First it was the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, and now some heartless Barbadians have found a new dumping facility for their elderly relatives at the Harrison Point COVID-19 Isolation Facility in St Lucy. They are dropping off the senior citizens infected with COVID-19 but are not returning for them after they have recovered…

Emblazoned on the front page of the recent Sunday Sun was the embarrassing news some Barbadians are abandoning elderly family members at healthcare facilities. The latest being the newly outfitted Harrison’s Point. What caught the blogmaster’s attention was the cookie cutter quote attributed to Minister of Elder Affairs Kirk Humphrey – he described the development as concerning, pointing out that the situation was indicative of the work that was needed at the level of the family and government to ensure greater provisions for the elderly within a context of an ageing population …blah blah blah. Is this the same Humphrey who was to lead the new Blue Economy? 

Minister Kirk Humphrey this is a message for you. Have you ever been in the area of Top Rock gas station or Dover, and spotted an old lady with short grey hair, a slight stoop, and seeming confused wandering around talking to herself? If you have, then you would have seen Theresa Castro. 

It was brought to the blogmaster’s attention the elderly lady spends most of the day by Top Rock gas station. From reports, she sleeps in the gallery of her former home (where her daughter currently lives). There is a good Barbadian giving her food and has been trying to source assistance from several if not all of the social services for her. To no avail. It seems she has a mental challenge and is showing signs of dementia. It was reported to the blogmaster the plight of the elderly lady was reported to Minister Kirk Humphrey’s secretary. Up to the time of posting this blog there was no intervention from a single government agency to assist Theresa Castro.

Do you know Minister Kirk Humphrey was quoted in the 19 June 2022 edition of the Nation newspaper he has engaged the Barbados Police Service to assist with those who continue to abuse the elderly? …Blah Blah Blah
Is there any surprise Barbadians have become cynical and apathetic towards politicians?

The blogmaster further understands the plight of Theresa Castro was brought to the attention of the Nation and Barbados Today newspapers, Psychiatric hospital, George Griffith, family members et al- so far there has been no assistance forthcoming for Theresa Castro.

Have we become a soulless a society to ignore a senior citizen in her twilight years in need of assistance? What does it say about the society? What does it say about the good use of tax dollars funding Minister Humphrey’s Elder Affairs ministry?

347 responses to “Minister Kirk Humphrey and Theresa Castro”

1. I really have no idea how soon inquests into deaths are conducted but I did wonder at what APPEARED to be unusual haste within our sluggardly system.

My cousin’s case which I spoke of last week, reminded by this case, is past the inquest stage, I think, but stuck in the courts for many, many years, last time I heard.

Being unsure of the timeframe for inquests, I preferred to wait to see how swiftly this case, if the inquest points to one, will move through the system.

2. David
    I had called for everyone who loves Bim to come up with ways to help it. But as Wura pointed out, it seems people are now very weary. Not all people are fearless in the storm of opposition like PLT. He was indeed selfless, but on the flip side the govt were shortsighted. But that seems to be a trait of politicians.

3. Morning Donna

I did send a message to your email yesterday.

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Any ideas on BU goes STRAIGHT TOWARD BENEFITTING the greedy and corrupt….not the majority population…

PLT is flexible, he knows how to get his creations DIRECTLY TO THE PEOPLE..

…as i have had to do with information that needed disseminating….what i want out there, goes directly to the target audience…

5. Donna
    This inquest have more of an agenda behind it I suspect. Outside of the power play of ‘do you know who you have messed with’, I think they might pursue a lawsuit.

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Also a distraction from other things going on behind the scenes..

.some never waste an opportunity to cover their tracks..

…not as easy as before though….must be very frustrating…being monitored 24/7/365.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Lisa
    Don’t blame Mia, PLT allowed this whole sale theft of his idea. I think it was who stole it that made the difference.
    That’s my personal opinion.

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

funny Enuff…the only thing they seem not to want to tief are those articles i put out there on Kush Quarterly….not a fella int wahn no part ah dem….that must be their cryptonite..

