The blogmaster tuned into the Brasstacks show on Voice of Barbados yesterday because the topic was about press freedom. It is a ‘large topic’ and one that could not be fairly discussed in 2 hours. The moderator Dr. Kristina Hinds gave it her best effort supported by panellists David Ellis, Carol Martindale (journalists) and Michelle Russell (lawyer).
A few observations from the show:
The traditional media must accept that citizen journalism is a permanent feature how the public consumes and distributes information. Opinion blogs and other social media outlets do not need validation from traditional media to continue to define the information landscape.
The traditional media must manage convergence of traditional and social media tools to maintain competitiveness to deliver on its mandate. This has nothing to do with acceptance and penetration of non traditional media players. The traditional media must ponder why there has been the explosion of citizen journalism activity. The reason is simple. Traditional media has fallen woefully short of playing the watchdog and advocacy role required in a well functioning democracy and can be cited for contributing to some of the challenges we currently face. The blogmaster will be fair to admit we have some unsavoury and dishonourable characters who resort to social media platforms under the cloak of anonymity to pursue mischief. Here is the rub, some of these unsavoury and dishonourable characters occupy honourable positions in the society when wearing other hats.
Panellists freely admitted local journalists are not adequately paid therefore a reasonable conclusion to make is that there is roomto question the quality of work by the traditional media. How ironic the Nation newspaper selected Senator Caswell Franklyn as the news personality of the year after he was sacked as a columnist with his appointment to the Senate in 2018.
The explosion of non traditional media means it significantly acts as an influencer; opinion shaper. Smart governments, best in class organizations understand the importance of leveraging its power. Does it explain why the Mia Mottley led government established the Department of Public Affairs? Of course it does.
If the traditional media was doing its job the blogmaster suspects the government and vested NGO agencies would be forced to add a more coherent and strident voice to issues of the day. It is unsatisfactory for the media practioners to say, we cover this story and that story offered on the program yesterday. It is how the story is covered to ensure resonance with the target audience.
- With the National Insurance Scheme severely compromised and government’s inability to make public up-to-date audited financials, why is this not a priority item for traditional media? Does it have to do with the lack of financial expertise in traditional media rank?
- With the hire of boutique firm White Oak Advisory to assist government with renegotiating contracts with local and foreign creditors, why the veil of secrecy concerning the current status of the relationship? A respected media should have been qualified to ferret out this information to serve the public it has a mandate to serve.
- What is the status of the Cahill Agreement and how much money are taxpayers liable?
- Since the 70s going back to late prime minister Tom Adams successive governments have tagged team to frustrate the proclamation and operationalizing of Transparency Legislation. Governance is not a sexy topic BUT the traditional media with its resources can do a better job to keep this important issue front and centre, that is, to report and at the same time distil its importance required by a well functioning democracy. Many of the problems we currently face are rooted in a crumbling governance structure.
- How was the Eager 11 case settled after several members took to the Court to defend their honour?
- What has happened to Senator Lucille Moe?
At the risk of generating a 2000 word prolix, let us agree there is a vacuum created by a poorly performing traditional media, this has given rise to a strident citizen journalism voice – the interference from deep pockets, the tentacles of interfering governments and members of the political class, the inability/unwillingness of local journalist/media houses to coalesce around shared objectives and strategies to deliver on the mandate of a high performing media…
Long live alternative media sources Carl Moore!
too much backward yardfowlism, backwardism, cronyism from the days of the dude who owned Nation, selloutism, hideupism, coverupism, hiding corruption, covering up for wicked criminal minorities and politicians.government ministers….in exchange for advertising dollars at the EXPENSE of the people…
…granted that many journalists were terrorized, threatened and set up over decades for trying to bring the truth to the masses,.. but..
….this is a new era and with citizen journalism, it means THAT THE CITIZENS HAVE THE BACKS OF THE JOURNALISTS….and will TEAR DOWN any government playing the same games from the Barrow era….and expose corrupt racist minorities UNTIL THEY RUN.
they will have to figure out …AND FAST…whose side they are on.
This program needed to go deeper.
Not a mention about the newly emerged media oligarchies like facebook, google, the ability of external actors to unduly influence local decision making et al..
These transcend the socalled “traditional media” failings and tired reshashing of old themes.
The core concerns should have been about algorithms, control of storage farms, and so on.
It has always been, and will eternally be, impossible to convince any congregation of bajans to see further than our noses.
Pacha…it’s the education system, the distorted system and not surprisingly the political lies and interference over the decades coming from the parliament..
..there is no vision, no thinking outside the box, there is not even a box, there is only a tunnel, tunnel vision……no anything that would promote upward mobility….it’s a one size fits all and the size is miniature.
