It started in 2018 after the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) handed the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) and the third parties an unprecedented 30 to zero drubbing in the general election. Many still believe a constitutional crisis was averted when Bishop Joe Atherley crossed the floor and a Leader of the Opposition (LoO) was recognized to ensure the business of parliament as outlined in the Constitution was carried out.

Who would have thunk it?

Prime Minister Mottley called a snap general election 18 months early and repeated a 30 to love win on 19 January 2022. On this occasion, no sitting MP seems willing to follow in the Bishop’s footsteps. The President of the Republic is unwilling to exercise discretion to appoint 2 Opposition Senators. Prime Minister Mottley in her infinite wisdom magnanimously has started the process to amend the Barbados Constitution to allow for the appointment of the 2 Opposition Senators from the losing political party that garnered the most votes. If that party refuses the opportunity to appoint slides to the next losing party. 

Here we are!

The news former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite filed a motion with the Court to rule on the legitimacy of the Senate should not surprise political pundits if one listened to the position of interim President of the DLP Steve Blackett. With the amendment to the Constitution proceeding in the parliament the DLP would eventually be forced into position of accepting the offer to appoint 2 Opposition Senators which would contradict the publicly stated position of the DLP represented by interim President Steve Blackett. 

A couple interesting sidebar observations. The former AG Brathwaite is being represented by attorneys-at-law Garth Patterson and Michelle Russell. Last week Brasstacks talk show host Glyne Murray observed the lawyers keeping the most ‘noise’ in the Barbados space on the the constitutionality of parliament are of Jamaican lineage. In fairness to Russell and Patterson they have been residing in Barbados for a long time, however, the blogmaster understands Murray’s point given the large cohort of Barbadians lawyers educated with our tax dollars.

One of the reasons forwarded why Mottley called an early general election was to quell an uprising by a faction in the BLP. Is it reasonable to opine if a few BLP MPs are dissatisfied with Mottley’s leadership a golden opportunity now presents itself for the malcontents to express themselves by crossing the floor or sounding their voices?

Political Games

The matter has gone the route of the Court and whatever the decision at first instance is will likely progress to the CCJ. What we have is a people suffering from economic fatigue, COVID-19 fatigue and you may add to the maladies, post election fatigue. Is this another opportunities to blame lawyers? 

Former Brathwaite in his released stated in part that he felt “compelled to seek the intervention of the Courts to resolve this controversy, one that centres around issues of vital national importance, and goes to the root of our democracy.” The blogmaster notes the former AG has advised that the matter is being brought in his capacity as a private citizen. How convenient!

Why did this extract from Brathwaite’s statement pique the interest of the blogmaster? Under Brathwaite’s tenure as AG with responsibility for the judiciary, he left it in a worse condition than he found it. The political games that lawyer politicians play mean an already congested court system has to adjudicate a matter created by lawyers. 

494 responses to “To the Courts!”

1. @John February 10, 2022 11:19 PM “Since then we have watched a bunch of insurrectionists blow up Parliament”

No John, no.

It was your friends the Repugnican insurrectionists who attempted to blow up the House on January 6, 2021

2. Hants

If the 10 are 10 of those who DO NOT support her but are along for the ride, they will let her crash and burn.

She has the option of telling some of those who do support her to go do it.

But then she weakens her position in the event of a no confidence motion and those who go suddenly find themselves in Reverent Joe’s position seeking to subvert the constitution.

Besides, the President/GG by now has figured out she stands shaky from the Reverent Joe affair and may choose to take the high ground and refuse to hold her nose while a fabricated opposition is paraded before the nation for her to appoint a leader of the opposition.

Very interesting times ahead.

The sensible way out is resignations and new elections.

3. “I’ve voted for the DLP as often as I have voted for the BLP.”

Pop groups often mature and go solo as independent artistes

like Beyoncé’s after Destiny’s Child

Destiny’s Child – Independent Women, Pt. 1

4. Politics is a blood sport.

5. There are almost always rumors of disunity in political parties but usually no proof.

I think PM MIA has the support of the thirty….. fuh now !

6. “Politics is a blood sport.”

if you had secured a couple of sponsors and then secured enough votes to win your seat you could have been Leader of the Opposition in another reality in a parallel world on the far side of the moon

7. @John February 11, 2022 4:05 PM “The DLP might end up with 30 seats!!”

Long ago I was “ill” and my illness gave me the most vivid, interesting, exciting, colorful dreams.

Than I went to the doctors and they fixed my “illness” and the fix made my beautiful dreams go away,,,for ever. I still haven’t quite forgiven the doctors.

I wonder if you John don’t now have what I had then.

8. @TheOGazerts February 11, 2022 3:11 PM “It would be amusing (to me) if for some reason they decided to hold elections again and got another 30-0.”

I would not be amused.

I paid for an election which was held on January 19. I don’t want to pay for another. Why should I?

I just want the 30 MP’s to go to work doing the work which I help to pay them to do.

9. Can a person be compelled to exercise discretion?

And if so is it still discretion?

10. Cuhdear BajanFebruary 11, 2022 8:54 PM

@John February 11, 2022 4:05 PM “The DLP might end up with 30 seats!!”

Long ago I was “ill” and my illness gave me the most vivid, interesting, exciting, colorful dreams.

Than I went to the doctors and they fixed my “illness” and the fix made my beautiful dreams go away,,,for ever. I still haven’t quite forgiven the doctors.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Did they give you a lobotomy?

JFK’s sister Rosemary was given one when she was 23 but it did not work well.

11. Just fitting an explanation to the empirical evidence.

Look how well it worked with COVID.

I can predict COVID events long before they happen just by looking at the data.

12. Lawyers are even bigger assholes than John Knox.
    Lawyers getting into political games will be biggest pile of bullshit ever.

13. A hypothesis that fits is never guaranteed to be right but what I have found is that if it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck and walks like a duck it is usually a duck.

14. Parliament on
    NO INJUNCTION SOUGHT TO STOP HOUSE FROM MEETING BUT PATTERSON SUGGESTS PAUSE UNTIL CASE IS DECIDED
    By Randy Bennett
    The Parliament of Barbados will, for now, continue to meet uninterrupted, as a constitutional motion questioning its validity opened before the High Court on Friday.
    However, Madam Justice Cicely Chase today indicated there was a possibility she might make a ruling on whether or not the two Houses of Parliament would be allowed to operate while the matter was being heard.
    On Wednesday, former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite through his attorneys Queen’s Counsel Garth Patterson and Michelle Russell filed a suit challenging the makeup of Parliament on the basis that not all 21 members of the Senate had been appointed.
    Brathwaite is asking the court to quash President Dame Sandra Mason’s decision to reconvene Parliament.
    When the matter came up in the Supreme Court on Friday morning, Patterson indicated in the virtual hearing that while he had not filed an injunction he felt it necessary to know whether the Government would continue to hold sessions of Parliament while the case was ongoing or if it would be suspended until a decision was rendered.
    He contended that a “cloud of uncertainty” now hung over Parliament.
    But Queen’s Counsel Leslie Haynes, who is appearing on behalf of Government along with a full legal team, told the two-hour sitting he was not in a position to do so as he had received no instructions on how to proceed with the matter.
    The attorneys putting Government’s case before the court along with Haynes are Roger Forde QC, Alrick Scott QC, Gregory Nicholls and Simone Scott from the Attorney General’s Chambers, while the instructing attorneys are Carrington & Sealy Attorneys-at-law represented by Dr Adrian Cummins QC, Shericka Mohammed-Cumberbatch and Jason Wilkinson. Some 300 members of the public were able to access the hearing via Zoom.
    “The issue of any undertaking or any injunction is not before the court, that is issue number one and practically issue number two is that we have no instructions on this matter. We came here this morning for case management,” Haynes said.
    When asked if she would make a ruling on whether Parliament would be allowed to continue to meet, Justice Chase said she would allow the Government’s legal team to take instructions first.
    However, she did not rule out making a decision when the case returns on February 25.
    “I am going to allow counsel for the respondent to seek instructions on that matter, I think it is only but fair. And secondly, I do not believe that I have enough information before me that I can make that decision today at this time,”
    Justice Chase pointed out.
    “I may, note I said may, consider such an application on the next occasion if there is no agreement but I cannot without a position being put forward by the respondent make that decision today.”
    Patterson argued that if Parliament continued to meet and pass legislation and the court agreed with him in its decision, it meant those legislative changes would be deemed null and void.
    And even though he said he was not seeking an injunction, he said the “responsible thing” to do would be for Parliament to wait until a ruling was made.
    “I want to understand whether in the national interest if it is the position of the Government that the responsible thing to do is to hold until this court can pronounce on the validity of those proceedings, on the essential lifeblood, authority, jurisdiction, constitutional power, to act when it is not in our submission, properly constituted.
    “We are not going to ask the court for an injunction, but we would want to get an indication from the Government whether or not in light of the very serious allegations that have been made, the very serious constitutional issues that have been raised, that this court’s view on the matter should take precedent and that the proceedings of the Senate and by extension the House would be stayed up until such time as this court is able to rule on it,” Patterson said.
    “I recognize that there is some need to get on with the business of the House and Senate and it’s in the national interest that these matters be resolved quickly and that is why I am saying that we would like to expedite as much as possible some of these housekeeping case management issues recognizing that it may well have a detrimental impact on the ability of the Government to govern…”
    Patterson told Justice Chase he believed the case could be completed in two weeks, but the High Court judge described that timeline as “ambitious”.
    Haynes told the court his team would submit affidavits by February 17 and written submissions by February 23.
    Patterson had earlier told the court that his case could be summarized “under three broad heads”. Those heads are that the Senate was not properly constituted and by extension the Parliament; the improper exercise of power and the constitutional amendments claims.
    He also asked the court to allow the public access to the hearings by utilizing technology. He also stated his preference to attend court virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic. randybennett@barbadostoday.bb

