The blogmaster must admit that following the platforms of ALL political parties campaigning in the St. George by-election has been a slog. In Bajan parlance- boring is shyte.

The highlights- negative for the BLP (time will tell)- of the campaign have been 79 year old Delisle Bradshaw’s statement ‘any idiot can play cricket’ and the questioning of Gline Clarke’s dual citizenship. A press report in today’s Nation confirmed that Clarke always intended to renounce Canadian citizenship. One is left to speculate why BLP political strategists allowed the issue to grow wings by not getting ahead of it

For the blogmaster the appearance of Rawdon Adams on the SGN campaign trail makes for interesting rumshop discussion. Minister Santia Bradshaw (daughter of Delisle Bradshaw) reference to pedigree has set political tongues wagging with cries of elitism. What is it about the Bradshaws!

It is no secret the blogmaster has a lot of time for Senator Adams. His unflappable style, obvious intelligence, exposure to the outside and yes ‘pedigree’ and heritage equips him to be as good as or better than any other candidate. His entry to local politics would in the opinion of the blogmaster add value to the political landscape of Barbados. The obvious conclusions being made by onlookers is that he will be declared a candidate coming soon. Others suggest it is a case of Adams answering a call by Mottley for ALL Bees to swarm SGN.

#sodabixpolitics

For those who missed Adam’s presentation forward to 2hrs 40m of the YouTube video.

Public Meeting in Taitt Hill, St. George (Oct. 25)

287 responses to “Rawdon Adams Sighting in SGN”

1. @Greene

You are reminded of Michelle Obama’s famous quote.

2. @Pacha

Leaders for courses.

3. @ David BU

The only significant difference I see between Rawdon Adams and Mara Thompson contesting an election is, whereas Rawdon is former PM Adam’s son……. Mara is former PM Thompson’s wife.

It was even being touted one of Thompson’s daughters was supposed to continue her father’s legacy in St. John.

Or, are we trying to ‘say’ the DEMS choosing Mara was political strategy, while, if the BEES choose Rawdon, it’s because of pedigree and heritage?

The intentions in both examples are the same…………ride on Thompson’s and Adams’ to popularity to win a seat at all costs. History shows it did not work with Mara, she was an abysmal failure.

Why should anyone believe it would work with Rawdon, what makes him so special?

BLP/DLP……… same political ideologies and philosophies.

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin October 27, 2020 9:18 AM
    Tom Adams was a brilliant orator. I have heard and seen recordings of CLR James, Tony Benn & Stokeley Carmichael… but it is misleading to compare a recording to a live performance. Tom’s talent as an orator was significantly to hold the audience in the palm of his hand, something that cannot be evaluated in a recording or transcript of a speech.

To be an orator is an asset, bit it is not a qualification to be a good politician, far less a good leader. It is simply theatre: a performance… full of sound and fury signifying not a whole lot.

5. @Artax

You do a disservice to Rawdon by making the comparison to Mara.

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David October 27, 2020 8:57 AM
    “Liz Thompson referred to platform speaking as edutainment.”
    Liz Thompson was wrong. In Barbados, political platform speeches are purely entertainment… there is zero educational value.

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PLT at 9:05 AM

Back in the early 1970s, commenters said that Tom was no Grantley. By 1976 Election they were singing a different tune. Rawdon may be following a similar trajectory. These are early days yet. I am sure he is marching to the beat of his own drum,just like his fatherand grandfather before him.

8. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Tom Adams was a woman beater. He broke the hands of many women. I am wondering if his son will alk in his foot steps???

Ask Cynthie.

9. “there is zero educational value.”

don’t know why anyone with a less than basic intellect would think anything any of politicians say sounds intelligent or even funny…that goes to show the level of lower intelligence who elect these clowns to the parliament to SELL THEM OUT…

Tom was an enabler of RACISM, APARTHEID, oppression and exploitation …AGAINST BLACK PEOPLE who ELECTED HIM…why would anyone think his son would be any different…..yall are too DAMN DUMB for ya own good.

10. @Vincent

You are in a good position to comment on Adams’s role in the transition of the Barbados economy from almost 100% Agriculture to introducing services. It shows what is possible.

