Today the electorate of St. George North will vote for a member of parliament to fill the vacancy created by the ‘retirement’ of Gline Clarke. The blogmaster’s assessment is that it will be a straight contest between Floyd Reifer (DLP) and Toni Moore (BLP). Of the so-called third parties Grenville Phillips should retain third option in the number count. We can debate if Barbadians are ready for a third party or is this a case of the quality of the options presented. The blogmaster respectfully suggest the latter.

The result of the election will answer a few questions for political pundits.

• Has the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) regain its standing as the credible alternative in the eyes of voters?
  • Despite managing the affairs of state in the most challenging period post independence, will the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) be able to convince the SGN electorate that it is the most competent to govern at this time?
  • Will Grenville Phillips increase his penetration of support in the constituency to forge the way for third parties in the future?
  • How large will the protest vote be which has been fomenting in a climate of austerity for the last 3 years?
  • Has the last 90 days of campaigning confirm the urgent need for electoral reform in Barbados?

So far by-election activities has been largely peaceful in keeping with Bajan tradition. Let us continue to make the country proud by delivering an uneventful event. The blogmaster’s vote will be cast for David Walrond, the agriculturist and community practitioner.

895 responses to “Election Day in St. George North”

1. Lorenzo aka female rabbit

I LIKE BEING ON YOUR HIT LIST IT SHOWS THAT I AM NOT ONE OF THE LOCAL IDIOTS WHO VOTED BLINDLY FOR YOUR BLP PARTY.

2. Right now my reason for being on the blog is to laugh at you thinking you are saving Barbados!

Thanks, sister! I sleep better knowing you are on the case.

Now chase way the white bogeyman from under my bed! It is
    my bedtime. My sweet peppers and I have an early breakfast date in my garden.

3. @ Hal,@WURA
    Nothing said by some on this thread surprised me. I was once told that if you attack white people in Bim, they don’t have to come after you; there are Blacks who will fight their cause.
    Peace

4. While wunna argue hundreds of bajans are finding it hard to.make ends meets
    The pictures of hotel workers out their jobs asking for their severance pay is heart wrenching
    Today Toni Moore made her first public speech as a Minister
    Today on the same day Nov 17th 2020 one person Toni Moore is enthusiastic about her victory
    Meanwhile the hotel workers searching for a victory
    Unlike Toni Moore who was surrounded by pedigree in Parliament sharing their applause with her
    The hotel workers surround themselves by Hope hoping some one would listen
    Somebody have a heart listen to these workers voices
    Is that asking too much

5. “Right now my reason for being on the blog is to laugh at you thinking you are saving Barbados”

and that is as far as your mental capacity reaches, you still don’t get it and obviously never well, saving Barbados from what, a piece of rock in the middle of water don’t need saving from anything…..so keep laughing while i get results and you can’t even get anything as important as this off the groiund, first ya will have to understand it, but it’s way above your head..

I’ve been going along just fine, you’re the one believe you can make changes to what am doing, but ya dont understand it, so how could yoiu…..ya need a hobby.

6. Toni Moore first big lie as a MP was uttered yesterday when she stood up in parliament and said she would speak on behalf of workers
    The truth lies in what she did not do or say yesterday
    Workers yesterday standing outside the hotel fighting for their severance pay was a testimony to what Toni Moore would not do for workers as the workers fought alone while Toni Moore was in Parliament addressing other ministers including Mottley with her sweet sounding empty words of nothingness

7. @Walter

Your suggestion (plea) has not gone unnoticed by the blogmaster. BU can be whatever commenters want it to be. Some we know have been motivated to engage in activities outside of commenting on BU. The challenge is that for many who comment here (anonymously) they operate and support themselves from within the belly of the beast. A beast they wish to slay. It is amazing the awesome power a few people have to affect the lifes of people by a few words or stroke of a pen- be it politician or prominent other. This is not to say the struggle to build a wholesome society is a futile endeavour, just that it is a hard road to travel as history confirms.

8. @ac

From media reports the BWU is representing the workers. The latest is that they are waiting to meet with the Overseas-based director. You are always happy to escalate to the political.

9. @ David more smoke and mirrors
    The question u should asked yourself which table is Moore sitting at now
    The one which will represent the people without political interference
    Or the one which will drive givt govt and IMF interest

10. @ David November 18, 2020 7:44 AM

And you swallow that dose of BS about waiting to meet with some Overseas-based director?

Isn’t there a ready-made alibi in Covid to stop such a ‘physical’ meeting from materializing?

What’s wrong with Zoom or some other means of communicating over the Internet?

