no need to change the leadership after the defeat in 2022. Instead, the party came from a self-righteous position of questioning how the great DLP could have been beaten so badly again. The then leadership of Verla De Peiza accepted this narrative and surrendered. The issue of leadership should have come later based on how much the party has recovered,” Belle explained.
    “This is how an interloper was able to slip through. Dr Yearwood has no political authenticity and that is why there is problem now because his presence is a dishonest solution to the leadership. Therefore, this situation has now hit home to some factions in the party that have now realised that he has no credentials to just come to the party and go straight to the leadership,” he stressed.

38. Donville – political culture, democratic change

THE NEWS OF THE RETURN to a hero’s welcome of fawning supporters for former Minister of Commerce in the last Democratic Labour Party (DLP) administration, Donville Inniss, following his sentencing for a felony related to money laundering in a United States prison, provides a useful platform for examining the relationship between political culture and institutional and democratic development in our Caribbean.
    This is important, because often when our constitutional reformers propose recommendations for strengthening democratic accountability and anti-corruption safeguards, they often focus on the formal institutional mechanisms while ignoring the political culture around which these institutional frameworks are to be constructed.
    Typically, our reformers emphasise issues such as “integrity in public life” legislation, or the strengthening of the offices of the Ombudsman and the Accountant General, and related measures.
    However, if the institutional framework represents the skeleton on which hangs the body politic, then the political culture is the soul itself.
    It is clear that these institutional measures are pointless without the accompanying shifts in the “heart and soul” of the nation – the political culture. You cannot pour new wine into old wineskins.
    It is for these reasons that the hints to our political culture which have been revealed by Donville’s hero’s welcome must be fully processed as lessons for advancing good governance and democratic evolution in the Caribbean.
    A ray of hope
    Two features become immediately apparent in the Donville hero’s welcome moment. The first is the evidence of public desensitisation to issues associated with corruption as a national “problem”.
    The second is the persistence of party paramountcy as a defining feature of how we see the world, which trumps any larger commitment to good governance.
    When these two features are factored into the current moment of the “catspraddling” of the DLP in two consecutive elections, it can be understood why under its weakened state, the return of Donville would appear as a ray of hope for the DLP and would not allow for a shift to a higher level of governance.
    Such moments of qualitative shifts to a more sophisticated political culture require leadership from the front. They are not ushered in by political commentators who conveniently hide behind the legal fact that “he did not break any laws in Barbados” and is not debarred from re-entering political life.
    Ultimately, however, the responsibility for ushering a new political culture from the Inniss saga resides with Inniss himself. A Mandela
    moment was required. Instead of glorying in the adulation of his welcoming fans, Inniss could have made a more profound contribution to political development by declaring himself retired from public office, not because he broke any laws in Barbados, but on the basis that his recent incarceration in the US might be too high a leap to invite the Barbadian people to make. Remember, politics is a one-way street.
    Tennyson Joseph is a political scientist at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, specialising in regional affairs.

39. Morning Artax
    You are a person of immense influence.
    Bushie just wants to ensure that you are not inadvertently giving comfort to legal donkeys by any suggestions of intellectual exclusivity for this warped profession, that appears to be devoid of ANY professional ethics.

..and BTW, influential or not, you DO have an inclination to spew ‘soft shaving cream’ from time to time, usually in your efforts to reinforce minor points of fact…

Bushie is a big picture BB, so all such minutiae is relative jobby

40. Morally Bankrupt Avatar
    Morally Bankrupt

“However, if the institutional framework represents the skeleton on which hangs the body politic, then the political culture is the soul itself.”
    :: ::
    “They are not ushered in by political commentators who conveniently hide behind the legal fact that “he did not break any laws in Barbados” and is not debarred from re-entering political life.”

The institutional framework was passed down by corrupt Slavemasters who committed the biggest crime to humanity and were morally bankrupt in all they did

to say Donville didn’t break any laws is like saying Slavery wasn’t illegal

With or without “laws” people’s asses can still be busted on tort for the damage done. There is no place in politics for the bum. Fuck him.

