About 20 years ago as we crossed the street to get on to East Street there was a group of people ahead of us and one of the women was lugging a suitcase. We were going to the East Street Vendors Market in London. My son who was five then was with me and when we reached the market, we started to browse. Suddenly raised voices were heard above the normal chatter. Two women on the other side of the street were arguing loudly and it was escalating. Next, they seemed to be on the verge of exchanging blows and all eyes were focused on them; no one was focused on the items on display. From my distance across the street, I was trying to figure out what was happening and if to leave when my son said, “mummy look! that woman is putting the people’s things in her suitcase.” He could not see what was happening across the street only what was happening on our side at his eye level.

It was then that I realized that the distraction had been planned. The group had created a distraction and shifted everyone’s focus and in the ensuing confusion, made the vendors goods easy prey to theft.

Is this what has been happening in Barbados? Think about it, the prorogation of Parliament for no reason that has been made public to this day and the Throne Speech from hell with its mandate for a Republic, the buying out of the leadership of the Barbados Workers Union, the largest trade union in Barbados and the by-election in St. George North. Even the pandemic played into the government’s hand as they used it to change the terms of the Severance Pay Act.

The above distractions have caused confusion and shifted the attention of the people of Barbados away from the performance of the economy, unemployment, the fact that this Administration is not providing any solutions, a refusal to diversify the economy, increasing debt and the Chinese invasion of Barbados.

The Prime Minister does not deliver clear messages. There is more information in the foreign press than from the Government of Barbados about its relationship with China. It looks good and sounds great to hear that the Prime Minister had a telephone call with President Xi but ask any Barbadian what was discussed. They will not have a clue. One wonders if ever there was a time since independence that an Administration in Barbados has acted in such a deliberately shady manner but again it is meant to cause confusion.

What is significant to note is that the Private Sector too is confused. However, what occurred over the last weekend in which the government’s move of political expediency not to make vaccines mandatory should be a wake- up call for those businessmen in that sector. They have a clear case of nearsightedness; they can only see what is right in front of their noses.

In particular, the voice of the private sector has not been heard in the debate about the Republic so no one knows what they envision but it cannot be business as usual.

In the scope of things, unvaccinated workers do not pose as great a threat as China. Perhaps if the Private Sector can envision a scenario in which Barbados is unable to repay China, that China takes over the ports and then raise duties on all imports except from China, it would remove the biblical beam from their eyes.

If there is another move of political expediency that involves China, its products or government contracts, the private Sector, will be on the losing end as China does not hand out debt to settle for scraps.

With only 166 square miles and limited manufacturing, one does not envision the survival of local manufacturing as Chinese investments begin to roll out. Those lucrative government contracts will become a thing of the past. Ultimately with billions of Chinese yens at their disposal the present Administration will not need the private sector to fund their election campaigns.

The ordinary people in Barbados do not have anything to lose but that is not so with the private sector.

The private sector has a choice to make. It is either:

1. Stand idly by as the fire breathing dragon approaches and watch Rome burn. Or,
  2. Act like they are concerned citizens of Barbados and press for transparency and involvement for all the people of Barbados in the process to becoming a Republic which ultimately benefits them.

One kept hearing for weeks on end that the government had been doing an assessment of the housing stock that had been damaged or destroyed in the freak storm, to the point where one really had to wonder what was going on, only to find out in the newspaper a few days ago that the government is purchasing emergency housing from China. Surely this is a sign of things to come. Especially with unemployment so high in Barbados, this should never happen.

There is a connection between the method that the current Administration has chosen to become a Republic and China. As this unfolds, it appears that neither the public nor the private sector will benefit when Barbados becomes a Republic if all of this has been devised to hide China’s impending control over Barbados by placing it in its debt trap. The Chinese debt trap is a pattern that is being rolled out across the globe. They loan countries billions of dollars that they know they will never be able to repay. When the debt is called the Chinese exhibit their love for ports and utility companies.

In confusion, planned or unplanned, the brain does not think clearly, and someone always benefits. Should Barbadians continue to blindly accept what is going on with the pending Republic?

182 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – Governance by Confusion, Who Gains?”

1. So true great observations
    China foot prints cost plenty
    I envisioned all of Barbados unproductive agricultural land ending up in the hands of China
    China needs land to produce its many products across the global market food scarcity is going to be a pandemic and China eyeball are being fixated on Agriculture
    Wake up people
    The Chinese March cannot be stop if Barbados gets caught in China debt trapb

2. The White World hates China and puts out shit for fools to eat

Black Bajans are beholden to the (White) Man

3. If not China, which hegemonist should take their place, the USA?

The minister of Housing needs to make a statement before serious comment can be offered. Why the procurement of emegergency housing from China?

