The news that Trinidad has overtaken Jamaica as the murder capital of the English speaking Caribbean should be a wakeup call for Barbadians. Despite several assurances from Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite and Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin – who seem persuaded by the statistics – ordinary Barbadians in the workplaces, supermarkets, bus stops and elsewhere have become very concerned that serious crime is on the rise in Barbados.
Barbadians in the majority applaud the Barbados Police force (BPF) for doing a good job to catch criminals. To echo the statistic given by the Commissioner during his most recent press conference, the BPF has a success rate of about 70% murder solve rate. The issue which the leadership of law and order in Barbados fails to grasp is that such a statistic will do little to quell the rising fear that murders and other serious crime is occurring in Barbados with ready frequency.
Of the many characteristics which differentiate Barbados from the rest; we are known to enjoy a stable social and political landscape. The one thing which can disrupt it is for crime to be perceived as being out of control. BU does not have to recount the story of the bloodbath which resulted in the hunt for Dudus Coke or the circumstances which led the Trinidad government to impose a curfew which has had to be extended.
Here is where it gets murky for the BU household and makes us question if the Attorney General, Commissioner et al take Bajans for fools. How are so many guns entering Barbados? Can the Police speak to why our borders are so easy to infiltrated by those smuggling guns into Barbados? Again the not so stupid Bajans know that where there are illegal guns to be found drugs will be also.
In order to win the battle against rising crime in Barbados, especially serious crime, we need to remove the huge number of guns in circulation and equally as important stop the flow.To be successful the Immigration and Customs Departments will have to complement what the BPF is doing or we are spinning top in mud. Additionally we have to stop the talk about cash for gold operations and shut those backroom operations down. The average Bajan knows that cash for gold is part of the problem. In the same way our government worked overtime to enact sunset legislation for CWC2007 the need to show the same urgency exist to legislate the cash for gold operation. We need to act and stop the dry talk.
Crime cannot be seen as an opportunity to spin yarns to look good for the public. We the people demand a solid action plan be drafted and the required resources made available to execute. Let us work harder to keep Barbados sweet.
WE need to resume hanging. it was brought to my attention that the ag said that there would be no hanging under his watch, but i am a bit dumfounded has that been removed from our books,
This increase in crime is frightening, until some one related to the powers at be family is murdered we will see a different approach. For years it has been rumored that the fishing boats
have beenused to peddle drugs and arms and we need to deal with the murderers in a swift manner so that pratt and morgan cant be used.
Do I have to get a gun by whatever means to protect self?
“The news that Trinidad has overtaken Jamaica as the murder capital of the English speaking Caribbean”
True news or false news?
Where or what is the source of this news?
the Am I hearing correct ?
The DLP in trouble ?
Is it true that Tan ABED has resigned from – the DLP ?
SHOULD WE BRING OUT THE CALVARY
This is my belief:
One can point a finger at a person,government,police, school, home! all of us have got a part to play to better our society.
We are educated, we can identify the problem/s; lets fix it/them. It’s already too late.
Our tradition, customs,communities are changing in different ways through the media, Immigration and Emigration, but we do not have to change for the sake of change. That’s not to say if something has been tried in another country which is sucessful we should not try or implement it.
We all need to adapt and adopt in order to ‘move with the times.’but our core values don’t have to change.We must continue to be ‘our brother’s keeper.’
Some of those we look to for ‘CHANGE’ are stuck in their little comfort zones, reluctant, incapable of implementing bold measures. Our Senior Law Enforcement Officers and Scholars are reluctant to speak out in case it offends a political party.
We need to begin at home;maintain dicipline in the schools; in our communities.
In earlier times, a child could be scolded by another person in her/his community if he see wrong; a law enforcement officer could do the same.
Now crime is committed in our communities and few people would report a crime.
During school term, especially at the end of the day, one can observe the bad behaviour, (especially the language) from our youths by the bus stops and other places. In my day, I was proud to wear my uniform. because I felt I could be identified by it; a pride and joy to be associated with wearing my uniform to school.
