Submitted by Roslyn Shepherd

Demand for travel determines the servicing of routes by airlines.

The pandemic has triggered economic hardship worldwide, failures and or downsizing of some airlines, and in the absence of a definitive end to the effects of the pandemic, an on-going contraction in the demand for travel. This is bad news for Barbados whose economy is tourist dependent.

Whilst the country is in a wait and see position, it might well be beneficial if it looks at establishing a connection with Western Africa via air travel. As the most easterly Caribbean country, Barbados is nearest to West Africa, 6,406 km from Ghana and 7,431 km from Nigeria. There are seventeen (17) West African countries of which Nigeria and Ghana have a population of 100 million and 30 million respectively. Ghana is defined as a third world country but with the world fastest growing economy in 2019 and Nigeria, a rich 4th world country. Both Ghana and Nigeria have controlled the spread of Covid-19 and could be the main routes.

Demand for travel between Barbados and Ghana and Nigeria would have to be assessed by the Government of Barbados. In the absence of information, Barbados could benefit from promoting its educational institutions from primary to tertiary level. Parents who can afford tuition plus boarding and all the incidental costs might for a variety of reasons, prefer their children being schooled outside of the country. It might also be possible for Chefette to expand into West Africa. How Barbados can benefit from other aspects of oil rich Nigeria and agricultural based Ghana will also require research.

This suggestion is not new; both Jamaica and Guyana tooted flights to Africa but they failed to materialize. However, the present economic climate might just be right to follow through with these West African airline routes. Though flying to Barbados, most of Virgin Atlantic airplanes have been grounded by the pandemic. Dire warnings about the continued spread of Covid-19 in the USA, UK and even Europe do not indicate this airline will return to full flight in the short term. With assets grounded and the airline bleeding money, Sir Branson might well be receptive to a route from Barbados to West African countries. His planes would be back in the air earning money. There’s no direct competition. Ticket prices can be relatively cheap because the airline would be flying to an oil rich country, Nigeria. However, the viability of each route is incumbent on Barbados justifying demand.

Wouldn’t it be ironic if the former slaves in the Caribbean reverse the slave triangle to carve out trade between West Africa and the Caribbean and even North and South America.

This challenge is not outside the Prime Minister of Barbados’ orbit. The PM has resource people who can pull together a comprehensive Business Proposal. Her several interviews at the international level has raised her profile which should lead to contact and persuasion of the key international asset providers, Sir Branson or the alternative British Airways and though not discussed herein, the governments of Ghana and Nigeria.

This is not a start-up business where projected minimum start-up capital would be around $22 million in the first year as per a Business Plan done for a proposed new airline in 2010. The airport hubs, planes, personnel, etc., already exists. It would be interesting to know the flaw(s) in my idea.

360 responses to “Travel from Barbados to Select West African Countries and Back”

1. Apparently colonialism has assigned us different role. Evident in this thread is the negativity. As I do not like the Prime Minister I will focus on some of her negative actions to justify pulling down an idea. Not only that I will assert that the Africans colonial mentality prevents them from
    assessing a business venture such as travel to and closer ties with the Caribbean along with having a different launching point into North and South America and even Europe. I’ll not stop there but will mock and ridicule anyone who doesn’t hold my view point. Finally I’ll be constant with my barrage. If this doesn’t show mental slavery, I don’t know what does. Brainwashing can take decades to correct. Would be interesting to read ideas how to do so as well as how best to stop institutional racism.

There is no going back to the pre COVID period. Change is inevitable. We can either manage it or let it manage us. Sadly I don’t even believe those at the highest level are cognizant that the old ways won’t work any longer. This labour debacle is a case in point. What is even more concerning from my experience is the down right disrespect for labour, exhibited and expressed by a senior labour official.

2. Africans do not need to come to Barbados for a holiday as they have got sunshine all year already, they may set up businesses though. There is a lot of merit for Bajans to travel to Africa for business and going back to their roots for cultural educational trips.

3. @William 6:27 a.m.
    A gem. Worth reading two or three times.

