Open letter to Brasstacks, VOB92.9FM

We shouldn’t justify apartheid and genocide.

Barry Wilkinson, Brasstacks Moderator

The Manager
Voice of Barbados (VOB)
c/o Starcom Network Inc.
River Road
St. Michael
Barbados, W.I

Dear Sir/madam

I was appalled to learn that on Sunday 5th November, VOB used its popular phone in programme, Brasstacks, to provide a platform to supporters and representatives of the apartheid Israeli government to justify the crimes this state is currently committing in Gaza that have outraged decent people in all corners of the world. These include the deliberate bombing of civilians in refugee camps, hospitals and ambulances resulting in the killing of thousands of people, including at least 4000 children. It is difficult to understand what would prompt the management of VOB to offer a platform to such people to try to justify these crimes. Do you think it would have been appropriate during the massacre of children in Soweto by the apartheid regime of South Africa to invite apologists for that apartheid regime onto radio in Barbados to “explain that the crimes they were committing were all the fault of Nelson Mandela and his terrorist ANC”?

To make matters worse, it is reported that the moderator reprimanded one of the panellists for comparing the activities of the Israeli regime and its supporters to those of Hitler and his Nazis. Again, it is difficult to understand what would have prompted the moderator to do this. At the most charitable, it would be that he had failed to do the necessary research to prepare him for discussion of the topic and so was acting out of ignorance. If he had done the research, he would have known that Zionism is a racist and anti-semitic political movement started in 19th century Europe that has nothing to do with Judaism, Christianity or the Bible.

He would have known that both Zionism and Nazism have a common source in the ideology of European settler colonialism, with its racist ideas of ‘the supremacy of the white man’ which has seen the genocide of indigenous people in the Caribbean, North and South America, Australia and New Zealand to name only a few places. He would have known that its founder Theodore Herzl openly declared that the aim of establishing a Zionist state was to form a rampart against the barbarism of Asia. He would have known that the state of Israel was a strategic ally of apartheid South Africa and is widely believed to have provided that apartheid regime with nuclear bomb technology with which to threaten Africa. If he knew all of this and yet reprimanded the panellist for likening Israel to the Nazis, then he himself is an apologist for apartheid and genocide.

VOB and its Brasstacks programme offer Bajans an opportunity to engage with matters that concern them both locally and internationally. Those who make the decisions regarding this programme should take their responsibilities seriously and not allow it to be used as a platform to justify oppression,  apartheid and genocide.

Yours

Tee White

53 thoughts on “Open letter to Brasstacks, VOB92.9FM

1. Was told the regular callers are still dominating ‘Brass Tacks.’ I’m hoping VOB ‘musters’ enough courage, to ask ‘Tall Boy, Straker’s Tenantry, Ms Undecided, Alvin, Stats Man, Ms P and especially Mr. P, to give the program ‘a lil break.’ Different day, same shiite from them. Ran me from listening. And Carl Moore used BU and the Nation to complain about BU’s anonymous contributors, while he remains silent about ‘Brass Tacks’ brass bowls.’

2. John on November 11, 2023 at 12:23 PM said:

It is comical but sad that so many big able people can continue to be so ignorant!!

No one appreciates what Zion is!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56VuNMo-kcE

Put to song this how the promise of Jerusalem is expressed.

The music was written at the worst part of WWI, 1916 when England had lost so many at the Somme.

In a way it presaged the Balfour declaration of 1917.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MKRHWT6xdEU

3. BARBADOS, IN ALL YOU DO…PLEASE DO NOT ALLOW THESE ASHKENAZI/KHAZARIANS TO TAMPER WITH YOUR FOOD.

If you think you are sick now, you ain’t seen nothing yet. This tribe poisons the Palestinian water and food.

Do not allow them into your FOOD nor MEDICINE.

THIS TRIBE IS EVIL. THEY ARE LIARS AND MURDERERS. THEY WANT TO RULE THE WORLD.

DO NOT ALLOW THEM INTO OUR FOOD. THEY WILL INJECT GMO AND OTHER GENE ALTERING ENTITIES.

