The country continues to be embroiled and pitched forked from one issue to the next; transitioning to a republic, pandemic, tanking economy, DLP resurrection, National Insurance Fund (blogmaster’s pick)…

The latest issue choking public conversation-feeds is veteran journalist David Ellis answering the call up to national duty to serve in the role as Covid 19 Public Advisor. The blogmaster has no problem with decisions made by individuals as it affects career and livelihood. Although it is regrettable the single journalist who stands tall in the local arena was first put out to pasture because of company policy, followed by his right to make a decision to leave the profession- he hosted popular talk show 2-days weekly- to serve in his new role. Let us hope for the sake of Barbados he is successful in helping the country navigate the Covid 19 challenge.

Ellis known to ask searching questions of public officials will be missed as it pertains to government’s recent decision to import 150 prefab houses from China. Peter Wickham hosted Minister Duguid last week to discuss the matter and more questions were created than answered from the exercise. When Mr. Ellis called the show to ask more relevant questions, it seems preference was given to reading messages from WhatsAppers.

It has been reported a local company East West Buildings Solutions Barbados promised to complete the setup of the prefab houses within 42 days. This government promised to be transparent therefore Minister William Duguid should be able to answer a few reasonable questions.

1. Who are the directors (beneficial owners) of East West Building Solutions Barbados?
  2. Usually Mark Maloney and Bjorn Bjerkhamn are on the same page, this time both have been reported to be singing from different hymn sheets. What is different this time around?
  3. Why was Maloney not asked by traditional media if he has been(will be) contracted to supply services and materials as part of the physical preparation for setup of the Chinese prefab houses?

The taxpayers deserve to know.

The BU community is free to add questions or share information to enlighten an unknowing public.

251 responses to “Minister Duguid, Who Are the Owners of EWBSB?”

1. Ellis known to ask searching questions of public officials

Who the Cap Fit

What issues?

There is nothing to see here

Outspoken hacks criticising Government are recruited by them to buy their silence

As Bob sang your worst enemies could be your best friends and your best friends could be your worst enemies

As Obama 1nce said keep you friends close but keep your enemies closer

2. @ David,

The names of who owns EWBSB could be a matter of National Security.

3. ” The amount of twenty-nine million, eighty thousand, two hundred dollars ($29,080,200)
    is required to cover the cost of a joint venture housing solutions partnership agreement
    between the National Housing Corporation and East West Building Solutions. ”

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/bill_resolution/b2447d194d11a5f72d171a5d0105b363.pdf

4. @Hants

It is the same MO employed by former governments. The blogmaster ran the name unsuccessfully in CAIPO database.

5. There is often too much secrecy which leads to claim of corruption even when there is none..

It also leads to silly speculation
    EWB=
    SB=
    One only needs an active imagination to fill in the blanks.

6. @ TheOGazerts who wrote ” There is often too much secrecy which leads to claim of corruption even when there is none ”

Why the secrecy if there is no funk re ?

7. Pattern….female owned and LGBTQ friendly…lol
    MM2 is playing…BB is not.
    Likely a new incorporation. A division of a firm elsewhere.

8. @David

Wait dey hold on i got a few questions to ask F you please wait dey! I going keep them short and to the point too without the long talk and room to dodge.

MR Duguid sir who are the principle owners of the company?

Is it a registered company locally with corporate affairs that a jipsy journalist could go and check? Wait scratch that Ellis gone.

Is the name simply a registered trading name and Is that trading name locally owned?

Is there a conflict of interest in ownership of this entity and do the principle owners already supply services and product to the Buhbados government?

We’re tenders submitted locally to construction companies so that they may bid for this business?

Oh yes I nearly forget dis one. You say the house going up in days but let me ask a question, you like you forget the 60 days the house going take to get here from China. So what you mean is 60 days to get here THEN a ” few days” to erect? Don’t worry small oversight.

I only ask cause I remember in the old days before all the fancy equipment men would pick down a Chatle house pun a Saturday morning and by Sunday it move and erect somewhere else! Plus not far from me in the bush I watch some fellows put on all the cement board sidings on a house and dash on the permaclad too in 7 days. I not sure if them was smoking any “vegetable matter” that give them energy though, so I will not go No further.

Dat is all fuh now when I get those answers I may have a few more though. But I know wunna will answer them cause wunna is about transparent and accountability so we good! Right?

9. Wait David the email thing break down, Lord just so nobody don’t want to touch this. Well well what a thing.

I had 2 rum drinkers here in the little brek down shop just now arguing who own it and you wouldn’t believe what them 2 clowns come up with! One say it is a “construction magnate” and that the comment he past about bajans don’t work and way too expensive was aimed at a fellow dat does be busy making steel buildings here ! I had to ask if them implying that this fellow threatening we local company here by saying he going bring the steel buildings precut out of China and assemble dem here now with a few Chinese workers and if this temporary housing thing with China is just a front for something bigger? Had was to order them out the shop for talking turd! See me I done offering free ice with the white rum cause it encouraging the wrong element in my shop pun a day! Them drink a few snaps and just so them got all kind of conspiracy theories. Next dem going say how them see Martians when dem was stumbling home!

I really would like somebody come out and clear the air though cause them 2 old drunks got me here wondering now.

10. Area code 760 is a California telephone area code

It encompasses much of the southeastern and southernmost portions of California.

11. @John A

We already know that the beneficial owners of EWBSB are insiders.

No ifs, buts or maybes.

12. NO CONTRACT / PROJECT should be given to any company by Government without disclosing who the owners / directors are.

The DLP were said to have engaged in corrupt practices.

The BLP must not tarnish their own squeaky clean reputation but obfuscation.

13. Grenville where you?

14. I didn’t buy the timeframe that Duguid gave for the building of houses locally. I am certain I have seen houses put up in a much shorter time than that.

I am not at all surprised to hear that David already has the rundown and it is not pretty.

15. In the bad old days ’round the time of Hurricane Janet, that is about September 1955, Barbados quickly developed something called a storm carpenter. Give a smart, strong, young fellow a hammer, saw, plane and tape measure, thrown him on a construction site with some experienced workmen and before you know it you had a storm carpenter. Put up some houses some of which may still be standing today. No Chinese required.

Bajan men knew how to do the thing.

I have a dresser here made in 1940, got all kinds of mis-treatment since it existed in a house with 11 children plus visiting grands. Still in perfect shape. Other furniture bought here decades later and in the great white north cannot match it.

In 81 years NONE of the drawer pulls have ever loosened. Nothing on it has ever needed to be repaired. NOTHING.

I believe that Bajan men, if given the opportunity still know how to do the thing.

But maybe Chinese labour is cheaper.

But when our own people become de-skilled, what then?

16. @Donna September 15, 2021 4:31 PM “I didn’t buy the timeframe that Duguid gave for the building of houses locally.”

Donna, Bajan workmen used to take down a chattle house and erect it on a new spot on Saturdays. Our Minister of course is unlikely to have any first hand knowledge of this, but we old fogies knew that the work would start at dawn and had to be be completed by dusk, because there was no electricity in those days. The man’s female relatives wold cook a hot lunch if they could afford it or if not they would make some saltfish deal, some mauby or lemonade and a rum or two to keep the men going, and the family could sleep in the house on the new spot that same night. Some of our old men may still be left who can teach the Chinese a thing or two.

17. WHO ARE THE OWNERS OF EWBSB?

18. It seems that with no Brasstacks , BU, and other social media there will be no information or questions answered or asked about anything going on in any area. Like Cahill …………….
    Duopoly in full force

19. deal=what the Trinidadians call buljol

20. Cuddear..that’s why i called BS…real bullshit on they need China to build frames because we used to watch as small children men put up frames AND ROOFS before it got dark…in at least 10 hours//

21. A word of caution..
    Moving a house is quite different from building a house

22. you never saw the determined builders from the 60s…there weren’t many wall structures around and they had lots of help.

are the chinese frames made from plastic…just asking.

23. The amount of twenty-nine million, eighty thousand, two hundred dollars ($29,080,200) is required to cover the cost of a joint venture housing solutions partnership agreement between the National Housing Corporation and East West Building Solutions.

WHO ARE THE OWNERS OF EWBSB? WHERE IS THE HEAD OFFICE OF EWBSB ?

24. Remember White Oak ?

During the Barbados Labour Party’s public meeting at Carlisle Car Park in the City on Sunday night, Attorney General Dale Marshall defended the payment of US $27 million to the international firm.

He said while that fee appeared to be high, they were saving Barbados $1 billion annually.

25. @Hants
    Yah gotta stop axing such invasive qwestyions.

26. Duguid builds houses and apartments for rent. Wont be surprised if he or his wife is involved. One of his aunts is married to a Bostic who also builds houses and apartments. Uh gone…..

27. Everything is a mess and getting messier..

28. The blogmaster reached out to the minister and he advised in a rote reply that EWBSB is a company registered with CAIPO.

29. WHO ARE THE OWNERS OF EWBSB? WHERE IS THE HEAD OFFICE OF EWBSB ?

Waiting for a whistle blower to toss the answer off the back of a truck .

30. ” This is according to Minister of Tourism Senator Lisa Cummins who said on Tuesday the programme, designed to attract long-stay visitors to compensate for the drastic decline in short-stay visitors ”

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/16/welcome-stamp-tourism-lifeline/

Did Peter Lawrence Thompson foresee the Covid 19 pandemic ?

I thought his Welcome Stamp program was conceptualised and put on BU before covid 19 attacked Barbados.

buh doan mine me. I am 69 years ole an muh memory aint good.

31. @ david

So David what he saying is if wunna want to know go down to CAIPO and pay for a search then?

What happen with openess and accountability that went through the window? Why he did not just give you the names and done?

I tell wunna already why I don’t get into political talk. Em is 6 of one and half dozen of the other!

32. @John A

The blogmaster did the expected followup after the rote reply and was able to exact the following from minister Duguid. We will leave it to traditional media reporters who troll BU to do the required followup.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2021/09/ewbsb.png

33. @ david

That tender does not speak to the temporary housing but to permanent housing options on NHC land that must be hurricaine proof. The temporary housing Prefab issue is a different issue all together as I see it as that speaks to post hurricaine housing.

34. @John A

Yes.

35. I can not recall ever seeing a tender sent out for temporary post hurriciane housing.

36. The job of blogmaster can be very difficult.

I remember our blogging friend who I used to refer to as Willie D, was very forthcoming with opinions when we wer discussing a man whose car was parked in the driveway of certain house etc. etc.

I getting old so I can’t remember if it was on BU or BFP that we were gossiping bout a fella name Gine Cark but dis is 2021 so tings change.

I Hants continue to appreciate BU for allowing me to write shaving cream and post videos of music videos.

37. That would be BFP Hants.

38. Thanks David.

I stopped blogging on BFP after I discovered BU.

39. @Hants

And BU is the better for it.

40. David
    Does the “hurricane housing” meet the definition of those described in the EOI?

41. On the California election
    Can you imagine being Black in California and the most frightening thing is a Black man winning the race…

42. @enuff

How does your comment address key concerns raised around EWBSB?

43. So why are these water tanks so popular, what happened to pipe borne water that they have BOASTED about for YEARS AND YEARS…who is benefitting from this….tank scam…don’t answer …it’s the same crooks who them and bat ears and abrams at BWA were calling each other corrupt and THIEVES…, before they KISSED AND MADE UP….

watch muh nuh….lol

44. Your right Theo that is like a rich bitch that becomes a prostitute not for the money ..but because she likes anal sex.

45. @John A September 16, 2021 9:40 AM “So David what he saying is if wunna want to know go down to CAIPO and pay for a search then?”

Is the CAIPO database online, if not why not?