One of the great thing about the blog is that we are able to see the viewpoints of others. Sure, we do some rocking, mocking, fighting and cussing, but there are many jewels that are strewn across the landscape.
    —————xxx—————————-
    I can understand those who object to some of the negative comments, but have they stopped to consider the negative comments are fact based and are not lies? Have they stopped to consider that we reached this point because of our love for secrecy and because our remedy is to try to silence the victims instead of punishing the perpetrators of injustices?

In the age of the ‘new’ media, the remedy is to clean up your act. New media ripped the lid off of Pandora’s box.

#ItIsNotShade_ItIsTheTruth
    #NastinessThrivesWithSecrecy
    #CleanUpYourAcTDonTryToSilenceTheTruth

4. The petty are only interested in covering up wickedness and there are those who condemn the posts then copy them, reword them and believe people don’t notice, because they want to pretend to be prim and proper while hiding human rights violations….all ya gotta do is observe them and ya learn all their weaknesses….those are the ones totally incapable of original thought let alone any forceful forward movement to make significant changes….BU is packed to capacity with those types of nuisances…we know the ones who are genuine, they can’t hide, because they don’t pretend..

Again, history is replete with factual evidence that these are the frauds that got people like Garvey, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Rodney King etc and a host of black freedom fighters imprisoned or killed and they must be AVOIDED AT ALL COST…

5. It is a misnomer. The falsity that there is some impermeable wall between corporate culture and culture generally. Meaning that we are to blind our eyes to all the happenings around us to mek a dollar.

That there is some unholy sacrament about business which makes it desirous of some unique consideration outside the four walls of lived experiences.

Even if and when markets are developed they are never free never fair and require eternal protection. This in and of itself goes to the general cultural construct.

6. @ TheOGazerts December 5, 2020 8:51 AM
    “I can understand those who object to some of the negative comments, but have they stopped to consider the negative comments are fact based and are not lies? Have they stopped to consider that we reached this point because of our love for secrecy and because our remedy is to try to silence the victims instead of punishing the perpetrators of injustices?”

Now what a “Gem” of words of wisdom straight from the mouth of the BU philosopher!

Telling the TRUTH must never be perceived as negative. Lies, yes; but never the Truth.

It is the one thing that can be used as a light to remove the “shade” of self-conceit and set you free as a nation while striving for improvement.

7. Again, history is replete with factual evidence that these are the frauds that got people like Garvey, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Walter Rodney of Guyana etc and a host of black freedom fighters imprisoned or killed and they must be AVOIDED AT ALL COST..they can actually be termed poison letter writers…

8. “If this doesn’t show mental slavery, I don’t know what does. Brainwashing can take decades to correct. Would be interesting to read ideas how to do so as well as how best to stop institutional racism.”

there are already people operating at a higher vibration putting systems in place, as you said it could take decades, and those who are too mentally confused, read Mia erc, although i can never say i don’t like her, it’s her attitude and policies are the problem, she cannot be involved because she is OWNED by those who are keeping institutionalized racism and exploitation of Black people alive, is an enabler and a massive part of the problem, not the solution.

but make no mistake, it’s being worked on at an international level…..but can’t be publicly revealed because of the usual suspects, who go out of their way to be destructive and try to interfere.

9. Brainwashing can take decades to correct. Would be interesting to read ideas how to do so as well as how best to stop institutional racism.

10. “Brainwashing can take decades to correct. Would be interesting to read ideas how to do so as well as how best to stop institutional racism.”

stopping institutional racism is a life purpose and a lifetime mission and the reason why people are put in a place in a certain time
    you should view racism from it’s original purpose of power and domination (like rape in prison) the view that people were superior or an inferior sub species was to justify the wickedness.

11. “Telling the TRUTH must never be perceived as negative. Lies, yes; but never the Truth.

It is the one thing that can be used as a light to remove the “shade” of self-conceit and set you free as a nation while striving for improvement.”

there are those who would be very happy to bamboozle and mamaguy Africans into picking up their hard-earned money and spend on vacation….with goddamn racist hoteliers mind you, not many hotels owned by Black people on the island…or pick up money by the tens of millions of dollars to invest on the island…which will be IMMEDIATELY REDIRECTED to the same racist parasites, but would not want Africans to ever know the true nature of the BEASTS IN BARBADOS…these are truly very DANGEROUS PEOPLE…..and when they get robbed by the same crooks….blame them as the victims….truly repulsive.
    well tough shit…because the Africans will be INFORMED ABOUT YOU CRABS…

Miller…truly disgusting, wild animals have more of a social conscience, because they take care of their own, regardless of demographics.

