Number of Murders On-track to Surpass 2021

The following was submitted by Amit from caribbeansignal.com. The number of murders increased from 26 to 28 since the submission – Blogmaster

Richard Ricardo Jordan, 51, charged with the July murder of 86-year-old Gloria Leacock (Image Source: Barbados Today)

There have been at least 26 murders between January and August 2022. The steps involved in the following analysis are similar to my 2020 analysis.

Read full report @caribbeansignal.com

169 thoughts on “Number of Murders On-track to Surpass 2021

1. @ DPD
    Denial has quite a few synonyms. All you have said is that we know and accept many things that are wrong with our country. Perhaps rebuff would be more palatable.
    Like I often say on BU, I try to avoid personal experiences because once we start to do that we can find counter arguments for anything.
    What I find ironic is your position that we are not in denial but we apparently accept that the negatives are there , we look the other way and move on. Move on to where and solving what ?
    So let us rebuff everything declare it to be in our DNA and let all the problems fester from generation to generation.
    Perhaps some of us expect too much.
    As always your position is well put but like I said denial has quite a few synonyms so my position stands and I sincerely respect yours , as always.

2. “So let us rebuff everything declare it to be in our DNA and let all the problems fester from generation to generation.”

that’s exactly what they want so they can have something to bitch, moan and groan about generationally without any solutions….but i would leave them right where they are most comfortable…..

3. Murders like everything else is relative as you may safe from bad areas and bad people who are killing each other like a mafia. So stop freaking out about the News.

4. WILLIAM

Denial has quite a few synonyms

IF YOU STUDY THE PSYCHOLOGY OF DENIAL, YOU WILL ASCERTAIN THAT DENIAL ALSO HAS A NUMBER OF CLEARLY RECOGNIZABLE SYMPTOMS

SO DO INTELLECTUAL WANT TO BEES

IN MEETINGS SUCH FOLK EAT UP A LOT OF TIME WITH THEIR NEGATIVITY SAYING WHAT CANT BE DONE BECAUSE THEY CAN NOT SEE OR ARTICULATE WHAT OUGHT TO BE OR CAN BE DONE.

SUCH FOLK ADD LITTLE OF VALUE TO DEBATE OR DISCUSSION

SUCH JOKERS SHOULD JUST KEEP QUIET.

5. In the Game there are many gangs in competition for territories and many others watching and waiting ready to step in.

Police DEA CIA etc have realised it is better to have one gang or cartel running things than another one taking over who would be worse more violent or more ruthless or an all out war etc.

Predatory gangs are the more serious type of gang and are actively involved in serious. offenses including violent crimes such as robbery.

Scavenger gangs are the least organized and the least “successful” gangs. Leadership of these groups can change daily or weekly

6. @cuhdear
    Please comment.
    At 38 I would not consider his as a youth
    I am assuming his mother is not a man.
    Please update your working theory.

7. re it int even start fully yet… fuh truth

read about it in REVELATION 20, especially verse 15

And I saw an angel come down from heaven, having the key of the bottomless pit and a great chain in his hand.

2 And he laid hold on the dragon, that old serpent, which is the Devil, and Satan, and bound him a thousand years,

3 And cast him into the bottomless pit, and shut him up, and set a seal upon him, that he should deceive the nations no more, till the thousand years should be fulfilled: and after that he must be loosed a little season.

4 And I saw thrones, and they sat upon them, and judgment was given unto them: and I saw the souls of them that were beheaded for the witness of Jesus, and for the word of God, and which had not worshipped the beast, neither his image, neither had received his mark upon their foreheads, or in their hands; and they lived and reigned with Christ a thousand years.

5 But the rest of the dead lived not again until the thousand years were finished. This is the first resurrection.

6 Blessed and holy is he that hath part in the first resurrection: on such the second death hath no power, but they shall be priests of God and of Christ, and shall reign with him a thousand years.

7 And when the thousand years are expired, Satan shall be loosed out of his prison,

8 And shall go out to deceive the nations which are in the four quarters of the earth, Gog, and Magog, to gather them together to battle: the number of whom is as the sand of the sea.

9 And they went up on the breadth of the earth, and compassed the camp of the saints about, and the beloved city: and fire came down from God out of heaven, and devoured them.

10 And the devil that deceived them was cast into the lake of fire and brimstone, where the beast and the false prophet are, and shall be tormented day and night for ever and ever.

11 And I saw a great white throne, and him that sat on it, from whose face the earth and the heaven fled away; and there was found no place for them.

