The decision to have a national TV debate between the candidates contesting the St. George North constituency seat has been mired in controversy from the beginning. The result is that of the six candidates registered to contest the seat made vacant by the ‘retired out’ Gline Clarke, only candidates Toni Moore (BLP), Grenville Phillips (Solutions Barbados) and Alex Mitchell (BFP) are the three left standing. The other candidates have offered excuses for not participating, the blogmaster suspects the real reason is that there is a fear to speak to the issues publicly in an independent setting.

It is ironic that the current week has seen Barbados experiencing heavy rains which must be negatively affecting house to house and platform campaigning. What an opportunity tonight’s debate offers to convey respective party messages to SGN residents while in the comfort of their homes.

#bigworks #anyidiotcanplaycricket

447 responses to “2020 St. George North By-Election National Debate”

1. DavidNovember 1, 2020 6:35 AM

A pity you were not as strident in your condemnation of Michael Carrington for withholding thousands of dollars from a seventy something wheelchair ‘ridden’ man who has since passed on.
    xxxxxxxx

David is that what you submit as a defense to the obscene video where young children are being exploited
    What a pity you cannot bring. Yourself to seeing a wrong
    However decides to mount a political horse to challenge a wrong
    Shame on u

2. Shame on YOU is correct.

#hypocrite.

3. Man…they made themselves famous Enuff worldwide with that video exploiting minor children…..ya should see them, regular BLACKWOOLY STARS..low pedigreed…everyone now know them by their vile, low vibration actions against melanated children and black people on a whole….and they can’t blame a fella, they can of course blame their evil fowl slaves who enable and support their crimes against black people unconditionally..

4. David and oh by the way
    Mia has a press secretary on staff whose checkered past was accused of Rape
    What do u think about that
    Not here to dig smut but since u have resorted to such by mention of Carrington past
    My rationale begs to remind u that people in glass houses should not throw stones

5. When it rains it POURS with lightning and thunder.

“Winston Clarke
    28itfS OpctobSoerir itatn ttsudot0r8:4Semi3ahiuSid ·
    To: The Rt. Hon. Prime Minister
    Madam Prime Minister,
    We the people have entrusted you with our economic, social and environmental well-being. We also have entrusted you with our security. As our elected leader, we should be able to feel confident that if you give us advice we can comfortably take that advice without there being any negative repercussions.
    This is not the case with Valerie-Suzette Jean-Marie. On the 8th of June, 2019, Ms. Jean-Marie spoke to you personally before a live audience in England and you advised her, on live television, to go to the police in Barbados where she will have redress. Madam Prime Minister, Ms. Jean-Marie took your advice and ended up in a police holding cell for 3 days and is on bail for (1) Asking a question on social media and (2) Regurgitating a post sent by one of the same people involved in the imbroglio she spoke to you about. Madam if we cannot comfortably trust and take the advice of our leaders whom can we trust? It appears that there is one law for the rich and those who have friends in prominent places and another law for the poor. Oh sorry….no law for the poor since those who are supposed to serve, protect and reassure the poor are only interested in persecuting and prosecuting the poor. This issue has caused many people to lose confidence in your administration. Many Barbadians overseas are watching this play out and according to the outcome their will be economic, social and legal ramifications for Barbados. Foreign agencies have been alerted since this issue spans more than one jurisdiction. Please say something. Let Ms. Jeasn-Marie know that she is represented all the time and not only during elections, afterall she is a Barbadian citizen too.
    We on social media are anticipating and watching for your response.
    Thank you.”

6. I have no comments on this exploitation of these innocent children.

I am withholding my fire until Lorenzo produces his video of children running from the pasture after happily playing with sheep.

I don’t want to pick-a-noise and then be proven wrong by Lorenzo

7. Donville balances the equation does he not? If you use this line of argument the blogmaster can find an example from the other side every time.

