Barbadians are rightly concerned about a rise in violent crime, specifically with guns. Those in charge see it as a duty to paper over concerns because it is about maintaining calm in the society. Overall crime statistics may be trending satisfactorily for those whose job description should depend BUT there is is rising concern by the public about violent crime, specifically gun crime. A significant rise in the number of murders since 2018 has caused tongues to wag.

There are some issues we have to regard of national importance and work together to solve. While working together there must be leadership at every level to ensure the change desired is achieved. Do we have the right leaders in place as the Attorney General, Commissioner of Police, Chief Justice, Director of Public Prosecutions, Director of Welfare department, Director of Probation department, Dodds, GIS, Minister of Education – the list is not exhaustive. This is on the enforcement and rehabilitation side of the equation to curb acts of crime; recidivism.

There is more we are obligated to do. A chain is as strong as the weakest link. Each link represents YOU, YOU and YOU. We see every day the wheelies, running traffic lights, littering the environment, flouting of government’s financial rules, acceptance of monies from those in the shadows to the campaigns of politicians and so on. We know this, we see it , we condone it by turning a blind eye, then we complain.

Barbadians are happy to cede the awesome civic responsibility to politicians- we are delinquent as parents, teachers, policemen AND politicians and expect the police force, government and said other delinquent players to play clean-up. There is no doubt citizens expect if laws are broken the authorities must ensure justice is meted out swiftly. What we want as well is for deviant and dysfunctional behaviour that leads to increase crime and specifically gun crime to be arrested as well. We have to hold agencies responsible- this includes GOVERNMENT- for enforcement ACCOUNTABLE. We have to hold ourselves accountable in order to be guardians of our fate.

In much the same way garrison behaviour is a way of life in some neighbouring islands, we are seeing a similar trend of behaviour in Barbados with violent crime centred in depressed communities. In the lead in to the 2018 general election concern was expressed by some members of the public about then Opposition Leader Mia Mottley seen in the presence of questionable characters on the campaign trail. Again some questioned why questionable characters were invited to the opening of parliament. It has become too blatant for many although it is known that the relationship between the criminal element and public officials have been blurred for a long time. The chickens are coming home to roost. We have reached the tipping point. There is no moral leadership.

Has the Prime Minister addressed this video? Our leaders must not validate wrongdoing by their behaviour.

The Barbados we romanticize is no more. Like community spread of infection caused by the COVID 19 virus, so too we have community spread caused by crime. It is why the vacuous calls by politicians for citizens to give up the bad boys and girls will yield little if any positive results. The underworld economy is well managed and families and communities depend on the economic activities attached to the arrangement. In the same way extra income is derived from kitchen gardens, baking and other type activities so too is criminal activity for too many.

The recent murder of a police officer by a band of robbers in the North of the island is an example of today’s problem. The horse has bolted and it will require a long term commitment to solving the problem at every level of our small society. 

Will the real leaders raised wunna hands – that means YOU, YOU and YOU.

280 responses to “The Long Road from Perdition – YOU, We and Crime”

1. The Attorney General has contributed to the escalating trend in Gun-Violence in Barbados, due to his lacked of efficacy in the initial stage of the phenomenal shifted in violent crime in Barbados.
    Moreover, many on social media have argued that the AG had taken a lackadaisical and nonchalant approached, to this gun violence, and at a time when he should have addressed the general public,
    to quelled the fears, and send a strong message to the criminal element.

2. The Barbados we romanticize is no more….I hope not…but as you are saying this is going to effect everyone.
    To the rich these bad actors are eventually going to run out of poor people to rob.
    To the middle class thinking I dont have much they wont come after me …… just like the guy saying to his buddy I dont have to out run the lions I just have to out run you …. you have more than them , they will notice and you will be a target.
    To the poor these arent your friends as rough as life is it can get a whole lot worse if the tourists dont come many have seen a glimpse of this from covid.
    They just shot a policeman for gods sake, not just a policeman a family man there should be total outrage aimed at not just who perpetuated this madness but the the who body of criminals. It takes people speaking up that is going to save barbados. You are not the USA you dont have to be Chicago on a saturday night but turn a blind eye to whats happening in your area and you will.

