As we draw closer to the time Barbadians will be encouraged to participate in a national debate about a NEW Constitution, one suggestion is to allow Barbadians- who for different reasons- have settled overseas to be able to vote to elect a Barbados government. Especially Bajans who although the primary address is foreign, they have family, property and other interest still in the land of birth.

The suggestion to create a Diaspora Constituency is a controversial one for obvious reasons but we should discuss it.

The following comment posted by William Skinner to the Did the Many Hands Make Light Work blog, a Barbadian living in the USA in instructive.

The truth is the truth. As I told you recently , I am not a paragon of any virtue known to mankind. But, I value intellectual honesty. As you have said we have our differences but we are heading the same place. One of the great pillars of intellectual honesty is to admit that you’re are not infallible and to quickly acknowledge when you are wrong or even half wrong.

Quite frankly, among overseas Bajans, I am considered a baby. And they tell me that almost every day. I know Bajans who have been away from home fifty years and over. There is a lot of success and a lot of pain. By the time they have achieved success , they have lost family, friends and even visits are a bit depressing because they are seeing the children of their family and friends and don’t know them. It’s a vicious cycle, when one , on the quest for some improvement , has to give up almost anything that is worthwhile at the end.

There is also a cultural dimension. I have a friend, who has lived more of his life in Brooklyn than than Bim. About ten years ago, he brought home his children to the rock for Crop Over. His daughter, a born and bred American, fell in love with Lil Rick. I am informed that she has not listened to any American rapper since! She is into pure kaiso.
Children need roots. A Canadian lady now in her fifties told me that on a visit home, around the age of seven or so, her uncle taught her how to catch a lizard. She has never forgotten that!

I can write a thousand stories. I have advised friends and family , to not give up a job or anything to come chasing the American dream. The price is high…..very high.

The Caribbean Diaspora must be seen as a part of our new horizon in a different way. And for many different reasons. Indians born and live on the rock then they go back to India to find spouses for their children; Jews , Irish and all other groups are in their Diaspora ensuring that their countries and culture are fully and properly defended. When progressive voices talk about the Diaspora , they are talking about he big picture and not only about barrels or who is Dee or Bee.

However, the mere fact that Caribbean people throughout the Diaspora want to be more involved in their countries is testimony that when all is said and done, home is where the heart is. And after mingling with those who call me a baby, I say they got on a plane but they never left Barbados, Jamaica, Guyana or any other island and if they tell you they really left, dey lie !

274 responses to “Should Bajans Living in the Diaspora Vote in —–> Barbados”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Yes…the diasporans are the ones who have to take care of their families in Barbados when corrupt governments and their dangerous greedy minority sidekicks TIEF BILLIONS FROM THE ECONOMY and leave the Black majority and their children to STARVE…

i would be DAMNED PISSED TOO..

2. “Several goals in mind to be recognized of our freedom to vote”

In your humble opinion is Overseas Voting
    (a) A Constitutional Right
    (b) A Constitutional Amendment
    (c) New Law Initiative within Constitution
    (d) Feasible with current technology and verification checks etc
    (e) Unconstitutional
    (f) Righteous

3. Question, David – when the investigations are done and new Barbados IDs are issued in response to all the recent hoop-la, who will remain on the list?

Are they doing a house to house registration process? I seem to remember their saying that only those who do something or other will remain on the list. It was not just those who are living and not dead. It was something else as well but I cannot remember what.

4. Can the remote people help clean up the shitstem
    such as criticizing Government without fear of consequence of retribution

5. Barbados is a little dot on the map that is invisible except for it’s long text name
    but energy spreads around the world in all directions

6. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The diaspora voting is a good idea and should be facilitated once the following rules are put in place:

1) They should be allowed to register from outside of Barbados once provide proof of current property ownership in Barbados or the last known Barbados address they lived at prior to moving to their current country of residence.

2) They must be physically in Barbados to cast their vote on election day.

or

3) Vote at our embassy provided they prove they have visited Barbados within the last year.

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

This person is well in their 70s, left as a young person and cannot remember a time they did not have to take care of their families in Barbados because the economy is ALWAYS IN A BAD SHAPE…due to corruption…..and that is not the only one…as Angela said some had to hold down 2 or 3 jobs to be able to send something for their disenfranchised loved ones…..two jobs was a stretch for me, imagine having to hold down 3….

