As we draw closer to the time Barbadians will be encouraged to participate in a national debate about a NEW Constitution, one suggestion is to allow Barbadians- who for different reasons- have settled overseas to be able to vote to elect a Barbados government. Especially Bajans who although the primary address is foreign, they have family, property and other interest still in the land of birth.

The suggestion to create a Diaspora Constituency is a controversial one for obvious reasons but we should discuss it.

The following comment posted by William Skinner to the Did the Many Hands Make Light Work blog, a Barbadian living in the USA in instructive.

The truth is the truth. As I told you recently , I am not a paragon of any virtue known to mankind. But, I value intellectual honesty. As you have said we have our differences but we are heading the same place. One of the great pillars of intellectual honesty is to admit that you’re are not infallible and to quickly acknowledge when you are wrong or even half wrong.

Quite frankly, among overseas Bajans, I am considered a baby. And they tell me that almost every day. I know Bajans who have been away from home fifty years and over. There is a lot of success and a lot of pain. By the time they have achieved success , they have lost family, friends and even visits are a bit depressing because they are seeing the children of their family and friends and don’t know them. It’s a vicious cycle, when one , on the quest for some improvement , has to give up almost anything that is worthwhile at the end.

There is also a cultural dimension. I have a friend, who has lived more of his life in Brooklyn than than Bim. About ten years ago, he brought home his children to the rock for Crop Over. His daughter, a born and bred American, fell in love with Lil Rick. I am informed that she has not listened to any American rapper since! She is into pure kaiso.
Children need roots. A Canadian lady now in her fifties told me that on a visit home, around the age of seven or so, her uncle taught her how to catch a lizard. She has never forgotten that!

I can write a thousand stories. I have advised friends and family , to not give up a job or anything to come chasing the American dream. The price is high…..very high.

The Caribbean Diaspora must be seen as a part of our new horizon in a different way. And for many different reasons. Indians born and live on the rock then they go back to India to find spouses for their children; Jews , Irish and all other groups are in their Diaspora ensuring that their countries and culture are fully and properly defended. When progressive voices talk about the Diaspora , they are talking about he big picture and not only about barrels or who is Dee or Bee.

However, the mere fact that Caribbean people throughout the Diaspora want to be more involved in their countries is testimony that when all is said and done, home is where the heart is. And after mingling with those who call me a baby, I say they got on a plane but they never left Barbados, Jamaica, Guyana or any other island and if they tell you they really left, dey lie !

274 responses to “Should Bajans Living in the Diaspora Vote in —–> Barbados”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Theo, you are joking around primarily it seems … so I’ll play along with u.

You said referring to yourself
    .. Me: Can you tell me what the minimum number candidate is required o make a party. I believe SB fielded only 10 candidates. How few would it be before SB was not considered as a party? 5? 4? 3? 2?

Brother we are dealing with REAL LIFE politics not fantasy comedic chatter.

No group of political types who do not have the mechanisms and processes in place to either formalize enough support to win a majority of parliamentary seats and thus win governance or win enough seats to make themselves viable as a coalition governance partnership cannot in any REALISTIC sense be considered a viable political party.

Yes we use the word PARTY but it’s merely a convenient descriptor.

They have NO constituency offices; no real structure for ongoing citizen interface; no public facing officers other than at election time. Call them whatever u desire but then let’s get serious please!

(BTW, ur original example said TWO (2) candidates; but I’ll allow this change to Solutions and 10 because the same principles also disqualify them)

Me: Manipulation: A loaded term. Let me rephrase. The fear is that in a nation where a constituency can be won with less that 2,000 votes the votes of the diaspora may tilt the count so that candidate with the most local vote does not win. The fear is real.

EH … I think that’s the point … locals Bajans don’t want non_resident Bajans calling ANY electoral shots … NONE.

Was that another joke or am I missing something.

Anyhow I gone.

2. angela cox January 30, 2022 6:01 PM #: “I gave u proof as to what u asked.”

NO, YOU DID NOT!!!!

And, it’s “not unusual for u to post comments” that clearly indicate you’re an appallingly ignorant, semi-literate buffoon.

“Have Nutting more to say on this issue” as well.

3. Nope! Did not stretch too far. It could happen. That is exactly how one proves a point.

Question: Why should the votes not be weighted when the effects suffered by the those who live here will be VERY MUCH WEIGHTED when compared to the effects suffered by those abroad? Who has the most to lose?

Why are you so fixated on choosing the government that will govern US?

Why do you wish to choose how WE live?

How fair is it for YOU to make the rules by which WE and not you would be forced to live?

Now, if you are planning to return home to live, you should return home to vote.

