One of the more interesting decisions made in 2018 by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) government led by Mia Mottley was to appoint the largest ever Cabinet in our history. Her justification for the ‘relatively large’ Cabinet was because of the overwhelming mandate received from the electorate. From 2018 until the present – with a cosmetic tweak in 2022 – the Cabinet has remained large.

Enough time has elapsed to fairly judge if a large Cabinet adds value to how the country has been governed since 2018. It has been a government led by the larger than life and seemingly indefatigable Prime Minister Mottley. Her style of delivery and oratory skill has endeared her to the international community. It is worth a reminder she inherited an economy with a GDP north of 150 with junk status credit rating. There was a feeling of renewed hope in the nation post 2018 general election.

Out of the gate the Mottley government committed the country to a debt restructure on domestic and local holdings which right sided the debt to GDP indicator BUT immediately shot the confidence of local and foreign investors. The lack of confidence to invest persists four years later. To be expected economists are divided on whether it was the right strategy, these decisions are never easy we must admit. 

In Mottley’s defense she will postulate that the COVID 19 pandemic, Hurricane Elsa and La Soufriere volcano ash fall combined to derail government’s rebuild effort and in fact caused the economy to significantly contract. To reasonable onlookers she has a good defense. However hungry mouths well not be as sympathetic. The debate will continue about the BLP’s performance since 2018 until the next bell is rung.

Political pundits are already surveying a barren political landscape for alternative voting options. The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) under rookie leader Dr. Ronnie Yearwood is in the early stage of a rebuild and the many political parties that presented at the polls in 2018 and 2022 have done the usual vanishing act of which Houdini would have been proud. 

What is the blogmaster trying to say in too many words?

Prime Minister Mottley has taken the reins of government at a challenging time in our history there can be no doubt. This is precisely why decisions taken by Mottley must be fit for purpose for the extraordinary times to guide a 166 square mile open economy island through the economic tempest and other challenges. There is no good reason the country should have to suffer a bloated Cabinet not to mention a bevy of financial consultants in 2022. Mottley must stop pandering to political inclinations and instead send clear signals to the population she and her government are prepared to make the sacrifice and walk with the people at a difficult time in our history. 

What the blogmaster fears most is – when the next general election is called the electorate may have no choice to abstain or vote anyone posing as an opposition, a default position. The level of apathy and cynicism in the country is already low. Whither our democratic system?

340 responses to “Mottley Cabinet is Bloated”

1. The Dimming of Road and Rights

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

*straits…

it’s time they understand that it’s only their groupies/stupid fowls believe anything they say…and are not monitoring them like sensible others are….

3. Stop stop start again
    When the limits of peoples artistic expression is moaning and groaning weeping and wailing and gnashing of teeth
    they they must be bitches

Your Cast Will Tire

Bad Baby / Public Image Ltd

Nearly ten thirty, I’m rising early
    I’ve got an eye to buy the best
    Before the rush
    Someone left a baby in the car park
    Never any reason
    Don’t you listen
    One more sob story
    Someone is calling
    Seen through the window
    Calling through mirrors
    Don’t you listen, don’t interfere
    Ignore it and it will go away

Someone is calling
    Don’t you listen, don’t you listen
    Someone is calling
    Don’t you listen, don’t you listen

4. Socialist

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@The BushMan Griot, correct there is no need for question marks … I fully respect your analysis that we are in the ‘hands’ of God or Yahweh or Allah and thus our BB Backsides are ‘doomed’ to his will. When that will occur is yet anyone’s prophecy, however.

I therefore dismiss as madness and absurd arrogant piffle anyone who “would DECIDE to use nuclear weapons [because] THEIR personal situation is hopeless”!

I would also agree that any such idiot who proffers such a solution has absolutely no INTEREST or “serious consideration of the consequences” and is inherently insane.

So no Mr Griot I have absolutely no misguided ‘human optimism’, nor am I fast asleep in decade long slumber. The MAD theorems of a nuclear holocaust are EXACTLY as the acronym projects … no sensible world leader wants to awake in his bunker to pictures of radioactive rain, soon to be barren, fallow lands and a crashed commercial world unless they are themselves MAD as the freaking hatter!

Why we even entertain these intellectually stupid, arrogant ninconpoops who proliferate think-thanks with this piffle is beyond me!

6. Dribbles
    Re-read your above post and let Bushie know EXACTLY what you are trying to say…
    Genuinely lost….

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL @Bushman Griot …. alright den!

Let’s stay in the ‘castle of our wonderland’.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh I know you know MAD= Mutual Assured Destruction.

It is truely MADness and has been so since late 1950.

Anyhow, peace out.

9. Cabinet is bloated ? duh mussee eat tummuch pork knuckles and pig tails.

10. Donna

Based on what the “new guy” has been saying, as reported by media, I have to agree with you that he “is full of hot air.”