15. This judge think all barbadians are stupid
    Here her words and to the observing eye the word ” might” pertains not wanting to rock the status quo
    Hence in my opinion the possibility of the judge ordering a pause should not be expected
    Xxxx

However, Madam Justice Cicely Chase today indicated there was a possibility she might make a ruling on whether or not the two Houses of Parliament would be allowed to operate while the matter was being heard.

16. I think John is into humiliation. “50:0 including California!!”

Didn’t happen.

“Antifa rioting in the Capitol!!”

Donald Trump is now offering “Antifa” pardons.

And now Donald Trump took 15 boxes of public documents to Mar-a-Lago, including classified and top secret documents, tore up documents and caused aides to tape them back together.

After calling for Hillary to be locked up for using a private e-mail address for official business.

And up to now the crazy pillow guy cannot find any KRAKEN for Sidney Powell, the “very serious lady” to release.

Stupid recounts fizzling out all over the place. The Republican man at the centre of the election fraud claim is convicted of election fraud.

Who the ass is listening to John Knox?

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Wuhloss….Miller, Bushman…now i can confess, i don’t have a constitutional specialty like Patterson, but certain courses you take constitutional law is MANDATORY definite requirement and sometimes the knowledge imparted even in the US, is based on the British common law…

;sorry foul Enuff did not get a defamation lawsuit so i can spend some time laughing…lol

“Patterson argued that if Parliament continued to meet and pass legislation and the court agreed with him in its decision, it meant those legislative changes would be deemed null and void.

And even though he said he was not seeking an injunction, he said the “responsible thing” to do would be for Parliament to wait until a ruling was made.

“I want to understand whether in the national interest if it is the position of the Government that the responsible thing to do is to hold until this court can pronounce on the validity of those proceedings, on the essential lifeblood, authority, jurisdiction, constitutional power, to act when it is not in our submission, properly constituted.”

18. Hearing of ‘public interest’ goes online
    The next time attorneys meet to argue the constitutional motion challenging the validity of the Senate, they will be doing so virtually.
    Justice Cicely Chase has stressed that the public will be able to view the proceeding as the matter was one of national interest.
    The decision has come after Queen’s Counsel Garth Patterson expressed reservation about the inperson component of yesterday’s sitting.
    Some eight lawyers representing the Government, Patterson and his junior Michelle Russell, former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite and a few other attorneys were in Supreme Court No. 1 yesterday.
    Justice Chase usually presides in Supreme Court No. 7 but Court No. 1 was utilised as it allowed for the attorneys to be socially distanced at the Bar table.
    About 300 people, comprising media, attorneys and members of the public, were logged on via Zoom.
    Patterson’s concern came after he was asked to remove his mask as it was muffling his words.
    He explained he had been “a virtual hermit” since the pandemic affected Barbados and was physically in court with “some hesitation and reluctance”.
    “I would like us to see if we can reach some consensus because while I am very passionate about the cause, I am not prepared to die for it,” he told the judge.
    “And while I understand the importance of these proceedings, the national importance of these proceedings and the fact that the public ought to have every opportunity to attend and to see what is happening because matters of this nature must be dealt with in the full glare of the public view, I think we can achieve it with the benefit of technology. We can achieve it without unnecessarily risking the lives of all these eminent people.”
    The senior lawyer noted that the same Senate, around which the suit brought by the former
    Attorney General revolved, was “unable to sit because there was an exposure to COVID-19 on the occasion of the first sitting.
    “I would not like us to go the way of the Senate. I do not wish that these proceedings should continue in this setting,” he said, as he urged that the court make full use of the technology. “I really do have serious reservations.”
    Queen’s Counsel Leslie Haynes, who is leading Government’s battery of lawyers, said he had no issue arguing the matter virtually.
    Justice Chase said future hearings would be virtual.
    “This is a public interest hearing and that is why I also directed that there be a virtual hearing, so as you all address me there are members of the press and the public [watching]. Anyone can log on and that will always be,” she said.
    “Once it’s a public interest hearing there will be exposure virtually. The only thing we did not do was publish the link because it was an urgent hearing and the file was only handed to me [Thursday].”
    The matter has been adjourned until February 25.