11. “Tom Adams was a woman beater. He broke the hands of many women. ”

another one of Tom’s many well known REPULSIVE ATTRIBUTES …woman beater, exploiter of Black women….ENEMY OF BLACK PEOPLE….who seem never to know who their real enemies are…

12. Further comments on this line will be deleted.

13. I once worked in an office and a white co-worker, said in a conversation, in my ear shot , that Hitler was a great motivator and speaker.
    There is no real difference between a brilliant or powerful writer and a brilliant or powerful speaker, who uses that talent or gift to lie and be intellectually dishonest.
    V S Naipaul was hailed as the most brilliant writer ever. I have heard it argued on BBC that he was superior to Shakespeare . Ask any Trinidadian if he would welcome Naipaul in his home before Lord Baron.
    Now the current PM has been accused of being brilliant and she has been anointed a brilliant speaker as well.
    This morning I heard her say that BOSS, BERT and BEST were all created via discussion and the parties that refused to enter the debates she alone contrived, without prior consultation, should have used the opportunity to discuss policies that are already in the public domain.
    The debate apparently was not going to be about St. George North!
    The same PM talks about lifting the bar but just a few days ago, she said on a platform or intimated that Floyd Reifer would not be capable to perform adequately in Parliament because he can’t talk and would have to read his speeches. That is the same PM that says who we are and all we in this together.
    I guess Mencea Cox, Neville Boxill, Lloyd Smith and Deighton Mottley all knew about globalization; economics, global tourism and could pretend that they were world trade experts and could navigate international treaties .
    These days you need a pedigree or play football because any idiot can play cricket.

14. David you get the 2020 year Award for distractions
    We have the AG prosecuting victims calling them criminals in political meeting
    We have Gline Clarke playing double duty illegally
    Now Adams and to quote one of your comments a person whose residency was oversee and cannot speak to the issues of barbados
    Meaning that is how you David have spoken about people giving their opinions and living overseas
    But not so for Adams whose pedigree family name gives him the right of privilege

15. @David,

you keeping talking about a disruption in the political landscape. what this romancing of Adams shows, is that you are really looking for a saviour. there are none. we created them. hero / saviour type characters are only manifestations of our hopes. once they hit the right chord, speak to our wedge issues, we see in them what we want to see not what is actually there. people must collectively save themselves if there is any to be had. we keep getting fooled

16. @Greene

What nonsense have you posted? BU recorded a political event, that of the son of Tom Adams, grandson of Grantley Adams appearing on a BLP platform. BU comments on political matters as they occur. You have taken the blogmaster’s comment that he has time for Rawdon as what again? Would you feel more comfortable if comment was made about Trump or Biden?

Steuspe

17. “There is no real difference between a brilliant or powerful writer and a brilliant or powerful speaker, who uses that talent or gift to lie and be intellectually dishonest.”

that is what black fools like to hear…worlds away from reality, as long as it sounds sweet, it does not have to be true, then they complain that nothing changes…..the epitome of madness…listening to the same LIES AGREEING WITH IT, VOTING FOR IT AND EXPECTING DIFFERENT RESULTS…

NO RESPECT for BLACK WOMEN and that is ok with them too…..that is what the young are watching and learning, then they want to know WHY IT’S GETTING WORSE on the island, they are THE PROBLEM..even more so than the toxic evil lying deceitful politicians..

18. @David,

you not only penned an opinion about -” …yes ‘pedigree’ and heritage equips him to be as good as or better than any other candidate” you have failed to defend that statement especially the “pedigree” portion. that is so insulting and inappropriate on so many levels that there is only one conclusion to be drawn

19. Here is where everything that has recently TURNED UPSIDE DOWN…will be righted, so it can all be TURNED RIGHT SIDE UP…

many are not even paying attention to the fact that this is what the new generation WILL INHERIT, same repulsive racist exploitation…from nobody politicians…. that their more recent ancestors, great grandmothers, grandmothers, great and grandfathers, mothers and fathers were subjected to….how quickly everyone forgot what CXC is doing to THEIR CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN……IN REAL TIME….they don’t even care about their current and future generations..