4. The racist John Knox is true to form.

I wrote off Barry Wilkinson years ago when he replied to complaints of Australian cricket umpires “tieffing” by declaring that, “Umpires don’t cheat. They make mistakes.”

5. David
    on November 11, 2023 at 3:32 PM said:

People are ignorant because they hold an alternate view to you?

The concept of Zion has been around for millenia in the Bible.

I did not invent it.

For heavens sakes, we even have a Mount Zion in St. James and at one time Wildey was also called Mount Zion.

If they were not ignorant of the concept, they might just be able to point out in what ways the concept may have been corrupted.

But I am not holding my breath because it would take work and people are inherently lazy, …. me too.

6. ZION and Mt, ZION has got nothing to do with these murderous blood suckers calling the,selves the chosen ones.

Sykes-Picot is what/who gave the world the Middle East. These Europain LIARS cut up the World Map and f’d up the entire AFRICA.

ZION/MT. ZION the place where GOD dwells is in KENYA. Every Sacred work/word or knowledge pertaining to Ancient Black Folk these johnnies-come-lately stole it and inserted themselves into the narrative.

Everything that was ever pure and good and righteous they’ve have stolen and corrupted. Then gave gave us crap and we love the scraps.Then they tell the world Black People never contributed to civilisations. Blasted Liars!

They took the Helios Biblios and fuck it up.

https://youtu.be/OfikHjojDF8?si=wTxz4PCqA3n8_tr2

7. David
    on November 11, 2023 at 4:47 PM said:

Well hear this, some people do not believe in the rh bible.

Not my problem if they are too lazy to read and think about it, just proves the point.

• “Reminder:

1. On Wednesday the 15th November 2023, at 6.30 p.m., at the Embassy of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, Caribbean Against Apartheid in Palestine will commemorate the thirty-fifth anniversary of the Unilateral Declaration of a Palestinian State.

2. On Saturday 18th November 2023 at 3 p.m. , there will be a protest outside of the British High Commission, followed by a march to Freedom Square, against the current genocide in Gaza.

CAAP Team.”

8. @ John on November 11, 2023 at 4:49 PM said:
    (Quote).
    on November 11, 2023 at 4:47 PM said:

Well hear this, some people do not believe in the rh bible.

Not my problem if they are too lazy to read and think about it, just proves the point.
    (Unquote).

If people with a modicum of commonsense (unlike you) think about it they can only come to the stark conclusion that your book of Jewish fairytales has as much authenticity as the other ‘cultural’ books of mythological tall tales; whether they be Sumerian, Egyptian, Greek, Chinese, Inca, Aztec, Hindu, Muslim or even West African.

The mere ‘fact’ that the very first chapter of your “Bible” is riddled with ‘scientific’ lies immediately discredits your ‘sacred’ book and totally discounts it as being the only Word of some Hebrew-concocted god.

Despite that massive error, you continue to make some rather ‘truthful’ statements about Black People.

By insinuating that, of all the many different types of homo sapiens on this planet, the ‘Sun-hating’ albino people aka white people are indeed your god’s (aka Yahweh) favourite (aka chosen) people, you are effectively saying that blacks are at the other end of your spectrum.

And you could possibly right with your conclusion.

For it boggles any rational mind how black people could be so easily fooled by the very European Jew and Christian criminals- who traded and enslaved their very ancestors- into ‘believing’ that their Creator is a Jewish-invented idol called Yahweh and he has a European-looking son called Jesus.

The Chinese, Indians, Japanese, Incas, Aztecs and even the indigenous people of Australia must be really of the view that blacks- especially those under the influence of that brand of opiate called European Christianity-must be the most ‘stupidly-ignorant’ of all of the creatures on this blue planet.

9. 2. On Saturday 18th November 2023 at 3 p.m. , there will be a protest outside of the British High Commission, followed by a march to Freedom Square, against the current genocide in Gaza.

CAAP Team.”

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WUH LOSS.

NEXT TIME THEY CAN PROTEST BY JUMPING INTO THE CAREENAGE/WHARF TO PROTEST.

WHAT AN UGLY SIGHT.