19. Stupse! I expect nothing else from a ctrl+c and ctrl+v specialist. I wonder which political party Garth and Russell support in Jamaica.

20. Why don’t we wait for the court to rule before relying on assumptive positions?

Even the lawyers on both sides agreed there are good cases to be made which explains why the matter was kicked to the court.

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Garth Patterson is rocking, and so is Professor Don Marshall. on the issue of IMF austerity measure….

and the fowl is trying to transfer its fowlness to Jamaican politics which has nothing to do with ANYTHING…lawd….

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…the theatre is VERY GOOD…..totally enjoyable. Won’t miss if for the world…

23. David,

This crap discussion is all over the place.

Do people realise what the lawsuit is about?

It is not about flaws in our first past the post electoral system

It is not about whether there shall be Leader of the Opposition.

It is not about whether this LoO “conundrum” would necessitate new elections.

It is about whether there must be 21 senators to constitute a legal parliament.

The Constitution has provided the President with the means to complete the Senate.

Mia, as Northern and Vincent, I think, is guilty of speaking out of turn and pre-empting the President’s discretion.

This opened the door for all this uncertainty and may be the reason why the President has not exercised her discretion and is waiting for the Courts to decide once and for all whose prerogative it is to complete the Senate.

24. @Donna

Yes it is, if the Senate is properly constituted is the matter before the court.

25. To Whom it may Concern,

It should be noted that the DLP position has and is that the offer should have come from the President and not that the offer should not have been made.

This lawsuit does NOTHING to alter that position. It seeks to have the President to make an offer to SOMEBODY and for Mia to make complete her quota.

Listen, MEN! As we know, I am diagnosed by The Sage as being menopausal. One of the symptoms of menopause is brain fog.

Wuh wunnuh suffering from that is worse than menopause?

P S. Actually I am not suffering from menopause. I have simply put men on pause. Not a bad thing, judging from your performances. (With a few exceptions, of course)

Cuhdear’s Little Mars Men are looking more and more attractive!

26. WAS and is

27. So when are we going to get a fabricated Leader of the Opposition?

Is the President/GG going to be prepared to hold her nose and appoint someone like the Reverent Joe once again?

Last time Ms. Mockley had Reverend Joe sworn in by the GG within 14 days of the election.

This time around the President/GG seems to have figured out how bad it looked and makes her look!!

This time so far, 24 days have passed and still no sign of either Reverent Joe, not even a hint.

Not a peep from either one of the 30.

No point coming forward if the President/GG is having second thoughts about the scam this time.

Instead we are being treated to the spectacle of the 21 senators and the ensuing theatre.

Meanwhile, “THERE SHALL BE A LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION” hangs over our head like the sword of Damocles and the powers that be seem completely oblivious to the obvious.

If you haven’t got a ticket you haven’t got a chance.

We will see how well the distraction of the 21 senators works!!

Maybe by the 25th February a Reverent Joe will arise.

That will be 37 days after the election on 19th January.

Ms. Mockley and her crew are holding the country to ransom while they employ various ruses to circumvent the constitution.

28. A leader of the opposition would completely solve the lacuna.

He/she would in the Reverent’s own words, fill the absence of a presence.

It is interesting to note that Reverent Joe did not consider he was filling a vacancy.