.the ones in the diaspora who are younger should form an association and confront these useless governments about this…it is UNFAIR….to them and their families that their presence generate taxes, pension money and because of minority thieves and corrupt governments they are still stuck in poverty…

William…the association now looking at voting should confront the government about this, it is WRONG AT ALL LEVELS….seeing as i too experienced working in the diaspora so I UNDERSTAND FULLY WHY they are not pleased by any of this…and something actually useful might come out of all this blather…

8. Thinking outside the box
    A Digital Barbados could have a real-time voting system
    where all eligible voters choose a party
    but can flip or abstain to change anytime
    like facebook likes
    with daily changes in Parliament as per count

9. Let them/us vote for a senator -a voice /vote in parliament by will not effect the locals selection

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

@dpd
    “All voting is done were the income taxes are paid (and residency status established), yes!”
    If that were true I would be voting in the USA!!
    Via the wonderful little tool called ‘withholding tax’ (on dividends), and I had to incorporate to own property (to keep the very long arm of the IRS away from moi personally) and to rent it out, I should probably be voting in the USA?
    Every nation has rules and regulations. You follow them.

@Donna
    re the ‘diaspora seat’
    what happens when that seat gets 215,000 votes, and all the other 30 ridings together get 130,000?
    Now you’ve opened a can of wor-ums.

11. what happens when that seat gets 215,000 votes, and all the other 30 ridings together get 130,000?

at the moment there are ±130,000 in the nebulous enigmatic diaspora
    and they breed at a mean rate 0.52
    but these are snapshots of moving targets

btw maybe less than 30% in diaspora would bother

12. William Skinner Avatar

The prime minister told guests that it was crucial for Barbadians abroad to be daily promoters of the country, which in turn will have greater effects for the island long-term, and will introduce a law to facilitate that.

“We need to be able have each and everyone of you tell the story of Barbados, market the mission of Barbados, and helps us along that way because as I say at home all the time — many hands make light work,” said Mottley. “However you choose to be Barbadian, we have determined that we’re going to bring legislation very shortly that will allow every Barbadian to be a promoter of investment and marketing of Barbados.”

The legislation will allow the larger community across the world to present projects to a committee that will oversee project pitches, according to Mottley. And she added that she wants to create an effortless process for ownership and investments in property and businesses.

Prime Minister of Barbados Mia Mottley, October 4th.,2018. Addressing Barbadians in New York

Sometimes I wonder how purebred political idiots can come here saying that they speak on behalf of our PM and her party. She must be embarrassed by their inexhaustible political ignorance.
    I said that involving the Diaspora goes beyond voting or barrels. I hope the clowns will at least read and understand what our Prime thinks of those who live in the Diaspora.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Some are saying that they already LOST PROPERTIES to thieving lawyers and the same corrupt cabal split between the parliament and the minority crooks…..as if we did not already know that…,

some people have very convenient memories and are pretending to forget.,,,how many videos were out there about theft of properties of those living and working in the diaspora..including their BANK ACCOUNTS….and word has spread among them alll……….. those who lost hundreds of thousands of dollars and ranging from hundreds of thousands to million dollar properties CANNOT FORGET…

this may be a way to make amends…..address ALL OF THIS…CONFRONT IT…confront the corruption, the ministers so inclined….before anyone can talk about luring people to vote….

they were chanting their copycat ” come home” since 2018…has anyone turned up yet …steuppppss…

14. @Donna

Good question – see link https://www.gov.bb/Citizens/national-registration.

It appears the electoral office will issue an ID card based on criteria attached:

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

@dub
    “at the moment there are ±130,000 in the nebulous enigmatic diaspora”
    and this number came from?
    Anyways the actual number is somewhat irrelevant.

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William..we can try to get something FAIR and EQUITABLE to come out of this for those in the diaspora who have been MISUSED by wicked governments with narrow agendas…for DECADES….

17. William Skinner Avatar

@ DPD
    I can’t speak exclusively for the group but I am certain whatever they want to achieve will be in keeping with the PM’s vision , whether they are allowed to vote or not.
    Like I have said repeatedly, I have never met a Barbadian, or any other Caribbean citizen, who loves their country any more or less than those who come here pretending they are the only lovers and divinely appointed protectors of our country.

Peace

18. What will happen with overseas voting rules when Space Travel begins
    Overseas Bajans may have skills and experience in demand for contract work in Barbados

Going Back to My Roots

Odyssey Vs Richie Havens – Topic

19. and this number came from?
    Anyways the actual number is somewhat irrelevant.

Wiki / Me and my memory of 1 day ago
    Seek and you will find

20. and they breed at a mean rate 0.52

this was false information that I made up

21. “Only Citizens, Residents and Commonwealth Citizens RESIDING in Barbados for at least 3 YEARS CONSECUTIVELY can register with the Electoral and Boundaries Commission of Barbados.”

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“those who come here pretending they are the only lovers and divinely appointed protectors of our country.”

would like to know who gave them that type of authority when they are very good at IGNORING all the government and corrupt players derived ills PLAGUING THE ISLAND and DESTROYING BLACK LIVES..

23. Skinner i do not know who you are refering to with your customary low remarks but if it is to me i speak on my on behalf.I do not speak for any party or the PM on this issue..Therefore i am not interested in what the PM said on this issue.I think for myself.I gone.

24. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA

Your point about atrocities carried out against those in the Diaspora were addressed by the PM and the AG on gatherings of the Diaspora. They promised the dishonest lawyers and scammers will feel the full weight of the law.

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“They promised the dishonest lawyers and scammers will feel the full weight of the law.”

right…we are still waiting nearly 4 YEARS LATER…with many of them WHOSE NAMES WE ARE ALL FAMILIAR WITH…sitting in the parliament in the judiciary, in the bar association….and in which other HOLES we can find them..

26. Northern,

No matter how many votes you get one seat. I am no self-designated protector of Barbados but I am a protector of MY right to choose who governs ME. It is my understanding that governments govern how the people who live here get to live. They do not govern those who live elsewhere.

So….I am very much in favour of this diaspora seat, not because of the anticipated benefits but because it perfectly balances the rights of ALL Barbadians who may be affected by the outcome of elections to varying degrees.

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

probably got LOST in the red bag of evidence of DLP questionable contracts…which was DUSTED OFF and PROMISED AGAIN pre election…and promptly FORGOTTEN again, lost maybe….post election…

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…the problem i am having is that ALL OF THIS IS WELL KNOWN…and has been that way BEFORE i came on BU…. everyone KEPT THEIR LIPS BUTTONED UP TIGHT and i had to run around hither and yon doing all the research i needed on my own when all of it was ALREADY WELL KNOWN…

then i found out that before BU there was Barbados Free Press…where we can STILL go and find critical information to educate ourselves about corruption on the island WITH ALL THE NAMES STILL THERE…then i found out about Keltruth Blog out of Miami that was around BEFORE BFP….ditto…all the corruption you need to know about on the island can be found RIGHT THERE….

so it boggles the mind that so many are STILL PRETENDING that none of that exists…and they are special and don’t know what’s going on…steuppps…very UNIMPRESSED…

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner, we can get so invested in a concept that we become impractically chained to it and simply refuse to deal with pragmatism.

I am absolutely willing to practically disavow my position with a reasonable answer to what is motivating this vote that enhances what is not currently possible… but I have not seen anyone representing the vote give credible responses to basic queries.

What you quoted above by the PM should go into the very rear of the file 13 drawer.

Brother … ANOTHER committee to review proposals. for supposed investment opportunities …SERIOUSLY

*The legislation will allow the larger community across the world to present projects to a committee that will oversee project pitches, according to Mottley. And she added that she wants to create an effortless process for ownership and investments in property and businesses.” SERIOUSLY.

When, I repeat WHEN do you need legislation to determine if a project is a good income generator …NEVER. Facetiously I could ask if we missed the legislative committee (and so did the Minister surely) for the Maloney vaccine project… or say that surely the Cahil committee got sidelined …. but seriously that is NEVER needed for true entrepreneurial business projects. The less political involvement actually the better (well beyond the necessary glad handling).

Bro that quote above was purr gobblygock political BS!

@Northern, I get your drift and completely agree that every nation has its own rules _ as it should be.

My brevity above said as much (not well)… with stripe away the fluff and at the core voilá!

Residency as u know has some technical legal issues and so does income tax. In the latter care I was referring to ‘working’ income not investment income … and in the former as u know … residing in some US states for several months consecutively can certainly qualify you as a resident and entitle you… even as a transient winter vacationer to vote.

So yes rules will differ … some places u work and pay taxes (as a non citizen) and still may be unable to vote and in some u surely can.

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

To clarify… that vote option by non citizens are for local elections only currently… not federal elections.

