Barbadians are rightly concerned about a rise in violent crime, specifically with guns. Those in charge see it as a duty to paper over concerns because it is about maintaining calm in the society. Overall crime statistics may be trending satisfactorily for those whose job description should depend BUT there is is rising concern by the public about violent crime, specifically gun crime. A significant rise in the number of murders since 2018 has caused tongues to wag.

There are some issues we have to regard of national importance and work together to solve. While working together there must be leadership at every level to ensure the change desired is achieved. Do we have the right leaders in place as the Attorney General, Commissioner of Police, Chief Justice, Director of Public Prosecutions, Director of Welfare department, Director of Probation department, Dodds, GIS, Minister of Education – the list is not exhaustive. This is on the enforcement and rehabilitation side of the equation to curb acts of crime; recidivism.

There is more we are obligated to do. A chain is as strong as the weakest link. Each link represents YOU, YOU and YOU. We see every day the wheelies, running traffic lights, littering the environment, flouting of government’s financial rules, acceptance of monies from those in the shadows to the campaigns of politicians and so on. We know this, we see it , we condone it by turning a blind eye, then we complain.

Barbadians are happy to cede the awesome civic responsibility to politicians- we are delinquent as parents, teachers, policemen AND politicians and expect the police force, government and said other delinquent players to play clean-up. There is no doubt citizens expect if laws are broken the authorities must ensure justice is meted out swiftly. What we want as well is for deviant and dysfunctional behaviour that leads to increase crime and specifically gun crime to be arrested as well. We have to hold agencies responsible- this includes GOVERNMENT- for enforcement ACCOUNTABLE. We have to hold ourselves accountable in order to be guardians of our fate.

In much the same way garrison behaviour is a way of life in some neighbouring islands, we are seeing a similar trend of behaviour in Barbados with violent crime centred in depressed communities. In the lead in to the 2018 general election concern was expressed by some members of the public about then Opposition Leader Mia Mottley seen in the presence of questionable characters on the campaign trail. Again some questioned why questionable characters were invited to the opening of parliament. It has become too blatant for many although it is known that the relationship between the criminal element and public officials have been blurred for a long time. The chickens are coming home to roost. We have reached the tipping point. There is no moral leadership.

Has the Prime Minister addressed this video? Our leaders must not validate wrongdoing by their behaviour.

The Barbados we romanticize is no more. Like community spread of infection caused by the COVID 19 virus, so too we have community spread caused by crime. It is why the vacuous calls by politicians for citizens to give up the bad boys and girls will yield little if any positive results. The underworld economy is well managed and families and communities depend on the economic activities attached to the arrangement. In the same way extra income is derived from kitchen gardens, baking and other type activities so too is criminal activity for too many.

The recent murder of a police officer by a band of robbers in the North of the island is an example of today’s problem. The horse has bolted and it will require a long term commitment to solving the problem at every level of our small society. 

Will the real leaders raised wunna hands – that means YOU, YOU and YOU.

280 responses to “The Long Road from Perdition – YOU, We and Crime”

1. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@John A May 24, 2021 12:00 PM “But is there not a segment out there that will still tell you ”I ain’t going out in no hot sun for $400 a week when I could sell that in weed in a day.”?

So EXACTLY WHO is buying that $400 worth of weed?

Where is that money coming from?

Can that $400 not be better spent on things that would uplift family life?

So whi is buying that weed?
    Poor people who struggle to pay the rent on their government housing unit?
    Middle class people who can barely meet their monthly mortgage payments?
    The rich people, who pay $400 per week wages?
    WHO???

Where is that money to buy weed coming from?

2. @Simple Simon

These are the same people some berate for not supporting alternatives to the duopoly? Where has our education dollars gone?

3. “So whi is buying that weed?”

everyone smokes weed from all walks of life

Bajans should stick to their hard liquor that kills

4. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna May 24, 2021 1:15 PM “What causes somebody to raise a child that HIRES somebody else’s childto sell drugs and kill to protect turf while he stays in the shadows?”

Complete CONTEMPT.

The drug dealers, all of them, the big ones behind their gates and the small ones on the block hold the rest of us in complete contempt.

5. @ Cuhdear Bajan May 25, 2021 4:41 PM
    So EXACTLY WHO is buying that $400 worth of weed?
    Where is that money coming from?
    So whi is buying that weed?
    Poor people who struggle to pay the rent on their government housing unit?
    Middle class people who can barely meet their monthly mortgage payments?
    The rich people, who pay $400 per week wages?
    WHO???
    Where is that money to buy weed coming from?
    (Unquote).