I’m not going to get into minor details about students and cut off points. I leave that to others.

P.S. My navel string was buried in England. I do not think I should vote there.

4. People in the diaspora can vote if they are on the voting register and have not been removed,
    but they have to be physically in the country as there is no system of postal / oversea voting
    question is how up to date is system with 130,000+ in foreign and 300,000 at home and what exactly are the rules for those who have left

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Now this is something i can put on my website….progress William..forward movement……

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/29/zeemoney-launched-in-barbados/

6. William Skinner Avatar

@WURA
    Yep. We need more business that reflect serious change. Hopefully. we can continue to tap into other opportunities and partnerships and stop believing that only white, and other races have some business DNA that nobody else has.
    More to come as our youth continue to distance themselves from colonial minds and mindsets.

7. @DpD
    How can I doisagree with amn who despite his huffing and puffing agrees with me.
    ——–xx—–
    This is a very exciting topic.

It was my intention to reply, but having worked hard all day (snow removal and painting), I will now go to bed.
    Here is a tease…I cannot show you all my cards but I will show enough so that homework can be done.
    Is there any country in the world where a majority of the population can vote but not become the ruling party.

Hoping that DpD can get his game to the point where he can craft a solid reply to my upcoming Bantustan. comment

Oh dear! I think I have my slogan ‘ No poll tax. No Bantustan”.

8. Diasporas Questions
    If about 300,000 in Barbados and 130,000 in Barbados Diaspora are all from 140,000,000 of the African Diaspora
    How many have been to Africa. Republic of Barbados should sponsor trips to the original mother motherland Mama Africa.

9. @Tron January 30, 2022 7:13 AM “Art. 3 The calendar shall begin with the year 1 on 24 May 2018.”

No, no. no. They tried this and other stupidness in Cambodia in the 1970’s and it did not work too well for the millions of Cambodians who died.
    So don’t suggest this, not even as a joke.
    Megalomania int funny.
    Torture int funny.
    Violent death int funny.

10. Another diaspora worth wrapping your head around as it spread all over world is the British Diaspora estimated at 200m
    USA Canada NZ Australia Caribbean South Africa Zimbabwe Hong Kong Singapore France Spain Germany Argentina Mexico Chile but individuals are probably living everywhere in the world

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    The rules, which like many others are subject to change, are broadly, one has to provide the authorities with the required documentation to be placed on the voters list. Once one is on the list one is eligible to vote? Said ‘keepers of the list’ have from time to time asked for specific information, or confirmation.
    I really don’t think those overseas who provide remittances to family/friends, or make other donations see that as a basis for being eligible to vote. That eligibility is laid out elsewhere.
    And how many do you think actually make the trip to Barbados to vote?
    Yet I must ask, who is “we”? Are you now the appointed spokesperson for Barbadians?
    didn’t the third party candidates in the same SPN, get more votes than in most other constituencies.
    Anyways your opinions on voting are understood.
    I personally wish more Barbadians were incensed, when the rules and regulations are not adhered to. The island could not have gone 15 years without any formal report on the NIS?

12. But, Wait….

There is nothing in the Constitution that defines what a Bajan is

Which means there is no such thing and they do not exist

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They are always incensed about the wrong things….they have NO AUTHORITY and i would pay NO ATTENTION to them..

“Is there any country in the world where a majority of the population can vote but not become the ruling party”

they won’t even consider that something is very, very wrong with that backward and DANGEROUS set up.

“Hopefully. we can continue to tap into other opportunities and partnerships and stop believing that only white, and other races have some business DNA that nobody else has.
    More to come as our youth continue to distance themselves from colonial minds and mindsets”

am very proud of the direction the youth are taking….and moving far away from the slave mindedness that has poisoned the atmosphere/landscape and the older people…

.Afrika has opened her doors WIDE for AFRIKAN DESCENTS in the diaspora, an opportunity to take very seriously, so there is permanent UPWARD and FORWARD MOVEMENT in the coming decades…it’s a start and none of the backward and unprogressive can stop it William……

the opportunites on the continent are ENDLESS and so are the partnerships, just find your niche as AN AFRIKAN and ya gone clear.

..no need to depend on shite minorities or the parliament clowns…we were all born of free will and can use our initiative as Afrikans… our Afrikan ANCESTORS left us the necessary tools to WORK WITH…

14. ““Is there any country in the world where a majority of the population can vote but not become the ruling party””

UK> In the first past the post the majority may not represent constituency results
    USA> Hilary won the majority but lost to the white majority in Middle America

Burkina Faso in West Africa was more complicated with attempted coups and then a peoples revolution

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And keeping up the charade of two Barbados’ while PRETENDING NOT TO….will definitely drive the youth to their TRUE ANCESTRY…

the whole island is now infected with amicron and its STEALTH partner because tourists are walking around the island without masks and SPREADING disease and DEATH everywhere…..but they get to boast about tourist numbers,higher than that of other islands, so what does the IGNORANT care.