3. David
    We largely agree with your rendering.

Notwithstanding, we would tend to place more weight on the systemic failings, as causative, than merely the personal shortcomings.

Indeed, some may contend that all the leading characters in your essay were directly produced as a result of long malfunctioning systems. These are generally believers in ideas no longer true.

Those systems, long inherited, have never been confronted in a visceral way. Not at independece, not at the coming republicanism. In fact the reverse is true. For Bajans are still committed to the maintenance of the current architecture, come hell or high water. It it that commitment of which perdition is made an unavoidable certainty

4. @Pacha

Would tend to agree if those elected to serve and protect are failing us. That said the general population continue to shirk our civic responsibility.

5. David
    Yes, but while true you cannot have an elected dictatorship on the one hand and on the other expect a disempowered populace to be engaged in a system which marginalizes it but for once every five years. These ideas cannot coexist.

6. Pacha its a debate worth having but as the captain of a boat would suggest no sense arguing over if it was an iceberg or rot if there is a hole in the bottom of the boat we have to fix it first
    I

7. @Pacha

What you described is not the way the system is meant to work. Eternal vigilance is the price of liberty. Who is that final check point? We the people. We are meant to exercise our civic responsibility to act as the balance on the scale. If we cede that responsibility we end up with where we are today.

8. “There is more we are obligated to do. A chain is as strong as the weakest link. Each link represents YOU, YOU and YOU. We see every day the wheelies, running traffic lights, littering the environment, flouting of government’s financial rules, acceptance of monies from those in the shadows to the campaigns of politicians and so on.”

In our imperfect society we can expect some to flout the law. However, this new ‘YOU, YOU and YOU’ campaign seem to be an attempt to transfer all of the blame for our failures onto the shoulders of the common man.

The responsibility lies squarely on the shoulder of our leadership and the island will make no progress forward until GOB start rooting out and correcting our failed systems.

I make no excuse for inaction on the part of ‘YOU, YOU and YOU’ and indeed ‘You’ can do better, but let us not pretend that you who have often been ignored has any real power. The change must come from the top.

Seems like ‘I got this’ has become ‘YOU, YOU and YOU need to get it’

9. The infractions are often committed by a very small fraction of the society and not by YOU, YOU and YOU.

I may be swimming against the tide here, but the real fixes cannot be made by YOU, YOU and YOU.

10. If you do not have anything to say except criticize just move on. See last comment to Pacha. Nothing will change except leadership exists at all levels of civil society. The best we can do is weight the responsibility as Pacha suggests. We enter our homes and close the doors and refuse to hold public officials accountable? If not us who will hold them? What is the definition of civic responsibility?

#steusp

11. Lawson
    Many fixes were tried over many years, and we are still facing perdition, as the author proffered.

Certainly, this must be a time when we say that this system cannot work any more, is unfixable.

Yuh see how you are so resistant to consigning the whole shabang to the dustbin of history. That is as Bajan as apple pie. The very central point we made. Minds will never be opened enough to consider a wider range of possibilities beyond narrow confines.

There is never effective vigilance in Barbados once you comtinue to organize the society in the ways you have been.

If you had real democracy where the people are involved on a day to day basis there will be no need for vigilance.

We need not have to play these silly games about got yuh, descovering wrongdoing years afterwards

You are too reliant on a failed misleadership ethos. No matter how many times and the severity of its failings.

12. The problem in part is the Hollywood thinking like. Robin Hood Dick Turpin Bonnie and Clyde ….people who they say say took from the rich to give to the poor so in lore they are idolized. LOL no they kept it , they partied with it. I know Colombians that think Escobar was a benefactor of Colombia right up there with bolivar. This thinking has to stop these criminals are making some already unfortunate lives worse it has to be condemned by all

13. The only gang Mia is in is in the BLP political party
    http://scm.oas.org/pdfs/2010/CP24469E-4.pdf

14. @Pacha

You are conflating a couple things. The people must help to force the change we need, it may require a trigger like the George Floyd incident in the USA but it is the only way significant change will occur. Would the police leadership and others be open to reform if people of all colours did not march? What will be our trigger, the shooting of a good COP?