11. Barbados Today online pages 22 to 60. feting can’t done. Social distancing ? wha is dah?

12. The beat goes on the day after

We bajans are a bug bunch of hand to mouth people
    The PM instead of carry up salaries to a liveable wage decided to give Barbados another basket
    She got trick, just like Owen and Sandiford
    Let me explained
    If the mark up of a tin of cornbeef was only $3 then the PM agreedwith the merchants to take it up to 15%
    So the merchants who were only getting 300% profit will now be getting more
    Do the math
    Now although I want to thank her for the school meals idea, why are you insulting poor people like that?
    They can’t spend money?
    The $300 000000 to hotels
    $4,000000 to the feed place
    Near $1,000000 to wool worth for uniforms
    Millions to Supermarkets and stores to don’t let go workers
    $6 million in dead pension cheque
    Millions missing from QEH And BWA
    None of these people dont not have to line up for food
    Instead what she could have done is take at least half of those money’s and send to bajans
    Bills would be paid and food brought
    And for all those yardfowls who say the poor will bye hair or drugs
    The rich do too or buy Yachts
    !

13. @ dpD
    What is your point?
    That it would be MADNESS for someone to consciously use nuclear weapons?
    Well DUH!!!
    You will get 99.999% concurrence on that.

Here is where YOU are LOST….
    The Damn world IS ALREADY MAD as shiite!!
    …so the use of nuclear weapons would be par for the damn course in the current shiite world.

How ‘madder’ can it be than for the head of the USA, which spends more on WEAPONS than the next ten top spenders, and Israel, the butchers of the Middle East ( Two ‘johnny-come-lately’ countries) to look SERIOUSLY into cameras and declare that IRAN (a country as old as humanity) must never acquire a nuclear weapon “because THEY say so”…
    Watch the Ayatollah….

How ‘madder’ can it be than for Trump to be still walking about talking shiite after Jan 6? …chaos coming in Washington

How ‘madder’ do you propose it can get, than for Biden to PRESS Russia to attack Ukraine (in an ill-advised move to weaken Russia) and then provide Ukraine with just enough weapons to keep on fighting till the Russians can kill them all…?
    Do you realize that by just signing a treaty that they initially agreed to, ALL this shiite could have been avoided..?

Dribbles, a decision to use nuclear weapons now by ANY one of a set of brass bowl madmen, is ONLY a matter of time….
    Pacha tends to put it over as ‘wishing for its use’, but that is CLEARLY and expression of Pacha’s FRUSTRATION with the global idiocy that is ENDEMIC… especially among our leaders….and the INEVITABILITY if the final idiocy…

14. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Well thank you senor Bushman Griot, that was my simple point (which I thought was clearly noted): that due to any _”FRUSTRATION with the global idiocy … “_an advocacy to use nuclear WMD as a solution is obvious INSANITY.

One cannot attempt to supplant the so called whatever bad western hegemony with an autocratic strongman who is just as bad (worst really) and who casually talks of nuclear weapon usage and be considered a ‘credible’ voice. So thus my coda above ***”Why we even entertain these intellectually stupid, arrogant ninconpoops who proliferate think-thanks with this piffle is beyond me!’****

There is no rational debate on this subject re usage … now if you want to debate who gets to own these types of weapons then we can have it with gusto.

And on that point let’s be clear …. Iran is indeed “a country as old as humanity” but their modern day hatred and destructive rhetoric towards their mortal ‘biblical’ enemy of Israel suggests that access to nuclear weaponry could very likely see them initiate an INSANSE first strike attempt …

…. so just as we try to keep guns or dangerous weapons out of the hands of ‘mentally unstable’ humans for fear of that inevitable ‘suicide by cop’ model after some moment of wanton tragedy … it makes ABSOLUTE sense to do the same here.

It’s as simplistic as that … when we cut through all the BS palaver!

15. angela cox July 15, 2022 10:22 AM #: “Let me explained
    If the mark up of a tin of cornbeef was only $3 then the PM agreedwith the merchants to take it up to 15%
    So the merchants who were only getting 300% profit will now be getting more..”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

RUBBISH!!!

Perhaps that’s ‘NEW maths.’

16. What in the name of common sense is ac talking about? New maths indeed!

We can talk all we want about corruption, large cabinets and consultants. There is much to talk about? But these measures should grant some ease to the MOST VULNERABLE. The rest of us can trim off the fat. MYSELF INCLUDED.

The world is suffering. Barbados cannot escape.

WURA,

My electricity bill has not reached $2oo since no air conditioner is running. I found a fan that actually feels like it is blowing cooled air. Two of them run 24/7. I have an electric stove and all the other usual appliances. Energy saving bulbs, newer, energy efficient appliances, unplugging those not in use must be doing the trick. And yet there is more that I could do to conserve..