Steuspe

8. “ended up in a police holding cell for 3 days”

Only 3 days? In a truly Orwellian world, after being told to visit Big Brother police force, she would have been held and placed in a mental asylum for a long time.

She should be thanking and praising the Great Mother that she was not in Jenkins for 3 months.

9. But neither Carrington and Inniss no longer run the affairs of Barbados
    I reference Morris because he is placed a position close to the PM
    Also after all the long drawn out months of condemnation about Carrington by Mia she did not steer clear of a path which carries past stench of legalities when hiring Morris
    Be that as it may
    One more reminder he without sin cast the first stone
    Btw would not offer u a steupse as a lowering of standard towards u by way of calling u an idiot
    Carry on smartly your petticoat is long and already dragging

10. Was he convicted?

11. Do you know who had degrees, lot of brains, plenty of good ideas, but did not have ped degree…. WB

The island loses.

12. David Mia applied a standard of good ethics against Carrington and in doing so she opened a gate which she should have followed
    Your asking if Morris was convicted is a red herring to by pass the realities of why he was held accountable for the crime
    Conviction or no conviction does not remove such realities and a point of order Mia should have steered cleared

13. Theo…yardfowls with their FAILED and missing brain power will still jump out to tell ya that ya are lying, you have NO EVIDENCE…

14. “She should be thanking and praising the Great Mother that she was not in Jenkins for 3 months.”

only because of social media and people who had NO INTENTION of allowing the parliament rats, thieves and sell outs to get away with this AGAIN… the only reason she was not put in mental holding….as they have done to their VICTIMS WHOM THEY’VE ROBBED FOR DECADES….

15. I still can’t understand why this government holds the arrogant belief that they will GET AWAY WITH VIOLATING BLACK PEOPLE’S RIGHTS IN 2020…as they have done SINCE INDEPENDENCE…

but ah telling them, they better start running….but not to Africa, they know all about you already….maybe US…the prisons are retrofitted just for scum like you.

16. I leave this here

Ronnie Yearwood

I am just tired of it. And to be honest some of this was personal for me. By utterances I have no “pedigree”. I grew up poor and from “de” country. My mother by utterances ain’t nobody. So if I follow the arguments to a logical conclusion I fight, study hard, got scholarships, work part time at a cafe, at the library and pulled pints at bars, data entry while doing my postgraduate in the UK and gained work experiences after graduating, that I want to use to the benefit Barbados… but by any pedigree arguments I have no place in public life because I grew up poor and by the accident of the lottery that is birth, I was not born into a middle class or rich household. Am I suppose to clap and say oh it is just politics. No way!
    We can only get better when we demand that people and our leadership treat us better. I have worked hard (as many others in Barbados) to pull myself up (with supportive mothers and family and friends) to have someone metaphorically urinate on me and call it champagne or rain. I will not clap for it, laugh at it or call it politics. Not today, not ever.

17. Here is a govt with a 30-O winning prize who cant help but shoot itself in the mouth
    What a thing doah

18. “but by any pedigree arguments I have no place in public life because I grew up poor and by the accident of the lottery that is birth, I was not born into a middle class or rich household.”

that’s exactly how the house slaves have treated black people like themselves since the days when Elizabeth anointed them her treacherous litlle pet snakes…they then renamed themselves the black elites but in reality possessing low class pedigree lower than slaves… and have been violating Black people’s human rights ever since…they are black traitors and ought to be treated accordingly….vote begging scum..

19. I do not like how KEMAR STUART is being treated.
    The DLP poster had him listed as one of the speakers for tonight’s meeting. This morning when i looked at the poster again and he has been replaced by George Pilgrim. I do not know if he removed himself or if he was removed. He should not have been on the poster in the first place.
    I like Kemar. I think he is a bright spark but he needs help and support.

