As the coalition of forces gather with their vested interests of displace the American fascist dictator, Donald Trump, on a civil warlike political battlefield, it is becoming quite clear that people who call themselves ‘progressives’ will only awake to the machinations, political tricks, being conjured and to the tectonic shifts under the battlefield when it is far too late. Such a re-imagining of American politics, as neoliberalism was the remixing of economic policies, must of necessity, leave ‘progressives’ out in the cold.

We are estimating that this Democratic-led coalition which is likely to emerge from a possible victory will lurch much further rightward than progressives are generally imagining. For Joe Biden is merely running as a Democrat but intends to rule as a Republican. This is all he has known all his life. Being a conservative Democrat means being a Republican. Same as Obama, there are few differences between factions within the duopoly. Biden has never been known to instinctively done anything progressive in his whole life. Above all, politics is about slicing and dicing as an acceptable method of gaining power, not being a fountain of virtue. Not interfering with the hideous structural infirmities on which the country has been built. This is representative of Joe Biden to the bone!

Therefore, it would be irrational to expect a man like Biden to approach, for example, the misanthropically inspired symbology represented by the ‘Star Spangle Banner’, the national anthem, which glorifies slavery in one of its verses. Or revisit the 13th Amendment of the constitution which still legalizes slavery for people in America’s dungeons, 80% of whom are of colour. Need we go on?

Then, the question which progressives will never get answered is – how could he ‘Build Back Better’ on such a flawed foundation? All Biden really wants to do is to get back to how things were before Donald J. Trump was thrown up by the political culture as if those represented halcyon days for Afrikan-Americans, supposedly his most dependable bloc. That’s all!

But, who are these people generally referred to as ‘progressives’? Well, they could be any motley bunch of political gradations from the far-right to the far-left and in-between. To the far-right they may include Republicans who support the logic of climate change and even never-Trumpers. To the far-left they may be communists, antifascists, socialists or even Trotskyists influenced by the lesser of two evils logic.

In this scenario, Joe Biden would, in effect, be the ‘unwitting’ savior of the Republican Party which is likely to be devastated by a massive defeat, if current polling holds true and in the event Trump is unable to complete that well-planned dastardly act currently underway. Should Biden be buoyed by the winds of a fierce national and overwhelming determination which forces Trump into having no other choice but to leave the White House, even to the point of duress if deemed necessary he saves the Republican Party. In so doing, he would be serving the hordes of Republicans seeking asylum within the Democratic Party as a way of making sure the indispensable other half of the American political duopoly survives Trumpism – the Republican Party.

When we look back at the presidency of Trump, in this scenario, it might appear as though a level of master planning, by hidden hands, paved the way for Biden. He could have the prefect landing to enable him to jettison feckless progressive operating under the assumption that this Democratic Party’s ‘donkey’ will take them somewhere. In addition, Biden could have a highly conservative Supreme Court; a Senate which could be Democratic led but more than willing to serve his less than obvious conservative agenda and a House of Representatives acting likewise with muted or sporadic objections from its progressive caucus.

In these circumstances, the LGBTQ identity politicos, who played such an enormous role during the Obama administration, would not be able to co-exist with the Republican elements within the Biden Coalition, absent the few Log Cabin Republicans. If Biden is faced with a choice between these political forces, there is little doubt that he will go with his new-found friends for the fear about defections of the Republicans may cause too much imbalance within his coalition. He will seek to equalize that action by resting on the logic that the LGBTQ forces generally have nowhere else to go.

The same thinking holds true for Afrikan-Americans, Hispanics, and other progressives who will have nowhere to go notwithstanding the presence of a fledgling Green Party with a presidential candidate, Howie Hawkins, and up to maybe a 100 other people seeking the presidency. Defections of progressives are likely to be deemed as merely a temporary setback. Afrikan-Americans should not expect this reformulation of political forces within neoliberal capitalism will deliver any of Biden’s promises about ‘Building Back Better’ and so on. Nothing will happen but talk, until after the election when the drift to the right becomes public. Observers however, can see what a Biden administration will look like right now by the examination of his teams of advisers. To us such expectations are the equivalent of asking a dead man to change his will and expecting it to happen.