We are only two but we are at home all day and there are lights on all night because my son is nocturnal.

My best friend has two young adults, none of them are home all day and she just told me her bill is $300.

That is high. She identified some wastage on their part.

17. Replace errant question mark with full stop

18. Why are the wealthy and the most wealthy sitting at the table with the most poor andvulnerable and gouging from the basket of goodies
    After all most of them have already benefitted from tax breaks and govt covid financial relief plus the many other hand outs given in form of financial aid
    Those with the largest finacial war chest should have been left out allowing them to pull the debt basket
    Where there is no vision the mostly poor would perish

19. “If the mark up of a tin of cornbeef was only $3 then the PM agreedwith the merchants to take it up to 15%
    So the merchants who were only getting 300% profit will now be getting more

[code lang=text]
    <br />RUBBISH!!!

Perhaps that’s ‘NEW maths"
    [/code]

I believe that you were a fair and honest guy. But how can you ignore ac’s admission that the mathematics was too much for her when her next line was a desperate plea for help “Do the math”

That was cruel of you😃

20. Wow 1:03
    Sheer poetry
    Wow

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Ways can be found to reduce the energy ouput….but if you do business and some equipment carry heating elements…..can’t reduce or skimp on those…

..but there are ways to cut every day household usage.

22. “I believe that you were a fair and honest guy. But how can you ignore ac’s admission that the mathematics was too much for her when her next line was a desperate plea for help “Do the math”…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

Didn’t “ignore ac’s admission that the mathematics was too much for her.”

Tried “doing the math,” and soon realized it “was too much for me” as well.
    Unfortunately, my “desperate plea for help” went unanswered.
    Decided to dismissed it as rubbish so as to reassure ac she wasn’t alone.

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I believe Barbados’ corrupt convinced themselves that the Afrikan population were NEVER going to wake up…and they could play themselves at our expense with the tiefing, every day corruption and lies for another 100 years..

..but SURPRISE!!!!

can’t be business as usual going forward..

they need to take a look at social media platforms and gauge how their SCAM IS UP….keep pushing it and they will see the blowback.

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Even worse, all those indigenous laws for Afrikans…yes we are INDIGENOUS TO THE EARTH AS ITS ORIGINAL PEOPLE… and natives to the Americas….i posted to FB as well 2 years ago and it’s coming up again, a whole month’s worth…

25. AC , Mr Thompson was a first class bullshitter who talked sweet to become PM but did not in my view have a clue about running a country.As far as Obama Yearwood is concern i heard him today talking some nonsense about soup kitchens etc.This clown clearly knows nothing about running a country as when pressed for solutions is very vague.Yet Mr Wilkinson seems to be able to find him for comments at will.Then claims he is a neutral.Really? You come over as a dem to me like your colleagues Dr Hinds and Mr Blackman encouraging all these dems like Ms decided , Rawle, Mr P, Alvin,, Mr Bascombe and Straker,s to call almost every day.Anyway congratulations to Ms Mottley for a timely intervention especially with the basket of goods and the school meals for the children which will take a burden off the poorer persons in the island.Well done and as Ms Mottley says watch muh.Hopefully Dr Yearwood and the dems learn something from this as most bajans seem thankful for these measures.I gone.

26. Here is the school.meals catch

Xxx
    imagine $14 to get a free meal every day, if you have to catch 2 buses, that is $70 in groceries,

27. “I believe Barbados’ corrupt convinced themselves that the Afrikan population were NEVER going to wake up…”

The great master Buddha said “Awakening is not the end, it is the beginning of a new phase of practice. …”

Exploring The Yogic Path

28. Must you criticize for the sake of it? The children will collect the meal from the school nearest to their home.

29. And here what others are saying
    Xxxxxx
    listen to the chief Ed officer on Brass Taxx and she never mention the transportation factor;. Furthermore it appears the program will be at primary school facilities only as the secondary schools dont have the facilities and or utensils that are available at the primary schools. Also, it also appears that u have to register for the SuN programme in order to get a meal and that was not what the PM put forward as she made it appear like the food would be at the school just go get it when it’s lunch time.

30. “Must you criticize for the sake of it? “

Perhaps that is a rhetorical question
    but the obvious answer is “Yes”
    that is what AC does
    it is how her brain works

Africans
    are
    described
    as
    a

heathenish
    brutish
    and
    an
    uncertain
    dangerous
    pride
    of
    people

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Of course the other half witted pro would come out to claim some “timely intervention” when people have been STARVING and many unable to feed themselves on the island for all of 3 YEARS…but to hear the dummy tell yuh, it’s all timely…

32. “Yet Mr Wilkinson seems to be able to find him for comments at will.Then claims he is a neutral.Really? You come over as a dem to me …”

You may wonder why I do not take things seriously. The truth is. …. I try, but then the logic of some leaves me in knots.