12 And I saw the dead, small and great, stand before God; and the books were opened: and another book was opened, which is the book of life: and the dead were judged out of those things which were written in the books, according to their works.

13 And the sea gave up the dead which were in it; and death and hell delivered up the dead which were in them: and they were judged every man according to their works.

14 And death and hell were cast into the lake of fire. This is the second death.

15 And whosoever was not found written in the book of life was cast into the lake of fire.

8. Thank you @William for expressing that we are playing semantics in this real world discourse… I said from my first post that there is no denial in the real life of Bajans but acceptance of their most palatable reality.

You say that’s just a form of denial.

I will not get into that psycho-drama of the stages of life such being offered by you and the doc…. no siree 😎🤦🏾‍♂️… way beyond my abilities !

Now, I didn’t cite personal experiences either as he did … I gave broad overall circumstances of the realism Bajans face.

So I must admit that it boggles my mind that your thesis is developed along the the view that we have been acting (badly) with all our inhwrent human foibles but you expect wondrous change simply by pointing out those bad behaviours … fah trute, brother!.

I am unaware of any society in which its psychogical character has dramtically changed as you propose … . Thus I call that philosophical FANTASY.

But I will repeat that I do not deny the problems exisit … nope. I simpky refute the ‘denial’ syndrome you propose…. as this is not a thesis review where a chapter or two on the synonyms/stages of life denial is required. This is real life, brother. 😇🙏🏿

Corruption is rampant in Bim and has been since Mark Stokes disappeared out of my mother’s drawing room after selling some SaladMaster cookware (that’s my personal marker) I ACCEPT the Barrow’s administration complicity with his death… but still I can’t SOLVE the problem of corruption in our politics despite knowing that.

BTW the personal examples offered by the doc were unfortunate … again in REAL Terms no one can SENSIBLY ‘deny’ a grave medical diagnosis in the face of ample evidence unless they are either absurdly stupid or deeply comfortable in their faith (and fate) …

Discussing Bajan life over these last 50 years is NOT a thesis of the stages of life so my deepest apologies if it seemed I was offering such … I am a REALIST. I repeat simply: Bajans KNOW our problems and are managing them the best way possible … if you prefer to narrate that we are in denial and are listening to the wrong political yardfowls then so be it … but I ask you simply: WHY have we NOT listened to the right political voices and influencers … could it be that we like the discordant way of life!

Just trying to get to the realism, brother!

• @Dee Word

Real change in any contest must be led in a structured way. Who is responsible for leading the real change that is required given current state of play?

9. ” You have a 1 in 168.6 chance of being the victim of a violent crime in Miami each year. That compares to a 1 in 264.3 chance statewide.”

10. THE EXAMPLES I CITED WERE REALITY ON THE GROUND

WHEREAS I AM AN ACADEMIC AND AN INTELLECTUAL, I PRACTICED MEDICINE ON THE GROUND NOT IN THE ETHER, OR IN A CLASSROOM —- I PRACTICED ON THE GROUND. THAT IS REALITY.

I HAVE LIVED AS A HUMAN AND REALIST NOT AS AN ACADEMIC AND AN INTELLECTUAL

SUCH REALITY INCLUDED USING PRIVILIGES TO PROVIDE DRUGS BOUGHT AT DEALER PRICES AT COST BEFORE FREE MEDICINE WAS GIVEN TO FOLK BY GOVERNMENT

REALITY INCLUDED PROVIDING FREE SERVICE TO CHURCH MEMBERS

REALITY INCLUDED DEFYING THE BAMP LEADERSHIP OF THE DAY AND GETTING THE NHS TO COME INTO BEING– A BOAST THAT IS OFTEN SUPRESSED HERE ON BU

REALITY MEANS SOLVING PROBLEMS IN YOUR HOMES YOUR CHURCHES YOUR VILLAGES AND CLUBS AND INSTITUTIONS

REALITY IS NOT WANTOBEE BULL SHIT,

REALITY IS DOING WHAT YOU CAN, WHEN YOU CAN IF YOU CAN.

