The decision to have a national TV debate between the candidates contesting the St. George North constituency seat has been mired in controversy from the beginning. The result is that of the six candidates registered to contest the seat made vacant by the ‘retired out’ Gline Clarke, only candidates Toni Moore (BLP), Grenville Phillips (Solutions Barbados) and Alex Mitchell (BFP) are the three left standing. The other candidates have offered excuses for not participating, the blogmaster suspects the real reason is that there is a fear to speak to the issues publicly in an independent setting.

It is ironic that the current week has seen Barbados experiencing heavy rains which must be negatively affecting house to house and platform campaigning. What an opportunity tonight’s debate offers to convey respective party messages to SGN residents while in the comfort of their homes.

#anyidiotcanplaycricket

447 responses to “2020 St. George North By-Election National Debate”

1. “The children were instructed to shout for Moore!

Seems like it is not only Alex Mitchell with a screw loose.

Our children being used as political props!”

let the yardfowls believe people are going to sit quietly by and allow the unethical immoral criminals in the parliament to turn another generation off young people into empty political shells like enuff, lorenza and all the other useless grain pickers polluting BU…..

2. WURA,

You are telling me that white people have the gall to demand that we set up a paralell site to honour colonial history????

So….two Barbadoses. History celebrated from two perspectives – slavers and enslaved? With slavers given equal honours????

3. Donna…everyone has been waiting since yesterday for the wretched obese minority to answer the question, she is yet to return…..la basura de Babade…they believe Black people owe them something, i would STARVE each and every one of them out..

This is a way of life in Barbados’ parliament, conflict of interest and corruption goes on unpunished and rewarded with a colonial slave title…in the real world traitors pay for these crimes against their people and country….it’s called ORGANIZED CRIME…

“The Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice (CHRAJ) has found the suspended Chief Executive Officer of the Public Procurement Authority (PPA), Adjenim Boateng Adjei, guilty of conflict of interest.

This was contained in a report released by the anti-graft body on October 27, 2020, and sighted by citinewsroom.com.

Mr. Adjei was investigated by CHRAJ for corruption and conflict of interest after he was accused of sidestepping procurement procedures for personal gains.

He was captured in an investigative piece put together by freelance journalist, Manasseh Awuni Azure in 2019.

He was subsequently suspended by the President in August 2019”

4. “With slavers given equal honours????”

PAID FOR by the descendants of the ENSLAVED …again…… and don’t think for one moment that the TRAITORS in the parliament won’t consider it and see how much of the money they can siphon off for themselves as usual too….

5. Remember no invitation was offered to Alex Mitchell initially? But if Mitchell can post on BU and is a candidate in the by-election, why stop him from debating? At least be prepared and issue yuh disclaimer early, after all the man has been saying he owns all of Bdos years now. I tuned in heard Grenville mentioned human and monkey tiefin as the biggest threat to agriculture and suggested planting fruit trees as the answer. I immediately switched channels. I can just imagine if Big Works took part.🤣🤣🤣

6. @enuff

You avoided commenting on the school vi? You have to admit it was an error in judgement by the ‘big works’ team?

7. Critical Analyzer Avatar

It would be nice if some intrepid wannabe reporter when through the whole debate and listed the questions and bullet pointed the debaters responses.

8. Yardfowls have no shame, they are ignorant and attention seeking….and would never care about Black children, they would seek to blame them instead for what 3 backward clowns, a PM, an AG and don’t even know what the hell Moore is, but she is a deceitful liar and pretender for sure…

wicked government ministers and their wannabe minority slave masters along with their imps and pimps TIEFING from the treasury and pension fund ARE THE BIGGEST THREATS TO BLACK PEOPLE ON THE ISLAND.

big photo op today for drawing down another 90 MILLION dollar tranche from IMF that the UNBORN will have to repay….big fanfair, am surprised they did not throw a big party..