16. But I thought we had established that without the white tourists we would ALL die.

Better to sacrifice a few insignicants like Trevor Prescod!

17. Nervous Mix
    January 2022
    House is in the House
    Doing All Right Vs Blue Green Yellow

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bZpombZ8Cv4

18. Northern,

Which “we” got your knickers in a knot?

“WE who live here do not want them” is evident simply by looking at the results!

As somebody pointed out before – NOT EVEN THE CHRISTIANS VOTED FOR THEM!

It is funny that those who do not live here can speak about “we” and those who do live here are not allowed so to do.

It amazes me that you guys are taking this so personally. Every one of you whom I think should not be overruling my vote, I would meet at the airport with festive balloons and banners if you came back home to live and vote.

This is not personal in any way except that it is my personal opinion I thought I had the right to express.

And I maintain that the purpose of government is to govern RESIDENTS. Therefore those who will be governed should be allowed to chose the government that will make the rules by which they will be governed.

You guys choose for the government that governs you where you live, don’t you?

19. “You guys choose for the government that governs you where you live, don’t you?”

but, this “issue” is a Government issue and not a people’s opinions issue

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“and other races have some business DNA that nobody else has.”

the younger generation are getting the WORD that not only did our ANCESTORS develop and create EDUCATION but also the ART OF BUSINESS….it’s all part of our ancestral DNA and only needs to be AWAKEN…

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…..all the young people need to ZOOM in on and KNOW is that everything was handed down by OUR ANCESTORS and STOLEN by CROOKS who now believe they are EXPERT at everything…..time to remove ourselves from their FRAUD ORBIT and ASSERT OUR ANCESTRAL RIGHTS…

22. Amazon Prime
    “Harlem” doesn’t drown in its social consciousness
    The young professor organizes a rally against gentrification to impress her boss, but before giving her speech, she has to correct the impassioned claims of the previous speaker:
    No, Black men did not invent food, she informs the crowd.

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

All of that they would love to keep hidden so they can continue their CRIMINAL ACTS against the Afrikan descended….but they are shit outta luck this time around…just let them try…

24. Steuspe

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Wuh happen Blogmaster, things ain’t working out.?…lol

26. @ Northern Observer January 31, 2022 1:17 AM
    I personally wish more Barbadians were incensed, when the rules and regulations are not adhered to. The island could not have gone 15 years without any formal report on the NIS?
    (Unquote).

Nice riposte there, “No”!

That should draw some blood to tame that tigress of insularity.

It’s more than a “lost decade” of complete incompetence that sad state of affairs has existed with many unfulfilled promises to do the professionally-right and legally-required reporting thing.

Maybe the expertise of some one from the same unappreciated Diaspora, say our own Walter Blackman, can be engaged to make a difference to that financial lifeline on which too many in the greying native population depend for a bit of comfort in their golden years.

But why open that Pandora’s box of financial infelicities to expose acts similar to what is still concealed in that Big Red Bag?

No wonder one from the Limey side of the Diaspora was treated like a persona non grata for sounding the alarm about the pending collapse of the State apparatus.

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Don’t worry Miller…they will soon have all the INSULARITY and backwardness that’s so prevalent on the island to themselves….when the most intelligent move on to bigger and BETTER……then it will be an island for the insular and slave minded, a tough crowd……..JUST AS THEY WANT IT…lol..they should survive quite nicely on their own with the one horse tourism product…

28. @ 555 dubstrret January 30, 2022 11:32 PM
    Another diaspora worth wrapping your head around as it spread all over world is the British Diaspora estimated at 200m
    USA Canada NZ Australia Caribbean South Africa Zimbabwe Hong Kong Singapore France Spain Germany Argentina Mexico Chile but individuals are probably living everywhere in the world
    (Unquote).

That well-noted fact only proves what an aggressively smart ‘race’ of people you are up against.

You should also note there is one religion which binds them together to subjugate other races- with blacks being the easiest of the lot to conquer and brainwash-in order to perform according to the image(s) as determined by the same European man.

29. @Miller @NO

It gives currency to the popular saying a people deserves the government it gets.

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The ugliness in all of that are the black faces running around BEGGING Pope White Dress for a new world order….that was the BIGGEST TURNOFF in the last 3 years….. and borne out of TREACHEROUS WICKEDNESS..

but it was seen for what it really is and ACTED UPON accordingly…..