41. @ David
    Boss, you really re-posted that shiite by Mounsey doh?

When these lazy newspeople badly need something to print they pick up the phone and call Petra – who is the single person most-in-crisis in brassbados…

Every damn body and their cousins know that the DLP is in crisis.
    AS is the BLP…
    and the church,
    and business,
    and the people…
    and the mediocre press,
    but most of all is the Frenchie wife Petra.

BUT…
    What are the SOLUTIONS…? …is what we need to hear..

Waste of space article….

42. @Bush Tea

Unsure in a country with scores of political commentators traditional media is driven to seek out political comments from the same talking heads.

43. But even that would be OK …if the particular ‘talking head’ was known to be usually correct, ..or had a history of personal success, ..or was at least ‘normal’, .. and hence reflective of the general brass bowl society..
    BUT….
    none of the above…..????!!
    Shiite!!
    The criterion seems to be that this talking head is in urgent need of relevance….
    WTH!!

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, we can all agree with the professor that Donville’s triumphant return “provides a useful platform for examining the relationship between political culture and institutional and democratic development in our Caribbean” but what amazes me are some of his reasonings.

These are no “hints to our political culture which have been revealed by Donville’s hero’s welcome”. Absolutely not.

HINTS … that mindset has been in FULL bloom for most of the last 20 years or more: the paramountcy of the party; the cult of personality and the blasé attitude towards corrupt acts!

Politics is as much about ‘popularity’ as it is about displaying an ability to lead and represent the views of your constituents thus the notoriety of a prison sentence (in certain situations like this one) can propel a candidate just as much as it may topple him!

I would also note that corruption has been repeatedly desensitized by often perplexing rulings from courts (particularly in US: see case Gov McDonnell of Virginia) and lax legislation… so Inniss may have a ‘moral’ duty to step back based on his conviction but if constituents still consider him as suitable despite his flaws then who are we to disparage him that honor.

And If that’s all the DLP can do to salvage themselves then woe betides them, not so!

45. @Dee Word

How do you respond to a view that an ambivalent reception by some of Donville’s homecoming has more to do with a weak DLP and current leadership?

46. I was not invited.

47. shady smug Donville Avatar
    shady smug Donville

If shady smug Donville truly believes that he was merely employing loopholes as there were ways around lobbying transparency rules required by MPs to disclose hospitality, he should refer himself to the parliamentary standards commissioner to investigate his conduct, so he can clear up his name … as he is being investigated already anyway he has fuck all to lose

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

In a simple sense yes that true re “a view that an ambivalent reception by some of Donville’s homecoming has more to do with a weak DLP and current leadership” but isn’t it also a truism of political life here in the Caribbean and in fact also other places!

Looka, there can be no question that the DLP is rudderless (two 0-30 shellackings would send any political party adrift)! But what we saw with Inniss has been displayed throughout the years when scandal scarred politicians were resoundingly acclaimed by their constituents and also when a depleted party reverted to badly bruised popular personalities to be a savior!

So I find no reason to get overly excited or overworked by Donville’s reception … after all, the man was considered to be of PM timbre by some.

Moreover, every Bajan knows of the corrupt, scandal plagued nature of our politics … I mean hasn’t our PM herself been allegedly one-step removed from sexual assault charges on at least two occasions; wasn’t she dismissed from a ministerial appointment allegedly based on serious ‘conflict of corruption’ charges.

So let’s be serious and see Inniss’s reception in the simple human terms in which it unfolded and stop reading too much about his re-embrace to the Dem leadership.

Based on what that party has wrought thus far, if they elect a convicted ‘money launderer’ to be in a leadership role in their party then it says a lot about what they think of the man and that they believe they can WIN a government with him at the helm.

The remarkably strange thing is it’s quite possible that could actually happen…. I personally wouldn’t bet on it tho!