One good thing about Biden is that he has dared to locate himself as it to remove the scab from the old festering wounds making America the fascist state it might have always been and/or to which it has now degenerated for all to see. Of course, he was well assisted by the ongoing demonstrations throughout the country and being a politician there was a need for a response that made sense in order to garner the votes of Afrikan-Americans, women, progressives, young people etc.

In some ways Biden has been sheltered by Whiteness and a hyper focus in the country on what is wrongly seen as a cultural anomaly, the Trump presidency. However, the deeper truth is that Biden will never fix, or even start to fix, in eight (8) years, what was consolidated over four centuries.

Guided by history, only the total and complete destruction of American empire can satisfactorily settle these deeply divisive issues, correct all the fundamental social problems that have been termed ‘original sins’. Some contend that this fatal option maybe better that Biden’s return to an abnormal normalcy. Progressives should have long recognized the existential forces at work and found ways to insert someone more able to deal the rebuilding that has to happen and therefore avoid this Biden misdirection.

940 responses to “JOE BIDEN, SO-CALLED ‘PROGRESSIVES’ AND THE REARRANGEMENT OF THE POLITICAL LANDSCAPE”

1. Herd stupidity

2. What some black ladies have to say about Biden and Harris

3. Latinas saying similar things!!

4. Latinas had it figured out since 2016!!

5. Another professor!!

6. Pence Task Force Head

7. The humanitarians

8. Einstein?

9. At least he tried to build a wall,

10. Follow the Drinking Gourd and vote for Biden on November 3. The Old Man is waiting to carry you to Freedom.

11. Trump has with a few Tweets on social media got the 10% on Twitter who are abnormal and antisocial to show their true colours in the 92 % of the content for which that are responsible.

The 10% have enraged the 90% who are normal and perfectly sociable!!

For sure, Trump has used Twitter to full effect.

The 10% are just not smart enough or sociable enough to figure out just how smart Trump is.

They are too self absorbed in what they believe to be their own brilliance and sociability.

The 90% are very smart, they just stay quiet and wait for November 3!!

There is no need for them to Tweet and prove their sociability and normality!!

The 10% can’t help themselves.

They are not smart enough to understand how they have been used by Trump!!

The record speaks for itself.

12. 60 Minutes
    @60Minutes
    Asked whether his tweets or name-calling turn people off, President Trump says: “I think I wouldn’t be here if I didn’t have social media.”

Moments later, he abruptly ended the interview.

It turns the 10% on.

The 90% just watch and enjoy!!

Trump is all entertainment.

What is there to be gained by the 60 minute interview with one of the indignant 10% who have been turned on!!

It is the 90% who matter!!

13. In halting the interview, Trump shows the 90% the 10% are jokers who can be ignored.

The message he sends is that he fights for the 90%.

14. Yeah…and the slaves were better off on the plantation too.

My last comment for the day to poor, demented John. That comment he made above about slaves and slavemasters living in harmony on the plantations blows any pretence of rationality he had out of the water.

All one has to do is save that comment and paste it in the middle of any argument he makes.

Truly a sick mind and getting sicker every day. I have been noting his deterioration for months now. Is PLT right that his hatred and bitterness over the unexpected unravelling of his life have warped his mind into madness? I have seen it happen at a much closer range and so I know it can happen.

I wish him all the peace he pretends to have.

15. keep on running, keep on hiding……everyone is laughing at me….., it makes me mad

16. On Kendal in St. John in 1817 there were 419 slaves.

No sweat, no problem!!

People lived in harmony, had to.

In Bridgetown, Sarah Ann Gill with her 10 or so slaves lived with them as did all the numerous slave owners from the “city”.

Relations had to be harmonious.

In many cases everybody had to fit in the same house.

Simple common sense.

Most slave owners did not live on large plantations!!

The 300 or so “large” plantations represented 5% of the slave dwellings in Barbados.

There were another 5,700 plus slave owners who lived on small acreages with their slaves, in the same house sometimes.

Simple incontrovertible fact!!

We live with our over active imaginations today and can’t comprehend these simple facts!!

17. In 1817, there were more slaves in St. Michael than in the agricultural parishes of St. John, St. George and St. Thomas combined.

Most lived in Bridgetown.

That’s where the major economic activity took place!!

Slave and slave owner lived cheek by jowl, and in harmony … had to!!

18. Slaves on a large plantation were freer and more relaxed than slaves in the city!!

More room to move around and not such rigid control as those who lived in restricted confines of Bridgetown.

We have a scientific term for it today, we call it “population density”.

19. Madman! Black people are not domestic animals. They are HUMAN BEINGS. Human beings like freedom. My son is spoilt for choice when it comes to food, has more than adequate shelter and more clothes than he needs. I provide preventative medical care more so than treatment. He has recreational activities as he wishes. He actually cannot think of anything he wants besides a car for which I am planning to match what he raises.

Yet my son fights to chart his own path and make his own decisions.

There is no harmony in relationships between people of unequal power. There is only a biding of the time until the trapped one can be free.

Any slaves who were docile were not those who knew freedom in Africa. They were bred into slavery and persuaded that they were beasts of burden.

And yet, deep down inside, they knew. And they dreamed.

20. Who the hell needs a Royal Barbados Police Force when one has total control to pursue and execute????Each slave master was his own Royal Barbados “Police” Enforcer!

Steupse, man! STEUPSE!

21. DonnaOctober 26, 2020 10:46 AM Not really. I agree that the phrase he used should be parked as a reference point to apply to whatever he writes.

However, he is not mad. He is just of the same disgusting mindset as those who approved slavery in the past.

They were not mad either. Bad, not mad. Just as Trump, bad minded, dangerous, but not mad.

I am glad that he made that statement, as it it frames everything that he has ever said and as you noted, can now be used to filter whatever he says in the future.

Better to know what you stand against, than not know your enemy.

Now, you also understand why Trump won last election and why yes, he can win again. Because there are millions like John, who have no problem with slavery, who are as callous as the day is long.

You do realise that if Hitler rose tomorrow, millions would still follow him too?

This is what we work against. Obviously, it is a never ending fight, the one against evil. But onwards we must go, we must be both conductors and travellers, following the Drinking Gourd, if I may humbly borrow their illustrious title of Conductors. Each in whatever little way that we can.

22. As an aside John’s position is, to use John’s own word ‘harmonious’, with that of those prior slaveowners who, as John did, left Barbados for the USA, they to set up plantations in the Carolinas.

That John has followed their exit and yet unlike many Barbadians, followed their mindset, is striking.

23. Crusoe,

I saw his sister. John may “pass” fuh white in certain places but he is not white. That’s why I believe he is demented.

24. John is not white. His father was a half breed Argentinian. His father was also a ladies man who would leave Marjorie at home and go out wining the ladies and come home late at night singing as loud as ever to wake the dead. I think I heard that he left them.

His sister Kathy looks like a Middle eastern woman and not bad looking.

25. I think John hates blacks because the ladies he preferred were not white. hehehe

26. Dame Bajans

Yuh dishing the goods the Johnny.

None of them socalled Euro-bajans are White as measured by the one drop rule.

Whiteness in America was originally a political construct to stop waring tribes coming from Europe from continuing their wars.

There is a recent genetic study from Harvard which argues that only Africans genotypes are the original humans. That White people and all others have the DNA of Neanderthals.

Others have long argured that Afrikan genotypes are not a race. That all other types are. It go to reason that the original humans could not be a race based on etymology alone.

27. You see how Trump controls Twitter!!

Just stir up the hignorant 10%!!!

28. Found this one interesting!!

… but who human knows the future.

29. @Quaker John

Are there any Quaker schools in the Caribbean? We have Quaker boarding schools in the UK.

30. Hal

I have no idea whatsoever.

I suspect not but who knows.

Google and see!!

31. However, schools that were founded by Quaker efforts in Barbados would be Lodge and Harrison College.

The land on which Foundation was built was donated by a Quaker.

Combermere claims to originate from an early Free School in St. George …. Quaker.

BTW, FREE does not mean no fees but rather it was a school for any FREE person, regardless of colour.

32. If you went to Jamaica and looked at the oldest schools you will probably find they were founded by Quaker efforts.

http://digjamaica.com/m/blog/child-month-5-oldest-high-schools-in-jamaica/

33. A grim fairy tale

34. Trinidad was acquired by England in the late 1790’s.

Oldest school there is QRC … 1859, came lately well after the era of Quakers.

35. @Sargeant

The Lincoln project not easing up with 8 days to go?

36. Guyana was acquired by England in the early 1800’s.

Many of the families from Barbados who went to BG were of Quaker origin but by then were in the main Anglican.

The Austin family for example produced the first Bishop.

“Lord William Piercy Austin (7 November 1807 – 9 November 1892)[1] was the inaugural and long serving[2] Bishop of Guyana from 1842 until his death.[3] Educated at Exeter College, Oxford[4] and ordained in 1831 he was in rapid succession Curate, Vicar and Rural Dean of Georgetown, Guyana, then Archdeacon and Bishop.[5] He was consecrated a bishop at Westminster Abbey on 24 August 1842, to serve as first Bishop of British Guiana. In the words of the youthful Queen Victoria, he was “the youngest and handsomest of my Bishops.”

In 1884, he was appointed Primate of the West Indies and in 1891, Prelate of the Order of St Michael and St George.[6]”

37. He was consecrated a bishop at Westminster Abbey on 24 August 1842, to serve as first Bishop of British Guiana. In the words of the youthful Queen Victoria, he was “the youngest and handsomest of my Bishops.”

You aren’t any relation to these Austins by any chance?

38. DavidOctober 26, 2020 3:42 PM

@Sargeant

The Lincoln project not easing up with 8 days to go?

No choice!!!!

Biden still going and needs all the help he can get!!

39. @John

Going to Pennsylvania Avenue?

40. The Donald posted 6h ago.

Donald J. Trump
    @realDonaldTrump

6h
    The Fake News Media is riding COVID, COVID, COVID, all the way to the Election. Losers!

41. David

The Lincoln Project is fighting for the heart and soul of the Republican party.

It was William Buckley who setup the Republicans for extinction back in the 1960’s.

And with the US fast becoming a minority-majority country both Whiteness and the Republicans are destined to be like the dodo bird.

This also why we have Bajan boogaloo boys like Johnny with his regressive genes.

They try in vain!

42. Hypocrites

43. DavidOctober 26, 2020 3:48 PM

Going to Pennsylvania Avenue?

Stranger things have happened!!

44. Hal

I was thinking about Codrington High School as it arises out of the same Codrington Trust as Lodge.

Codrington was Quaker.

However, it was founded in 1917.

I can still link it to Quaker thought through the Suffragette movement.

Equality of women was pushed by Quakers!!

I know St. Winifred’s was a result of this movement, check its colours and school song.

45. @David

i saw an interview with some of the folks behind the Lincoln Project and they acknowledge that their days in Republican politics are over, they just want to get rid of Trump and they know his weak spots.

NB This is not the interview

46. I John may “pass” fuh white in certain places but he is not white. That’s why I believe he is demented.

John Knox has mental issues. He is sad and deserves a heavy dose pity. Engaging him makes his day.

Why not just scroll past the mad man’s comments?

47. This is part of it

48. Quaker John

Were the Pankhurst family Quakers?