20. @ Mariposa

If this extract comes from Ronnie Yearwood, then he is absolutely right. We need to move the political narrative from the silly myth of pedigree – who is the best dog breeder in the village – to one about ideas and integrity.
    We need to start talking ab out wealth redistribution, opportunities, equality and inheritance. We need people like @ Ronnie Yearwood inn public life.

21. Stupse!

22. Calling la basura in the parliament the descendants of slaves is a GROSS INSULT TO OUR ANCESTORS…seeing how they have been acting out since UK started giving them slave titles….repulsive low class nobodies….don’t vote for any of them, they have no decorum and no manners and act as though they sound cute, they’ve been spouting the SAME ugly rhetoric for decades, only their brain dead yardfowls and the miseducated find it amusing…

23. The lashes too hot for Enuff
    Lol

24. This is the same govt that accused PM stuart of arrogance because he was not vocal in accordance with their agenda
    Now this govt vocal utterances stink up the place like fowl shi..t with all kind of insulting language hurled at the people who gave them a 30.-0 win
    How so rewarding
    Lol

25. Someone from the diaspora is on FB exposing the many people complaining how they have been “DISINHERITED” using FALSE DOCUMENTATION….and the same name keeps coming up in Barbados….THIEVES IN THE SUPREME COURT sitting on the bench…

ah guess there is NO MORE “we gathering” victims in the diaspora..

26. @BAJE November 1, 2020 12:30 AM “I AM SURE THIS SAME TYPE OF THING HAPPENS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND FREQUENTLY:.
    A New Jersey cop sent sexually explicit texts to an 18-year-old woman hours after he arrested her, prosecutors say.”

So many stupid men wit zero control of their little 3to 5 inches of flesh.

Can’t control li’l piece of tissue, and want to rule the world.

SMH.

27. @WURA-War-on-U November 1, 2020 3:49 AM “Barbados police has for years had a very bad reputation with international human rights agencies for torture and brutality, human rights violattions…”

Can you please provide the links where your statement can be verified?” Thanks.

I’ve searched the Amnesty International site and can find no such thing. Amnesty has mentioned that Barbados should abolish the death penalty, and should ensure the gay people are treated equally to non-gay people. Barbados hasn’t executed anybody for more than 2 generations, and is working to ensure that the civil unions of gay people are recognized by the state, but I don’t see anything about the Barbados police having a very bad reputation with international human rights agencies. Perhaps it is located somewhere else?

Or is this just something else out of your fervid imagination?

28. So I thought that I’d take a peek at what our American friends say about us:

https://www.state.gov/reports/2019-country-reports-on-human-rights-practices/barbados/
    “Significant human rights issues included the criminalization of consensual same-sex sexual activity between men. AUTHORITIES DID NOT ENFORCE THE LAW ON SAME-SEX SEXUAL ACTIVITY during the year.

The law provides criminal penalties for corruption by officials, and the government generally implemented the law effectively.

There were no reports the government or its agents committed arbitrary or unlawful killings.

There were no reports of disappearances by or on behalf of government authorities.

[Regarding] Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman, or Degrading Treatment or Punishment
    The constitution prohibits such practices, and there were no reports government officials employed them. Some suspects alleged coercion by police, but THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE OF SYSTEMIC POLICE ABUSE.

There were no significant reports regarding prison or detention center conditions that raised human rights concerns.

Physical Conditions: There were no major concerns in prisons and detention centers regarding physical conditions or inmate abuse.

Administration: Two agencies, the Office of the Ombudsman and the Prison Advisory Board, are responsible for investigating credible allegations of mistreatment. According to prison officials, no allegations of mistreatment were made during the year. The Prison Advisory Board conducted monthly visits.

Independent Monitoring: Authorities allowed human rights organizations access to monitor prison conditions.

Improvements: There were improvements to the farming and skills programs offered to prisoners. There was an increase in reintegration and a reduction in recidivism.

The constitution prohibits arbitrary arrest and detention and provides for the right of any person to challenge the lawfulness of his or her detention in court. The government generally observed these requirements.

