Rosalind Millar, President of the BBA

Pursuant to Rule 11 of the Rules of the Barbados Bar Association NOTICE is hereby given of a SPECIAL GENERAL MEETING of the Barbados Bar Association to be held on Friday 1st July 2022 at 3:00 PMย  Via Zoom. The main agenda item is “Scale of Fees”.

AGENDA

1.ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย  Welcome and establishment of quorum.

2.ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย  To consider and adopt the Report of the Costs Fees Committee for the amendment of the Legal Profession (Attorneys-at-Law) Contentious Business Rules

3.ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย  To approve the submission of the said Report and new draft Rules to the Rules Committee of the Supreme Court for consideration and approval pursuant to Section 35 of the Legal Profession Act, Cap. 370A of the Laws of Barbados.

NOTE: The Report and the relevant proposed resolutions are attached.

Dated the 20th day of June 2022

By order of the Council

Raquel R. Gilkes

Hon. Secretary

173 responses to “Here Ye Hear Ye – Barbados Bar Association Proposes to Increase Fees at Special General Meeting!”

1. David
    What about those “ex gratia” payments levied on the public. How are they measured within this titular scale of fees?

Why can’t this Bar act to protect the public by stopping lawyers from handling citizens assets over fees payable?

And how can the system where, operating like a mafia, lawyers cover for other lawyers while “clients” are in the dark. Working together we are looking at a permanent conspiracy to defraud.

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Well everything gone up. Why not legal fee ? Lawyering is becoming hazardous.Lol!! Wuh Loss. !!!

3. Have to read this a little more.

These different rates for QC and years of experience do not pass the smell test

Should a man with ten years of experience be paid differently from a man with 1 year of experience to fix a car tire?

What about payment by results. Looks like both lawyers are eating well – win or lose.

4. @Pacha

The Barbados Bar Association and the Disciplinary Committee have grown a culture as you suggest of self preservation. Unless a citizen has the resources (which includes time) and the courage fight matters in the courts they will win every time.

5. Courts have proven they are a waste of space, time and money.
    Fucking Freemasons {Cough, Cough}.
    I confirm the above statement is true.

6. The Scientist Rids The World of The Intergalactic Vampires Killers….

The Scientist Rids The World Of Intergalactic Vampires Killers & Lesson To The Princess
    Phat Teng Dub

7. What discipline has the Disiplinary Committee dispensed?

What a bunch of baloney!

So….their response to public outcry of “Stop, thief!” is to raise their fees?

No problem for The Madwoman. She gets her work done. Even by Lawyers in the News!

Murdaaaaaaah!

8. David
    You are absolutely right. Of course, this is the signal issue which BU and you deserve recognition for the exemplary job, and keeping a sustained focu thereon.

The implications of not being able to trust lawyers and the legal and sub-legal systems are huge not only for economy but for the entire society..

They include the derailment of a 5-star hotel project three decades ago which could have been transformative. A project for which all the major elements were in place.

Then you have the generational suffering of regular households as a direct result of the criminal nature of the legal mafia operating in Barbados.

When one goes to see a doctor it is not a condition for services to have that practitioner take effective control of your resources or have them tied up in interminable beaurucracy. Why should lawyers continue be able to intermediate between citizens and their property? Given that they have failed to maintain the confidence of most and hindered the country’s developmrnt.

9. Junior Demus-The Shitstem Is a Fraud
    Lesson to the princess Class room 103 – Scientist Mix

10. My lawyers were not only “in office” to take my calls but on the odd occasion when they were in court, actually RETURNED MY CALLS. Proving the old saying that,

“Duppy know who tuh frighten.”

De Mad Woman like SHE frighten de duppy!

Wuhlaus!

11. No Man No Bad

Son Of A Gun

12. Outlaw Gangsta

13. F-ck

14. @Pacha

The key to unlocking it is the government that has historically been made up of members of the legal profession AND an accepting public who have been too passive in their reactions.

#guillotine?

15. @Donna

All lawyers are not bad apples. We need to focus on how the system can be improved to lend justice. This is what the Bar and DC are meant to deliver. This said, it is self policing. Time for a change.

16. Has the time come to craft a business ethics clause in the Constitution? Let us put everything on the table.

17. David
    When “good” lawyers aid and abett the crimes of others are we not dealing with a systemic problem.

The notion that within a systemic structure one seeks to show that a deviation mitigates indictment is irrational.

The public should not be made to depend on luck or chance that a lawyer chosen is not a criminal.

All the lawyers in Barbados know of the crimes of their profession. And they conspire to protect themselves.

Such exceptions could be found among all categories of criminals.

18. Wop Dem

19. โ—„ Psalm 138:3 โ–บ
    When I called, you answered me; you greatly emboldened me

Family Courts Are Well And Truly Fucked Up Your Honour

Careful Who You Love

20. @Pacha

We are not about to split hairs? The blogmaster concedes we have a systemic problem, however, relating a single experience with a โ€˜goodโ€™ lawyer makes your point? You are correct, let us focus on the systemic.

21. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved

“And how can the system where, operating like a mafia, lawyers cover for other lawyers while โ€œclientsโ€ are in the dark. Working together we are looking at a permanent conspiracy to defraud.”

as created by frauds in 1940….a criminal cartel beginning, and that’s how it will end.

there is a fees schedule but most clients NEVER knew about it so they can tell them anything and did, and they did not know the difference.

“All the lawyers in Barbados know of the crimes of their profession. And they conspire to protect themselves.”

a pure criminal act making them just as duplicious….now they have their own team of investigators going after them…

AGAIN…very credible evidence suggests this too has gone on BEFORE and since 1940, when it was so easy to commit crimes against the majority population, still is…all they did was legitimize that criminality with a bar association…always go back in time to the root cause, when all this evil started and BY WHOM..

“Then you have the generational suffering of regular households as a direct result of the criminal nature of the legal mafia operating in Barbados.”

again…these oppressive crimes were organized before the 1920s….but needed a particular demon mindset, the traitor negros, to carry it forward, by the time the 1930s came around…..they were in business and cooking with gas…

“I confirm the above statement is true.”

all of it is in Black and white….a whole book is written on the topic of WHO they maintained an oppressive environment to ENRICH THEMSELVES AND PRETEND ELITISM…..and so much evidence is now available that this should come to an end within the next 10 years…with the right people hunting them down.

22. Habitual Patterns of Behaviour
    Sometimes I wonder who is in a call and response with who
    but most times I will already know who is who and who and don’t need to scroll up to check

Equality โ„—

23. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Well…it was bound to move beyond long talk and over a decade of nonstop posting …talk is cheap and cosmetic….real action is needed to take down legitimized criminals of the variety well known and found on the island……

Pacha…remember that treasure trove i mentioned a couple day ago…well there we have it….it’s a grail of information that is powerful in content….handling these with kids gloves will ENSURE THEY CONTINUE into this and many more generations…the eternal negro traitor…the enemy within..

24. Court Circuses
    Present and Future need to move away from the past scams
    Lawyers are found Guilty of 2 counts of being Greedy and Lazy
    they want to up their fees but not the quality of service they provide

25. @ David
    “All lawyers are not bad apples. โ€œ
    ~~~~~~~~
    Why not name the three exceptions? ๐Ÿ™‚
    It was only obvious that, since lawyers are now getting locked up for stealing /misusing clientโ€™s fees, that they will have to increase their rates to cover the high bank charges that now have to be paid in order to avoid joining Jackman et al at Dodds.

A society ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve.
    These are our heroes…….

26. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

It’s their own toxic, dangerous and decidedly CRIMINAL HISTORY…will take them all down..

it was bound to come to a head….100 YEARS is a long time to run ROUGHSHOD over ya Afrikan people AND got the balls and DETERMINATION to take into another 100 YEARS…but we shall see…history is also a MOST POWERFUL WEAPON….can be wielded BOTH WAYS…

don’t know how they expected to keep all of this hidden for another 50 years or more…

27. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

100 YEARS is a long time to run/RIDE ROUGHSHOD over ya Afrikan people..

28. I don’t care if Lawyers increase their fees.

All that matters to me is that money in ” Client accounts ” is NOT accessed by Lawyers for their own ” cash flow “.

There must be a mechanism put in place to prevent tiefing by lawyers.

29. David
    And if we are looking at the system and not the exceptions which prove the rule. The rule is that crime amongst lawyers is pervasive.

Then we could put simple structures in place, where like the USA, lawyers never have custody of client’s funds or property. Never!

This intermediation by criminals could only mean crime. And the fact that not even the constitution Commission nor the Thorne Commission will deal with this tells us the indemic centrality of crime within the national DNA.

30. @Pacha

Define WE given current state?

31. Hants

Yuh right. But they can get yuh by long delays too. Inordinate days. So even fees should have time-frame as well. How long certain processes should take. Time is money.

32. Delays

33. One would imagine a DLP professing to introduce a new dispensation would embrace this matter by flooding the public space with bold initiatives designed to wrestle this longstanding matter to the ground. Instead we hear the same old same old.

34. David

Don’t you see this as an impediment to business, the impoverishment of the country, etc. That’s our weeeeeeeeeeee!

35. There should also be time limits put on settling ” accounts “.

Real Estate sales and personal injury insurance payments should be in the Clients hands not accounts accessed by lawyers.

@ Bush Tea,

I know the three ” exceptions ” you wrote about.

36. William Skinner Avatar

The problem here is that the Bar Association is not a watchdog agency. It therefore has no teeth. This is nothing more than cosmetics.
    There are other professions that are also considered to be virtually untouchable, doctors come to mind.
    The society simply is not evolving when it comes to equal rights and justice. We have become so accustomed to taking scraps and crap, that we are constantly reinventing a broken wheel and axle.
    Nobody is guarding or wants to guard the guards.
    We are becoming so selfish and consumed by our own egos that the predators can choose their prey with gay abandon.

37. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“And the fact that not even the constitution Commission nor the Thorne Commission will deal with this tells us the indemic centrality of crime within the national DNA.”

that’s why we have to trace their steps from the 1920s, walk through AND EXPOSE every crime they committed against Afrikan descents and others and then make sure their charade reaches EVERYONE across the world, people have to be forewarned…..

the nerve…they are waiting for everyone to die off so no one is held accountable…while in the meantime the CYCLICAL cartel remains in place, intact and functioning…

38. “100 YEARS is a long time to run/RIDE ROUGHSHOD over ya Afrikan people..”

Wait… Are you saying Black Rights are not equal to and are worth much less than White Rights
    Are you still saying that Blacks have not heard about Human Rights, Truth and Rights, Equal Rights.
    You must never get your rights wrong. There is no Justice, There is Just Us. No Justice No Peace

What About the Half

Half Dub

39. David
    Why not publish the names of the “three good lawyers”. Lawyers not part of the systemic crime family. ๐Ÿค”

It would add balance. Since we know some actually found guilty already.

40. The Rootical Struggle Pt1 – In Celebration of the abolition of slavery
    by AMBASSADA Hi Power feat: DJ Ian Irie at the control tower!

https://www.podomatic.com/podcasts/ambassada/episodes/2007-10-16T10_33_23-07_00

) Message from Mozambique
    2) Africa Race – Abbysinians
    3) Travelling – Burning Spear
    4) Walking Dub
    5) Columbus – Burning Spear
    6) Give Thanks – Micheal Prophet
    7) Mr Bossman (Dubplate) – Cultural Roots
    8) Whom Shall I Be Afraid – B.Levy
    9) Bossman Dub (2 dubplate cuts)
    10) The Half – Dennis Brown
    11) The Dub
    12) Natty Dread Dub – L.Thompson
    13) Channel One Dub
    14) Crops Dub – G.Issacs
    15) Beware – W.Wayde
    16) Tribute to the Martyrs – Steel Pulse
    17) Rivers Of Babylon – Luciano

41. Skinner
    We beg to differ. Even if the Bar was a watchdog agency as you postuated that in and of itself could not avoid the organized “legal” mafia we are forced to live with.

This same members of the political-managerial class will be just as protective. There is no way around this but a radical transformation of an oppressive legal system.

42. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    Point taken.
    The question is whether we will ever be ready for a radical transformation of anything. Note how we became a republic and will now have a constitution almost three years later.
    We either donโ€™t have the talent or the political will. Probably a combination of both is non existent.
    In many ways we are now more conservative in our thinking than we were in the 50s.

43. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Are you still saying that Blacks have not heard about Human Rights, Truth and Rights, Equal Rights.”

they have heard about the UN 30 Articles of Universal Human Rights only in the last 6 or 7 years, it was well hidden, politicians across the region made sure the populations knew nothing about them or their existencer and only recently jumped out to SHOUT ABOUT HUMAN RIGHTS to colonizers in the UK when their compadre recently got NABBED in Miami for money laundering….conspiracy to traffic cocaine etc….

so these human rights are relatively new to populations who must now put everything into perspective and START WIELDING THOSE RIGHTS AROUND……just as the evil politicans have taken such great please over a century to wield oppression, thefts, disenfranchisement, racism. apartheid and suppression against at least 3 generations of Afrikans, their families and whomever else they target…

44. David
    Touchรฉ!

And so are you, more deeply correct.

45. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

In DBLP evabody is cousin, nephew, niece, uncle, brother, aunt, sister, mother, father, grandmother, grandfather and god parents to dey one anudder, it’s one “crime family” separated only along alphabetical, B/D party lines……with an ESTABLISHED LEGAL CRIMINAL SYNDICATE as the ties that bind….

so why are we pretending otherwise…

46. Something is not right…
    If they don’t know…
    they don’t know…
    Didn’t barbadians listen to the soundtrack of the era…
    Soul Love Now: Black Fire Records
    Various Artists
    Civil Rights fights of the 50s 60s 70s 80s 90s and beyond from Little Rock 9 to MLK to Birmingham Church Bombing to Malcolm X to Black Panthers to 1968 Olympics Black Power Salute to Angola to Zimbabwe to South Africa were about Human Rights established in 1948

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiJqD_IV6S8

47. This is a Wake Up Call
    Jazz Fusion Dance
    It’s a very worrying thing that Barbadians have been sleeping on their Human Rights their whole life

Wanting Touch

48. Skinner
    Our last comment was for you intended.

49. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

it was well hidden, politicians across the region made sure the populations knew nothing about them or their existencer and only recently jumped out to SHOUT ABOUT HUMAN RIGHTS to colonizers in the UK when their compadre recently got NABBED in Miami for money launderingโ€ฆ.conspiracy to traffic cocaine etcโ€ฆ

.I was so THRILLED to sit and watch as Caricom COMPLETELY FORGOT they had been hiding those UN international human rights laws from the Afrikan population since 1948…in their DESPERATION to not have colonizers assume the rule of the BVI…again…WHEN THEY SHOUTED ABOUT HUMAN RIGHTS ACROSS THE ATLANTIC…..which was too close to comfort for them, and is still likely to happen if they have the former premier running the country from home confinement to allegedly cover the tracks of the corrupt apparently still in the cabinet..