…it’s very clear those who are not forward thinking, don’t want anything to change as long as the politicians’ lies and deceit SOUND SWEET….yall are all parasites on the earth and will be eliminated, just like the mediocre trash yall love to listen to instead of removing them out of your lives… so that your future generations CAN PROSPER…

20. @PLT

Just for once, just once, if you have not heard people speaking just say so. I had no experience of Tom Adams as an orator and have said so. I have said a good speaker does not a good politician make.
    I mentioned some great speakers of their times (I could have said Barry Obama). There are good campaigners, and there are good Shakespearean actors, and there are good debaters. You may not believe it, but Boris Johnson is a good debater, that is why he was catapulted to the leadership of the Tory party.
    Tom studied PPE at Magdalen College, Oxford, at which the students union is a recognised training ground for politicians. Tom followed his father to Oxford, who no doubt would have told him of the importance of extra-curricula activities while at university. This alone necessitates comparing Tom with his contemporaries.
    He brought these skills back to Barbados and entranced people with them. One clever person even said we should not compare Tom with non-Barbadians, so Barbados is its own little universe. Plato’s Allegory again.
    You do not have to be a good speaker to be a good politician, nor should the children and grand children of good public speakers be given a free pass, unless you believe in eugenics.
    By the way, to talk of pedigree is by implication talking of dog-breeding. So maybe our politicians are proud to compare themselves to dogs.
    Barbadian public speakers speak with passion, hands like windmills, no notes, therefore repeating themselves and often saying things they cannot remember. The audience likes it, as part of our political culture.
    I do not like it and gesticulation has been controversial since Ancient Greece; it is not a new development. I prefer to look at policies, their development and their implementation. This is the real legacy of a politician.
    Nothing Tom did as prime minister was transformative (some idiot said that Tom’s rule from 1976 transformed the nation from agriculture to services. Sadly, the person making such a silly remark is not equipped to defend such a claim in a proper, polite discussion).
    We tend to exaggerate the qualities of our leaders and shield them from genuine criticism. As a leader, Tom is but a shadow of his father. Now that is the man whose leadership was transformative.
    Another man we tend not to celebrate as an outstanding politician, even though he was the spokesman fora the plantocracy, was ED Mottley. Tom does not fit in that pantheon.

21. PLT
    Could you tell us some more about the dark side of Tom”s passion.

More precisely, the forces which led to his early demise.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Some people are very allergic to the TRUTH.

Especially if you talking about certain people. It matter not that you are SPEAKING THE VERIFIABLE TRUTH. In their opinion it must not be Told the people, they are stupid and must continue to believe the Rubbish being told to them.

That is some people’s job.

23. @ David
    Some standards at last ! I’m going to spend sometime reading Heather Cole’s columns prior to Elections 2018. I say no more. You are more than correct to not publish any such comments on that thread.
    Good job.

24. @CARSON

Amorality goes right to the heart of political corruption. The only difference is that instead of money, it is sex. A politician without a moral anchor is no good to anyone. If 35 years after his death we cannot discuss these issues, when can we?

25. Tom called my father a black bitch and took his name off the promotions list. He put him in his black book instead.

And then he died.

My father is living still and rose beyond the point at which Tom temporarily stopped him. Owen tried to stop him and failed. Mia was very much in favour of Owen’s actions. The first man they sent to do the dirty work resigned and told my father why. The second man tried his best and failed. Time came when he did not want to live anymore and died in a most undignified way.

Is that what passes for pedigree??

P.S. i listened to the speech for a while and then I almost fell asleep. Not impressed.

Steupse!

26. Where is Piece the Prophet?Missing him.

27. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

This is why BLACK PEOPLE are at the bottom of the Totem pole even they in the majority. Being ruled by the 3% of the Barbadian population.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If you are not even a GOOD PERSON how can you be a Leader?????

29. We have to ask, just as the YOUNG ARE ASKING…why are BLACK PEOPLE not concerned with the WELLBEING, SOCIAL AND FINANCIAL SECURITY of the young and UNBORN BLACK CHILDREN in Barbados, everyone knows that the dirty politicians are self-serving and only ASPIRE TO SELL THEM OUT…but we OWE OUR YOUNG PEOPLE AN EXPLANATION…about why the SAME lowlife, no good, nobodies keep entering the parliament with the blessing of the same black people who KNOW THAT NONE OF THEM ARE WORTH ANYTHING OTHER THAN BEING SELLOUTS…

Donna…racist, apartheid RACIALS, now racist Harbor Lights, aka harbor fights, is Tom’s legacy..at the height of hateful south africa apartheid he allowed the putrid minorities to open the place…after apartheid fell in south africa…they kept the racism apartheid going to this day in Barbados….the legacy of the black faces in the parliament…all of them enabled, condoned and helped the RACISTS ROB BLACK PEOPLE TO KEEP IT ALIVE…THEY STILL DO….and that is what is sounding sweet and literate to …..people are making us FEEL ASHAMED….that is why the education system in Barbados is being QUESTIONED IN MANY PLACES.

