Barbados is currently experiencing another crime wave and to be expected it is being politicized which is part of the problem. How does the crime problem get fixed if family members and friends protect the criminals? Same people who were responsible for giving birth to the very monsters terrorizing the country?
This is an oversimplification of the problem to make a bigger point – observations suggest traditional tactics supported by a slow justice system and ‘not fit for purpose laws’ are being used to tackle the crime challenge. Sensible people know the approach being undertaken by authorities will NOT arrest the problem.
From an enforcement angle BOLD measures have to be taken to send messages to the criminal element of a zero tolerance to crime, especially gun crime.
On the other side of the issue, parents and guardians have to also be held accountable. Many in our neck of the woods will not condone Rodrigo Duterte’s methods, it is bitter but it works based on Philippine’s crime index. The time has come and gone for creative crime fighting solutions to be implemented albeit Barbados’ once pristine reputation ican be found in the toilet.
–Blogmaster
The following comment was posted by BU family member Artax to the Number of Murders On-track to Surpass 2021 blog.
Over the years, we’ve been having discussions on BU about the crime situation in Barbados.
And, there will obviously be attempts by some persons to politicize the situation.I agree with AG Marshall “that the recent spate of killings resulted from gunmen in specific “groups” targeting each other,”…… and not “gangs,” as Trisha Tannis is suggesting.
Marshall would’ve obviously made his observations based on certain intelligence.However, as I mentioned in an October 25th, 2020 12:28 PM contribution to another ‘crime thread,’…… “if one examines the gun crimes carefully, it is evident they were on the rise since 2014 and a gradual increase was expected.”
On November 11th, 2015, an ‘Updated Homicide Study’ by the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit revealed that 42% of the approximately 140 homicides recorded between 2010 and 2014, were as a result of guns…… ‘a trend observed as far back as 1992, and which continued to be the most common method used today.’
Evidence suggests that several persons who died as a result of shooting were not involved in ‘gangs,’ but died as a result of retaliation or revenge, petty ‘beefs’ involving women, drugs money, robberies etc.
For example, November 29th, 2014, 31 year old Ricardo Francois and other men were at bar in Danesbury, Black Rock, when some men got out of a car and started shooting.
Francois was found dead behind the shop, while four other individuals were injured…… one of whom was the son of Ricardo ‘Rick’ Bryan.
On September 1st, 2016, Ricardo ‘Rick’ Bryan, 46, of Black Rock, St Michael, was shot multiple times by three men as he exited his vehicle, outside the Lucky Horseshoe Saloon & Steakhouse in Warrens, St Michael.Forty-four (44) year-old Jerome Oneal ‘Wild Geese’ Bovell of Spring Garden, Black Rock, St. Michael, was shot and killed in Goddings Road, St Stephen’s Hill, Black Rock, St Michael, on June 28th, 2017.
It is alleged Bovell was a ‘hit man’ and responsible for the death of Stephen Leonard Agard, 47 years of #10 Valley, St. George, who, on June 10th, 2017, was shot multiple times while standing outside his vehicle, which was parked on the compound of the old KFC building in Black Rock.I’m sure everyone remembered when a man walked into Sheraton Center Mall, shot and killed 33 year old Damien Trotman, on March 22nd, 2019.
Another fact is, there are ‘hit men’ in Barbados. Men who are willing to kill anyone for cash or drugs.
Information and statistics about crime in Barbados is available to the public, enabling anyone desirous of having a rational discussion on the issue, to do so.
-Artax
The discussion about ‘hitmen’ isn’t anything new.
Former CoP Griffith was reported by the October 9, 2016 edition of the ‘Nation’ as having said, ‘he has no evidence of hitmen being hired to commit murders in Barbados,’
The Thursday, November 19th, 2015 edition of the ‘Nation’ published an article from Jamaica, entitled, “Rise in Contract Killings,” in which that island’s Commissioner of Police, Dr. Carl Williams, expressed concern about the increasing number of murders being carried out by ‘hitmen.’
He revealed police were seeing a new class of hitmen, “who are carrying out contract killings on behalf of persons seeking to get rid of others with whom they have disagreements.”
Interestingly, the authorities in Trinidad and Guyana expressed similar concerns about ‘hitmen’ as well.
In July 2020, then National Security Minister, Senator Hermangild Francis, confirmed murder-for-hire was active in St. Lucia.
A situation, which according to him, was ‘very worrying.’
And, while not new, the problem of ‘hitmen’ on island was becoming more significant.
SVG Police reported that, in the early morning hours of August 7th, 2018, acting on information received, police officers from the Special Patrol and Narcotics Units, conducted a joint operation at a guest house in Lowmans, Leeward, where a Barbadian male, identified as former BDF soldier, Timothy Bancroft, was taken into custody.
