On the 29 th of July 2022 on the floor of the Senate Minister of Tourism Lisa Cummins during wind up on Resolution: Special Loans Act, Cap. 105 – Scotland District Road Rehabilitation made a surprising revelation. At about 2hrs. 12 mins into the video Cummins explained that a loan agreement with China in 2017 included a condition which exposed Barbados sovereign assets to China in the event there was a default by the government of the day.
A few days later former Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy – who was in office during 2017 – issued a robust denial to what Cummins stated. Quoting Sealy’s rebuttal:-
There is nothing in the agreement about any airport or seaport being [claimed] in the case of default.
I do not know where that young lady got her information. I do not know if she is being misguided . . . [but it is] absolute total rubbish,” he said.
The former minister of tourism added that the agreement was regarding the Sam Lord’s Castle Hotel Project. He said the arrangement with COMPLANT (the China National Complete Plant Import Export Corporation) was for the project to be a discreet one which could stand on its own.
The Government (then) was determined not to have a repeat of the HRL (Hotels & Resorts Limited)/Gems of Barbados fiasco so there was an exit plan where as soon as we completed the job, the private sector would come in and do what they had to do, which is exactly what this Government is doing,
Source: Nation Newspaper
The blogmaster is unaware the public has been satisfied what is the truth in the matter raised. No documents have been made public as far as the blogmaster is aware to satisfactorily clarify the matter. What is the purpose of our existence if our leaders cannot do so with integrity. What is the purpose of a democracy if people remain silent.
“Dah Barbados Today link catspraddled a lotta the spouters.”
so how much of the Chinese beggar loans did the link pay off….NONE, THAT’S HOW MUCH…..
..wunna still got de debt…..and STILL LYING…..about all the details….POST THE FULL CONTRACT….it should be public knowledge..
so how many are going to get LAID OFF like fowl eggs….4 thousand……6 thousand….or 10,000 civil servants….ah know ya got at least 25, 000….so a few thousand here and there won’t matter.
10K is not too far from half though….ya tink they will fall for dat one.
Wait Enuff the link the mad woman vlsimed was found and posted? No wonder dome of them gone silent.Just like some on Brasstacks calling for senator cummins redignation based just on Mr Sesly, s clsim aided and abetted by some brasstacks dem moderators like Dr Hinds, Mr Blackman, Mr Murray and Mr Wilkinson.It will not help the dems as it id the dame 20 callers calling brasdtacks everyday and the few on here.Perhaps they should tell us which country they ever run.Most never run anything yet but their mouths.I gone.
Don’t they all DISGUST YOU…..all the shit they called conspiracy theory is EXPOSED for everyone to LAUGH AT THEM AT……they thought they were being SO CLEVER…and within DAYS…..bam…..evating out dere…..
now SHAME got them, they are too stupid to feel it, they don’t know what to say..
..but there is more….give it a week and watch it all LEAK OUT…
the lying, laughingstock fowls…
Perhaps they should tell us which country they ever run.Most never run anything yet but their mouths.I gone.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Sorry to disappoint this fool however Barbados is run and managed by the white man IMF.
Norris the johnnie come lately i doubt you live bout here but had not for the debt restructuring in 2018 and borrowing from places like the IMF npne of us might not be here.Covid set back most counttries and it is still with us.Therefore with lityle tourist coming in during that period where would the money have come from to sustain social services especially running the hospital, old people,s pensions and medications, running of buses and garbage trucks etc.As well as keeping businesses open so that people could still earn a living to feed their families .All of these things were done after the mess the dems left in 2018 and the challenges this government faced with cpvid, the hurricsne, the st vincent volcano eruption, the freak storm etc.In other words problems after problems and we still standing.Trll us einsyein if we dif not borrow where the hell would we be today? My advice to you if you don, t live bout here spend some time here to vet a dose of reality not second hand information.I gone.
@Lorenzo,
In your robust response to Norris, you have ticked all the usual boxes and have added a few.
Your opening ball was rather predictable:
“doubt you live bout here……..”
Like Peter Pan, you appear comfortable residing in La La Land.
xxxxxxxxxxxxx
He is used to playing in shit and calling it chocolate.
All the locals are living happy as the shit stirrer would have it to be told.
Barbados the plantation is the laughing stock joining Jamaica, Guyana and T & T firmly in the hands of the white man slave master IMF.