15. Wrong analogy David …. half the people dont think there are any good cops till they scream and yell for them to come help them.

16. @lawson

Will phrase it like this – we take the police for granted but the force is not blameless, where has community policing disappeared these years?

17. David
    You misread what is happening within the usa.

No genuine change will happen. They may give some tepid reforms. But black people in the USA will continue to die in this way as long as the country exist.

18. David
    No, if you say you have leaders. And those leaders have all the powah. How can it fall to ordinary people to do what the leadership dont see as critical. It is you who is in error.

19. @Pacha

That maybe so but it remains an unknown. Do you deny that from the civil rights days of MLK there has been some change in the USA?

A well functioning society has a close relationship with the level of societal level of civic awareness.

20. @Pacha

Why does history show leaders being overthrown/usurped? Who are the instigators of such action?

21. Of course David but we have problems on many levels but rather than the shotgun blast hitting everything you have to prioritize with pinpoint accuracy for what is most important to the island. I would suggest it is the economy, poverty and people working before social justice issues but however the masses choose the order that has to be the focus it cant be a scattered plan fix one move to the next.

22. @Pacha

What is the definition of civic awareness?

”…active participation in the public life of a community, in an informed, committed, and constructive manner …”

23. William Skinner Avatar

@ et al
    It’s a dangerous thing when people who know better become apologists for the apologists.
    I suspect there is sophisticated opportunistic hocus pocus in the shadows
    That being said @David saying : “The Barbados we romanticize is no more. “ is profound because for years when others said that were told that they were “throwing shade” or should pay attention to their “ neck of the woods “.
    Nothing like shock therapy to open the eyes ….,,,,…….,
    Time to put the false teet in water. The ball is over.

24. @lawson

The examples you highlighted are not operating in a vacuum, there is a relationship between all and a balance that must be maintained. What is key to managing the moving targets you may ask? Leadership at every layer of society with a civic minded electorate by their participation holding officials accountable. If there is no accountability then we will have problems.

25. @William

You are on ignore, it is your kind of toxic interventions that will get us no where.

26. David has a view that is discordant with the society that we live in. Then, to not see eye to eye with him is classified as just criticism.

If that is seen as criticism then he should entertain the idea that things are not are not as he imagined them.

Will continue to call it as I see it.

27. William Skinner Avatar

@ TheOGazerts on.”

“In our imperfect society we can expect some to flout the law. However, this new ‘YOU, YOU and YOU’ campaign seem to be an attempt to transfer all of the blame for our failures onto the shoulders of the common man.”

You are not “ swimming against the tide”. You are questioning status quo propaganda . When the country was falling apart YOU , YOU and YOU kicked their sorry DLP asses deservedly out. Now the crap is back YOU , YOU and YOU are being blamed.
    @ Pacha , some months ago, suggested that a solution was to go back to the polls for a fresh mandate.
    Now, I don’t necessarily agree with that but that’s about the only time the Duopoly cares about YOU , YOU and YOU.
    You are not alone , I saw through this foolishness even since. They@David) think people igrunt or wuh.

28. Who has a problem with others posting opinions? Is this what BU has been about for 15 years? The first comment posted by you was about throwing shade. If you disagree with the blogmaster state why and we can debate it, instead what do you do? Question the motives or intentions of the blogmaster. Do not have time for it, it is childish.

29. TheoGazerts

“Everyone has a part to play to address the problem of gun violence in Barbados”

Community involvement is an integral part to getting a handle of the escalating gun violence, because Parents must start turning their Sons, the Citizenry have to be more vigilant in reporting criminal activity to law enforcement, Law Makers have to implement sound laws to deter violent crime, Police have to look at new ways, strategies on tactics for fighting the gun violence, and the business and religious communities have also to play their part in solving the problem of gun violence and violent crime in Barbados.