The information, which Police believed to be credible, indicated Bancroft visited the island ‘to do a hit,’ but was apprehended before he could commit the crime.
However, the former soldier claimed he was in SVG to buy drugs to return to Barbados.
Bancroft was subsequently charged for conspiracy to commit drug trafficking, to which he pleaded guilty, and was fined EC$4,000 forthwith.
@Artax
Nothing is new however yhe danger is the degree of this activity now compared to years ago. The crime landscape is deteriorating.
Another thing…… contrary to popular belief, similarly to how ordinary Barbadians who are aware of known criminals involved in illegal activities, because they ‘have ears on the ground’ or heard the ‘word on the streets,’ the police are ALSO AWARE.
They are police officers whose specific duties involve the gathering of intelligence, while others are responsible for its compilation.
Some of those same persons who have their ‘ears on the ground,’ are police informants.
Covert human intelligence sources, surveillance, questioning persons who are suspected of committing crimes or police officers going into certain districts to get information, are some of the methods used to gather intelligence.
Bear in mind, although intelligence is derived from information, there is a significant difference between both terms.
Whereas ‘information’ may be simply defined as unevaluated, unverified or unanalyzed data gathered from several sources……
…… ‘intelligence,’ is basically analyzed, evaluated or contexualized data, usually gathered from trusted sources.
I don’t know if you remember, but, a few years ago, the identity of the person who won ‘Police Officer of the Year’ award, at that time, had to be withheld from publication due to the nature of his duties.
Also, I know of a situation involving two officers who protested when they were transferred from performing particular duties to uniformed duties, because they feared being recognized as policemen would’ve placed their lives in jeopardy.
But, the answer to the question, with all the sources of gathering information, ‘why nuh big boys don’t get lock up,’…… is a topic for another discussion.
@Artax
You are correct of course. The blogmaster is aware of police officers working undercover as hotel workers for example. The police force has been intelligence gathering, the issue seems to be the inability to convert to a charge.
The Police are part of the criminal problem.
NTSH
“The Police are part of the criminal problem.
NTSH….”
~~~~~~~~~~
True.
And, so too are persons, who, rather than fulfill their civic duties, would prefer to blame the police, while ‘turning a blind eye,’ and ‘say,’ “NTSH.”
I would make Tannis the CoP
From BT
“As a country, they have told us that we have invested in scanners at ports of entry. It is difficult to think that in an island of 166 square miles that we [don’t] have intelligence that tells us where the issues are, and to our minds the only issue we have is one of accountability.
“We simply have to take action on the intelligence that we have. It would not be easy to convince me that we do not know where the smoking gun is, no pun intended. And we have to get to a stage where regardless of where the smoke is coming from, who it is pointing to, regardless of what sphere of society they may be, we have got to take action,” Tannis insisted during an interview on the Down to Brass Tacks call-in programme on VOB on Monday.
Tannis for AG
I am no lawyer. I am probably what some would call a ‘bleeding heart liberal’ but I would put my intuition about what is fair and respectful up against the AG law degree any day. The AG is an ass.
From BT
“In May 2021, High Court judge Madame Justice Shona Griffith ruled as “unconstitutional”, a section of the Bail (Amendment) Act 2019 that forces the courts to remand persons charged with murder or serious firearm offences for 24 months before they can qualify for bail. The Office of the Attorney General has filed an appeal against that ruling and that matter is still pending.’
The desire to remand people ‘for 24 months before they can qualify for bail’
Is a sign of incompetence. Not convince that they can close the deal, they would seek to punish before going to trial.
You understand the request to remand for 24 months was an attempt to prevent people on bail from committing crimes? It is no secret much of the current unrest/murders involve idiots on bail.
One would think getting money from a lawyer would take a few days, but it can take years or never happens.
Have a trial within a reasonable time and depending on the outcome.. release or jail. Time to stop crying about the slow wheel of injustice. Fix it. We have this expression ‘cut bait or fish’.
Theo….don’t hold your breath,,,,they can’t change course..
these beasts just disenfranchised the entire region’s children and before anyone could,, publicly protest jumped in the media AND LIED ON THE CHILDREN they dienfranchised..
they are ALL FRAUDS….andcan’tt be or do anything except for what they are doing running EVERYTHING INTO THE GROUND…..that’s all they are good for next to what they are known best for….. ….none of it any good…
befire anyone could……publicly protest they jumped in the media AND LIED ON THE CHILDREN they disenfranchised..
and can’t be or do anything except for what they are doing ….running EVERYTHING INTO THE GROUND
the quicker the people move out of their dangerous corrupt orbit…the better off they will be….