… dumb Enuff must be celebrating…. look we got another loan, island is punching above weight, IMF said we are doing well because they are getting their money while the PEOPLE SUFFER……..jackasses…

9. I did not watch and your comments have me confused.
    How did the debate go?
    Did they control the mic like they did in the second US debate?
    Was the debate directed towards SGN?
    Was there a winner or did SGN lose?
    Did we learn anything new?
    Should there be more debates? so nice we went for it twice.

Forget it, I will just read what Lorenzo wrote

10. Hope Mia tells barbadians sooner rather than later what policies or plans govt have prepared or set aside to repay the billions in IMF loans
    These gimme gimme loans are part of years of reasons why bajans are suffering
    Govt under OSA took it for granted that tourist would be the supply source forever and ever which will keep barbados economy afloat
    911 said no
    The.global oil crisis said No
    The 2008 global financial melt down said Not gonna happen
    COVID still in the drivers seat screaming Hell No
    Yet govt insist on steering the barbados economy on the same downward trajectory of borrowing without having a sustainable plan of repayment
    Barbadians must plan ahead for themselves and seek a path by which they can rescue themselves against the raging tide of more austerity from govt .

11. Mitchell: Sabotage attempts won’t stop me
    By Barry Alleyne barryalleyne@nationnews.com
    Alex Mitchell isn’t going anywhere although he says people may be attempting to sabotage his contesting the St George North by-election.
    The president of the Bajan Free Party is standing firm with his decision to still contest the November 11 by-election in St George North even though a media story about a brush he had with the United States’ criminal justice system back in 2011 was heavily circulated on social media platforms on Thursday night.
    The story about him being charged with kidnapping in the United States (US) came back into the public domain on the same night he appeared in the live political by-election debate carried on the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) and was trending heavily on social media yesterday.
    Here to stay
    “I’m here to stay. People may be attempting to sabotage my candidacy, but I’m not going anywhere. I was in the Marine Corps for 20 years. When I’m challenged, I moved forward, not retreat or surrender,” Mitchell told the Saturday Sun in an interview yesterday.
    According to Mitchell, he has never hidden his legal problems in the US from 11 years ago with the people he has encountered while campaigning in St George North the past few weeks.
    “I have absolutely nothing to hide. The Bajan Free Party is all about transparency, so I can’t be a hypocrite now. The Bajan Free Party is all about trying to expose corruption in Barbados. That’s why I feel I’m the best man for the job,” Mitchell said. “All of the charges were dismissed because it was later determined that I was going into my own property and had broken into my house,” he said about his legal matter.
    He said while the news about his legal issue could be new to some Barbadians, he was in no way surprised it had resurfaced a few days before polling day. “I don’t believe there such a thing called bad publicity. This news has been out there for years now, and that hasn’t’ stopped me. I welcome people talking about it. It allows people to realise what I’ve been through and where I’m coming from.” The Free Party boss said being racially profiled in America makes him a stronger candidate in Barbadian politics.
    Legal troubles
    “None of the other political parties brought out the information about my legal troubles before, so not even my opponents are worried about that. It has come up before, and it will probably come up again,” Mitchell said, noting the story had previously appeared on platforms Barbados Free Press and Bajan Underground.
    “People may be trying to sabotage me, but it’s not hurting. It’s actually helping. That is giving me more publicity, and making me more popular.” Mitchell revealed that last week he was denied permission to use a loudspeaker while out canvassing in St George North, and that has only made him more resolute in taking his message to the constituents of St George North.
    “What I’m going through will make me a stronger candidate. I’ve fought in wars while I was a marine. This is nothing compared to that,” he said about being involved in local politics.