One of the criticisms of Freundel S was that he hardly spoke to the people. Then we constantly complained when the Dems were silent.

Now, we have the new and amazingly refreshing Ronnie Obama making himself readily available and giving euridite interviews and do you know what is the conclusion … the interviewer is a dem.

At least, they did not insult us by telling us Ronnie O is a dem.

Does the joke ends there? No!

We have Mia who is attracted to a camera or microphone like a moth to a flame and no one accuses those who interview her as being a B. That would be foolishness.

So too us this silly attempt to brand an interviewer and to take food out of his family’s mouth.

How low can you go
    Lower than a snake, Lorenzo?

33. Now you understand why our newsmen/women are so cautious.

An interview can be taken as a sign of party affiliation.

A pertinent question in search of information can be taken as a frontal attack.

Before evaluating the truth of a statement, we must first place the interviewer as a B or a D.

Truth has a party. Don’t you dare search for the truth.

34. BarbadosToday online pages 22 & 23 and 34 & 35

This is who we are till August.

35. The program put forward would be riddle with problems
    This is another hot and sweaty idea with little thought of circumstances which would negate changes to properly accommodate the most vulnerable on these hot and sweaty days

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“How low can you go
    Lower than a snake, Lorenzo?”

the professional liars can go a whole lot lower than that…don’t sell them short…give them a month to regroup and you will see…just remember….they manipulate the truth to cover the lie so you can never see it..

37. National emergency in U.K. as historic heat wave sweeps over Europe

38. Gazzerts i know you do not live about here so i will give you a break.Every time any thing is done by this government Mr Wilkinson since becoming a moderator somehow finds Dr Yearwood.Is this a coincidence i doubt it.Therefore i have my view you have yours which i have no problem with.I done with you and that.I gone.

39. Oh HELL ON EARTH! Imagine the Brits coming to Barbados to COOL OFF!

My verandah is always cool.

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Cut the working hours of public servants to five hours for the same pay and allow them to channel the remainder of the time in family care or entrepreneurship, says Professor Don Marshall.”

William…..the perceptive are seeing what others can’t….let’s see if they ignore intelligent suggestions to the incoming mess….and cause a REACTION…

at least the Pro stopped trying to salvage the Carlisle Bay lie…

flew too close to the sun and got all its fowl feathers burnt off…gotta keep quiet for a few days to cool off…

41. School meal program
    Questions
    How will low end working parents with no means of personal transportation avail their children to be active participants in the six week program
    The program is geared at time intervals when mothers would be at work
    Asking parents to leave a job and having to pay differing bus fares is not putting money in the pocket of a parent already struggling to make ends meets
    The program is geared to a one hour time period between twelve and one
    Can’t see a mother having to make a decision of losing an hour worth of wages daily or more pay differing bus fare take the child for a meal and then returning to work late most like losing several hours of wages between time left and time returned to work for a free six meal program
    This initiative was not properly thought out
    The politics that is driving the initiative would spell trouble for low income working mothers
    A better alternative would be one of sending a monthly voucher sponsored by govt and big business so the low income worker can buy food for the child or children

42. Poor you.

“According to Dr. Archer-Bradshaw, the Ministry would be utilising various sites across the island for the meal programme but would first be guided by a survey, utilising the information drawn from the registration forms, which are expected to be completed by parents by Monday, July 18.”

https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/great-response-already-to-summer-nutrition-programme/

43. Question
    Poor you
    Xxxxxx
    Why is govt spouting an initiative which has not been fully and throughly given due diligence and well thought
    The PM words were those to give hope not to add speculation
    Govt once again placing cart before horse

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So after the six-week feeding program….THEN WHAT??

after the 6-month vat ease….THEN WHAT??

a return to price gouging by thieves in the business crimunity make up what they see as a loss….set up another FAKE charity to recoup….. rob the treasury and pesnion fund..

has anyone thought that far ahead yet,,

45. Also what about parents not working and can’t access themselves to get the meal again because of transportation problems or lack of funding to access daily transportation
    Due diligence after the initiative is spelled out of the PM mouth spells problems

46. People are thinking only the blp yardfowls and misfits taking the PM words as gospel
    The gospel truth is that this PM promised plenty to the poor and most vulnerable and yet to deliver
    When questions are asked the red feathers become.ruffled and regurgitating flows from their gawking mouths

47. Nothing is perfect. Where there is a need a solution will be found, friend, family, good neighbour et al. You are always looking for the downside while forgetting the many positives. It is a good thing the leader of your party doesn’t agree with you.

48. Not blinded by smoke and mirrors
    Thank God
    Any negatives should bring out positives
    No actors and actions delivered like ostrich head buried in the sand