The country continues to be embroiled and pitched forked from one issue to the next; transitioning to a republic, pandemic, tanking economy, DLP resurrection, National Insurance Fund (blogmaster’s pick)…

The latest issue choking public conversation-feeds is veteran journalist David Ellis answering the call up to national duty to serve in the role as Covid 19 Public Advisor. The blogmaster has no problem with decisions made by individuals as it affects career and livelihood. Although it is regrettable the single journalist who stands tall in the local arena was first put out to pasture because of company policy, followed by his right to make a decision to leave the profession- he hosted popular talk show 2-days weekly- to serve in his new role. Let us hope for the sake of Barbados he is successful in helping the country navigate the Covid 19 challenge.

Ellis known to ask searching questions of public officials will be missed as it pertains to government’s recent decision to import 150 prefab houses from China. Peter Wickham hosted Minister Duguid last week to discuss the matter and more questions were created than answered from the exercise. When Mr. Ellis called the show to ask more relevant questions, it seems preference was given to reading messages from WhatsAppers.

It has been reported a local company East West Buildings Solutions Barbados promised to complete the setup of the prefab houses within 42 days. This government promised to be transparent therefore Minister William Duguid should be able to answer a few reasonable questions.

1. Who are the directors (beneficial owners) of East West Building Solutions Barbados?
  2. Usually Mark Maloney and Bjorn Bjerkhamn are on the same page, this time both have been reported to be singing from different hymn sheets. What is different this time around?
  3. Why was Maloney not asked by traditional media if he has been(will be) contracted to supply services and materials as part of the physical preparation for setup of the Chinese prefab houses?

The taxpayers deserve to know.

The BU community is free to add questions or share information to enlighten an unknowing public.

251 responses to “Minister Duguid, Who Are the Owners of EWBSB?”

1. If you read with comprehension Simple Simon you would have noted the blogmaster searched the online database but the name did not show. You try.

2. David
    It doesn’t, nor was it intended to; but it’s a start.

3. @enuff

Be that as it may there should not be a lack of transparency around EWBSB.

4. “So why are these water tanks so popular, what happened to pipe borne water that they have BOASTED about for YEARS AND YEARS…”

If only you googled, copied and pasted in this instance. Oh dear! #clownshow

5. who is benefitting from this….tank scam…don’t answer …it’s the same crooks who them and bat ears and abrams at BWA were calling each other corrupt and THIEVES…, before they KISSED AND MADE UP….

no need to google copy nor paste, the two corrupt partners told us all about it already in the media….they don’t even hide anymore, so confident no one will lock them up….until Donville….lol

6. Lady take my advice and use Google. You’re totally confused. All tanks are not the same, just as all candidates aren’t MPs! 🤡

7. @ David

It could be the name is a trading name that is owned by the entity and the parent entity is registered. Maybe that’s why some could tell you go search CAIPO as they know you will not find it. Lol

8. @John A

Why the cloak of secrecy and lack of transparency if everything is being done above board? Looks like BU will have to revisit this issue from a different angle.

9. @David

Wish I could answer that one.

10. The government has set a precedent that it will regret. No one knows if these houses meet the building standards set by Town and Country Planning. Will the ordinary man be able to by pass Town and Country Planning and import a house from China?
    I surely hope so as there are many houses in dire need of repairs or replacement creating a case to import emergency housing.

11. “Lady take my advice and use Google. You’re totally confused. All tanks are not the same, just as all candidates aren’t MPs! 🤡”

you mean NOT ALL TANKS ARE BUILT THE SAME….does this one carry something else besides WATER…..

I am talking about the OWNERS OF THE TANK….i asked WHOSE TANK SCAM IS THAT……

even a fake billion dollar project manager should be able to understand that….i posted it TWICE…

i told you and the other fowl Slaves about 40 times over the years that ONLY SLAVES care about colonial title holders who do NOTHING for Black people….i scorn and look down on such salary sucking public nuisances..

12. this is the time for the population to THINK ABOUT THEMSELVES ONLY and act accordingly…between COVID and the CORRUPT….everything is now too uncertain to remain locked in…….stop being pawns for parliament jokers and private sector crooks…..things are deteriorating rapidly..

..and their second economy is UNDER SCRUTINY….time to jump ship and let them become even more EXPOSED…ya should hear the talk around the town…lol

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/09/16/idb-no-quick-fix-for-regional-economies/

13. Good morning to all.
    It’s still dark here, but I have a feeling it is going to be a beautiful day.
    Hoping you can say the same.