9. What about the inquest involving the death of owner of sandy lane the caroner switched to private hearing?

10. @Lisa

We live here. We help or perish.

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…it was a GIFT….who the hell is GIVEN A GIFT FOR THEIR PEOPLE…to improve their lives and then ATTEMPT TO TIEF IT…..without understanding that to progress further it needed the INPUT OF THE CREATOR…

what manner of beast is so RETARDED…

12. Steuspe

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The only people we see PERISHING in Barbados and have for the last 100 years….ARE THE AFRIKAN DESCENDED….that tells us there MUST BE A SWITCH UP in the people dynamic where currently the majority remain at the bottom of any socio-economic improvements…

.that is NOT ACCEPTABLE or SUSTAINABLE…now is the time to UPEND IT…

14. David
    I agree, we live here and will do whatever it takes to help it, but I’ve had experience of some in power trying everything possible to stop improvements if the idea didn’t come from them or a minion.

Some years ago I submitted a proposal, that if implemented would have averted some issues we have now, and was told by someone in that ministry how they are hindered and blocked from implementing things that would bring improvements.

What do we have here David?

These people are playing games at the destruction of poor people, who have no say in decisions that affect them the most.

My daughter is a teen, and told me flat out that when she leaves for university she will not come back here, so I have to move to Ireland when I’m older to be looked after.

This is a kid David, and she doesn’t see a future here.

What type of future are we creating for the kids unable to leave this rock? The egos and game playing need to stop, solutions for the future other than that of themselves need to become a thing. For too long we have used politics as a get rich quick scheme for a few. How many of these people stop themselves from benefiting and think of how it impacts on someone else? Not sure how many put country first.

15. David

That inquest could have been made private as well. So why the public spectacle that is so unbabajun?

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“and she doesn’t see a future here.

What type of future are we creating for the kids unable to leave this rock?”

same with my grands…..they see Barbados as hopeless due to the selfish leadership and the minority crimunity members…..who are only that way because they are enabled by those with similiar motives…

.remove the ability to steal, discriminate, oppress, suppress, money launder and the whole corrupt package and there would be a new beginning that would make a difference once the majority POPULATION WHOSE PRESENCE GENERATE THE BILLIONS STOLEN…are PUT FIRST…

17. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    We can’t blame Mia. If you steal my idea and I look the other way, it’s no longer about the thief. It’s about the owner.
    I think that PLT , for reasons he alone knows, allowed this one to go unchallenged.
    I can’t blame this on Mia. Imagine after all this time in office, the only real original idea came from PLT via BU.
    Over to Trevor Eastmond and Serenader It’s time to have some fun.
    Topless and bottom out !

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

These just don’t know what they are up against, and they should NOT, but will see eventually..

…let them keep believing…”we got dis” to keep corruption, white supremacy and Afrikan oppression alive indefinitely.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

” Imagine after all this time in office, the only real original idea came from PLT via BU.”

yeah, and remember how the disrespectful mangy fowls tried to treat him on here…

William…i know how you feel about that…..but, if i give a GIFT…..without strings attached…and said it’s for the PEOPLE OF BARBADOS…..not for Mia, she is THEIR EMPLOYEE who ACCEPTED THE GIFT on their behalf….she could think whatever pretend elite nonsense in her head….SHE IS THE PEOPLE’S EMPLOYEE…

what the hell right she got going on the world stage claiming it’s her idea….when she is THE EMPLOYEE of the people and RECIPIENT of the GIFT that was meant to benefit her EMPLOYERS THE PEOPLE……is that NOT A THEFT by an employee…

am sure PLT was waiting for them to connect with him to tweak or upgrade or do what’s necessary to make sure the project progressed as should….