30. I would not trust anyone closely aligned with the Syrian Cartel…

31. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

The people ELECTED HITLER in a over whelming majority. Because he could talk SWEET. THEN WHAT HAPPENED????

Was the world a better place place because of him????

We better be careful with this sweet talking he or she know how to talk, ”pedigree politicians”. Pedigree is when you are talking about dogs.

They are comparing themselves with DOGS.

32. “By the way, to talk of pedigree is by implication talking of dog-breeding. So maybe our politicians are proud to compare themselves to dogs.”

they have nothing else to compare themselves to…but unlike them…..DOGS ARE LOYAL..

33. Mr. blogmaster I am detecting some bias in your reporting. I followed both parties online mass meetings and the BLP bring their old party members to speak, who some would have lots in their closets. Why can’t the DLP bring their party members to speak? If they have done criminal acts let the AG, bring charges against them and lock them up. In fact, the most demonized one is now on a committee set up by the PM, remember the house in Rolling Hills. You spoke on the ones who should not be on the platform but why not highlight two young persons who made their first platform political speeches, which were very well done in Courie Cox and Terian Reid. Political pedigree will not be tolerated by young bajans going forward.

34. Detect what you want. Some of you comment on the blog and expect the blogmaster should not on a blog he runs.

35. The BLP bringing old party members can be compared to those who were rejected in 2018 so emphatically by the electorate?

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

That is why the Barbados Labour Party behaving like WILD DOGS on the Platform. Just check out Bradshaw and recently his daughter. look how the Barbados Labour Party members are tearing down the DLP posters. The same thing they did in the 2018 Elections.

37. Mr Blogmaster no one is disputing your right to your opinion but other persons also have a right to comment. What is a blog without bloggers? Yes, because so many persons were rejected in the past including the Right Honourable Errol Barrow in St.George.The BLP was rejected 24-3,The DLP only had 2 seats at one time and so rejection has been happening in Barbados politics for a long time.

38. Who has prevented comments by others?

39. @ David
    I lost my deposit in 1991 along with several other candidates of the NDP. Nobody won a seat- we were totally rejected. Are you telling me that I have no right to speak on a platform. Don’t you know that every one of the DLPs who lost their seats were elected by the people, in some cases more than once.
    You need to stop this biased nonsense. They went to the people and deservedly got their sorry asses licked. If they thief and there is evidence put them before the law courts and lock up or fine if necessary. Funny damn thing is that Donville got charge by US authorities and we can’t even get the ones who were on GEL’s yacht before the law courts.
    Gimme a frigging break .

40. Tom Adams is dead. My father lives.

I still laugh every time I remember it.

They can huff and puff but don’t know how soon they will take their last breath.

Can anybody find the black book????

41. The DLPites out in full force

42. CCC

Hitler was never elected by any majority. You obviously know nothing of this history.

Stop misleading the blog.

43. @ William

I am on record as saying I suspect BU is a front for a third party. Maybe for the president, Mr Jong and her political strategists. Take a cool look at the project – over ten years years in operation and chairman David has made it a full time job (ignore the nonsense about many Davids). There is no obvious source of income.
    It is free, which means that if you are not paying for data, then you are the data. Someone somewhere is milking our data on BU. I worked in an industry that has always been a front for spying – Kim Philby, Graham Greene, et al. and front magazines and newspapers).
    I believe that @David is monetising BU in someway; maybe he is being funded by some security organisation, Barbadian or international, who use the blog to keep track of radicals. I believe that is how he is paid. The Americans are not above such tricks.

44. with that said Hal. adios lol

45. RE CCC

Hitler was never elected by any majority. You obviously know nothing of this history.
    Stop misleading the blog.
    HE HAS ALWAYS SOUGHT TO DO SO
    YEARS AGO THIS BIOCHEMISTRY ILLITERATE WANTED TO TEACH US HOW INEPT THE JAMAICANS WERE IN INVESTIGATING BOB WOLMER’S DEATH WHEN IT IS VERY CLEAR THAT WOLMER DIED FROM DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS

HE WAS A DIABETIC & THE COACH IN A VERY EXCITING GAME => CATECHOLAMINE RELEASE AND INCREASED CARBOHYDRATE AND LIPID METABOLISM => EXCESS ACETYLCOA RELEASE WITH KETONE BODY FORMATION.
    2 HE HAD BEEN DRINKING ALCOHOL, WHICH IS METABOLIZED TO ACETYLCOA WITH KETONE BODY FORMATION.
    3 KETONE BODIES ARE ACIDIC. IN VERY HIGH CONCENTRATIONS THEY CAUSE A DECREASE IN THE OXYGEN CARRYING CAPACITY OF THE BLOOD WITH CONCOMITANT DEATH

46. What staggering claims. Where is the “evidence” supporting these reckless charges from a demented mind?

Your buddy has a blog too. Maybe he is both a radical on BU and a paid American agent on his blog.