4. DavidAugust 28, 2021 5:52 AM

If not China, which hegemonist should take their place, the USA
    Xxxxx
    Yes Barbados needs financial help.but not by any means necessary
    Barbados prides itself on being educated people
    Why would Barbados needs China to rebuild our housing stock ?

5. “If not China, which hegemonist should take their place, the USA?”

The 12 years with Obama and Trump showed us how racist USA is

China and USA have been feuding for the positioning of control of natural biofuel resources in South China Seas since 2012

USA made allies against China and engaged in Information War / Propaganda War / Sanctions against them but rolled them back when China made overtures about withholding rare earth resources for IT technology and forced USA to back down

USA now wants to use every trick in their book of hook and crook to undermine China and access to Africa resources

but China is like Afghanistan and play the long game and will outsmart USA

6. Yes Barbados needs financial help.but not by any means necessary
    Barbados prides itself on being educated people
    Why would Barbados needs China to rebuild our housing stock ?

Barbados is broke ass
    China helps developing world develop while USA and UK war on the rob

Chinese Credit for Housing programs would house the poor
    which you use for your political gain any which way you can

7. There is a reason we claim to be an educated people. There is a reason we allocate north of 500k annually to education. If the government is using diversionary tactics to distract we the educated people should be able to stay focused (including the media) by sticking to the real issues. Instead we allow our narrow political partisan interest to distort the issues.

8. DavidAugust 28, 2021 6:17 AM

There is a reason we claim to be an educated people. There is a reason we allocate north of 500k annually to education. If the government is using diversionary tactics to distract we the educated people should be able to stay focused (including the media) by sticking to the real issues. Instead we allow our narrow political partisan interest to distort the issues.
    Xxxxxxx
    Most likely in your mind criticism of govt decision would be viewd as narrow and political and partisan
    However if in your mind that is the case
    How then can citizens with alternative opinions enter the political fray with opposing views be seen as serious
    Barbados govt promised transparency and accountability yet time and time again.one sees a govt making decisions without full-fledged good governance intervention
    Hence people input after govt decisions are made calls for full transparency and accountability

9. You are a one trick pony. One does not have to read your comments to know the conclusion.

10. “There is a reason we claim to be an educated people.”

which is overrated..
    people are educated all over..
    education is for jobs / careers..

but common sense is lacking..
    bajans read internet and think it is true..
    but do not think about who and why people writes lies with underlying motives..

looks like bajan politics will be about psyops fake news hype and propaganda to stir shit up with unwashed raggedy lumpen proletariat
    (it already is / has dumbed down big time)

11. DavidAugust 28, 2021 6:32 AM

You are a one trick pony. One does not have to read your comments to know the conclusion

Xxxxx

Is the truth too hard for u to bear
    The evidence of govt lacking transparency in its decision makings is all over the place
    Attacking the messenger only serves as another distraction

Xxxxxx
    Distractions .distractions
    Maybe it’s in the water
    Jesus take the wheel
    Cxcccccc

12. Truth be told

One kept hearing for weeks on end that the government had been doing an assessment of the housing stock that had been damaged or destroyed in the freak storm, to the point where one really had to wonder what was going on, only to find out in the newspaper a few days ago that the government is purchasing emergency housing from China. Surely this is a sign of things to come. Especially with unemployment so high in Barbados, this should never happen
    Xxxxxxx
    Yet bajans need jobs but govt mantra says
    China first

13. Elections are won on emotions and cult of personalities financed by businesses and wealthy triggering hysteria nationalism racial fears prejudice and ignorance attacking opponents instead of developing party policy and goals aided with media’s 4th and 5th estates using lies mistruths misinformation propaganda and hype not facts. Barbados wants to copy psyops of Trump and Brexit from 2016.

14. We are a small rock in the middle of the ocean. As David Rudder sang, “No noble thoughts brought us here….”

With the current global system, an island like this cannot support the lifestyle to which we have been introduced through no fault of our own.

This little rock is more suited to occupation by simple tribes like those who roamed before the Europeans came.

Still, we could indeed do much better if all the little rocks would co-operate instead of competing with each other and if we made a serious attempt to minimise corruption.

If not now, when?

So you win the next election and preside over the demise of your homeland?

You “write your name on history’s page” but what shall be written next to it?

Legacy is not about titles but rather it is about the positive change brought about in the lives of the people.