12. CBC says sorry for some debate comments
    The island’s lone television station, the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), yesterday apologised for some comments made during a debate between contestants of the St George North byelection which was carried live on Thursday night.
    The debate featured the Barbados Labour Party’s Toni Moore; president of Solutions Barbados, Grenville Phillips II; and leader of the Bajan Free Party, Alex Mitchell.
    On numerous occasions during the two-hour debate, producers were forced to mute the words of Mitchell, who was outspoken about certain land deals he claimed were made in Barbados.
    “The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation takes this opportunity to apologise for any untruthful, offensive and misguided comments that may have been broadcast during last night’s live St George North debate that was held at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre,” CBC said in its media statement released yesterday.
    Participants were pre-warned
    “The Corporation recognised that in the course of a by-election, a national political event, that commentary may not always conform to good taste and took precautions to avoid the besmirching of people’s reputation.”
    CBC also said that participants had been prewarned about what would be considered in good taste.
    “Prior to the start of the debate, the candidates were advised by the moderator that they should not make statements that could be viewed as derogatory or injurious to any individuals’
    character. This was reinforced by the Corporation’s legal advisor and senior management during the break to deprecate the earlier statements that may have escaped the protocols put in place to prevent them from being aired,” CBC said.
    The station said its legal advisor and CBC management warned one of the candidates specifically about making offensive remarks and insisted that there be no more comments or statements that could be deemed objectionable.
    “If our efforts failed to contain all such offensive statements, we sincerely regret this as the views expressed do not in any way reflect the opinion of the Corporation,” the statement concluded.
    The by-election for St George North will be held on November 11. (BA/PR)

13. The debate did nothing for the barbados economy
    Right now what is happening in the barbados economy is govt having a plan set on more uncontrollable borrowing which would plunge barbadians households into years of poverty
    The pied piper IMF brought a koolaid pkg known as loans which govt will not refuse
    Yet as of now govt has not set a sustainable way forward for repaying the loans

14. @Mariposa 6:39
    That was well delivered.
    You started the day well.
    You go girl. 🙂

Have a great day, Barbados

15. It pains me to write this.

I am disappointed with PLT’s contribution on this matter. 👎

For a man who is thoughtful and very articulate, his decision to provide only half of the story is shameful. His loss of words in providing the second half of the story stunned me. He loudly proclaimed the innocence of Charles Herbert before that matter was fully ventilated, but here where he need only states the complete facts, he held his tongue.

How should I measure such a man? Should it be on the man is not the magnitude of his knowledge, or the volume of his contributions? Should I ignore what is in essence half-truths?

16. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@TheOGazerts October 31, 2020 6:25 AM
    The debate only proved what we already know

1) Bajans too love a scandal. After the apology for the lapses in early moderation, nothing more should have been said in the media. Everyone knows Mitchell has a serious axe to grind. He made some good points like all the other debaters and we all know he has no tact.

2) All we get from current and aspiring MPs is warmed over soup filled with nothing but promises of what they will do when they get into power. Once in they will find all sorts of excuses for why their promises were not kept.

17. The debate was juvenile and silly, but the subsequent behaviour of CBC is legally questionable and Mr Mitchell should seek good legal advice.
    He was invited to take part in the debate because he is a legitimate candidate; he took part and said what he said as part of his ‘pitch’. I am not a lawyer, but the apology, or what passes as an apology from CBC, can be interpreted under the Representation of the People’s Act as an unwarranted and biased intervention in the campaign.
    It can be interpreted as telling voters that what Mr Mitchell had to say were untruths, illegal and/or irresponsible and, therefore, he was unfit (or in the jargon, a fit and proper person) to be a member of parliament.
    @Mr Mitchell, talk to a good lawyer, or at least someone who knows the law ie Caswell.

18. Nonsense

19. Critical Analyzer Avatar

One last point
    3) A divided house cannot prosper. As long as these third parties refuse to either merge or dissolve so only one third party is left, they will continue wasting their money campaigning to lose their deposit.

20. David
    What school vi? Tell the BU intelligentsia stop double and triple counting one loan.

21. Nonsense…(Quote) Is that an argument, the best you can do?

22. Looks like Fowl Slave Enuff is LOSING TOUCH WITH REALITY……that is probably the 3rd or 4th TRANCHE DRAWN DOWN FROM IMF…all of which has to be REPAID by future generations…..

Does any of this sound familiar to anyone, all these corrupt FRAUDS seem to use the same playbook of tricks to rob the people and stay in small island power…..and everyone want this thieving pretenders and SELLOUTS GONE..