30. The blogmaster does not post a blog for number of likes. He has an opinion to share like any other boy and girl.

31. William Skinner

Please tell us what remedy or corrective would you suggest in circumstances where an administration came to the country with a manifesto and when drastic changes were to be made relied on the same immoral mandate to make adjustments.

We just want to know what you would have thought was the right thing to do.

32. @David
    Raise your hand and head to the front of the class. This article should be required reading for every Barbadian for years to come.

I’m concert with your other article re the DLP it’s rather clear what needs to happen next.

Those who choose to ignore the blatant links and the open normalisation of certain sub cultures do so at OUR own peril.

When we eliminate the impossible that which remains no matter how improbable must be the solution. (Spock)

Just observing

33. William Skinner Avatar

When you accuse people of being unpatriotic,throwing shade and having some agenda for opposing you , what the hell do you call that: Mature ?
    Your thesis is weak; it is almost bordering on intellectual vagabondism. You cannot even recognize that people are being kind to you by being deliberately mild in their castigation of the inferior premise of your submission.
    You cannot deliver a thesis based solely on the governed and not the government. It is simplicity at its very worse and it has suffered the condemnation , mild as it is, it so properly deserves.

34. @Observing

As stated in the blog all the answers are not to be found in the political realm BUT for what it is worth if we accept Pacha’s perspective that the political leaders must be given a higher weighting- Verla as leader of the DLP is well placed to enunciate a crime action plan given her post grad training. She is reported to have obtained a Masters of Laws degree specializing in Criminology and Criminal Justice. The blogmaster has been around long enough to know what is required and what will be implemented by politicians in and out of office often differ because of the masters served to sustain the political class. This is not a unique circumstance to Barbados.

35. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Reducing the high level of crime and violence is our responsibility. Let us all play our parts. Finger pointing and the blame game have not got us any further in solving the problem. What are the preemptive activities that the authorities should undertake? What is the effective strategy to capture the perpetrators and the sources of the guns? Who are really behind this conspiracy to disrupt the stability of Barbados and why? Who are the benefactors?

36. People should chill more and not get worked up and angry about politics and life so much.

Here’s a couple of ambient acoustic soundscapes and cinematic tone poems that could work in tandem with film, theatre and dance.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjWMCaDbVKU

37. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    This is nearly fifteen years that I have opined that the best way forward for most Caribbean governments are governments of national reconstruction. In other words, the Duopolistic nature of most regional governments have outlived its usefulness.
    We need to gradually abandon how we elect governments . We must find a way to dilute the do call elected parliaments and place more power in the hands of the citizens outside of the five year five minute visit to a polling station.
    All of the Caribbean economies are in some form of economic crisis and this has been so even before COVID.
    While your call for a fresh election in Bim is understandable, all it would do , in my opinion, is repeat what we have here now.
    I call it the Maloney Syndrome.
    Six is still half dozen Pacha.

38. Not unique at all, HOWEVER, there isn’t much room to wiggle or hide in 166 square miles where everyone is essentially a second cousin.

Regarding Verla, she has to resist the temptation to siphon votes by using similar inducements. Would be a grave mistake.

As I said elsewhere, we no longer only have white shadows. Some are black, some are yellow and a few may even be red.

Don’t we have a Consultant to the Attorney General? Don’t we have two Deputy Commissioners? Don’t we have a “not bout hey” Prime Minister? Didn’t Dale Marshall call for Adriel Brathwaite’s resignation for less?

To those who revere our aunt we must remember that under a different dispensation she once controlled education, economic affairs and the police. Now she controls everything. Look at where we are now.

The solution will NOT be found among our existing political leaders. It’s as simple as that.

He who hath ears to hear let them hear.