What a cunt halton austin has been so born?

There was a time when he knew that you were an asshole. But how things change.

47. It’s nauseating that they have to BEG BLACK PEOPLE FOR VOTES….so they can sell out, promote and elevate thieving whites and other minorities to 1st class citizen status…while the young people watch adults talk SHITE ABOUT HOW SWEET dirty politicians sound..

48. @ Greene

Don’t run away. I am sure you are not one who can be offensive anonymously and think you cannot be identified. One of the first things HR departments do is check social media before employing new workers.

49. Everyone is a failure for the know-it-all from London. I detest the individual because all the egotistical hobbit does is berate Barbados and Barbadians day after day. Eveyrhing is always wrong in Bim. Only recently he was making a case about Jamaicans’ success in the UK in comparison with Bajans, based purely on absolute terms. Did he compare the number of deportees, prisoners and those with criminal records? According to the BBC, prior to 1971 about 57,000 Commonwealth nationals arrived in the UK with 15,000 Jamaicans, 13,000 Indians and 29,000 for all others Pakistanis, Kenyans, Bajans, Trinis etc. Jamaicans alone accounted for 26%. Go figure!
    On another note, isn’t Verla out of the Greaves “pedigree”?🤣🤣

50. quote] It is no secret the blogmaster has a lot of time for Senator Adams. His unflappable style, obvious intelligence, exposure to the outside and yes ‘pedigree’ and heritage equips him to be as good as or better than any other candidate. His entry to local politics would in the opinion of the blogmaster add value to the political landscape of Barbados. The obvious conclusions being made by onlookers is that he will be declared a candidate coming soon. Others suggest it is a case of Adams answering a call by Mottley for ALL Bees to swarm SGN.[quote

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

NEVER CONFOUNDS ME THE AMOUNT OF SHITE I READ ON BU (BLP) BLOG.

CAN SOMEONE TELL WHETHER RAWDON ADAMS HAS DONE ANYTHING REVOLUTIONARY IN THE WORLD OF BUSINESS SINCE RETURNING TO BARBADOS OVER 2 YEARS AGO FROM ABROAD INCLUDING STARTING HIS OWN LOCAL BUSINESS AND HIRING MANY BAJANS?

THIS MAN HAS BEEN A COLOSSAL FAILURE SINCE RETURNING TO BARBADOS HAVING PREVIOUSLY HEADED A FIRM WHICH STARTED INITIALLY PUSHING BITCOIN AND LATER TRYING TO PUSH MMONEY TO THE PUBLIC WHICH HASN’T SEEM TO TAKEN OFF.

LAST WEEK I DID 3 BITCOIN ATM TRANSACTIONS AT 2 DIFFERENT BITCOIN MANUFACTURED ATMS WITH THE BITCOINS BEING SENT TO MY ONLINE BITCOIN WALLET AS I WAS MAKING PURCHASES TO SUPPLIERS WHO WANTED TO BE PAID EITHER BY CASH APP (SIMILAR APP TO MMONEY) OR BITCOIN.

THIS DO NOTHING ADAMS AND HIS FORMER TEAM HAVE DONE ZERO TO ADVANCE BARBADOS EVEN IN THE FIELD HE IS PROFESSED TO BE GOOD AT. NO CREDIBLE APP HAS BEEN DEVELOPED OR EVEN BITCOIN ATMS ON THE ISLAND.

WHAT A WASTE OF SPACE.

NO WONDER THE 2 x 3 ISLAND IS STILL OPERATING AS IN THE 1970’s WHERE THE STATUS QUO, MEDIOCRITY ARE ACCEPTED AND BOTH FAVORITISM AND NEPOTISM IS THE NORM

NOT HIGHLIGHTED BECAUSE OF ACTUAL VISUAL TANGIBLE PERFORMANCE WHICH IS WHY THE 2 x 3 ISLAND WILL CONTINUE TO FAIL AND BE DEEPER IN THE BOSOM OF THE IMF.

WHERE THERE IS NO VISION THE ISLAND WILL PERISH.