Mia Mottley out-strategized all comers to win the recent general election by inflicting another 30-0 drubbing on a hapless Democratic Labour Party (DLP). The win is all the more incredible because it was achieved after a 3-year period of unprecedented economic challenges caused primarily by the ongoing pandemic AND the brought forward state of a weak economy.

Besides the chatter about the capacity of the DLP to reinvent itself to be seen as a legitimate choice of a government in waiting, the more immediate expectation is the shape of the new Cabinet and appointments to the Senate expected to be communicated this week. Prime Minister Mottley has signaled among other priorities this second tenure will focused on continuing transformative pursuits to improve how the country does its business.

In 2018 Mottley appointed 26 ministers with several parliamentary secretaries and consultants bolted on. That decision continues to evoke robust discussion pertaining to the insensitivity of the decision given the weak state of the economy. Mottley’s justification was that the perilous state of the economy and the workload required to rebuild the economy justified her decision. Her explanation was summed up in the phrase – many hands make light work. The blogmaster admits the mandate delivered last week probably had little to do with a large cabinet and more to do with a favourable perception of Mottley as leader of government at this time by voters compared to the alternatives on show. 

Political pundits argue Mottley had the difficult job of managing 30 members of parliament coupled with executing government business efficiently. It explains her contentious decision to have appointed 26 members to the 2018 Cabinet. This time around it will be interesting to observe if she repeats the decision- no doubt with the Kingmaker’s blessing- to reappoint a large Cabinet.

Political morality requires Mottley to think carefully about the optics of of another bloated Cabinet to satisfy political expediency at a time many Barbadians are suffering. Mottley is aware of the hospitality sector where employees in the thousands were sent home or suffered reduced pay, middleclass and senior citizens who had to suffer deep haircuts to nest egg investments as a result of the debt restructure and generally a workforce that continues suffer because of significant contraction in the economy are the key considerations. An important trait of a good leader is to make decisions to demonstrate empathy.

758 responses to “Did Many Hands Make Light Work?”

1. No-Opposition bind

BARBADIANS HAVE SPOKEN too loudly and affirmatively to brook any semblance of what they would consider to be a second betrayal by any Member of Parliament crossing the floor and becoming the Leader of the Opposition.
    One suggestion by former Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley has combined with rumours rooted in the disappointment of former ministers, creating the mystery of the month about who would break faith with the electorate who, for the second time, have given the Barbados Labour Party the most overwhelming mandate in the history of local elective politics.
    As the rumour mill spins, the average Barbadian may wince at the thought of not having at least one dissenting voice in the highest court of the land. By the same token, however, the supreme law of the land, the Constitution, pellucidly states that the Opposition Leader must emerge from within the bowels of the House of Assembly to which the people of Barbados would have elected him or her.
    The Barbados Constitution states, inter alia, at Section 74(2): “Whenever the Governor General [President] has occasion to appoint a Leader of the Opposition, [s] he shall appoint the member of the House of Assembly who, in his [her] judgment, is best able to command the support of a majority of those members who do not support the Government . . . . .” As witnessed in 2018, that “majority” can be a single sitting Member of Parliament.
    The above rule is reinforced by other sections of the Constitution and therefore care should be exercised in tampering with it since, in Barbados and indeed the Commonwealth Caribbean, the Constitution is the most important source of law while being the metric against which all sources of law are measured.
    Any law which does not conform with the Constitution is invalid.
    Therefore, while it appears as if an Opposition Leader is only necessary if the electorate say so, it is also worthwhile to bear in mind that the current position of one party holding all the seats may not be the ideal example of what a new parliamentary republic
    should look like.
    Ironically, the extraordinary popularity of Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley means that the world will be watching Barbados, particularly our regional neighbours who have traditionally looked to this country for leadership and sound decision-making and have now gotten those attributes in spades.
    Under such scrutiny, it will be incumbent upon the ruling administration to represent the highest level of integrity, elements of good governance and concern for the youth, which will be exemplified in the planned appointment of the island’s first 18-year-old senator, Khaleel Kothdiwala.
    A second “redwash” has shown that no one is listening to predictions of despotism. Instead, Barbadians are ready to unite in expanding a businessowning class of entrepreneurs, reopening the country to the massive investment potential that was stymied by COVID-19, and making Barbados a beacon among those quickly recovering from and learning to live with the health crisis. This is the way forward.