Can’t the same argument be applied to the money spent on the consumption of imported alcoholic beverages like brandy, whisky and vodka which stupid Bajans refer to as “big mout drinks”?

You have just argued most convincingly for the total decriminalization of the local production of marijuana.

What a perfect example for import substitution!

From $400.00 dollars to $4-00 per ounce of mary jane with no need to commit any white-collar crime to get the foreign exchange to pay the overseas dealers.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Theo
    I would target ICBL, they apparently pay referral fees.

7. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna May 24, 2021 1:15 PM “The countries at the top of the COVID death list are the USA, Brazil and India.”

Not really. The countries at the top of the COVID death list are: Hungary, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Czechia, Gibraltar, San Marino, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Bulgaria, Slocakia, Belgium, Brazil, Slovenia, Italy, Peru, Croatia, Poland, The USA, Spain and Mexico. Mostly smallish European countries hit hard-hard by the first wave, when hardly any country understood what was happening, or what to do about it.

The mortality rate in India is still “only” 224 per million, not much different from Barbados’ at 163 deaths per million, compared to Hungary’s mortality of 3069 per million.

8. 555dubstreet

Everybody in smoking nah marijuana, so I don’t no wah part yah get dat from. I only find out wah marijuana look like last year, when aa jamaican buddy aa mine show me some, and I has was to cut he off fah good cause, I don’t mess wah dat sort aa ting Ras.

Yah see big man, de man dat shit in de bush don’t remember dat he shitted in de bush, it is de man dat steps in it does. Blessing ….. move love ….little more me brethren…

9. @ Northren

Lord you too bad for true LOL!
    Theo ignore Northern unless orange is you favourite colour.

10. Dompey

you must be autistic as you take every half a fucking sentence literally out of context with 0 social skills

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller…they wasted 3 years playing games with the marijuana…the electorate needs to do the same when they turn up begging for votes…,,and remember they did not care about the HEALTHCARE of the people who are suffering and need relief by home growing their own few plants…

the vote beggars need to be reminded at every turn how they mistreated the Black population because they did not want them to have the marijuana….but there is not much else to do with it now but free it up, or keep it and go nowhere….🤣😂😂

12. 555Dubstreet

“Everyone smokes weed from all walk of life”

Ras, leave de ganja alone because it aa mess with yah reasoning ability …. Bless up …..

13. I heard that there is a slogan contest

Here is one, it isn’t original, but I heard that big money is being paid for used slogans (I prefer the term antique)

THE BLOOM IS OFF THE ROSE

14. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Miller May 25, 2021 6:12 PM “Can’t the same argument be applied to the money spent on the consumption of imported alcoholic beverages like brandy, whisky and vodka.”

Yes. The same argument can be applied to poor people wasting their money buying other people’s alcoholic beverages like brandy, whisky and vodka.

I believe that poor people, and specifically poor MEN spend far too much money on recreational substances for their own pleasure, and too little on necessities for their families.

If the thesis of David’s essay and many of the responses of commenters is that the drug businesses and the alcohol businesses are owned by wealthy Bajans and other wealthy people, why do we poor people continue to enrich the wealthy by our purchasing recreational products when as we say we have difficulty meeting the basic needs of ourselves, our children, our spouses and our elderly parents for food, shelter, education, health care etc.

After all do rich people stick us up with guns and demand that we buy their marijuana, cocaine, brandy, whisky and vodka etc.?

So I ask again why are we as a community spending millions of dollars each year on foolishness?

15. 555dubstreet

Dred, put down de chalice and mad dem with de Holy Ghost because yah talawa …..

16. Some stats don’t always tell the full story, Cuhdear Bajan.

17. Additionally, it is reported that India’s stats are faulty. Deaths being undercounted in rural areas. Probably so in Brazil as well.

It happens more so in large countries with remote rural areas and little infrastructure. It also happens within large extremely poor areas such as those found in Brazil and India, the likes of which are not to be found in Barbados.

Our health facilities were never overwhelmed. Our undertakers were never overwhelmed. Nobody was denied care. No bodies were dumped into mass graves. Heartbreaking!

All these things took place in the countries I listed.

And THAT puts them on the top of MY list of deaths, especially preventable deaths caused by Extreme Stupidity of the Trumpian Kind.