REALITY IS WHEN A TEEN KNOW THAT HE MUST EMPLOY THE VEHICLE HE IS ALLOWED TO USE TO COLLECT GAS FOR THE LADY NEXT DOOR OR TO FERRY THE OLD LADY IN THE VILLAGE WITH HER GARDEN PRODUCE TO THE PLACE WHERE HE TRIES TO SELL IT TO EEK OUT A LIVING

DENIAL IS EXHIBITED WHEN YOU KNOW, ACCEPT AND DO OR SAY NOTHING. AND JUST EFFLUX NICE SOUNDING BOVINE EXCREMENT

11. A nice rhetorical @David and I would add : What type of change is the key!

I see very little dramatic societal change based on characteristics noted here repeatedly by @William et al … unless we explore theocratic governance nations the possibility of REAL changes to matters of corruption integrity, family values and such core human issues is NOT GOING TO HAPPEN.

Of. course some legislation will be passed eventually but REAL change will remain non-existant. Is that being defeatist or negative … nope – it’s the reality in the face of the entrenched legal lethargy and deeply rooted pay-to-play mentality and apathy.

I am not suggesting in the least that we simply throw our hands up in defeat ….. absolutely not. But simply repeating a mantra of the evils doesn’t get us to the desired change either.

What is our fundamental natavist issue that can endlessly galvanize Bajans to drive forward and in that slip stream push vibrant new voices to the fore … eons ago it was education or independence or land use reform… what it is today!

I have absolutely no idea but I do know it’s NOT corruption or integrity legislation because all parties are complicit to keep their bad acts therefrom as quiet as possible so there will be no true VIBRANT voices there …

So then it’s back to ‘Fight the good fight’ the @William way then I presume. Alas!

12. Pacha…these are still asking how? when?, where?, who? and why?

even after all this time when the answers are so widely known..

unbelievable….that’s why the young generation have no faith in neither do they trust them…

13. As long as our natives slaughter each other, there is nothing wrong with that. Our island is grossly overpopulated, so a natural depopulation is welcome.

But it would be even better if our great government would finally implement its plan to replace 80000 welfare recipients with “New Barbadians”.

14. RE explore theocratic governance nations
    HUH ?
    WHERE ARE THESE?
    HOW DO THEY WORK?
    HOW EFFECTIVELY?
    DEFINE “THEOCRATIC”
    WHICH theocratic governance WAS USED WHEN THE COUNTRY WORKED MUCH BETTER?
    ARE theocratic governance nations CHARACTERIZED BY family values and such core human issues AND A LACK OF CORRUPTION?

RE I have absolutely no idea IS WHAT YOU SHOULD HAVE SAID FROM THE VERY BEGINNING .
    WHEN ONE ANALYZES YOUR FAECULENT FLATULENT DIATRIBE—-WE SEE THAT YOU HAVE SAID NOTHING OF VALUE TO ADDRESS HOW WE WILL ADDRESS THE ISSUE
    THAT IS THE REALITY.

15. HERE THIS MORON
    Pacha…these are still asking how? when?, where?, who? and why?

even after all this time when the answers are so widely known..

SO SINCE YOU HAVE ALL THE ANSWERS TO THESE QUESTIONS TO TELL US HOW WE WILL ADDRESS THE PROBLEM OF INCREASED MURDERS IN BIM WHY DONT YOU TELL US THE ANSWERS?

unbelievable….

INDEED IT IS UNBELIEVABLE THAT YOU HAVE NO ANSWERS AND EXPECT THAT THE YOUNG OR ANYONE ELSE WOULD BE IMPRESSED BY YOUR LACK OF IDEAS OR DETAILS ABOUT ANYTHING

ITS TIME YOU STOP WASTING TIME ON BU
    YOU HAVE NOTHING TO OFFER
    GO READ MEDICAL CORNER. AND SEE EXAMPLES

16. ya mean i int got nutten ya can tief….cause ya wont know what to do with what i have…..

17. Another letting off of gun shots last night reported on the midday VOB news.

Want to know when this will come to an abrupt end through robust action on the part of the police, the court and the government? When the shootings start taking place in Sandy Lane, Millennium Heights or any other of the wealthy enclaves in Barbados. And don’t fool yourself, it will reach that level on its present trajectory. Some big man or woman will be tardy in turning over funds for drugs or weapons and the hit will be authorized in order to send a message that no one is above the law of the gun.

Then and only then will we mere mortals see the desired action taking place.