That business is not prepared to fork out that sort of dosh to workers. Let the NIS or the government settle those kinds of claims by the Bajan workers.

11. @Miller

How do you know the medium that will be used to facilitate the meeting?

The blogmaster will defer to your intimate knowledge involved here even if it is informed from no knowledge of the matter.

12. David i would suggest u take not of this spiritual philosophy
    No man can serve two masters at the same time
    God is not a liar

13. @ac

Leroy Trotman

Bobby Morris

Frank Walcott

14. @ David BU

Let’s debate this issue as reasonably and rationally as we possibly could. Toni Moore is the BWU’s General Secretary……… the boss, the ‘head honcho,’ officer in charge. In all fairness to Ms Moore, could you please ‘tell’ the forum what lies has she told and what has she done wrong?

I’m sure you’re aware the Union employs a Deputy General Secretary who is also Director of Industrial Relations, as well as Senior Industrial Relation Officers and Industrial Relations Officers. So, obviously, there’s a ‘chain of command.’

BWU Industrial Relations Officer Davida Forde was present at yesterday’s protest action staged by Club Barbados employees and spoke on their behalf.

We need to stop this nonsense of politicizing every issue.

15. @Artax

Will answer in an indirect way. The PM stated in parliament yesterday she expects Moore will cross swords with government from time to time. We will have to wait on Moores contributions in coming sessions to accurately judge. At this point we have the partisans and doom and gloomers spouting the usual.

16. Steupse! Coming after black people?Seems like you are losing your ability to read.

Recap – Barbados, like any other country in the world, is tainted by structural racism. This needs to be addressed and there are more ways than one to do that. Our problem is NOT as bad as it is in the US or the UK because it is not as “in your face” as in those countries and does not USUALLY come with the threat of violence or hate speech from the white man. (Isolated incidents do not count as pervasive.) We have come a long way since 1970. MOST in your face encounters that suggest racial profiling involve over eager black “overseer” types. This calls for a different approach. White people not wishing to invite us to their parties or speaking disparagingly about us in their homes matters very little in the scheme of things. What matters is that we manage to overcome the barriers to economic enfranchisement.

One way in which we can do this is to free our minds, band together,pool our resources and support each other. We have what it takes to overcome without the co-operation of the white man. This is what I am interested in. A talk with many of the young people of Barbados would reveal that this is what they think more about. Not the white bogeyman’s power, but theirs!

I view this as one of the challenges of a life that will never be perfect but can still be perfectly enjoyable if one understands that life will always have challenges. I believe that we have come a looooong way and can go further if we refocus our thoughts and redirect our energy from raging on ad nauseum about the mostly invisible white man. Cool heads that keep things in perspective will accomplish more.

I find life in Barbados enjoyable. I smile as I type at this very moment. If you guys have a problem with that I guess the problem is yours to fix.

17. @ David November 18, 2020 8:38 AM

So what is the delay in resolving the matter? A proper Internet connection?

Why allow the industrial relations matter to reach such a stage to make a public spectacle of bad publicity for both the business and the beleaguered over-manned and poorly managed union on the cusp of losing a significant number of its members?

18. (Quote):
    Recap – Barbados, like any other country in the world, is tainted by structural racism. This needs to be addressed and there are more ways than one to do that. Our problem is NOT as bad as it is in the US or the UK because it is not as “in your face” as in those countries and does not USUALLY come with the threat of violence or hate speech from the white man.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

But why should this be in a country that is over 90 % ‘Black’?

Shouldn’t it be the other ‘ethnic’ minorities who should be the ones seeking redress if there are cases of racism in Barbados?

What is that saying about the (well-educated) black man when he cannot even be his own man in his own ‘black ‘house, even if inherited?

There must be something else going on much deeper in the psyche of the black Bajan when he or she has to cry ‘Racism’.

19. “Isn’t there a ready-made alibi in Covid to stop such a ‘physical’ meeting from materializing?

What’s wrong with Zoom or some other means of communicating over the Internet?”

Simple, but very good. Like a surgeon, gently removing and unwanted mass with a scalpel.

20. David Those two represent. workers at a time when the IMF did not play a major role in barbados economy
    Now barbados economic playing field has shifted which gives unions less control in actively pursuing workers best interest
    The IMF lending agency not made up of idiots
    Those heads are not prepared to lend Barbados money and have Unions intervene wholly on workers interest
    IMF is well aware that Unions have the power to disturb
    Toni Moore was taken out the way by power of the vote she is no longer a threat to govt or IMF interest
    More austerity given without union disturbance benefits govt and IMF

21. Miller @10:01
    It appears that you had a hearty and healthy breakfast this morning. Your brain cells are really firing.

If I cannot write this without offending a local then we are in a state of denial.

The question that is always on my mind is this.. How with our boast of being highly educated and with our ‘political power’ we seem unable to shift the needle to favor the majority?

We often refer to Singapore and a next question that I have never seen a convincing answer for… Is it the people or is it our leaders or both?

Both.
    But I am convinced that the reason for many of our problem lies in our leaders;
    in our leeping giants that never wake up,
    in relying on pedigree instead of substance and quality;
    in our belief that on winning a election our leaders become a genius and
    on us being swayed by the gift of gab….. The list is endless

22. Donna November 18, 2020 9:34 AM

Excellent contribution.

23. Artax,

Thank you.

24. @Miller

It should be obvious what is happening here to a keen observer and there is not one damn thing the BWU or any union can do about it.

BTW, was the ROYAL Shop/ Sandy Lane matters of many moons resolved?

25. David you speak of another Union representative speaking on behalf of the workers yesterday
    However govt said Moore’s voice would be one of representing workers in Parliament
    Moores voice was silent yesterday when it was necessary
    You can deflect on this issue to support govt and Moore however actions speak louder than words
    Yesterday the rubber hit the road and the only noise heard from Moore was her utterances of political speech

26. It is your expectation every industrial relations dispute the BWU has to undertake is to be taken to parliament by Toni Moore? Is this your understanding?

27. @ David November 18, 2020 11:18 AM

So why try to fabricate alibis to hide the truth?

Why not call a spade a ‘grounded’ spade like LIAT?

Since the resolution of this imbroglio is going to end up at the doorsteps of government the onus falls on the newly elected MP, expected to wear two hats, to step up to the plate and play that spade instead of a red jack.

28. “If you guys have a problem with that I guess the problem is yours to fix.”

you are the only one complaining, those of us with the drive have spent years working on it, and now it’s exposed to the world, staying on the sidelines did not get us this far, we are well on our way to achieving what we set out to do, undeterred and can actually see victory. We don’t need cheerleaders..we already did all the heavy lifting.

29. @Miller

There is a process in place where employees have access to NIS if the employer is insolvent. There is the ERT. There is a Minister of Labour who can act within the power of his office. What does the backbencher Toni Moore have to do with it?

30. “Why allow the industrial relations matter to reach such a stage to make a public spectacle of bad publicity”

the best thing to happen, let the world see what the people are subjected to with this racist tourism dependency brand..that we have been telling them to diversify from for YEARS..

“But why should this be in a country that is over 90 % ‘Black’?”

am done trying to convince those with limited abilities that IT’S NOT NORMAL to HAVE racism, classism and slavery in a black majority country practiced by the descendents of slave catchers and any halfassed minority wandering into the island, SUPPORTED by black face leaders, and is a CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER to the black population ….AND …..a VIOLATION OF HUMAN RIGHTS…

Miller…if they don’t get it now, they never will. and i will just continue on as usual to the final and inevitable ending.

31. “It is your expectation every industrial relations dispute the BWU has to undertake is to be taken to parliament by Toni Moore? Is this your understanding?”

@ David BU

I hope not. But…………. stranger things have been ‘said’ on BU. And, let’s be very careful, lest we’re accused of ‘cyber bullying.’

It seems as though yesterday’s protest action was unplanned and occurred at a time when Moore was in Parliament. How would she have found out exactly what transpired, if she was otherwise engaged?

To judge Moore at this time is not only unreasonable, but silly as well. What we should do is wait and how she handles the matter in the days ahead.

32. “The question that is always on my mind is this.. How with our boast of being highly educated and with our ‘political power’ we seem unable to shift the needle to favor the majority?”

it certainly highlights the lack of brain power that the needle is stuck on relegating black people to be 2nd class citizens in a black majoriy..

“in our belief that on winning a election our leaders become a genius and
    on us being swayed by the gift of gab….. The list is endless.”

the weakminded love genius liars and slick talkers and pretty writings, anything other than that confuses their delicate minds….they completely shun reality.

Still waiting for Mia or Cummins to come out and condemn sandy lane, while reassuring the BLACK MAJORITY that they will pursue a zero tolerance approach to racism based on skin color and African ancestry and the additional exploitation and oppression based on same…and legislated to have the animals who practice such locked the hell up..

33. In their country that’s 99% black there is a Public Order Act 1974 designed expressly to suppress freedom of speech and to give comfort to white people.
    In their country that is 99% per cent Black. a Black political candidate contesting a By-election in St. George North , was denied permission to hold public meetings.
    In their country that is 99% Black a white Bajan publicly called his Black workers laggards(lazy) not one of their Black parliamentarians said a word
    In their country that is 99% Black a white attorney showed a Black female his ass ,after pulling down his pants.Not a word from them
    There is none so blind as those who don’t want to see.
    Just because a white policeman ain’t shoot you ,a Black person ,does not mean they don’t shoot Black people.
    Some people never see the world beyond their refrigerator. Once that is full the world is alright with them.
    But then again what do I know.
    Peace:

34. ” If Prime Minister Mia Mottley has her way, there will be no pit toilets in Barbados by 2027.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/18/out-of-the-pits/

The PM will be a winner in 2023 and 2027 is already on her radar.

35. Steupse!

Many of the young people today are dreaming big dreams and know no boundaries! They waste no time on the white man. They are not interested in slaving to make somebody else rich. Many, including my son, consider themselves to be entrepreneurs. Even my nine year old cousin has her own business.

You guys continue to gripe. They ent got the time. They have no chips on their shoulders wrt white people.

What we need to focus on is catching those who fall through the cracks. Our educational system is due for a revamp. Last thing I heard Santia was on the right track. It will take some time but I will wait to see what progress is made by 2023.

P.S. Was the white lawyer’s botsy trembling that it has you transfixed???

36. Still waiting for Mia or Cummins to come out and condemn sandy lane, while reassuring the BLACK MAJORITY that they will pursue a zero tolerance approach to racism based on skin color and African ancestry and the additional exploitation and oppression based on same…and will legislate to have the animals who practice such locked the hell up.

Miller..it’s obvious the above lexicon is missing from the vocabularly of the haunted house negros, we must figure out WHY?

someone provided an answer, but i can’t reveal it, it’s copyrighted.

37. @ William

Why do you bother? What is the difference between structural racism, systemic racism and institutional racism? And how do we define each?
    @William it is not easy getting a rational discussion when the rum is flowing in the rum shop. That was when I would go for long walks with my mates dreaming of the kinds of adults we would like to be.

38. Didn’t Donna put to bed this matter? All societies have an undesirable element woven into it. Barbados is no different. We have the tension of working together everyday to make Barbados a perfect society. Is there bigotry, prejudice, crypto-racism, classism etc? Yes there is! Does it mean that Barbados comparatively is the worse country in the world? The blogmaster contends we are no worse to compare to USA, UK or Canada.

Next!

39. Artax
    To judge Moore at this time is unreasonable
    Xxxcccccccf
    When is a desired and best time to judge Moore
    Her first day as MP as well as taking on the task as Union Head she failed in Her opening remarks to mention the distressing plight of workers severance pay an issue between employers and employees which has been going on for months and which yesterday reached near boiling point and some on BU talks about time period for Moore
    The time period for the worker collecting the severance pay expired months ago
    Moore said in her opening remarks in Parliament yesterday she will speak on behalf of the workers
    Once again i say her voice was missing at a crucial time for the worker when needed the most
    To quote Mottley the poor people suffering

40. Well…neither USA, UK or Canada are BLACK MAJORITY COUNTRIES…..

Miller and William ..ya see what i mean…they just can’t get it…and obviously NEVER WILL….

YOU WILL NEVER MOVE OUT OF THAT TIME WARP…unless it’s ALL DISMANTLED…how difficult is that to understand.

Black people are NOT in control of the island, the intelligent KNOW THEY’RE NOT…. the only way to take control is to remove the vessel being used to KEEP CONTROL out of black people’s hands….don’t mind Mia them pretending to have control, they know they don’t, it was never more evident than when Cummins came out and LIED…about discrimination……and neither of them can use the language i posted..

they lucky i still got the time, or i would just leave it alone and ENJOY THE FALLOUT…i already like my entertainment..

then there is the CoE, house of horror torturers, experimenters and red hot iron branders of our ancestors…..they already got the majority mentally enslaved with their evil religious brainwashing, they don’t have to put in much more more work to get the desired outcomes..

41. Don’t tell me yall thought ya are a majority white country, listening to dried up dying shitehounds like cow and bizzy……..🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣…ah really hope yall didn’t go there…

that’s why i always dismiss people who pretend to bad talk white people on one side of their twisted mouths, then believe everything they say,, sign of a slave.

only some really WARPED THINKING could compare majority BLACK Barbados, to WHITE MAJORITY COUNTRIES…where blacks are the MINORITY…

42. All yuh duz talk bare RH. I repeat, imagine having to scrub job applications of names just for people of colour to even get an interview. Day after day the misinformation, disinformation and downright lies are exposed. Hal Austin still can’t tell the blog if the acquisition of land by a government body to let Arsenal fc build stadium was right.🤣🤣🤣

43. Still waiting for Barbados new stadium to be built, and the hospital looks like shit from the exterior, hope to see it looking better soon, it’s an embarrassment..