.when i give, don’t exactly expect credit and would think the recipient would have the ethical and moral standing to KNOW that credit should be given in this case to PLT…give him the incentive needed to improve upon and even create more projects to help diversify the one horse tourism…..but when ya BURN THAT BRIDGE and then get stuck…i won’t even look at ya….and would go directly to the people with future projects…

20. Many years ago an marine biologist friend of mine came here from France and they set up a fish farm over in St. Lucy (maybe that was the bit close to St.Peter, I don’t remember), the focus at the time was shrimp and the plan was for expansion. The political party of the day got involved by asking them to take on the son of some white Bajan who wanted in, they said he had no experience and wouldn’t be able to bring anything to what they were doing. Thing got shutdown and my friend didn’t get a new work permit and has been back in France now for many years. We talk about food production, and that could have grown and provided food that would cut down on the import bill, and by now would have been exporting because it would have grown. We are backwards at coming forwards.

21. If the need fits, white expats are shutdown as well.

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

That’s very true…this white dude from Australia i think, had a very successful farm with lettuce and other herbs, very good products…high quality…think it was either in St. Lucy or St. Peter…

some greedy, lazy bajan white wanted him gone because they wanted a ready made farm, and of course their questionable cabinet partners would make sure to send in their imps and pimps to do whatever is necessary to make that happen…

same as running out of Afrikan people to rob their estates and bank accounts after a hundred years, so the next logical step is that EVERYONE ELSE IN THE MINORITY GROUPS ARE NOW FAIR GAME…..including those in the diaspora.

..because they ran out of Afrikans there to rob too..

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

these are cartels and criminal syndicates….that’s what they do and WHO THEY ARE…

24. @Lisa

These are politicians we should be holding account or public servants who are Bajans. As stated, residents have to continue to holding themselves accountable by delivering on our civic responsibility. Or leave the 2×3 country right?

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Notice…the citizens are not the ones IN CHARGE OF THE TREASURY, or NIS or VAT…but somehow they must hold “themselves” accountable for civic duties…

.but the CORRUPT don’t need to do none of dat…..they can just keep on doing what they are doing….

..although well known to EVERYONE, the people NEVER HAD ANY POWER to resist let alone capsize the dishonest thieves and liars..

am glad you see how TWISTED the thinking has become..

….

26. David
    You and I know the trajectory this ship is on if we don’t start doing things differently, and in the best interest of the country. Are we going to kid ourselves that the politicians who hold 2 passports will stick around after they destroy the place?

27. David

How does a fearful pubic hold these people to account, other than vote them out to be replaced by the same?

28. @Lisa

There is strength in numbers. Unfortunately we have not been able to achieve the tipping point.

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I just saw where PLTs remote work went global and he is getting full credit through an interview on Morning Barbados….PLT is very graceful…

..i don’t have a lot of those traits in certain situations, so i must give him his props…….he is giving the governemt an A for turn around time in implementation..

William….it turns out he was ASKED to present an idea in a 2 page document/memo….that’s what he did…as A CREATIVE…that’s what creative do…

so it proves my point : you do not take someone’s idea THAT YOU ASKED FOR and then claim it as your own…

30. Police are investigating a double murder that happened late on Wednesday in St Joseph.

The incident occurred in Orange Cottage after reports to the police about 11:30 p.m. of several explosions in the area.

Police said two men were found dead at the scene.

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TO REPEAT:

that’s what creatives do…

and…as i have relatives who are the pioneers, among the second generation do be REMOTE WORKERS straight outta university……he is stressing that it’s not only for the tourism industry..

.it’s for the public who choose working from HOME as A VERY LUCRATIVE CAREER…as entrepreneurs.

you can earn as we know from the days of TELECOMMUTING, the first name given this DECADES AGO in the bigger countries. before it BECAME AN INDUSTRY …..attractive incomes and don’t have to depend on slavery tourism….or shitty employers, you are your own boss and can take it as far as you want…..