Our Supreme Leader must finally crack down on the judiciary, which is part of the crime problem. Justice Shona Griffith has abused her power. Our Supreme Leader MUST act now and take her out.
We do not want criminal conditions like in the other pepper islands and all the hellholes in South America, Asia and Africa.
Soon the remaining tourists run away from us because the natives slaughter each other like animals. Justice Shona Griffith bears FULL responsibility for this dramatic situation!
How does the Barbados Police Service need to win the public’s confidence? This does not help.
What is a middle aged security guard expected to do?
News items that make you go hmmmm.
Missing from all the debate is how do WE intend to change the increasing crime trend.The same old will not work. Drastic measures need to be taken – this is a fight all of us must enter for the greater good.
The G Story (title of my next book)
Put a Criminal or Gangster in Jail..
… and,
… they will come out a better Criminal Gangster …
Didn’t read the last (4:42 a.m) post. It started with some ‘tourist’ stuff and my mind got foggy.
This and one of the post above appear to be more concerned about the tourists than the locals and citizens.
And that is where they get it wrong. Everyone knows that the tourist is a heavily protected species. Mess with a tourist and the crime gets solved and people get jailed.
Place emphasis on combating crime against citizens. Put the same or more effort into protecting your citizens.
Tired of hearing “what if a tourist is a victim”.
BTW: Crime happens in good times, in bad times, in good neighborhoods, in bad neighborhoods, in the wrong places, at the wrong time……
@4:38 a.m.
“We need to arrest this problem, and fast, not only as we look to protect our citizens but also to protect those who will be spending big bucks to vacation here, especially as we approach our winter season.”
This two-part article. Is just a regurgitation of what you see here on BU about the crime situation. The second part is about the journey of a face mask to New York and back.
The problem starts and ends with the court system.
All cases involving gun possession, assault or killings using guns, cutlass or knives or otherwise pose a danger to society MUST have their trials started within 2-4 weeks after charges are brought by the police.
@CA
How is what you suggest possible if we are to believe Chief Magistrate Weekes the BPS is often not bothered to validate the address of those charged or allow them a one phone call?
On another note the blogmaster tuned in for a few minutes yesterday to the callin show in time to listen to the moderator (a lawyer) cautioning callers the danger in suggesting changes to existing laws that would offend the rights of the many because of the few.
A bit of feedback to the moderator- will the majority want to maintain their liberties while the society is going to hell in a hand basket?
“Mess with a tourist and the crime gets solved and people get jailed.
Place emphasis on combating crime against citizens. Put the same or more effort into protecting your citizens.
Tired of hearing “what if a tourist is a victim”.
again….don’t hold your breath….they have NO CONNECTION to the big picture or the reality BEARING DOWN ON THEM………still relying on information from the 17-1800s to trap the people indefinitely in soci0-economic bondage…
everything is tits up and ass backwards…the above the weight punching…..that will NEVER work out….or benefit the majority…
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/08/23/jail-jackman/
Only the very last sentence is important “Jackman is expected to know his fate on November 9”.
Why not hold him on remand for two years and let him know the sentence afterwards.
The injustice system can be deliberately slow when it wants to be. It can turn on a dime for some petty crimes,but can also become an ocean liner making a turn.
Two schools of thought
(1) Nothing works or
(2) Things work as they are supposed to.
and both are right.
Isn’t Earnest Jackman on remand?
Did I say “have a great day”
“And whatever your labors and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life, keep peace in your soul. With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be cheerful. Strive to be happy”.
It is indeed a beautiful world. Our goal should be to make it even more beautiful.
Have a great day, Barbados.
Isn’t Earnest Jackman on remand?👍
You caught me there. Sent me searching BT for his tstus.
“Jackman, who is from St Philip, has been on remand at Dodds prison since May 31 pending sentencing following his conviction by jury for stealing and using over half a million dollars of a client’s money..”
Will assume he is still on remand and not walking the streets, Let’s cut that November 9 to September 9 and just give the man the 8 or 99 years that he deserves.
—x—
I was tempted to do the usual BU thing and shift the goal post.
🙂 It would have gone something like this
You tell me if he is and whilst you are at it tell me why CH is or isn’t on remand. Why is he entitled to a “get out of jail free card? That should concern you more. 🙂
But on my way out and will play fair.
BTW: I just convinced myself that to use CH’s name in the way we often do is not fair.
I truly believe he got away with something, but we use him as a blanket to cover up flaws in some of our arguments. or as target practice.
Words to remove from my vocabulary
CH
KK
migrant
black
Did you see how I set that piece of bait.
Will be later to see if I caught anything.
Enjoy your day.
What about LP?
Is he still on $1.5M bail since 2020?