Just observing

39. Skinner
    We would largely agree with your view on this, as you would know.
    But, if we are to fight societal maladies like crime how can it be then possible to mislead the people, all the people, with a manifesto and not see them as the only corrective, just over a years hence.
    What kind of democracy could this be?
    And if this is the kind of socalled democracy you have why are we to be incensed when crime increases?
    For us, this immoral act is the bigger crime, happening in the seat of government.
    Should these people not set examples?
    Maybe, on this point you and David are fellow travellers, united by the adherence to a need for leaders. On this point we beg to demure.

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, you have put this perpetual conundrum into focus so let’s gander : yes, we must take responsibility for who we elect to lead us and then continue to reelect in the face of their failures but as the Pacha and others highlight it’s moreso a systematic failure of our governance model that only gives definitive ballot power at five year intervals. …(Notwithstanding aggressive civic protests/legal challenges possible throughout a regime’s tenure)

Republicanism does NOT change that as he succinctly suggests … so on and on we go in this perpetual circle-mastubaratory self gratification where we find shortlived joy coupled with long spells of frustration!

Will we ever get recall-election legislation or as others have queried: proportional representation. No, no,no!

In another space you made commented about the need to find the charismatic leader a la ‘Singapore’ and that sir is a sad perpetuation of the grave problem we now have.

How can we place our hopes on the benign nature of any one man or woman … for every Barrow or Lee or even Castro (the good natured dictator type … and let’s NOT fool ourselves that Barrow wasn’t ) there is an Allende, Stalin/Putin and the Trump type politically or the Jim Jones or the Japan doomsday cult leader who led his peeps to gas a subway station!

This charismatic folly is badly misunderstood in that regard… we cannot rely or seek some saviour likened to a new man from the stars!

Currently our systems are poorly enforced … and we have all allowed that to persist as we all seek to use those failings to our advantage … that @David are you chickens fully at home in the roost!

Yes we are they and they are us!

41. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“but let us not pretend that you who have often been ignored has any real power. The change must come from the top.”

transferring blame to the public who are ROBBED billions of dollars, marginalized, oppressed and suppressed daily, their children railroaded into a prison system through contrived poverty is not going to work…..if it could, NONE of the aforementioned would be happening to the people, unless they were sadists enjoying their subjugation….so that you, you, you, can’t wash.

, what i blame the public for is NOT RISING UP AS ONE……and shocking the hell out of the criminals who are perpetrating these crimes against them..they do themselves and their families an injustice when they have taken it for too many decades to mention hoping for change……waiting in vain and .being defeatist is not helping either….

42. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Someone asked a very valid question and i believed it was my civic duty to reply, who don’t like it, too bad, lay down next to it..

“What is wrong with us as a country that we continue to stuck in the box?”

in a nutshell:
    your leaders are corrupt
    lack basic intelligence
    lack ethics
    lack morals
    are anti-Black
    are anti-African
    are anti-creative
    are anti-Black wealth
    are anti-Black empowerment
    are anti-Black sovereign
    are pro-racist
    are pro-apartheid
    are pro-white agendas

have you heard them talking about removing the colonial slave system that they did not create, that previously destroyed their ancestors and by extension 3 generations of recent survivors…which they oversaw….not one word about removing that damaging system, but they are going republic keeping the same toxic system in place..

…they have created NOTHING in 54 YEARS…so there you have it…

43. “Regarding Verla, she has to resist the temptation to siphon votes by using similar inducements. Would be a grave mistake.”

If her party offered free food she would/could probably get more votes

44. “the political leaders must be given a higher weighting”

But this is exactly what I am saying. YOU and YOU and YOU have a part to play, but our leaders should carry full responsibility for where we are today. Some would like to carve our society into little segments, but what is needed is a holistic fix. I am saying start at the top and then place whatever blame remains on a small segment of YOU and YOU and YOU.

Some serve the with a nice presentation. Some drop it on the plate, like slop. One truth.

@Dompey.. you missed what I was saying by a mile.

45. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Maybe, on this point you and David are fellow travellers, united by the adherence to a need for leaders. On this point we beg to demure.”

that’s what generations were socialized to believe, with no differing opinion or the ability to see any, gotta remember that you and i would be operating from an entirely different dimension that is foreign to most….where we don’t see the necessity for colonial agent leadership, which will always be counterproductive to the advancement of Africans….we learned that on our own through deep analysis, they were deterred from those perspectives.

46. @ Theo, I have to agree with you on this one. The common man is not to be blamed here. I have realized that Drug Crime is a big business in Barbados. The government is to be blamed because they have created an enabling environment for it to take root and thrive.
    The same people who own big businesses in Barbados own the drug business.
    Drug crime is employment for lawyers, accountants, customs, boat operators not just the young black men who are the face of the crime. It enables the real drug lords who live in the most luxurious neighborhoods in Barbados to pad their books with wealth. It is a whole vicious system. Government even makes revenue through taxation of legally imported cigarette wrappers. There is no cigarette manufacturing done in Barbados so why are wrappers on the approval list to enter the country? The answer is that they are destined to wrap marijuana which is still illegal. This has been happening for decades.
    The rise in gun related crime has caused a blur in the distinction between crime caused by underground economic activity as the downturn in legal economic activity is affecting everyone. There is less purchasing power and the criminal element is resorting to bank robbery, robbery and home invasions.
    This is yet another failure of the AG, the best perceived opportunity he had was to ensure that marijuana for recreational purposes was legalized and the growing of marijuana for medicinal purpose would benefit all Barbadians who wanted to be involved in the industry.
    Sadly this did not happen as the big businesses would loose their super profits and the hold that they have on the government.
    Now the entire social system in under threat.
    As I said drug related crime is a big business in Barbados.

47. @DpD
    Great post.
    Sometimes you see the ball like a breadfruit and at times the 😀 marble whizzes past.

I like the reference to Singapore. I have asked here before, what cause the different trajectories of Singapore and Barbados? Is it the leadership or the people?

A better analysis may be needed, but I believe one of the main factors causing the separation is our leadership.

I can give reason why I think this is so, but the accusation of throwing-shade or just criticizing is serving to silence some.

48. Does individual behavior ultimately aggregate into societal outcomes? Absolutely! That can not be denied.

But that is not the issue here. The issue is that we have a PM that fraternities with drug lords, has drug lords on speed dial, undermines police, etc. How does this not contribute to a situation where criminals become more emboldened in their criminality?

Rather than call on the elected officials to create the climate for greater civil engagement and enforce the laws already on the books I suppose it is easier to blame YOU, YOU and YOU.

Taken to its absurd conclusion we may as well blame YOU, YOU and YOU for all societal ills and absolve those elected to create lead the country because “There is more we are obligated to do. A chain is as strong as the weakest link. Each link represents YOU, YOU and YOU”.

Another slick piece of propaganda there boss. Almost fooled the Dullard— until I had a 2nd read.

49. Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

50. f you do not have anything to say except criticize just move on. See last comment to Pacha. Nothing will change except leadership exists at all levels of civil society. The best we can do is weight the responsibility as Pacha suggests. We enter our homes and close the doors and refuse to hold public officials accountable? If not us who will hold them? What is the definition of civic responsibility?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

MANY OF YOU DON’T SEEM TO UNDERSTAND THE REALITY ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND.

MANY OF THE SAME LOCAL POLICE INCLUDING DETECTIVES ARE INVOLVED IN THE DRUG AND GUN RACKET ISLAND-WIDE WHILST THEIR OTHER COLLEAGUES INCLUDING SENIOR OFFICIALS LOOK THE OTHER WAY OR ARE GETTING BRIBES.

THIS IS MUCH BIGGER THAN THE GUYS ON THE BLOCK DOING THE DIRTY WORK IN SOME CASES KILLING.

THE LOCAL POLICE AS A WHOLE IS TO PROTECT AND SERVE EACH OTHER AND NOT THE PUBLIC.

THE PROBLEM WILL GET WORSE NOT BETTER.

CONTINUE TO BURY HEADS IN THE SAND AND PRETEND THESE THINGS ONLY HAPPEN IN GUYANA, TRINIDAD, JAMAICA OR USA AND IS NOT RAMPANT ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND.