The electorate of Barbados decided to give the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) an overwhelming and unprecedented mandate on the 24 May 2018. The result was a repudiation of a hapless Democratic Labour Party (DLP) administration led by Freundel Stuart, as it was a belief by Barbadians in red bag-promises from Mia Mottley. We know the proclivity of human beings to want to believe in something, anything if it means being blinded to facts. Barbadians have shown themselves to be no different.

As we prepare – how time flies even when not having fun – to enter the early phase of another election cycle, the question being discussed quietly in some circles – is it possible the Mottley government could become a one term government? It harrows the mind of the blogmaster that after a 30-0 drubbing of the DLP three years ago some are open to the possibility of the incumbent suffering the ignominy of an Alan Chastanet in St. Lucia. 

The pandemic is proving to be an x-factor driving unpredictable human behaviour, beleaguered electorates suffering from economic fatigue has seen governments of SIDs struggle to govern. An absurdity tossed up sometimes by political talking heads is that some elections are good to lose. Is it possible this is the case for Verla Depeiza and her unready team? A scan of the DLP’s ‘newly minted’ website suggest the party is a work in progress.

Barbadians accept that the DLP represents the only option as the credible opposition party going into the next general election (The blogmaster was unable to find a website of the official opposition party led by Joe Atherley). We are therefore vested in a competent DLP being equipped to share alternative, progressive programs and to present a competent team to implement same to move the country forward. Based on what we have seen can we say – are we there yet?

The honeymoon period has disappeared for the Mottley government and much of its post-2018 political capital. Although the blogmaster is not convinced at this point Mia Mottley will suffer the fate of Alan Chastanet at the next poll, there is a level of apprehension in some quarters driven by the hostile environment governments of SIDs are presently negotiating. Making it more difficult for the experienced Mottley are rookie mistakes made so far, helping to reaffirm a perception that six of one, half dozen the other. 

It is unfortunate given the level of political apathy shown by the electorate, it has not given rise to a vibrant, credible and alternative political movement. One must conclude there are serious underlying issues preventing Barbadians of integrity and the other prerequisite characteristics to offer themselves for public service. The result has been successive governments who lacked the ability to sustain Barbados’ position on the socioeconomic ladder.

Now that Vela Depeiza has shown her mettle to win against internal combatants George Pilgrim from old guard and upstart outsider Guy Hewitt, is Verla battle harden enough to take on Mia Mottley?

472 responses to “One Term Government?”

1. Artax,

Woman so sick she has started to bash a boy who was peddling his wares from age 13, by age 16 upped the game to online and is earning foreign exchange. Did his own promotion.

At age 18 he has decided to outsource his promotion function and focus on production.

It is paying off.

But the fool thinks he is retarded.

Go figure!

2. I gone again!

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

Powah is a funny thing. Persons we may otherwise have seen as rational and students of sound governance suddenly do the oddest of things.
    Isn’t this the ongoing crux of the NIS? And it happens frequently in the private sector too. Despite all the protestations, did ICBL get contracts which were facilitated? What else did they get?
    The fourth estate has never seen fit to publicly question the Board of CBL?
    I know of situations where a subsidiary may begin sinking, and the Board changes like rats off a sinking ship. The big ups from the parent don’t want association with a failure. But that doesn’t stop the same persons who bailed from forcing their decisions upon the Board, sometimes even at the complete exclusion of the Board. Powah is a funny thing.

4. You beat me to it.. was about to say you should have finished the earlier post with ‘I gone”

What would be even more amusing to me would be if Lorenzo gets on my case for “what if .. “

5. @NO

Same with CLICO Board. Leslie Haynes, Woobine Davis, Tony Marshall et al…all ‘respectable and prominent’ citizens.