I’ve reached the stage where I know MANY CANNOT BE TRUSTED…so they will be kept at a constant cyber distance……

12. A thing is not necessarily true or untrue. It could be both.

13. @TheOGazerts
    Thanks.
    Peace

14. I will give one piece of advice though, although no one will listen and i really dont care if they do, yall are the ones already look stupid and ya have to degrade even futher to look stupider…but if there is any true leadership in that haunted house, not holding my breath….Mia would start by getting ALL CRIMINAL MINORITIES completely and totally out of the majority Black population’s economic and social affairs…..eg…treasury, pension fund, loans … EVERYTHING……dd i mention am not holding my breath, cause that’s kinda hard to do when yall are OWNED lock stock and barrel by the same minority criminals..

everything else is offlimits, only a certain group of people have acces to certain information…..and ya will have to figure it all the rest on ya own…since ya already know everything about everything..

even now am still not being selfish..

15. Truth must be framed in perspective.

16. WURA
    An idiot you say…but not a liar.

17. WURA
    Many contend that the biggest evidence of self-hate and betrayal of blavkness is marrying white. I say no more.

18. Langston Hughes/Quotes

What happens to a dream deferred? Does it dry up Like a raisin in the sun?… Or does it explode?

Hold fast to dreams, for if dreams die, life is a broken-winged bird that cannot fly.

I’ve known rivers: I’ve known rivers ancient as the world and older than the flow of human blood in human veins. My soul has grown deep like the rivers.

I will not take ‘but’ for an answer.

I stay cool, and dig all jive, That’s the way I stay alive. My motto, as I live and learn, is Dig and be dug In return.

Negroes – Sweet and docile, Meek, humble, and kind: Beware the day – They change their mind.

I swear to the Lord I still can’t see Why Democracy means Everybody but me.

I have discovered in life that there are ways of getting almost anywhere you want to go, if you really want to go.

As I learn from you, I guess you learn from me— although you’re older—and white— and somewhat more free. This is my page for English B.

Like a welcome summer rain, humour may suddenly cleanse and cool the earth, the air and you.

Langston Hughes

Backlash Blues

Mr. Backlash, Mr. Backlash
    Just who do think I am
    You raise my taxes, freeze my wages
    And send my son to vietnam
    You give me second class houses
    And second class schools
    Do you think that all the colored folks
    Are just second class fools
    Mr. Backlash, I’m gonna leave you
    With the backlash blues
    When I try to find a job
    To earn a little cash
    All you got to offer
    Is your mean old white backlash
    But the world is big
    Big and bright and round
    And it’s full of folks like me
    Who are black, yellow, beige and brown
    Mr. Backlash, I’m gonna leave you
    With the backlash blues
    Mr. Backlash, Mr. Backlash
    Just what do you think I got to lose
    I’m gonna leave you
    With the backlash blues
    You’re the one will have the blues
    Not me, just wait and see

19. Others contend that miscegenation invites the genocide of the regressive genotypes.

20. @ PachamamaDecember 5, 2020 10:02 AM
    “A thing is not necessarily true or untrue. It could be both.”

That’s a cop-out. LoL!

It’s call sitting on the fence which is good when it comes to the affairs of men (and mice).

‘Facts’ can change like the Earth was once seen as being flat and one could be put to death for arguing differently.

Would you say that your favourite book is full of ‘facts’ or the Truth revealed to mankind? Yet millions of people (some very highly educated) do ‘see’ it as ‘factually true’ like our Dear John and the two great popes (GPs).

21. @ 555dubstreetDecember 5, 2020 10:45 AM
    “Langston Hughes”

Wow!! Now Langston Hughes!

Kiki aka “555dubstreet” the man of many cultural genres.

From the ‘black’ hall of fame of Music to political radicalism to soul-searching poetry.

22. The Miller
    You seem to have discern the deeper philosophical meanings on which many a dissertation has been penned

No cop out!

And yes we have long determined, at the risk of ending up in a nonexistent hell, that that book of lies is replete from gen to rev.

But even within or around that cesspool of lies there is a bedrock of the truisms of Afrikan spiritualism as a hidden, plagerized, foundation as stolen by the Piso family of popes to construct their bibical lies.

There maybe many other examples where truth and falsehood coexist.

23. “WURA
    An idiot you say…but not a liar.”

you’re a consummate and well known liar on BU who don’t remember the last lie ya told…..ya famous….ya got caught in ya own lie already…lol

“Many contend that the biggest evidence of self-hate and betrayal of blavkness is marrying white. I say no more.”

fowl slave will contend anything, repeat anything, condemn anything and then still go marry someone white, those are the real FRAUDS AND TRAITORS….ya can find any number of them on here hiding…..even worse ya support WHITE THIEVES WHO ARE RACIST ROBBING YA OWN PEOPLE by the billions of dollars, stealing their tax dollars and pension fund, ya have no shame…fraud..

24. “But even within or around that cesspool of lies there is a bedrock of the truisms of Afrikan spiritualism as a hidden, plagerized, foundation as stolen by the Piso family of popes to construct their bibical lies.

There maybe many other examples where truth and falsehood coexist.”

and then some…the truth is astounding.

25. At the end of the day, everything is out there for who wants to access the info, by searching, so tough luck to the traitors and spies, yall already wasted all ya time and energy being low vibration, that’s where yall will remain till the end of ya days,…stuck….ya own mental purgatory.

26. this is the perfect time for ALL BLACK BUSINESSES TO RISE…..black people should be BUYING BLACK ONLY from here on going forward, shut down all racist businesses….who have ROBBED GENERATIONS OF BLACK PEOPLE ON THE ISLAND…with the help of sellouts..

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THIS IS THE MOST PROFOUND AND TRUEST STATEMENT YOU HAVE WRITTEN ON BU.

BUSINESSES CAN’T EXIST WITHOUT ONGOING REVENUE INCOMING RE MONEY WHETHER THEY BE BLACK, INDIAN OR WHITE OWNED.

TAKE THAT AWAY BY NOT PURCHASING THEIR PRODUCTS OR SERVICES WILL BRING THEM TO THEIR KNEES AND REMOVE THE POWER THAT THEY FEEL THEY HAVE OVER THE LOCAL BLACK BAJAN MASSES

27. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Here is a good idea for MIA AMOR MOTTLEY.

How about passing a HERITENCE TAX for Barbados????

28. @groslyn

Another insightful comment.

29. “I have discovered in life that there are ways of getting almost anywhere you want to go, if you really want to go.”

With or without the white man’s co-operation.

Langston Hughes poetry is studied at CXC.

30. And believe it or not, my money is thus spent as much as is possible. It is not possible to cut them out altogether at present. If we would join together and set up more diverse businesses, then it would become possible.

31. Baje we call that short sighted thought process the Mugabe effect.

32. At least stimulate your minds.

https://youtu.be/Hg1oAe-ZSBw

33. The closest barbados will get in doing business with Africa happened a few months back when Mia traded the bones of our slave ancestors for some Ghana trinket
    Also Ghana sending the Ghana COVID infected “nurses”
    Other than that Africa culture and way of living is miles apart from small islands in the Cartibbean basin

34. @ Mariposa

We are just going by skin colour and inheritance. So, using that logic, the white Americans and Australians are Europeans? And all humanity are now Africans, since we all came from Lucy? When do we cut the navel string?
    There are 7000 Caribbean islands and 44m people. That is enough for me, thanks.

35. William…read somewhere that the house approved legalization of marijuana, the senate is another story going forward, they at least are taking a step toward moving out of the dark ages…not everyone is that intelligent..

.what’s going on with the punching above their weight, pedigreed anyone knows…maybe the fowls know.

36. The throw a shade and overseas crew out in full force. No policy or intiative is good for you lot. The natives deserve to suffer, die maybe.

That said it is another beautiful day in Barbados.

37. Barbados could import African Culture
    (as well as all other world cultures)
    to complement it’s legacy of British and American (slave / capitalistic) culture
    when poor blacks talk about building bigger bank it’s usually in context of mind body and soul more than monies

The Unfinished Revolution
    Reggae Sounds, Shocking Dub

38. 🙂 pick-a-noise/salemites/tin foil/throw a shade/overseas crew
    🙂 I am not feeling the love. I am beginning to feel they love Mariposa more than they love the ‘overseas crew’

I will have to write down the list of names. I may be missing a few

39. Sweet.

40. Chinese in Barbados are the elephants in the room. When history is written Stuart and McClean must be blamed for bringing this on the people of Barbados. Thirty pieces of silver.
    Just read the number of stories about China in the Advocate; just look at the Confucius Society at the UWI. I am sure the Chinese funds it fully, including designing the curriculum and hiring the staff. All Trojan horses.

41. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

When I lived in St. Lucia some time back , I noticed many Business that the WHITE BAJANS in Barbados have locked down, were owned and operated by BLACK ST. LUCIANS.

42. @ Enuff December 5, 2020 10:38 AM
    “WURA
    Many contend that the biggest evidence of self-hate and betrayal of blavkness is marrying white. I say no more.”

So what would you call it if white marries black or black marries Indian (brown) or Chinese?

Your outlook on life is limited only by the size of your brain.

Mother Nature, through her ‘slave’ called Evolution, requires miscegenation among humans for the species to survive and to maintain the ‘Adam &’Eve’ project.

BTW, we still want to know if your Mal(m)oney man is going to present the people of Barbados with a New Year’s gift worth US$175 million (or will it rise to US$200 mill because of Covid-20) currently sitting in the bank and earning a ROI of zilch.

The Bajan economy is in really bad shape and would do with a good shot (of investment money) in the arm to jump-start it out of its current comatose state before the country experiences the full effects of a Great economic and social Depression similar to what occurred in the 1930’s.

When are Bajans going to get something similar to the ‘Roosevelt New Deal’ which could be easily dubbed the Mal(m)oney Deal for the gentrification of Bridgetown?

43. “Chinese in Barbados are the elephants in the room”

Hal is renown for his hatridge of all other coloured racists like an ignoramus

@ DofBu
    I would like to disassociate myself from Hal in the same overseas posse
    and be put into a separate one-love posse as I believe people are people
    and we are individuals not races with ugly faces

the younger generation are liberal minded not closed conservative minds
    so there is an intergenerational and spiritual and moral gap between us
    we are blessed and more conscience than the oldies

44. (*) Typo err

s/b Hal is renown for his hatridge of all other coloured races* like an ignoramus

to reiterate I my point
    I need to put into a separate crew from Hal
    or it is tools down and calls for a BU picket Strike

45. A big stadium concert in Barbados would have the whole population in the crowd audience

46. @Kiki

Barbadians are a generous people. We have always been receptive of others to our shores. Bottomline we are all human beings.

47. When I lived in St. Lucia some time back , I noticed many Business that the WHITE BAJANS in Barbados have locked down, were owned and operated by BLACK ST. LUCIANS.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

YOU ARE CORRECT.

THERE IS A REASON WHY BARBADOS IS KNOWN AS “Little England” AND MANY IGNORANT BLACKS FEEL PROUD TO SAY SO.

I FIND IT SO AMAZING THAT SOMEONE OF A DIFFERENT PIGMENTATION COULD LIVE SO HIGH OFF THE HOG WHILST BEING A SMALL MINORITY ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND WHILST THE OTHER BEING THE MAJORITY DARKER PIGMENTATION CATCHING HELL.

TIME TO BE SMARTER AND WISER WITH THE FEW DOLLARS IN YOUR POCKETS OR BANK ACCOUNTS.

48. Miller…this should sound familiar to many, black people creating all the wealth, getting robbed and mistreated and a bunch of greedy, lazy minority as*holes robbing them their money…with the help of parliament rats…

Don’t mind dumbass Enuff, short attentionn span probably forgot all about that nonsense already, they like to pimp into each other’s bedroom too much and then they want to berate Grenville for the sames thing…..

“For 350 years, slavery was the heart of the Brazilian economy. According to historian Emilia Viotti da Costa, 40 percent of the 10 million enslaved African brought to the New World ended up in Brazil. Enslaved persons were so pivotal to the economy that Ina von Binzer, a German educator who lived in Brazil in the late 1800s, wrote: “In this country, the Blacks occupy the main role. They are responsible for all the labor and produce all the wealth in this land. The white Brazilian just doesn’t work.”