He was able to figure out that the absence of the presence of the post was not equivalent to a vacancy in the post.

Meanwhile we are treated to the verbal gymnastics of lawyers who will get 2 more weeks to come up with more convoluted verbal gymnastics while the country is held to ransom.

29. Further correction – as Northern and Vincent SAID

30. Listen to Reverent Joe tie himself and his fellow members of the BLP in knots.

31. Bring the case, Mr Know-it-all! Because so far, nobody else is bringing if!

Rev. Joe is only trying to justify his grab the salary move and rehabilitate his image. Gotta get the church people back in his fold!

Putting on the hero cape!

Murdaaah!

32. There is no vacancy, there is an “ABSENCE OF A PHYSICAL PRESENCE”!!

For sure he was advised by a lawyer, probably a barrage of lawyers.

This time around, the lawyers need there to be a vacancy so the GG/President can appoint 2 senators.

But their problem remains.

The last Parliament was unconstitutional and everything it did was null void and of no effect.

The Ground Keeper will be miffed to hear that her money has been wasted paying imposters for the past 3.75 years.

She should be more than miffed to realise the country has incurred the liability of a number of the imposters now looking to get an additional 5 years of wages so they can get a pension, paid for by her after their 8 years is up.

The cost of a new election pales to insignificance when compared with the liabilities she wants our country to incur.

33. 18 months of salary taken from the budget leaving a big ass hole that MP pension cannot fill!

Gotta fill da plate!

34. “Since the death of the Oversight Committee no one has been in place to say what has been going on at CLICO . . . no one can say how many cheques have been written; who they went to; what assets stayed in CLICO; what assets transferred out. But yet Government is to execute a bail-out,” she said.
    She said Government allowed CLICO to operate over the last three months in circumstances where at least five directors of the CLICO board, including economist Frank Alleyne and Leslie Haynes, QC, had resigned.

https://www.nationnews.com/2010/09/14/mottley-clico-needed-oversight/

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Is CLICO linked to all of this crap?

Leslie Haynes the Chairman of the Electoral and Boundaries Commission which oversaw the recent elections and a former CLICO director now rehabilitated, is appearing for the AG.

Does the AG have any actions against CLICO and its former directors?

Is there a conflict?

Incest perhaps?

35. At the time Reverent Joe appeared at Government House in 2018 THERE WAS NO VACANCY IN THE POST OF LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION.

He was advised to say there was an ABSENCE OF A PRESENCE.

In other words he was looking to create the post of Leader of the Opposition which at the time was ABSENT.

Now we are told by the lawyers there is a vacancy in the exact same circumstances and the GG/President can act.

No wonder the President/GG is holding back this time.

She has been around the block enough to know she is being used in the scam.

The Senate is a red herring.

The real issue to be solved is the ABSENCE OF A PRESENCE of the post of Leader of the opposition.

THERE SHALL BE A LAEDER OF THE OPPOSITION!!

Very, very simple!!

So we wait for another 2 weeks while the lawyers come up with more convoluted language.

36. What has the cost been of having 30 MP’s sit in an unconstitutional Parliament for 3.75 years and everything they have done is null void and of no effect?

Here are their annual salaries.

Do the math

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/sittings/attachments/129d733b1427614880f83d77504cdc30.pdf

37. The Ground Keeper pays the President/GG $$872K per year if I am reading it right!!

X 3.75 to get the cost of having her give her assent to deeds which may become null, void and of no effect.

What a complete waste of time just to get the first female PM of Barbados!!!

38. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Where ignorance is bliss,it is folly to be wise. There is more than one ( unprintable) in BU Rum Shop. May the Lord protect me from them.

39. @ Vincent Codrington,

I use the scroll button on my mouse to go past the ( unprintable)s.

I sometimes get trapped when my name is at the top of a comment.

40. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Donna at 8:53 AM.

Are you aware that all members that constitute the Governance System of Barbados have sworn to uphold the constitution of Barbados? When they do not who is to call them out? Have we not pledged our allegiance to the State of Barbados?. Who are you to decide which citizen is speaking out of turn? How is it possible to preempt someone’s discretion? There is a big difference between pointing out relevant clauses in the Constitution of Barbados and preempting a decision. What really is your concern. I chose to live in a Democracy. I intend to exercise my rights to have and express an opinion.