6. A significant fault line in our government structure. We focus on the symptoms to our demise.

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    In Loblaws marketing terminology, I call that “Memories of Brison”. Didn’t he resign after multiple years of service to “spend more time with his family”, only within months to accept a VP job with a bank? It is one of those universally accepted reasons, which minimizes criticism, and by the time the truth is known, the issue has passed its best before date.
    BTW notice how often senior ex-pols are hired by Banks? The other favourited position is the Board of large contractors.

8. William Skinner Avatar

@ David, @ NO
    Everybody knows no Minister is obligated to take the advice of a Central Bank Governor.
    As Dr.Courtney Blackman said: the GOB is a “creature”of the Minister of Finance.
    Anyway you guys look at it, no GOB has the power you assumed the good doctor
    had.
    Sinkler’s policies failed. Not Worrell’s. Never in the independence era has there been a GOB who was so accessible to all and sundry.
    A man of the people. Ask anybody who knows him.

9. Skinner you is a real good spin bowler but not good enough.Most in Barbados believe including me, that Mr Sinckler followed the advice given to him by Dr Worrell.As far as i know Mr Sinckler is not an economist , neither was Mr Stuart therefore both would have been following advice.Whose advice would that have been? You keep spinning.As to Col Bostic not resigning tell did the ec speaker resign when the court ordered him to repay the old man, s money? Did the then PM fire him or did he advise him to allegedly get a lawyer.It does not get worse than that.As for your nonsense about there being as much confusion as under Mr Stuart absoloute rubbish.I know you do not live about here but check with the average bajan who lives here and you would know you talking shite.I gone.

10. William Skinner Avatar

@ Lorenzo
    You’re absolutely correct, Carrington should have been removed as speaker.
    Your problem is that you believe Carrington (DLP) should have been removed but Bostic (BLP) should not resign. With me it’s about good governance , accountability and transparency. With you it’s only about party.
    When you mature enough , you will understand that you cannot be right and wrong at the same time. But I don’t expect you to arrive there this or the next century.
    I guess as you live there, so you would have known , that a man, Mark Maloney, who your party cussed up and down Barbados and then jumped into bed with him, was in a deal with your party , to bring in counterfeit drugs to kill the citizens.
    So whether it is a tax free Mercedes or counterfeit vaccines, you still don’t have and can’t talk about being different.
    Same shit different day.
    Rest the argument about GOCBs and Ministers of Finance- you simply don’t know what you’re talking about!
    BTW, if you were raised properly, you would know that two wrongs never make a right. That’s why all yuh Dees and Bees catching your arse right now. The wrongs catching up and the pot calling the kettle black. Shameless , political perverts abusing the damn country.
    But the ball over and Mary’s wooden legs right there by the fireside. One little spark and they gine bun up.
    Peace

11. Skinner when you down with your childish dropping of remarks you still have not proven that Mr Sinckler was not following Dr Worrell, s advice Therefore all your shite talk about maturity and being brought up right is just that shite talk.I have followed politics from Mr Tom Adams time along with a little of Mr Barrow.Therefore i was in town long inclufing knowing of your failed run with the No Damn Party..I know exactly of what ispeak so you can carry your spin bowling around others bevause as far as i am concern you are a closet dem hiding out.Just mentioned anything negative about Mr Thompson or Sir Lloyd Sandiford and one of the first out of the blocks defending them is you on here.As far as Mr Malony is concerned i am no fan of his never will be but i am not Ms Mottley or the government.Thing is though where is your evidence to support he was bringing in conterfeit drugs? I hope you are not trusting the in my view madwoman, s Waru,s word.? I gone.

12. Little Slave…..AstraZeneca said so since last week, if you were able to read and understand ya would have seen it posted to this very blog.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/02/pharmaceutical-company-says-private-vaccines-deals-are-counterfeit-and-should-be-reported/

13. Get somebody to read and explain it for you, hope when handcuffs are being shared out you get a pair..

“Pharmaceutical company says private vaccines deals are ‘counterfeit’ and should be reported – by Emmanuel Joseph October 2, 2021

AstraZeneca, the giant pharmaceutical and biotechnology company says there is no bilateral agreement signed between the Government of Barbados and that firm with regards to the procurement of vaccines.”

14. Lorenzo in her league of likes
    Liking to rehash stale soup
    Meanwhile under present govt and leadership MAM the headlines scream Govt involved in Vaccine scam
    No transparency
    Mia took it upon herself to include the good name of Barbados with scam artist
    Yet to hear Lorenzo speak on that disgraceful act but rather pelt rocks at past govt
    BTW another scandal revolve on how patients are treated at Harrison isolation centre
    Awaiting your political response

15. “Radical inexplicably released payment for the vaccines without any or any proper verification that the promised vaccines had in fact been secured from AstraZeneca, were authentic and were being shipped. These were the Government-stipulated pre-conditions to payment , which Radical seemingly ignored. These preconditions were also stipulated in the contract between Radical and Good Vibrations, which provided that the US$10.2 million would be released to AstraZeneca’s account upon receipt of an invoice from AstraZeneca.”

In reading Garth Patterson’s latest piece, the above jumped out at me and I decided to go read the cache of documents the blogmaster uploaded. From reading, it is clear the government is no fool. All this talk about fake vaccines ending up here is not rooted in commonsense given what is written in the sales agreement. Doubt me? Read paras 1 and 6 of Exhibit 17 and then Annex 1 – Goods and quantity and Annex 4 – Examination Procedure.🤫

16. The government agent said he was AUTHORIZED by the Barbados government to procure vacciines…,,,,,his words in the claim….

but the government had NO 3rd party arrangement with Astrazeneca for the FAKE RADICAL to do so, try changing that…..this gotta be something worse than short memory syndrome…it’s a good thing the Fowl Slaves are too DUMB to change reality…

17. “BTW another scandal revolve on how patients are treated at Harrison isolation centre.”

it’s been many weeks now people have been crying out about the mistreatment that some are saying have lead to unnecessary deaths…..even some tourists had to go public and contact people where they originated, they swore they thought they would die…..and fought to get out of that facility..that was at least 2 months ago, that’s how long people have complained..

let them stay in their airfairy, fantasy world while people die…

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WS
    Nobody claimed the GoCB had power over the MoF? On international promotional junkets they acted as a tag team. Regardless of the true author(s), the MoF OWNS all policies they implement.
    Likely because CS wasn’t given much credit, or the GoCB too much credit, for their respective brainpower, several “believed” DrW had a major hand in some of CS policies. Yet, that is little more than “doing his job”. Once a tipping point was reached, DrW pulled the plug, and left the political pundits to argue their cases.

19. TAKING CARE OF YOUR CONSTITUENTS

“Initially we had expected the National Conservation Commission to do that work, but a private sector individual with a tremendous interest in Bathsheba, who is looking forward to doing great things for Barbados on the whole, has agreed to fund the entire cost of transforming that property, known as Beachmont, into a park.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/09/bathsheba-civic-centre-next-month/

20. However What the blp foot soldiers refused to understand that all the agreements or planned way of delivery were done absent of good governance which allows transparency to enter all plans and agreement
    Also a high level of accountability is missing
    Govt pursue an undemocratic path to buy vaccines on the black market
    Govt trying to smooth around the edges of this despicable scam does not release Govt first options to be transparent and accountable taking all plans ahead and laying them in the house of Parliament for vibrant debate
    Talk all wanna foot soldiers there is no escape clause written into the laws of democracy that exempt Govt from being transparent and accountable to the people as such actions are directed by the Constitution
    Govt on this issue is wrong and would best let the process of blame and accountability rest at Mia feet
    The rest being handle in the court of law in fla

21. “which provided that the US$10.2 million would be released to AstraZeneca’s account upon receipt of an invoice from AstraZeneca.”

crooks trying to enter AstraZeneca THROUGH THE BACK DOOR…..🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

although Good Vibrations told them it was impossible per the newspaper article…

22. This Mash up and Brekup govt must go
    The self interest policies is what have bajans suffering
    The only thing which this govt has offered bajans are jabs with immediate force
    Meanwhile bajans households are on the brink of hopelessness
    Today many homes have become isolation centres because govt cannot find enough resources to fight the virus in timely fashion
    The outcome of this govt plan does not look promising
    Govt took a high risk of letting the virus land on the island
    Now govt has lost a fight to the virus which govt had promised to wrestle to the ground
    How much more can Barbadians withstand of govt callous mistakes and then be called upon to withstand the pressure

23. William…don’t care how they try to manipulate and wash down, the narrative is unchangeable, and we done know the Slaves can’t think too far ahead, or they would know that all the vaccine manufacturers will now be on guard and on the look out for Barbados’ backdoor vaccine bandits..lol

24. William Skinner Avatar

@ Lorenzo
    Please bring evidence that “ I am one of the first defending Thompson or Sandiford.
    Bring one piece of evidence. You are a complete fabricator. Bring the proof. I don’t “ jump out of the gates defending anybody.
    Bring the evidence !!!!

25. William Skinner Avatar

@ Enuff
    Having read Patterson; go now and re-read the parliamentary statement by Carrington. You are now contradicting the same statement, you were heralding on BU . In that statement Carrington said there was no agreement, You now come trying your best to defend an agreement that your party wants the people to believe was never entered.
    Who lying? But then again, you really have no credibility on any issue. You are nothing more than a want to o be sophisticated Party hack. And you are piss poor at it.

26. These clowns parading as defenders of govt illegal activities need to keep mouths shut
    The more they open their mouths the more fuel the spill on the scam inferno
    There is no doubt that enough evidence place into the public domain spoken by govt officials one being Santia Bradshaw indicates corruptive motives by the PM
    How in hell can PM distance herself from being involved when Santia told the nation that the vaccines payment was due on arrival
    Where were these vaccines coming from
    Who gave permission for these vaccines to arrive in Barbados
    Are all now to believe that these vaccines were to drop from the sky
    Foot soldiers wunna looking like idiots trying to defend this govt callous behaviour

27. The mentally challenged will soon be back, thinking like them, that we forgot…lol

28. Foul Enuff is really TOO dishonest, that stench will NEVER WASH AWAY…..he should hide his face in shame…

29. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    Anybody who reads Garth Patterson’s article will note that he is extremely critical of the sordid vaccines affair. However, @Enuff is so intellectually dishonest that he conveniently cherry picked , a part of the article, believing nobody else read it.
    He is not only intellectually dishonest , he is the worst defender of this administration on BU and he has no damn credibility. The man is absolutely shameless

30. “Radical inexplicably released payment for the vaccines without any or any proper verification that the promised vaccines had in fact been secured from AstraZeneca, were authentic and were being shipped. These were the Government-stipulated pre-conditions to payment , which Radical seemingly ignored. These preconditions were also stipulated in the contract between Radical and Good Vibrations, which provided that the US$10.2 million would be released to AstraZeneca’s account upon receipt of an invoice from AstraZeneca.”

lookie here…another pretence at throwing maloney under the bus…where ALL OF THEM REMAIN CRUSHED by the same counterfeit vaccine wheels…

Fraudulent and Foul…

31. “He is not only intellectually dishonest , he is the worst defender of this administration on BU and he has no damn credibility. The man is absolutely shameless”.

I agree that he/she is possibly one of the worst defender of the current administration. Yet, as I believe that he/she is a very intelligent individual I can only conclude that laziness is the reason for such mediocre responses. Laziness and the belief that we are idiots.

32. Contrary to what the traitors in parliament believe, the only dummies in Barbados are their toxic, dangerous and dumb supporters….no one else
    ..and even hardcore BLP supporters are turning their backs in horror and shame…everyone is on to them..

“Rawl, a regular caller or the brass tacks programme wanted to know what the cabinet of Barbados intended to do about the vaccine scam. Peter Wickham tried to down play the issue by stating that the Prime Minister hadn’t given any money to Mr Maloney. What Mr Wickham fail to understand is the fact that the Prime Minister attempted to defraud the treasury of $6,300,000.00. The tax payers of this country needs to know if this fraudulent behaviour is condone by the cabinet. The fact that the Minister of Health denied knowledge doesn’t rescues him from or the cabinet from the scam. If the scheme was successful who would have benefited from the $6.3 million? We were up in arms about the $34,000.00 Donville Inniss received. We shout crucify him, crucify him loudly. That money didn’t come out of the public purse. Why are we silent about the Prime Minister trying to rob us of 6.3 million dollars? In case you all don’t know this is stealing which is a criminal act. This is the same Prime Minister who claimed that she couldn’t reduce the gas tax. Now you all understand why. If she reduces the tax there will be less money for her to steal. In case you all are wondering how I arrived at the 6.3 million dollars let me spell it out. The vaccine cost $3.00. Barbados was purchasing 300,000 which cost $900,000.00. But the Prime Minister was going to bill the Treasury for $7,200,000.00. In other words she was selling the vaccine to the Barbadian tax payers for $24.00. Peter Wickham thinks that this is a joke, the same man that ridiculed the last regime for corruption! This is the time for this government to show the populace that it was serious about transparency and accountability.”

33. Please try to use the following whenever talking about money….
    US $ or BDS $

34. Theo…yeah, it can confuse some people….government direct arrangements with AstraZeneca are @US$3 per DOSE…..=$BDS 6 ..if htey had bothered to deal directly with the pharmaceutical company…

radical maloney’s procurement price which the PM ADMITTED she agreed to pay through the treasury =@US$24 per DOSE =BDS$48 per DOSE…..had fate not intervened…

MASSIVE RIP OFF and RAIDING OF THE TREASURY…..filled with IMF LOANS…

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WW&C
    The same Rawl may also wish to compare the BDD$7,200,000 for vaccines to the BDD$124,000,000 for Clearwater Bay Limited.
    We know the GoB was prepared to pay a premium for VACCINES. We know what was being bought.
    Pray tell what was an amount TWENTY TIMES more ACTUALLY spent on. Not only were they prepared to spend that amount on “loan guarantees”, it appears almost EVERY LOAN went bad.
    Barbadians are strange people. Here they are filling pages with a potential deal, meanwhile an ACTUAL deal of 20x the size is “nah big ting”.
    Why, until I discover the GoB actually paid money in vaccinegate it is a non starter. We don’t even know exactly how our GoB spent 20x more and the focus is on an aborted deal.!!!! And one wonders with this level of financial ignorance how the island is broke.

36. @NO

Many will not equate the gravity of the Clearwater transaction because many are financially illiterate and prefer to chase low hanging.

37. “The same Rawl may also wish to compare the BDD$7,200,000 for vaccines to the BDD$124,000,000 for Clearwater Bay Limited.”

Northern..you know as well as i do that they WILL ALL PRETEND THAT NEVER HAPPENED….remember their wicked little supporters jumped out on BU and cussed us for the last 9 YEARS for beating that to death in the public domain… and said we were all lying…while every one of them siphoned off their legal and other fees from that treachery…well instigated by David Thompson…and escaped reponsibility and accountability……they literally got away with billion dollar thefts, so a mere 124 million dollar rip off of the NIS pension fund, will seem like nothing….pocket change for them and a preamble to BIGGER THEFTS….with their million dollar and billion dollar tastes..

the problem that is now causing poverty for the average cititzen, is when we were telling them, it will lead to disaster, they refused to listen, believed the LYING DBLP ministers/politicians and are now trapped…we can only feel sympathy for the innocent ones who are the victimsof and caught up in the parliamentary crimes with the private sector partners……there is not much else we can do now ..

the good news, it’s finally out in the open….and no one can call us liars when everyone is seeing it for themselves…..they went too international too fast in their desperation to tief and did not think it through…it’s a stain on all of them..if Karma was not awake they would have gotten clean away with that ripoff….that is SOP for them, first time in the last half century that scam has NOT WORKED in their favor…and died a still birth….lol

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

Betcha if they were told the same MM2 had a cement company which had received $7M in the CBL payout, they would be all over it.

39. The piss poor Brass tacks host in answer to the caller response was to ask the caller if any of the callers money was involved in the scam
    At that point I said to self now yuh know who are the head scum bags helping govt to make decisions
    How in the hell could this blp supporter hosting a talk program not see the many wrongs in this scam
    The host response to the caller is indicative of the path of such immoral behaviors which he would support in the name of loyalty for the blp.party

40. @NO

Definitely!

41. “received $7M in the CBL payout, they would be all over it.”

of course…in some minds $7 million woud seem like much more than $124 million in thefts, particularly depending under what circumstances the money was scammed….and which ministers were involved in the enabling…..if they like the ministers involved, no matter the crimes…they immediately turn a blind eye like Foul Enuff is attempting…but if they are disliked…a whole lot of wailing and gnashing of teeth ensues….definitely a psychotic illness…

42. I remember posting that he had picked up his family and left sometime last year, never bothered to confirm it, but apparently it’s been a while that the play acting has been in progress..

43. In one case the horse has bolted and is ten miles down the road.
    In the next case, this horse appears to be still in the starting gate.
    Which horse are you gonna chase, the one with the ten mile lead or the one still at the gate.

In the B vs D battle, if the administration(for some reason) cannot go after the D for past misdeeds, then we (citizens) should focus on misdeeds that are current. We lack hindsight and foresight. We can only see what is now on the table.

44. In both cases it points to a system problem related to governance.

Both cases are not time bounded if the standard of accountability and demanding full public disclosure is applied.

If a flower withers and die you fix the environment in which it is expected to thrive; soil etc.

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WW&C
    My only excuse is I never saw it. He may even have ‘up and left’; I never was in his circles. For umpteen years in Bim, every time the gov changes, certain folk who likely feared attack from the incoming admin would “disappear”.
    Even the lady from ICBL must have had some “assurances”, cause she stuck around til hubby sold his stake in Carilend and then high tailed it back to Canada.

46. It is natural to be more interested in ongoing events than to place our emphasis on what happened in the past. Events between 2010 and May 24 2018 should have been fully discussed during that period. Post 2018 is a period for investigations and possible arrests.

The onus at this time should not be on keyboard warriors to pursue a discussion of past events. We will raise our cry, now, for current events and will not wait until after 2023 or 2028 to sound the alarm for them.

There is a time for investigations and arrests and there is a time for sounding the alarm.

47. “For umpteen years in Bim, every time the gov changes, certain folk who likely feared attack from the incoming admin would “disappear”.

“Even the lady from ICBL must have had some “assurances”, cause she stuck around til hubby sold his stake in Carilend and then high tailed it back to Canada.”

heard about that one, that’s what the AGs hemming and hawing was about, passing blame to the COP…giving ICBL owners time to sell cut and run…..stretching out the deceit and lies…while all involved put their affairs in order…they were fooling no one..

the other one who recently lost the extradition case will be really outta luck, if he loses the appeal and she turns state’s witness and waltz on back over to Canada…at least Donville will have company…lol

the rats are going to jump ship left and right, they can smell multiple international investigations from afar………when ya have clothes outside, ya always have to be watching for rain…

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TheO
    So you know, the correct abbr is BDD$, not BDS$.
    Some things don’t make sense. I saw .Ky as in Dot Ky. I thought must be a URL extension for Kentucky? It is the Cayman Islands.