The modern day slave master
“He is used to playing in shit and calling it chocolate.”
all ya gotta do is ask the fowl ….
where is the billion dollars in VAT THAT WAS STOLEN from the people AND WRITTEN OFF..
where is the 1/2 MILLION some say more. in taxes written off for tax cheats…
where are the BILLIONS MISSING FROM THE TREASURY AND PENSION FUND/NIS..
then ya can predict what the Slave will say next…..”i gone”
Norris you sound a lot like Waru msybe you are one in the same.All talk about black and white mumbo jumbo and white slave master.However you have avioded responding to what i have stated in relstion to where the money would come from to provide the socoal services needed from africa? You are a joker and comedian just like the mad women Waru and TLSN and the peice of politician Skinner.Keep living on utophia wherever you come from.I gone.
TheO,
What “track record”does Yearwood have besides the usual talk????????
@Donna,
First let me state that you have been making some sensible and excellent statements.
As I mentioned one name I will mention another. “The A guy” is usually on point and accurate.
How do you measure a track record? The ridiculous and pointless 30-0 has limited the contribution that others outside of Mama Mia and her 40 thieves (that includes the army of consultants) can provide.
Ronnie O, with this limitations has been doing an excellent job. in highl;ighting possible missteps or different directions that can be taken. We all have to start somewhere and we have to play the cards that we are dealt. Ronnie O is taking the his hand and making it a winner.
All politicians, incl;uding the great Mi and her 30 accomplices had to start somewhere. Don’t confuse hot air with a track record.
Hot air and pappyshow
That’s not the way to go
Get it right with Ronnie O
As usual, I am way behind.
I am still trying to get my head around this new land issue.
The GoRoB crew has so many irons in the fire that it is difficult to just keep up.
How on earth can a GoRoB official get on a stage and talk about letters delivered in 2004? Have they no decency, no sense of fairness, no sympathy for those they are about to rob? How can they be so ill-mannered and disrespectful? Do they think they are dealing with animals?
My God! Do they have no shame? Is there no one who can say ” Please, have a spoonful of sugar and use a little Vaseline”
What an insolent and arrogant cast of characters.
A good read
Would suggest you read it before
Lorenzo tell you the author is a dem or
enuff tells you the author is not an economist
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/01/btcolumn-explaining-the-debt-management-strategy-of-the-barbados-labour-party/
I read this thrice and just gave up trying to understand what was said
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/09/30/myers-concerned-falling-british-pound-could-impact-barbados/
TheO’s Summary: Two jokers who had to say something saying nothing. The British pound tanking, so we should get the British visitors to book early.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/09/30/eurowings-clipped/
Chief Executive Officer of the Barbados Tourism Authority (BTA) Dr Jens Thraenhart said Barbados and other countries in the region are faced with the reality that the German airline has cancelled all its Caribbean flights.
This guy is clueless. He states the obvious or utter nonsense.
Gazzerts i fo not usually respond to your nonsense but point us to anything Dr Yearwood has said or done to inspire anyone besides dems like you.This gentleman could not win a nomination in St James South against Ms Husbands got upset and jumped ship to the dems.How the hell he can come up against a political heavyweight like Ms Mottley and win.Stating the obvious and being critical without workable alternatives ain, t going to cut hit.In my view Dr Yearwood will suffer a similar fate to the previous nightwatchman Ms Depeiza.You heard it here first.I gone.
“How on earth can a GoRoB official get on a stage and talk about letters delivered in 2004? Have they no decency, no sense of fairness, no sympathy for those they are about to rob? How can they be so ill-mannered and disrespectful? Do they think they are dealing with animals?”
“Have they no decency”
no they don’t
“Do they think they are dealing with animals?”
yes they do.
..they are beasts who believe they are dealing with animals, always have, give the negro a colonial title, and immediately they look down on their own, believe they have arrived, can then say and do anything without accountability or transparency..
we would not even see any local or foreign whites or others now being targeted if they had not run out of Afrikan descended people to RoB…..
.100 years is very long time to be stealing from a tiny population to pretend that the island is doing well when it’s only a very tiny group of the same generational crooks benefitting with their partners……they were bound to run out of targets…..so now everyone is at risk..