32. Yes David.. strength in numbers, but that would be a hard slog.
    If there has been one thing noticeable to me over the years, its the fear of Bajans.
    Politicians from both parties know this because they have created this toxic environment where you are victimised if you are bold enough to speak up. So people are made examples of and you keep the public in check that way. How many on this blog use their real names? People might very well think that party faithfuls will try to find out everything about them and make their lives miserable. We already have a work place culture here, in which political appointees can make regular folk uncomfortable enough to transfer out of depts. We need a different setup and stop fooling the world that people are allowed to be themselves here and have different views without victimisation. I don’t walk around blind in this place, so much I see is questionable.

33. This is why the word tipping point was mentioned. There was a period blacks in bondage would have thought it an impossible task to get to where we are today. Does is mean we have overcome? No but the struggle continues, in fact it will never end.

34. Wura

Sorry, I didn’t see it. I read the online papers, but I don’t watch any of the local shows.

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I just saw it on FB quite by accident….the interview happened within the last 24 hours…

” its the fear of Bajans.”

and their incredible ability to FIGHT DOWN each other in every situation in an attempt to take credit for what they are incapable of doing……mimicking deceitful leadership…..even when it’s THEIR ASSES YOU ARE TRYING TO SAVE…

i keep saying they need to REMOVE THEMSELVES from that negative parliament influence….so as to THINK CLEARLY and CONCISELY..

36. Izod
    Thanks for identifying me as a fool. Are you ever able to counter my comments?

37. David
    You can never reach a tipping point when we have created a hand to mouth society, which makes people dependent and fall for all types of empty promises. The society has become comfortable and has accepted the way things are as normal. You ever heard anyone say “this is Barbados”, when you complain?

38. Enuff
    Sometimes you need to let things go and get on with the meat and veg of discussion. If you spend less time being sarky, you will find different ways to engage.. that is just my point of view. You got on my nerves last night when I was tired and frustrated.. today is a new day.

39. Enuff

Maybe you can let the social works at NAB know that Theresa needs help, and do your part to help someone.

40. How a tipping point is reached is unknown. It will occur when enough is enough by those feeling the pain.

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“You ever heard anyone say “this is Barbados”, when you complain?”

code for…it’s never doing to change..

the next comment is…..”dah iz how we duz do tings bout hey, an if you doan like um, leff from bout hey, guh back whey yuh come from”

an extremely and ENTIRELY DEFEATIST ATTITUDE..

how many times on BU those in the diaspora would express concern and offer suggestions for changes and get jumped by the blog fowls…with a bunch of nasty remarks..

.and deliberate and CONCERTED made attempts to divide the people in the diaspora from the people domiciled on the island…there was a movement right here on BU to destroy any cohesion and demonize those who SEND THEIR REMITTANCES TO THE ISLAND TO PROP IT UP…and help their families….we actually had to PUT UP RESISTANCE to stop that wickedness..ask William..

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

.*a deliberate and maliciously CONCERTED effort was made through many attempts to divide …

43. Wura
    I live with people becoming defensive if I make suggestions. I was told by someone about month ago that I have a superiority complex, only because I made a suggestion on how another person could make more money from their business. When I was able to unpack it, I realised that it came from a place of envy on the part of the plonker. A friend started a business and I was told all the things that was wrong with it, and what the friend was thinking in terms of improving. So, I made some suggestions that would have helped this person friend, only to realise they would rather see the friend fail, so attacked me for the suggestions. I keep to myself a lot here because it is very toxic because of envious people.

44. Shouldn’t be that way and it makes me sad.

45. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“I keep to myself a lot here because it is very toxic because of envious people.”

that is their downfall…that they can’t move on from…

46. Lisa,

Will check your message and respond.

But one question – how long have you been reading this BU?

Never mind. You have already stated that you do not let the opinions of others influence you unduly.

I trust that you will continue in this vein. On this site, it is necessary to actually read for yourself what others have written. It is often misrepresented. A whole lot is often misrepresented. Motives are misinterpreted for whatever reasons.

I will say no more because I trust you to “read and spell”. I am in no mood to rehash old battles.

Checking for your message now!