“The people have their own eyes and can see what is going on, the rush to repair roads, paint buildings, to give money for whatever cause, all that lumber, cement and galvanize delivered to the supporters. Nothing for four years then a sudden gush.

People have had enough, they see how things work now, they watched and listened to the Yugge Farrell affairs. They have suffered not just undrivable roads, but un-walkable roads: no work or employment, small wages with no prospects. Wage slavery and mental slavery, whilst the ruling dynastical family ride in big cars wear expensive clothes. Travel around the world at a whim. Own the jobs, police, and judiciary, control the finances. Under the ULP administration, people see tame contactors getting contracts unjustly while others like the Balcomes are punished for speaking out. Whole families and their workforces destroyed Bigger Bigs, the De Freitas’s, and so many more. Communist-style unjust grabbing of people’s property, it is all happening, and we are expected not to see it, or to mention it.

Well, it is over comrade, we want you to leave government, take your family and dynasty with you, and whilst you are at it take your unelectable cousin with you as well.”

23. Of course CBC apologized, someone remembered when Noel Lynch received a bit of money from VOB when Loveridge said a few unkind words about him on a call in show. CBC is trying not to add to COW’s pocket change.

24. What does TRANCHE infer? Stupse! Go find a new conspiracy to trumpet.

25. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Hal Austin October 31, 2020 8:39 AM

Give us a break Hal. This is a 2 x 4 piece of rock, not England. This level of televised debate being available on the internet for anyone to easily watch later is new. I see this as a dry run for next election so we might as well get the format right now before we really embarrass ourselves.

I liked the format, structured questions followed by questions from the public watching the debate. The improvements I would make are:
    1) The moderator also state the moderation rules at the start.
    2) A submission process for questions from the public to be truly randomly selected and read during the public questions segment.

26. “I am disappointed with PLT’s contribution on this matter. ”

Theo …if you are referring to the link regarding Alex, it’s clear PLT did not have the details nor the outcome, i saw the story posted here a couple times, but that was the first time i read it, don’t think anyone really dug deep, some just like the salacioius surface info, but had they done so, would have found out that he was arrested for breaking into his own house and the case was dismissed…don’t know about any kidnapping especially if the child is also his….lol..

Lorenzo is an idiot yardfowl who am sure is HIDING OUT THIS MORNING…ain’t got no shame, but just feeling STUPID….after making a proper ass of himself for thousands of people to see and have a good laugh, give him a couple days to forget and watch him come back with the same old fowl shit…

27. You can only libel someone if what you have said is untrue. Williams will be taking as much of a chance, as Mitchell, were he to sue.
    Libel law 101: in criminal cases, it is for the prosecutor to prove the accused is guilty; in libel it is for the plaintiff to prove what was said was untrue. Thus the old saying,see you in court.
    What Barbadians should do is if anyone sues Mitchell to crowd-fund his defence. If journalists were to be intimidated by the size of someone’s wallet then the rich would literally get away with murder. Good journalists do not blink first.

28. Fowl Slave…it does not matter that it’s part of ONE LOAN….are yall going to PAY IT BACK ALL AT ONCE….YA CAN’T EVEN PAY THE GODDAMN INTEREST…it will be paid PIECEMEAL for years on end……in increments of SEVERAL PAYMENTS…just as ya getting several separate loans….in INCREMENTS…all with added interest THAT ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE…ya only pretend to be this big corporate person, shitehound like you can’t even remember WHAT YA BOASTED ABOUT…a couple months ago, but we will catch ya again…

29. Size of the rock is increasing from a 2×3 to a 2X4. Hopefully, it does not exceed 21×14.
    Difficult to find out what are our thought on England as some routinely point out its faillings. However, “his is a 2 x 4 piece of rock, not England. ” tell me it has us beaten on one thing>

Nonsense, may be too heavy a reply.
    Not a legal eagle, but even a non-lawyer like me thinks it would not be a good case to pursue.
    However, I understand the position and steps taken by CBC, but one must admit that its CYA approach does not help the candidate’s message.

I respectfully disagree with both gentlemen.

