The Governor of the Central Bank reported two consecutive quarters of growth although it must be stated Barbados economy performed below pre COVID 19 GDP levels – 3.2% to be exact. There was an increase in activity in the tourism sector even as COVID 19 continues to run rampant in the country. The thousands of workers serving the hospitality industry must be happy. The cold reality however is that the economy shrunk 18% in 2020 therefore any mention of the word GROWTH in 2021 must be translated in context.
There is a long, hard road to travel.
Is the change to the travel protocol a case of a money grab trumping the science?
Why hasn’t govt laid out a Budget in the House of Parliament
We the people have a right to know why
We the people have a Constitutional right under laws of good governance to have one
This govt keeping using their own interpretation of law to violate the Constitution
Athetley must use his right of given Power to bring a no confidence vote against govt even if he does not get the necessary votes
However the call for No Confidence against the PM would be placed into the archives of history
A message needs to be sent to this govt that the laws of this country are fundamental guidelines for good governance
What is the DLP ‘shadow’ minister of finance saying?
Is the ‘shadow’ person still Verla DePeiza?
Asking banks to reduce fees is to say go out of business.
For these, not the traditional loans and so on, make up near to 100 percent of banking revenues.
Banking is not what it used to be. Let’s talk about shadow banks, unbank banks, hedge funds, etc
The nonsense about economy gives us a 3 percent or 5 percent growth rate after an 18 percent decline in the previous year.
Quite easy to register these socalled quarterly growth rates from an 18 percent decline. No magic here
@Pacha
It is all a game the power brokers play is it not? The local banks have not forgiven this government for the haircut they were forced to take in 2018. They may have agreed to reduce fees but be assured it will be made up for elsewhere.
DavidOctober 27, 2021 7:39 AM
What is the DLP ‘shadow’ minister of finance saying?
Is the ‘shadow’ person still Verla DePeiza
Xxxxx
Oh boy u sure know how to throw some shade over an.issue that lends itself to good governance for the people
Don’t u think that these ongoing deliberate misteps against the Constitution are baby steps to a dictatorship
@ King David,
Excellent news. Barbados economy appears to be rebounding. Is this “growth” a unique result of an increase in tourism or are we witnessing a growth in other sectors of our economy. What says King David.
Other Traded Activity
Manufacturing output, which was affected by the heavy ashfall, rose by an estimated 4.7 percent over the January to September period with the main contributors to the expansion in production being food and beverages. Food processors benefited from higher domestic demand for their products, while the growth in beverages stemmed from higher production of rum, partly to satisfy higher export demand. Rum producers continue to face increased competition in the domestic market which has tempered the growth of the sub-sector.
Preliminary data indicates a modest increase in non-sugar agriculture production during the third quarter when compared to the same period last year. Higher output was registered for the milk, chicken and fish production. However, the lower demand in the first half of the year attributed to the fall-off in tourism activity, the ashfall, and the hurricane reduced output across most of the agricultural categories over the nine-month period, with the exception of milk production which benefited from the importation of a herd of cows last year.
Non-Traded Activity
Over the past six months, there has been a robust recovery in the non-traded sectors. With restrictions on business activity reduced, the majority of the expanded activity was realized in the business and other services, wholesale and retail and construction sub-sectors. The improved performance has been reflected in higher electricity usage which shrunk in 2020 because of the reduced commercial activity, particularly in the tourism sector. Residential usage which expanded with the increase in remote work continued to grow but at a slower pace during the
Yes, yes!
What however is of moment in international non-mainstream media today is an unrelated matter.
As the United States government in a London court pursues their decade-old persecution of Jullian Assange.
We are uncertain what local interest is in the press but the United States government and its CIA in collusion with the inJustice Department and others have broken all the laws, traditions of decency, known to god or man to extradite this truth-teller to their dungeons and certain death.
For Assamge is no less an historical figure than Alexander Solzhenitsyn, the Russian, USSR, dissident or indeed the British navigator Walter Raleigh, who too were held under such brutal conditions.
Assange’s only crime was to tell the peoples of the world the truth, for a change. But that the tapestry of lies in which we must live could not hold its “exceptionlism” without challenge means a persecution, an extra-ordinary rendition, an extradition and the solitary confinement of Assange must now be forced through a British kangaroo high court even as media whores, presstitutes, who benefited exceedingly well from these the same disclosures of Wikileaks, Collateral Murder a case in point.