31. William Skinner Avatar

@ Lorenzo
    My dear fellow Barbadian.
    I try to pay attention to the ideas that are being put forward and the critiques that are enlightening and productive. When I want to address you I will do so directly.
    Man, you write what you want to and I do so as well. But , I have a standard rule: I politely try to reply to any comments directly addressed to me. When I am making a general observation, I refuse to address any individual.
    When I want to address anybody directly I do so.
    Simple as that.

32. William Skinner Avatar

@ DPD, @ Donna
    We are trying here to have a discourse on an evolving participation by the Diaspora in the future of Bim. While I may agree with you the PM statements made since 2018 have borne no fruit , I was just trying to allow or inform that nothing in this evolution was cooked up by opportunistic overseas Bajans but it is actually in Concord with the current administration’s policy.
    The reason, I have also addressed this comment to @Donna, is that in my opinion, she has introduced a one seat idea that I actually find a progressive step that is more in keeping with what I envisage. However, I have been clear in pointing out that I have not yet made a determination about overseas voting.
    Finally your position on the price paid by those who settle elsewhere, is quite interesting. However, I maintain that the quality of life for a Black Bajan in any white country is intrinsically inferior to those who live at home. There is more to the quality of life than materialistic success. You may want to ask some highly qualified and successful Afro Americans why they are fleeing America and heading to Africa.
    It’s amazing that people in the Diaspora don’t understand that we are second class citizens in the USA. Even the Black Americans living here are treated as second class and still marching up and down for basic equal rights.
    Just other day those of us in England had to deal with Windrush.

33. William Skinner Avatar

Should read: even the Black Americans born here . Not living here.

34. “When I am making a general observation, I refuse to address any individual.
    When I want to address anybody directly I do so.”

the throw a shade crew are big headed blinkered biased snobbish blackballing ostracizing bent prejudiced

35. I forgot to say boasty

36. William Skinner Avatar

Thank you for making my post a topic lead. Appreciated.

37. Not all of them Dub.

38. Changes make Waves ..
    that make Changes ..
    that make Waves ..

Trips

39. William,

Actually, it seems the idea of the diaspora seat was already out there even though I did not know it. I saw David’s post after I posted.

Actually, I surprised myself with that one.

40. “Not all of them Dub.”
    That is the working definition of the #THROWASHADECREW

Perception is a thing and a box to put people in
    Maybe some are not affiliated to them and are falsely labelled
    But, that is the stereotypical perception of overseas species
    in their fancy jeans and trainers

Flip The Script

41. @ Lorenzo January 29, 2022 1:25 PM

Lorenzo,

you are talking common sense.

The right to vote for emigrants who have abandoned their country is de facto nothing more than a right to vote for foreigners. Then we might as well let the tourists from the cruise ships or the citizens of other CARICOM members vote.

Besides, our Windrushers don’t know local conditions at all anymore. Many members of DLP-Canada believe Barrow is still the Prime Minister on our island. Unbelievable? But true. When they fly in to vote, it is by first class and in a Mercedes with the curtains drawn to Sandy Lane. They stay there for a week and think that is the reality in Barbados.

Therefore, there is much to be said for not allowing our Windrushers to vote AT ALL. In the necessary electoral reform, the right to vote should be restricted to citizens who spend at least SIX months a year in Barbados and pay income tax here.

I think the close election result of 2013 and its disastrous consequences for the island should serve as a warning to us to grant the electoral right very wisely. At that time, a few votes prolonged the catastrophe. Immeasurable suffering for the population was the result because a few naïve Windrushers were flown in to vote and thus the elections were manipulated.

The expansion of voting rights for Windrushers is nothing more than an obvious attempt to rig the next elections in the interests of Donville Inniss and to subjugate the local population like slaves.

42. Yuh mean the glorious monarchy to which GP 2 wants to reattach?

Wuhlaus!

43. https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/27/canadian-to-be-sentenced-on-drug-charges/
    “However, the matter was adjourned after what was described by the magistrate as a “huge discrepancy” in the weight of the drugs in the document given to Watt by officers at Customs and what police investigating the matter provided.

That matter was settled when Station Sergeant Glenda Carter probed the matter.”

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner, I want to delve into a few of your recent remarks.

re the PM rhetoric … long before I ever ventured out of Bim the homage paid to overseas Bajans was significant … moreover the influence various Bajan community groups had on local politics was just as significant.

Cast ur mind back to how Consul General Branford Taitt used the local folks in NY to awesome political advantage and too Lammie Craig etc. How those in UK and Toronto were similarly incentivised to be BLP or DLP overseas branches.