31. @ WURA
    Why not highlight crimes against the white slave masters and their descendants. Then we would be better understand your positions.
    You may even get our country’s highest national award. Ah mean , why would we give it to Prince Charles and not you.
    Oh well, the struggle continues

32. You again with your piss, Likkle Pee Pee?

What tigress of insularity what!

I who share William Skinner’s One Caribbean dream?

I believe that Bajans abroad who are interested in Barbados should have a voice in parliament. What happens here affects many of you to varying degrees. Some have close relatives here and some wish to return after retirement. Some wish to assist in taking the nation forward.

But sheer numbers could mean that YOU choose the government that I and not YOU will have to live under.

I do not think that is fair. I do not agree with the facilitation of overseas voting. If you wish to vote so much, buy a ticket and come.

33. Northern,

I have expressed my outrage at the raiding of the NIS in the same way that I have expressed my outrage at the thought of non-residents choosing the way I will reside in Barbados.

I have expressed my outrage on BU.

Even Steven!

34. with blacks being the easiest of the lot to conquer and brainwash-in order to perform according to the image(s) as determined by the same European man.
    things may be slowly improving in your neck of the woods
    50 years ago people would have called Mia a golliwog now they love her

35. Thing is though, David, if the Bajans abroad chooses our government, that will no longer be the case.

We will get the government they deserve!

Oh dear!

36. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved January 31, 2022 9:37 AM

With the pending closure of the ‘dying’ sugar industry- as confirmed by the intended withdrawal of financial subsidies by Doc. IMF- there is no longer any incentive for young black Bajans to stick around.

The very raison d’être for their ancestors forced arrival to the shores of Barbadoes is about to disappear from the industrial landscape.

Tourism is not impactful enough as an economic driver to reduce the high level of unemployment among the youth.

Just pray that there is no outbreak of major hostilities in Eastern Europe to affect significantly the operations of commercial airlines out of Western Europe.

For long-haul flights to tourism destinations like Barbados would be significantly impacted and put tourism back in the ICU for a long, long time.

Serious consideration ought to be given to a programme of repatriation to the continent of their enslaved ancestors similar to what took place in 1865 to Liberia on the good ship Brig Cora but not reminiscent of their arrival as slaves on the Jesus.

Britain clearly ought to underwrite the cost of this repatriation package by black Bajans to their ancestral home leaving Barbados to real ‘Indians’; both West and East.

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“why would we give it to Prince Charles and not you.
    Oh well, the struggle continues”

well Charles showed them…by SLEEPING THROUGH THE WHOLE THING, i would have too….lol

38. To the self-confessed mad wo(e)man and admitted racist:

We will leave you to the Bushman and his brass-bowl to feed you!

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“With the pending closure of the ‘dying’ sugar industry- as confirmed by the intended withdrawal of financial subsidies by Doc. IMF- there is no longer any incentive for young black Bajans to stick around.”

music to my ears…

“The very raison d’être for their ancestors forced arrival to the shores of Barbadoes is about to disappear from the industrial landscape.”

that has ALWAYS been their EXCUSE to keep the Black Afrikan population in bondage, glad the RUG WAS PULLED from under the TRAITORS..

“Serious consideration ought to be given to a programme of repatriation to the continent”

been BEATING that ancestral drum for years…for those who want to go AND maneuver between EAST and WEST…

“Britain clearly ought to underwrite the cost of this repatriation package by black Bajans”

been quietly trying to PROMPT them to put those reparation packages in the inidividual BANK ACCOUNTS OF BLACK AFRICAN DESCENDANTS….they will be seen as HEROES and not the ZEROS and VILLIANS that they are now perceived…but let’s see how they handle it….cousin Boris did not handle the advise regarding removing racism well and it blew up on him, still blowing up…

….as long as they bypass those in the parliaments with evil ulterior motives and the minority cabal of crooks….it would be a wrap…

40. @Donna

The idea is to have a discussion as part of the upcoming debate. It may boil down to Barbadians in the diaspora unable to vote BUT we may find other ways to improve relationship between inshore and offshore bajans.

41. “leaving Barbados to real ‘Indians’; both West and East.”

East Indians that made white pirates believe they had reached India and had gone round the world heading by west to reach the east, were from East India a very long time ago but had a different culture in the Americas

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

been quietly trying to PROMPT them to put those reparation packages DIRECTLY INTO the inidividual BANK ACCOUNTS OF BLACK AFRICAN DESCENDANTS….not only in Barbados, but ACROSS THE CARIBBEAN atoll…

just to be very clear…

43. Marsha Hinds is a privileged person at a Canadian university. So almost like a white Karen. Yesterday she went on a rampage in Barbados Today. She made a lot of baseless accusations against our Supreme Leader. She said that ministers without cabinet rank are a scandal, that Barbados is a banana republic. Wow. How sad …

Ms Hinds is a totally biased DLP supporter who is now desperately trying to dilute the brilliant victory of our Supreme Leader in the election.