“Give Jullian Assange Free”
PachamamaOctober 27, 2021 8:00 AM
Asking banks to reduce fees is to say go out of business
Xxxxx
Uh think so
There is always ways to collect also be mindful that govt collection of taxes on these fees may result in loss of govt revenue
Which at some point and time would have to made up for by poor Joe and Mary citizens
Here again is where the lack of transparency raises its head
But then again people eyes are so blinded that there sense of reasoning is lost in gimmicks
some will die and some will live.
to jab or not to jab.
Interpreting a Central bank report is way above my pay grade.
What I can say is that Barbadians should have a personal austerity budget and save as much money as they can .
Tings could get wussa.
AC
Yes.
However, our bigger point is that bricks and mortar banks are not what they once were. They hardly do much lending anymore and their revenue streams are limited to fees. This is a global 20 year old reality. We should stop the pretense that these are real banks and elevate the credit unions.
The usual quarterly CBB COMICS that are lapped up by the locals.
CHICKEN LITTLE ” THE SKY HAS FALLEN”
Scotiabank, CIBC and Royal Bank have been in Barbados for roughly 50 years.
They could be reminded of their years of prosperity in Barbados and the added value to Canadian tourists over the years before Covid 19.
These people run a business, it is not charity. When money cannot be made decisions will be made to fix it. This may mean retiring from the market as we have been seeing.
@ David,
Not going to argue with you.
Forgive Hants. For he holds an unenlightened view about banks. They could be better though about as legalized criminals, especially in this most recent incarnation.
Canadian banks have rate of return metrics which are slavishly adhered to avoid adverse unfavorable comment from rhe people on Bay Street.
“They could be reminded of their years of prosperity in Barbados and the added value to Canadian tourists over the years before Covid 19.”
They also remember a FINANCIAL HAIRCUT, the settlement of which has NOT BEEN PAID.
Atherley, Straughn clash over Budget now six months overdue:
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/27/atherley-straughn-clash-over-budget-now-six-months-overdue/
More tot kicking,,,
“He said if Government attempted to use the Series F structure as currently constituted the cash requirement between now and next September 30 would be significant and would impact on Government’s ability to carry out other programmes.
The finance minister said: “Because of the significant arrears in relation to land acquisition as well as outstanding legal claims, it has meant that with the current Series F bonds expiring September 30, 2022, we have now created this new series which is flexible.
“Basically where we are with respect to what we are doing here, we are simply putting a framework in place to ensure that the settlement of the principle of those arrears can be done over the 42-month period.”
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/27/bond-payout-for-compulsorily-acquired-land-straughn/
“I think we have a loan lined up with one of these agencies, approximately $80 [million] to $100 million is the figure that I seem to recall,” Gov Haynes
Imagine, the Guv “thinks” they have a loan lined up, but he en sure hummuch or exactly which agency is providing the loan, and he likely cannot remember the terms if he cannot recall the exact amount? And we wonder why………………..??
Wait anybody see the new Republic flag yet?
Barbados TODAY understands a bank employee was shot during the incident.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/27/police-probe-robbery-at-republic-bank-in-wildey/
@ Pachamama who wrote ” Forgive Hants. For he holds an unenlightened view about banks ”
You are probably right. I am unenlightened about most things.
They could be reminded of their years of prosperity in Barbados and the added value to Canadian tourists over the years before Covid 19.
+++++++
Business is business, sentimentality doesn’t add to the bottom line, one of those three has been trying to get out, the other two are holding their cards close to their chest any negative news could tilt the apple cart.
“one of those three has been trying to get out”…in fact all three. The CIBC deal with the Columbian bank, where CIBC lent said Columbian Bank nearly all the money, fell through, and they have since sold off CIBC entities in other islands on a piecemeal basis. Scotia sold a bunch of island locations to Republic, though Brown’s objections in A&B squashed that location. RBC exited the “wealth management” business some years back, and ‘believe’ they finally sold their Trust entity. They would gladly exit the remaining island markets, but with CIBC and Scotia actively seeking buyers, they cannot get “value”.
Atherley has made a stellar and reasonable contribution a prudent and necessary call on govt to deliver a Budget
Govt instance on hiding behind the COVID curtain falls short and is a stale red herring which if not lifted can cause Barbados plenty economic woes in the future
As with COVID govt has already and continues to gamble with the lives on the people
The economy should not become a part of govt one upmanship
Hants
We’d not agree or go that far. Just happen to know a few things about international banking.
AC
When are you, under D or B, come to recognize that any government can do whatever felt like whenever so pleased. And that there’s a term for that.
” Chief executive officer and managing director of Republic Bank Barbados Anthony Clerk has confirmed that two female members of staff were injured during a foiled robbery of the Wildey, St Michael branch this morning.
No money was taken.”
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/27/two-female-staff-members-injured-attempted-robbery-republic-bank/
once upon a time there was a place called Barbados
Now it has become a place call
BARBADOS
BUH-BAD-DOS
Mia Warns Commercial Banks
https://starcomnetwork.net/blog/2021/10/27/mottley-warns-commercial-banks
corruption bill being debated
in the above live video Caswell is on the floor of the House speaking
unfortunately access is being denied on this platform
WATCH ON YOUTUBE
Caswell.said 24 million dollars in” red herring” is nuf nuff containers of red herring
Wuh loss
Some one should ask PM how she expected to get rid of them red herrings without no one noticing
Afterall red herrings does stink
AC the problem with persons like Mr Franklyn, Rev Atherley, the political nightwatchman Ms Depeiza and you is that most bajans know how badly you all what this government to fail to allow the lost dems or the amateur PDP to get elected.In my view it will not happen as neirher of theze two parties have a clue as to what they would do.I already told you this is not amateur hour. These are serious times and calls for real leaders with serious plans going forward not amateurs.However there is the possibilty of an election in a few months so you all will get your wish.I do hope you are ready otherwise it will be more of the same
Lorenzo get yuh facts right don’t get them twisted
I have no problem
All the problems are being laid at the feet of govt
Since govt refused to be transparent can u please tell all how much money govt has borrower in three years
Also can u please tell what policies or plans govt have on hand to repay the debt
These are serious times and calls for real leaders with serious plans going forward not amateurs.However there is the possibilty of an election in a few months so you all will get your wish.I do hope you are ready otherwise it will be more of the same
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
I GUESS MIA MOTTLEY SERIOUS PLANS IS TO GIVE MORE UNDER THE TABLE DEALS TO MARK MALONEY AND CHRIS SINCLAIR 2 PEOPLE SHE PROMISED TO BRING BEFORE THE LAW COURTS IN 2018.
Lorenzo
@ a
BAJEOctober 27, 2021 7:11 PM
These are serious times and calls for real leaders with serious plans going forward not amateurs.However there is the possibilty of an election in a few months so you all will get your wish.I do hope you are ready otherwise it will be more of the same
xxxx
Yes indeed so serious that crooks are taking over the island banking industry by force and the AG is nowhere to be found except on Tuesdays and Wednesday
Talk of a waste of taxpayers money
Not presenting a Budget is unconstitutional? Pure excrement!!🤣🤣🤣
Enuff
Is not necessarily wrong.
We seem to recall Barrow and maybe Thompson giving the shortest budget speeches in recent history.
For Barrow it was at the end of the recession of the mid-1970s and the DLP was exhausted from 15 years in powah.
Maybe David could jog our memories about Thompson’s truncated presentation, if memories are well served.
In any event, financial statements and budgetary proposals are more a customary feature of the Westminster system than a mandatory requirement, a scientific process..
It merely gives a rough ideas where the country is but is not always precise. First the estimates are laid and discussed. Even after accepted and the budget passes government invariably, and almost immediately afterwards, returns for supplementals because government forecasting of revenues and expenditures are both notoriously imprecise. Then there are always afterthoughts and political considerations – some yardfowls may have to be fed.
All of these factors together suggest the budget as a mere dog and pony show.
Barrow gave what was described as a fireside chat.
Excuse does not cover the fact that it a necessity and a right for govt to present Budgets to the people
Because others were allowed not to do so does not say what others did was right
The laws of good governance does not make way for wrong
Only political yardfowls and foot soldiers would defend a govt breaking laws that are clear precise directives for good governance
Transparency must be a strong hold to keep govt on the straight and narrow
Presently we have a govt who is attempting to spend money without being transparent to the people and evidence shows that those money was heading towards into the hands of crooks and scalliwags
Asking govt to produce a Budget is a civic and a constituional right of every citizens
Atherly did not break any law by so doing but rather took govt to task in a correct and forceful manner
The laws of a country does not exempt govt
AC
Respect the differences between a custom and a legal requirement. For these are miles apart. A budget was never a legal requirement. If you think youre right then state the law.
The appropriations bill is the legal framework for determining government’s ‘budget’.
@Pacha
Here is the article William shared.
SEAN St. CLAIR FIELDS
Absolutely correct
Many speak of democratic rights but when soldiers are called on the battle field to.protect those rights many are missing
But make no mistake the political foot soldiers are the first to step up on the battlefield to defend and protect the wrongs
Not everything is written on legal paper as doctrine but there are sound moral rights which call for voices to be heard and speak truth to power
Aren’t the appropriation bills not merely the process by which government’s spending is introduced. If so these would be done many times a year and would be a far cry from a constitutional requirement for an annual budget as has been posited, a process not based on a legal requirement an annual budget.
@Pacha
How practical would that be? There is the process of introducing supplementals.
AC you were asked to quote the law stating a budget has to be delivered.Instead you talk shite about everything foes not have to be in writing.Why is it because you CANNOT STSTE ANY LAW REQUESTING SUCH.You are swiping like blind elder hoping sething sticks and if you are the best the dems have to represent them on here they should call for an immediate refund as you like the political nightwatchman and Rev Atherley are very poor in my view.Just have a lisyen to Atherlry trying to defend Mr Franklyn,s attention grabbing poor behaviour in the recent debate.I gone.
Some memorable occurrences in our Parliament:
Eric Sealy sitting in the Speaker’s chair and Tom Adams telling the police : “ Do not touch him.”
One MP pulling a gun on another MP;
One MP telling another about his mother’s scrunt or was it c….?
Arthur a former PM declaring it a poor rakey Parliament.
Now how do the above rate with Senator Franklyn , raising his voice , to criticise a measure he did not supoort?
Furthermore, Senator Franklyn asked the President’s permission to leave the chamber and it was granted.
Lorenzo
Obviously my comment made u fly off the fence
As a matter of fact I stated only political yardfowls would joined political forces to defend wrong
Your presence of attacks only prove I was right
Skinner
You already know very well that “these days are funny nights.”
No dissent is to be tolerated at the heart of the system. Especially not against the maximum leader.
Things that give pause.
@ Pacha
As you have often opined the center can no longer hold. Recent events in Trinidad are in concord with your position.
Appropriation of Expenditure is normally referred to as Budget
PM mottley has not in usual manner presented one
This is a law which is written into the Constitution which only the yardfowl fowls by politicks design would attempt to introduce red herring tactics to defend and use as a distraction
CHAPTER IX
FINANCE
107. There shall
(1) The Minister responsible for Finance shall, before the
end of each financial year, cause to be prepared annual estimates of
revenue and expenditure for public services during the succeeding
financial year, which shall be laid before the House of Assembly.
(2) The estimates of expenditure shall show separately the sums
required to meet statutory expenditure (as defined in section 109(7))
and the sums required to meet other expenditure proposed to be charged
to the Consolidated Fund.
(1) The Minister responsible for Finance shall, in respect of
each financial year, at the earliest convenient moment before the
commencement of that financial year, introduce in the House of
Assembly an Appropriation Bill containing, under appropriate heads
Skinner
Yes, yes!
What happened in T and T.
angela cox October 28, 2021 5:09 AM #: “Only political yardfowls and foot soldiers would defend a govt breaking laws that are clear precise directives for good governance.”
Hmmmm……..
I find you above comment extremely interesting. It’s either you experienced a ‘Damascus moment’……… or, as the ‘old saying goes,’ “confession is good for the soul.”
Perhaps you should review your contributions to BU, during the tenure of the former DLP administration……. and I’m sure you’ll be able to identify instances where you “defended a govt breaking laws that are clear precise directives for good governance.”
So, I hope you don’t become angry when under similar circumstances, people describe you as a “political yardfowl and foot soldier as well.”
@ Pacha
I have sent the article to BU to share . It was in response to the attempt by the opposition to remove the President of T
and T.
It originally appeared in the Trinidad Express.
AC
Would have preferred to see whether this is the constitution as argued by you or not.
However, you seem to be quite right in your assertions. For the abstraction definitely says “shall” many times. So it has to be a requirement.
Failure to so do appears to be a breach of law, unless there are provisos unseen.
Skinner
Thanks
You know the pendulum is swinging when @ac seems to be correct on anything factual.
@ Lorenzo October 28, 2021 8:25 AM
This is one occasion I have to agree with angela cox.
Using COVID-19 as as the reason for not presenting a ‘Budget’ is a VERY POOR EXCUSE.
A ‘Budget’ is simply as ESTIMATE of income and expenditure for a financial year. It isn’t uncommon for any political administration to request supplementary grants whenever the actual government expenditure incurred exceeds the allocations to Ministries, departments, quasi or statutory corporations that were approved by Parliament.
Additionally, Mottley, with a Director of Finance, two ministers and three (3) ministers in the Ministry of Finance, have been unable to present Barbadians with any definitive pre and post COVID-19 socio-economic policies.
Lorenzo, you may ‘like’ these guys, but the reality is, they’re doing an extremely poor job of managing the affairs of this island.
Skinner
Just read around the subject in the Express, about 6 articles, for the removal of the president of T and T.
And yuh right! The centre can’t hold. But it seems apocryphal for Barbados.
In Trinidad we have a republican constitution and a republican president.
In Barbados, we have a republican president and a monarchical constitution, in the breach
This smells like trouble awaiting us.
******** Additionally, Mottley, with a Director of Finance, two ministers and three (3) CONSULTANTS in the Ministry of Finance, have been unable to present Barbadians with any definitive pre and post COVID-19 socio-economic policies.
A dude was out on a boat in the Texas harbor recently and aimed his camera and the miles and miles of cargo ships as far as the eyes can see. Things are about to become real.
https://www.facebook.com/126206357995/posts/10159794813597996/?sfnsn=mo
can’t hide bad management for too much longer…
Artax i respect you as one of the only real neutral on here.I agree that the budget should have come by now but i also heard the reasoning of Mr Straughn about the uncertainty of covid estimates at this time.Therefore i give them the benefit of the doubt at this time.However i disagree with you over the job this government has been doing.I believe they are doing the best they can with this worldwide pandemic.These are difficult times as this virus evolves and there is no other party who has ever had to deal with such a difficult situation .In addition, there is no one in the other two main parties who has the capacity to do any better but certainly far worse in these times.Finally, as i have stated this is not amateur hour for any try a thing government.We saw where that got us with Mr Thompson, Mr Stuart etc who were duperior to anyone in the present day Dems or the PDP.I gone.
Lorenzo that is a red herring defense
All Atherley was asking was for govt to.present how the tax payers money was spent in the past year and going forward how much would be appropriated
All the long talk about COVID is political poop
Mia said many hands makes for light work
She has many hands at her disposable to table a Budget for the people
Atherley is absolute right in placing a Budget card on the table
While pushing the population to be subservient to every local and foreign minority crook and telling themselves they will get away with that too…….
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/28/government-must-accountable/
Who de he’ll does Ryan Straughan think he is
After that pass poor excuse makes hard to belive anything written in the long over due budget if and when Mottley delivers one for this year
Yuh mean to say govt doesn’t have any monetary plans or policies on action to tell which direction the economy would be heading
How can Mia as finance Minister be in charge of the public purse if she does not know in which direction or directions the taxpayers money would be sent
Our Supreme Leader is absolutely right to discard the insane advice of the xenophobic BAMP president. The BAMP president and the opposition are systematically undermining the vaccination campaign and scapegoating fully vaccinated tourists, when the native masses simply do not want to be vaccinated. In fact, it is not the vaccinated tourists who endanger the unvaccinated masses, but vice versa the latter endanger the former.
The masses can choose: vaccinate or recover or die. Our island is overpopulated anyway. Time to change that.
Here is a theory.
Barbados would function just as well without a central government.
One joker in St Lucy wanted a his own airport. I would like one or two of the parishes to declare independence. One island, two states.
Forgive me, but i don’t take this stuff seriously.
Appreciated. Thanks.
@Tron
The masses can choose: vaccinate or recover or die. Our island is overpopulated anyway. Time to change that
++++++++++++
As a fervent disciple of the Supreme Leader you have wandered off the path to the Republic, last year the SL said Barbados was short about 80,000 people
Government’s Budget was since March 2021! It is called Estimates and Expenditure. Additional expenditure was secured via supplementary votes in Parliament. This week the government laid its mid-year review and the Central Bank released its quarterly report. The absence of a “budget” speech at this time is neither unconstitutional nor negligent as is being purported. Maybe the lady’s handlers should encourage her to take the free online Civics course before exposing BU to her runnings. Then again it seems she’s always in need of loperamide.🤣🤣
@SargeantOctober 28, 2021 8:30 PM
Thank you for reminding me of my loyalty and honour to our Supreme Leader. A good citizen is only one who practices obedience to our Supreme Leader!
I interpret the request for 80,000 New Barbadians to mean that our Supreme Leader does not want a real population increase, but a population exchange of old for new.
Without any doubt, Mia Mottley has already achieved the status of a legend. She has defeated volcanic ash, Elsa, cockroaches, DLP, Donville Inniss and OSA, and is now driving all vaccination opponents to their graves.
No other prime minister since 1966 has slaughtered opponents as efficiently and brutally as she has.
She has proclaimed the republic, restructured the public finances and resurfaced the roads.
No other head of state comes close to matching her.
Skinner
Thanks much to both of you..
The mess in T and T is what Barbados can expect in the near future. It certainly is unhelpful when this current dictatorial regime showed its hand by going to republicanism without a wide, deep and extended national conversation.
Trinidad has been a republic for decades and still bedeviled by the Westminster system. This is why the intentions of this prime minister Mottley. to do likewise, so far, was always a monumental national misguidance.
We have long been contending that should this venture be approached the errors of the multitude of republican projects elsewhere should have been avoided. Instead we have a woman imbued with a need to put personal legacy above the interests of the nation.
When social scientists start talking about things like “the centre cannot hold” you know yuh got nuff rasssoul problems. These are not social discourses to be taken likely. For they are the military equivalent of the use of nuclear weapons in seriousness.
Notwithstanding all these forces around us, a feckless prime minister can blindly plunge us into a place of immeasurable uncertainty.
On the blue bank.
Why is it that we are always so anxious to follow prescriptions from the IMF, the World Bank and other international agencies to follow the same cookie-cutter social and economic policies.
Currently in Belize, the government is doing t h e same type policies. It is leading the people to believe that the national debt could be reduced, especially the albatross of a “Super Bond” as inflicted by this party last time around, in exchange for the proceeds from a Blue Bond secured by environmentally sensitive national assets.
A mere neocolonial transaction!
Are these the outer limits of our imagination, as a region?
@Pacha
From your reasoning we are digging a deeper hole, we should collapse the system?
There is a too high possibility that we are, could, especially with the way we’ve started. So yes, in a word.
@ Pacha
You’re on point. Note the fancy term “ Greene “ banks etc
When are we going to radicalize our cooperatives to move into filling the banking needs of our communities. There will be no land reform or true redistribution of real wealth via any concocted banking system. It’s just old wine in new barrels.
@William
The issue of credit unions owning a bank iOS with the credit union movement?
Pachamama
No! T’dad’s problem is not their form of Republicanism. It is the population mix between afro-trinis and indo-trinis (especially Hindu) and an allegiance to their respective “African party” and “Indian party”. No difference to Guyana where a different system of Republican government is practiced. The attempt to impeach the president was pure desperation on Kamla’s part, a woman that needs to go siddung.
Enuff
Expectedly, your argumentations are always geared to protect a certain barley field from burning. LOL.
But seriously, social scientists give weightings to a range of social forces. We suggest those referenced by you are integral but you have erred by supplying too few fire engines for blazes long at their peak.
We’re about to give up. For it is unknowable when we as a people will stop trusting White people and the new trinkets dey always concocting. There is always some trick to distract us, re-enslave us. We fall for it all the time.
Yes, as you know, we’ve been for decades suggesting the credit unionization of all major banking and financial services companies.
Can’t even get a man like David to show an interest in how the Chinese avoided these excuses for development and miraculously bypassed similar circumstances as the Russians during the 1990s, with homegrown economic ingenuity.
@ Pacha
David is into newspeak and cliches. Attempts or ideas of changing how we think about development has frustrated many a progressive thinker.
We brag about “home grown “ economic models controlled by the IMF.
That’s who we are ; borrowing money as economic policy . Now on our third or fourth trip to the IMF and the masquerade continues.
Every six months the massa comes around and sees how the plantation is being managed. Modern absentee ownership.
As & WURA says : The slaves believe they are running things. Yes Suh!!!!
And apparently as being posted everywhere….the uselessness continues.
Received from a source:
“LETTER TO MIA MOTTLEY
Dear Prime Minister Mottley,
After voting with a sense of hope, and must I add confidence, for the Barbados Labour Party in the May 24th, 2018 general election, I am left with a heavy heart, hurting pockets, and laden with regret.
Though I am still confident in your abilities and commend the considerable strides you have made since being elected to office, the discrepancies are beginning to outnumber the accomplishments – and overwhelmingly so. Therefore, I have taken the liberty to pen this letter and will continue to address my concerns in this format as warranted. It is my supplication that you heed the advice meted out.
Prime Minister, my most pressing concern is the bloated cabinet, clueless advisors, and countless consultants you have sought to appoint to your administration. Your justification that “many hands make light work” has unfolded to be a ploy devised by Hartley Henry to maintain peace within your camp. Unfortunately, the success of that effort must have fallen short of your expectation given the ongoing efforts by some parliamentarians to undermine your leadership.
Prime Minister, though to the surprise of many, I suggest that the $700,000.00 allocated to an unnamed company for a tourism slogan, which was later said to be Virgo Communications owned by your sister-in-law Stephanie von Oppen, should have been tagged to your administration. Indeed, the slogan with a slight amendment could better capture the performance of the 24 members whose collective monthly salary nears half a million dollars – “Little Results, Big Cabinet”.
Despite the many many disparities in government, you continue to reward the incompetence of individuals like Henrietta Elizabeth Thompson with an ambassadorial appointment with responsibility for Climate Change, Small Island Developing States, and Law of the Sea. The terms of reference for this appointment are confusing and lead to an unsettling, incongruous layout of responsibilities, given “law of the sea” is no different than “maritime affairs” a ministerial portfolio held by Hon. Kirk Humphrey. Therefore, I ask in more simple terms, what leverage does Ambassador Thompson have on you?
Prime Minister, with introspection I am certain you would recognize that Ambassador Thompson has been long perceived as a sweet-talking con artist, who adds no meaningful value to the Government’s foreign affairs portfolio. Barbadians were exasperated and profusely enraged by her political theatrics and pageantry in the press conferences while serving at the helm of a COVID-19 communications team. Therefore, it leaves one to question your ability to separate friendship from the proper management of our country’s affairs as you continue to celebrate Ambassador Thompson, a failed politician with consecutive disastrous showings, relegating your Government to a pappyshow with a clueless clown parading as if this is a circus.
What is further anguishing, Prime Minister I am saddened that you were bullied by political fawner Dwayne Grazette for a consultancy position. Dwayne Grazette has no academic qualification, did not complete secondary education but disguises himself as an event promoter and charity worker. This is the same Dwayne Grazette who continues to misappropriate the funds and abuse the generosity of the Sandy Lane Charitable Trust to prey on teenage boys in areas such as Orleans, Chapman Lane, and Richmond Gap offering them money, clothes, and sneakers in exchange for sexual favors. Prime Minister if you are to salvage the integrity of your administration you must sever ties with these manipulators and pretenders.
While I understand your effort to support buggers by way of avoiding a referendum, carefully disguising the immoral deed of same-sex marriage in a tactfully worded legislation for civil unions, those wealthy businessmen who rape the public purse should not be a part of your political brigade at a time where people are suffering and contracts should be tendered and received by suitably qualified and experienced enterprises. Sadly, there is no true hope coming to Landcaster, St. James for the displaced residents of White Hill who were promised the land but given they have no pedigree, Tony Hoyos, the boyfriend of Santia Bradshaw, was given the multimillion-dollar contract through the newly formed construction company.
Prime Minister, while I could be lengthy and condemn individuals like Dominican fugitive Charles Jong who serves as your Director of Communications, or Roger Gill who suddenly is the construction magnate of urban and rural development, I pause to express concern with the formation of this Public Affairs Department, headed by Patricia Parris.
It is alarming that your government would be emboldened to abuse the taxpayers’ money to employ a propaganda unit with a lurcher as Dalton Tyrone Lovell, Tyson Henry (the nephew of Hartley Henry) a known thimblerigger and a concubine like Crystal Austin. Sadly, no amount of window-dressing can hide the fact that yard fowls have come home to roost, and affiliation with individuals like drug lord Ross Ashton and entertainer Lil Rick has been to your detriment.
Prime Minister, you must incline your own heart to common sense and understand that these behaviors and practices are unbecoming of a woman who possesses political tact, and should you persist your popularity will continue to plummet to the bottomless chasm, bringing your colorful reign to an abrupt end.
Sincerely,
Uncle Felix
Felix Silbert Alfonso Scantlebury (fictional name) is a poor countryman with no university education but attended the school of hardknocks.”
So therefore how COULD I with all the ANCESTRAL POWERS vested in my to SEE …not do something about these slimy, dirty tiefing fcukers on OUR continent, not know BEFORE THEY EVEN LEFT….that the intent is to POISON our ancestral lands with their evil nastiness and greed and corruption… how could i not know to prepare for them A YEAR AGO.
i take my assignment very seriously..
“While I understand your effort to support buggers by way of avoiding a referendum, carefully disguising the immoral deed of same-sex marriage in a tactfully worded legislation for civil unions, those wealthy businessmen who rape the public purse should not be a part of your political brigade at a time where people are suffering and contracts should be tendered and received by suitably qualified and experienced enterprises. Sadly, there is no true hope coming to Landcaster, St. James for the displaced residents of White Hill who were promised the land but given they have no pedigree, Tony Hoyos, the boyfriend of Santia Bradshaw, was given the multimillion-dollar contract through the newly formed construction company.”
So therefore how COULD I with all the ANCESTRAL POWERS vested in ME to SEE ..
they will try again, criminals never stop, and i will be just as ready…
Pacha
Slash and burn worked very well for the indigenous.🤣🤣🤣
Why yall lowlife don’t pay these people their money though.
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/31/former-liat-workers-still-waiting-severance/
“Eighteen months after being severed, 94 former LIAT workers are still awaiting their severance.
And in an effort to get some form of relief, the pilots, flight attendants, engineers and other former employees are calling once more on the Barbados Government to make a case on their behalf.”
The art of banking consists of very fine margins. In this respect, it cannot be left to the Central Bank to micromanage, only to set broad guidelines. Be warned
Xxxxxx
In other words Buyers be ware of the new policy set by the Governor of the Central Bank which has given directives to the Bank to reduce fees
Xxxxx
When things are done on a slate built on a political agenda
All must sit back and await the blow back resonating from the naked truth
Wild Coot Editorial contains much food for thought both for the customer and as well as govt
Do you understand what Russell is saying in his article?
It would be of an interest built on Transparency if the details as to how govt was able to convince the bank to reduce the fees to a guaranteed rate
Reason being to avoid surprises of the kind which will affect the customer bottom line negatively
DavidNovember 1, 2021 8:12 AM
Do you understand what Russell is saying in his article?
Xxxxxx
No I am illiterate of all.things reason why I can invest my money and get a decent return
Reason why I can pay off my debts including my home
Reason why I spend only what I can afford
Reason why I can sit comfortable and be financial secured
Next
“ I am illiterate …”
You said it, not the blogmaster.
DavidNovember 1, 2021 1:13 PM
âI am illiterate â¦â
You said it, not the blogmaster
No I am illiterate of all.things reason why I can invest my money and get a decent return
Reason why I can pay off my debts including my home
Reason why I spend only what I can afford
Reason why I can sit comfortable and be financial secured
Next
Can u your financial portfolio match this illiterate s
If so spread it across the BU economic table
Then al can get a fair assement of what it takes to be an illiterate
BTW on my way to invest Ina vacation home
Steuspe
BTW on my way to invest Ina vacation home…where? In Florida?
FrankNovember 1, 2021 2:02 PM
BTW on my way to invest Ina vacation home…where? In Florida?
Xxxxx
None of yuh god dam business
DavidNovember 1, 2021 2:36 PM
Steuspe
Xxxc some of wuna get up in here and talk big and ain’t got toilet paper to wipe wunna backside