Our politicians and our communities need to look no further than right where they live to see the seeds as they grow.
The older folks should feel no shame or harm to demand respect; this must be shown by example.
We should return to community policing
(1) the officiers can familiarise himself with those in the community he patrols.
(2)The officers become more healthy.
(3)The officer may observe a ‘sore and implement measures to combat it before it becomes a ‘gaping wouund’.
(4) It saves on vehicle maintenance.
The ‘number one issue’ here is the lack of respect for others. We can see it clearly in the shops,supermarkets, hotels at our borders and most of all in our homes.
The Commissioner Of Police of Police is supported by a new UN report to be released in December on crime in the region:
“looking at the increasing levels of crime affecting countries in the region for the past seven years, Harriot said Barbados and Suriname were the only two islands not as adversely affected as the others.”
United Nations Development Programme report
(Caribbean Human Development Report On Citizen Security)
@ CCC
Why do you guys insist on looking at pieces of paper brought down from a foreign country that has NO idea of what’s really going on? If the UN really come down here, they wouldn’t be so quick to say that! Trust me, we’re sliding down the same slope that TnT and Jamaica have, and if we don’t nip it now, we won’t be any better….regardless of what overseas wastes of paper say!
@Seeker
you are bang on, Quick and decisive action is needed.
Let us continue to analyze.
Let us continue to hope for things pass.
Let us push our heads in the sand.
Let us fiddle while Barbados burns.
I’m a strong believer in people policing their own neighbourhoods and communities. It’s not the overall solution, but it really can make a difference.
Besides making the ordinary citizen feel more empowered about their own safety, it sends a message to the criminal element that they just can’t march into any neighbourhood and do as they please. It also helps out law enforcement and sends a message to the powers-that-be that the general public has set standards for itself when it comes to what they will and will not tolerate regarding crime.
JUST ASKING | September 14, 2011 at 11:10 PM |
SHOULD WE BRING OUT THE CALVARY
Who are you going to Crucify?
Pingback: Barbados: Learning from Crime in the Region · Global Voices
DAVID
You are really pushing the panic button.
No need, Barbados is one of the safest places in the World.
I told you so, some months ago I said Barbados is heading in the same way as Jamaica, T&T, aqnd St. Lucia, I was told I’ve spreading doom and gloom. I hope the powers that be will stop talkingf statistics and look at facts,
It’s better to have a high crime rate of minor crimes than to have a low rate with serious crimes. Almost everyday recently in Barbados, there is a murder, if it’s one per week, it means 52 per year, that figure might sound outrageous but we are heading there, since the month of July see how mant murders we have had.We have to nip the crime in the bud but the flower is already blooming so we MUST take drastic steps now to curb the increase of serious crime ib this country before it gets out of hand. Forget the politics and deal with reality, reclaim barbados for bajans to once more live in comfort, the longer it take the harder it will become.
@The Scout: “I told you so, some months ago I said Barbados is heading in the same way as Jamaica, T&T, aqnd St. Lucia, I was told I’ve spreading doom and gloom. I hope the powers that be will stop talkingf statistics and look at facts,
Why should we listen to you?
Why are you more authoritative over others?
A reasonable question.
Well said.. I agree with you completely. However the rise in crime is Largely due to the lack of jobs for the socially and economically disadvantaged in bim. As bob marley said “a hungry man is an angry” ..
Christoher Halsall
I never asked you to listen to me, I was just stating that I saw danger in the horizon for a while now but when i spoke about it I was criticised. I know you think that you and a few others are the “know-alls” but simple people like me with my life experience is knowledgable to see things too.
You have asked a reasonable question, I hope I’ve given you a reasonable answer. Don’t bother much about what I’ve said, let us put our heads together and come up with solutions to curb this increase of crime; that is if you are matured enough to think beyond yourself.
Christopher Halsall
Black people are quite capable of handling their affairs too. It is time people like you stop thinking that this world must see you are superior.
@ Nia,Sept.15,2011
I can see where you are coming from; but we still need the support of ‘the powers that be’, or else this could be deemed as vigilante/s at work, which could create a host of problems for those individuals, the police and the courts.
Some people in communities are lawless and will commit crime what may!
We need laws and penalties which will send a message.
@ David:
“Let us push our heads in the sand!”
That is exactly the point! Support for a few criminal element in a community, amounts to votes, so no one is willing to rise above and speak out.
If my mind is right, a few years ago, a black American comedian by the name of Bill Cosby spoke out at what he thought was the reason for low achievers, bad behaviour and crime amongst black communities; he was castigated by many who should know better; He spoke out ‘of term’.
We are a small developing nation with approx 300.000 people; crime should be minimal or not at all. We should all be looking out for each other. We have become a little nation of ‘self and greed’..
I was watching a video after the tsunami in Japan and was marvelled to see an orderly number of people in lines waiting patiently for their ‘turn’. Could that happen here?
Bad behaviour seems to be the norm for some. Lewd behaviour and disrespect is common.
Who amongst our noble men/women to stand up and call it lewd and demand it is stamped out?
David, Barbados was sweet once; those were the days when our neighbours could discipline his neighbour’s child; those were the days when one could leave his doors unlocked and go out shopping; those were the days when one needed something, he could expect some help from his neighbour; those were the days.
Materialistic things are not the problem!
Children have become adults and adults have lost all respect.
To sum up:
We have lost our way; if not at that point in time, we are pretty close; the light is getting dimmer by the hour.
Pingback: Barbados: Learning from Crime in the Region | Current Affairs
I would prefer to see the statistics reference to death by murder (they have been many) and death by vehicular accidents in the discussion. Maybe I missed it, but it would lend to meaninful comments and discussion.
Any murder is too many. an uncle just died at the hand of a nephew (family dispute resulting in a murder). Chadderton and In-law’s deaths was a brutal criminal act with use of firearms on defenseless men who did not even had a quarrel with the murderers.
It is not a pretty sight. I am suggested that we use figures, statistics and where family members need intervention – neighbours should assist amicably to bring about a sensible reasonable resolution.
When I was growing up here in Barbados, whenever there was a disagreement or heated argument – someone would say to both parties in the dispute ‘why yuh doan behave yuhself! leh de woman lone yuh gine spend two days over dah! Man it ain’ worth it’ Mind you, sometimes one would be offered a drink to ‘cool ‘e head.’ Fewer murders, less trauma.
Without that neighbourly love – look where we are. We have to reduce the crime situation, however, we have to know exactly what we are trying to reduce to maintain a level of peace and goodwill.
@Paradox
well written.
The police force needs to do mtelligence gathering where the guns are coming from and who are bringing them into Barbados. THe RSS would need to coordiante their activities better to help stamp out this gun racket. And regioanl commissioners need to watch for element within the force giving santuary to drug and gun pushers.
Materisalim is the order of the day, and some people will use their positional power to amass wealth by facilitating criminals.
@Carson
Barbados used to be, not anymore.
Maybe we have to find out who is guarding the guards
@The Scout
You are smoking!
barbados is a small country with a large population for its size. if you pee in the bushes on the side of the road someone will see you and may even call you to tell you they saw you.people look around you, if someone seems to have to much money, too fancy a car, clothes etc (and not the job to back it up) that should set off an alarm. keep watch, everyone in the hood knows who is dealing drugs and has guns. turn them in anonymously. police react to these alerts job done.crime nipped. simple stupid but works
@eyes seenit et al…
Call 211 (or 911) from within Barbados. (But only with a true emergency; please!)
They will ask you what phone number you are calling from.
Have they not heard of CID (Caller ID).
Obviously not….