“This guy is clueless. He states the obvious or utter nonsense.”
can you blame him, he was hired by clueless fools to be clueless, that’s his job, well paid too..
a minister or whatever he is, got in public forum and told a group of worried people that he believe letters were sent out in 2004, i believe the same government was in parliament with many faces back then…..it did not even occur to him the disrespect shown in telling them this, when all types of changes can take place in 18 YEARS…that’s what happens when everyone looks like fowls to dumb politicians..
my family could not believe he did that..
i believe the same government was in parliament with many old faces back then and some are still around in this group.
Hopefully St. Lucia will get back its money….from the inhabitants of scamsters paradise..
TheO
I make sensible comments because my only intention is to be sensible.
My beloved son would tell you that if he wants me to back him up, he has to make sure that he is right.
I have always told him that I will not spend my money on lawyers if he is wrong but will visit him faithfully, bearing gifts whenever the prison doors are open to me.
So backing politicians in foolishness is not my bag. But I live in the real world, not some fantasy land where all our wishes are easily granted.
I live in a world where politicians are mere mortals who will sometimes get it right and often get it wrong. I live in a world of competing interests and forces, where humans are flawed and fallible and susceptible to greed and cravings for power and therefore they need to be monitorered, challenged and held to account.
But I do not believe that there is or was any plot by our governments so far to keep black people in their slave positions.
Sorry I didn’t get to complete our discourse on this serious topic but as a reminder – I would like to “REPOST” this expose on the #GUYANAGOV (who for “ALL” intents & purposes) are the most “CORRUPT” of any I have been researching in the Caribbean (with #TT #JamTown & #BIM) in the conga line posse!!! How these “DIRTY, MANGEY, LYING, CORRUPT BASTERDS sleep at night is anybody’s guess!!! Surely, there is reserved an extraordinarily “BURNING” place in “HELL” for these slithering mongrels…
https://youtu.be/sOOFSJqBYTY
@TB
Is there an argument to define most corrupt governments whether overt or covert?
“How these “DIRTY, MANGEY, LYING, CORRUPT BASTERDS sleep at night is anybody’s guess!!! Surely, there is reserved an extraordinarily “BURNING” place in “HELL” for these slithering mongrels…”
don’t forget their equally mangy lying pimps and fowls…..i see there has been a shift in how they are perceived and decisions are being made on how to confront their stinking treachery…
“How these “DIRTY, MANGEY, LYING, CORRUPT BASTERDS sleep at night is anybody’s guess!!! Surely, there is reserved an extraordinarily “BURNING” place in “HELL” for these slithering mongrels…”
HOW CAN THIS BE TRUE?
THE BIBLE TEACHES ABOUT HELL
JESUS TAUGHT ABOUT HELL.
BUT YOU AND THOSE OF YOUR ILK HEY PUN BU SAY THAT BOTH JESUS AND HELL ARE MYTHS.
PLEASE COULD YOU ILLUMINAT AND ILLUCIDATE
“How on earth can a GoRoB official get on a stage and talk about letters delivered in 2004?”
Maybe you should learn the word context. The “guy” also apologised for not re-notyfing the residents of the re-publishing of notices. He didn’t tell them like it or lump it. Geez, tell ALL of the story rather than part.
Context is for some. Nice sounding fairy tales that lulls them to sleep.
Never take context from con men. Their aim is to con-vince as they con-jure up fantastical con-cepts to con-cerned citizens
Apologies are cheap and easy and usually not meaningful.
Some attempt to defraud and when they get caught with their hands in the cookie jar, they apologize and say it was just a concept.
Enuff
A low level official of GoRoB
Responsible for snow job(s)
“Never take context from con men. Their aim is to con-vince as they con-jure up fantastical con-cepts to con-cerned citizens
Apologies are cheap and easy and usually not meaningful.”
that’s the type of la la land they live in…..believing in the power of their own bullshit..
RE that’s the type of la la land they live in…..believing in the power of their own bullshit..
SEEMS A LOT OF FOLK ON BU LIKE THEY LEARNING FROM YOUR ALL DAY, EVERYDAY INCOHERENT INGRUNT, INCURSIONS
William….check it out….
so you get carjack and you callin me, “so wuh yuh wahn me to do bout dah” Barbados’ finest and bravest protecting the people with cowardice…
“In one note, the speaker said when he drove through the area on Saturday night just after 10, a man pointed a laser with a Glock at him, but he was able to escape by accelerating and crouching. He said he called the police emergency number 211 to report the matter, and the officer allegedly asked him ‘what he supposed to do?’
The Barbados Police Service has launched an investigation into two carjacking incidents – one successful – which occurred on Mason Hall Street, The City, on Saturday night.
One man was able to escape, but a man and a woman had their vehicle stolen by a man carrying a Glock with a laser.
News of the incident made the rounds via Whatsapp voice notes, with the man recounting what occurred to him.
In one note, the speaker said when he drove through the area on Saturday night just after 10, a man pointed a laser with a Glock at him, but he was able to escape by accelerating and crouching. He said he called the police emergency number 211 to report the matter, and the officer allegedly asked him ‘what he supposed to do?’
He went to CID to report the matter, and while there, a couple came in stating their car had been stolen in the same area.”
Barbados never had integrity, ethics, moral, scruples or honesty….it was all a criminal act, from a 100 year old crime scene that is only now being seen for what it really is……it was all a DELUSION….a WELL PLANNED ILLUSION that can no longer hide or sustain itself….the masking can no longer work, the CENTER CANNOT HOLD….
This was so well written, i had to share.
“Barbados is not what it used to be.
Ethics, morals, scruples, honesty and altruism no longer exist in our leaders and our institutions.
Friends and family are given jobs and honours they do not deserve, are not qualified for and the taxpayer has to foot the bill.
You ask why would an entity like the (Un)Fair Trading Commission side with the Barbados Light & Power and allow them a rate hike. It is because the big players all have a finger in the pie. The rate hike benefits them all the way to the bank.
Why would government help refurbish a private hospital? Look and see who has shares in Bayview.
Why would a government even entertain the acquisition of private property to hand it over to a private developer when such deed is unconstitutional? Have you ever heard of a “bagman” or “frontman”? Look no further. It is a partnership. When he benefits, she benefits.
How can a member of the judiciary aid and abet an injustice, be under investigation and still get the nod? Selling properties twice, making documents and causing others to disappear. You can smell the corruption.
Those IDs were not supposed to be mandatory remember?
Yet unless you have one you cannot make transactions. Any object that has an RFID chip is traceable. Any time you have to show it when you go somewhere they know where you went, what time you went, where you frequent and what you purchase. A passport is ID internationally under the United Nations guidelines. Keep your ID.
Masks are optional they say….but our children are being compromised at school for almost 6 hours. Are our children now plants that they should be breathing carbon dioxide? What the body wants to get rid of should never be taken back in.
A Jamaican friend just told me that the reason Jamaica had the lowest jab-rate in the English speaking Caribbean and the reason they will not accept the Digital ID is because Jamaicans learned a long time ago not to trust their government. He then went on to say that Barbadians are a trusting people which is why we were chosen to be the ones to test initiatives on.
I felt hurt but realised it was true.
There is an easy solution if we do not want to be taken advantage of.
DO NOT COMPLY. . .SPEAK OUT.
EDUCATE OTHERS…STAND FIRM
Theo
Can’t handle the truth, so resort to calling me names that don’t bother me?
“Why would government help refurbish a private hospital? Look and see who has shares in Bayview.”
an easy question even for the Fowl…..yet it can’t answer…even though there is MORE THAN ONE…
Theo…fowl in the hot seat..
Mount Gay appoints new Managing Director in Barbados
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/10/03/mount-gay-appoints-new-managing-director-barbados/
William….so much is playing out right OVER THEIR HEADS,….
..can’t say i feel any way that most is HIDDEN FROM THEM….
Enuff
A low level official of GoRoB
Responsible for snow job(s)
Don’t be so sensitive. That is not name calling.
@ WURA
They know but just shame to admit it ! They must hear it first from their political masters. Clowns.
Ignore and dismiss.
More to come.
William…….it’s much, much worse than we thought….
Idiots!
When did the government invest in the refurbishment of Bayview? I don’t know much, so I’m asking.
@Enuff
If you are referring to duty free concessions given to inputs on the project, this does not qualify the as government being an investor.
Thanks.
I just checking because I saw claims here of government investing in the refurbishment of Bayview.
Enuff it should be clear this tag team of Skinner, Waru and Gazzerts often do not know or deliberately mislead BU trying to knitpick on anything this government does. This is their strategy i wonder what is the next breaking story the mad woman going to come with? Everything she comes with has blown up in her face.and her sidekick Skinner usually is as quiet as a mouse when she is proven to be a liar.I wonder what they have to say about the latest economic forecast for Barbados.? Poor souls i know they will not be happy.I gone.
@Lorenzo
Here’s my modus operandi. I post a link and then comment as I see it.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/05/tough-penalty/
High court judge talking if being tough but the last judge/magistrate that talk of being tough on illegal guns then gave the ‘criminal’ a pat on the back. Will wait and see what happens.
High court judge talked of being tough. The last judge/magistrate that talked of being tough on illegal guns then gave the ‘criminal’ a pat on the back. Will wait and see what happens.
when will the DUMB FOWL LEARN….a forecast is JUST THAT….
how many have you had in the last 30 years…..and where are you now….
tell ya fantasy to those who are suffering, see if they agree.
Off topic here listening to brasstacks and i would like to know whst is so special about the dem caller Alvin that Ms Jemmott would allow him to speak virtually unchallenged for nera half an hour.The same thing with Mr Wilkinson who i heard stating words to the effect that he set the platform for alvin to go on his attack .Unbelievable.This also hsppens woth Mr Murray , Dr Hinds and Mr Blackman where they allow callers like Mr P, Ms Decided, Rawle, Straker,s , Mr Negative and the same Alvin to get through every day to mostly repest the same comments everyday without calling out them out.Is it that all these moderators dems.This reminds me of Ms Holder and Mr Lovell at CBC.Starcom Network needs to do better when selecting moderators.I gone.
@Lorenzo
The moderators/VOB seem to be bending over to accommodate opposing views because of the imbalance/no balance in the house of assembly. We cannot have a one party space can we.
David Bu that is not their job.The people of Barbados made their decision.Therefore to have moderators allowing persons toake all kind of wild ststements lile Rswle ssying the government unpopular with out producing the evidence to back it up or for another to claim that some people do not get off the criuse dhip but are in the casinos gambling and to hear after that the casinos are closed while the ship is in port.Amother ststing he has no confidence in Dr Greenidge because he did not answer his question.A moderator stating she does not know where the 27 million debt came from.On top of thst allowing these dems to hog the program and talk for as long as they like unchallenged.This could not happen under Mr Johnson, Mr Ellis, Elombe or Tony Marshall.To me this popular show is slowly going to the dogs and better has to be doneThis is how CBC talk ya talk went downhill with Mr Lovell and Ms Holder due in my view to blatant favouritism to the dems 2008 _ 2018.I gone.
@Lorenzo
Is it the moderator to blame of the producer.
@ Pacha & African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved,
I see that Lorenzo continues to sing and tap dance for his next bowl of rice. British journalists have never feared ridiculing their own leaders and politicians. There is at least one BU fowl who having read The Guardian article would have followed it up with the word STUEPSE.
Liz Truss makes Mia look like an Einstein. She will be gone by December!!
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2022/oct/05/liz-truss-conservative-party-conference-speech
Even Lorenzo would struggle to emulate the rag bag comedy performance from the shambolic Conservative annual conference party.
Here’s one the archives Waru.
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/shortcuts/2022/oct/05/dictator-chic-why-did-liz-truss-wear-the-same-outfit-as-a-fictional-fascist
David BU i blame the moderators.Listen to their tone and sttitude when these dems call and compare it with when the supporters of the beed call.Today was a perfect example with Ms Jemmott after allowing Alvin to speak allowed him to hold on until after the news to speak for another 15 minutes unchallenged.However when Tsll Boy a supporter of this government called she proceeded to interupt him to try to throw him off what he was saying. He rightfully protested and more or less called her out.Others stated he was aggressive with her but these were also dems.These in my view dem moderators , Dr Hinds, Mr Murray, Ms Jemmott and Mr Blackman are showing their colours every day and they should be called out on it.I will not worry with the mad woman TSLN out of the UK since her country has more problems than us.Get your house in order before giving any bajan in Barbados advice.I gone.
Why do you listen?
Why give yourself agida?
TLSN October 5, 2022 5:23 PM #: ,”There is at least one BU fowl……”
I can’t believe the above pejorative remark was made by the same individual who recently asked the blogmaster why he allows people to attack each other.