2. 1 week later
    2 or 3 ways at looking at last Wednesday’s results
    1 Good 2 Bad 3 What it is
    5 more years

BUers moan and groan whine and grine like having sex and choose option 2 Bad

3. 6:58 a.m.
    So you are reading what you think will be a good discussion when it turns into a just a party piece. The author got lost along the way and ended up far on one side of the fence.

Somebody need to tell them they won. Campaigning is still ongoing

4. Oh as to for the pandemic
    No worries Mia is in charge and deemed fit and ready to be in charge of the Ministry of Health
    Wanna stop fretting Tourist coming
    Virus coming
    Kensington Oval jam ram with happy 😊smiling faces
    Look even the WI winning
    Wanna complain too much
    Mia got this

5. “How could Khaleel represent Black youth and speak on their behalf, in an environment where cultural and social differences create categories of ‘them’ and ‘us?’”

Mixing is a 2 way street that requires effort on both sides of a divide
    Racism will always be present in our society when different people are tolerated but not appreciated

maybe there should be Political Action Groups set up and given seats in Senate for poor blacks, minorities etc for some representation and checks and balances opposition to overbearing prejudiced self serving leadership in general (not inferring incumbents are)

6. @ Artax January 26, 2022 6:14 AM

We should finally free ourselves from colonial racial thinking within the indigenous population. For the white shadows, K2 is a coloured person like everybody else. I am not aware that the white shadows distinguish between dark brown Indians and dark brown Africans. In other words, the race issue a very relative one.

What counts is heart, mind, patriotism and unconditional loyalty to our Supreme Leader.

Therefore, if you want to see a representative of the foodstampers and the marginalised in the Senate, in all fairness, our honourable businessmen and taxpayers should also be adequately represented. I therefore propose Bizzy Williams and Mark Maloney as members of the Senate. They already own the island and its inhabitants as property and serfs. So why not bring the white shadows into the light?

The proposal may sound typically Tron-provocative, but certainly refreshing …

7. @ David January 26, 2022 6:58 AM

It is obvious that our official media use our comments as text modules.

8. Some body ask what about them striking nurses
    Mia response
    What about them
    Them didn’t listen to Mia
    Them listen to Caswell. It would have been better if they had listen to Caswell dog
    Don’t fret yuh all student nurses making the money that the striking nurses received
    Caswell looks like a joker
    Now wanting to talk to PM
    No worries Mia cares

9. @ John January 26, 2022 1:42 AM
    A discussion of who gets to be a senator remains completely irrelevant because if there is no opposition there can be no senate.
    (Unquote).

Sir John, the Constitutional crisis does not lie in the Senate but in the House of Assembly (HoA) where the regular legislative aspects of the People’s business is conducted especially those involving the spending of the taxpayers’ monies.

As it stands, the President can appoint or disappoint whomever she sees fit to sit in that unelected chamber within the boundaries of Sec. 37 & 38 of the prevailing Constitution. And that overarching authority applies even when and where there is No LoO in the HoA.

There is, technically speaking, no need for “Opposition” senators in that chamber for it to form a quorum and function.

If the President is unable to appoint any elected member to function in the role of the LoO and who is not part of the Cabinet or the acting in the capacity of Speaker, then the president will have to fill that role.

Without the functioning of the LoO in the HoA the people’s business-by cutting out all the hot air replete with reference to the deeds of a lost decade- can be concluded within a much shorter period thereby reducing the taxpayers-funded food and drinks bill by 90%

Don’t you think Hinkson, for the sake of the national pantomime of musical chairs, should be the fall guy and play the role of Judas reincarnated just for a minister’s salary and wider national political status?

10. The problem is the Constitution will not allow a Parliament to be formed because the results in the allocation of seats have left no opposition.

The Constitution is written for there to be a Parliamentary Democracy in which there SHALL BE an opposition and a leader thereof.

There is currently no way of getting an opposition and a leader thereof except the baloney way where the BLP is willing to give over some of its seats to fabricate an opposition once they remain in the BLP camp.

Suppose we were to allocate seats on the proportional representation model but with a twist.

Let’s say the BLP got 2/3 out of the electors who actually voted.

Then it would get 20 out of the 30 seats.

However, the 20 top performers would get their seats in the constituency in which they ran, the other 10 would lose out.

If the DLP got 60 % of the 1/3 of the electors who voted, then the DLP would get 6 out of the 10 seats allocated according to the top performers.

The remaining 4 seats would be allocated among the other parties who ran, on the same basis.

There would then be a way in for an independent BUT, he/she would have to win his/her seat outright. or have won enough votes to be allocated 1 seat.

The DLP would form the opposition with the possibility that it ccould flip to another party if there were disaffection in the DLP ranks.

11. … and we would not have the absurdity of the BLP making up both the Government and opposition.

12. “If the President is unable to appoint any elected member to function in the role of the LoO and who is not part of the Cabinet or the acting in the capacity of Speaker, then the president will have to fill that role.”

Did you just hit the nail on the head
    the president will have to fill the Cheese Roll

13. Keep.hitting wanna head against a brick wall about opposition and Constitution
    Mia declared govt can be an opposition unto itself
    Wanna ears too hard
    Mia said she was given a mandate to.govern
    What about those words wanna don’t understand
    Tek.the word Constitution out of wanna mout and let the PM govern in piece
    Fuh Peace sake

14. William Skinner Avatar

@ Miller
    In reality , a planted opposition leader in our system of governance makes no sense . He or she cannot stop a government with thirty seats from doing anything. The people have spoken and have determined that the other contesting parties in the election were not fit to govern them or even walk up the steps of Parliament.
    Why do we want to saddle the taxpayers with paying for political rejects.
    In 1991, the NDP garnered a higher percentage of votes than any third party or independent candidates that contested the elections. I did not hear anybody making a case for the NDP to be given special privileges. Why are now making a case for the DLP. The only way the DLP should be given any seats in the Senate is if the Constitution provides for it.
    I do not agree with any PM changing and amending constitutions to fit their political prejudices. However, by giving a government all the seats, the people themselves have given the PM such authority.
    In all my years listening to Prime Ministers ask for blessings from the electorate ,I have never heard about voting for “ One Leader” I have heard speakers say vote for “ a leader “ but in her address to the nation, the PM made it clear that she wanted the people under “ one” leader. Gladstone Holder often said that we are defined by our words.
    Quite frankly, I am witnessing too many crocodile tears about democracy. The people have spoken. The government has all the seats in Parliament. That is the expressed wish of the people. Let us accept that the voice of the people remains the voice of the Lord .
    Parliament now has one leader. That was the expressed wish of the PM. The people honored her wish. It was a free and fair election.
    The DLP is now burning in the fires of the political hell. Hopefully the BLP will follow them and we will all be the better for it.
    Why the hell should the taxpayers be asked to throw water on the DLP’s fire.
    They put themselves in the political hell fires , let them get out on their own or burn forever. And if it were the BLP , I would say the exact thing.
    Peace

15. William Skinner Avatar

“According to Franklyn, “There is no such thing as a senior minister.”. He said, in Barbados’ system of governance, a senior minister is considered an honorary position.

“Owen Arthur did it when we took down Billie Miller and then didn’t want to drop Billie’s pay so he made her senior minister and then gave her the same pay as deputy prime minister. This will mean now that all of those senior ministers now will get $1700 more a month on their salaries.

“So this is a salary increase through the back door when nurses are not getting their salary increases and the other public servants are not getting their salary increases. She is finding a way to give ministers by calling them senior ministers and tricking people. It is a way to get their hand in the treasury again. You cut down the number of ministers, but then you raise their pay on the sly so now you carry back up the wage bill again. Who do they think they are fooling?” he said.’

Now I hope the detractors see why people have to expose pure BS, when they hear about nurses , police and others waiting on governments to pay them. Just so, four members of parliament are given increases as mentioned above. Now tell me about administrative bottle necks, technocratic foul ups and lazy servants who are to blame.

16. William Skinner Avatar

That should be ” lazy public servants who are to blame. not “servants”

17. I agree wid everything Willam said
    In other words the people like it so
    Leave well alone

And may I add if we all burn in Mia Helll Nutting wrong wid that
    As the old folks say
    When uh make yuh own bed hard or soft uh should lay in it

Lol.who ever said BU is boring is a bold face Liar

18. All

Dpd. I missed u post last night but I was thinking about the lady ifill.

I don’t remember the detail either but my little memory tell me shecwascappointed to the senate to give a voice for the handicap, I don’t remember who appointed her or if she was political

A similar political/labor appointment would have be trotty and maybe greaves or who ever it was before trotty ( I cannot remember the details at this point)

I see kk appointments to the senate similar to mia co-opting a voice for labor in the lower house by getting Moore to run

——/-/-/

Artax

If mr saffrey was a member of the blp and Mia appointed him to the senate I would expect her to say that his appointment was done to give a voice for the homeless

(. But wait. Maybe the homeless should be give a chance to select who the blp want to speak on their behalf ?