No one was disenfranchised on election day. The disenfranchisement took place between 2008 and 2018 and was economic in nature.

Until recently, everyone complained about the size of the cabinet. Except Tron who invented the narrative of a brilliant political move. Now our Supreme Leader has downsized the Cabinet in favour of efficiency and cost saving. OK … Clearly, Ms Hinds doesn’t like that either. What a hypocrisy. All she cares about is badmouthing our island and our people’s government.

I am starting to get the impression that some (not all) of our emigrants are the biggest enemies of our most honourable, decent government.

True patriots and true friends of our great island nation behave like diplomats abroad and sing the praises of our Supreme Leader and Barbados!!!

Time for Ms Hinds to apologise to the people for her blatant insult against our Supreme Leader!

Tron, Year 1 NR, Year 4 SL

44. British colonies shipped and used Africans as Slaves, Whites as Settlers and Indians as workers and Admin all over like Barbados Fiji Kenya and then some

45. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I asked the question before and William said it was a recent discussion in a group from the diaspora .

..but to date NO ONE i know IN THE DIASPORA expressed a wish to vote in Barbados…..Northern said SOME DO, another Baje said she does….so people CAN if they WISH….their names are on the voters lists…MOST DID NOT EVEN KNOW that UNTIL the list was dumped in cyberspace…i was shocked to see how many diasporans were there… they would have made up the extra 100K.

NO ONE is expressing any serious desire to vote in Barbados, they got other things to do and many have other places to be…some who want to will…MOST WON’T…

the copycat “come back home” am sure ALSO INCLUDED VOTING….and no one took up the offer then…

46. @African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights ReservedJanuary 31, 2022 11:21 AM

The electoral list is not at all forgery-proof because many emigrants are listed there. It is grotesque that the electoral list is almost as large as the entire population of our island, including young people, children and foreigners.

Something is wrong!

It is time to remove all persons who do not live with us and do not pay taxes here.

It is all too obvious that our Windrushers want to delegitimise the elections in the interests of the DLP. How sad. Countrymen have become traitors.

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    My knickers are not knotted about any of this. I merely asked a question.
    When one well known former international leader used the term “you people” (you guys) there was outrage.
    And you are very correct, the Barbadian electorate did not want the candidates of SB or the Alliance. Yet I am confident, the 6000 or so who voted for their candidates across the 30 constituencies were not all voters from away. The vast majority of those 6000 “we’s” were residents.
    And you have an easy solution. All that need be done is to light a fire under the EBC to improve their vetting of who can, and cannot, cast a ballot in an election. Given the more recently added ‘Caricom eligibility’ feature, they must have an entire staff compliment dedicated to this.
    I was amused during the electoral competition between Mr.Hewitt and Ms DePeiza, the issue of his residency didn’t play a larger role. While any Bajan who serves in a diplomatic position has a legitimate explanation, he chose to live elsewhere both prior to and post his diplomatic posting.
    Ms.McConney was appointed to the Senate, and given Ministerial responsibility, after having existed over and away. They had to ‘change the rules’?
    You have some valid points, you just need to get your fellow residents to enforce them.

48. @NO

You are aware Ms. McConney was representing Barbados while living overseas?

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

i don’t know how others think, but if i have an opportunity, as a young person, to have dual nationality on a continent with infinite RESOURCES, ancestral to boot, and long term LIMITLESS OPPORTUNITIES….to choose MY OWN DESTINY….as someone who can SEE what is available…..

or

remove myself from the diaspora where there are still opportunities for the young right now, to go and GET STUCK on a racist, apartheid one horse town island….and then my children and grandchildren have NO OPPORTUNITIES and seen as SECOND CLASS CITIZENS to be stuck in bondage, paid low to no salaries, and a diet of OPPRESSION…….there is NO UPWARD MOBILITY while VOTE BUYING and CORRUPTION are the order of the day……..voting in these DIRTY LOCALES is not as important as others keep pretending…they are yet to see any changes after over 55-60 years of voting…

i see a NO BRAINER…don’t know what others are seeing…

50. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Tron
    “who do not live with us and do not pay taxes here”
    is this confirmation, that since I don’t live there, I no longer need to pay property tax nor submit to taxes related to income earned from property rentals, dividend income or business income?
    You have gone from a jester to my hero!! [lol]