The law authorizes police to arrest persons suspected of criminal activity; a warrant issued by a judge or justice of the peace based on evidence is typically required. Authorities may hold detainees without charge for up to five days, but once persons are charged, police must bring them before a court within 24 hours, or the next working day if the arrest occurred during the weekend. There was a functioning bail system. Criminal detainees received prompt access to counsel and were advised of that right immediately after arrest. Authorities generally gave family members access to detainees. The 2019 Bail (Amendment) Act enacted in April prohibits bail for those charged with murder, treason, or any gun-related offense that is punishable by imprisonment of 10 years or more. The Proceeds and Instrumentalities of Crime Act enacted in August replaced the Proceeds of Crime Act; the new act gives wider powers to police officers to confiscate proceeds of crime.

Full report here: https://www.state.gov/reports/2019-country-reports-on-human-rights-practices/barbados/
    2019 Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Barbados

29. So Waru, you t’ink de State Department telling lies on we?

30. And in spite of nuff, nuff talk ’bout Mugabe and dictatorship on this blog, the U.S. State Department wrote

“There were no reports of political prisoners or detainees.”

31. @David November 1, 2020 6:35 AM “wheelchair ‘ridden’ man”

Devid please don’t use wheelchair bound, or even worse wheelchair ridden. Use instead.

A person who uses a wheelchair for mobility

32. @Simple Simon

Ok

33. @Mariposa November 1, 2020 7:17 AM “But neither Carrington and Inniss no longer run the affairs of Barbados.”

True.

That’s because the good, sensible people of Barbados kicked their rass@s to the curb.

Lol!

34. @Mariposa November 1, 2020 9:27 AM I leave this here. Ronnie Yearwood “I am just tired of it. And to be honest some of this was personal for me. By utterances I have no “pedigree”. I grew up poor and from “de” country. My mother by utterances ain’t nobody. So if I follow the arguments to a logical conclusion I fight, study hard, got scholarships, work part time at a cafe, at the library and pulled pints at bars, data entry while doing my postgraduate in the UK and gained work experiences after graduating, that I want to use to the benefit Barbados… but by any pedigree arguments.”

Only livestock have pedigrees.

If you are human, and not a dog, then you need no pedigree.

35. So if being a rum shop keeper’s daughter grants pedigree, and i don’t know what that is outside of the barnyard.

And if I am a rumshop keeper’s granddaughter [which I am] does that make me a queen? or at least a princess since we been keeping rum-shops as long as foolish people were willing to drop their hard earned money in our till.

Lol!

Some people so foolish.

36. Cuddear…when those writing the reports start living and knowing everyone in Barbados, let me know…

in the meantime..don’t forget you live in a majority Black country and idiots do weird things for money..

https://www.theroot.com/police-pepper-spray-men-women-and-children-marching-t-1845543542

37. “I’ve searched the Amnesty International site and can find no such thing. Amnesty has mentioned that Barbados should abolish the death penalty, and should ensure the gay people are treated equally to non-gay people. ”

they have been saying that for the past 30 or more years, and yes there are written reports about police brutualzing people on the island, but you will have to research them yaself…ask ambassador Liz she would know, i have seen the info myself, but am not looking for anything for you or anyone else today am in a nice place right now ….yall soon tell me that there are no reports on the human trafficking that they are also accused of condoning…..

38. Cuddear you well known this crazy looney Waru pulls things from facebook and makes things up ever so often.Therefore do not take her too seriously, just a crazy Mrs Mitchell the female equivalent to Mr Mitchell.

39. So is it true that Toni is related to Santia…no wonder the dog pedigree talk came up, just saying..

40. Lorenzo
    Or pretend she has breaking news/bombshell. Weeeeeeks ago Santia said they were related.🤣🤣🤣

41. As I said on the tourism blog by rmistake. A father can have a very influencial role in a daughter’s life. The fact that Bradshaw thinks that any idiot can play cricket is troubling in the father of a Minister of Education. These ideas can translate into policy. The new way of thinking is that there are different types of intelligences- all being equal in importance. This sort of thinking has implications for policy and removes the hierchical concept of different fields of endeavour. It promotes dignity and respect of all children’s talents.