In my time it was the star boy on his alleged CLICO sponsored plane trip doing the NY thing … and as u said Mia as well. But Tom did it Sandi and Owen too … it was a must do whether it was coordinated with their UN visit or if Davey was dropping in to attend a Cawmere NY event or Mia a QC/HC one. Same thing in England basically… well not coordinated around UN of course 😇!

What one could call SOP….
    My simple point this has been a very important feature for a VERY long time … Mia’s remarks were very tepid warmed over cane crack juice … sweet fah days and absolutely not ideally fit for best health use these days. We have been hearing similar platitudes for eons.

Re the “price paid by those who settle elsewhere” we can agree to disagree. The evidence I see tells me that
    “the quality of life for a Black Bajan in any white country is [NOT] intrinsically inferior to those who live at home.”

They certainly can face more virulent racism than at home … no dispute but beyond the materialistic stuff -as I said earlier- the overall quality of life can be AWESOME.

Exampke Mum of 6 plus who had a very philandering and abusive husband in Bim … a salt of earth wonderful lady from the country (St. John I believe it was) who did service work for years as she strived to bring all her children to US. Today several are thriving: one a medical specialist, another Air Force vet of 25 years, yet another a skilled industrial technician, and an older one a successful software developer. All of that unikely had they remained in Bim as those job opportunities likely could not be achieved as the educational avenues or other paths used would not have been as forthcoming.

Your argument is very true for a certain ‘class’ of Bajan (those of a certain school daze primarily) … but we have to accept that others situated along different educational paths benefited tremendously by emigrating..

And in that example based on the story I saw the price paid was actually not very
    different …. yes the matriarch had to put up with lots of angst working for the white folks she served but in Bim it was noted that she encountered even more grave racism: her brother was KILLED by a white man for brekking some cane … as egregious as the the Trayvon Martin story right here in Bim … and just as in that case the killer served not one day in prison!

Thus brother my perspective are indeed quite different on that subject… life in Bim is awesome if u are part of or become adopted by the right social class … but if you are from a different strata of society you can readily overcome the 2nd class citizen label in the US and soar to awesome heights….moreso that if u were in Bim!

So yes . we know that “[e]ven the Black Americans […] are treated as second class and still marching up and down for basic equal rights….” but tell me brother is that NOT the same USA which recently elected a Black president and have more Black millionaires and successful Black businesses outside the African continent (and probably Brazil) than anywhere else.

I am simply saying that as Bdos evolved many Bajans found wealth, fame and a good standard of living in US or UK than they would have ever achieved had they remained at home … even now as educational opportunities expand extensively unless the work opportunities also expand it will still be beneficial for some Bajans to spread their wings “pay that price” and soar beyond their wildest imagination.

45. @DpD
    No problem with your analysis.
    However, you must agree that the now solid upper Black middle class , educated right here in Bim , although some would have spent periods outside, has proportionately done better than those in America and don’t have to worry about a police stopping them because they are driving a top end car.
    They don’t have to lecture their children every time they leave their upper class neighborhood. .
    Yep Obama became President and was still treated as a second class citizen by the Republicans.
    Yes I am quite aware of the impact that some functionaries had as consul generals. In more recent times the only one that performed creditably was Ms. Old.
    You’re quite correct to deem some efforts theses day as cold soup.
    However the struggle continues.
    Thanks for the in-depth response.

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    Your sense of fairness and intent is appreciated.
    Yet, the cost to the GoB to register and tabulate votes for 1 seat, will be outrageous.
    It is really a good riddance concept,…look we gave yah sumting so hush ya mout.
    Yet the GoB has rules to get on and stay on the voters list, as does every other nation. There will always be leakage. Nothing is perfect.
    You read what the Dame+ had to say?

47. William Skinner Avatar

Just realized typo: should be Ms. Odle- Baril. A real people’s person. Thanks

48. Northern,

Well, the cost may be high but look how many people are here beating Bajans over the head with the remittances they send to their mothers! Presumably the remittances would cover the cost with plenty left over.

But I can see no other option that does not run the risk of handing over my right to choose who governs me to those who will not be so governed.

You and Dame Bajans and Co. probably won’t be able to accomplish that. Not so many will do what you two do.

But you see how she wants me to live under GP 2 or Atherley? Both stupidly theocratic! Both would take us back in time, excluding homosexuals from legal recognition! Neither could get their acts together to be ready for an election. GP2 is a whiny wimp who wants to hang on to the British monarchy! And Trump supporter too! A “leave up Nelson” obsessive. Analysis too simplistic. Historical analysis, social analysis, economic analysis, religious analysis, legal analysis, political analysis, geo-political analysis.

And Atherley who magically transformed into LOO days after loudly touting the BLP agenda from every corner of Barbados. And that after another option of seats in the senate was proposed! Nothing to do with the money, of course.

This is what I fear. We who live here don’t want them. We who live here do not want them. We who live here do not want them.

49. As promised, my contribution to the discussion on fundamental rights today.

Constitution of the New Republic of Barbados

Introduction
    With the May 2018 revolution in mind, and having proclaimed the New Republic in November 2021, the Barbadian people are now giving their republic a constitution. The colonial remnants have thus been overcome.

Chapter 1: Principles
    Art. 1
    Barbados is a democratic and social republic.

Art. 2 The people exercise their rule through their Supreme Leader and through her party. The will of the Supreme Leader is the will of the people.

Art. 3 The calendar shall begin with the year 1 on 24 May 2018.

Chapter 2: Fundamental Rights

Art. 4 Freedom to vote
    Citizens may freely and equally exercise their democratic rights.
    All citizens who reside in Barbados for at least 6 months of the year and pay at least part of their income tax in Barbados are eligible to vote.
    The secrecy of the ballot is guaranteed.
    The state supports parties through financial aid. The financial support is based on the number of seats in parliament. The Senate is not taken into account. The financial assistance amounts to 100,000 BBD per parliamentary seat and year. Private donations to electoral campaigns must be reported to the relevant government agency. They may not exceed the state financial aid for parties.
    Further details are regulated by the Law on Political Parties and Elections.

Art. 5 Freedom to Act
    Every citizen is free to do as he or she wishes within the framework of the general laws, customs and morals.

Art. 6 Life and Bodily Integrity
    Life may not be touched. The death penalty is abolished. The Supreme Leader decides on exceptions to save the people and the state.
    Interference with bodily integrity requires a law. This restriction does not apply to compulsory vaccination.

Art. 7 Equality
    All citizens are equal before the law.
    Men are equal to women unless the Supreme Leader decides otherwise. Women shall hold at least 50 per cent of all leadership positions in state, party and society.
    The state shall provide special assistance to the disabled.
    The rights of minorities are guaranteed.

Art. 8 Freedom of Expression
    Every citizen shall be free to express himself or herself within the framework of universal laws, morals and customs. Censorship is abolished. The Supreme Leader decides on exceptions in order to save the people and the state.
    Arrogant expressions of opinion are punished.

Art. 9 Freedom of Religion
    Every citizen is free to choose and practise his or her religion or belief within the framework of the general laws. In particular, drugs may be used for cultic purposes.
    The state promotes the worship of the Goddess Bim and her priests in a special way.

Art. 10 Family and Marriage
    The family is the nucleus of the state. It is under the special protection of the state.
    The state protects and promotes marriage as a community of two persons. In addition, the state recognises non-marital forms of cohabitation.
    Children born out of wedlock are treated equally to children born in wedlock.

Art. 11 Property
    Property is guaranteed within the framework of the welfare state.
    Taxes must always be declared truthfully and paid on time.
    The assets of international investors are inviolable and are not taxed.
    Wealth tax, inheritance tax and land tax are prohibited.
    The state has the right to monetary reform without compensation.
    Likewise, the state has the right to restructure state debts to domestic creditors without compensation.

Art. 12 Right of Succession
    Every citizen may make a will.
    Without a valid will, the estate falls to the state.

Art. 13 Freedom of Occupation
    Every citizen has the freedom, subject to the law, to take up and pursue an occupation.
    Slavery and forced labour are abolished. An exception is made for the punishment of labour on the basis of a court judgement.
    Every adult citizen is obliged to work to earn his or her own income.The state may assign work in state care to an unemployed citizen. The citizen receives a daily allowance for this.
    Every citizen shall be entitled to university studies. The state may set entrance examinations and financial guarantees for this purpose. The state may set quotas for study and charge tuition fees.

Art. 14 House and Farm
    The personal home, the physical area of one’s own business and the physical area of one’s own farm are protected. Interference requires a law.
    Expropriation requires a law. The state may make compensation payments in state securities.

Art. 15 Freedom of Movement
    Citizens may move freely in Barbados. Restrictions require a law.
    Citizens may travel outside Barbados provided they can prove that they have the necessary foreign currency.
    Citizens may emigrate provided they have paid the emigration tax.