System Hold Dem
Babylon Control Dem
Ball of Fire
History of the Future Part 2
Deadbeat NYAH Dub
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pmjtvSaR_H4
Dem no like mi address. Censorship is strong in Babywrong.
My issue is white liberals ain’t liberals they are plagiarisers and still cunts
Well said David. I had to laugh when the host Ms Hinds said journalists communications are not eavesdropped.
We have a serious issue of illegal wiretapping so I have been told when common citizens phones are tapped.
Was not surprised when a former operative in a drunken stupor blurted out names of persons phones who were tapped which included theirs which included journalists, judges, trade unionist and common people. I was never a threat so I was surprised I was included. Thus, I communicate fully aware that my emails and other communication may still be compromised.
What criteria is used to determine whose communications are intercepted?
Who authorizes these illegal wiretapping?
Abuse of citizens by politicians and their gazettes powers are a greater threat than the pandemic
Some of the persons who hold up as prim, proper and saints are fake.
My fear is that some individuals without instructions will do everything to protect whatever political party they support against persons who are seen as anti government. They can be no room for persons within any government institution who abuse their powers to look good to their political masters.
When we have FOIA and ITAL then I will see the need to move Nelson and Barbados becoming a republic. No use putting oil in a leaky engine.
@Kammie
Hinds admitted the program was a learning experience and she must be given some kudos for an attempt to peal back the scabs to show what is hidden underground. Unfortunately on a program like Brasstacks she will be constrained to do justice to such a topic @Pacha.
The lawyer made a good point about the fake news label being validated by so-called reputable talking heads.
Another key indicator of media performance was the lack of serious mention if at all of the local journalists association. The blogmaster can vividly recall former head of that moribund organization publicly stating of being aware of stories left on the editorial floor because editors were wary of offending large advertisers. His position counters that strenuously offered by editor in chief Carol Martindale.
“Who authorizes these illegal wiretapping?”
smallminded, corrupt government ministers, minority criminals with a lot to hide, control FREAKS, criminals politicians, lawyers etc who believe that is why they begged for votes from the people and are elected.
..they also keep files on people up at the Defense Force, but now we TOO have FILES on ALL OF THEM…..that we can SHARE WITH THE WORLD..
we don’t need to wiretap, if they knew what we had on them, they would RUN.
Slave Til You Die, No Matter What You Buy in Dub (Imflamable Air Mix)
Hung Drawn and Quartered.
If those black chaps want equal rights..
they will have to get in line for their rights
behind the gays, women and animals…
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=13BhlhY_W00
Electronic Angels / Techno Bitches
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bFvUgbu9RMI
Slave Til U Die (Water Boarding)
“the fake net label being validated by so-called reputable talking heads.”
the corrupt heads ARE THE FAKE NEWS…keeping the Slaves in line with MORE LIES…that’s how they confine and restrict them, they know their brains are mush and their mental state is that of RETARDS…no need for shackles or chains….mental bondage is much stronger, lasts MUCH longer and inescapable for the weakest minds..
just check the Slaves/fowls on BU and understand better the mental damage that the corrupt and their sidekicks can use to their own advantage…that’s how they have kept a form of slavery going on the island UNDETECTED for DECADES…and believe no one knows.
that’s how they have kept an INSIDIOUS form of slavery going on the island UNDETECTED for DECADES…and believe no one knows.
i bounced up on it quite by accident.
Whatever happened to BU’s reporter / shape shifter
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Dd7UuTs8-I
The bloggers made six bullet points in his/her post, but they are all reflect a lack of transparency. Transparency and accountability to the people are two hurdles that we must conquer.
“Since the 70s going back to late prime minister Tom Adams successive governments have tagged team to frustrate the proclamation and operationalizing of Transparency Legislation. Governance is not a sexy topic BUT the traditional media with its resources can do a better job to keep this important issue front and centre, that is, to report and at the same time distil its importance required by a well functioning democracy. Many of the problems we currently face are rooted in a crumbling governance structure.
Required daily listening for overseas Bajans.
https://vob929.com/listen-live-3/
Listening to a real Bajan woman talking real Bajan. sweet fuh days. VOB just found a way to silence her temporarily I hope.
Today Warnermedia, AA&T and Dicovery are today announcing a merger.
Primarily because of forces which include those we mentioned earlier.
Maybe we’ll see more mergers in the region as well. Implications?
@Pacha
Just read the story in the BU newsfeed. Consolidation will be the order of the day. We are seeing it on the ground as well. The latest one is Trident and Brydens insurance. Unfortunately Barbados is a taker of goods and services, many of our problems will flow from this fault line.
Regarding media ownership OCM already has the majority of marketshare.
True nature of neoliberalism. Prenteds competition but always moved towards monopoly. As monopolist the market and totally controled, so is price determination.