18. just as they like it……they would probably tell you, they don’t know what to do…

William…..they believe everyone will let them drain their energy with all of this….nope…i prefer to watch the sideshow and write about it…

19. Anyone else find it weird that it is a white guy with blood on his hands and in cuffs in the picture of people being killed this year on the island

20. lol….Lawson…..hope you were not the model.

you have two evil murderers on the loose in Canada killing indigenous people…..hope the police take them out very soon..

i was reading something utterly disturbing earlier and then THIS pops up…..imagine how this can also be misused…..and if they get away, people can only sit and wait for them to run out of charge…

“Why swarms of ‘cyborg cockroaches’ are being created in labs
    Sarah Knapton – 4h ago

Remote-controlled cyborg cockroaches – part insect, part machine – have been created by Japanese scientists who hope swarms could be used one day to inspect hazardous radioactive sites or monitor the environment.

Using remote control, scientists are able to make the insects turn left or right
    © Provided by The Telegraph
    Madagascan cockroaches, a little over two inches long, were fitted with tiny leg-control electrodes connected to backpacks containing ultrathin solar panels.

The team from Riken Cluster for Pioneering Research (CPR) in Tokyo was then able to make the insects turn left or right, while the solar panels kept the animals under control for more than a month.

Dr Masataka Sasabe, of Riken Global Communications, said: “Keeping the battery adequately charged is fundamental – nobody wants a suddenly out-of-control team of cyborg cockroaches roaming around.”

21. while everyone is distracted and UNPREPARED, it’s unimaginable the disclosures now out there…..i had my fill for the day……2 is the limit of what i can handle..

22. “Kwasi Kwarteng, Truss’s closest cabinet ally, will become her chancellor, and she is also expected to confirm the appointments of Suella Braverman as home secretary and James Cleverly as foreign secretary. Those appointments will mean that, for the first time, there will be no white men in the four great offices of state.”

same old except for that…….

watch very, very closely is the buzzword…

23. @ FearPlay September 5, 2022 1:18 PM

Your wish for something to happen to the mighty overlords of our island will not come true.

Do you really think the local drug lords will allow foot soldiers to shoot their own lawyers?

24. “One of two brothers who were the target of a massive manhunt after allegedly carrying out a stabbing spree that left 11 dead and 18 wounded in a quiet Indigenous town in Canada has been found dead.”

Hants….

25. Heat on Marshall

AG faces backlash over recent comments on gun violence
    ATTORNEY GENERAL DALE MARSHALL is coming under more fire for comments meant to reassure the public when he said that the recent spate of killings resulted from gunmen in specific “groups” targeting each other.
    Yesterday, chairman of the Barbados Private Sector Association, Trisha Tannis, said hearing that was little comfort as the innocent could be “in the wrong place at the wrong time”. She was speaking on Starcom Network’s call-in programme Down To Brass Tacks, during which the focus was on the deadly gun violence of the past six days and violence overall.
    “I don’t think that the fact persons or groups as we call them – I think we know the name for that group is gang and I don’t know why we think that we are being coy in using that word – we all know they are referring to gangs and the fact that they are going at each other but that they are going at each other in public places does not invite a set of peace.
    “It fills me with no peace whatsoever that I could be walking into my business and because I am at the wrong place at the wrong time somebody is driving by and shoots and there is [a] mass casualty . . . I don’t think that’s the way we
    should be communicating with the public as far as trying to build confidence,” Tannis said.
    She said the association was extremely concerned about the violence and has been working with law enforcement agencies over the years.
    “We can’t just be at peace being part of the society knowing that persons aren’t necessarily targeting us, they are targeting each other and therefore we can sleep well at night. That’s not resonating… that’s not resonating,” she said.
    Between last Tuesday and Saturday, five people were killed in five days, shot while near or arriving at home, while driving a vehicle or liming near their residence. The rapid and brutal attacks prompted a press conference by the Attorney General and the top brass of the Barbados Police Service led by Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce on Friday.
    ‘Warring groups’
    Marshall said the “groups” were warring among themselves and that: “Of the four that met their unfortunate death in the last three days, each of them was known to the police and at least one of them was under investigation for as many as three homicides. They are all known to have associated with groups which we spoke about.”
    However, his remarks did not find favour with members of the public, some of whom feared being caught in the crossfire
    of brazen and public shootings.
    Tannis said the private sector association continued to partner with the Government and law enforcement agencies recognising that businesses cannot successfully generate economic activity separate from what is happening in the society.
    She also urged the Government to amend the bail laws that see accused persons charged with serious crimes being released only to commit similar crimes again.
    “Statistics now are showing that the overwhelming number of crimes are being committed by persons who are out on bail for committing similar offences. Surely that must be low-hanging fruit for us to resolve. We have passed several laws over the last 48 months [so] surely, surely we can pass whatever amendments are needed to prevent persons from being back out on the streets and committing similar offences,” Tannis said.
    The bail situation was “dangerous” since it did not just send the wrong message to persons who are repeat offenders but there was also the potential for others to be tempted to engage in similar activity, perceiving that the system would work for them, Tannis reasoned. ( AC)

26. From above
    “Surely that must be low-hanging fruit for us to resolve. We have passed several laws over the last 48 months [so] surely, surely we can pass whatever amendments are needed to prevent persons from being back out on the streets and committing similar offences,” Tannis said.