19. @William

Your comment is a reasonable one at first glance BUT there is no perfect democracy. Although the result reads 30-0 for a consecutive time the framers of the Constitution didn’t envisioned current state.

20. @William

The upgrade to senior managers is political to ensure the core/nucleus of her more marketable team members are kept happy.

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

William the KAKAstocracy. seem to still be going FULL STEAM AHEAD…with their train wreck…lol

22. William SkinnerJanuary 26, 2022 9:04 AM

The only way the DLP should be given any seats in the Senate is if the Constitution provides for it.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The problem is if you follow the constitution then there can’t be a Senate.

23. You can only get a senate if the constitution is breached!!

24. William Skinner Avatar

“Reasonable at first glance” is good enough for me. Once reasonable is included, I good. I really want to hear more about why people talking about a reduced cabinet by four and then giving four ministers more money by calling them “Senior Ministers”.
    Well coming after the Kothdiwala deception , I am about to conclude that the only body that will be a match for Mottley is Lance Gibbs, especially bowling when the shadows are lengthening over Kensington.
    Somebody better appeal, for light.

25. Folks never one to miss the rationale of an excuse even when democracy is under stress or pressure
    This is called hitting the nail on the head

BINGO

There is no perfect democracy
    Xxx
    I am.awe as the perfect storm reaches our shores

26. It is why Mottley is outmaneuvering all comers. She is the only political animal on the stage.

27. 30 -0 cannot work in the production of a parliament.

Either the constitution is breached to get an opposition and snuff out 10’s of thousands of opposition voices or the constitution is breached to get an opposition and include the 10’s of thousands of voices.

Either way the only choice is to breach the constitution because 30 – 0 cannot produce a parliament..

There are many ways to fabricate an opposition, including the recent Reverent Joe way.

The alternative is to return to the polls until we get an opposition in the House of Assembly.

QED

28. “She is the only political animal on the stage.”

She is the Lion in the Jungle but a Super Ape can still evolve
    She is not Bulletproof and can be killed with her head stuffed by Hunters as a trophy

29. DavidJanuary 26, 2022 9:45 AM

It is why Mottley is outmaneuvering all comers. She is the only political animal on the stage
    Xxxxx
    Did u call the PM an animal
    Shame on you
    Right after a stunning 29.percent victory u call the PM an animal
    Well Well Well
    Barbados has regulated an animal to lead them for the next whatever years
    If I had used such language against the PM my comment would have never seen the light
    Anyhow David thanks for the confirmation

30. Steuspe

31. @ David
    There maybe a very thin between maneuver and deception. I don’t think they are synonymous. But then Basdeo Panday did say that “politics has its own morality.

32. @ WURA
    I think we should both take Ambassador’’s Liz Thompson advice and go by the cement plant and get on a boat to Africa. Apparently she believes it’s a place for failures and rejects.
    We can carry along all the African nurses and I’m glad all the brothers and sisters in Africa will be happy to hear how the “ successful “ ones think about them.

33. DavidJanuary 26, 2022 10:01 AM

Steuspe

Xxxxxc
    Such energy
    Do it again
    Makes me lol 😆🤣😂😅

34. @David

“@William

The upgrade to senior managers is political to ensure the core/nucleus of her more marketable team members are kept happy.”
    No big thing, the taxpayers will underwrite it. 👍🏿👍🏿

35. I wasn’t listening to the swearing ceremony intently but did Mia just say that Duguid is a member of the Cabinet?

36. Here is the benefit of the hybrid first past the post and proportional representation model.

It means if some party spends a fortune cultivating a constituency it may be lost when the final apportioning is done.

It has the benefit of reducing the effect of bought votes on the outcome.

It also encourages the best candidates because no poor rakey candidate can rely on the organs of their party to keep them from being at the bottom and being discarded.

They have to get out and convince the electorate to come out and vote for them and do it each time if they want the pension!!.

37. SargeantJanuary 26, 2022 10:33 AM

I wasn’t listening to the swearing ceremony intently but did Mia just say that Duguid is a member of the Cabinet?

If she did then he isn’t going to be the next leader of the opposition and it means Ms. Mockley wants to keep him.

The other 10 are the discards.

She has to find 3 who will cooperate with her in the insurrection against the constitution.

Far better to approach it my way as it should get wholehearted approval and the chances of anyone of the silenced voices starting an action against the insurrectionists.

This way everybody is an insurrectionist and all the people’s voices are heard in a Parliamentary Democracy as envisaged by the Constitution.

The Representation of the People Act can then be changed as part of the bargain perhaps without even touching the Constitution.

The solution to this impasse is a negotiated settlement where all agree.

We’ve already had 2 unconstitutional GOBs we don’t want another.

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner re “There maybe a very thin between maneuver and deception”
    as there is between ‘love and hate’; ‘arrogance and self confidence and ‘right and wrong!

Life has shown us that it simply depends on whether WE favor the path being traveled when the protagonist walks the line in making his/her decision.

Dr King is seen as positively self confident by some in his role as a pacifist and at the same time as a ridiculously arrogant rabble rouser by others who see that path quite differently.

The Bajan psychologist and pastor Neilson Waithe in one of his books reaffirmed the truism that those things we love and adore about a companion can be the same things that became bitter problems: spontaneous, let’s try this option behaviour that is so compelling later becomes ‘that impulsive, do-it-yourself behaviour’ is unacceptable!

It always depends on who is interpreting the action. AND also when the interpretation is being made.

In the midst of a terrible pandemic decisive actions only 40% supported but which prove to be correct are yet heralded as superb leadership, I would suspect. But similarly unpopular decisive acts that produce failure are labelled autocratic and untenable, not so!

It always depends on which side of the line you are perched!

39. @ John 2

Are you suggesting that being a member of a political party the main qualifying prerequisite for an individual to be considered for an appointment as a government Senator?

If so, then, I’m sure you’ll agree with people who are of the opinion that KK’s proposed appointment to the Senate does not have any significant relevance to the youth, but could be interpreted as a ‘political maneuver’ to place someone who is probably a prominent member of the BLP’s ‘League of Young Socialist’ in the Senate….. as one of the party’s ‘succession planning’ strategies.

40. My suggestion brings everybody into the open and removes the artifice and deception that is making the BLP and Ms. Mockley look like a bunch of pretenders pushing the 30 – 0 “win” which they know full well goes against the Constitution which requires a bona fide opposition from people who genuinely oppose the Government.

41. Did some one mention the name Dr. Martin Luther King
    Nay he would be happy to see how the minority view carries more weight in a democracy
    As a matter of fact he would pat himself on the back and bodily shout
    Let Freedom Ring

42. So what is wrong wid u people
    Did u not see what happen to the one man who step forward to form an opposition in 2018
    He was called a traitor
    Then tarred and feathered execution style at the 2022 election
    Wanna better keep mout shut about this long ongoing talk about opposition
    PM.understands the method to this madness

43. Yep Duguid -Senior Minister in the PM’s office

44. SargeantJanuary 26, 2022 11:21 AM

Yep Duguid -Senior Minister in the PM’s office

Xxxxx
    SO
    It is what it is
    Stop complaining and begrudging the facts

45. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@AC, glad to see u are in your element and enjoying yourself today … BTW, I completely agree with you that the DLP should be allowed to slide to whatever way you guys so choose.

The party and it’s leaders have done well in long years past … if you no longer have any relevance to Bajan life and merely want to spin your displeasure towards a Barrow-like opposition figure rather than offer a strong and unified alternative then so be it!

It was great while you were around…. you guys did some awesome stuff.

Long may we aspire to new beginnings.

46. @DpD
    There are always two to at least one million sides to a story. I saw the movie. The great thing about that – it was just a movie. This is real life: power politics and the obviously disadvantaged, poor and vulnerable. I know it has always been so. So what, is the usual refrain.
    Peace

47. de pedantic DribblerJanuary 26, 2022 11:26 AM

@AC, glad to see u are in your element and enjoying yourself today … BTW, I completely agree with you that the DLP should be allowed to slide to whatever way you guys so choose.
    Xxxcccx
    What element
    At present I am wearing a helmet and may so do until the next election is call
    U better get one fuh yuhself
    The are on sale and business is brisk post election
    In a democracy capitalist take losing as a win win

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

This the main reason Europe and UK need to find the surviving descendants of the transatlantic slave trade in the Caribbean and PAY THEM DIRECTLY ..and .INDIVIDUALLY

… and do not involve the corrupt thieves…they know they are corrupt beyond repair SO WHY INVOLVE THEM IN ANY REPARATION PAYMENTS …period…

there was no Black government around when the deed was done for that time period, so based on that…NO BLACK GOVERNMENT should be involved in reparations payments…to descendants……

49. Don’t believe the Hype

The Good Guys are swearing in

Live on BUTV