We need to have the national conversation. Level with the people! No more pretending that we can stay afloat without drastic change. I really don’t think that the average person, even though they can feel the effects, understands how dire our situation is.

Down with petty partisan politics or Barbados will sink under the weight of the yardfowls!

P.S. Caricom needs to have the same conversation, regionally.

15. am sure there are over 50,000 ABLE BODIED young men in the majority population on the island …who, working around the clock in ROTATION under the supervision of more experienced carpenters/builders while LEARNING ON THE JOB can have those house frames up in RECORD TIME .and those millions moving off to china WOULD CIRCULATE IN BARBADOS instead to stimulate the economy………builders decades ago had much less to work with..

…but where there is ROOM TO TIEF…..the obvious becomes obsolete…

Speaking of governance by confusion, so which is it, is it the virus or vaccine killing people and/or making them real sick or both….we know the virus is a nasty piece of work and a percentage of populations, their bodies just cannot handle the toxicity of the vaccines….and those fema type tents in the north already look like death warmed over…at least make them look like air can get inside so people can breathe..

16. “billions of Chinese yens”
    Yuan’s? Yen is the Japanese currency.

17. @Frank

Renminbi?

18. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David August 28, 2021 6:17 AM

An Educated Idiot is still an idiot. Sure they can regurgitate facts they have learnt to make themselves sound knowledgeable but they are not smart enough to properly apply what they have learnt.

As long as we are unable to produce enough food and the basic items to ensure our very survival on our own without borrowing or outside investment, we will always be educated idiots with worthless paper degrees.

This conversation explains the true motives behind all economic loans and grants.

19. @CA

Who will find fault with your comment?

20. “those millions moving off to china WOULD CIRCULATE IN BARBADOS instead to stimulate the economy……”

Barbados does not have millions and will borrow from China to build it’s shelters and infrastructure

Political shrills need to get over it and face reality

21. Small.island govts keep running to foreign interest for help. who continues to rob the people blindly and keep them in economic chains

Meanwhile in these small island nations are people with a knowledgeable resources to offer the country
    However govts pursue a path of ignorance and indifference
    Find it hard to belive that in all of these small island there is not a single person or a collective of persons with knowledge to build prefabricated assembled houses
    Govt insist and persist on its own demise than blames the people
    But China is smart

22. Once again, Heather has delivered another thought provoking and insightful post.

From available information she may have overstated the role of the Chinese; but as one blogger stated she has merely substituted the unknown X with China “If not China, which hegemonist should take their place, the USA?”

Her emphasis on the poor communications from the administration, lack of explanations and very poor PR skills is noted.

Two very small items from the post caught my attention.
    “However, what occurred over the last weekend in which the government’s move of political expediency not to make vaccines mandatory”

To satisfy my curiosity… Is Heather in favor or not in favor of mandatory vaccinations. May be irrelevant at this time, but still curious.

“In particular, the voice of the private sector has not been heard in the debate about the Republic so no one knows what they envision but it cannot be business as usual.”

All indications are that it will be business as usual with just the words Queen, Governor General and Royal replaced in most places.

23. Here is what we need to remember- the Chinese government is no more a charitable organisation than is the United States of America government.

Any assistance will come with strings attached.

We must make up our minds if we can accept the strings or not.

If we cannot accept the strings then it is up to us to save ourselves.

We cannot expect to have our cake and eat it too.

So…. what will it be?

24. “The minister of Housing needs to make a statement before serious comment can be offered.”

I fully understand the point he is making, but I do not like how it is stated.

Serious comments based on the available information can be made at any time. The minister should have and needs to provide more information on this matter.

It appears that some in the administration believes that explaining is not an essential part of governing.

25. Grenville Phillips II has been publicly giving FREE suggestions on how we could make our existing houses stronger to withstand hurricanes, earthquakes and a few other natural disasters. He has also produced a ‘Home Strengthening Guide.’
    Additionally, BAPE’s president, Lieutenant Colonel Trevor Browne, also suggested ‘government’ should enforce the use of certain techniques and materials in construction.

Barbadian artisans should have been contracted to construct the houses, incorporating Mr. Phillips II and BAPE’s suggestions.

Unless, ‘government’ felt the urgency of housing required a short-term solution of purchasing prefabricated houses from China.

26. “Here is what we need to remember- the Chinese government is no more a charitable organisation than is the United States of America government.”

Why hasn’t USA helped Barbados already or before

Governments look at options and offers and decide the best options available

US are more likely to interfere in politics and takeover businesses than China

27. @Artax

Do we have an audit the number of local artisans and supporting skill sets to complete the job?

What about local labour cost compared to cash flow/finance available?