10. https://youtu.be/2pn9ggFYtNI?si=9hobXojwQV69hClA

I never thought of this as a great song until I saw my lady dressed in all red. God, those two red shoes made her feet look so pretty. And her body in that red dress … The TheOmeter went off the chart.

It is a great day when you realize that your woman is even more beautiful than you thought she was.

Lady in Red by Chris de Burgh

11. https://youtu.be/eepLY8J4E6c?si=1Z7CkHbv8_0_sFNy

I like to talk about My Girl. I have been lucky and I hope my good luck continues….
    33+ years and I would not change a day… Not even a bad day.

My two bits of advice
    (1) if she is a good woman then leave your bullshit outside of your home.
    (2) most importantly, make this pledge to yourself… I will not strike the first blow

Life can be beautiful
    —x—-
    Will be on shams and scams i duty in the morning.

12. When the world especially West talk about Children’s development, understanding and the most important human values:
    respect, compassion, kindness, integrity, humility

you know it doesn’t apply to brown and black Muslim children
    when they are being blown up and put to sleep by mongers

13. Israel instructed Palestinians to move to certain areas and then bombed these places killing many, there is no escaping the mongers

14. Have you realized that as Israel adjusts downward the number killed by Hamas, the number of Palestinians killed by Israel is always increasing.

Also, it now appears that the beheading of 40 children was a next lie.

Slowly but surely, we are seeing the reasons given for Israel attack being proven false. We must now wonder if instead of being retaliatory, this was a planned genocide.

Looks like Israel and rabbit are well versed in Mathemagic.

15. “So Hal, were you out and about in London town enjoying the intense excitement of the moment?”

Hal doesn’t live here anymore on the Barbados Underground, unless he is working as an undercover reporter like he did with the Guardian Angels of the London Underground

He did not grow up in UK so he did not have to physically fight the National Front and Skinheads in the pubs, streets, nightclubs and even house parties like those who did on the regular, who had no choice but to defend themselves as they would always start trouble

When push comes to shove who gets the blame

16. I was leaving when I realized that Mr Brasstacks has not commented here.

Please be kind and considerate in your comments. There is no reason to hurt Hants feelings.

17. push come to shove on November 12, 2023 at 11:35 AM said:

“So Hal, were you out and about in London town enjoying the intense excitement of the moment?”

Hal doesn’t live here anymore on the Barbados Underground, unless he is working as an undercover reporter like he did with the Guardian Angels of the London Underground

He did not grow up in UK so he did not have to physically fight the National Front and Skinheads in the pubs, streets, nightclubs and even house parties like those who did on the regular, who had no choice but to defend themselves as they would always start trouble

When push comes to shove who gets the blame

You know, you are right so I will have to ask TLSN to ask Hal if he was out and about in London Town today to enjoy the sights and sounds of the great experience and excitement.

I would pay money to see Hal as a fully integrated and upright Englishman and a guardian angel walking among the throng undercover in his bowler and carrying his brolley.

18. John on November 12, 2023 at 10:04 AM said:
    I wonder if Hal as a fully integrated and upright Englishman, would agree with these sentiments today?

https://youtu.be/Ux6QOMM4lms?si=7HGbtY9YQ2IcINts

(Unquote).

As our BU sage Bush Tea would say: ‘What goes around comes around’.

In other words, Karma is the mother of a bitch!

Isn’t what is happening today in the UK (and other Western European countries like France and Holland) similar to what happened to the native peoples of the Americas (both South and North) and, indeed, Southern Africa from the time the Christian and Jewish invaders arrived in the so-called New World?

Didn’t the same thing occur with the arrival of Thomas Cook to the lands of Australasia?

The UK will soon to be rebranded as Engindistan (England India and Pakistan).

Just check out the ethnic origin(s) of the current beleaguered PM of the UK and his sidekick Home Secretary!