47. Donna

I’ve been reading it for a while now. And no, I don’t judge anyone based on their post or opinions shared and rather deal with each person as an individual. The only person I’ve had to become cross with is Enuff, and that was because first contact with me was a jibe. Hopefully Enuff will evolve and grow and stop using the time to deflect from the issue at hand. Until I’m sure what the motivations are I will be kind.

48. @Lisa

These are politicians we should be holding account or public servants who are Bajans. As stated, residents have to continue to holding themselves accountable by delivering on our civic responsibility. Or leave the 2×3 country right?

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

THE BLACK RESIDENTS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND CAN’T DO SHIT AS THE POLITICIANS FROM BOTH DLP AND BLP USE AND ABUSE PEOPLE CLOSEST AROUND THEM ALONG WITH CONTRACTORS WHO THEY BENEFIT FROM KICKBACKS ON CONTRACTS.

PEOPLE NEED TO STOP BEHAVING AS THOUGH THEIR HEADS ARE BURIED IN THE SAND.

THINGS WILL NEVER CHANGE WITH EITHER PARTY, CORRUPTION AND THE SYSTEM THEY HAVE PUT IN PLACE BUILT BY GREED AND LACKEYS IS TOO FAR INGRAINED AND THE STATUS QUO.

PEOPLE LIKE LISA UNFORTUNATELY WILL BE CASUALTIES OF THE WAR UNLESS THROW IN THE TOWEL AND BECOME BLINDED AND PART OF THE SYSTEM TO FIT IN.

FACTS NOT FICTION.

49. Lisa,

Will check your message and respond.

But one question – how long have you been reading this BU?

Never mind. You have already stated that you do not let the opinions of others influence you unduly.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

WELL WELL WELL

YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO BE CONTACTING THIS LADY TO ASSIST AN ELDERLY RESIDENT IN NEED END OF STORY.

HOWEVER YOU WARNING HER ABOUT OTHER PEOPLE ON BU MOSTLY ANONYMOUS WHICH HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE MISSION OF HELPING THIS ELDERLY HOMELESS LADY OUT IN THE ELEMENTS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

LISA FROM READING HER SUBMISSIONS IS MORE THAN CAPABLE OF HANDLING HERSELF AND HAS BEEN ABLE TO GET ALL HER POINTS ACCURATELY ACROSS WITH SINCERITY, CREDIBLITY, RESPECT AND NO USE OF VULGARITY..

WONDERS AND PETTINESS NEVER CEASE AS THE ISSUES ARE NOT EVEN RELATED.

LET YOUR ACTIONS IN ASSISTING THE ELDERLY LADY BE FACT AND NOT FICTION.

THIS IS NOT A TIME FOR DIVISION AND THE PETTY.

50. and…as i have relatives who are the pioneers, among the second generation do be REMOTE WORKERS straight outta university……he is stressing that it’s not only for the tourism industry..

.it’s for the public who choose working from HOME as A VERY LUCRATIVE CAREER…as entrepreneurs.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

ONE OF MY BUSINESSES THAT I MANAGED SOLELY IS DONE ONLINE WITH A US CLIENT WHO PAYS BETWEEN US$8000 TO US$12,000 MONTHLY WHICH I MANAGE REMOTELY WHETHER I AM SITTING ON THE BEACH, AT HOME, TRAVELLING ETC ONCE I HAVE INTERNET CONNECTIVITY AND LOG INTO THE MAIN SERVER VIA A STATIC IP ADDRESS.

FOR MONTHS THE SAME US CLIENT HAS BEEN ASKING FOR ME TO INCREASE CAPACITY.

MY MAIN SERVER IS ONLINE 24HRS/7DAYS A WEEK.

WE LIVE IN AN AGE OF TECHNOLOGY HOWEVER TOO MANY OF US BLACK PEOPLE USE IT DO VIEW FOOLISHINESS ON THE INTERNET AND NOT AS A TOOL TO CREATE WEALTH.