What is the main reason Chinese and Guyana see labour became popular a few years ago?’

The poi t here, we need to hear the reason government has gone this route. Whatever the reason it will make for interesting discussion. Where is local traditional media Carl Moore et al always preaching?

28. “It appears that some in the administration believes that explaining is not an essential part of governing.”

I disagree.

“It appears that ALL in the administration believe that explaining is NOT an essential part of governing.”

29. To a country that cash strapped China always is seen as their salvation. You buy from China they export everything they make from windows to screws in the said houses, then they lend you the money to buy the said exports from them!

Say what you like them is bosses at export and sales whether it’s houses or viruses them got it down pack. Lol

30. When it comes to China vs USA my thoughts are “better the devil you know than the devil you don’t”. The US is not perfect and there are elements of racism, but its citizens still have redress to right wrongs. Is there racism in China? Reports reaching us confirm that Black people (mostly students) are subjected to racism in their daily lives. Some even take their racism with them as seen in some of their African adventures.

As to Chinese investment in a nation’s economy someone pointed out that the Chinese don’t want IOU’s they want assets and many countries have found that out to their eternal regret. The country we have is slowly slipping away maybe it doesn’t matter whether we replace the old colonials with a new one.

31. Well Sarge, the USA does not have the appetite to lend SIDs money like the good old days. If we want to sustain our conspicuous consumption lifestyle given our inability to play in the capital market these days, we have to borrow from who will lend. Enters China.

#bahamar

32. @ David

There are several artisans that are registered with the UDC and RDC as ‘small contractors.’

At this point in time both Commissions seem not to be repairing or building as many houses as they did in the past.

Those guys could have been used to construct the houses.

33. My interpretaton of what she said and how she said it.

You got a bald head and I fat.

Air Bourne land yuh plane and fall in line.

34. With reference to the Chinese Lego houses that will soon be gracing the island all of you appear to be missing the point.
    On the island we have many redundant structures which have become dilapidated and obsolete. No hurricane will level them.
    We have seen how the Sealey rum family restored numerous outhouses on their businesses headquarters.
    There is nothing stopping this government to do likewise and reinstate some of these old buildings into temporary or permanent residencies.
    To run to the Chinese government to build 72 houses smacks of negligence, foolhardiness and a lack of creativity
    We are been led by a government of donkeys incapable of fixing our roads. A government who have the opposite of the Midas touch; yet insist that we are to become a republic.
    What fools we are to listen to these clowns.

35. @Artax

That said we need a full explanation from the minister in the interest of briefing the population it was elected t serve.

36. “Reports reaching us confirm that Black people (mostly students) are subjected to racism in their daily lives. Some even take their racism with them as seen in some of their African adventures.”

Reports are dubious look at the known priors proven history of racism / murders / wars / rip off / disrespect of black man woman children

PoC for ToC
    China Credit rates versus US Credit rates
    +
    Charges in Profits made for bids between USA vs China vs Barbados
    considering quality of work and delivering large construction projects

(I would put the Grenville’s in 1st round of rejections)

37. RE: “There is nothing stopping this government to do likewise and reinstate some of these old buildings into temporary or permanent residencies. To run to the Chinese government to build 72 houses smacks of negligence, foolhardiness and a lack of creativity.”

Agree 100%.

RE:”We are been led by a government of donkeys incapable of fixing our roads.”

NOT A FAIR comment.

Let’s be reasonable and rational. ‘Government’ embarked on an island wide road project, which has seen SEVERAL ROADS being either repaved or repaired. Take a drive through Barbados.

I suspect you’re referring to the unfortunate situation in Holetown. And, so far, that has been the only road where there was a complaint from the Minister.

If you are, then, please explain how can a ‘government’ be blamed for being “incapable of fixing our roads,’ if the contracted company did shoddy work on that particular road?

38. Well, at least the Chinese are not racist.

39. “All indications are that it will be business as usual with just the words Queen, Governor General and Royal replaced in most places.”

They will more than likely still anoint themselves with the same bullshit colonial titles..look at me i was GG, you can not call me royal queen, just like they delegated themselves as shite elites and pedigree for the benefit of dumb/yardfowls/Slaves for 60 YEARS…anything is possible with pretenders who have NO ORIGINAL IDENTITIES and will never know who they are..only who they represent…

Don’t they think it’s time to SHUT DOWN those Slave churches before they infect the whole island with Delta that comes through the ports..yeah, the dependency SLAVERY TOURISM…..