It has often been pointed out that there are several low hanging fruits that could be captured by GoB of the RoB. Little or nothing has been done to apply a simple fix.

She also points out the passage of several laws over the past 48 months. We have seen where some of these laws needed to be modified afterwards. This AG has a propensity for measuring once and cutting twice. A good idea in the hand of incompetents can become a very bad idea.

27. “The spokesman for the business community has called on law enforcement authorities to go after importers of illegal guns, regardless of who and where in society they are, as she expressed the group’s concern about the recent gunplay in the country.”

they are supposed to PLACE MASSIVE PRESSURE on the vote begging ENABLERS.of these criminals who rub shoulders and on each other’s speed dials…

..they KNOW who the importers of the guns, drugs and the ever present money laundering are….but CHOOSE TO DO NOTHING ABOUT THEM….for the same reason…

Theo….similarly, a good idea in the hands of CO-CONSPIRATORS can turn deadly for the public…..they are covering up for the REAL CRIMINALS on the island, and it’s NOT THE DUDES ON THE BLOCKS…

and taking the people for fools..

28. If you watch the movies and documentaries about gangs in USA, South America, Jamaica, UK etc. There have not been many or any cases of stopping gangs anywhere as more will just step into the vacuum when one is removed, it is never ending battle to control them. Police Budgets are allocated and special task forces are formed, Info about each gang size and members are gathered by undercover agents. Youth gangs can be targeted by engaging the youths before they join with social activities and job training. Bigger Crime syndicates are targeted by gathering intel about their operations, structure and leaders and planning busts and seizing their assets. Gangs get bolder to build their reputation for violence and ruthlessness and can control cities.

29. TheO,

Just making sure have the facts. You were concerned about the Barbados situation. I don’t see how you could be less concerned about the Trinidad situation. Armed robberies and home invasions are also far more common there (adjusted for population size), apart from the targeted gang violence.

But….”Listen to your wife!” lol. Your wife is all wise and all knowing simply because she is your wife. No disrespect is meant to your lovely wife, of course. Simply pointing out that the comment was a childish holdover from a recent blog and was made to put me in my “unmarried place”. It is based on the emotions of a toddler and not on rational thought.

Hants, of course, will escape unscathed because unlike an unmarried woman, an unmarried man is a whole human being.

Murdaaaaah!

Oops! No murder!

30. @ David

Over the years, we’ve been having discussions on BU about the crime situation in Barbados.
    And, there will obviously be attempts by some persons to politicise the situation.

I agree with AG Marshall “that the recent spate of killings resulted from gunmen in specific “groups” targeting each other,”…… and not “gangs,” as Trisha Tannis is suggesting.
    Marshall would’ve obviously made his observations based on certain intelligence.

However, as I mentioned in an October 25th, 2020 12:28 PM contribution to another ‘crime thread,’…… “if one examines the gun crimes carefully, it is evident they were on the rise since 2014 and a gradual increase was expected.”

On November 11th, 2015, an ‘Updated Homicide Study’ by the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit revealed that 42% of the approximately 140 homicides recorded between 2010 and 2014, were as a result of guns…… ‘a trend observed as far back as 1992, and which continued to be the most common method used today.’

Evidence suggests that several persons who died as a result of shooting were not involved in ‘gangs,’ but died as a result of retaliation or revenge, petty ‘beefs’ involving women, drugs money, robberies etc.

For example, November 29th, 2014, 31 year old Ricardo Francois and other men were at bar in Danesbury, Black Rock, when some men got out of a car and started shooting.
    Francois was found dead behind the shop, while four other individuals were injured…… one of whom was the son of Ricardo ‘Rick’ Bryan.
    On September 1st, 2016, Ricardo ‘Rick’ Bryan, 46, of Black Rock, St Michael, was shot multiple times by three men as he exited his vehicle, outside the Lucky Horseshoe Saloon & Steakhouse in Warrens, St Michael.