“Is he entitled to a “get out of jail free card” as well?
Or, as someone ‘said,’ perhaps LP is being treated unfairly because he “did not go to Harrison College or get a Barbados Scholarship,”…… or originated from the upper echelons of society.
Very familiar
A former AG: there no gangs , just wayward youth Maurice King ( AG DLP)
No gangs but groups of people. Dale Marshall ( AG BLP)
Very interesting
Overheard:
“There goes that gang that shoots people”
@That’s no gang it’s a group”
You did mention those words
subconscious
CH KK migrant black 90,000 80,000 are responsible for black on black crime
“No gangs but groups of people. Dale Marshall ( AG BLP)”
so where did these “fellas carrying out hits on each other and have to be put in protective custody” come from….
William…people are noticing that these “hits” assassinations of Afrikan people were PLANNED AND COORDINATED TO COINCIDE with the AfriCaribbean conference…
but all it did was SHOWCASE THE LEVEL OF CORRUPTION, OPPRESSION, SUPPRESSION, DISENFRANCHISEMENT and POVERTY that leads to CRIMES…
even that SCAM failed…
@David, the word ‘start’ must be considered in its most basic of meanings…
I don’t know the background of your response re “How is what you suggest possible if we are to believe Chief Magistrate Weekes the BPS is often not bothered to validate the address of those charged or allow them a one phone call?” … but common sense says that it’s very difficult to get fully ‘loaded’ to start within 2-4 weeks a criminal case for murder, assault and such UNLESS you catch the perpetrators in the act or develop immediate positive evidence that links them to the crime.
The need for a speedy trail or rather promptly solving ‘capital cases’ is understood but its insane to expect all the evidence gathering, witness depositions and lawyering matters etc ad nauseum to be completed withing a month …. to move the matter fully onto the docket!
At best you get evidence of a possible suspect in that time and can START by making an arrest and can move to the preliminary hearing but then it’s quite a tad longer to fully build the case for prosecution, not so!
Why this impractical palaver!
Affirmation
Energy Level 12
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p184Z3LYAbY
I am more than my physical body, because I am more than physical matter I can perceive that which is greater than the physical world.
Therefore I deeply desire to expand experience know understand to control to use such greater energies and energy systems as may be beneficial and constructive to me to those that follow me.
Also, I deeply desire the help the cooperation the assistance the understanding of those individuals who’s wisdom development and experience are equal or greater than my own.
I ask their guidance and protection from any influence or any source that might provide me with less than my stated desires.
Those are my abracadabra words.
Very powerful stuff. Like rubbing a bottle to summon a genie.
Watch them work again
KK
migrant
Black
“William…people are noticing that these “hits” assassinations of Afrikan people were PLANNED AND COORDINATED TO COINCIDE with the AfriCaribbean conference…”
I got out my truth meter (TheOmeter) and that registered a 0.
But it could be that the meter needs recalibrating. Ya think so?
Original Murder Murderer Instrumental
Warm up before Exercising, Tai Chi Strokes
Taking over the Takeover in the Area Murderer
Black Beats Brainwashing Vibes
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QNwQAGM2RJc
“But it could be that the meter needs recalibrating. Ya think so?”
you have to know the 100-year-old playbill….do you remember CATS……..the trend that never ended.
McKinley ‘Mac’ Phipps Jr was convicted of murder despite no physical evidence linking him to the crime. Prosecutors used his rap lyrics
Murder Murder
M.A.C.
Murda, Murda, Kill, Kill / Mac
4x: mmm mmmmmm
Soldier rag on my eye, soldier fit on my frame
I scream, “whoa” when I come through makin that mac-11 sang
If I’m dyin bad, don’t tell my folks, I wasn’t no joke when I blasted
Wrap me up in camoflauge, and put that tank on my casket
That nigga was hip hop, that nigga was gangsta
That nigga was tall, that nigga was slim
That nigga was shell shocked, you wouldn’t want fuck with him
I hung with killas, I hung with soldiers, I hung with gs
I hung with thugs, I hung with them niggas who probably wanted to murder
Me
Fuckas, I cross my heart and pull the trigger
Dear God if I die, let me see the eyes of my killa, so I can haunt that
Nigga
Poppa shot me through the rubber
He knew that I would be a young bad muthafucka
When i
Kill, kill (kill, kill)
Shit’s real (shit’s real)
On the battlefield (on the battlefield)
I said I’m sick and tired of tellin you niggas I’m not that nigga to
Play with
They thinkin that they can tell me whatever they want and I ain’t gon
Say shit
I guess I’m supposed to be lettin you call me bitches and hoes to my
Face
Just look at ya, let ya fuck over me, ignore ya, then go by my way
Cut it out, stop that, unless ya got that feelin
However, wherever, whenever ya ready, I’m that nigga
You said, “fuck no limit” then the next thing you heard was (*@$#%)
“ow!”
