The St. George North by-election is done and dusted and there are conclusions this blogmaster is prepared to make from the predicted result.

Although the political climate is ripe for a so-called third party political movement, it is evident the country is not prepared to seriously consider the option as presented. A collection of individuals who are individuals with no discernibly alternative message or philosophy making the simplistic assumption that disaffected voters would have switched support from the two established political parties. Individuals whose political parties lacked the resources to construct an apparatus in the constituency to signal permanence and allow for the nurturing of relationships with the electorate built on trust.

It seems Barbadians prefer political leaders who possess the panache, among other qualities, of a Tom Adams, Owen Arthur and Errol Barrow. The Stuarts and Sandifords represent a a deviation from the norm which is explained by political historians and informed commentators.

Politics has always been a bloody and dangerous trade, and it has become significantly more so in an age of instant communication, relentless 24/7 news cycles, social media and dramatically reduced personal privacy. And more exposed than anyone else in politics are those who aspire to leadership positions – as Francis Bacon put it four centuries ago,

The Conversation

Leading a political party in today’s world requires a unique skillset. Leading a third party against entrenched political parties will require a VERY unique skillset. Gareth Evans: how to be a successful political leader suggest political leaders must possess key qualities. The declining skillset shown by the political class is a global trend. It is not a Bajan condition and we should ask why.

• Serious intellectual ability
  • Empathy
  • Sound judgement
  • Basic organizational and time management skills
  • Communication skills
  • A clear sense of strategic direction
  • Unimpeachable personal integrity
  • A work ethic
  • Resilience

The life of a politician in today’s world is not easy.

There is enough data if the start point is 1991 when the late Richard Haynes led the National Democratic Party (NDP) in the general election to support informed positions in 2020. In the classic movie Star Wars, Yoda the character we love to quote said ‘the greatest teacher failure is.” which translates to – we learn from our mistakes. This blogmaster has concluded that meaningful change to the political space must come if change agents commit to a strategy of forcing change from within the belly of the beast. The odds of success seems more probable than hoping for a movement that will always lack the financial and people resources to invest in what is required to realise success. Butting heads with the establishment is not a task the courageous is keen to undertake.

In 2018 Walter Blackman attempted to be that agent of change – we suspect based on his body of work (Walter Blackman is BACK!) – by throwing his hat in the ring to present as a candidate in the 2018 general election. The strong culture which enshrouds the duopoly violently rejected him. It will be worth the time to study Walter’s brief odyssey into local politics to extract learnings.

If we keep continue with the same approach nothing will change. It is not escaped political observers including the blogmaster how Mia Mottley has been recruiting political talent and taking other decisions to consolidate the BLP’s political grip.

Can we discuss the Trojan Horse approach for 100 marks.

103 responses to “Fact: Stillborn Third Parties”

1. Another rabbit hole to distract BU comments from govt economic and social mess
    David have a heart
    Hotel workers begging to have a decent livelihood and u digging rabbit holes
    Yuh really take yuh readers for idiots
    Go bag yuh head

2. It would be a bridge too far to expect a pea-sized brain, too wrapped-up in the sameness of a duopoly, to appreciate the intricacies of how that central contruct continues to feed itself and extends its dominance based entirely on what happens at the fringes.

That there are hard limitations on what that duopoly can do is not a new phenomenon. We’ve seen the other half of duopoly under Stuart crimpled by fear, ignorance, cowardice and the harsh limitations exogenously imposed. But those who saw limitations then are now blinded by a loyalty to the dead half of duopoly.

3. @ David
    Where exactly are we supposed to go with this ? In this morning’s Nation, we have hoteliers practicing corporate black mail by making the NIS pay 75% of severance legally due to workers; over the last three days we have at least four different takes on the tourist industry; the governor of the central bank is saying that even if the economy grows it will be back to pre COVID status; hundreds of poor black primary school children are denied the right to education because they do not have tablets; the nutritional needs of poor black children with unemployed parents are a cause for concern; a teenager was shot in the face; another unnatural death in St. John; none of the needed facilities in the agricultural sector are working; farmers are losing animals to some illness believed to be in the feed.

4. All a function of good governance eh William?

Hopefully you are able to connect the LARGE dots.

5. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

As I said at the beginning of the SGN campaign,

THE BETTER CANDIDATE WILL NOT WIN!!!!!

The man with the better proposals stood a good chance of losing to a Candidate who said that she is not political and that Charles Herbet affair was “unfortunate””. His level of proposals would have taken SGN to higher heights. He was the only Candidate worth listening to. His proposals was certainly at a higher level.

But the people of SGN when ONCE asked, said, “GIVE US BARRABAS”. They preferred to live in the squalor they live in.

It has nothing to with the man or his party, SOLUTIONS BARBADODS.

Over 200 or something people saw the BRILLIANCE of those proposals and saw how they could be of great help to them and their community and voted for them. THOSE PEOPLE ARE TO BE CONGRATULATED. they didn’t waste their votes.

However the vast majority preferred to remain poor and hand to mouth.

GRANDVILLE PHILLPS II

Take a bow, you have nothing to be ashamed of You tried to help the people of SGN but they didn’t want your help, it is no reflection on you , but on them. They have put in TONIE MOORE who like her predecessor will do nothing for them for the next 100 years..

6. David
    We suggest Bree St. John, Cummings and David Thompson could be added to the list if undesirables, for leadership.

And arguably they all had been somebody’s deputy, we seem to recall. Deputies have rarely made good principals for Bim.

You sighted one person who tried to make an intervention. We see certain personality traits common and undesirable between him and another recently rejected unmercifully, and rightly so as well.

7. @ Pacha
    You are probably the only person who would want to put Bree St John as an undesirable. But then again I honestly don’t think you have ever heard or read anything about his contributions to trade and particularly fisheries and tourism. Your obvious ignorance of the man’s contribution to your country is more than alarming.
    Peace

8. @Pacha

Thought about including Thompson and Bree but disqualified them on the basis of a brief tenure.

9. @William

You are missing the point big time.

10. @ David
    Are you of the opinion that St. John had a brief tenure . Are you so narrow that you would reduce his contribution to only being a PM or a Deputy.
    Don’t you know that whenever a history of the new media in your country is written , Barbados Underground would have a well earned mention. Should your place in history and your contribution be denied because you never owned the Advocate or Nation?
    You’re are perhaps now one of the most powerful people in your country.

11. Rabbit hole mentality
    Maybe Bradshaw was right barbadians are idiots
    Poor bajans continue to suffer relentlessly attack after attack on their livelihoods and David BU talks about Third parties which time and time again been written off by the electorate
    Even the dlp was giving its walking papers which leaves a govt to trampled on workers rights and feed the big belly merchant class at taxpayers expense
    Now BU resorts to running cover for govt with mundane and mindless articles which in no way speaks to the country social economic problems and we see the usual rabbits suspects like pachaman heading down the holes
    David i await your steupse response

12. @William

We are discussing leadership in a context. See if you can wrap your brain around the point proposed for discussion.

13. William Skinner

This writer knows well of Bree St. John. Knew him personally.

But we have tried to go beyond the mentality of those too imbued in the bits and pieces.

For us leadership has to be about things which go beyond merely effective management, operational effectiveness.

14. Cited

15. @ Pacha
    Sophistry or personal relationships mean nothing here. I did not know Comrade Castro personally.
    Like I said , if I were to follow your useless argument and put writers in “ contex “I would determine that you can’t write because you have not published a book far less a best seller yet. Your skills cannot be judged simply because of self imposed nonsense. But then again some argue that to be considered respected one has to have a doctorate and face some board of ones peers. Amazingly, we are very colonial when it suits us.
    I don’t accept your foolishness about a man who made an outstanding contribution to your country being branded an undesirable on any measure.
    I really done with this bogus discussion.
    Peace

16. @ William Skinner November 20, 2020 9:16 AM
    “Don’t you know that whenever a history of the new media in your country is written , Barbados Underground would have a well earned mention. Should your place in history and your contribution be denied because you never owned the Advocate or Nation?
    You’re are perhaps now one of the most powerful people in your country.
    Peace.”

Maybe the Barbados Underground (BU) will be presented (soon) with the golden opportunity of fulfilling the dream you have for David of BU by making its media presence felt more widely in cyberspace.

Will He the BU King be that boldly imaginative to replace the ‘dying’ Advocate, that old lady of Fontabelle, but only as a digital takeover?

It would be just a straight forward case of one David replacing another David as the King of the Bajan media cyberspace.

17. @Miller

The answer is a resounding NO!

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU
    Populations much larger than ours find it difficult to fund and man more than two political parties. I always thought it was foolhardy to expect a population of just over a quarter of a million persons to need more than two parties. Extrapolating from the constantly repeated duopoly thesis, there is no divide of political philosophies. What we have is an unwritten agreement for a group of persons with homogeneous left of centre ideas to form the GOB alternately. It is a game of musical chairs and the Electorate plays that game quite effectively.
    Is the Bajan approach to democracy efficient and effective ? I think so it delivers. It suffices. Those who want to make changes on the margin must join the Duopoly and wait their chance. Effective changes can be achieved through this method. I think the Electorate has bought into the system. They are more socially and politically aware. And that is what we should expect from an educated and intelligent citizenry.
    David you should be in the vanguard of getting the newcomers to join the existing parties . They need fresh blood ,new ideas and persons who can assist the populace in formulating a vision fit for the 21st century. We are not there yet.The attitudes are mired in a 1950s perception of politics.

19. William Skinner
    No. You just want to think that because a man made a set of good contributions in the management of the country those and those alone equate to leadership.
    We do not expect to ever convince you that management and leadership are not the same thing.

We have had this argument before. You can never convince this writer about your limited view on this matter and vice versa.

Gallop on! Have the last word. Today we’re nursing a position.

20. @ William

…..hundreds of poor black primary school children are denied the right to education because they do not have tablets; the nutritional needs of poor black children with unemployed parents are a cause for concern;….(Quote)

You must realise racism has nothing to do with such poverty, it is the fault of the parents for not working and supporting their children.
    Plse remind me of the number of white people (not the Redlegs) who queue up in food banks, or walk Broad Street begging, or whose children do not get the b est of education, including private tutorials by the very teachers in our best secondary schools who often fail black pupils.
    Is this what we call the Stockholm Syndrome, having no objections to being kicked by the massa, but only to him doing it in front of the other staff?

21. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU
    The days of Politics being a blood sport came to an end decades ago with the “politics of inclusion”. The term was recently coined ,but a clinical analysis of our post 1930s politic al development would indicate that we have always practiced it. Research and reflect on the political formation and amalgamation of parties in that era.

22. @Vincent

Agree with 80% of your postulation. Hopefully we can flesh the 20% as the discussion develops.

23. @ Vincent

We have had this discussion before. A first-past-the-post electoral system encourages a two-party system, one wins, the other comes second. With proportional representation you get a number of minority parties since government is often formed by coalitions. It is rare for any one party to get 50.1 per cent of the votes/seats.
    So, the absence of a so-called third party has nothing to do with policies, but the system. Israel, Germany, et al.

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin at 10:06 AM

No trips down rabbit holes for me today. The topic is about stillborn third parties. Do you have any insight as to why third parties do not thrive in Democratic societies? The system for electing of a government is fair and free elections. We have chosen the first pass the poll system. Your obsession with proportional representation has many more consequential issues that have been ventilated in learned political science journals and in the press. This topic is not about that.

25. (Quote):
    What we have is an unwritten agreement for a group of persons with homogeneous left of centre ideas to form the GOB alternately. It is a game of musical chairs and the Electorate plays that game quite effectively.(Unquote).

Isn’t this the same argument William Skinner has been prosecuting all along?

A de facto One-party state run by the BDLP Duopoly engaging in a game of one-upmanship with the naïve voters (pawns) seen as piggy in the middle.

Why not save the taxpayers money by banning elections since the politics of inclusion seems to be the only dish on the menu as confirmed by recent turncoat events.

Let the prevailing configuration of Parliament remain, permanently, absent the pretend Opposition in the form of a make-believe LoO.

26. GRENVILLE PHILLIPS II

All the commenters on BU were fairly bitter against you even though it was this same BU that encourage you to form SOLUTIONS BARBADOS.

Even the BLOGMASTER WAS PRO BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY and resentful against you.

They complain against some thing and when you try do something about it they turn on you and curse you. But GRENVILLE PHILLIPS II you have nothing to be ashamed of. As I said before the fault lies with the majority of people of SGN. Some saw the light and voted positively, they should be given their weight in GOLD.

THE PEOPLE WHO VOTED FOR YOU, THEY ARE THE ONLY ONES WHO DID NOT WASTE THEIR VOTES.

27. @Miller

You can do better. We are discussing the fact third parties have presented with the same philosophy as the duopoly therefore the problem cannot be solved by shouting third party especially after the data set we have been building since 1991.

28. @ Vincent

You had better take your head out of the rabbit hole, or whatever it is in. Plse re-read what I said. That it is our liberal democratic process which is at fault.
    It encourages a two-party system. If you do not understand, plse ask for an explanation. Some systems, ie proportional representation, encourage multi-party systems because governments are usually formed from coalitions (Germany and Israel are two good examples)..
    In its most elementary way: third parties are still born in our first-past-the-post system, unless they replace one of the two dominant parties, as the British Labour party did to the Liberals and as the Scottish National Party did to the Conservatives and Labour in Scotland, or as Sinn Fein did in Northern Ireland to the Social Democrats.
    What about that don’t you understand?

29. Barbadians have said No to third parties over and over again
    They are not interested
    How many times must those who keep pushing the idea of third parties be told
    There are times when having to let society suffer is the best remedy

30. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Miller at 10 :34 AM

You have missed the substantial point. We need a system to dislodge old,incompetent , tired, and corrupt leaders from time to time. The Duopoly gives the electorate the opportunity to change . Persons not parties embody these undesirable characteristics. The Electorate are not as gullible as you think. Nor are political leaders any wiser than the masses. They,leaders and representatives, are to put into effect what the citizens want and value. Politicians serve by implementing these social objectives. They are not looking for bosses. They are electing effective implementers of their vision.

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin at 10 :45 AM
    I have read and I understand. I do not agree with you. Your proposal does not address the issue nor attendant problems . Furthermore the bit of British History that you have alluded to is widely known . It is your conclusion that defies logic. You need to understand that not everyone will agree with your position on issues. You have no monopoly on wisdom.

32. Propositional representation comes with its problems. No system is a panacea to fix the warts that afflict electoral systems. Is proposal representation a good fit for a small and also less diverse society compared to large countries?

https://www.uk-engage.org/2013/08/what-are-the-advantages-and-disadvantages-of-using-a-proportional-representation-pr-electoral-system/

33. @ Vincent Codrington November 20, 2020 11:01 AM

Your rebuttal would make ‘greater’ impact if you were to consider the fact that neither the Constitution nor Parliament, as it is currently ‘configured’, recognizes political parties or any role they play in the governance of the State.

Possibly a system of proportional representation would ‘more’ reflect your ‘ideal’ model of political representation and ‘shared’ governance of the affairs of the State; that is, the wishes and expectations of its citizens.

Under a system of proportional representation the current one-party governance situation which prevails in the Bajan HoA would not arise since the ‘established’ DLP would still have a presence in the Assembly.

34. @ Vincent

You do not under stand anything because I have not proposed anything so there was no need to look at any problems. What bit of British history that is widely known and what is my illogical conclusion? I gave examples of when a third party replace one of the main parties, ie Scotland and northern Ireland.
    I have not concluded anything. Then you go on to make a personal attack about wisdom, all because of your ignorance. Where did that come from? Have I ever claimed that for myself? You do not understand what I have said. Read what I said again.
    Read it again. Is this the best that Lodge and Mona can do. I expect better from you.
    I ignored your nonsense about my ‘obsession with PR’. I simply pointed out a reality. I have never expressed a preference for PR on BU or anywhere else since I was born.
    The fact is, under a first-past-the-post liberal democratic system, two party systems develop; with PR, you get minority parties. I gave Germany and Israel as too examples; we also have similar examples in Europe.
    Not a personal opinion in sight.

35. Whistling in the dark

36. GRENVILLE PHILLIPS II

All the commenters on BU were fairly bitter against you even though it was this same BU that encourage you to form SOLUTIONS BARBADOS.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

DON’T PAINT EVERYONE WITH SAME BRUSH.

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Miller at 11 :50 AM

What is the basic purpose of a General Election in a democracy such as Barbados? Is it not to elect a government? Its purpose is to determine who should be responsible for running the affairs of this country. The notion of having all views represented in the HoA is not the primary factor. It is to make sure that the program which the majority of electors voted for is implemented. The Constitution emphasizes that the Head of State chooses the person most likely to command the support of the majority of the members of the HoA. This is facilitated by a party with an agreed list of to do things. Parties assist the Head of State in arriving at the leader of majority .

38. @ Vincent Codrington November 20, 2020 3:41 PM
    “The Constitution emphasizes that the Head of State chooses the person most likely to command the support of the majority of the members of the HoA. This is facilitated by a party with an agreed list of to do things. Parties assist the Head of State in arriving at the leader of majority .”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Doesn’t the same Head of State receive assistance from the same “parties” in selecting a Leader of Opposition?

Who is arguing against the existence or role of political parties?

All is being argued is that the Proportional representation (PR) system is more reflective of democracy more so than the two-party system- made up of Tweedle Bee and Tweedle Dem- which inevitably dominates in any first-past-the-post electoral outcome as Hal pointed out; and quite wisely so.

A wider cross section of the society (and interests groups) can therefore have a ‘representative’ voice in the Parliamentary affairs of the country.

In a PR democracy there would be no need for an unelected costly Upper Chamber to perform the role of a toothless tiger as is mainly the case in Barbados which is a mere impotent copycat to what prevails in the Palace of Westminster even without the need for a ‘Written’ Constitution.

39. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Miller
    It all depends on how one defines democracy. Secondly how best to put into reality the ideal of democracy. In my opinion the current system satisfies our ideology of democracy. We certainly do not want representation of the citizen to be a debating exercise/ talk shop. It is to manage the affairs of this country in the interest of its citizen.
    The Upper Chamber is just another check-point in our system of governance.It provides for a second look at the legislation coming from the lower chamber. It has been very effective as recent experience would attest.

40. @ Vincent Codrington November 20, 2020 4:39 PM

In your Bajan ‘style’ of democracy it seems that the vanguards of representation (political parties) need to step up to the plate in order to improve the quality of the political enfranchisement of the masses in light of that recently acquired but still nebulous ‘right’ called adult suffrage.

How do you explain the low voter turn out as pertained in the recent bi-election in SGN?

Isn’t the vote a treasured possession of people and which should be treated as the only weapon (other than violent rebellion like the French Revolution) to manage the political class and to guard against the potential excesses of that same dictatorship-prone political class schooled in the Art of control of the masses according to Machiavelli?

What is your view on the proposal to make voting compulsory under the coming republic where all men and women are equal (except in certain justified cases) to make participation in the country democratic process more widespread and meaningful?

At least, there would be marked reduction of that 40% to 50% who find the current electoral process an exercise in futility by having to choose between the ‘Red devil and the deep ‘Blue’ sea.

41. I posit without any fear of contradiction that third parties are not the issue but illiteracy of what is to be considered conscientious representation and ignorance to good governance.

Many are flattered by election goodies be it money or a television at the expense of good governance and an orderly society,

Yawn…..leaders who are charismatic and Machiavellian will always win the hearts of the easily impressionable which is the majority of Bajans.

Our Prime Minister is a strong personality and the cowardice of her male colleagues shows in their weakness and lack of confidence.

Mia is de only man in cabinet for all de other males were castrated. Let’s be grateful for our PM who stands tall.

The dictum of the pen, the pen that appoints can also disappoint is their albatross.

42. David BU third parties in Barbados are a waste of time in my view.If you look at the US they have the republicans and the democrats.In the Uk it is labour and the torries.In Trinidad , Guyana and Jamaica it is the same.Why on earth would sensible people vote for a party of unknowns ? To have a repeat of the lost decade?The only 3rd party of any merit in recent years would have been the NDP .Even then most people believe it was a one man party as proven by results where only Dr Haynes won a seat.The most recent by election confirms that people vote B or D case closed.

43. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ miller

Compulsory voting and democracy cannot coalesce. Exercising the right not to vote is a very responsible action. If one is not clear on the issues one should abstain from voting and let others better informed vote on their behalf.

44. Homogeneity and size. Good luck with proportional represenatation and 3rd parties. The Dems had a good opportunity to broaden representation beyond the traditional parties through the constituency councils. Instead they messed it up by handpicking the likes of Carson Cadogan. Hopefully the People’s Assemblies will allow for persons outside of the “duopoly” to serve. Could even be a route to Parliament.

45. @ Vincent Codrington November 20, 2020 6:37 PM

Are you implying that Australia is a most ‘undemocratic’ country?

Isn’t it mandatory in Barbados to have a National Identification card to access certain services provided by the State?

So why not make voting mandatory if a high voter turnout cannot be achieved under the present optional system unlike New Zealand where the electorate is much more sophisticated and motivated by their various political parties to exercise their franchise in an optional framework.

Isn’t this a sad commentary on the so-called educated electorate of Barbados and a sad reflection of the role of the two main poor rakey political ‘mas(s)’ parties primarily interested in frivolous issues and petty grandstanding as observed in the most recent outing in SGN?

In our modern electronic age why can’t voting be done over the internet as required more and more by many Government agencies to access their services or even by Mail-ins aka postal ballots, all at the State’s (taxpayers’) expense?

How about adopting a Switzerland-style of direct participatory democracy quite suited to a 21st Century society called E-Barbados as your PM is pushing with all her ICT might?

46. @Miller

Is it a binary matter to solve? We have members of the population who are ignorant. They are concerned with eating sleeping and watching TV and that is about it. With a democracy you have to deal with the ‘bad’ that comes with it. No system will be perfect, as a people we have to determine what is best based on our vision for the country. Who determines that vision? As Vincent alluded the people listen to the plans presented by the parties and vote for indictable representing said parties. All around the world we see examples of propositional representation and they are managing a different set of problems. Do we trade ours for theirs? If we are debating the matter we have to consider the uniqueness of our space. No wholesale arguments allowed.

47. @ David November 20, 2020 8:43 PM

So why complain so bitterly when the consequences of the citizens’ ignorance, indifference, indiscipline and lethargy are reflected in the socio-economic underperformance of the country?

Where in the ROI from the billions of taxpayers’ monies invested in free education?

Doesn’t such a state of affairs give some measure of credence to Hal Austin’s refrain about his beloved native land?

Just let things be as they are, not so? Que sera, sera!

The people get the governance they deserve.

“We like it so”, according to the Sparrow.

48. @Miller

What is wrong with the more enlightened citizen willing to critique the system to tweak as required to seek improved results? Why do you expect that because some do not want to replace it does not mean the existing system should be given a pass.

49. @ Miller @ Hal
    Why don’t you two get it ? Their country has the best system in the world. Look at the facts:
    1. One man can become opposition leader by simply saying he sees the opportunity to “protect democracy.”
    2. In the meantime , a party that gets over 20 % of the votes , in an election , doesn’t have a seat or voice in parliament.
    Can you really have a better system than that?
    What it means is that 20% of the electorate vote does not really matter or count
    You two just don’t get it!
    Peace

50. @ David November 20, 2020 9:05 PM

Then we must learn to stop comparing ourselves (or trying to emulate with envious admiration) to Singapore.

What’s wrong with using the republic as the fillip to getting the citizens of the re-christened country (with Nelson gone and the monarchical navel string to be cut-off totally) to increase their level of involvement in the country’s governance arrangements as promised by both political parties in their manifestoes for the past 25 years?

The education of the masses will serve no productive purpose unless it results in more enlightened citizens determined to manage their own national affairs and chart their own destiny which is certainly a measurable sign of Independence.