Forty-four (44) year-old Jerome Oneal ‘Wild Geese’ Bovell of Spring Garden, Black Rock, St. Michael, was shot and killed in Goddings Road, St Stephen’s Hill, Black Rock, St Michael, on June 28th, 2017.
    It is alleged Bovell was a ‘hit man’ and responsible for the death of Stephen Leonard Agard, 47 years of #10 Valley, St. George, who, on June 10th, 2017, was shot multiple times while standing outside his vehicle, which was parked on the compound of the old KFC building in Black Rock.

I’m sure everyone remembered when a man walked into Sheraton Center Mall, shot and killed 33 year old Damien Trotman, on March 22nd, 2019.

Another fact is, there are ‘hit men’ in Barbados. Men who are willing to kill anyone for cash or drugs.

Information and statistics about crime in Barbados is available to the public, enabling anyone desirous of having a rational discussion on the issue, to do so.

• @Artax

Your comment is interesting for many reasons. Will out up something later re a blogmaster’s perspective given the prevailing situation supported by your comment.

31. The comment was meant for you NOT TO INTERFERE IN A DECISION that is STRICTLY between Theo and his wife WHO ARE ADULTS and can make their own decisions without MEDDLERS….

voluntaring.to someone valuable information for them to MAKE INFORMED DECISIONS is one thing…i do it EVERYDAY……..MEDDLING in their PRIVATE LIVES is quite another….

everyone who is online has access to the news….in every country…

32. DDD AKA MAHY’S PATIENT
    THERE HAVE ALWAYS BEEN, AND THERE WILL NO DOUBT ALWAYS BE FRICTION BETWEEN MEN AND WOMEN, LARGELY BECAUSE WE DONT UNDERSTAND EACH OTHER MOST OF THE TIME, OR THE OBVIOUS DIFFERENT WAY OF THINKING AND DIFFERENT EMOTIONS

NOW SOME MIGHT SAY IT IS UNWISE TO LISTEN TO YOUR WIFE, AFTER ALL THE VERY FIRST WIFE LED HER HUSBAND ASTRAY, AND HUMANITY UP THE CREEK WITHOUT A PADDLE.

BUT ACCORDING TO GENESIS 2: 26 I THINK IT IS, WOMEN HAVE THE VERY IMPORTANT FUNCTION ABOVE ALL THEIR SEVERAL FUNCTIONS TO BE A HELP MEET.

IN DISCUSSION ON WOMEN TAKING OVER IN THE CONTEMPORARY CHURCH, ONE RESPECTED NEVER MARRIED SISTER EXPLAINED TO ME, AND I AGREED WHOLE HEARTEDLY THAT MANY WOMEN CAN NOT PERFORM THE MAJOR JOB FOR WHICH THEY WERE DESIGNED AS HELPMEETS BECAUSE THEY JUST CAN NOT BE “””MEET”” SIMPLY BECAUSE MOST MEN ARE SIMPLY NO “HELP””, AND THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED.

THAT BEING THE CASE, WHEREAS I HAVE OFTEN DISAGRRED WITH THE WIVES I HAVE HAD, I HAVE OFTEN LISTENED TO AND FOLLOWED THEIR ADVICE, SUGGESTIONS ETC WITH GREAT SUCCESS.

IN ONE CASE I STARTED TO REFURBISH AN OLD HOUSE THAT I BOUGHT.
    SHE SUGGESTED THAT I DIVIDE IT INTO TWO, AND I DID

I CONVERTED THE OLD HOUSE INTO A I BR APARTMENT AND A 2 BR APARTMENT
    THE RENT I OBTAINED FROM I985-2000 FROM THE I BR (WHICH NEVER BECAME MY OFFICE AS INTENDED) PAID FOR THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE ENTIRE PROJECT, WITH THAT OLD HOUSE AS THE CORE.

IT IS WRITTEN IN PROVERBS HE THAT FINDETH A WIFE FINDETH A GOOD THING, AND SOLOMON OUGHT TO KNOW, CAUSE HE HAD 1000 WOMEN AROUND HIM

THERE IS NO GREATER POSSESION FOR A MAN THAN A GOOD WIFE, WITH ALL THEIR IMPERFECTIONS.

SENSIBLE MEN MUST LISTEN TO THEM OFTEN—BUT NOT ALWAYS.

I CERTAINLY WOULD NOT WANT TO LIVE IN TRINIDAD ANY TIME.– NOT FROM WHAT I WITNESSED ON MY THREE VISITS.