That was me whippin the fuck out that bitch in the ? waffle house?
Look at you now, I’m warnin you nigga wherever you fuck up right there
I’m shuttin you down, I’m tellin you if we don’t know you don’t come
Round that tank
Or no limit gon clown, I fuck over yo ass balls as big as godzilla
Here lizard, lizard, lizard, I’m comin to get ya
When I catch ya, you can betcha, blood gon spill
Murder, murder, murder, kill, kill, kill
Kill, kill (kill, kill)
I was born a soldier, mama will tell ya I never was fake, I was real
I’m camouflaged and never die, it been that way since I was l’il
Murder, murder, murder, murder, kill, kill, it’s real
You cross me wrong, don’t think I forgot ya, just waitin on you to chill
You started beef with the assassin, when you see me you gotta be blastin
Ain’t no love for the other side, cause I get all up in the ass and
Operation uptown, ghetto niggas shell shocked
Camoflauged down, soldier rebound, straight off the block
What?
Talking about crime. Economic crimes make imminent economic Armageddon
de pedantic Dribble September 7, 2022 9:26 AM #: “Why this impractical palaver!”
@ dpD
I was going to comment, but subsequently changed my mind. But, since you addressed the issue, I decided to ‘say something.’
Although understand the point Critical Analyzer is trying to make, he can’t, in all seriousness suggest trials for those cases, as he outlined, should begin “within 2-4 weeks after charges are brought by the police.”
But, bear in mind, investigations do ‘automatically come to an end’ when a suspect is arrested and charged for committing a crime.
A guy is charged for shooting someone, but, at the time of his arrest, police cannot locate the firearm.
Sometimes the period of investigating some crimes go beyond 4 weeks after the suspect has been arrested, which may included gathering further evidence, looking for an accomplice in the crime or witnesses, awaiting forensic reports from the lab, autopsy report etc.
The process is not as simple as what is depicted in ‘CSI Miami’ or ‘Law & Order: Criminal Intent.’
Pacha…so who is surprised that the SUGARCANE SLAVERY bondage was recently being tested via SCUM traitor politicians…..to see if the Afrikan population is STILL ACCEPTING…
“The Sugar Agreement between Barbados and Tate & Lyle UK is – in my opinion – more political than anything else and once again we have the Old Boys Club being supported.
Tate & Lyle has held a Royal Warrant from Queen Elizabeth II since 1955.
The Tate family own a home in Barbados. The relationship is over 100 years old.”
When Barbados was a royal colony, we had safe streets and places. The problem started in 1966 and with the relapse into the savage behaviour of times past.
Look at the crime trends in Jamaica and Singapore. Before independence, each had a medium-high murder rate, then sharply declining in Singapore and world-record highs in Jamaica.
It’s as clear as day to anyone who doesn’t smoke WOKE weed all the time that cultural differences are responsible.
Our Supreme Leader should finally declare martial law, suspend constitutional rights and crack down on gangs, the judiciary and the police!
@David September 7, 2022 6:59 AM
Not having a valid address for the person does not matter. I can give a valid address now and go in hiding. That is what the bail surety and marshals are for. The judge and defense attorney would deal with the other breach of rights. Look at the man that recently got money out the government for his murder case.
Let me put it more simply. We need speedy trials. The BPS should not be charging anyone with a crime until they have gathered enough evidence to proceed with the Trial hence all trials should be started within a month after the person was charged.
@CA
It may not matter to you but in matters of court trials the accuracy of evidence and information regarding the the case is paramount.
The bigger issue is it exposes the integrity of the process.
I thought by now the BU “schooled” intelligentsia would be asking…..the next logical question…
WHAT OTHER WARRANTS from the 1800s ARE STILL IN FORCE…
but ah guess nuhbody int intristed…
if was sumbody bedroom, business they would be all over it..
@ Artax
You are correct.
However, a lot of this tardiness in the judicial process has to do with bad planning.
Evidence collection is almost always a very detailed and lengthy process.
We never plan for the future. As the society grew, it would have been obvious that crime would increase. We have a larger population but we kept the same process and approach to judicial management.
It was obvious that the system would become clogged.
It’s the same with the roads. We kept the same approach to traffic management that we had when there was horse and buggy on the streets , outside of the ABC highway , we are very poor with traffic management.
When we sit calmly and connect the dots, the truth becomes obvious- we just don’t plan ahead and that’s why the speed of doing business is also at turtle pace.
Needless to say the same approach has been used in the management of education.
We built a new airport and did not make provision for the passengers to walk from the plane into the airport although air traffic was increasing because of tourism and other factors.
Everything is now becoming clogged in one way or another. And if we look beyond our narrow political biases, we would realise the country needs more enlightened leadership in all sectors including the parasitical private sector.
We can do better but we prefer to comfort ourselves with rose colored glasses. Time to take them off.
Can somebody tell Gregory Nicholls to take Barbados Underground out of his mouth?
@David September 7, 2022 11:24 AM
If the police prosecutor don’t have the accuracy of evidence to immediately start a trial, don’t bring the charge in the first place.
They want to rush and charge people while they still gathering evidence. That is violating people rights and miscarriage of justice.
Who is he?
sounds like the dude who got promoted to some position in parliament recently after the Koochie Koo brouhaha…
someone may be able to confirm this.
The Drums Pound The Earth
STARVATION IS COMING & God help those who have not fostered a supply chain of food & are dependent on their supermarket…. You think “CRIME” is bad? #StayTuned
https://youtu.be/GdtWB8sE4q0
Our honourable government addressed the problem of murderers on the rampage two years ago. The judiciary, however, sabotages any attempt to curb crime by rejecting and simply not applying various laws.
In other words, the most honourable Lord Marshal Dale got everything right, the arrogant judiciary got everything wrong. Obviously, our honourable government and the judiciary are on different sides of the law when it comes to crime.
The families of the deceased should sue Judge Shona Griffith for punitive damages at the International Court of Human Rights or in the USA. There must be no judicial privilege for people who pervert their own profession.
Somalia is already feeling A FULL FRONTAL FAMINE……they always wait until babies are dying by the THOUSANDS to call a famine and starvation what it really is….
Pacha…..the Sahel is very vulnerable due to lack of rainfall…..Somalia suffered 5 straight years of drought a recipe for death….dependency on the west for grain does not help…
even worse, if they don’t start planting food in any available receptacle…..and continue to depend on supermarkets, while still depending on tourism and the shithole system……….well, maybe they have no plan to survive this…all on them….
@ David re G N
Barbados Underground allows everyone the opportunity to express their opinions.
A lot of “problems” are ventilated here.
Some of us in the Diaspora appreciate BU.
Thanks Hants.
Hanging Not the Answer-Don’t Blame Lawyers for Bail Say Attorneys https://starcomnetwork.net/blog/2022/09/07/hanging-not-the-answer-dont-blame-lawyers-for-bail-say-attorneys/
A LOT OF BIAS IS ALSO SHOWN TOO HANTS
IF YOU ARE AN APPROVED PROVIDER YOUR POSTS DONT GET TEK DUNG
A LOT OF FOLK WHO WILL APPROXIMATE THEIR LABIAE ORAE TO THE ADIPOSE TISSUE THAT OVERLAYS THE BLOG OWNERS GLUTEI ALSO COME HERE TOO HANTS .
NOTE HOW ACCURATELY AND CAREFULLY I ARTICULATE
Barbados Underground allows everyone the opportunity to express their opinions. IF THEY COINCIDE WITH THE PREVAILING NARRATIVE ON BU
APPROVED PROVIDERS CAN ATTEMPT TO MOCK BUT YUH CAN NOT PROVIDE BALANCE ON BU
FREE SPEECH HAS NOT YET BEEN DISALOWED YET IN BARBADOS EXCEPT ON BU
RE A lot of “problems” are ventilated here. AND ALSO A LOT OF RUBBISH ONCE THEY COINCIDE WITH THE PREVAILING NARRATIVE ON BU
THERE ARE AT LEAST TWO SIDES TO EVERY STORY
THE LIGHTS ARE GOING OUT ALL ACROSS EUROPE!!! WHO’S NEXT??? WHAT WILL BE THE IMPACT??? #MoreCrime??? #YouDecide
https://youtu.be/Ay2L1OzRXqA
THIS IS VERY GOOD NEWS TO ESCHATOLOGISTS
ALL THIS HAS BEEN PREDICTED IN THAT BOOK OF FABLES THAT IS SCORNED AND LAUGHED AT BY BU MORONS
ALL THE PREDICTIONS ARE COMING TO PAST
SEEMS THE CHICKENS ARE COMING HOME TO ROOST
AINT THAT SWEET?
Critical Analyzer September 7, 2022 11:48 AM
Perhaps you should follow my example, by not engaging in discussions of which you’re unknowledgeable.
‘bad black’
There are ‘good blacks’
and there is G P with his bible bibe
who supports police brutality
@Artax
I may not be knowledgeable but one thing I know is how bad the public feels seeing people they know are guilty of a crime walking about on the streets for years on end waiting for a trial.