44. @ David November 18, 2020 12:01 PM

Isn’t she the one who asserted she will continue to champion the rights of the workers both outside and inside parliament including the residents of SGN?

Isn’t it now more incumbent on her- still wearing the hat of GS of the BWU- to make her double presence felt at any ‘lobbying’ table discussing labour matters?

Isn’t the GS seen as an additional asset needed to help with the heavy lifting?

As far as it is known she is not an economist but an industrial relations guru.

45. @Miller

Allow her to make her acceptance speech in the true tradition of the parliament?

46. @ Enuff November 18, 2020 2:12 PM
    “Hal Austin still can’t tell the blog if the acquisition of land by a government body to let Arsenal fc build stadium was right.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Why don’t you stop hounding down the man in London?
    You are just as much a cyber bully as he is.

He will respond to you when you are able to tend to matters right in your own political living room.

Why don’t you tell the same blog who is footing the bill for the cost of the acquisition and demolition of the old Ram rat pen and when will the promised erection called the Hyatt hotel start to rise in its place?

47. @Artax

Will answer in an indirect way. The PM stated in parliament yesterday she expects Moore will cross swords with government from time to time. We will have to wait on Moores contributions in coming sessions to accurately judge. At this point we have the partisans and doom and gloomers spouting the usual.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Wealthy businesses ‘not giving back’

Government backbencher Trevor Prescod has complained there are too many organisations that accumulated wealth in Barbados over the years, but are now not giving back when it is most needed.

The former minister, who is the Prime Minister’s Special Adviser and Special Envoy on Reparations and Economic Enfranchisement, said that were it not for Government’s interventions to help poor people, Barbados would “see the same thing in 2020 that we saw in 1937” – civil disturbances.

The St Michael East MP said there were “certain institutions in this country that extract the wealth from the first day of slavery, still own the lands, still own the businesses, still [take] the money out of the resources of this country, and put it into their expansionist programme abroad, and they don’t even want to give back a cent”.

“It shows you they never had any interest in the development of the poor people . . . . Their only interest was continuing to exploit and abuse poor black people,” he said as the House of Assembly debated $22.5 million in supplementaries for programmes to assist vulnerable Barbadians.

Prescod said Barbados was “now at a crisis point, not only because of COVID[-19] but because of the mechanisms at the highest level of the control of capital and the availability of capital to ourselves as a Government”.

“You are now seeing a whole population declining rapidly into a state of poverty that they have never seen since the 1930s. All the figures even before COVID indicate that we were declining at a rapid rate. Then COVID came along and the situation is worse,” he said.

Prescod also said there were companies that not only did not give anything to the poor, but made the lives of their loyal employees difficult.

“When the workers want to leave those institutions they do everything so they don’t have to pay them . . . compensation for the services and they pull the energy out of these people for the entire lives that they had, especially the ones who claim to have been the most loyal people,” he said.

“And then we are watching poor people every day, as MPs, coming to our houses asking for help. People can’t pay their light bills, people can’t pay their water bills, people can’t pay house rent, conflict emerging between landlords and tenants, as a consequence, they can’t honour their payments.” (SC)

https://www.nationnews.com/2020/11/18/wealthy-businesses-not-giving-back/

48. “When is a desired and best time to judge Moore?”

Hmmmmm……

Since you asked a question, I will respond. There isn’t anything Moore could be judged on at this time.

Firstly, you’re being grossly unfair and unreasonable to judge Moore based primarily on yesterday’s events. I’m appalled to think you expected the lady would have gone into Parliament to comment on every industrial dispute or employee related issue the BWU was currently dealing with.

Secondly, your comment re: “The time period for the worker collecting the severance pay expired months ago,” is INCORRECT. Yesterday was November 17, thirteen (13) days before the remaining balance of severance due was to be paid by November 30, 2020.

Thirdly, do you believe yesterday in Parliament was the appropriate time and place for Moore to comment on the severance payment issues at Club Barbados, while union negotiations with the resort’s management, on behalf of the former employees, are ongoing?

It’s clear you’re ‘stabbing wild in the dark.’ Perhaps you should avail yourself of the relevant information before commenting on the issue any further.