Scout you are an alarmist on every subject, Barbados like any modern civilisation must be vigilant on crime and we are not doing badly there is always room for improvement. There is not a murder a week in Barbados thats a Scout lie. Why dont you go live in Trinidad the UNDP referred to TnT as Bagdad go and live in Port of Spain see what real crime is like.
True Lies
LOL. ya in lie.
LOLLL
My dearis Nevu Halsall
Waittttttttttttttt, Bro Scout bouncin at you very serius bosey. Rebutt, rebutt.
@My dearest Aunt Peppa…
Scout has a serious point worth considering: “Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
True Lies
People like you stick your head in the sand and hope to wake up one morning and find Utopia, When the gangs started in Barbados, I was told it was just a group of disturbed youth, today gang warfare has the every police scared, it’s only the “blue uniformed ” one the fellows run from. Drugs and violence is taking over Barbados and it is fueled by some “big-ups” , that’s why it will get worse because many afluent people are benefitting from it, these are the “untouchables”.
SCOUT
“Christopher Halsall
Black people are quite capable of handling their affairs too. It is time people like you stop thinking that this world must see you are superior”
You just had to stick that in there. I bet that you are a huge supporter of GLINE CLARKE.
I was on the phone with Trnidadian friends and they all want to come to Barbados to live.
Still one of the safest places in the World.
Scout
You are in fine form.
Doom, gloom, chaos, Anarchy.
You are really enjoying yourself even though nothing that you are saying is true as per usual.
Don’t you get tired of being wrong all the time?
If you currently rated worst in murder in caribbean then that make any other place in caribbean better. smh Guess the logic escaped you on that one.
Carson C @ 9:54
LOLL
Murdah. ya killings ma.
Ya tu swoiteeeeeeeeeeeeee.
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/woman-shot-dead-in-bush-hall/
Another soul went to its maker. but as carson say it can’t be true. smh
Here is another report from”over in away”, I guess that you are going to knock this one as well.
The World Economic Forum, an independent organization in Europe, has placed “poor work ethic in the national labour force” as the “most problematic” factor for doing business in this country.
Could this “poor work ethic in the national Labour force” be a contributing factor in a percentage of the deviancy here in Bim?
Some Bajans refusing to engage in meaningful and purposeful employment but lookoing for an “easy” way to a pay check?
Now we hear a manageress was shot dead near her home last night. First degree murder.
There is a problem. Yes. The victims are targeted by the murderers.
Rendezvous is quiet at the time – suspects were arrested and detained. Who are these suspects now that are behaving in the same manner. Suspect in Chadderton’s shooting murders were likewise arrested and detained.
We are horrified!!! Are we panciking yet ‘no.’ Why? We go to work and go home without looking over our shoulders and we are not in fear of it happening to us. We believe that the Police and all security forces are doing everything that they can to apprehend the criminals. WE assist the officers and are always co-operative with the Police.
NO BARBADIAN wants to live in fear in Barbados. We enjoy being polite, mannerly and to walk cool and leisurely on our streets both night and day. WE will do everything we can to keep it that way. YES we will!!!
Among the last set of murderers they apprehended was a deportee. Crimes in Barbados now are senseless, shameless and we cannot think that someone would do such a heinous act.
Working for self (entreprenuer) or someone else for an honest dollar is not among the goals of some of our people – however small the number.
Don’t panic, compared to our neighbours we are fine.
Stop being negative!
CCC
Why people like don’t stop burying your head in the sand? Is it me who is spreading doom and gloom? Since I made my last statement on the matter, another innocent nice lady was shot by another lawless gunman, how many more must die before we face reality and deal with the situation? Don’t deal with me, like many in Barbados, I’m scared to leave home at night and very causious during the day, this is not the Barbados I grew up in and this is not the Barbados i expected to grow old under. We need to put a halt to the lawlessness and stop plating politics.
David that was lots sarcasm right ?
Could this also be the origin of some of the crime in a country?
High officials being dishonest left, right and center?
I am sure we all remember the rampant corruption in Barbados under the Barbados Labour Party.
Could some of the criminals be taking a leaf out of the book of the Barbados Labour Party?
They might be reasoning that after al,l the BLP got away with it why can’t we?
Prosecutions may be imminent in Turks and Caicos
In relation to former Premier Michael Misick, the Commission recommended criminal investigation by police or others in relation to him of possible corruption and/or other serious dishonesty including misfeasance in public office in relation to the following and other similar matters in recent years:
— Misick may have abused his position as premier and as leader of the Progressive National Party (PNP) by using PNP funds for his own purposes;
— Misick accepted and failed to declare many gifts of money via the client account of his brother and attorney, Chal Misick, which were not, and could not reasonably be interpreted as being political in nature, and which he appears to have applied to his personal expenditure;
— The payment of $500,000 by Dr Cem Kinay, through his company, Turks Ltd, to Misick was a possibly corrupt payment;
— The receipt by Misick of $250,000, purportedly by way of loan from Inazio & Gataen Caltagirone, via the client account of Chal Misick, was possibly a corrupt payment;
— Undocumented and unrepaid loans to Misick, collectively amounting to about $350,000 from Jeffrey Hall, Floyd Hall or his brother and Lillian Boyce or her brother were possibly corrupt payments to him for favours given in relation to a transaction engendering the money to facilitate such payments;
— Misick in recent years accepted and failed to declare to the Registrar of Interests many gifts or purported loans of money via the client account of his brother and attorney, Chal Misick, which were possibly corrupt on account of possible favours given by him in his capacity as premier;
— Misick promoted the abuse of the Crown Land Policy on a number of occasions, and benefited personally from that abuse;
— Misick behaved in a possibly corrupt manner and/or in misfeasance of his public duty, by securing highly paid advertising contracts for his wife with the TCI Tourist Board and with Kerwin Communications purportedly acting on behalf of the Tourist Board, thereby potentially abusing his power with a view to enriching his wife and himself;
— Misick behaved in a potentially seriously dishonest manner, including misfeasance in public office and dishonest misappropriation of public funds, by his possible misuse of government funds and facilities for his personal purposes in his use of aircraft chartered or leased by the government for official purposes;
— A possibility of corruption and/or other serious dishonesty, including misfeasance in public office, in relation Misick in the chain of events leading to the eventual disposal of land at Joe Grant Cay at well below market price to a consortium led by Dr Cem Kinay, following the secret payment by Kinay of $500,000 to him in January 2007, followed by the approval by Cabinet on 16 May 2007, to which Misick was a party;
— Possible corrupt and/or otherwise seriously dishonest involvement, including misfeasance in public office, of Misick in relation to the government’s transactions with Mario Hoffmann of DEVCO for the development of Salt Cay.
Caribbean News Now
Remember former Premier Misick was in office from Aug. 8, 2006 to March 23, 2009 and look what he tried to get away with!
The Barbados Labour Party was in office for the better part of fifteen years.
Could their misfeasance in public office be genesis of some of the crime in Barbados today?
Just asking.
Even as we cry for a bipartisanship approach to dealing with the scourge of crime some would see the opportunity to bellow from a pulpit laced with an agenda on the altar of expediency.
@BU.David: “Even as we cry for a bipartisanship approach to dealing with the scourge of crime some would see the opportunity to bellow from a pulpit laced with an agenda on the altar of expediency.
The silly season has hit early this cycle.
Wouldn’t you agree?
@CCC [2011.08.16.0659]: “The World Economic Forum, an independent organization in Europe, has placed “poor work ethic in the national labour force” as the “most problematic” factor for doing business in this country.
Perhaps I’m not reading the same report as you. I’m reading https://members.weforum.org/pdf/GCR09/GCR20092010CountryHighlights.pdf
Therein (on page 8): “Third in the region, Barbados improves three places to 44th, continuing the upward trend observed last year. The country displays a rather mixed performance, whereby very poor macroeconomic fundamentals (115th), a small market size (126th), and, to a lesser extent, a relatively inefficient goods market (72nd) go hand in hand and are counterbalanced by first-class institutions (20th) and infrastructure (21st), as well as excellent primary (6th) and higher (26th) education, among other factors.
Please let us all know if you are reading a more recent report.
You need to get hold of the 2011 – 12 Annual report.
Ask General Secretary Dennis Clarke of the National Union Of Public Workers for a copy of his copy.
@CCC: “Ask General Secretary Dennis Clarke of the National Union Of Public Workers for a copy of his copy.
Is this report public, or not?
You claim you have a copy. Please provide it. BU.David is an excellent (and confidential) conduit for such documents.
I gaw bleahhhhhh gine into vigilante-mode. I meetin dem haff way or all de way eff any a dem fcuk wid me or minez. I in waitin pun de law nor lawless, I tekkin tings into my own hanz.
I gun fcuk up a boy or tu. I dead serius.Eff a kitty kat pull at my back door de wrong time, he dead ta fcukin me, Sorry kitty kat, ya pull de wrong door. ( I sharpenin my ‘lins’ as we speek)
@Dear Aunt Bonny… Please step back.
You may not realize it, but your immediate above language could be leveraged if anything actually happened.
@CCC: “You need to get hold of the 2011 – 12 Annual report.
I executed this query… http://www.weforum.org/s?s=annual+report
There was no resultant 2011 – 12 report.
So, then, either you are lying to us, or the World Economic Forum is.
Or both.
Hmmmmm….
OH DEAR ME CHRIS
It looks like you can’t read too well.
Let me repeat:-
“Ask General Secretary Dennis Clarke of the National Union Of Public Workers for a copy of his copy.”
My dear nevu Halsall
stupseeeeeeeeeee, outside rale cold, I gine n drunk a ol brigan. stupseeee
@CCC: “It looks like you can’t read too well.
Please trust me. I read very well.
Please let me repeat…
Please provide us with what you claim.
You bullshit artist….
@Bonny……..please spare de pussy, it might be yuh own yuh gine kill ded. Yuh want jail fuh killing yuh pussy? Leff de pussy alone. Rememba Lord Kitch wid de song my pussin well leff de pussin alone!
what yuh cooking dis rainy evening? Ah cook some grilled chicken and got some red beans and rice in coconut milk a Jamaican recipe ….umm smell and taste two sweet! My dogs waiting pon de food ah cooking and leffing out dem food. Dem likes my cooking it seems. Lawd eff dis rain keep up we gine drown dis time around.
CHRIS
One thing about you, you always want some one to do your work for you.
How much are you paying?
Islandgal
LOL.
Dis weatha fa leatha so jess now I gine n mek rite tings riter wid my boo. Nine munts from today I shud got a bran new new bran buoy or gurl. preferblee a buoy.
Stay chune fa updates.
@ Scout
You are 100% right to raise the alarm!
More than 25 murders in Bdos this year! That is ridiculous!
Too many Pols who are playing a game but are NOT true leaders. Govt needs to implement strict programmes to develop the youth. The option of FAILURE MUST BE ELIMINATED! POLITICAL CORRECTNESS BE DAMNED! Either youth choose to follow a plan that appeals to them and the needs of BIM OR you go to Military School for training and DISCIPLINE!
SIMPLE DAT! Legalise all drugs and thereby eliminate that high paying career option! Time has long come to do what is right for inexperienced youth everywhere because they know NOTHING!
The Pols dont have the leadership/ honesty to grab the situation by the nuts! Doing the clever things does NOT pay the highest price!
There was a time in Errol Barrow and Tom Adam’s era when we boasted about being a model for the world.
Now we are happy to benchmark against countries like us.
I will be heartened if we can go through this week-end without a murder.
Looking at the various reports “poor work ethic in the national labour force” seem to always to be in top 3 reason so I think we can ignore that as a factor for increase criminal activity.