Our justice system is not going to be a deterrent until we have a situation where the justice system is so speedy that the public is stunned at how fast they get convicted or released after the charge is laid instead of us having to search news archives to remember the details of the crime when the trial finally starts.
I bet the trial for the Sheraton Center killing has not started yet and that is a slam dunk case.
@Artax
Speedy court trials followed by immediate incarceration has always been the only solution for the crime situation.
The men on bail for murder crimes already expecting to get convicted when the case is finally called so they have nothing to lose if they continue killing during the time it takes to start their trial.
Police say the prime suspect in a mass stabbing incident in Saskatchewan has been taken into custody.
https://regina.ctvnews.ca/myles-sanderson-located-taken-into-custody-rcmp-1.6058299
@ CA
Speedy court trials followed by immediate incarceration has always been the only solution for the crime situation.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Basic common sense.
…but where do we get THAT from Boss?
“Hanging not the answer”…
..say two typical Bajan lawyers who have demonstrated that they don’t know one shiite about PRODUCING SUCCESSFUL OUTCOMES.
One exposed for bribing potential voters with borrowed money (because everybody else does it…)
…and the next one a complete failure as BAR association president in changing ANY of the shiite known to be endemic there…. and now championing the rights of criminals.
In terms of giving advice to solve NATIONAL failures, those two are even worse than Petra Wicky (who at least may benefit from the guidance of his Frenchie husband)
Here we have key beneficiaries of the crime business being invited on Brass Tacks to give us advice on how to respond to REDUCE their livelihood.
Did you think that they would support ‘hanging’, …or serious bail conditions?
Of a similar ilk are those Judges who are blaming police about shiite matters like checking addresses or facilitating phone calls . Those are ADMINISTRATIVE matters to be dealt with quietly during trials with consequences to the police officers responsible. NOT matters to talk shiite in the press about.
What the Judges SHOULD be talking publicly about is how they allow the damn lawyers to make mock sport with ridiculous delays and petty distractions to delay justice…. and them claim that the undue delays prejudiced their crooked clients.
What a set of BB losers…!
@Bush Tea
Actually one of the lawyers is also a commissioner on the Constitutional Review Commission.
Regarding the incorrect address on court filings, you are the only that picked up the sarcasm.
Hants….looks like he became very considerate and saved the taxpayers a bundle..
https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2022/9/7/10-people-killed-in-canadian-stabbing-rampage-identified
“Canada stabbing spree suspect reportedly dies in custody
Myles Sanderson reportedly died from self-inflicted wounds after he was taken into custody for the deaths of 10 people in Saskatchewan stabbing spree.”
any bets on if island atoll leaders on islets see the WRITING ON THE WALL YET…..don’t know how they can miss them…
fat lady sung out..
Pacha,……watch muh nuh….
“Hamilton – The Bermuda government said it will push on with its flagship legislation to legalise the use and consumption of cannabis in this British overseas territory after Governor Rena Lalgie announced on Tuesday that she had been instructed by London not to give it the royal assent.”
Critical Analyzer September 7, 2022 6:46 PM #: “Speedy court trials followed by immediate incarceration has always been the only solution for the crime situation.”
Please INDICATE WHERE in any of my contributions I MENTIONED ANYTHING that would SUGGEST OTHERWISE?
When system fail completely, there is often the cry to ‘try something’.
For us, this something is hanging. I am doubtful if hanging would be enough of a deterrent to stop these shooters. We may have to up our game and try…. the guillotine. The kind use to cut paper.
I am certain that one of those who wish for hangings will volunteer to be the executioner.
Source: Barbados Today
Too busy setting up the Afrikan population for oppression, poverty and disenfranchisement over decades while bending their traitor asses in half to promote, support and glorify Drs. Drugs, Guns, Money Laundering, Racist Wannabe Slave masters within their inner circle groups of frauds and crooks……dah iz wuh haunting dem now..
“One economist is blaming the former Freundel Stuart and current Mia Mottley administrations for the crisis facing the island’s pension scheme, chiding them for not carrying out needed reforms and hence contributing to the impairment of the fund.
Barbados-born economist Carlos Forte, who is based in Canada, said the NIS board did not set social security policy and therefore any attempt by anyone to blame the former or current NIS boards for the “pending pension crisis” was nothing but “a smoke screen and a diversion”.”
““Hamilton – The Bermuda government said it will push on with its flagship legislation to legalise the use and consumption of cannabis in this British overseas territory after Governor Rena Lalgie announced on Tuesday that she had been instructed by London not to give it the royal assent.””
not a peep from those who “pretend ignorance.”
Pacha….and the one thing i will not do is enlighten anyone about what will come next going forward or at any time, am sure they already know….none of it seem nearly as important to them as other people’s private lives…they seem detached and UNBOTHERED…
..they don’t want to know what other ROYAL WARRANTS are out there, although it concerns them their families and FUTURE GENERATIONS….am sure they are equally uninterested in the marking out of OWNED TERRITORY…….
.wuh if i had territory i would have upgraded that blueprint at least 25 YEARS AGO…..but that’s just me..
…their welfare, wellbeing, security and quality of life are CLEARLY NOT IMPORTANT TO THEM….not at the level needed to come out and address it….but they ALWAYS GOT TALK FOR US…
“No to hangings”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Even if true, coming from someone who makes his money BECAUSE of the high rate of crime, it cannot resonate with stinking Bushie.
Bushie may be a Bajan brass bowl, …but he is NOT a shiite.
If we start being REALLY tough on these shiite criminals, and have LAW ABIDING citizens set the tone for what we will accept in our society, then what the Hell will Pilgrim, Lashley and the other bottom dwelling lawyers do for living? …. join the ‘Client fee’ class of extortionists? that field is over subscribed….
Taking advice from Pilgrim on ‘managing crime’ is much like taking advice from TheO or Dribbles on how to deal with albino-centric brassbowlery that has confounded our world.
….or from Pfizer on the benefits of taking Covid ‘vaccines’.
Please, don’t “enlighten” us!
Thanking you in advance.
Steupse!
“and the one thing i will not do is enlighten anyone about what will come next going forward or at any time,”
read twice for clarity and understanding…….
and especially NOT TO YOU or for you to benefit in any way..
I will enlighten all
with knowledge wisdom understanding
message in the music
Every type of Gun is a Big Bad One
Big Bad Guns
Black Jesus
@ David September 8, 2022 5:38 AM
Enemies of the people like Pilgrim are responsible for the high crime rate on our island, not our honorable government.
Our Supreme Leader is called upon to finally clean up the legal profession and take various elements into protective custody!
p.s. Pilgrim and others constantly and implicitly invoke a supposed privilege that murders are part of the cultural DNA of the Caribbean. In doing so, he promotes racism against black men like himself.
Police charge three for two recent murders
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/09/08/police-charge-three-two-recent-murders/
regurgitating a whole pile of bullshit…..
when they pick up the CRIMINALS THEY ENABLE AND PROTECT….THE IMPORTERS OF CONTAINERS OF DRUGS AND GUNS…which has NOTHING to do with the home……..then the violence will STOP…
when they STOP DISENFRANCHISING YOUNG BLACK PEOPLE from the DAY THEY ARE BORN……the poverty will end..
WHEN THEY STOP TIEFING FROM THE TREASURY, VAT AND PENSION FUND……the island will suffer less from socio economic external and internal shocks…
put the blame where it belongs…
Da Africa Deep & Dj Kid – Who Are You
There are unconfirmed media reports that police intercepted an attempted drug landing on Thursday off the west coast of Barbados.
Starcom Network reported that police were seeking suspects after a boat was intercepted off Barbados by the police marine unit and drug squad.
Gunfire was exchanged between the police and the suspects following a chase, which ended when the boat landed on the beach in Weston, St James, according to the radio report.
A video rapidly of the operation has made the rounds on social media showing a large number of police vehicles arriving on the scene.
Source: Barbados Today
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/10/04/complainant-declines-to-pursue-case/
From BT
“Two men had serious charges against them dismissed today after the complainant, who now resides overseas, indicated he was no longer interested in continuing the matter.
Madame Justice Laurie-Ann Smith-Bovell dismissed the matters against Jacobi Germain and Leon Lawrence when they reappeared in the No. 4 Supreme Court.
Germain of 8th Avenue, New Orleans, St Michael and Lawrence of Cane Vale, Christ Church had been charged with causing serious bodily harm to Anderson Trotman with intent to do him serious bodily harm or to maim, disfigure, or disable him on February 29, 2016.
They were also charged with unlawfully and maliciously inflicting serious bodily harm on Trotman on the same date. The complainant had been summoned to attend court today but was not present.”
I will resist giving you adetaile analysis, but it seems to me as if the victim said..” I am alive. I am out of there. Going to keep it that way”
Was this fake new?
Did you hear the story of the guy who escaped with his life as he fled from a man with a Glock and laser. who was attempting to hold him up? He called the police and was asked “so what are we supposed to do about it”
A next couple got hijacked at the same spot by the same method. They tried to stop a police van a few minutes later after the hijacking and the police did not stop.
The big joke is that much later we heard that the police was investigating and looking for information. I hope the criminals waited around to get caught by RoBPF.
Police smart yeah.
Why do some people highlight the negative?
Are they blowing up the negative or merely reporting what is happening?
I challenge you to report the positive.