TOBAGO IS DIFFERENT THOUGH

SAY HELLO TO GEORGE FOR ME, NEXT TIME YOU VISIT HIM. MURDAAH

33. @ Donna,

As far as I am concerned, an unmarried woman is a whole human being and in your case a potential future prospect given your age. lol

I would live in Barbados and do the best to protect myself. Two dogs and a licenced firearm and hope for the best.

34. Pingback: Failing Recurring Crime Fighting Tactics | Barbados Underground

35. @ Artax
    A reading of the BU archives pre 2018 elections, clearly shows how the crime situation was politicize. bees wanted the then AG to be fired . Then murders increased and the Dees want the present AG to be fired.
    Bees said AG Brathwaite did not know what he was doing. Now the Dees saying AG Marshall do not know what he is doing.
    It’s all there in the BU archives.
    What informs you that it would be any different now.
    Plant potatoes reap potatoes.
    The same stick that lick Peter……….
    And that’s the problem with every single issue in our country.

• How is your non point suppose to move the narrative? It was done before so it should continue right William? There shouldn’t be a point we draw a line in the sand? One must shake head. No wonder things remain the same.

#politics!

36. @ David
    You are missing my point. @ Artax said that some will want to politicize the current crime situation. Be honest , the present AG called on his predecessor to resign when he ( Brathwaite) was incapable of curbing the gun violence.
    In other words while we may not want it to be politicized, it’s already politicized.
    You seem incapable of accepting that we can’t plant okra and reap corn.
    Yes there has to be a line drawn and we need to move pass this nonsense but we also have to recognize that political one upmanship is not the answer.

• @William

The argument needs to move to what measures can be implemented now to arrest the problem. We need to move away from unproductive narratives m.

37. William Skinner September 6, 2022 10:37 AM #: “A reading of the BU archives pre 2018 elections, clearly shows how the crime situation was politicize. bees wanted the then AG to be fired . Then murders increased and the Dees want the present AG to be fired.”

@ Mr. Skinner

In my October 25th, 2020, 12:28 PM contribution I alluded to previously, I mentioned the following:

“We continue to ‘discuss’ crime along the same lines each time the topic is brought up on BU.
    Crime is ALWAYS politicized.
    The BEES said former AG Brathwaite and PM Stuart did not do anything to address the crime situation during their ten year tenure………and the DEMS responded with, ‘at least it wasn’t bad then as it is now,’ because there is an increase in murders under the current AG Marshall and PM Mottley….. and they aren’t saying or doing anything about it.”

I ‘asked’ certain individuals who are known political operatives in this forum, what policies former AG Brathwaite could’ve…… or current AG Marshall should have…… implemented to prevent, for example, murders resulting from ‘crimes of passion,’ where reaction to a situation is immediate and not based on any premeditated motives, such as one person killing another during an altercation; a man/woman ‘catching’ his/her spouse/partner with another individual; or someone ‘defending life and property.’

The problem is, we seem to be more interested in following the usual narrative of politicizing crime, rather than having a rational discussion about the issue.
    And, noticeably absent are suggestions on how the authorities should go about addressing the problem of crime in the island.

38. ” Posted Aug 10, 2022, 11:10AM EDT.Last Updated Aug 10, 2022, 12:08PM EDT.
    York regional police say they’ve dismantled a criminal network that was smuggling guns from the United States into Canada and dealing copious amounts of drugs.

Twenty-two people are facing more than 400 charges in what police have dubbed Project Monarch — a 10-month joint-forces investigation.”

39. William Skinner September 6, 2022 10:59 AM #: “You are missing my point. @ Artax said that some will want to politicize the current crime situation.”

Mr. Skinner

Just re-read your comments.

‘Point of CORRECTION.’

Please note, I NEVER mentioned ANYTHING about “some will want to politicize the CURRENT crime situation.”

I was VERY CAREFUL to BEGIN my comments with:
    “OVER the YEARS we’ve been having discussions on BU about the crime situation in Barbados,”
    …… which clearly INDICATE I’m not CONFINING the ‘discussion’ to ANY SPECIFIC PERIOD.

Then, I went on to state:
    “And, there will obviously be attempts by some persons to politicise the situation.”

40. The good news, the names of those who ARE NEVER PUT UNDER POLICE SURVELLIENCE although it’s well known of their guns, drugs and money laundering ambitions……their NAMES ARE ALL NOW OUT THERE AND CIRCULATING…..

told yall that they people will SEE that’s the only way to fight the corrupt establishment protecting the CORRUPT..