Hope that puts context to imcrease your understanding.

18. AC is like Tino Best. Every now and then she hits the wicket.

She hit the wicket with the Little island, big copy fiasco.

Tomorrow she will be back to breaking windows.

But right now it is – Little research, big ripoff!

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller….they OUTPERFORMED themselves with their ANTI-Black rhetoric and wicked actions…for 3 WHOLE YEARS……not even REPARATIONS that is RIGHTFULLY the Black populations’ they wanted them to have in their hands….they plotted and planned to keep 50 billion dollars away from the people….HAD THEY GOTTEN IT…..that’s how self-hating these parliament negros become AFTER begging BLACK PEOPLE for votes and becoming elected…and promptly fancy themselves elite and pedigree..

the only people will forget what they did are the short memory syndrome, slow thinking yardfowl/Slaves.

20. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

See how easy it is for the honorable Slaves to pick up the BLACK population’s money and give it away by the millions and billions…they don’t even blink..

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/05/26/249782/

their sidekicks at CXC made such an abrupt turn after UNICEF read them the riot act, ya won’t believe it’s the same nasty, arrogant lowlifes who were determined to disenfranchise the regions children….they all need to be BROUGHT TO THEIR KNEES.

they are lucky, i would personally pull their accreditation and make sure they never set another curriculum/exam anywhere.

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

And they are so HYPOCRITICAL and FRAUDULENT….due to their DISCONNECTION from ancestors and the continent…they can’t even make a speech that sounds genuine for Africa Day……those who know can see and feel the absence of what comes naturally to others.

it sounded and felt empty…just like them.

selling out the ancestral spirit for far too long would do that….the only clowns who disrespect and care nothing about their Black/African ancestry…no other group does this…

22. It wasn’t Rasta
    I didn’t check details of that cop who got shot by some robbers incident or the gun crime in Little Island
    but it seems people are blaming Rastas and Weed out of ignorance

10 against 1

23. Little Island => Island Crazy
    There is something about the Little Island mindset that makes those who leave it feel liberated like they were given clemency from a death sentence

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bLgNWyFOfzk

24. Well, well, well,

I see that it has taken a member from our ethnic minority community to speak out over the death of Shaquon Cave who, allegedly, died in police custody over a year ago.

We have have hundreds of underused and over qualified negro lawyers who remain conspicuous in their silence to defend the human rights of their own black people.

What a ting!

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/neutral-party-needed

25. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

This dude is the only one who looks into any type of breach…the 99.99% of Africans in the bar association have redefined the word useless as it relates to defending the majority population regarding human rights crimes committed against them….by everyone.

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Should we dare to wonder if the Black/African lawyers in the bar association feel any shame….do they even carry that capacity..

..i know some were afraid for their safety for many years, to speak out against human rights abuses on the population, but given the way everything is rapidly EVOLVING…that has become a somewhat weak excuse.

27. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

It should be also noted that in a bar association established in 1940 that is of predominant Black/African membership, that this is the first time in 81 YEARS that any lawyer has publicly expressed concern about those violations and serious abuses against the population …and he ain’t even of African descent.

yall should at least acquire the decency to FEEL shame.

28. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

TLSN…social media has gone wild with sharing that one…since MOST of the lawyers ….from the parliament to the judiciary, some turned judges, and others infesting here and there…..are the MAIN ABUSERS..

an independent body from ANOTHER JURISDICTION…is sorely needed, they all need monitoring and the abuse cases should be investigated FORTHWITH….there is a laundry list of them…….stretching back decades…..it’s a big job requiring many well-heeled players from elsewhere.

29. Beware of the Afro Man promising to give you sweet dreams that will make you scream little children

30. @ WURA-War-on-U,
    The man has evidently taken a calculated risk to get involved in this case and I applaud him. Will the black law fraternity show solidarity and offer to publicly support this attorney of Indian extraction and by extension the dead man’s family. Or will it be business as usual?

This is a profound story. And an opportunity for all Barbadians to come together to fight against injustice and fear of their leaders.

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

First opportunity in 81 years….that a bar association member actually stood up and said it’s time to look into the accusations. He should be commended, now we will see who is a human rights abuser in the bar association by how many join him….

it will be in their best interests to not try to stop this, or it will be a thing from east to west….i promise.

you should hear all the evil things they do coming out….people are tired and willing to talk just to end the nightmare.,,because they know their grandchildren will ask them WHY they did nothing…and claim to be educated.