Now we hear Santia talking about pedigree. I did not expect that from her. Really, I didn’t.

42. “Weeeeeeks ago Santia said they were related.”

i don’t check for news related to dog pedigree….a dog is dog is a dog..

am on a much higher vibration…dogs are good pets, except for when they have viper genes..

43. Hold on to that…..a freebie..

This is the norm in existing slave societies, the exploitation and mental abuse of minor children not yet 12 years old to promote the shameless agendas of corrupt politicians, dismissing their human rights to grow and develop without political interference, young brains that should never be misused in this violent manner for politician mileage accumulation, without their parents’ consent, which should never be given anyway. This is the extent of the intelligence level of a prime minister, an attorney general, and other government ministers seen in this atrocious and now widely condemned disgusting display of small island power and indifference

44. Still keeping quiet.
    Waiting for the video of the children running in the pasture with the sheep.
    Beginning to lose hope of seeing that video.

45. “The fact that Bradshaw thinks that any idiot can play cricket is troubling in the father of a Minister of Education. ”

Over many decades the uneducated and miseducated among voters would find that low vibration, disrespectful comment highly amusing and would boast “that was a good one” for 2 or 3 election cycles to come, but many of the uneducated have died off, they now have people who CAN THINK…and they don’t know how to assimilate into this new era, remember they are stuck in a 17th to 18th century time warp where they refuse to address the fact, in that time period they ARE STILL SLAVES, pretending to have the pedigree of a 4 legged animal..

wuh they are the ones said they are educated, not me, i always say they are a bunch of uneducated backward slaves..

.no apology…. you are welcome…

46. How the fowls like that one, got a ton more where that came from, but ah would charge alyuh for it…nothing for free..

47. A friendly message to Mia

Power will seduce and attract others towards you.

Recent events has led me to conclude that you have constructed an echo chamber for yourself and dissenting voices are either muted or are afraid to speak out .

You must limit the number of “yes” men that you surround yourself with. Hearing “right” may be gratifying to your ego but the full agreement of those who surround you and are just pursuing their own interest does not make you right.

Surround yourself with men and women who can still use words such as “No”, “I don’t think that is a good idea”, “Do we want to do this”, or “we shouldn’t do this”. Note the use of we in those phrases and not “you” as these advisors would see themselves invested in your genuine success instead of your check book.

A few brave and honest men/women would make the world of difference.

48. Anytime the fowls are hovering around, go check the internet……..😂🤣🤣 i know there was something i did not like about that dude, everytime i saw him i felt like throwing up…last time i saw him was in 2011…heard he croaked…ya can always tell when something is not quite right with them, they give off this exceedingly evil aura..

https://scontent.fbgi3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/123322875_10158910309599085_5523513542306462228_n.jpg?_nc_cat=108&ccb=2&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=Tks5aXy6XokAX9s6PgO&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi3-1.fna&oh=81b42c559c281500354a8cad4eb1c7ae&oe=5FC69AA1

49. @ WURA-War-on-U November 1, 2020 5:54 PM
    “This is the norm in existing slave societies, the exploitation and mental abuse of minor children not yet 12 years old to promote the shameless agendas of corrupt politicians, dismissing their human rights to grow and develop without political interference, young brains that should never be misused in this violent manner for politician mileage accumulation, without their parents’ consent, which should never be given anyway.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

That deliberate act of political grandstanding- involving the misuse or abuse of minors for narrow partisan interests- can be viewed through the United Nations lens as a violation of the Convention on the Rights of the Child to which Barbados is a ‘proud’ signatory.

One is left to wonder what that Czar of Children’s Rights in Bim has to say about it.