30. Barbados’ frauds hold a different view about libel laws, their backward ignorant idea is if ya tell the TRUTH they will sue you, but if it’s a lie, they leave you alone….ignorance and wickedness….

they cannot be allowed to use Elizabeth’s system to do further damage to the population….they’ve already started openly exploiting innocent children on video, people who are viewing it are APPALLED THAT THE prime minister and attorney general were orchestrating and directing that FORM OF EXPLOITATION on children who know nothing about politics and should’nt because they are children and are be allowed to grow as children, not as indoctrinated hideous yardfowls……and the likes of Fowl Slave Enuff and idiot Lorezeno are ok with all of that, but they should volunteer their children and grandchildren to be abused like that….

31. How many times did Mitchell admit he did not have the evidence. Some of you like to bray like the proverbial jackass.

32. Spoken like the crazy loony she is.You need a breah jackass before you run David BU blog into trouble.If you have evidence of this wrongdoing by lawyers, politicians ete i challenge you to place your real name behind these stories you have been running for eight or ten yeard now.As your pal says it getting boring, same script same warm over stale soup.Go get an pyscological evaluation crazy looney.

33. “I am disappointed with PLT’s contribution on this matter. ”

@ WARU
    One of the few times I agree with you. An absolutely disgraceful attempt to smear the man by posting a fake news story from an American newspaper.

PLT boasts on BU all the time that he is part of the Bajan Bourgeoisie so we ought not be surprised at this behaviour.

34. “Not a legal eagle, but even a non-lawyer like me thinks it would not be a good case to pursue.”

you don’t have to be a lawyer to know and they don’t care that it is a noncase regarding libel, they all know Alex has ALL THE EVIDENCE and so does the police, all the lawyers in the parliament and bar association know that Cow is a tief, most of them help him rob the elderly, but yet they will still take up a fraudulent libel case against Alex or anyone else, while knowing that they ALL STOLE THOSE ESTATES….

that’s the main reason people are EXPOSING ALL OF THEM WORLDWIDE…because it’s well known what they do…and they are not to go into any other country and continue that evil lowclass level of criminality..

35. @ Theo

Forget the size of the island, why do you think it will not be a good case to pursue on the part of Mr Mitchell? I accept, like me, you are not a lawyer.It is your reasoning I am interested in.

36. “How many times did Mitchell admit he did not have the evidence.”

have you spoken to him recently, do you know if he now has it…so now who is braying….

and the fowl lorenzo… comes out to grab at straws…

37. Put up or shut to rh up.

38. Theo…that’s another thing with the THIEVES IN BARBADOS, they always believe that NO EVIDENCE can ever be found to put a ROPE AROUND THEIR CROOKED NECKS….they ALWAYS believe that they covered their tracks completely until they find out THAT THEY DIDN’T .

39. Govt continues to pile on debt from the hands of the IMF
    The debates only bodes well to expose govt dishonest practices which lays hidden in the elitist belly. Nothing would change those practices as these monsters are the movers and shakers of the barbados economy
    The very spectacle of marches that served their only purpose fooling the vulnerable that barbados with a govt change would once again be punching against its weight
    Well if truth be told the only weight to be punched into a sense of balance is the weight of debt which govt has placed in the necks of barbadians leaving them helpless and defenseless
    Once again the pied piper has shown up on Barbadian door steps bringing gifts of gold frankincense and myrrh which carries a heavy price
    Buyer beware

40. @ Mariposa

The DLP’s watch on how this government is abusing the economy is disappointing. We urgently need a whole of government accounting system in which every liability is accounted for.
    It is not in the interest of a dubious government to expose its own fault lines, but the opposition parties and independent academics must do so.
    Every loan, every guarantee, every liability owned by this government must be listed since they play fast and loose. I have given up on the media.

41. “Put up or shut to rh up”

am not the one to put up, ya got it twisted….if they ever develop the balls to tief anything from me or mine outside of the very basic that i won’t miss….EVERYONE WILL KNOW BECAUSE I WILL NOT ONLY BE BRING EVIDENCE BUT OTHER THINGS FOR THEIR SLIMY ASSES….so ya may want to ask Alex to send you evidence, am sure i saw him posting things here for years on end…..