40. I have read where Chinese products contained toxins would not be surprised if the same holds for their building materials
    However the bottom line for govt involvement is one of placing its debt in another person’s control
    China from evidence seen is pursuing those things which will make their dominance world wide more powerful
    The small weak island economies would be subservient to the Republic of China sickle and all

41. William Skinner Avatar

“One wonders if ever there was a time since independence that an Administration in Barbados has acted in such a deliberately shady manner but again it is meant to cause confusion.” ( Heather Cole)

Well ,well ,well, Ms. Cole has come full circle. That paragraph reminds me of her offerings during the previous regime.
    The Duopoly reigns supreme on the Rock.
    2. I can’t believe that some are saying no reason or reasons were given for getting the houses from China. The Minster of Housing clearly stated that it would take too long to replace the number of houses damaged. He gave a clear explanation about the long time it would take.
    To think that people would come here not knowing this was said on the floor of the House and carried in the newspapers is really mystifying to say the very least.
    In other words all those small black contractors deserving a badly needed windfall have been cast aside or as some say screwed.
    More crocodile tears………

42. @William

As usual you missed the point. The explanation from the minister was not comprehensive. How many local artisans are available. How long will it take to assemble the Chinese houses from order, delivery and landed. What is the opportunity benefit of ordering the Chinese houses over waiting to determine a local solution. Many other questions can be added to make clear this decision.

43. I can’t believe that some are saying no reason or reasons were given for getting the houses from China. The Minster of Housing clearly stated that it would take too long to replace the number of houses damaged. He gave a clear explanation about the long time it would take.
    Xxx.xxx

I remember Hurricane Janet damage and blew down many houses
    Xxxxxxx

There was no Chinese influence at that time
    Houses were rebuilt
    The sounds of Hammer and nail were heard coming from co.munity involvement and local tradesman were the beneficiaries of govt efforts

44. And u know what else
    The products use were free of contamination
    Xxxxxxx
    Just read where China built rushed assembled houses for Tibetans and the houses were deemed contaminated
    Such problems lies with Chinese form of legislation which looks out for the dollar and short on environmental concerns
    I would venture to guess that Barbados govt would not have the wherewithal to do any form of environmental scientific testing on these make up.of these houses before allowing people to occupy

45. How many Bajan tradesmen will work for IOUs from Barbados Government

46. ?

“If not China, which hegemonist should take their place, the USA?.”
    $$$$$$$!$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

De forgiven Sponsors.

Debt-trap diplomacy

Describes a situation where a powerful lending country or institution seeks to saddle a borrowing nation with debt so as to increase its leverage over it.[1][2] “Debt-trap diplomacy” was originally associated with Indian academic Brahma Chellaney, who promoted the term in early 2017. The theory of debt-trap diplomacy is that the creditor country extends excessive credit to a debtor country with the intention of extracting economic or political concessions from the debtor country when it becomes unable to meet its debt repayment obligations.[3] The conditions of the loans are often not made public,[4] and often come with conditions which suit the lender. The borrowed money commonly pays contractors and materials sourced from the creditor country. The term has been applied to institutions like the International Monetary Fund (IMF), but especially to the People’s Republic of China (PRC). This allegation against China has been disputed by institutions such as Rhodium Group and Chatham House.

47. Wuh i glad enuff to see the government can help ya if ya cock up and DEAD FROM THE VACCINE…but can’t help the living escape from POVERTY, thefts of their money, racism, oppression, discrimination or get their land and personal injury cases COMPLETED at the corrupt supreme court….they can only help ya IF YA DEAD..

good going..

48. William Skinner Avatar

Obviously the minister is of the opinion that because of time and what he perceives to be the inability of our workers to perform thinks that getting the houses from China is a better deal.
    I would imagine that such things as costs formed a part of his considerations.
    The bottom line is that 150 houses will be imported from China. They will be built by Chinese workers and we will pay for them.

49. 555dubstreetAugust 28, 2021 11:20 AM

How many Bajan tradesmen will work for IOUs from Barbados Government
    Xxxxcc
    It boils down to honesty
    Can’t make IOU and not lived up to promise or agreements
    E.g
    Default of govt debt is an outstanding example of how readily govt can flip debt
    Unfortunately for the local tradesman trying to make a living IOUS when come due and playable when not delivered cannot pay the bills

50. Obviously the minister is of the opinion that because of time and what he perceives to be the inability of our workers to perform thinks that getting the houses from China is a better deal
    Xxxx
    A short sighted excuse which bears of the asking
    Did he seek the local business community opinion before handing off much needed work for barbadians to the Chinese

Xxxxx
    His long winded excuses explains / highlights why a promise is a comfort to fools