41. and all kinda tings are coming OUT…

ya can hide and buy land….but cahn hide and wuk um…

42. @TheOGazerts

Hi Amit,
    If I could make a few comments
    (1) Perhaps you could try to introduce a search function on you page
    (2) Perhaps you could have section on your page (crime, gas prices …).
    (3) I like your August figure. Excellent. Just fantastic. Suggest having both end-of year 2021 figure and 2022 figures side by side.
    Just tossing some thoughts out there.

@TheOGazerts

Appreciate the feedback and suggestions.

Done – Added to the side bar.
    Let me know what you think of the Tags. These are displayed on the side bar.
    Appreciate the feedback.

Kind regards,
    Amit Uttamchandani
    http://www.caribbeansignal.com
    http://www.opendatabarbados.org

43. @ Artax
    Then, I (Artax) went on to state:
    “And, there will obviously be attempts by some persons to politicise the situation.”( @ Artax)

“You ( @ David) are missing my point. @ Artax said that some will want to politicize the current crime situation.”( William Skinner)

My brother I really don’t see the difference in what you said and how I referenced it.
    My major point is we tend to politicize everything and this current debate on crime will head down the same road.
    The same way the Dees defended their AG the Bees are now defending theirs.
    The archives on BU are there and anybody can read them.
    The country needs another two or three hundred police in order to fight crime effectively.
    Politics has invaded and literally taken over the force. The force is as infested with politics with the party in power as it was infested with previous administration.
    Policing , once considered a career is now hampered because politicians, from both parties, intercept and interfere with police work.
    The next step maybe to import not only police but a Commissioner of Police as well. And unite frankly , I don’t think that will work any better.

44. “Politics has invaded and literally taken over the force. The force is as infested with politics with the party in power as it was infested with previous administration.
    Policing , once considered a career is now hampered because politicians, from both parties, intercept and interfere with police work.”

politics…which in and of itself is CORRUPT has POISONED EVERYTHING on the island and EVERYWHERE ELSE….that’s why young people want no part of the police force….they know…

and since the real reason for politicians and their LIES AND DECEIT have become public knowledge only their fowls, imps and pimps would want anything to do with any of them…

45. Mr. Skinner

Come on, my friend.

“Current crime situation” and “current debate,” which you alluded to in your 3:21 PM contribution, are two DIFFERENT issues.

By mentioning, “the CURRENT crime situation,” you are essentially IMPLYING I’m REFERRING SPECIFICALLY to what is OCCURRING PRESENTLY……

…… which is a blatant misrepresentation of my original comment.

Remember, it was prefaced by a reference to the discussion on BU “over the years.”
    You failed to analyse my entire comment in terms of the words surrounding it.

However, I agree with you that “Politics has invaded and literally taken over the force.”
    This was clearly evident when Dottin was appointed CoP ahead of Bertie Hinds, who was said to be a DLP supporter.
    And, the current administration appointing Richard Boyce as CoP, instead of Erwin Boyce.
    Appointing Tyrone Griffith as CoP and Erwin Boyce as Dep. CoP ahead of Oral Williams was another political manuever…… as well as DLP operative, Guyson Mayers, as Chairman of the Police Services Commission (PSC), overturning several promotion recommendations made by former CoP Dottin and subsequently recommending his retirement “in the public interest,” are a few examples.

There are person who were born in Jamaica, St. Lucia, SVG, Dominica and other Caribbean islands who are members of the Barbados Police Service.
    I believe “importing a Commissioner of Police” would be, for want of a better word, counterproductive.

I remember a Caribbean island’s response to rising crime was to ‘bring in’ a Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner from the UK.
    It did not work.

The Jamaica Constabulary Force has been experimenting with appointing former soldiers as CoP.
    The current Commissioner is Major General Antony Anderson, who was the Chief of Defence Staff of the Jamaica Defence Force and served as Jamaica’s first National Security Advisor.

The reality is, policing in Barbados is not currently an attractive profession.
    Salaries are a contributing factor.

46. @ Artax
    Point taken. I respect your representation / response. As we say in Bim : yuh got muh on dat one. Apologies are in order. Kindly accept.
    Peace

47. @ TheOGazerts,

Glennis is still “the one” but unattainable.

Therefore I am open to more real possibilities.

Before you retire to Barbados or Trinidad you could get some lessons on self defence.

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.