..well i aint saying a whole lot anymore about human rights abuses, if they ever try any nasty tricks with another of my grandchildren, they will rue the day…am just waiting for the NEXT TIME…..with them there always is, these days they don’t know who is who…every generation mostly have different names…and that’s when i will go nuclear on them, they can guarantee that just as they are breathing.

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

it will be in their best interests to not try to stop this, or it will be a thing from east to west….i promise.

in case they forgot, i already told them am set up on the continent, so in no time at all all 54 countries will know about them….and their Black human rights violations..

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

They love grabbing credit and notoriety and i got just the vehicle they need to achieve that..

34. “From $400.00 dollars to $4-00 per ounce of mary jane with no need to commit any white-collar crime to get the foreign exchange to pay the overseas dealers.”

It is a plant that can be grown for FREE

a bit of gardening with green fingers is all that is needed

35. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/05/27/unicef-surprise/

“Hilary Beckles, says the organisation is a “little surprised” by the recent concerns raised by UNICEF over the format of this year’s suite of regional exams.

He also suggested the international body raised an alarm “without first having all of the information at their fingertips”.

they are always surprised when they get caught violating rights. CXC has done crap for decades with their uppity ill-mannered selves and little itty bitty power over too many children’s lives..parents who can afford to have to find a better way.

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

They really need to get the minority “bastards” and “terrorists” who have the means and connections to IMPORT guns and drugs by the containers and boat loads, and TRAFFICK/DISTRIBUTE them into the deliberately pauperized, depressed areas where the young men have NO OPPORTUNITIES, no means of survival and turn into :bastards” and terrorists as a result….

get to the root cause, shut down the minority big “terrorists” and big “bastards” living behind their electronic gates, and in huge mansions decked out with security cameras that can see all their surroundings..

some of the security they have would put the WH to shame.

37. A comment from Dottin.

Dottin feels community’s pain over officer’s shooting
    Darwin Dottin, a former Commissioner of Police, says he understands the public’s concern about the spike in gun violence.
    He also identified with the anger that followed the fatal shooting of Acting Station Sergeant Newton Lewis as he was attempting to thwart a robbery in his Rose Hill, St Peter neighbourhood on Saturday night.
    The gun violence and its causes have been getting the attention of those in authorities, said Dottin, a consultant to the Government.
    “I can say that from this position I know that the matter has been given careful study, particularly with regard to the causes that are driving this behaviour,” he said.
    In early 2019 it was announced that Dottin would be Government’s consultant on crime as violence continued to increase from the previous year and murders soared to a record 49 for 2019. Authorities recorded a fall in crime last year, particularly during the period when the country was under a state of emergency and a curfew was in effect because of the COVID-19 pandemic.
    Dottin said he was not willing to go any further on the matter lest he got ahead of those in authority who will officially speak on the appropriate responses to the situation.
    He said he was deeply saddened by the tragic incident that took the life of the bubbly officer.
    “He was a St Peter man like I am and I still maintain close ties to the areas where he lives. He is a very close friend of my brother and he was just the type of person you would like to meet on any day that you are feeling down. His shoutout and that infectious smile were sure to lift your spirit,” he said of Lewis’ personality.
    Lewis, a 46-year-old father, responded to a call for help to head off a robbery at a nearby shop. He and retired officer Lionel Ward, who joined him in the effort to stop the robbery, came under fire and while Ward escaped, Lewis was struck by a bullet and died on the spot.
    Police continue to hunt for his killers. ( AC)

38. “They really need to get the minority “bastards” and “terrorists” who have the means and connections to IMPORT guns and drugs by the containers and boat loads,”

You seem to love up whites
    but they are part of the criminal syndicates

39. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Did your DIM self not get on here and say you are NOT Black, so why are you inviting Black hatred…..find someone else who would share ya sadistic stupidity.

40. “Did your DIM self not get on here and say you are NOT Black, so why are you inviting Black hatred…..find someone else who would share ya sadistic stupidity.”

you are the only thick headed black I have come across
    an empty vessel and echo chamber a racist troll army of 1

41. When Oral Williams was Acting Deputy Commissioner of Police, he stated in no uncertain terms that the illegal guns that were entering Barbados, were doing so by legal port of entry.
    So why haven’t Dottin and Williams devised strategies to stem the flow of these illegal gun, since the both of them were aware of the caused of the problem?