Fallen short is almost giving traditional media a passing grade
Traditional media has failed miserably
Yesterday on Vob traditional media displayed / put forward a defensive approach as a cover
Not buying much of what was offered as excuses
Traditional media has yet to put forth any significant effort where they have shown to do due diligence in investigation reporting
Example
The recent issue on the destruction of the coral reefs
The story was placed in the media after which no follow up of asking questions about the damages obtain or cost
Nothing
There are also other stories
Everything the traditional media makes a report it is told mostly by govt sources and stay as is
Even ossie Moore could do a better job
Last week I almost fell off my chair when one media moderator questioned a lady ability to determine whether ash was in her water
Needles to say his stance was problematic since no investigation by him or local athourities was done to clarify the woman’s story
Rightfully the lady brought her case with what she observed to be ash in the water
angela cox May 17, 2021 1:09 PM #: “Needles to say his stance was problematic since no investigation by him or local athourities was done to clarify the woman’s story. Rightfully the lady brought her case with what she observed to be ash in the water.”
There you go again. Yuh see how dangerous you could be?
And, “I almost fell off my chair when” I realized your flawed logic as you came with this silly story once again and essentially contradicted yourself in the process.
If, according to you, “no investigation by him (moderator) or local authorities was done to clarify the woman’s story,”……..
………… then, HOW was she able to DETERMINE ash was actually in her water?
Without an investigation, how could she have “rightfully brought her case to state what she observed was ash in the water?”
THE 2 X 3 ISLAND HAS NOT FAILED.
IT HAS REAPED WHAT HAS BEEN SOWN FOR DECADES.
GARBAGE IN GARBAGE OUT.
PUNCHING ABOVE ITS WEIGHT.
Artax
Look fool not going over this issue
I stand by my comments
Nothing u say gonna make me see or think differently
A similar topic occurred recently a caller revealed debt number’s he had
The moqderator challenges the caller as to where he got the numbers
The guy refuses to tell
It was embarrassing moment to tell the truth
The back and forth wasn’t warranted since him being the moderator could have avail himself to the facts and made the final call as to whether caller was being right or wrong
These moderators have a mind set that stretches to the point of wanting to prove the callers wrong
When in fact their job requires doing due diligence by way of investigating
@ May 17, 2021 11:22 AM
Blogmaster, did any of the participants on the Sunday Brasstacks programme give your Barbados Underground any recognition as one of the leading players in the Fifth Estate?
After all, it is a well-kept secret that the contributors to the BU provide a readymade (and free) source of ideas to mine and repeat them as either agenda (talking) policy items or, in some cases, to identify bloggers seen as dangerous individuals to be put on their political hit list as possible enemies of the pending Republican state.
@Miller
To be fair David Ellis mentioned Barbados Underground in a favourable light.
I laughed when I heard Martindale say that it took “courage” for the Nation to run certain stories about the government even though they may be a “backlash.”
Didn’t know it took courage for a media practitioner to report the facts. Should we call this a tragic irony or a sad comedy?
Just Observing
Yesterday program should have been called
In defense of the Traditional Media
@ David May 17, 2021 4:30 PM
He is probably one of your biggest fans. He ‘gets’ to know ‘real’ journalistic class when he ‘reads’ BU.
PS: It’s time you release our UK-based deviant from the bloggers’ jail. He has learnt his lesson. He has a very important ‘White Oak’ assignment to undertake for the BU family
@Miller
Nobody is in jail, comments are being moderated as you can see with John who continues to post. Good
[Whip Cracks]
The Negro body is strong to endure physical work
but not to use their mind to work
DavidMay 17, 2021 6:02 PM
@Miller
Nobody is in jail, comments are being moderated as you can see with John who continues to post. Good
Xcccccccc
Not entirely true
Ethics David
The Underground Railroad
E1 Georgia
E2 South Carolina
E3 North Carolina
E4 Great Spirit
E5 Tennessee
E6 Tennessee Proverbs
E7 Fanny Briggs
E8 Indiana Autumn
E9 Indiana Winter
E10 Mabel
However the Underground Railroad is metaphorical like Barbados Underground there is no train under the ground like the London Underground
The Free Hal protestors do not have the same gravitas as the Free Huey or Free Chicago 5 movements of radical 60’s and nobody wants to see a disgruntled old black Doctor as they’ll feel shortchanged with his poor service. Let them address and work their issues out over period of time or get therapy if they can afford it.
I can tell you right off the bat that these GIFTED youngsters families are EXTREMELY PROUD
..they are the future. Team work, hard work and family support always win.
CFrom left to right: Students Alannis Davis, Joshua Yeadon, Rane Frederiksen-Billett, Gavin Pennegan and Aneesa Alberg flanked by Teacher Shantell Harewood, after receiving their prizes. (Photo: Ministry of Innovation Science and Smart Technology)
A team of sixth form students of the Harrison College has demonstrated outstanding innovation, creativity and a commitment to “change the game”, ultimately emerging as the winners of the inaugural GameChangers Innovation Awards competition.
The Innovation Awards, a national ideas competition which was launched by the Ministry of Innovation Science and Smart Technology (MIST) in March 2020, is intended to foster greater levels of innovation and creative enterprise in the nation’s youth by allowing for teams from schools across Barbados, to submit a concept for a mobile video game.
The competition, the first of its kind, received overwhelming interest from hundreds of students from various educational institutions but ultimately the finals saw five teams vying for top pick. Notably, Harrison College was the lone school with multiple entries and the school’s three teams all made it to the finals.
Following the pitch component of the competition, during which the five finalist teams were required to present their concepts to a panel of judges, the Harrison College team of students Alannis Davis, Aneesa Alberg, Gavin Pennegan, Joshua Yeadon and Rane Frederiksen-Billett and teacher Ms. Shantell Harewood, confidently secured first place earning a prize of $20,000 for their school, $5,000 each and the opportunity to collaborate with international gaming company Unanimous Games to develop their game concept ‘Prides of Barbados’ and create a video game to be available for download.
The Alexandra School’s team of students Shania Griffith-Herbert, Joshua Gajadhar, Javier Husbands and Sierra Hurley supported by teacher Wayne Porte, snagged 2nd place and a prize of $5,000 for the team.
Speaking on the heels of the presentation of prizes to the Harrison College team on Wednesday, May 12th, the school’s Principal Juanita Wade indicated that she was ecstatic and very proud of the achievements of the students.
“Since the winners are working with international developers to bring the game to the public, we recognize that the benefits to these students will continue to accrue for years to come. We hope that others will be motivated to get involved in such projects in the future as we teach our students to be innovative and resilient especially in this COVID-19 environment where almost everything can be made available online.”
BWA repairing burst on a large-sized main in Sandy Lane
The Barbados Water Authority is today Monday, May 17th addressing the repair of a burst on a section of the 16-inch main in High Ridge Road, Sandy Lane, St. James. Repair work has begun and is ongoing on this large sized main.
@ 555 dubstreet May 17, 2021 7:00 PM
The retired journalist has a duty of penance to perform.
That boastful native son of the Bajan soil has to put his much vaunted ‘Ivy’ league investigative journalist skills to national emergency use.
Given his well-heeled connection with the London Mafia of investigative journalists he has to get to the root of this White Oak money tree to ‘reveal’ the connection with the branch ‘bearing’ the fruits of the finder’s fees which have been picked by the top local consultant with the affected British accent.
Maybe you can get some of your Mossad contacts from Golders Green to render some assistance to your anti-Muslim mate living in North London.
“The Free Hal protestors”
Nice. 🙂
Miller
There’s a definite rumour Hal going around that hit the bottle hard and has gone into a downward spiral while the world has moved on since his BU banishment to drown his sorrows but it could be fake news that I just made up.
() Chinese Whispers
here’s a definite rumour going around that Hal hit the bottle hard )**(
@David, some interesting (or maybe ‘wild)’ claims are made above … we too quickly fall into this rabbit hole that the awesomeness of modern life is so much better and improved than those of the past … and completely overlook the reality that for all the technical wizardry which undoubtedly improves information flow that in journalism there is yet the same (in fact MORE) biases and cowardice/negligent bravado which permeates that space!
I put t to you sir, that ‘traditional’ journalism can never compete with so called modern ‘citizen journalism’ of social media… because, 1) how can those who follow and are bond by ‘professional’ standards of conduct (and law suits) compete with folks who are “unsavoury and dishonourable characters who resort to social media platforms under the cloak of anonymity to pursue mischief” and 2) how can we compare social media which is first and foremost a ‘medium’ of disseminating info quickly and efficiently to many consumers with unparalleled operational excellence to the ‘medium’ that is the media of publishing info!
Chalk and cheese!
1…So surely every ‘professional’ media practioner knows “that citizen journalism is a permanent feature how the public consumes and distributes information“. ….
So neither does the “Opinion blogs and other social media outlets [seek] validation from traditional media” nor does traditional media try to DEFINE “the information landscape”.
Rather both groups are trying to CONTROL the information flow/consumers … that’s the income stream generator!
2…Similarly, all the traditional media power players (local/regional and international) ARE managing that convergence of the old parchment/AM radio practices with an extensive and often comprehensive social net presence.
The mergers and consolidation in that space have progressed at a rapid pace for over 10-15 years and as noted still continues unabated.
3…I must disagree that traditional media ponder “why there has been the explosion of citizen journalism activity” or that the reason is simply because “traditional media has fallen woefully short of playing the watchdog and advocacy role…”.
No sir… overly simplistic. The fact is that now more people have the type of devices to allow irrefutable (and superbly created) evidence of shenanigans and thus more ‘stories’ are out there…. but at every stage of our life (according to historical record) we ALWAYS had the non-traditional ‘citizen’ media person who started a radical newsletter, rebel short-wave radio broadcast or even did market square speechifying to CHALLENGE the traditional media.
Now these ‘viral’ social media stories seem to make those efforts look petty and paltry but surely the ‘Negro World’ (Marcus Garvey’s newsletter) or Elijah Mohammed’s ‘Final Call’ publication to name but two were anything but, petty and paltry!
Social Media/electronic communications is undoubtedly a powerful beast that has ‘shellacked’ many a tradition and previously ‘sacrosanct’ forms of life…. media publishing is but one such.
@Dee Word
Have no problem with your opinion that says advances in technology and the advent of the Internet are major contributing factors to the explosion of what is referred to as citizen journalism. However, what you cannot conclusively address is the pace at which it has penetrated in Barbados given the current state of traditional media in respective countries.
Bangladesh arrests journalist known for unearthing graft
DHAKA, Bangladesh (AP) — Police in Bangladesh’s capital have arrested a journalist known for her strong reporting against official corruption in the South Asian country where journalists are often threatened with dire consequences for professional work.
Rozina Islam, a senior reporter with the country’s leading Bengali-language Prothom Alo daily newspaper, was confined for more than five hours till late Monday in a room of a personal assistant of the secretary of the Ministry of Health, said her younger sister Sabina Parvin.
A secretary is the top bureaucrat of a ministry, and the room was inside the Bangladesh Secretariat, the downtown Dhaka premises where almost all government ministries are located.
She was then handed over to police and faces charges under the Penal Code and Official Secrets Act for the theft and photographing of sensitive state documents, said Harun-or-Rashid, an additional deputy commissioner of Dhaka Metropolitan Police.
On Tuesday morning, she was produced before a court in Dhaka where police sought that she be remanded to their custody for five days to be interrogated.
According to the case documents seen by The Associated Press, Islam is alleged to have used her mobile phone without permission to photograph documents related to Bangladesh’s negotiations for buying and collecting coronavirus vaccines while she waited inside a room of a bureaucrat involved with the process.
The charges she faces carry up to 14 years in prison and the death penalty if she is convicted, the New York-based Committee to Protect Journalists said in a statement.
Maidul Islam Prodhan, a spokesman for the health ministry, said Islam took photos of “important” documents.
“She was also taking away some documents. An additional secretary and a policeman challenged her at the time. Later, the policewomen were called in,” he said.
Islam’s colleagues at the Prothom Alo said she was at the ministry for professional reasons, while many questioned the illegal confinement of a journalist inside the room of a bureaucrat for more than five hours.
Islam’s family said she was physically and mentally harassed during the confinement. Video and images that went viral on social media showing a physical confrontation against Islam could not be verified.
Islam is known for her reporting on corruption involving the Ministry of Health and others. Several of her recent stories drew attention to the millions of dollars spent procuring emergency health equipment in dealing with coronavirus pandemic.
Journalists groups in Bangladesh and the CPJ demanded her release.
“We are deeply alarmed that Bangladesh officials detained a journalist and filed a complaint under a draconian colonial-era law that carries ridiculously harsh penalties,” said Aliya Iftikhar, CPJ’s senior Asia researcher.
“Bangladesh police and authorities should recognize that Rozina Islam is a journalist whose work is a public service and should immediately drop the case against her and allow her to go free.”
Human Rights Watch in a statement earlier this month said Bangladeshi journalists are risking arbitrary arrests, torture and harassment while a controversial Digital Security Act was being used against many journalists.
It said at least 247 journalists were reportedly subjected to attacks, harassment, and intimidation by state officials and others affiliated with the government in 2020. More than 900 cases were filed under the Digital Security Act with nearly 1,000 people charged and 353 detained —many of them journalists, it said.
https://www.yahoo.com/news/bangladesh-arrests-journalist-known-unearthing-064552643.html
you wrote:
” “unsavoury and dishonourable characters who resort to social media platforms under the cloak of anonymity to pursue mischief”
You really see a problem with that ?
” A wise old owl sat on an oak; The more he saw the less he spoke ; The less he spoke the more he heard; Why aren’t we like that wise old bird “
@William
What is your point? Be a man and clearly state what it is you want to say.
This is not about my gender. You wrote something and I asked in plain english if you really “see” a problem with it. I wrote what I wanted to write and I asked what I really wanted to ask. You may decline to answer the question.
Either answer the question or just ignore it.
Carry on William.
@William Skinner
The Wise Old Owl was incapable of multitasking….
I do not know who claimed that you cannot talk and learn at the same time? Listen! The more I verbally engaged with my coworkers, the better I am able to understand their behaviour based on what they do and do not say. This keeps me a step ahead of them!
Carry on Henry
{Intro}
Carry on…
{Verse 1}
Henry, you’re a bad, bad boy
Going around and fooling all the girls
Henry, you have to change
The wrong that you do will always follow you
{Hook}
Margarita you left crying
You’re a bad, bad boy
Angelita you left crying
You’re a bad, bad boy
Sonia you left crying
You’re a bad, bad boy
Monica you left crying
{Verse 2}
Henry, you have to change
The wrong that you do will always follow you
Carry on, Henry…
Henry, you are laughing now
Take my advice, look into your life
{Chorus}
Now I say, carry on Henry, carry on
You’ll meet pon your match one day
Carry on Henry, carry on
What goes up comes down, I say
Carry on Henry, carry on
You run ‘way, you must come around
Carry on Henry, carry on
That’s not the way to prove you’re a man
{Verse 3}
Henry, you are laughing now
Take my advice and look into your life
Carry on…
Carry on…
Leave the girls alone…Henry
{Hook}
Margarita you left crying
You’re a bad, bad boy
Angelita you left crying
You’re a bad, bad boy
Sonia you left crying
You’re a bad, bad boy
Monica you left crying
{Outro}
Henry…go home
Leave all the girls, leave them all alone
Carry on Henry
Carry on…
Why won’t you leave the girls alone…Henry?
Carry on Henry
Carry on Henry!
One fine day…boy, you’re gonna pay, yeah
Stick to one girl
Enjoy the world
Why won’t you leave all the girls?
Carry on Henry
Carry on, carry on
One fine day, Henry, you’re gonna fall down
Hear the words I say
Mmmm
Carry on…
Henry…
Carry on…
William…there will be a launch later in the year, media is evolving rapidly. This one is already on certain platforms on the continent, it will take a bit longer to hit the west. It is African and creative centered.
That’s how it has to be done in this new environment, who wants to stay behind….that’s on them…no one is forcing anyone to do anything.
@ Dompey
I agree with thee, oh wise one. You have now joined a select group , whose skills of dissecting everything written by others are extremely fascinating.
I am never afraid of learning. All these years I never knew that owls cannot multitask. My primary school teachers somehow forgot to tell me that !
Kinda of questions traditional media should be asking also by thorough investigation
Xxxxxxxxx
Why is the Attorney General not on top of his job. And why does the prime minister, a former attorney general, keep him in his job. First, Caswell has successfully challenged him on the constitution, including the appointment of a deputy commissioner of police, now the high court has rejected his bail amendment which proposed imprisoning innocent people for up to two years before they qualify for bail. Is the attorney general qualified? Does he understand the principles of human rights? Does he believe in democracy?
Copied
HAl
@ et al
Marshall should have been fired a long time ago. Complete failure just like Ariel Brathwaite before him. Six and frigging half dozen. The man is a clown.
William…they will all soon realize that they too are trapped in their own creations..
.luckily, as long as the population RECLAIM THEIR AFRICAN IDENTITIES…they do not need permission from honorable Slaves to do anything, they are THEN free to emancipate their minds thoroughly…and FINALLY move forward…they will be shocked at what is in store as long as they MAKE THAT MOVE..
Oh yes….TRAPPED deep within the DEPTHS of their own wicked, greedy creations….lawd.
Again i ask, WHERE are the human rights lawyers in Barbados, have they no backbone. Hanuman is the only one i see looking into any human rights abuses, christ, there are approx. 1400 lawyers on the island..
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/18/samantha-jordan-calls-to-be-cleared-of-covid/
Maybe Marshall knows where all of Mia skeletons are buried
If such is the case then she would have a good reason not to fire him
While Marshall on the other hand would have a serious PR case against her
Politicks makes strange bed fellows indeed
The problem I had with the current Attorney General is that he hadn’t the testicular fortitude, to quelled the real fears of the Nation, when the gun violent situation continued to escalated day after day, and yet the Attorney General refused to hold a News conference, to expressed his plans for combating the escalating violent crime in the country.
The Prime Minister maybe the be at all end all for some people, but she has developed a credibility problem, because she lied about the appointment of Deputy Commissioner of Police, Oral Williams.
@ angela coxMay 18, 2021 5:31 PM
Good one there, Ms “cox”! Never thought you were capable of sound non-partisan analysis. We can now see what your No.1 in the UK saw some while back.
A similar reason existed to explain why your PM Fumble was himself handicapped in his burning desire to rid his Cabinet of both Sinckler and the disrespectful Donville who was known to be laundering money from the time he was the MoH.
What we want you to do (but only if you are allowed by the blogmaster) is to ask the same Mia- who is the real MoF- what she intends to do about the duties and taxes waived by your crooked corrupt friend Stinkliar on that Mercedes Benz in which the Baloney fella is being driven around by a ghost staying at the Hyatt in order attend those grand openings for housing projects.
At least she could impress on that billionaire his moral obligation of purging his conscience by making a hefty and well-publicized financial contribution to the National Vaccination Fund.
Ac, you ought to draw to the attention of your former friend Mal(m)oney the Karma implications of the following moral principle:
‘To whom must is given, much is expected (in return)’.
We just hope Barbados is prepared to deal with the impending fallout from recent decisions taken by your opposing red administration.
MillerMay 18, 2021 6:13 PM
@ angela coxMay 18, 2021 5:31 PM
Good one there, Ms “cox”! Never thought you were capable of sound non-partisan analysis. We can now see what your No.1 in the UK saw some while back.
A similar reason existed to explain why your PM Fumble was himself handicapped in his burning desire to rid his Cabinet of both Sinckler and the disrespectful Donville who was known to be laundering money from the time he was the MOH
Xxxxxxxcc
Well at least we agree that the possibility of skeletons in Mia closet could be an Ace being held by Marshall
Well as for Don his ears were hard
Sinckler but who would have thought Mia would put the dumbest economist on a panel called economic advisors
Amm once again Mia has perfected the words Politics make strange bedfellows
Or could it be the skeletons are more than any one can imagine
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/18/harrison-colleges-entry-wins-innovation-award/
After gushing a bunch of utter political tainted shite to reel in and confuse DUMB yardfowls/Slaves, now we see the young gifted people and their invention in the news….
my apologies, but i do believe there are 3, not 2, African descended in the photo..
again A WARNING….about that program.
last one.
Here is one for the tourism pimps, don’t diversify, stay in DEPENDENT MODE… have no clue what’s really going but it’s clear that dependency is not an option anymore, but don’t mind me….AM A CREATIVE, ya know, one of the ones they love to suppress, oppress and disenfranchise in dependent Slave societies like Barbados for the past 50 plus years….because they believed tourism was going to last forever.
I absolutely abhor being dependent.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/19/dont-holiday-in-amber-list-countries-boris-johnson/
“British Prime Minister Boris Johnson has warned people should not be holidaying in amber list countries, after a minister said people could go and visit friends.
The confusion arose after Environment Secretary George Eustice said people could go to those countries if they quarantined when they returned.
It comes after news that some holiday companies are refusing refunds to such destinations.
That is because it is now legal to travel to countries on the amber list.
Amber warning
Mr Johnson said: “I think it’s very important for people to grasp what an amber list country is: it is not somewhere where you should be going on holiday, let me be very clear about that.
“And if people do go to an amber list country, they absolutely have to for some pressing family or urgent business reason, then please bear in mind that you will have to self-isolate, you’ll have to take tests and do your passenger locator form and all the rest of it.”
Barbados; media should be staying on top of these things all the time, lack of a signature from some uppity ass has a man sitting in prison unnecessarily when he could be finishing his sentence…then when you expose these clowns they want to take offense….it has reached the stage that the justice has to EXPOSE THEM HIMSELF…
“A visibly upset Justice Carlisle Greaves has sent a murder matter to the Chief Justice and the Registrar for their action after efforts to get the matter out of the Magistrates’ Court failed once again due to the lack of a signature.
And not only has the judge called the judicial system “broken”, he has said people spend time blasting the Caribbean Court of Justice for rightfully criticising the island, instead of doing something about the delays.
“This is unfair. A man in jail for over five years for a murder he wants to plead guilty to and we can’t make a move,” Justice Greaves declared yesterday in the No. 3 Supreme Court.
“That is a system that is totally broken down. And then we get upset when the CCJ talks about us. Rather than deal with our issues, we want to criticise those who rightfully criticise us,” he said. (HLE”
I remember Fruendel the Fool…blasting the CCJ instead of FIXING what is WRONG at the supreme court and everywhere else, but all yall are going to BE FAMOUS…the longer ya take to do anything about those toxic nuisances sucking on taxpayers and REFUSING to do their jobs, the closer ya are to being where ya belong.
Heard PeterWickham making all kinds of excuses for businesss that are playing fast and loose cutting low income workers salary by cutting there hours
What he convientally forgets that govt lowered corporate taxes and waived taxes for these greedy mongols with an insight that further down these self serving bastards could use those saving to hire employees and increase salaries at the lower end
However this mongrel talks nuff crap in defense of the evil actions some of these employers are waging against the low end employees
Don’t know why they feel they can do as they like to each other and to children….like they are not in enuff trouble for torturing children.,,they should be made to pay damages for this clear case of unlawful detention…under the guise of Covid.
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/05/20/mother-son-released-quarantine/
@ WURA-War-on-UMay 20, 2021 6:22 AM
And not only has the judge called the judicial system “broken”, he has said people spend time blasting the Caribbean Court of Justice for rightfully criticising the island, instead of doing something about the delays.
Now it has to take a ‘real’ judge to ‘man-up’ and confirm what many on BU have been saying for some time; some of whom have even been deemed persona non grata and sent into exile for ‘throwing shade’.
If we were to go by the guiding principle that the acid test of an ‘effective’ functioning state in the political system called ‘Democracy’ is one where an effective judicial subsystem also prevails, then Barbados, at this stage of its political (under)development, can receive only a grade of “F”.
Even little Bermuda- which used to recruit many a Barbados-born jurist and other law enforcement officers- is now in a position to make fun of the Bajan output from the Law faculty of the UWI which has now become the laughing stock of the region.
Barbados, really, cannot put on a set of governance clothes carrying the designer label “Republic” without, at least, washing its stinking underwear called ‘Justice’.
Miller…it’s a disgrace, and they don’t even care that despite all the denials it is now exposed to the world and about to be exposed EVEN MORE, as long as THEY ROB the treasury EVERY MONTH for a salary that NONE OF THEM HAVE EARNED IN DECADES…they don’t care..
.as long as they wear these shite titles and believe they are elite and better than the next Black person, nothing will ever get done, NO JUSTICE at the courts for the Black population…just as Barrow said…
and EVERY chief justice HANDPICKED by the unethical in the parliament does the SAME THING….they do NOTHING to change anything…so the CCJ and everyone awaiting some type of justice will be complaining FOR DECADES to come.
that is what happens when you put the Slaves in charge of the SLAVE SYSTEM…even that they destroy…..with their corruption, self-hate posing as empty professionalism, PRETENSE at elitism and IGNORANCE…they will pay a price for that.
@5/20 11:35 a.m.
Good reading.
Ralph Jemmott’s pieces are deposited here without any fanfare. In my opinion, they are superior to those of others who are given a build-up when delivered.
Miller…just saw a video out of Suriname where the people have gone after the Indian president they made the mistake and elected, they are determined that he has to leave and are chasing him down.. you know Surinamese people will VIOLENTLY OVERTHROW YOUR ASS…they don’t play..they have gone nuclear.
i told a family member this would happen when he got elected, ya could see the uppityness in his face..
never elect an indian in a Black majority country, it will not end well.
You have to respect Surinamese people, they DO NOT tolerate disrespect from those they elect and pay a salary, from the first sign of disrespect they all turn on you immediately,,,,as one…and you better leave,.,,because they see the INSTANT threat to them and their families.. ..and they come out swinging.
The time for RECKONING IS RIGHT HERE AND RIGHT NOW..
Has Mia and any black government RECOGNIZED THE BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS OF THE BLACK MAJORITY POPULATION in Barbados YET?
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/22/muslims-petition-govt-to-recognise-palestine/
has she or any black government RECOGNIZED the basic human rights of the Rastafarian Community that both black governments VIOLATE AS A SPORT…..and absolutely refuse to recognize…
look at them look…none of them have any shame…if they feel they are flooding the place with these people so they can do the same shite that the minorities are now doing on the island, guns and drugs and stealing sheep and house and land from the Black poverty stricken in the depressed areas, their sellouts better tell them that they will all be famous…
since i was a child you were hearing about this israel/palestine conflict, they happen all over the world, everywhere, which has not one shite to do with Barbados…
..these need to stop trying to put a majority BLACK COUNTRY in the middle of that shit……trying to force the people to take sides, Black people HAVE NO FRIENDS….and should definitely NOT TAKE SIDES in this particular mess….that is what happens when CORRUPT governments allow these minority shitehounds to do as they like, they take it to whole nother level..
the sellout negro stench is nauseating.
I will take a, no answer, as a NO…so let’s see her encouraging these jackasses sucking on Black lives.. for minorities… and place a BLACK MAJORITY country in the middle of a 60 plus year old CONFLICT, that the population has very little INFORMATION ON… KNOW NOTHING ABOUT and has nothing to do with Black people.
that is what government corruption causes, minorities now feel that they are the majority population and no one else has any opinion but theirs….but not one of them opened their mouth when it was revealed that Black children going through the GIS hell hole have been tortured using an 18th century law for DECADES in Barbados, not one of them..