14. I still want to hear what HAPPENED to WATER BORNE PIPES, PIPES…not medium sized plastic water receptacles that are even eaiser to contaminate…..and which can be seen in some parishes overturned with NO WATER…

am not admiring the design, not my style..

a retrograde society in the 21st century..

15. It is extremely baffling that rather than aim our highly well constructed critiques at those who are actually responsible for our plight, we choose other courses that ultimately allow the perpetrators to escape and continue to do as their like.
    In the end the status quo remains and there is no tangible improvement
    in the lives of the already downtrodden masses, who whether we like it or not are Black and make up the vast majority of the population.
    What is transpiring right now is no different from what pertained in the years preceding the last elections, when our energies were focused exclusively on the then , now perpetually embarrassed and disgraced Stuart regime.
    In all of our utterances, there is an underlying desire to ignore the eggs on our faces and somehow we have concluded that the best way to ignore them is to direct our energies to nitpicking issues.
    The real question is how do we overcome what is at present a threat to our already fragile socio economic landscape. How do we engineer not only our personal survival but the survival of all citizens.
    I suspect that at the bottom of this approach is a deep desire to give grave realities; It borders on a perverse intellectual dishonesty but most of all it clearly demonstrates that the loyalty to both the Democratic and Barbados Labour parties remains extremely strong and deep.
    We prefer to cannibalize each other rather than to banish them (DLP, BLP) from existence.
    That is the pill we are incapable of swallowing and that’s why we aim our energies else where.
    It is a cop out……….

16. Should read : “a desire to ignore grave realities” not : “give grave realities” My apologies.

17. Bahams changed their government.

“It is extremely baffling that rather than aim our highly well constructed critiques at those who are actually responsible for our plight, ”

that’s what they ALWAYS send out their little IMPS to do…and because everyone is so blinded in their little fake world, not even the one -eyed pretend kings can see where it is leading…

don’t know when they are going to learn after 9 YEARS that they CANNOT SCARE ME….am only going to ESCALATE… and got a lot to escalate with… but not the time to do so yet….give me 8 weeks give or take…

so let them keep on sending out MINIONS and see what they will get..

18. @ JohnA September 16, 2021 10:56 AM
    @ david

That tender does not speak to the temporary housing but to permanent housing options on NHC land that must be hurricaine proof. The temporary housing Prefab issue is a different issue all together as I see it as that speaks to post hurricaine housing. (Unquote).

Well spotted!

Your ‘natural’ gift of Commonsense has allowed you to smell the rat going after the cheese of corruption stored in the Treasury.

The damage to houses caused by the hurricane Elsa occurred on the 2nd July.

There is no way that EOI invitation could apply to the replacement of those housing units destroyed and damaged by Elsa.

That’s a mere red herring which not even the red yard-fowl Enuff would try to swallow in the form of pure bullshit.

William Skinner is right on the money when it comes to identifying the difference in the modus operandi between the BDLP duopoly of pigs as they take turns at the leaking taxpayers’ trough.

19. @ Miller

Well you know since the 4th estate lost a stalwart in interrogation to higher office we here got to be the 3.5 estate!

20. @David 8.57pm
    You know something is up. While some materials are currently difficult to find for immediate delivery, prefab = premium price. Based on the$$$ being tossed around VERY premium.

21. @johnA
    Hurricane resilient is not hurricane proof. It is a ‘nice’ term which can mean whatever you choose.
    Note whom is designing. The EOI does not require professional third party certification.

22. @ Northern

The old people had a saying “you could hide and buy ground but you cant hide and work it.”

23. Speaking of water, is it true that 3 BWA workers got free Covid funerals…maybe the fowl Slaves can confirm, and ya can’t LIE because am looking at their photos right now,,,,combined they had 68 years of experience, backhoe operator, plumber’s mate, and inspector/mains layer…

yall need to stop hiding these deaths, they are happening everywhere..

that’s yall favorite chant right…it happens everwhere//

24. Condolences to the families..

25. @ NO

Noted.

@William

Your comment is most relevant.

26. “No one knows if these houses meet the building standards set by Town and Country Planning. Will the ordinary man be able to by pass Town and Country Planning and import a house from China?”

The word RESILIENT has a meaning! Why would the government, after championing the idea of resilient housing, buy houses to replace ones damaged by a HURRICANE with structurally inferior houses? Stop with the red herrings fuh christ sake.

27. Laawd jesus and all others come fuh wunna world! Temporary housing, means temporary use by potential occupants (transient) NOT temporary use as housing. Therefore, a tender for low-income housing would not say temporary housing unless the “Chinese” housing gine be tents to be disassembled after temporarily being occupied by individuals temporarily displaced. 🤣🤣

28. The ONLY red herring is every announcement by the GoB involving a large sum of money.
    Most of us knew Clearwater Bay was such a red herring. We can “blame” a prior administration, but the current one ‘writes off $124M’ and not even a mumble of an explanation?
    White Oaks is another, where bag man Persaud was full of ‘transparency’ talk, but then it ended? Like the NIS it is now a “bad word”.
    Imagine the Minister makes an announcement, and a senior representative of the contract recipient EWBSB (love the EWB…SB name) isn’t there? And the Minister cannot disclose anything meaningful about the recipient of a large public expenditure?
    What is expected blind political praise!!
    Even the (bad word) private sector tell you who the members of a “joint venture are”.
    This lack of information immediately causes the antenna to rise. What is the secret?

29. @Enuf

Listen the tender in the paper was for the land owned by the NHC for houses similar to the ones built at Lancaster. It has nothing to do with the temporary housing issue which was. NEVER PUT OUT FOR TENDER.

Don’t come here with no slide of hand cause I know of the actual area tendered for as a colleague of mine tendered for it. So try another excuse.

30. John A
    I am not here to argue with you or anyone. I keep out of BU comments as of recent. Where in the EOI it says houses similar to Lancaster? That EOI is very clear that the successful partner must have their own design–attractive and affordable. The EOI clearly has in-built flexibility too, read it again. But here is what Duguid is quoted as saying about the “Chinese built” houses:
    “…the money would be recouped from installation of photovoltaics on the roof that will earn revenue. The houses will include single two- and three-bedroom homes on private property, and duplexes and quads on GOVERNMENT LAND.” The govt put out an EOI twice already for JV partnerships in recent months, has a file of respondents and is faced with a multi-faceted housing crisis exacerbated by a hurricane. Instead of pulling from a file of known potential partners recently compiled, you are advocating seeking another round of EOI while people remain displaced.. To do so would neither be efficient nor caring. I bet your ass comfy in yuh house typing on your device full of chinese manufactured components. I hope dem to standard and catch ah fire.🤣🤣

31. Canada = Freedom of Information Act

USA = Will extradite and lock yuh up

China = Chinese laundry.

32. @ Enuf

So wait the same photovoltaic panels couldn’t go on bajan made houses too? Lol. Poor Dugood really catching at straws with that feeble excuse.

So why your people don’t answer the voters questions and state clearly who the shareholders are? Why they don’t tell the people why we bajan builders ain’t good enough? Finally if the houses needed so urgently why de ass them decide to source them from a place where the shipping time is 60 days?

Every excuse you could make I could knock down. If I was you i would stop trying to defend this issue cause it proving embarrassing to all of wunna.

The final question to wunna is this, why at a time of record unemployment and a poor economy wunna chose to give way 29M worth of contract to the Chinese?

I done wid dat and awaiting answers from the minister. Not holding my breath though.

33. JohmA
    One can always tell when someone struggling with an argument. They just introduce a whole set of weak additives to strengthen the already weak original argument. Here are some more quotes from Duguid:
    “More than 130 contractors have so far been mobilized and his ministry is moving to assign about 300 to repair the damage from the June 16 freak storm and Hurricane Elsa on July 2”; “we need more contractors because when you add the amount of repairs we have to do, almost 700 repairs and then the amount of rebuilds, 400 to 500”; “…the housing ministry was also preparing emergency housing which is being built by graduates of Samuel Jackman Prescod Institute of Technology, Government’s skills training and others”; “200 workers are currently engaged in the relocation programme for squatters in Rock Hall, St Philip and others were involved in the construction of quads at White Park Road, St Michael and other developments including Rices, St Philip and Todds, St George”; “local artisans and not foreign workers…will be erecting the houses.”; we have already started [with] 300 people, they will first be starting by building the foundation, once the foundations are completed, they will transfer over to put the houses together”; and, “it means that our artisans will not be losing out because they still have to help us build the foundations for the house, and it is not that people are coming here from overseas and building the houses themselves.”
    You may carry on smartly.🖐🏾

34. Who are the people behind ESWSB?

This is the question.

35. David
    Absolutely nothing wrong with your question and the folks should stick to that query rather than dilute the discussion.

36. @ David

You realise after 3 days not a man or woman will come out and answer that question. Instead the red herringist and deflectors out in full force. Not a man will say that the tender date xxxx was specifically for the infamous “”Chinese houses” and that it did in fact go out for tender. Nor would anyone say for instance that the company is owned by Mark Maloney, or Tom Jones for example. Just guessing mind you and using the first names that comes to mind. What does all that tell you ?

I tell wunna already 6 of 1 or half dozen of the other

37. John A September 17, 2021 4:08 PM #: “The final question to wunna is this, why at a time of record unemployment and a poor economy wunna chose to give way 29M worth of contract to the Chinese?”

@ John A

Yes, “29M worth of contracts to the Chinese,”………. while in the SAME “poor economy,” the Mottley administration DISCONTINUED payment of pensions to retired former National Assistance Board (NAB) employees,…….. WITHOUT PRIOR NOTICE.

These are SENIOR CITIZENS, ………… some of whom are over 80 years old and were receiving pensions for as long as EIGHTEEN (18) YEARS.

The manner in which this ‘Chinese houses’ issue has been handled and Duguid’s refusal to divulge who are EWBSB’s owners, is indicative of disrespect and contempt the Mottley administration hold for Barbadians.

These are the same people who, while in Opposition, were talking about adhering to the principles of transparency and accountability.

If Mia Mottley believe she already has a second term in office secured or is thinking about calling a ‘snap election,’…………. she should remind herself that St. Lucian PM, Allen Chastanet, presided over a one term administration.
    And, voters in the Bahamas ousted Prime Minister Hubert Minnis in a snap election on Thursday, September 16, 2021.

38. Why do Bajans always over complicate everything , chinese container ship comes to island ….containers off loaded and taken to job site …….chinese workmen cut holes for window door and toilet…..prefab steel building …wheres the cash.

39. Basil that new container house of yours doesnt look big enough for you Hazel and the kids , are you kidding when it came off the ship and they opened the doors there was a test family of 10 living in it.

40. @lawson
    Of course the cash ( financing) is the differentiating factor. The guvment brek. And nuhbuddy wants payment in $BDD, other than artisans ( note locals are artisans the ferners are workers)

41. NO nobody wants bdd $…..nonsense…… have you forgotten about the pandemic already, into the 4th wave and they still haven’t righted the ship on that toilet paper shortage

42. @David
    Who are the people behind ESWSB?
    Now that is a question that a former talk show host would ask an insider if he/she appeared on his program- well you know the rest
    In other news I notice that “Enuff” after weeks of lying low pushed his head above the parapets to comment on this topic and although he has a plaster for every sore, engaged in some diversionary tactics but declined to answer the question.

I am reworking Dave Martins and the Tradewinds “Yuh can’t get” to “we ain’t teliing”

Yuh could ask till yuh tongue drop out yuh head
    We ain’t tell, we aint tell,we ain’t tell
    Ooooh la la ooo la la etc.etc.

43. @Artax

Let us approach this differently then as nobody will tell us.

I SAYING ITS MARK MALONEY WUNNA AND ENUFF COME NOW AND DENY IT!

Of course if the silence continue wunna know I right.

44. We are often told “if you see something, then say something”.

It is obvious from what enuff says that he/she is not in the inner loop. He/she just rushes out, throw something on the wall (often irrelevant), pats him/herself on the back and walks away.

In order of pecking (no pun intended) he is a little above Lorenzo. His huffing and puffing of importance would suggest otherwise, but his words often lack useful content.

45. The accusations against the Honourable Minister are completely unfounded. He is one of the best experts in the cabinet of our Supreme Leader. The Honourable Minister is repairing our roads, while the past government was not even able to patch potholes.

Shall I list all the roads that the Honourable Minister has fixed since May 2018? The blue government, on the other hand, has let everything go to waste, fuelling prejudices like no other government before it that native people cannot govern themselves.

We should all be glad that the blue nightmare is over. Our new government has brought back honour and dignity to our island.

46. It is somewhat surprising that after numerous discussions and promises of transparency we find ourselves with an administration that does public businesses in complete secrecy.

It will not be surprising if transparency and integrity legislation is a plank in the current administration in 2023 and 2028.

47. Theo
    Why do you utter so much shite? What circle you’re in besides the one in the circus? I have repeatedly made it clear that I am no part of any circle. In my few comments here, I have not said a word about ESWB because unlike many here I don’t talk about what I don’t know. You would do better to focus on my message rather than me. Care to tell us where in Canada one can find info on the beneficiary owners of companies awarded government contracts? Thanks.

48. I raised a chuckle when I clicked on to the East West Buildings Solutions Barbados website. The site was riddled with grammatical errors. It did not have the appearance of an authentic website. All in all, I was underwhelmed.

My advice to the government: carry out some due diligence on this company; and if they, the government, are serious at saving some money rehouse those individuals and families into our underused hotels.

As a country we have found many inventive ways of distributing monies. Yeah man, we does punch above of weight class in mysterious ways.

49. That’s what fraud Enuff gets for jumping out lie his ass off…..lol