41. @John 10:43am

I’ve read the put downs and the cus words and expletives and disrespect that goes on in these forums when there’s a contrary view. I’ve got to say I’m with you on that. I’ve been trying to make the same point. I’ve done my reading. I’ve analysed the constitution. It is hard to refute on any rational legal basis. At that point I don’t side with any political party. But we have to see how the AG and GP QC attempt to persuade the Judge. I have a feeling the judge will have some difficulty in agreeing with arguments from both sides.

The President has not used her discretion for a reason. I believe I know why, but that just my opinion.

But I’ve always said, I’m more than prepared to be proved wrong. But we shall see.

42. For sure the Judge is between a rock and a hard place.

The solution seems to be resignations and fresh elections.

It is wrong to hold the country to ransom.

43. X + 3Y = 3
    X + Y = 2
    A good student attempts as many past examination questions as he/she possibly can. Apart from practice, practice, practice there is the hope that an old question or a close relative comes again’.

30-0 is not new
    The senatorial problem arising from a 30-0 is not new.
    The age of KK adds a new wrinkle to Mia’s appointment of the 11, but the appointment of a place holder is again the answer.

The ‘Atherley’ solution for this problem was good in 2018. It should work again in 2022. It is possible that unlike the treatment of Atherley in 2018+, any of the new 30 playing the part of the sacrificial lamb will be seen as a necessity by party supporters.

We saw the question in 2018. The solution worked then, it can work now.
    ——x—–
    Why no sacrificial lamb!
    Calling an election after 3.5 years would make it difficult for a hungry newcomer to play the part of the lamb.

A newcomer may be more interested in establishing himself than to risk being ousted in a next surprise election or being punished at the end of 5 years.

A stalwart with years of BLP history/party support is thinking more of his legacy than that of Mia. Why ruin his story by flinging himself on a sword just to suit Mia.

44. I suppose it is stimulating to treat a simple problem as one of higher calculus. I suspect that in such a case, you will invariably arrive at the wrong answer.

Pushing one of the 30 over the line would solve the problem for Mia and the President. Having a placeholder bring the 20 to 21 and the 2022 games begin.

Mia has often demonstrated that she knows “Every man has a price”. Find the man (1/30), find the price.

45. @Vincent

The President didn’t exercise discretion which created the situation being challenged by Patterson with the help of Adriel Brathwaite.

46. Donna

In MY opinion, you’re one of the few contributors who has been articulating arguments on this issue that clearly ‘makes sense.’

How could free and fair general elections be described as a ‘scam,’ under circumstances where those individuals who were eligible and chose to vote, exercised their legal, constitutional to do so, thereby duly electing their respective parliamentary representatives and by extension, the ‘government’ of their choice?

It does not make any sense ‘arguing’ with John……. John is just being John.

He is the type of guy who has an uncanny habit of over-explaining simple issues he over-complicates.

And, he does so, by spending an inordinate amount of time posting to BU, with monotonous regularity, a multiplicity of two and three sentence contributions.

47. Donna
    But it says discretion. That discretion includes not choosing as the President has rightly done. Ceremonial heads avoid political appointments. If the Parliament must wait for 21 senators to be in place to be legitimate that makes it easy for an opposition party to stymie the start of any Parliament after an election. Maybe this is why every PM action requires mere consultation with the LOO throughout the Constitution. Interestingly, in Jamaica’s Constitution the GG appoints the Opposition senators on the advice of the PM in the absence of a LOO. It happened in 1983.

48. I am a strong believer in the words and action of GP3. I have every confidence that he is correct, but I believe that he is applying a one dimensional solution to a two dimensional problem.

It only takes one ‘suicidal’ BLP MP and GP3 is out of the game. Where is our ‘Atherley’?

Find the price. Find the man.

49. So Grasshopper

I guess you are saying don’t hold your breath waiting for a sacrificial lamb.

Reality is setting in.

24 days and counting …. up …. and only the prospect of waiting another two weeks for lawyers to come up with some other convoluted reasoning!!

I’ve listened to Leslie Haynes argue in court over the past 23 years and as Ian Chapel once said, “watching Boycott bat is like going to a funeral”.

If you have not got a ticket you have not got a chance.

Resign from the top down, go back to the polls, don’t hold the country to ransom.

Only problem is the Chief Justice may have been appointed unconstitutionally and may balk at serving as the GG/President.

Who is the next in line? … the President of the Senate.

You see what happens when people at the top who are not expected to screw up do so.

They do it mightily.