19. Could the sophisticated and naturalised British Harold Austin be the financial advice saviour of binga bonga binga Barbados natives?
    He could be the big fish in a little pond to make his daily bread in retirement final phase lounging in the tropical island paradise Retirement Community they call Bar-ba-doss chilling like Bob Dylan to the maxi maxi maxi-mum relaxation
    It dread inna ingland.. ingland is a bitch
    https://www.ftadviser.com/ftadviser-focus/2023/01/09/former-editor-hal-austin-chance-to-professionalise-advice-was-missed/

20. @DAVID

As you may be already aware, Minister Louis Farrakhan, age 90, has filed a US$4.8 billion lawsuit in the Manhattan Federal Court against the “ANTIDEFAMATION LEAGUE” ,CEO Jonathan Greenblatt & Abraham Cooper, SWC’s director of Global Social Action accusing them of interfering with his First Amendment Rights by wrongly labeling him an “ANTISEMITE”. The 11-count, 72-page lawsuit, with nearly 800 pages of supporting documents, was filed Oct. 16 in Federal Court.

LAWSUIT DOCX: https://s3.documentcloud.org/documents/24075483/farrakhan.pdf

“This lawsuit is to ensure that the abuse, misuse, and false use of the terms ‘anti-Semite,’ ‘anti-Semitic,’ and ‘antisemitism,’ as falsely charged by the [ADL] is permanently barred from being a tool to defame [Farrakhan and the Nation of Islam] and stifle the exercise of Constitutional Rights,”‘ he contends in the court papers…

21. Looka NATO telling Ukraine to try and surrender and not a body, not UN, not Iran, not Hezbollah, not Jordan, not Egypt not France, Not America, not the UK not a single ffing body won’t tell HAMAS to surrender.

Israel don’t have a problem, until HAMAS surrenders more of their terrorists will die and the world and Israel may be a better place.

https://turleytalks.com/nato-calls-on-ukraine-to-surrender/?utm_source=Earnware%20User&utm_placement=TTEWNL&utm_medium=email

22. John dwells in the region where the far right rides the anti-muslim bandwagon to cover up their racial hate of blacks and browns.

Far right hate Jews too.

23. Oy vey is this schlepper schmo schmuck futz klutz Johnny Boy Knox trolling or flaming with his spiel posts of Jewish yenta “thinkers” kibbitz meshugaas mishigas

Who’s this white boy knocking at my door!?
    I am what I am that’s all that I am
    But what I ain’t is spam, damn!
    Spam! Ain’t the move it’s imitation ham!
    I’m making all the suckers say “My God, what’s next?”
    Because I’m on some other type of shit that’s odd
    Well it’s the intergalactic connection with the rhythm section

“All the world are with us, not with you”
    Palestinian girl gives Israeli soldier a piece of her mind

24. TLSN

You all fellas like you getting back David Cameron, former PM, as Foreign Secretary!!

What you think about that?

Cruella like she gone for giving Rushi the finger!!

25. John on November 12, 2023 at 4:02 PM said:

“People calling this lady Cruella but Ms. Braverman needs to have every protester who broke the law tracked down, punished to the full extent and if in the UK illegally, deported.”

Dear John: It looks like ya “girlfriend” loss she pick.

26. Tee White

You are assuming that all of the Brass Tacks moderators are well read?

You are assuming that the Brass Tacks moderators have no religious biases?

27. @T White

For some people the Bible is the sole source of all knowledge. The Bible is the absolute authority on science, history, politics etc.

A friend recently “shelled me down” because friend disagrees with me on the present conflict in the Middle East. Friend told me “You know nothing about the history of this place, I do.” A few days later it was friend’s sibling’s birthday. So I asked “how old is your sibling?” Friend replied “I do not know.” Friend is the eldest child and does not know the birth date of youngest sibling who is younger than 65 and who was raised by the same parents in the same household until adulthood, but “knows” the long history of the people of the area now called Gaza, Israel, Palestine, West Bank etc. As my father used to say “I couldn’t say anything”

Ignorance is a curse.

28. Artax like you i am sick and tired of hearing the likes of Mr P , Alvin, Straker,sMs Decided nothing undecided about her and Mr Bascombe on Brasstacks every damn day.However the moderators like Mr Ellis, Mr Blackman and Dr Hinds encourage them by allowing them to speak for up to 20 minutes saying nothing new.I turn off my radio when i hear their voice.As far as Mr Wilkinson is concerned he is biased against the government and comes over as a knowall but to me is overated and an airhead of sorts.I gone.

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.