42. ” Sir Hilary stressed that the regional testing body was on the same page with United Nation’s Children’s Fund (UNICEF), as CXC was dedicated to the “principles of fairness”.

He said the new changes announced yesterday were testimony to their endeavour to account for psychosocial impact of the COVID-19 pandemic as well as the volcanic eruption in St Vincent”

This is like verbal judo where you use the momentum of your opponent to your advantage.

“Like you I care. In fact, I am out there showing care”. You don’t deny and counterattack. Embrace and twist to suit.

43. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    The NBA now has a presence in Africa. Over one billion invested . Involved is former NDP player .Basketball Africa League( BAL). African players in NBA are investors.
    Like you said the message is getting through.
    We can either deal with what’s happening or continue to be …….,.,,,.
    Holness,PMof Jamaica Aldo looking to Africa after forty two years in the IMF.
    Reality kicking in ………..

44. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

William…Let these small time rats stay in their permanent colonial tourism dependent slave positions…

…,the more intelligent among us have ALREADY moved on..to BETTER and GREATER…..African Americans/UK Africans etc already saw what time it is, even Stevie Wonder, the blind man who could see..

and NOT for the element of corruption in Ghana or Kenya or Morocco as fowl Slave Enuff is hinting…

45. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

William…this is the new mindset of the younger generation on the continent. Don’t know what Fowl Enuff and its handlers think they will meet in those 3 countries but it may not be what they expect. They must have salivated at the amount in thefts via corruption they heard about….and fantasized at what corruption they can initiate. Again, they may get a shock.

“Politicians never tell the truth! We all know this, but we support them and defend their wicked lies because we have been conditioned into accepting that it is okey to lie in politics 😭😭😭

It is time to recondition our minds that it is NOT OKEY to lie to the people about today’s development and create an unbearable burden for tomorrow’s generations and it is not okey to defend corrupt politicians who intentionally destroy all progress of our society.

It is time for change of mindset in order to change the political and development paths of Africa.”

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The younger generation is POISED to take over the continent because it’s just a matter of time before all the old colonial has beens and sellouts DIE OFF..

……..so the corrupt in Barbados, their legs are TOO SHORT…… 😂😂🤣🤣😜

they wasted too many decades with black self-hate, anti black and anti-African philosophies and MISSED THE BOAT…..back to the continent…wasted too many decades being disrespectful of their ancestry and ancestors.

47. 555 wuh shite you talking? LIBERATED, MY ASS!

My mother could not wait to get out of England and back to Barbados! I have had many relatives that have returned when they had enough of England and America and several more planning to return. Bajans do not complain too much about Canada but I have a young cousin who was born there and is planning to leave and build his house on family land next to me. If not for COVID he would have been here a few times last year. Expect I will see him soon. He cannot keep away from Barbados!

Why do you people seek to behave as though Barbados is a prison? Some of us were born elsewhere and could easily return. But Barbados, though far from perfect is a cool place for many of us to live.

I smile and laugh far far far more than I frown, sulk or cry.

Put that in your spliff and smoke it!

And by the way, I don’t need a spliff for artificial happiness! The sun lifts my spirits when it rises.

Natural high! Like the Commodores album.

You may cuss me now! It will not remove my smile. Got too many mangoes, coconuts and sour sops on the trees and even the almond tree is bearing again!

48. @ Donna May 27, 2021 7:42 PM
    “And by the way, I don’t need a spliff for artificial happiness! The sun lifts my spirits when it rises.
    Natural high! Like the Commodores album.”

Oh Lordie!
    Even the Anglican-blind Donna is coming around to see the Light.

Keep on like Saul on the road to Damascus.

Someday you might just arrive at that crossroad of Truth to choose the path that leads to the most beautiful sight on Earth which is that very Light (right) above.

[May]
    “The Lord bless thee, and keep thee:
    The Lord make his face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee:
    The Lord lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.”

49. So, if O’Halloran was allowed to take 10%, what does it say about Eric Williams, as there is no way that Williams did not know what took place. Or do you think that Williams just let O’Halloran run rampant, with no benefit for himself? Have the US prosecuted the principals of the US company who Lindquist says paid the bribe?

How does this compare to the Inniss case and his prosecution?

https://www.lindquistforensics.com/scases/government-of-trinidad-vs-minister-johnny-o-halloran-mr-10/