.as a matter of fact, i have heard the accusations more than once, never saw it personally, but more than one person has complained that they even find corrupt, bribetaking judges to GIVE FALSE JUDGEMENTS in cases that should be THROWN OUT…or settled…..apparently there is no shortage of evil judges on the supreme court bench…….if i personally come across any such lowcrawling ACTIVITIES i will be sure to LET THE WHOLE WORLD KNOW…

42. Hal,
    My comment was not based on any legal knowledge. I stated that at the onset.

Even if what was said was 100% true and there was evidence, the law of the land is slow and is slanted towards those (organizations/people ) with money.

I think there was sense in your argument, but given all the parties involved, a lawyer representing the gentleman could take a long time to get into the courts and see a penny/win. Playing with a marked and stacked debt.

Let me change my words as it was a legal phrase… “not a good case” should be “not a good cause”.

43. @enuff

Entering an IMF program cum restructuring has its detractors on BU, the arguments they present will not change.

The bottomline is how long will it take for the tourism sector to rebound to a level that there is space to work. The government seems to be pinning its economic assumptions on some kind of a rebound. Some here disagree. Is there a cut-off where the government will reevaluate and go to a plan B? So far we have not identified another sector to fill the GDP hole vacated by tourism and to a lesser extent international business given the nexus. For a small open economy we are in a bad position, to John A’s point, managing expense and growing a culture of buy local, fanning home grown ideas/projects is critical to enticing a new way of thinking and doing business.

44. @Theo

I accept you are not a lawyer. But an injunction by Mr Mitchell, barring them from repeating the apology will suffice, give the date of the by-election. I think he should.
    It will also stop the wider media from sidelining him during the campaign, wealth and the gridlock in the court system not withstanding. If he does not he will be treated as a maverick.

45. And am not sure that yall realize how i expose things, if i expose certain things on BU…i also take it to an INTERNATIONAL LEVEL…where it’s seen by EVERYONE AROUND THE WORLD and on the Continent….so that the culprits are WELL KNOWN WHEN THEY TRAVEL….i don’t just expose for the gossip factor and then hours later everyone forgets about it, write a few shifty comments maybe and go home until the next piece of gossip hits the blog….i love STINGING results…

46. How to know a yardfowl – when a person cannot raise one word in opposition to a particular party and refuses even to discuss obvious wrongdoing.

This time Lorenzo, not seeing a “vi” rushed out to deny. He believed the liar with whom he was familiar. He did not defend the action. He just did not believe it took place as described by the opposing yardfowl. But to his credit he was duped. He has not returned to acknowledge his mistake but at least he has not disputed what cannot now be disputed.

But here we have another of greater intellect who refuses to engage.

Another “NON ISSUE”?

P.S. Another way to tell a yardfowl is when he cannot even be found. He knows who he is.

47. And who the hell is this BLP operative speaking about children “adoring” Ms. Mottley???

This language is troubling!

48. Can anyone explain WHY the island is in so much DEBT that has to BE RESTRUCTURED…and would it have anything to do with the BILLION DOLLARS IN VAT stolen by the minority THIEVES in pretend social partnership…and all the billons RAIDED from the treasury and pension fund by the crooks in parliament in collusion with the same people THEY CALL CORRUPT ….or was it the taxes EVADED by friends and family…not sure which one or ALL BROUGHT THE ISLAND TO ITS KNEES…….maybe someone has all the answers…

49. “If you have evidence of this wrongdoing by lawyers, politicians ete i challenge you to place your real name behind these stories you have been running for eight or ten yeard now”

and

“Put up or shut to rh up.”

If only they would make the same demand for information/action on things that really matter.

I hope you are not taking parts in any debate or CBC (or is it CXC) will be pulling the plug on you as well. What became of the CXC fiasco?

50. The BLP platform has made two unforced mistakes, any idiot can play cricket and this vid with the children. Let us see how the platform regroups and of interest to the blogmaster how the DLP exploits it. During al this theatre discussing issues play second.

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply